22-10-2023, 12:38 AM
300 Hibs fans all dressed in black.
300 Hearts fans all dressed in black
300 Aberdeen fans all dressed in black
300 Kilmarnock fans all dressed in black
300 Motherwell fans all dressed in black
Etc. etc etc
what is the actual point in this?
The Youth like it and that's all that matters to them.
AugustaHibs
22-10-2023, 12:42 AM
They’re a bunch of embarrassing idiots. The whole ‘66’ thing at Ibrox today showed that.
22-10-2023, 01:24 AM
Etc. etc etc
Guaranteed tickets for every away game in a location of their choice and a club sponsored dissettlement of long standing ST holders at the expense of a youth cult that is closer in time to its demise than its foundation.
22-10-2023, 06:08 AM
Nothing to do with the clubs, nothing to do with football, nothing to do with originality, nothing to do with creating an atmosphere, no creativity, no point at all.
It all takes away from the unique culture of each club as each ground just has the same songs, same drums, same terrible atmosphere, and nothing of their own making. It’s sad.
22-10-2023, 06:14 AM
It's just a youth culture thing (the all black clothing). Don't really see the harm in it.
What happened at Ibrox yesterday is a seperate issue and has rightly been called out.
22-10-2023, 06:44 AM
People wearing narrow lapel suits, thin ties and riding scooters.
People wearing plaid trousers, studded leather jackets and DMs.
People wearing baggy jeans and a hoodie with a band logo.
It's just one of the latest fads among young people. Like anything there will be some people who take it really seriously and properly absorb themselves in the culture and others who are playing at it trying to be edgy. I think almost all the Scottish groups fall into the latter category.
The nonsense at Ibrox yesterday is a different issue and will be rightly condemned. The whole ultras thing in itself isn't for me but it will be a huge deal for a few of the people involved for a couple of years and then a lot of them will move on.
22-10-2023, 07:43 AM
300 Killie fans 😂
It’s a fad. It will hopefully die out like the casuals did.
Bring back the “bonnie boys” guy from the old East.
22-10-2023, 07:47 AM
They’re a bunch of embarrassing idiots. The whole ‘66’ thing at Ibrox today showed that.
That’s a separate issue, there is no proof that anybody involved in the Ultras group were involved in the ‘66’ thing.
As for the ultras dress etc, criticising all that will just make me look like the boring old fart that I am. :greengrin
LewysGot2
22-10-2023, 07:58 AM
That’s a separate issue, there is no proof that anybody involved in the Ultras group were involved in the ‘66’ thing.
Other than photos of individual wearing Block 7 clothing - not just the usual avoiding detection all black uniform of choice but B7 merchandised scarf - holding up references to 66 people dying on pre-prepared graphic ?
22-10-2023, 08:04 AM
The youngsters enjoy it. If I was 16 I'd probably be one of them dressed in black.
22-10-2023, 08:07 AM
Other than photos of individual wearing Block 7 clothing - not just the usual avoiding detection all black uniform of choice but B7 merchandised scarf - holding up references to 66 people dying on pre-prepared graphic ?
Yeah, looked like solid evidence to me.
Young people will do as they please but the club must not look away when/if they cross the line.
Referencing a tragedy in which football supporters died clearly crosses that line.
22-10-2023, 08:08 AM
The youngsters enjoy it. If I was 16 I'd probably be one of them dressed in black.
Spot on kids like it so let them enjoy it and the football.
22-10-2023, 08:09 AM
I've got a really warm black shell hoodie and black showerproof troos that I wear to games along with my black boots. I'm 63. If more of us old farts wear all black it will no longer be cool and the nobs will adopt a different uniform. They'll still be nobs mind.
22-10-2023, 08:26 AM
The all black clobber is to avoid being easily identified by police & CCTV. You’re not going to be the guy in the yellow top……..
All the wee neds riding stolen bikes and doing drug deals in the street or chucking bricks at buses etc, are all dressing in black with black ski masks hiding their faces, where's the difference.
22-10-2023, 09:20 AM
We keep getting told by those in favour of Block 7 being in the Famous Five Lower that it will help the team if they are shooting down the slope and hear a wall of noise from the Hibs fans behind the goal. Imagine how much more inspiring it would be if that wall was Hibs green and white instead of generic black identical to the visiting ultras in the South? And with half the songs being identical except for a player's name.
