View Full Version : New Monty Song - Blur

Mcbizz1998
14-10-2023, 06:33 AM
Not sure how this came to me, but it has and now I can’t stop singing it. To the tune of ‘There’s No other way’ by Blur.

‘Lee’s taking the fun out of everything!
Still watching the hibs but I don’t wanna sing!
Lee’s taking the fun out of everything!

I don’t wanna watch at all…but now we’ve got

Nick Montgomery! Nick Montgomery!
All I want to do is watch Hibs play!
All I want to do is watch Hibs play!’

https://youtu.be/LJzCYSdrHMI?si=KkwApuQXFwnjaugp

So, shall get my coat??

14-10-2023, 07:59 AM
Yeah. Get your coat.

14-10-2023, 08:03 AM
Not sure how this came to me, but it has and now I can’t stop singing it. To the tune of ‘There’s No other way’ by Blur.

So, shall get my coat??

Love that song so I’m on board 😂

14-10-2023, 08:05 AM
Was more an Oasis man myself

Mcbizz1998
14-10-2023, 08:25 AM
Yeah. Get your coat.

14-10-2023, 08:34 AM
He manages Hibs, the cabbage and ribs, it’s Monty
He ****ing hates hearts, and the dons and pars yeah it’s Monty
He’s a beast in sack, and the players never slack for Monty
He’s got the fans on his side, edinburghs pride yeah it’s montaaaaay

14-10-2023, 09:10 AM

So, shall get my coat??

Great tune...good effort..only trouble is we need a bloke next to the drum with an electric guitar and a big amp..the riff is the best bit

14-10-2023, 09:59 AM
Just keep the Monty bit. Hibs are definitely much more of a Blur team than an Oasis team. Poets and Artisans. :wink:

14-10-2023, 10:00 AM
Was more an Oasis man myself

I could have put money on that. :greengrin

14-10-2023, 10:11 AM
Just keep the Monty bit. Hibs are definitely much more of a Blur team than an Oasis team. Poets and Artisans. :wink:

I make us Pulp. The answer to the Brit pop question “who’s the best brit pop band, oasis or blur?”

“Are you rangers or Celtic”…. Nah mate I’m Hibs.

And led by a Yorkshire genius 😁

14-10-2023, 11:18 AM
https://media.tenor.com/xPmEbr40xoIAAAAC/get-me-coat.gif

14-10-2023, 11:18 AM
Yeah. Get your coat.

Has he pulled?

14-10-2023, 11:21 AM
I make us Pulp. The answer to the Brit pop question “who’s the best brit pop band, oasis or blur?”

“Are you sure?

You want Hibs with Nick Montgomery?
You want Hibs with Serge Raimundo too?
You want Hibs with Sir David Gray?
21st of May, we won three two

But she didn’t understand
As she shouted ‘he is Nick, he is good, we have Celtic on the run’”

14-10-2023, 11:56 AM
I could have put money on that. :greengrin

Haha 😉

How about..

Today is gonna be the day that we're gonna see the Hibees play.
By now you should have some how realised we'll do it in the Monty way.
I don't believe that anybody feels the way I do about you now.
And all the draws against Dundee were blinding.
And all my drunken posts had people biting.
There are many things that I would like to say to you but i'd get a ban.
Because Monty.
You're gonna be the one who saves us.
And even though.
I wanted Robinson before.

Sorry couldn't resist 😂. I do quite like him btw.

14-10-2023, 12:30 PM

So, shall get my coat??

This is a low.

14-10-2023, 12:42 PM
“Are you sure?

You want Hibs with Nick Montgomery?
You want Hibs with Serge Raimundo too?
You want Hibs with Sir David Gray?
21st of May, we won three two

But she didn’t understand
As she shouted ‘he is Nick, he is good, we have Celtic on the run’”

YES, YES and ****ING YES.

14-10-2023, 12:50 PM
His name is Monty Python he's the leader of the band,

He has the Hibees future in the palm of his hand.

Ship of Hope
14-10-2023, 01:45 PM
I’m going more old school with a war theme.. to hitler has only got one ball

monty has hibs standing tall
sergio can parlez with them all
sir Davey, he is the gravy
but poor old naismith has naebadges at all

it’s my coat on the shoogly peg now 😂

14-10-2023, 02:44 PM

it’s my coat on the shoogly peg now 😂

Naw, Ahv set fire to Ur coat, flushed it doon the toilet and ripped the peg oot the wall!

14-10-2023, 05:02 PM

it’s my coat on the shoogly peg now ��

Keeping a wartime theme - to the Dads Army opener.

“Who do you think you are kidding Steven Naismith?
If you thought we were on the run?

Monty was the man who stopped your little game,
2-0 up at Tynie and you ****ed it up again”

Mcbizz1998
14-10-2023, 07:26 PM
I must say I’m disappointed with the lack of support for my excellent tune - however, I’m delighted that this thread has sparked a new niche of Brit-pop Hibs tunes!

Well done all.

14-10-2023, 11:53 PM
Keeping a wartime theme - to the Dads Army opener.

“Who do you think you are kidding Steven Naismith?
If you thought we were on the run?

Monty was the man who stopped your little game,
2-0 up at Tynie and you ****ed it up again”

Like it, catchy, Easy to remember the words,cannae stop singing it since I read it.
Hope it catches on. Those knuckle-draggers at the pink bus shelter will hate it. Shame.

15-10-2023, 08:00 AM

I’ll take that all day long. We are his Babies

15-10-2023, 09:29 AM
I’ll take that all day long. We are his Babies

👍 one of my favourites

Seriously though, it’s good to see us starting to play with a bit of razzmatazz.

15-10-2023, 11:37 AM
I must say I’m disappointed with the lack of support for my excellent tune - however, I’m delighted that this thread has sparked a new niche of Brit-pop Hibs tunes!

Well done all.

To the tune of “Alright” by Supergrass…

We are Hibs
We are good,
We had Celtic
On the Run
We hate Hearts
They are sh***
Feel Alright…

15-10-2023, 03:22 PM

So, shall get my coat??

We can get your coat for you, don't worry 🤣

15-10-2023, 03:25 PM
To the tune of “Alright” by Supergrass…

We are Hibs
We are good,
We had Celtic
On the Run
We hate Hearts
They are sh***
Feel Alright…

Can we not be better than just alright?

15-10-2023, 04:17 PM
He is Monty,
He is good,
He had Rommel on the run

Aye/Naw?

15-10-2023, 05:31 PM
He came from Leeds, he has good football knowledge, he came from Aus so he could try some porridge, that why we, signed Montee... 🤣

CB Hibs 68
15-10-2023, 06:15 PM
How about to the sound of Terry Jacks.We had Joy we had fun we had the jambos on the run but the fun didn’t last cos the Jambos ran to fast .One for the oldies

tomhorn
15-10-2023, 06:34 PM

So, shall get my coat??

Nobody is going to learn the rest imo but this bit is genius and will definitely work as it's so simple:

Mcbizz1998
15-10-2023, 07:53 PM
Nobody is going to learn the rest imo but this bit is genius and will definitely work as it's so simple:

That’s a fair point. Someone get this over to the young team before we go to Ibrox. Do I get some kind form of royalties?

15-10-2023, 08:04 PM
That’s a fair point. Someone get this over to the young team before we go to Ibrox. Do I get some kind form of royalties?

You get your coat, in installments.

15-10-2023, 09:54 PM

You’ve done that well from this one you never need to write another 😁