View Full Version : Question Outside Edinburgh which towns are more hibs or hearts
HibsBragh
18-10-2023, 02:17 PM
Outside Edinburgh which towns are more hibs or hearts?
linlithgowhibbie
18-10-2023, 04:01 PM
Outside Edinburgh which towns are more hibs or hearts?
Linlithgow is mostly Huns, Celtic Hertz then Hibs although there has been a noticable upturn in numbers of Hibs fans here.
18-10-2023, 04:07 PM
I moved out to Poltonhall from Leith recently. Seen a few Hibs fans about but plenty Hun tops too. Not seen many Hertz fans which I’m surprised at.
hibby rae
18-10-2023, 04:15 PM
I believe Bonnyrigg is quite Jamboy, anecdotally I've only known Hibs supporters from Musselburgh
18-10-2023, 04:31 PM
The Bonnyrigg bus use to pick a gang of us up at the old Rainbow pub in Drum Brae South back in the 80s/90s era
Always seemed to me to be a very much Hibs town with Eric Stevenson leading the pack ! :greengrin
Good bus. Good People from what i recall.
l Cant just remember the bus conveners name who i think ended up on Hibs board for his fund raising activities for Hibs , i think
Memory has went blank on his name.Embarrassing not remembering
Old age.
Did he take over Eric's newsagent,or am i imagining that ?
Anyway i went on their bus a few times when it picked up in Corstorphine and sat with my hero Eric Stevenson once or twice Pity for Eric !
Hibs4185
18-10-2023, 04:47 PM
Galashiels is mostly huns, Celtic and Hibs. Not many yams fortunately
Thief
18-10-2023, 04:53 PM
The Bonnyrigg bus use to pick a gang of us up at the old Rainbow pub in Drum Brae South back in the 80s/90s era
Always seemed to me to be a very much Hibs town with Eric Stevenson leading the pack ! :greengrin
l Cant just remember the bus conveners name who i think ended up on Hibs board for his fund raising activities for Hibs , i think
Old age.
Anyway i went on their bus a few times when it picked up in Corstorphine and sat with my hero Eric Stevenson once or twice Pity for Eric !
Possibly Ian Brennan? Gentleman. No idea what he’s up to these days.
18-10-2023, 05:02 PM
Possibly Ian Brennan? Gentleman. No idea what he’s up to these days.
Yes Ian Brennan it was... thanks for jogging my brain cell !! .It was many years ago.
We are all getting on in years/ Some of us !!'
How could i forget his name, alway made me welcome on the bus and didn't charge me a couple of times .me being short of the Nelson Eddys some weeks.
Us half Irish n left fitters stuck the gither back then:greengrin
Donnie Armstrong on the Edinburgh West Bus was a good convener,too.Got on well with Donnie. through the union firstly.
A good strong fair convener(take no nonsense) made fir a good away bus.
Its been so many years since i have seen or heard about these guys, i dont know what they are up to.
I dont get to games now for health reasons.
I miss my wee blethers(and nips) in Strathies(Iona Street) before and after games.
:boo hoo::violin:
18-10-2023, 05:07 PM
I lived in Longstone for a bit (supposedly a Hearts stronghold) and of the 3 neighbours I spoke to all of them were Hibs fans.
18-10-2023, 05:10 PM
Old age.
Dunno about Eric Stevensons Newsagents but he had a newsagents in Gorebridge. (Birkenside to be precise). Top bloke. Used to be on the board at ER. For sone bizarre reason I think he was involved at Raith Rovers too.
18-10-2023, 05:11 PM
I believe Bonnyrigg is quite Jamboy, anecdotally I've only known Hibs supporters from Musselburgh
Musselburgh is mixed, most of the folk from Bonnyrigg/Dalkeith I've met are Hibbies, might be coincidence though!
18-10-2023, 05:27 PM
Dunno about Eric Stevensons Newsagents but he had a newsagents in Gorebridge. (Birkenside to be precise). Top bloke. Used to be on the board at ER. For sone bizarre reason I think he was involved at Raith Rovers too.
Am mixed up then with the newsagents, though
Both were Paper Boys !
Yes my memory has returned
It did raise a few eybrows when he went to Raith appointed as a director
Was it ever explained why he left hibs.He was only at Raith a few months.
Was he trying/hoping to buy them ?
Edit:
Just found this 1998 Herald article that might answer the reasons Cromb and Brennan left Hibs for Raith Rovers;
https://www.heraldscotland.com/news/12020358.cromb-takes-over-at-raith/
Earlydelivery
18-10-2023, 05:39 PM
I think the City is half and half ..:but most towns in mid / West Lothian is where Hearts outnumber us hugely
18-10-2023, 05:42 PM
I've always found East Lothian to be very Hibs orientated and West Lothian more Hearts. Places like Loanhead, Bonnyrigg etc a bit of a mix. That's just anecdotal on my part though. A few non Edinburgh people I have met down the years said they found Edinburgh itself to be more Hibs, or at least Hibs fans were more vocal about who they supported, whilst the satellite towns were Hearts. Again just their impression.
I moved to a new build estate just outside Niddrie a few years ago and was surprised at how big a Celtic presence there was in Niddrie and Craigmillar. A bit digging suggests there was a big movement of people from Greenock to the area a few decades ago, Greenock being an area largely populated by the Irish disapora in days gone by, and the legacy of that explains it.
18-10-2023, 05:47 PM
I don’t live there but my experience of Gala was more an equal split when it came to hibs and hearts, maybe even more hearts. But I’m getting auld.
But too many old firm as you say… and rugby 🙄
18-10-2023, 05:49 PM
South Lanarkshire around me has a decent number of Hibs fans. Minimal jambos which is good, a healthy number of Motherwell fans cutting about too.
Hun-spotting is great sport on Lanark high street. My wife and I play it regularly.
1 point for top
5 points for top and a fag
10 points for top and limp/stoop/walking aid
50 jackpot for all 3
18-10-2023, 05:53 PM
I've always found East Lothian to be very Hibs orientated and West Lothian more Hearts. Places like Loanhead, Bonnyrigg etc a bit of a mix. That's just anecdotal on my part though. A few non Edinburgh people I have met down the years said they found Edinburgh itself to be more Hibs, or at least Hibs fans were more vocal about who they supported, whilst the satellite towns were Hearts. Again just their impression.
I moved to a new build estate just outside Niddrie a few years ago and was surprised at how big a Celtic presence there was in Niddrie and Craigmillar. A bit digging suggests there was a big movement of people from Greenock to the area a few decades ago, Greenock being an area largely populated by the Irish disapora in days gone by, and the legacy of that explains it.
Bonnyrigg is pretty mixed. I know of 3 different buses leaving for the semi final. Equally, I know of Hearts buses leaving on the Sunday. There is still a Rangers bus leaves weekly although not in as big numbers as they used to. And there is still a Celtic bus weekly as well.
With all the new houses and ‘non Bonnyrigg’ folk it’s more difficult to judge now.
There was even a wee laddie running about in is Motherwell strip at the bairns fitbaw last week.
mcohibs
18-10-2023, 05:57 PM
Very large Irish community in the Inch/Craigmillar going back to the 50s/60s. Holyrood RC high school built nearby at the time to accommodate.
plhibs
18-10-2023, 05:58 PM
I remember Ian from my time traveling on that bus, he was on the board at Hibs 1998ish.