Frankly, to this old fart they are more interested in being ultras than being Hibs fans.
22-10-2023, 09:58 AM
We keep getting told by those in favour of Block 7 being in the Famous Five Lower that it will help the team if they are shooting down the slope and hear a wall of noise from the Hibs fans behind the goal. Imagine how much more inspiring it would be if that wall was Hibs green and white instead of generic black identical to the visiting ultras in the South? And with half the songs being identical except for a player's name.
Frankly, to this old fart they are more interested in being ultras than being Hibs fans.
I like the idea of the singing section. The idea of Block 7 somehow being in charge/running it erm......why? The idea of a singing section has been around for a lot longer than them.
Fuzzywuzzy
22-10-2023, 10:02 AM
https://www.instagram.com/reel/Cydm3d-tdIM/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link&igshid=MzRlODBiNWFlZA%3D%3D
They might get here one day
At the moment, the love of vapes, ***** balaclavas, Bucky, coke and/or speed will win the day
22-10-2023, 03:09 PM
All the wee neds riding stolen bikes and doing drug deals in the street or chucking bricks at buses etc, are all dressing in black with black ski masks hiding their faces, where's the difference.
There is no difference, they wear the all black clothes for the same reason.
BobbyT1875
22-10-2023, 03:22 PM
As for the ultras dress etc, criticising all that will just make me look like the boring old fart that I am. :greengrin
Not sure if you were At ibrox yesterday. It took place exactly where B7 were .
22-10-2023, 03:28 PM
Etc. etc etc
johnny Cash loved to west black .Youth Culture is all about fashion or fad and gives people an identity
I remember in the early 70 s wearing stay press trousers ,Wrangler jeans,c college jumpers ,Doc Marten Boots (15 holes ) oxblood Polish ,Tartan braces ,Arthur Black shirts made in St Enochs in Glasgow , Crombie coat ,Golf Shoes I could go on
Your mates did it and you wanted to keep in with the crowd you hung around with
I didn’t particularly like sll thst stuff but peer pressure lol
Was a latent Hippie But took me a while to shift to stuff that was more me and have the confidence to do that
HFC93
22-10-2023, 03:33 PM
No evidence apart from all the evidence.
22-10-2023, 03:34 PM
I thought our '*crew' were all wearing white to shirts last time I saw them in the FF lower??? 😕
madsen5
22-10-2023, 03:39 PM
Correct, didn't see any of them at SDG,s
Testimonial. Muppets.
23-10-2023, 07:54 PM
I thought our '*crew' were all wearing white to shirts last time I saw them in the FF lower??? 😕
They copy whatever is the latest fad they see on the internet. That week it was white T-Shirts.
23-10-2023, 07:56 PM
Interesting article on the origins of the Ultras and what they developed into.
What Is A Football Ultra? (https://www.goal.com/en-gb/news/what-is-a-football-ultra-serie-a-hardcore-fan-culture-explained/aohlkilvcywp1v3c8e1f1a37w)
23-10-2023, 08:09 PM
I'm glad they are interested I going to games I general. Loads of Hibs fans not bothering but you'll get the usual day trippers desperate for a final ticket if we beat Aberdeen next week
Greenio
23-10-2023, 11:02 PM
If you're over 30 then you won't get it. You're not supposed to. That's the whole point of youth culture...it's for the youth!
Just remember that back in your youth there would have been people your age saying exactly what you're saying...
Kinda reassuring really
24-10-2023, 09:10 AM
Etc. etc etc
Cos they want to look like phannies?
Mcbizz1998
24-10-2023, 09:13 AM
People wearing narrow lapel suits, thin ties and riding scooters.
People wearing plaid trousers, studded leather jackets and DMs.
People wearing baggy jeans and a hoodie with a band logo.
It's just one of the latest fads among young people. Like anything there will be some people who take it really seriously and properly absorb themselves in the culture and others who are playing at it trying to be edgy. I think almost all the Scottish groups fall into the latter category.
The nonsense at Ibrox yesterday is a different issue and will be rightly condemned. The whole ultras thing in itself isn't for me but it will be a huge deal for a few of the people involved for a couple of years and then a lot of them will move on.
Agree its a fad amongst the young but they dress in balaclava's ffs. They look like criminals who want to hide their faces, it's no real surprise that they start acting like criminals.