I think he had the Village newsagent in Birkenside (small green and white van)?
No idea about him now, it's been a good few years .
HIBS NUTS
18-10-2023, 06:00 PM
Prestonpans and port seaton mostly huns.
A couple of they daft marches in july too.
East lothian more hibs than hearts .
18-10-2023, 06:07 PM
I find my Dalkeith school run to be a mix of Celtic and Hearts, a drive through the town centre to be Rangers, but my street dominated by Hibs.
18-10-2023, 06:08 PM
Can happily report to having seen no minging coloured Jambo tops in Copenhagen as yet...not seen any Hibs ones either mind, so maybe it's a pretty even split here 😁
Gaffer1875
18-10-2023, 06:18 PM
I’d say Peebles is a 50/50 split on Hibs / Hearts fans
bordergreen
18-10-2023, 06:25 PM
I don’t live there but my experience of Gala was more an equal split when it came to hibs and hearts, maybe even more hearts. But I’m getting auld.
But too many old firm as you say… and rugby 🙄
Gala is probably half and half. More Huns than anything. Probably more Celtic too.
berwickhibee
18-10-2023, 06:25 PM
Berwick is a mix of everything
Loads of Newcastle and Sunderland and Huns.
But Hibs and hearts about the same,strange thing just outside Berwick, ayton is all jambos and chirnside all Hibs, only 2 miles apart
hibby rae
18-10-2023, 06:29 PM
Very large Irish community in the Inch/Craigmillar going back to the 50s/60s. Holyrood RC high school built nearby at the time to accommodate.
The Inch is where my family stems from, great grandparents were Irish. Same with two of my pal's families. No Greenock links among any of them though. Straight from Ireland to east Scotland.
I would imagine a large portion of the families were from the Cowgate, Dumbiedykes area given the size of Irish populations in those areas and the clearance of housing there in the post-war period.
The Hertz bus that leaves from Bonnyrigg is full of pricks.
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-10-2023, 06:51 PM
South Lanarkshire around me has a decent number of Hibs fans. Minimal jambos which is good, a healthy number of Motherwell fans cutting about too.
Hun-spotting is great sport on Lanark high street. My wife and I play it regularly.
1 point for top
5 points for top and a fag
10 points for top and limp/stoop/walking aid
50 jackpot for all 3
Yep met a few hibs fans in my wee bit of SL as well, actually think there’s a Bonkle Hibs Supporters Club? Could well just be a bloke and his dug, mind you that’d be 50% of the population of Bonkle near enough [emoji23] my immediate vicinity is pretty much an even split between the uglies and Motherwell… and me.
18-10-2023, 06:51 PM
I’d say Peebles is a 50/50 split on Hibs / Hearts fans
I’m from Peebles and would have to agree. Sometimes feel there are more Hibs where you’re stopping for a Hibs themed chat with countless fellow fans any time you’re out and about. The Jambos are there lurking in background of course, but I’m at arms length from all but a couple!
Strong Rangers and Celtic presence with a regular bus following Rangers about. Used to be a Celtic bus but that has been reduced to a few cars now.
A small handful of St Johnstone too who are quite active.
Gaffer1875
18-10-2023, 06:54 PM
I’m from Peebles and would have to agree. Sometimes feel there are more Hibs where you’re stopping for a Hibs themed chat with countless fellow fans any time you’re out and about. The Jambos are there lurking in background of course, but I’m at arms length from all but a couple!
Strong Rangers and Celtic presence with a regular bus following Rangers about. Used to be a Celtic bus but that has been reduced to a few cars now.
Not to mention the current St Johnstone manager [emoji6]
18-10-2023, 06:57 PM
I'm a Fifer and Fife is mostly full of Huns but my Hibs learnings come from my dad who's whole family hail from East Lothian. All Hibbys.
Potty78
18-10-2023, 07:14 PM
Tweed Valley Loyal🤣, Peebles is actually a decent mix. Saints, Motherwell fans in there too👍
Potty78
18-10-2023, 07:16 PM
Not to mention the current St Johnstone manager [emoji6]
Top lad is Macca👍
Gaffer1875
18-10-2023, 07:17 PM
Top lad is Macca[emoji106]
He is, a Hibee too [emoji2]
JammyDoidger
18-10-2023, 07:29 PM
I'd say Livingston is majority Hibs, even back at school Hibs we're far outnumbering Hearts fans.
18-10-2023, 07:37 PM
Yep met a few hibs fans in my wee bit of SL as well, actually think there’s a Bonkle Hibs Supporters Club? Could well just be a bloke and his dug, mind you that’d be 50% of the population of Bonkle near enough [emoji23] my immediate vicinity is pretty much an even split between the uglies and Motherwell… and me.
We were once down playing in the burn close to our house and a guy walked past with a dog and a Hibs cap, also seen a couple of Hibs tops on kids in the village - not including my own!
18-10-2023, 08:07 PM
He is, a Hibee too [emoji2]
Stevie?
Nae danger 😁 his fither is but Stevie was always rangers I’ve been assured.
Really nice guy though. Too nice for rangers.
18-10-2023, 08:09 PM
I'd say Livingston is majority Hibs, even back at school Hibs we're far outnumbering Hearts fans.
Not so sure imo
Gaffer1875
18-10-2023, 08:20 PM
Stevie?
Nae danger [emoji16] his fither is but Stevie was always rangers I’ve been assured.
Really nice guy though. Too nice for rangers.
I went through school with Stevie and as a kid he was a Hibee, like his dad and his cousin KT.
andrew70
18-10-2023, 08:33 PM
Dunbar is very proudly Hibs with a good few Huns and a Celtic supporters club but in comparison there’s not too many Jambos.
Pity most are non match going though.
18-10-2023, 08:38 PM
Tweed Valley Loyal🤣, Peebles is actually a decent mix. Saints, Motherwell fans in there too👍
I take my daughter to the girls only football and aye there's a decent mix of club strips represented. Know a St Mirren fan as well
18-10-2023, 08:39 PM
I went through school with Stevie and as a kid he was a Hibee, like his dad and his cousin KT.
I only recently found out they were cousins.
Similarly, didn't know KT was from Peebles until I saw his picture on the high school hall of fame thing they have when on a visit for my eldest going to HS
Always thought he was from gala before I moved down here myself
18-10-2023, 08:47 PM
Here in Oliva, Spain... as far as I can tell, not a jambo in sight... Bliss! :greengrin
Mcbizz1998
18-10-2023, 08:54 PM
On the point around Edinburgh city being more Hibs, anecdotally I would agree. I recently learnt that Leith is the most densely populated area in the whole of Scotland! Might go some way to explaining it.
18-10-2023, 08:56 PM
Down here in deepest Surrey its definitely more Hibs than Hearts.
Mind you, me and my wife and two boys make up 80% of the Hibbies 😎
Havent met a single Jambo.. A couple of Sevco and soap dodgers...
babahibs
18-10-2023, 09:02 PM
I was brought up in Penicuik in the 70's/ 80's, only a few good guys, was a massive jambo town, probably still is.
18-10-2023, 09:05 PM
Ive captured Chesterfield for Hibs.