24-10-2023, 09:17 AM
Agree its a fad amongst the young but they dress in balaclava's ffs. They look like criminals who want to hide their faces, it's no real surprise that they start acting like criminals.
Derren Brown did a very good show on this, when people are in a large group and they feel anonymous as an individual, then herd behaviour takes over.
It’s a great programme and very relevant too.
24-10-2023, 12:48 PM
How do the decide which shade of black or white to wear?
Decisions, decisions…
24-10-2023, 01:00 PM
How do the decide which shade of black or white to wear?
Decisions, decisions…
The question is, is it really black or....
24-10-2023, 04:28 PM
As a former youth who wore nothing but black, often to the consternation of my elders, I don’t care what todays youth is wearing as long as they come along and support the team I’m all for it. I think some of the behaviour at away ground is very youth like which obviously annoys me now because I’m an old man and jealous of their energy and ability not to give a flying fig!
04-11-2023, 11:19 PM
Did any of the semi final fighting at Hampden involve the Ultras/Block 7?
Crunchie
04-11-2023, 11:32 PM
what fighting
Navids Numpties
04-11-2023, 11:33 PM
It was casuals not block 7 I think.
jws1875
04-11-2023, 11:48 PM
There was fighting outside Glasgow Central but definitely not block 7.
05-11-2023, 08:26 AM
what fighting
Running battle on Hope Street next to Central, and several fights in the East Stand amongst Hibs fans apparently. I wasn't able to be there but have seen video from Hope St, and lot of talk on FB about the incidents in the stadium.
Fuzzywuzzy
05-11-2023, 08:32 AM
https://twitter.com/days_scottish/status/1720857934496665739?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1720857934496665739%7Ctwgr% 5E556aac3007255392ad46b9027ee66bc70882f71d%7Ctwcon %5Es1_c10&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.followfollow.com%2Fforum %2Fthreads%2Faberdeen-and-hibs-fighting-on-hope-street.255806%2F
05-11-2023, 08:36 AM
That cannae be right surely? It's only the Weegies that cause trouble.
05-11-2023, 08:39 AM
Didn’t notice any hint of trouble myself in the east stand or on trains or at stations, but I arrived just before kick off after the large queues.
A lot of wee fannies constantly wanting back and forward etc but no proper issues where I was.
I’m personally not a fan of block 7, prefer the old fashioned atmosphere and think it’s become too much of an ‘us and them’ thing (combined with ‘incidents’ this season) for their existence to be a positive. Having said all that I wasn’t aware of any trouble from them yesterday, albeit I was just about sat far away enough to be oblivious.
05-11-2023, 08:41 AM
The stuff in the east would have been hibs on hibs.
The stuff at Central Station went on all the way up hope street and fighting in a couple of the pubs. Not sure it was all casuals or ultras as think a few locals were involved, including some women.
LeithSqualk
05-11-2023, 08:42 AM
Tbf it was a horrible atmosphere today, far too many pissed folks, seen 4 fights/altercations in the stadium. Ned’s chucking coins at the police. My lad now knows why I only travel to Scotland games. Some folk just can’t handle their bevvy. we were section G
05-11-2023, 09:06 AM
Tbf it was a horrible atmosphere today, far too many pissed folks, seen 4 fights/altercations in the stadium. Ned’s chucking coins at the police. My lad now knows why I only travel to Scotland games. Some folk just can’t handle their bevvy. we were section G
I was section G Row 35 and around 35 min mark was a massive brawl that went on for a decent amount of time. Young lassie was smacked. No idea what started it but lot of blokes steaming in.
I have never seen that at a football game before. Very disheartening when it’s your team. Worst part was seeing a young girl in tears frightened. Would have been so angry had it been my daughter.
LewysGot2
05-11-2023, 09:14 AM
I was section G Row 35 and around 35 min mark was a massive brawl that went on for a decent amount of time. Young lassie was smacked. No idea what started it but lot of blokes steaming in.
I have never seen that at a football game before. Very disheartening when it’s your team. Worst part was seeing a young girl in tears frightened. Would have been so angry had it been my daughter.
When my laddie and lass were wee we ended up buying adult tickets for them elsewhere in the stadium as the East always ends up full of folk wanting cheaper tickets probably so their bill for their all day poison of choice tab can be paid. Not a nice place for kids to be. Interesting that B7 and Co were in the East. Section 43 used to go in the North. Perhaps a reflection of the maturity of the group?