Fuzzywuzzy
18-10-2023, 09:10 PM
Inverkeithing I always found very Hunnish (at least 80's/90's) when I was a kid. The bowling club was full of of them. Same with the ex-servicemens club
18-10-2023, 09:25 PM
Absolutely correct.
18-10-2023, 09:40 PM
Mind you, me and my wife and two boys make up 80% of the Hibbies
I'm in Belfast and it is, of course, split between blue and lesser green. Surprising amount of hearts fans here though, with only a small handful of hibs fans.
Ah well, at least between me and my hibee cat, my house is hibs as f*#*
18-10-2023, 09:47 PM
Fair enough 👍 I wasn’t at school with him, presumably converted (unfortunately) to the dark side after signing for them as a teenager.
Second cousins with Thomson I believe… another one that often appears to have converted 😏
Gaffer1875
18-10-2023, 09:57 PM
Fair enough [emoji106] I wasn’t at school with him, presumably converted (unfortunately) to the dark side after signing for them as a teenager.
Second cousins with Thomson I believe… another one that often appears to have converted [emoji57]
Yeah, he signed when Advocat came in as manager, I was in the same year as him and it was big news at the time.
Without getting into another KT slagging match, he’s still and always will be a Hibee as are his two sons. Yes he’s fond of Rangers having played there for 3 years and occasionally works for them but he’s a Hibee.
Q the abuse in 3, 2, 1….
18-10-2023, 10:05 PM
I don't really mind if an area has Hibs or Hearts fans, either is preferable to places that are Hun central.
My wife comes from Bridge of Allan and it is about 99% Hun.
Gaffer1875
18-10-2023, 10:06 PM
I don't really mind if an area has Hibs or Hearts fans, either is preferable to places that are Hun central.
I now live in uddingston, the majority is Celtic here I’d say with quite a few Motherwell tops too kicking around. Only two Hibees; me and my son [emoji1]
Cammy
18-10-2023, 10:06 PM
Absolute rubbish , most of my mates that grew up in port seton were split evenly between hibs and hearts(slightly more hibs).
Only ever met one Jambo in London and he was an utter arse.
Mostly Hibs here, I’m pleased to say!
Paulie Walnuts
18-10-2023, 10:09 PM
Preston Pans is the most Hun place I’ve ever been outside of Govan.
Cammy
18-10-2023, 10:11 PM
In fact your local knowledge isn’t great as you can’t even spell Port Seton properly so I wouldn’t put too much trust in your knowledge.
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-10-2023, 10:20 PM
Not when I was at school, place was swarming with the gimps. Could be to do with Deans being the original Livingston station and the “Livi Station Folk” being more hearts than hibs? Don’t know.
18-10-2023, 10:22 PM
Mind you, me and my wife and two boys make up 80% of the Hibbies 😎
Same here in North Yorkshire - there's me, Hibbyradge 15 miles away and someone in Harrogate (I think) and not a single Jambo :greengrin
DroitwichHibs
18-10-2023, 10:24 PM
I know 3 Hibs fans in Droitwich- not aware of any Jambo, so clearly a Hibs town. 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-10-2023, 10:24 PM
I'm in Belfast and it is, of course, split between blue and lesser green. Surprising amount of hearts fans here though, with only a small handful of hibs fans.
Derry is overwhelmingly… not bothered about Scottish football, actually. Apart from Galliagh, they’re aw shellick. From my experience most folk are Man Utd or Liverpool fans there, the obsession with the infirm is more a Belfast thing according to my faither in law.
18-10-2023, 10:47 PM
I grew up in BofA in the 80s and would agree about the number of huns. A small number of Utd and Sheep fans too probably because of the success of the teams of that era. Stirling had quite a few huns and tic buses, as well as a ****bo bus. I travelled on the Alloa Hibs bus a few times.
18-10-2023, 10:51 PM
Bonnyrigg is pretty mixed. I know of 3 different buses leaving for the semi final. Equally, I know of Hearts buses leaving on the Sunday. There is still a Rangers bus leaves weekly although not in as big numbers as they used to. And there is still a Celtic bus weekly as well.
With all the new houses and ‘non Bonnyrigg’ folk it’s more difficult to judge now.
There was even a wee laddie running about in is Motherwell strip at the bairns fitbaw last week.
I hope you’re on the best bus out of the 3.
The Inch is where my family stems from, great grandparents were Irish. Same with two of my pal's families. No Greenock links among any of them though. Straight from Ireland to east Scotland.
I would imagine a large portion of the families were from the Cowgate, Dumbiedykes area given the size of Irish populations in those areas and the clearance of housing there in the post-war period.
Many from the Cowgate, Dumbiedykes, Holyrood Square were moved to the newly built Niddrie Mill in the mid 50s. My Mum was from the bottom of the High St and Dad from Newcraighall. Niddrie Mill had plenty Irish and Italian Catholics, a few Highlanders (tended to be rangers) mostly Hibs, plenty Hearts fans and some celtic. Half my pals from there went to Holyrood and the other half the Marischal/Castlebrae. You could opt to go to Porty given the Portobello postcode.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
18-10-2023, 11:47 PM
Musselburgh is mixed, most of the folk from Bonnyrigg/Dalkeith I've met are Hibbies, might be coincidence though!
I've lived 36 years of my life in Musselburgh until recently. When we moved there in the 80s, the support was indeed mixed between Hibs, Hearts, Celtic and Rangers. I'd say it is now massively a Hibs supporting town., mainly due to a big influx of people moving from East Edinburgh over years (like me).
Our street of ~40 houses was almost entirely of the Hibs persuasion.
Separately, we once visited Dufftown in Moray for a holiday and learnt from a local that the small village had ~15 Hibs fans living in it. It apparently is a result of a fondness of the Famous 5 in the 50s 🇳🇬
19-10-2023, 12:30 AM
Same here, my house is Hibs as f*** anaw. Well except for my wife who doesn't listen to a ****en thing I say and supports Spurs.
PHeffernan
19-10-2023, 12:55 AM
I could name a dozen Gala jambo's and i've not lived there for 35 years.
I remember there was a lot of Celtic supporters most of whose families were from Glasgow and who probably arrived in Gala in the middle 60's. They were a bit loud at times but I don't remember any problems over it.
I don't remember so many Rangers and Hibs supporters in the town but maybe that was down to the guys I happened to live near to and cut about with.
Same here in North Yorkshire - there's me, Hibbyradge 15 miles away and someone in Harrogate (I think) and not a single Jambo :greengrin
There is a few jambos in York. I remember when I used catch train to Leeds from Edinburgh after a game, a few would always get off in York.
19-10-2023, 05:58 AM
The latter part is only partially true at best. When the provision for Catholic education in Edinburgh was restructured in the late 60’s, St Anthony’s and Holy Cross shut, Holy Rood and and St Augustine’s were built and St Thomas of Aquinas changed from girls only to both sexes. There was already a large Catholic population of Irish descent, many of whom were Hibs fans whilst post-war Irish immigrants tended to support Celtc.
Torto7
19-10-2023, 06:21 AM
Before I moved to Dunfermline I was told it was full of huns but it's anything but imo. Most Huns in Fife are from the overspill and moving to Cowdenbeath the ex mining towns etc. Dunfermline is more Premier League and a passing interest in the Pars for most locals. There's a very large Hibs support here now and Hearts as well.
19-10-2023, 06:25 AM
There are loads of jambos and huns in Musselburgh. At least that was the case when I lived there 40 year ago.
19-10-2023, 06:32 AM
I've seen one Hearts top and two Hibs in my village, and know of at least one other Hibs fan. Rest are Dunfermline, Celtic, and, overwhelmingly, Rangers.
Trinity Hibee
19-10-2023, 06:34 AM
Happy to confirm North Edinburgh is predominantly Hibs
Fanforlife
19-10-2023, 06:49 AM
Yes Ian Brennan it was... thanks for jogging my brain cell !! .It was many years ago.
We are all getting on in years/ Some of us !!'
How could i forget his name, alway made me welcome on the bus and didn't charge me a couple of times .me being short of the Nelson Eddys some weeks.
Us half Irish n left fitters stuck the gither back then:greengrin
Donnie Armstrong on the Edinburgh West Bus was a good convener,too.Got on well with Donnie. through the union firstly.
A good strong fair convener(take no nonsense) made fir a good away bus.
Its been so many years since i have seen or heard about these guys, i dont know what they are up to.
I dont get to games now for health reasons.
I miss my wee blethers(and nips) in Strathies(Iona Street) before and after games.
:boo hoo::violin:Donnie now staying opposite Southsider Mick,still a mad Hibby😁👍
19-10-2023, 06:51 AM
I've lived 36 years of my life in Musselburgh until recently. When we moved there in the 80s, the support was indeed mixed between Hibs, Hearts, Celtic and Rangers. I'd say it is now massively a Hibs supporting town., mainly due to a big influx of people moving from East Edinburgh over years (like me).
Separately, we once visited Dufftown in Moray for a holiday and learnt from a local that the small village had ~15 Hibs fans living in it. It apparently is a result of a fondness of the Famous 5 in the 50s 🇳🇬
It must have changed, I'm never out in Musselburgh these days but back in the 90s it seemed to be predominantly jambos. But you do see a lot of Hibbies at bus stops on a Saturday now.
Fanforlife
19-10-2023, 06:59 AM
Same here in North Yorkshire - there's me, Hibbyradge 15 miles away and someone in Harrogate (I think) and not a single Jambo :greengrinFair few from Harrogate who used to come up to travel on the I.E C Hibs bus with Martin Mcgurk back in the day.
darwenhibby
19-10-2023, 06:59 AM
In Darwen there is a significant weedgie community, mostly Tims.
A few Huns and Blackburn fans who have bought into the Hun nonsense
Just a few of us are Hibs fans and couple of yams
Over the hill in Bolton there is a sprinkling of Dunfermline fans
🤦🏻
19-10-2023, 07:03 AM
I think every town will have a token Jambo, the one that always needs to let you know he’s a jambo wearing the maroon coloured gazelles and wears shorts all the time to show off his horrible hertz tatts. Probably wears the same strip everyday to let everyone know it’s not been washed. I’d also hazard a guess that he wears those glasses that turn into sunglasses if the suns out.
19-10-2023, 07:12 AM
The latter part is only partially true at best. When the provision for Catholic education in Edinburgh was restructured in the late 60’s, St Anthony’s and Holy Cross shut, Holy Rood and and St Augustine’s were built and St Thomas of Aquinas changed from girls only to both sexes. There was already a large Catholic population of Irish descent, many of whom were Hibs fans whilst post-war Irish immigrants tended to support Celtc.
My experience of growing up in The Inch where there were a lot of post-war first-generation Irish was that they and their kids were all Celtc while those of us whose parents or grandparents had come up from the Southside and Old Town were 50/50 Hibs and lesser greens. Craigmillar and Niddrie was big Hibs and Celtc territory plus lots of Jambos. One of the first places folk from the Cowgate and round about were moved to because of slum clearances was Lochend back in the 1930s. Maybe that explains the YLS gang name 40 years later :greengrin
Nowadays with house prices in Edinburgh and ordinary folk having to move to satellite towns for affordability I imagine most places will have a much broader spectrum of fans of different clubs than even 20 years ago.
19-10-2023, 07:16 AM
Donnie now staying opposite Southsider Mick,still a mad Hibby
Thank you for that,Ffl
If you are in touch with Donnie.
Pass on my best wishes !!
19-10-2023, 07:23 AM
My experience of growing up in The Inch where there were a lot of post-war first-generation Irish was that they and their kids were all Celtc while those of us whose parents or grandparents had come up from the Southside and Old Town were 50/50 Hibs and lesser greens. Craigmillar and Niddrie was big Hibs and Celtc territory plus lots of Jambos. One of the first places folk from the Cowgate and round about were moved to because of slum clearances was Lochend back in the 1930s. Maybe that explains the YLS gang name 40 years later :greengrin
Nowadays with house prices in Edinburgh and ordinary folk having to move to satellite towns for affordability I imagine most places will have a much broader spectrum of fans of different clubs than even 20 years ago.
Thatcher's "right to buy"scheme (scam) in the early 1980s was/is responsible for communities/schemes changing over the years,and the migration you mention.
Not for the good either ,imo.
Young couples ,and singles.cannae afford a mortgage nowadays and wait years if ever to get the keys for a council house.
Edinburgh council housing stock is now a third of what it was in the 1980s.
To see some the flats in the Grassmarket where my family and friends were born and raised now turned into airbnb:fuming::grr:
And youngsters of long term local families cannae get a hoose /flat they can afford there.or the West Port
We sometimes wished over the years one of us stayed at our grannys hoose at 17 the Market and kept the tenancy in the family. Sadly its become a tourist attraction and drinking hub for festival/concerts goers.Murder for long time residents
Social engineering at play here as it did elsewhere in the town when the souless housing schemes sprouted
Which many of at first were welcomed but lots didnt last a generation and were demolished/blown up
I saw the Firhill and Sighthill flats being dynamited .Sad stuff ,effing cooncil housing planning dept architects incompetence !
Back to the Market:agree:
Strange memories and it sometimes makes me laugh and cry.
Tourist/vistors cloming doon to the Market,when i was a wee yin. for photo ops of the castle from the Vennel Steps were rarer than hens teeth.
Of Course the Vennel behind the old Sally Ann building had its own resident ghost
But she didnae bother us as long as we said hi when we seen her !
No any open deck buses then.either or tour guides taking people up closes/pends that could tell a story !!
It was The Grassmarket then for all its faults ,and poverty.
5/6 lodging hooses we called "models" from the West Port to Candlemaker Row and the West Bow.
The Market......Not the Upmarket..
But we loved it. Sneak into the tattoo for the lemonade/beer bottles return deposit and anything else we could find:greengrin
'Play fitba in the middle of the street in the fenced off gardens Played cowboys and indians on Granny's Green
Happy Days on the St Giles Bus as well and in Frank O'Rourkes pub )no relation/family friend Lived in main st D/Mains)
The pub was the very place Jimmy gave our Grandad his LC medal the very night of the game
:singing::singing:
Take a walk doon the Market ,ye'll hear us by our noise.
Get out you (insert whoever deemed to encroach for bother PAS and OO at times)
We're St Patrick's Hibee Boys:singing::singing:
Sorry for "Harping" on guys
Pun intented,!