05-11-2023, 09:17 AM
Just posted in the ‘Fans’ thread….. My Aberdeen supporting step son’s bus was attacked after the game & had a window smashed. They had to drive back to aberdeen with it broken. He said it was Block 7 and from his description, I don’t doubt him.
05-11-2023, 09:22 AM
When my laddie and lass were wee we ended up buying adult tickets for them elsewhere in the stadium as the East always ends up full of folk wanting cheaper tickets probably so their bill for their all day poison of choice tab can be paid. Not a nice place for kids to be. Interesting that B7 and Co were in the East. Section 43 used to go in the North. Perhaps a reflection of the maturity of the group?
I did the same when mine were younger. There should be an area set aside for families at Hampden particularly for games like this when there is so much empty space. The policing and stewarding is a joke though.
05-11-2023, 09:27 AM
Disgusting, seems to have been particularly bad yesterday but its not a new thing - and should maybe encourage those who constantly vilify the younger supporters to have a think - the worst behaviour isn't the preserve of any demographic.
05-11-2023, 09:34 AM
Unfortunately, there's a growing number of roasters following Scotland now as well. Certainly the home games.
05-11-2023, 09:35 AM
Disgusting, seems to have been particularly bad yesterday but its not a new thing - and should maybe encourage those who constantly vilify the younger supporters to have a think - the worst behaviour isn't the preserve of any demographic.
Don’t know of anyone that solely criticises our young fans? There’s bellends of all ages amongst our crowds, no doubt.
TheCabbage
05-11-2023, 09:36 AM
Walking back to Kings Park station after the game saw a father and son fighting each other. They were on the ground with 2 others trying to calm the situation
Both Hibs fans and not young either.
This is route I will be going down next time, I actually thought I was in North stand prior to KO paid no attention to the tickets till I got there, but was in the east with my son only picked there for the £12 kids ticket, was brutal, young guys standing on the chairs watching the fight when asked by the guy in front to stand down so he could see the game the reply was 'im watching that dinnae be a dingle' hounded by some guy offering me a vape for any ching I had whilst taking the wee man to the toilet. brutal lesson learnt be 2 adult tickets and away from that next time
LewysGot2
05-11-2023, 11:08 AM
This is route I will be going down next time, I actually thought I was in North stand prior to KO paid no attention to the tickets till I got there, but was in the east with my son only picked there for the £12 kids ticket, was brutal, young guys standing on the chairs watching the fight when asked by the guy in front to stand down so he could see the game the reply was 'im watching that dinnae be a dingle' hounded by some guy offering me a vape for any ching I had whilst taking the wee man to the toilet. brutal lesson learnt be 2 adult tickets and away from that next time
It's the same every time. I think I did it from my kids being maybe 9 or 10? Expensive trip every time but it was worth it. Selfish entitlement of the hard of thinking who want to be off their faces on any trip to Hampden spoils it for everyone else and young kids, older folk especially don't deserve to be steam rollered by the steaming
LunasBoots
05-11-2023, 11:11 AM
Walking back to Kings Park station after the game saw a father and son fighting each other. They were on the ground with 2 others trying to calm the situation
Both Hibs fans and not young either.
Seems to be a recurring thing when we go to Hampden, it's like a day trip out where people just go to get leathered rather than watch a game of football. Sad really.
05-11-2023, 11:17 AM
Saw Block 7 pre match at ER taking some pictures and whatever. Their bus was also parked up next to us and they seemed to be loaded and away quickly. Disappointing if a few have gone rogue and tanned the windows of an Aberdeen bus.
Fwiw I didn't notice any massive difference in behaviour between the East and North yesterday. First time I have been in the East when the North has been an option and aside from the vastly inferior view it was fine. Obviously others had a different experience but I didn't notice any issues near me and the toilet cubicle situation and smoking in the toilets happens throughout the stadium. Folk around me couldn't have been nicer in making sure my bairn could see and so on. This was young guys who were pretty bevvied as well but they were well behaved.
These late kick offs after people have been on the lash all day are always going to see a few more flashpoints. Little comments or disagreements that might get laughed off at other times provoke a reaction. That's not saying it's right obviously.
05-11-2023, 11:58 AM
If my nephew is to be believed, there was a brief skirmish in the East Stand between what he describes as the Casuals and the Ultras.
No idea if it's true but there was a fairly large group of uniform looking (SI) young guys sitting/standing near us in G3, who arrived late and disappeared during the 2nd half.