19-10-2023, 07:59 AM
There used to be a busload that occasionally came up from Harrogate in the 90's
19-10-2023, 08:06 AM
Preston Pans is the most Hun place I’ve ever been outside of Govan.
Govan is predominantly celtic.
G15 Hibs
19-10-2023, 08:45 AM
That's interesting. I spent the first 20-odd years of my life in Musselburgh before moving to Glasgow another 20-odd years ago. When I was growing up it was about as evenly balanced a split as you could get and assumed it was still the same, but I'd not thought about how the population has changed over those last 20 years.
It must have changed, I'm never out in Musselburgh these days but back in the 90s it seemed to be predominantly jambos. But you do see a lot of Hibbies at bus stops on a Saturday now.
Now that I think about it, I do tend to notice that when I'm through visiting my folks. But then I sometimes plan my visit around home games, so that might skew it a bit!
I reckon I might be the only Hibby in the G15 postcode area, certainly never see any signs of anyone else. But then wearing colours other than the gruesome twosome isn't necessarily always advisable round here. I know a couple of guys just down the road in G13 and G61.
Not when I was at school, place was swarming with the gimps. Could be to do with Deans being the original Livingston station and the “Livi Station Folk” being more hearts than hibs? Don’t know.
When I was at school, Rangers and Celtic were the largest by far, I’d say Hibs and Hearts were about 50/50. Ironically if a football argument started (multiple times a day usually :greengrin), you’d typically find it was Hibs and Hearts fans combining against rangers or Celtic fans.
DIXIHIBS
19-10-2023, 08:56 AM
I briefly moved to port seton/cockenzie a few years ago to a new estate and the vast majority were hibs and a few hearts although the indigenous population was 90% hun. All the new builds in east lothian are filled with young families from 'mainly' east edinburgh meaning the amount of hibbies in thise areas has changed dramatically from 20/30 years ago.
19-10-2023, 09:01 AM
Yeah, he signed when Advocat came in as manager, I was in the same year as him and it was big news at the time.
Without getting into another KT slagging match, he’s still and always will be a Hibee as are his two sons. Yes he’s fond of Rangers having played there for 3 years and occasionally works for them but he’s a Hibee.
Q the abuse in 3, 2, 1….
We need to stop assuming professional footballers think like your regular fan on the street. Sure they will have clubs they supported growing up, but it's absolutely understandable they'll forgo those when they start getting professional contracts and it is only natural to grow an affinity to a club that you've played for, particularly if it was a long time or a successful spell.
While it would be very strange (though not impossible) to find a regular Hibs fan who also supports Rangers, there's nothing weird about players who have enjoyed their time at both clubs wanting both to do well (Thomson, Miller, etc,) and we as fans need to stop taking it as a personal slight when they do.
19-10-2023, 09:05 AM
That's interesting. I spent the first 20-odd years of my life in Musselburgh before moving to Glasgow another 20-odd years ago. When I was growing up it was about as evenly balanced a split as you could get and assumed it was still the same, but I'd not thought about how the population has changed over those last 20 years.
Now that I think about it, I do tend to notice that when I'm through visiting my folks. But then I sometimes plan my visit around home games, so that might skew it a bit!
I reckon I might be the only Hibby in the G15 postcode area, certainly never see any signs of anyone else. But then wearing colours other than the gruesome twosome isn't necessarily always advisable round here. I know a couple of guys just down the road in G13 and G61.
Used to see a guy cutting about Clydebank shopping centre all the time in Hibs gear. Been a few years but spoke to him a a couple of times. He didn't go to ER but he went to away games in the West and to games at Hampden with his brother.
Gaffer1875
19-10-2023, 09:05 AM
We need to stop assuming professional footballers think like your regular fan on the street. Sure they will have clubs they supported growing up, but it's absolutely understandable they'll forgo those when they start getting professional contracts and it is only natural to grow an affinity to a club that you've played for, particularly if it was a long time or a successful spell.
While it would be very strange (though not impossible) to find a regular Hibs fan who also supports Rangers, there's nothing weird about players who have enjoyed their time at both clubs wanting both to do well (Thomson, Miller, etc,) and we as fans need to stop taking it as a personal slight when they do.
*1 [emoji1319]
Renfrew_Hibby
19-10-2023, 09:06 AM
Renfrew is all Hibs! Well I've only ever came across one Jambo. There's me and some old boy I've seen around the town. Must be about 80 but looks like he was a hard so and so back in the day. Wears a hibs CIS cup winners hat. Would love to stop him and find out his history.
Gloucester Hibs
19-10-2023, 09:07 AM
I was in the Laird and Dug pub in Lasswade immediately following the 1-1 draw at the PBS end of last season, and I'm sorry to report it was all jambos. Agree about Port Seton, Prestonpans and Livi having a good number of Hibs fans.
19-10-2023, 09:27 AM
Livingston is mainly Rangers then Hearts. Still loads of Hibs fans but I’ve not come across many Celtic or Livi fans. But like all commuter towns there is a real mix amongst incomers
hibbie02
19-10-2023, 09:57 AM
As far as I know, I am the only Hibbie in Billericay!
There was some erse who lived round the corner who had a Hertz flag up in his bedroom window a few years back. He left shortly after I painted 0-7 on the street outside his house (after the 2016 replay win in the Cup) when I was p1shed.
19-10-2023, 10:13 AM
In Darwen there is a significant weedgie community, mostly Tims.
A few Huns and Blackburn fans who have bought into the Hun nonsense
Just a few of us are Hibs fans and couple of yams
Over the hill in Bolton there is a sprinkling of Dunfermline fan
🤦🏻
Sorted. :greengrin
Fanforlife
19-10-2023, 10:23 AM
Thank you for that,Ffl
If you are in touch with Donnie.
Pass on my best wishes !!Certainly will do M8 ,he has had a bit of bad health recently but over the worst i believe. Will pass on your regards when i next see him.
19-10-2023, 10:25 AM
Lots of Hibs in Blackpool, only one gimp who owns a cafe which for a greasy spoon is alright.:greengrin
Mostly bigot brothers though. :rolleyes:
19-10-2023, 10:31 AM
The Greenock thing is correct. My mum's family came from Ireland to Greenock to Craigmillar. Was always a bus leaving from the Whitehouse going to Celtic plus all the James Connolly marches when I was younger.
Saint Hibee
19-10-2023, 10:39 AM
We stay in Newhaven which not surprisingly is mainly Hibs. But my teenage kids go to James Gillespie's High School in town and somewhat surprisingly, at least in the the current S6 year, they're nearly all pretty militant Hibees to the extent they held a vote to change the leavers' hoody from maroon to green!
scm70nyd1973
19-10-2023, 10:44 AM
Here in Oliva, Spain... as far as I can tell, not a jambo in sight... Bliss! :greengrin
In Estepona there are nae Jambos. Guy round the corner from me has named his house “Casa Ibrox” - when I get the chance I’ll change it to Khazi 🤭
I'm a Fifer and Fife is mostly full of Huns but my Hibs learnings come from my dad who's whole family hail from East Lothian. All Hibbys.
Yip have to agree, mainly Rangers then Celtic with the odd sprinkling of Hibs and Hearst around me.
19-10-2023, 11:23 AM
Q the abuse in 3, 2, 1….
Should really be the “pinned post” whenever the topic rears its head. Which is usually 2/3 times a year!
The Greenock thing is correct. My mum's family came from Ireland to Greenock to Craigmillar. Was always a bus leaving from the Whitehouse going to Celtic plus all the James Connolly marches when I was younger.I knew a few people with Greenock roots from Craigmiller. A couple of them supported Morton rather than Celtic.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
19-10-2023, 11:29 AM
I’ve a lot of English friends who live in Leith. Supporters originally of Spurs, QPR, Reading and Darlington spring to mind immediately. Their kids all support Hibs due to where they live.
FifeHibs
19-10-2023, 11:41 AM
Burntisland has a good number of hibs
Basildon Hibs
19-10-2023, 11:59 AM
My mother was born in Livingston Station (Deans was a wee community just outside it, where her father was born - it got demolished years ago). I grew up in Livi Station.
Tommy Walker, Hertz greatest servant was born in Livingston Station - hence it being an original Jambo, wee toon. Once the new town got built, the place waa swamped with Weegie overspill (Huns and lesser Greens)
A wee side note, when Hertz beat Celtic in the Scottish Cup final in 1956, they stopped off at Livingston Station (Rabs Bar) for a drink on the way back to Edinburgh. My mother and all the local kids were outside cheering when Tommy Walker came out and showed them all the Cup.
19-10-2023, 12:06 PM
As far as I know, I am the only Hibbie in Billericay!
There was some erse who lived round the corner who had a Hertz flag up in his bedroom window a few years back. He left shortly after I painted 0-7 on the street outside his house (after the 2016 replay win in the Cup) when I was p1shed.Is your given name Dickie?
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
19-10-2023, 12:49 PM
I remember there was a lot of Celtic supporters most of whose families were from Glasgow and who probably arrived in Gala in the middle 60's. They were a bit loud at times but I don't remember any problems over it.
I don't remember so many Rangers and Hibs supporters in the town but maybe that was down to the guys I happened to live near to and cut about with.
I've lived in Gala for 40 years and I would say the town is pretty evenly split between Hibs and Hearts, certainly plenty of Hibbies here, but I know plenty Jambos too. The rest are the usual collection of Ugly sisters and EPL fanboys. Agree about the Celtic thing, caused by a wee Glasgow overspill.
Someone once described the Borders as a city of 100,000 people that just has massive parks dividing it's built up areas and to an extent that's true. It's still a relatively untapped market IMO and Hibs could do worse than make a concerted effort to build the club's profile here, especially with the possibility of the train line being extended to Hawick eventually. Between them Gala and Hawick have a combined population of around 30,000 people if you include places like Tweedbank on the edge of Gala.
I wouldn't class the rugby as much of a hindrance, it still dominates the schools, but most of the kids prefer fitba or at the very least like both.
itslegaltender
19-10-2023, 12:50 PM
Balerno growing up was Jambo central. Think its waned a little with more Hibees.
Ratho was a complete Hunnery 20 years ago. Certainly the old Ratho areas were very staunch (Gala bunting was red, white and blue). A lot of new estates have been built and the Stickies have been diluted somewhat. Now a mixture of Huns, Sellick, Yams and Hibees.
19-10-2023, 01:03 PM
Is your given name Dickie?
Surely that was the Jambos name. I am sure Ian Dury would agree as the start of Plaistow Patricia was about them
19-10-2023, 01:11 PM
In Estepona there are nae Jambos. Guy round the corner from me has named his house “Casa Ibrox” - when I get the chance I’ll change it to Khazi 🤭
Visit Estepona a bit as we have relatives nearby. Lovely town. Especially the green pots!
London is Hibs!
19-10-2023, 01:18 PM
The Reivers pub always seems to be overran by Celtic fans whenever I've been down there.
19-10-2023, 01:19 PM
Up here in Inverness is riddled with Huns. They're a ****** infestation.
19-10-2023, 01:46 PM
Tranent and surrounding villages are definitely Hibs, quite proud to say that
19-10-2023, 01:50 PM
My sister's moved down to Chirnside/Duns area in the borders. Her neighbours are Hibs fans from Leith and Liam Craig's dad lives down there too. No seen any hearts tops when down visiting as yet. Also Inverness is packed full of jambos, quite a few of them are related to me, we all have them I suppose. When I stayed just outside Tranent a lot of years ago it was mostly Hibs and a few jambos too. My wee cousin is a Hibee she used to stay in Larkhall, which was definitely not a Hibs town :greengrin
19-10-2023, 02:08 PM
My sister's moved down to Chirnside/Duns area in the borders. Her neighbours are Hibs fans from Leith and Liam Craig's dad lives down there too. No seen any hearts tops when down visiting as yet. Also Inverness is packed full of jambos, quite a few of them are related to me, we all have them I suppose. When I stayed just outside Tranent a lot of years ago it was mostly Hibs and a few jambos too. My wee cousin is a Hibee she used to stay in Larkhall, which was definitely not a Hibs town :greengrin
Bumped into Liam Craig's dad a couple of times in The Castle Hotel bar in Berwick, good guy.
19-10-2023, 02:53 PM
Visit Estepona a bit as we have relatives nearby. Lovely town. Especially the green pots!
London is Hibs!
Passed a few folk wearing Hibs gear when I was in London in August.
Quite a few Hibees get on the train at South Gyle or on the tram at Bankhead on match days. Unfortunately quite a few jambores around too. When they lost the Cup Final season before last, there were several houses covered in Hearts flags, bunting etc. I took great delight in puting on a Hibs top at FT and going round taking selfies in front of them all.
19-10-2023, 03:03 PM
I have 3 celtc fans, have to say 2 very decent guys, old guys from Glasgow, and one absolute bellend who has moved in recently.
One hun who behaves like a normal member of the human race.
I've met one other Hibby who lives locally and one jambo. Easy guy to ignore.
19-10-2023, 03:24 PM
Alloa. Where to begin? Hun central with a load of celtic fans as well. Alloa Academy had a role of about 750 when I was there. Only one Hibby!! Even Alan Cousins laddie who i was pals with supported Dundee😄 To be honest there are quite a lot of us about tho and we still run a bus every week to home games. I would say that in the area there is probably more Hibs than Jambos but we are outnumbered greatly by the bigots. I live in Clackmannan now and it is like downtown Belfast. The local pub has a hun bus running from it every week. The pub has UJs hanging in windows, red white blue bunting hanging. UK OK stickers in the window. Had a do for the coronation with UJs, Ulster flags, red hands the works. 22 years living here and never set foot in it.
berwickhibee
19-10-2023, 03:44 PM
Bumped into Liam Craig's dad a couple of times in The Castle Hotel bar in Berwick, good guy.
Peter Craig is a Celtic fan😲 good lad tho, loves his drink and darts
19-10-2023, 03:45 PM
I’m sure both Liam Craig and Joelle Murray are from chirnside originally?
stu in nottingham
19-10-2023, 03:50 PM
I'm not sure I've ever met a Merrick living in Nottingham. And apart from that, only bumped into one in 1990 who was a sales rep based in Edinburgh visiting a company I was at here and who just happened to start on about Hearts buying Hibs out and who won himself a *****ing mouthful.