Apparent from the small group of drunken lassies sitting behind us, and the delayed trains, my day was actually pretty peaceful.
05-11-2023, 12:17 PM
Saw Block 7 pre match at ER taking some pictures and whatever. Their bus was also parked up next to us and they seemed to be loaded and away quickly. Disappointing if a few have gone rogue and tanned the windows of an Aberdeen bus.
Fwiw I didn't notice any massive difference in behaviour between the East and North yesterday. First time I have been in the East when the North has been an option and aside from the vastly inferior view it was fine. Obviously others had a different experience but I didn't notice any issues near me and the toilet cubicle situation and smoking in the toilets happens throughout the stadium. Folk around me couldn't have been nicer in making sure my bairn could see and so on. This was young guys who were pretty bevvied as well but they were well behaved.
These late kick offs after people have been on the lash all day are always going to see a few more flashpoints. Little comments or disagreements that might get laughed off at other times provoke a reaction. That's not saying it's right obviously.
Why do folk smoke in the toilets in the east at Hampden. There is a massive area behind the stand where you can smoke 🤔.
LewysGot2
05-11-2023, 12:41 PM
Why did about 30 police run up the steps in the East at HT?
05-11-2023, 12:52 PM
Why did about 30 police run up the steps in the East at HT?
One senior bizzy thought he heard the 3 letter currant bun word.
So he called on the loyal troops sharpish to nip the use of this "sectarian" :faf: word in the bud.
As you would expect them to do,wouldn't you?:rolleyes:
LewysGot2
05-11-2023, 01:48 PM
https://twitter.com/BenAitchison1/status/1721156651405787640
What the hell is this?
LeithSqualk
05-11-2023, 01:58 PM
Why did about 30 police run up the steps in the East at HT?police lifted some teenager, they carried him out the back and while waiting for a van to take him away a big group surrounded them chucking coins etc at them
05-11-2023, 02:03 PM
What the hell is this?
Aberdeen roadman.
Newry Hibs
05-11-2023, 02:07 PM
The drumming was so loud for so long. Spoils any chance of other singing imo.
Hibs3-2
05-11-2023, 02:14 PM
This is a recurring theme after games from them. Drum gets skelped for 90 mins, majority of the time to a song no one knows bar 30 of them.
05-11-2023, 03:06 PM
What the hell is this?
Sheep ultras using weapons as they did last year when they attacked a pub full of families and oaps. Cowardly ****.
Johnny Clash
05-11-2023, 06:01 PM
Good point. I thought the drums were outstanding for the Dylan Vente song. Wish they had gone in longer to build up throughout entire Hibs support. However the Co start fast Turkic drinking , whilst good, does kill off any singing. I mean, you can’t sing along to any of the fast Burundi beat so why bother? Stick to beats that encourages singing!
linlithgowhibbie
05-11-2023, 06:02 PM
Good point. I thought the drums were outstanding for the Dylan Vente song. Wish they had gone in longer to build up throughout entire Hibs support. However the Co start fast Turkic drinking , whilst good, does kill off any singing. I mean, you can’t sing along to any of the fast Burundi beat so why bother? Stick to beats that encourages singing!
Lost me there!:thumbsup:
05-11-2023, 07:17 PM
I'm biased because I can't be doing with them, but I thought B7's insistence on drumming away too long, to songs only they knew, killed the atmosphere at times.
Seems to be this way every time we’re at Hampden, folk who turn up almost unable to stand they’re so drunk, toilets are disaster zone, never seem to be far from some niggle going on, folk puking/semi conscious outside the stadium.
05-11-2023, 09:27 PM
I'm biased because I can't be doing with them, but I thought B7's insistence on drumming away too long, to songs only they knew, killed the atmosphere at times.
I sit in the section next to them at easter road, and I have no idea what the words are to half the songs.
Then I watched the other semi today and just about every second song sung by the rangers fans was the same as some of our tunes.
Rubbish and unoriginal.
Johnny Clash
05-11-2023, 09:54 PM
Lost me there!:thumbsup:
Ah sorry … predictive texting gone mad!
Should have said
Good point. I thought the drums were outstanding for the Dylan Vente song. Wish they had gone on longer to build up throughout entire Hibs support. However the fast rhythmic drumming, whilst good, does kill off any singing. I mean, you can’t sing along to any of the fast Burundi beat so why bother? Stick to beats that encourages singing!