I've met a few Hibbies here though, maybe a handful. My mates look out for them. That's in a landscape of Forest, the odd Notts fan and a whole host of Sky generation glory hunters, who 'support' Liverpool, Arsenal, Man City, Chelsea and Real Madrid etc. Any Celtic will be displaced Scots. Any Rangers will be identifiable first-class, fully-fledged ********s.
hibby rae
19-10-2023, 04:07 PM
Played in the same school team together.
19-10-2023, 04:21 PM
I hear there are no jambos on Jupiter, but loads on Uranus. Which the BBC confirms has the biggliest and best atmosphere.
Bad Habits
19-10-2023, 04:25 PM
That's me! I do know a hearts supporting family though, and I have seen a wild one walking about bold as brass before
Zondervan
19-10-2023, 05:06 PM
Since moving to Bathgate 7 years ago, it’s clear it is a Hun stronghold.
There is a decent scattering of Hibs fans though, and we also get bonus points as SDG lives here also!
Out of my older laddies football team, the breakdown is as follows:
11 - Huns
3 - Celtic
3 - Hibs
2 - Hearts
1 - Airdrie (decent non-Hun variety)
You could safely pro-rata that accross the wider population I think.
Also, everyone in his class of 25 are Rangers fans, bar 3 or 4.
As for Armadale……. 🇬[emoji1058][emoji1058][emoji1058]🇧
MKHIBEE
19-10-2023, 05:11 PM
That's me! I do know a hearts supporting family though, and I have seen a wild one walking about bold as brass before
I seen 2 Hearts scarves at York train station once on my way to a derby. And yes, they were with people.
ErinGoBraghHFC
19-10-2023, 05:44 PM
When I was at school, Rangers and Celtic were the largest by far, I’d say Hibs and Hearts were about 50/50. Ironically if a football argument started (multiple times a day usually :greengrin), you’d typically find it was Hibs and Hearts fans combining against rangers or Celtic fans.
Weren’t many Celtic fans when I was at school, or not until later on in my high school days when suddenly everyone seemed to be a Celtic fan. Was mostly Huns and hertz fans in my primary school and then high school continued that trend for the most part. There’s plenty hibs fans in livi but they seemed to be more spread around rather than concentrated to one area of the town, I’d hazard a guess that the % of Huns in Deans and Livi Village is significantly higher than other areas of Livingston.
Basildon Hibs
19-10-2023, 05:46 PM
Since moving to Bathgate 7 years ago, it’s clear it is a Hun stronghold.
There is a decent scattering of Hibs fans though, and we also get bonus points as SDG lives here also!
Out of my older laddies football team, the breakdown is as follows:
11 - Huns
3 - Celtic
3 - Hibs
2 - Hearts
1 - Airdrie (decent non-Hun variety)
You could safely pro-rata that accross the wider population I think.
Also, everyone in his class of 25 are Rangers fans, bar 3 or 4.
As for Armadale……. 🇬[emoji1058][emoji1058][emoji1058]🇧
You obviously don't know Bathgate very well. I live here and have drank/mixed with the locals for over 40 years. I've plenty pals here.
Bathgate is and always has been a very mixed town. Railway Tavern is a Hertz pub (Pizza Hut opposite was also a Hertz pub at one time (Barrs)
Smith's (Glenmavis) big Celtic Pub
Green Tree - Hun shop. Used to be a Celtic pub
The rest are very mixed...
Armadale and Whitburn are Hun infested *****holes
hibbie02
19-10-2023, 05:46 PM
Is your given name Dickie?
No but my surname is Dickson, so close enough and I’m doing rather well.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
19-10-2023, 06:20 PM
Aberdeen has a Hibs supporters club with over a hundred members that runs regular buses to games. Hearts don’t run any. Deffo more Hibs. :greengrin
19-10-2023, 06:23 PM
I hear there are no jambos on Jupiter, but loads on Uranus. Which the BBC confirms has the biggliest and best atmosphere.
That mob have been on a different planet since The Cult of Alien Vlad.
Still have an inflated sense of their place in the game ,as they did with his promise of conquering Europe, then ze World !
Vlads Maroon Cossack Army Conquer Europe !! was to be the headlines .
19-10-2023, 06:51 PM
Aberdeen has a Hibs supporters club with over a hundred members that runs regular buses to games. Hearts don’t run any. Deffo more Hibs. :greengrin
That is brilliant !
Hibernian FC Supporters Shepherds Branch
19-10-2023, 06:56 PM
Moved to Dunfermline last year and observed so far:
1. Rangers
2. Celtic
3. Dunfermline
4. Hibs
0 anything else.
Absolute shame that they support the uglies over their own team here!
ErinGoBraghHFC
19-10-2023, 07:06 PM
1. Rangers
2. Celtic
3. Dunfermline
4. Hibs
0 anything else.
As for places that support the uglies over there own team, you can add to the list the following: Airdrie, Coatbridge, Hamilton, Livingston, Cowdenbeath, Kirkcaldy, Perth, Inverness, Stirling, Falkirk, Ayr, Kilmarnock, Rutherglen (controversial or what? Does Rutherglen count as Glasgow? Clyde don’t actually play there anymore… or Cumbernauld. Where the **** are Clyde from?), Methil, Greenock, Kelty, Montrose, Stenhousemuir. Probably more. Sad but true.
19-10-2023, 07:09 PM
1. Rangers
2. Celtic
3. Dunfermline
4. Hibs
0 anything else.
I’m in Rosyth and there’s a rangers supporters bus that stops on Queensferry Road [emoji90]
Bizarrely on my street, the 4 houses next to each other (including me) is Hearts, Hearts, Hibs, Hibs. Then the family over the road are Hibbys too.
But yeah Dunfermline not well supported from what I see in Rosyth.
Falkirk Hibby
19-10-2023, 07:18 PM
Down in North Hertfordshire I've met a handful of Hibbies. In fact at my work there are 3 Scots and all are Hibs fans. Seen 1 car with a Jambo sticker but thankfully never met the owner.
Not sure what Falkirk is like now, but imagine it's still a Hun haven.
drummondst34
19-10-2023, 07:18 PM
In the land far far away ( Leamington & Warwick )
We have the town covered, me, and a regular in the Woodies, one in the Eagle,
another in south town, and a postie who gets to Easter Rd, most games.
Yes, there are the odd Celtic, & Rangers, one Hearts fan seen in Morrisons,
but balanced by another Hibee spotted there.
Shall be at Hampden, in the north stand, D4 block.
Drummond St34:flag:
19-10-2023, 07:19 PM
It is such a shame that all those areas cannot support their own local clubs. It just goes to show how poor the state of Scottish Football is due to the Glasgow mob and the uglies. My next door neighbour is a Dunfermline fan as are his kids so, hopefully I'll take a game in with hims soon lathough I am going to the Dunfermline vs Dundee Utd game in November. Two big teams that should be in the SPL!
Zondervan
19-10-2023, 07:27 PM
You obviously don't know Bathgate very well. I live here and have drank/mixed with the locals for over 40 years. I've plenty pals here.
Bathgate is and always has been a very mixed town. Railway Tavern is a Hertz pub (Pizza Hut opposite was also a Hertz pub at one time (Barrs)
Smith's (Glenmavis) big Celtic Pub
Green Tree - Hun shop. Used to be a Celtic pub
The rest are very mixed...
Armadale and Whitburn are Hun infested *****holes
I must be mixing in the wrong circles (as are my boys!).
My wife is born and bred here (1977) and most of her pals are Rangers fans. Would say 80/20 split Huns/Celtic. Most of them drink in the Green Tree so that ties in with what you say above.
Also know a couple of Jambos (via the wife again) and they jokingly told me to avoid the Railway Tavern after Derby games. Have been in without any bother to be honest.
19-10-2023, 07:38 PM
Absolute rubbish , most of my mates that grew up in port seton were split evenly between hibs and hearts(slightly more hibs).
And as an exiled Panner I have to say there were plenty good Hibees in the Pans.
19-10-2023, 08:02 PM
I'm from Duns originally. Moved up here about 22 years ago. Back then Sevco, Yams, Hibs & Celtc we're all represented in that order in terms of numbers AFAIR. Couple of Arabs, a Sheep and 2 QPR fans! We went back there a few years back when Hibs played Duns in a friendly under Yogi. Wife, who's from Edinburgh, was miffed I was a Duns fan for the day. Got to support your local team!
CB Hibs 68
19-10-2023, 08:13 PM
No but my surname is Dickson, so close enough and I’m doing rather well.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Ok.Ha Ha do you come from Billericky or am I reading to much into this
19-10-2023, 08:30 PM
They haven’t moved in next to my parents have they? 😂
19-10-2023, 08:32 PM
Correct, Liams brother still lived there last time I was on the piss in chirnside.
My wife grew up there and we got married in the church in chirnside.
19-10-2023, 08:34 PM
We stay in Newhaven which not surprisingly is mainly Hibs. But my teenage kids go to James Gillespie's High School in town and somewhat surprisingly, at least in the the current S6 year, they're nearly all pretty militant Hibees to the extent they held a vote to change the leavers' hoody from maroon to green!
That’s fantastic.
My grandfather was from Newhaven and he was adamant it was a jambo stronghold.
Did the vote pass?
hibbie02
19-10-2023, 10:27 PM
Ok.Ha Ha do you come from Billericky or am I reading to much into this
No amfi EH7, but live in Billericay now. See several posts back...
TheGog
19-10-2023, 10:51 PM
Danderhall is a hertz toon
20-10-2023, 03:59 AM
Unquestionably more Hibbies active in Sydney than Jambos.
Only ever seen one Jambo wearing a Hertz top on the streets in fact.
Unfortunately, he was on the other side of a busy road so couldn’t get close enough to gob on it.
20-10-2023, 10:41 AM
Yeah my sister and brother in law get on really well with him thoroughly nice guy.
Yeah, confirmed by Liam's dad, they played in the same team at school
They haven’t moved in next to my parents have they? 😂
This maybe one of those small world things, if your parents are called Ian and Margaret then it's a strong possibility:greengrin
20-10-2023, 11:22 AM
Unfortunately, he was on the other side of a busy road so couldn’t get close enough to gob on it.
My mates daughter moved out there about 10 years ago, she was an A&E nurse at the Prince of Wales hospital until recently ... her whole family are die hard Hibbies and she was a regular at ER as a kid ... needless to say her one year old daughter owns a Hibs top :greengrin
20-10-2023, 11:33 AM
The Reivers pub always seems to be overran by Celtic fans whenever I've been down there.
The have a place upstairs in the Reivers called 'the Paradise rooms' they 'follow' their team in front of the telly from :faf:
Think the local Sticky Buns used to go to the Bridge Inn when they played each other, but like too many pubs in the town its closed now.
Saint Hibee
20-10-2023, 11:44 AM
That’s fantastic.
My grandfather was from Newhaven and he was adamant it was a jambo stronghold.
Did the vote pass?
All the girls, or at least the girls not interested in football, but forward their own amendment which carried the day and now all the leavers' hoodies are baby pink! Might please the odd Palermo support but nobody else seemed that chuffed.
20-10-2023, 12:42 PM
The have a place upstairs in the Reivers called 'the Paradise rooms' they 'follow' their team in front of the telly from :faf:
Think the local Sticky Buns used to go to the Bridge Inn when they played each other, but like too many pubs in the town its closed now.
Glad to say that I've never ventured upstairs.
Weren’t many Celtic fans when I was at school, or not until later on in my high school days when suddenly everyone seemed to be a Celtic fan. Was mostly Huns and hertz fans in my primary school and then high school continued that trend for the most part. There’s plenty hibs fans in livi but they seemed to be more spread around rather than concentrated to one area of the town, I’d hazard a guess that the % of Huns in Deans and Livi Village is significantly higher than other areas of Livingston.
I was at high school through the 90s, during the rangers 9 in a row period. There was definitely more rangers than Celtic, but there was still a large proportion of Celtic fans. Plenty from both sides had never set foot in either stadium of course.
Primary school was when Souness began his run at ibrox so a lot of kids suddenly became more vocal about supporting rangers
My favourite, non game, footage from 21/5/16 is the celebrations in the pub in Melbourne. I know Sydney was same but haven't seen any pics or videos. Hope you're good Freddie!
22-10-2023, 02:59 PM
Know loads of Hibbys from Bonnyrigg. Used to go on the Bonnyrigg Hibs supporters bus in the 80s
ErinGoBraghHFC
29-10-2023, 06:33 AM
I was at high school through the 90s, during the rangers 9 in a row period. There was definitely more rangers than Celtic, but there was still a large proportion of Celtic fans. Plenty from both sides had never set foot in either stadium of course.
Primary school was when Souness began his run at ibrox so a lot of kids suddenly became more vocal about supporting rangers
Ah right, I started high school 12 years ago (Jesus **** I’m getting on a bit!) and even throughout the halcyon days of the Currants touring the seaside leagues, there was more Rangers than Celtic fans at the school. The trend of most of them never having been to Parkhead or £1brox continued up until then, I’d imagine it’s still the case.
I’m pals with a few guys that spend an awful lot of money following Rangers and Celtic in Europe as well as home and away in domestic competitions, but they’re very much the minority in Livingston from my experience. Majority prefer to sit in Da Vincis (the Livingston Lodge nowadays but it’s always gonna be Da Vincis) and watch the telly or sit on their couch with a carry out and a Celtic/Rangers top that’s a size too wee for them. Can’t understand it. Watching Hibs or Scotland on the telly gives me anxiety, nothing beats being there.
Ah right, I started high school 12 years ago (Jesus **** I’m getting on a bit!) and even throughout the halcyon days of the Currants touring the seaside leagues, there was more Rangers than Celtic fans at the school. The trend of most of them never having been to Parkhead or £1brox continued up until then, I’d imagine it’s still the case.
I’m pals with a few guys that spend an awful lot of money following Rangers and Celtic in Europe as well as home and away in domestic competitions, but they’re very much the minority in Livingston from my experience. Majority prefer to sit in Da Vincis (the Livingston Lodge nowadays but it’s always gonna be Da Vincis) and watch the telly or sit on their couch with a carry out and a Celtic/Rangers top that’s a size too wee for them. Can’t understand it. Watching Hibs or Scotland on the telly gives me anxiety, nothing beats being there.
Don’t rub it in mate :faf:
Aye that’s the typical old firm fans, wouldn’t recognise ibrox or parkhead