06-11-2023, 05:43 PM
I've been attending games since 1970 and can't understand half all the Hibs songbook. Totally lost when it comes to the crap sang by the cheeks.
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
Svengali
07-11-2023, 07:30 AM
I was sat in the East. Far too many pissed folk wanting to argue, not young guys either. It’s like people think they can get steaming and act how they want around kids and women.
I took my 10 year old daughter and it I won’t be back to Hampden, sad really.
Spoke to 4 different people yesterday, all sitting in different areas and they all said the same. Fighting, arguing with each other. I heard one of ours threw a coffee into Aberdeen end. Sadly fannies spoil it for decent folk who want to have a good day out and enjoy the fitbaw
07-11-2023, 07:45 AM
Crap songs, drumming, violent behaviour. Football is an alien experience nowadays and I've stopped going.
07-11-2023, 08:10 AM
Exactly. You really have to wonder what some of the posters on here were doing in their youth. Were they top class sportsmen, pop stars, travelling millionaires? Did they have any friends at all?
It's young people being young people, bonding, having silly fun. There's little enough down the line for them these days. As long as they aren't harming anyone else, let them enjoy themselves in their own way.
07-11-2023, 09:20 AM
Not the Block 7 lot but there was some aggro in the South. A big group of folk stayed standing which caused arguments when folk asked them to sit down. I don't mind standing but you need to be mindful of other folk. There were a few kids, a few older folk, etc. I did my ankle in last week and would have struggled to stand a full game. The argument was "it is a semi final you shouldn't be here if you want to sit, and if you do you should be over there in the family section"... well that wouldn't have worked as that looked like it was where block 7 was... standing. The implication being you aren't supporting the team if you sit down. After a woman next to me shouted "come on just sit down", one of them implied women shouldn't be there "there only three women around us and loads of guys, don't come". One of those 3 women was my wife BTW... who didn't care either way about standing/sitting. The sexist guy and his mates, actually moved down there after getting aggro from folk in another section they were originally in for standing.
The standing/sitting argument and sexism isn't my point though...
Several stewards asked folk to sit down which were mostly ignored until one steward got quite a few folk to sit down... at which point it caused a fight between the folk standing. Those that sat down started getting abuse from those that still refused. It got a bit heated, particularly between the sexist guy and his mates and the guy next to them who had sat down. Looked like they were calling each other outside for a fight at HT. Laugh of it was, several of the ones who refused to sit even after others sat down left quite early and sarcastically shouted "can you effing see now?" I guess leaving early shows more support for the team than sitting down does.
It puts me off going to these matches. Bevved up/coked up selfish numpties that just spoil it for everyone else.
07-11-2023, 09:33 AM
Exactly. You really have to wonder what some of the posters on here were doing in their youth. Were they top class sportsmen, pop stars, travelling millionaires? Did they have any friends at all?
It's young people being young people, bonding, having silly fun. There's little enough down the line for them these days. As long as they aren't harming anyone else, let them enjoy themselves in their own way.
Thats where the line is starting to blur, when the behaviour of a few starts to tarnish the name of the club and its fans is when it's gone too far. Twice this season already (Motherwell and Rangers away) we have seen Block 7 doing stupid things that have shone a bad light on Hibs. There may have been others.
07-11-2023, 09:35 AM
Thats where the line is starting to blur, when the behaviour of a few starts to tarnish the name of the club and its fans is when it's gone too far. Twice this season already (Motherwell and Rangers away) we have seen Block 7 doing stupid things that have shone a bad light on Hibs. There may have been others.
There’s also been an apparent disregard of other Hibs fans for quite some time with taking over of sections and the like.
07-11-2023, 09:35 AM
Not the Block 7 lot but there was some aggro in the South. A big group of folk stayed standing which caused arguments when folk asked them to sit down. I don't mind standing but you need to be mindful of other folk. There were a few kids, a few older folk, etc. I did my ankle in last week and would have struggled to stand a full game. The argument was "it is a semi final you shouldn't be here if you want to sit, and if you do you should be over there in the family section"... well that wouldn't have worked as that looked like it was where block 7 was... standing. The implication being you aren't supporting the team if you sit down. After a woman next to me shouted "come on just sit down", one of them implied women shouldn't be there "there only three women around us and loads of guys, don't come". One of those 3 women was my wife BTW... who didn't care either way about standing/sitting. The sexist guy and his mates, actually moved down there after getting aggro from folk in another section they were originally in for standing.
The standing/sitting argument and sexism isn't my point though...
Several stewards asked folk to sit down which were mostly ignored until one steward got quite a few folk to sit down... at which point it caused a fight between the folk standing. Those that sat down started getting abuse from those that still refused. It got a bit heated, particularly between the sexist guy and his mates and the guy next to them who had sat down. Looked like they were calling each other outside for a fight at HT. Laugh of it was, several of the ones who refused to sit even after others sat down left quite early and sarcastically shouted "can you effing see now?" I guess leaving early shows more support for the team than sitting down does.
It puts me off going to these matches. Bevved up/coked up selfish numpties that just spoil it for everyone else.
That situation is ridiculous, I would have stood if given the choice, but you start to take away from other peoples experience if you do so sit down.
What even dafter about it is there were literally thousands of empty seats that could have been opened up so that those who want to stand could go and do so.
07-11-2023, 09:36 AM
There’s also been an apparent disregard of other Hibs fans for quite some time with taking over of sections and the like.
A prominent poster on here has had first hand experience of it with his daughter IIRC.
07-11-2023, 09:41 AM
That situation is ridiculous, I would have stood if given the choice, but you start to take away from other peoples experience if you do so sit down.
What even dafter about it is there were literally thousands of empty seats that could have been opened up so that those who want to stand could go and do so.
Its choice of stand though. I wouldn't buy tickets for the South and expect to stand all game. If I'm in the North then I'd expect it. East is a hit or a miss. Not just Hibs games though. Was in there for Scotland V England recently and the whole section was stood for the full game. Was a pain in the bum yo be honest as I quite fancied a wee seat.
Potty78
07-11-2023, 09:54 AM
Maybe we could in future open up sections for just families with kids and say it's a sitting area? My nephew had to stand the whole game and couldn't see much, not ideal really.
Chorley Hibee
07-11-2023, 10:26 AM
Maybe we could in future open up sections for just families with kids and say it's a sitting area? My nephew had to stand the whole game and couldn't see much, not ideal really.
That's the solution to this.
Designated areas where families can feel comfortable with their children etc, and other areas where a bit more leeway in regards to standing/swearing etc can be tolerated.
Hampden is just a mess when it comes to that sort of organisation though.
07-11-2023, 10:37 AM
I felt there was a definite and tangible increase in the pissed/coked up fraternity. The state of some folk, and not just young guys. I like a wee drink before big games, but can't understand getting into a state where you're likely to be getting lifted/not gaining entry.
We were in the North Stand, bloke next to me was quite a big guy, 6ft ish. I'm about the same and not a lightweight. I was sandwiched between him and my 6ft 4, generously proportioned laddie. After some mild jostling I had to just force my way between them. Of course, I realised he had two pals standing next to him, much aulder guys. There were three of them and seats/space for two.
More robust defence was needed and I just pushed my way over and stood as far forward as I could. Laddie was offering offering to swap with me, but why the should he. The prick wouldnae have been jostling him, for sure. A minor inconvenience, but symptomatic of the me first attitude whereby folk just do as they please. It's assholes like that makes going to Hampden even more of an ordeal than it need be
07-11-2023, 11:03 AM
The ultras thing is what it is. But I do agree it's lack of colour is a bit daft, as the OP pointed out what's the point of dressing exactly the same as 300 guys and girls following Aberdeen, Hearts or whoever ... One of sports great things is being proud of your club's colours .. can they not get their mums ( or dads ) to knit them green and white balaclavas? :greengrin
What could be more contradictory than using the word 'ultra' which I presume is supposed to donate unswerving loyalty to your club and as part of it's 'culture' bin it's colours for a generic 'ultras' uniform?
As for Hampden .... we have the same debate on here after every game there, my group had our own problems shifting drunk bams from our seats on Saturday ... one guy was practically comatose and it was more a case of making him responsive than any sort of argument. In fact he was so bad the next day I worried he might actually have been I'll and that instead of moving a drunk we had failed to help a guy who needed medical attention ... especially after hearing about the tragedy that happened after the game.
BTW .. I'm not claiming to be some angel, I've been pished at Hampden many times, but at least I've always managed to find my own seat :greengrin
07-11-2023, 11:11 AM
Aberdeen did exactly that when selling tickets. One section was designated a singing section and contained their ultras, another was sold as a family section.
Something to consider for the future. There are enough seats, particularly at semi finals, to accommodate everyone.
07-11-2023, 11:13 AM
Aberdeen did exactly that when selling tickets. One section was designated a singing section and contained their ultras, another was sold as a family section.
Something to consider for the future. There are enough seats, particularly at semi finals, to accommodate everyone.
I’ve offered the idea of a version of that to the club for away games before as a solution to allow ultras to have a section and those who don’t want to be a part of it. We had that back in (IIRC) about 2011 or so.
07-11-2023, 11:15 AM
That would make complete sense especially as you say when loads of seats available.
07-11-2023, 11:16 AM
Bring back national service is what I say, get some discipline knocked into these scallywags.
07-11-2023, 11:22 AM
Bring back national service is what I say, get some discipline knocked into these scallywags.
Or just have it that people sit in the seats they’re allocated and don’t take over rows of seats that already seat other Hibs fans - particularly in sold out away ends.
07-11-2023, 11:32 AM
Absolutely ... especially these ultras, a couple of years all being forced to dress the same, make every move to the constant screaming of one guy and banging drums will soon knock some sense into them :greengrin
07-11-2023, 12:23 PM
I’ve offered the idea of a version of that to the club for away games before as a solution to allow ultras to have a section and those who don’t want to be a part of it. We had that back in (IIRC) about 2011 or so.
ta, after reading a few earlier posts i was positive at one time their was a family section thingy in the East at Hampden
just couldn't remember the year or even if it was organised by the SFA or our club, i don't think it lasted long mind you
having said that even a family section nowayears would most likely not be a very comfortable atmosphere for families
07-11-2023, 12:24 PM
ta, after reading a few earlier posts i was positive at one time their was a family section thingy in the East at Hampden
just couldn't remember the year or even if it was organised by the SFA or our club, i don't think it lasted long mind you
It was defo the case that away games the singing section had a designated area which made it easier to be closer or further away from it, depending on your preference.
It was either under Calderwood or Fenlon.
MKHIBEE
07-11-2023, 12:33 PM
The ultras thing is what it is. But I do agree it's lack of colour is a bit daft, as the OP pointed out what's the point of dressing exactly the same as 300 guys and girls following Aberdeen, Hearts or whoever ... One of sports great things is being proud of your club's colours .. can they not get their mums ( or dads ) to knit them green and white balaclavas? :greengrin
What could be more contradictory than using the word 'ultra' which I presume is supposed to donate unswerving loyalty to your club and as part of it's 'culture' bin it's colours for a generic 'ultras' uniform?
As for Hampden .... we have the same debate on here after every game there, my group had our own problems shifting drunk bams from our seats on Saturday ... one guy was practically comatose and it was more a case of making him responsive than any sort of argument. In fact he was so bad the next day I worried he might actually have been I'll and that instead of moving a drunk we had failed to help a guy who needed medical attention ... especially after hearing about the tragedy that happened after the game.
BTW .. I'm not claiming to be some angel, I've been pished at Hampden many times, but at least I've always managed to find my own seat :greengrin
My mum knitted me one to wear on my paper round. About 55 years ago.
07-11-2023, 06:03 PM
If anybody annoys me at games by being totally p1ssed, or a selfish d1ck, I usually shout and swear at them in German.
Trust me, It's very effective
Johnny Clash
07-11-2023, 10:24 PM
That’s the answer. Should keep everyone happy and easy to implement.
08-11-2023, 06:13 AM
Absolutely ... especially these ultras, a couple of years all being forced to dress the same, make every move to the constant screaming of one guy and banging drums will soon knock some sense into them :greengrin
08-11-2023, 07:21 AM
Correct. Military service didn’t do you any ….. wait, I’m going to have to rethink that one. :greengrin
Berwickhibby
08-11-2023, 07:35 AM
If anybody annoys me at games by being totally p1ssed, or a selfish d1ck, I usually shout and swear at them in German.
Trust me, It's very effective
Unfortunately although sounding harsh and forceful…..The German vocabulary does not contain the quantity or quality of swear words required. 😀
MKHIBEE
08-11-2023, 08:24 AM
Unfortunately although sounding harsh and forceful…..The German vocabulary does not contain the quantity or quality of swear words required. 😀
Hunne could be of use