View Full Version : England v australia

maturehibby
13-10-2023, 09:14 AM
we will be able to watch this game live on Channel 4 tonight and see Boyle and hopefully Miller in action plus a few Scottish based Aussies

13-10-2023, 10:27 AM
we will be able to watch this game live on Channel 4 tonight and see Boyle and hopefully Miller in action plus a few Scottish based Aussies

There will be more Scottish based players in the Australia team than played for Scotland last night!

13-10-2023, 06:04 PM
Boyle starts with Miller on the bench.

Good luck 👍

13-10-2023, 06:49 PM
Are there any players in the Australia team based in the A league we could be interested in? Assuming it will be a market we are targeting.

Hulk1875
13-10-2023, 07:00 PM
Been interesting game so far

13-10-2023, 07:00 PM
Come on Boyler. Stay out right.

Up-the-slope
13-10-2023, 07:05 PM
Boyle playing No.6 is just odd

Renfrew_Hibby
13-10-2023, 07:06 PM
Nice touch with what I'm sure is Martins daughter being the mascot with the Aussie shirt on

13-10-2023, 07:08 PM
Over the ball challenge by England player straight into the ankle. Free kick to England.

Conj
13-10-2023, 07:11 PM
Are there any players in the Australia team based in the A league we could be interested in? Assuming it will be a market we are targeting.

I don’t think any A league players were selected for the squad as the season hasn’t started yet.

Up-the-slope
13-10-2023, 07:11 PM
Over the ball challenge by England player straight into the ankle. Free kick to England.

was a shocker... lucky he was not seriously injured

13-10-2023, 07:12 PM
Maddison with a shot to rival Kujabi there

13-10-2023, 07:13 PM
There will be more Scottish based players in the Australia team than played for Scotland last night!
Not to mention former and present Hibees !!

13-10-2023, 07:13 PM

England got a free kick earlier tae for Henderson running into Rowles.

13-10-2023, 07:15 PM
Terrible decision by the woman ref.

13-10-2023, 07:15 PM
Dion Dublin is brutal

13-10-2023, 07:16 PM
Boyle has put some decent balls in to the box, played well so far.

13-10-2023, 07:18 PM
Dion Dublin is brutal

Was just going to post these exact words. Rent a cliche.

Up-the-slope
13-10-2023, 07:18 PM
Boyle has put some decent balls in to the box, played well so far.

Very structured without the ball but im liking his role when they are breaking / have the ball - good run through the middle after 3 good crosses too

13-10-2023, 07:22 PM
England putting in some really bad tackles

Dirty bassas England! Some shocking challenges going in. Get Boyle off before he gets injured!

Up-the-slope
Gallagher should have been off for second yellow there

13-10-2023, 07:23 PM
No Jason Cummings in the Aussie squad. Is he injured or out of favour?

13-10-2023, 07:29 PM

Yeah, bit disappointed he's not involved, god knows what he would do lol

13-10-2023, 07:31 PM
I thought it was because they were just using European based players but Duke plays in Japan which us even further away than where Cummings plays his club football so that’s that theory out the window. No Aussie based players in the squad was my thinking on it.

13-10-2023, 07:32 PM
Strain looks good.

13-10-2023, 07:32 PM
Nice play from Boyler!

13-10-2023, 07:33 PM
Brilliant from Boyle there and Strain really need to bury that.

Boyle turning the England defence inside out there...Strain should have scored!

Up-the-slope
Strain looks good.
:agree: And Baccus... must be bigger clubs looking at them - this kind of game will do them no harm

Strain looks good.
He is. I’ve been banging that drum for over a year.

13-10-2023, 07:34 PM
Boyle has looked more than decent. But that’s plenty, half time sub please.

13-10-2023, 07:34 PM
He is. I’ve been banging that drum for over a year.

Baccus looking decent too.

13-10-2023, 07:35 PM
Strain looks good.
St. Mirren with 2 players in that Oz team, who would have believed that.

Baccus looking decent too. :agree:
To be honest if it was Englands first 11 they’d be chasing shadows.

:agree: And Baccus... must be bigger clubs looking at them - this kind of game will do them no harm

Both of them out of contract at the end of this season.

13-10-2023, 07:36 PM

Both of them out of contract at the end of this season.

Surprised Baccus never started v us in League Cup quarter. And of course scored a raker soon after coming on.

13-10-2023, 07:41 PM
England 0 Scottish Premiership select 0

Bridge hibs
13-10-2023, 07:42 PM
I don’t think any A league players were selected for the squad as the season hasn’t started yet.

Theres a few on the bench for Australia

Edit, theres only 2, didnt know Glover had joined Middlesbrough

13-10-2023, 07:44 PM
St. Mirren with 2 players in that Oz team, who would have believed that.
Its fantastic,isnt it?... and they are not out of place at Wembley.

Maybe Ryan will want to play for his Grandad Gerry and his Uncle Joe's club one day.
Enmulate The Baker Boys !!
How we older Hibees loved those Baker Brothers.
Happy Days and Memories !!

13-10-2023, 07:45 PM
Australia doing well but it does seem England see very much in friendly mode. Englands wide players been poor.

I’ll never understand why they pick Henderson in a friendly at this stage in his career.

Hibees1973
13-10-2023, 07:50 PM

Might be worth a cheeky wee bid in January.

St Mirren are our feeder club, aren't they :greengrin

13-10-2023, 07:51 PM
Presenter seems to think it's funny that Gallagher is going around trying to break players' ankles.

13-10-2023, 07:52 PM

Maybe Ryan will want to play for his Grandad Gerry and his Uncle Joe's club one day.

When you look at Joe's stats, it's almost unbelievable.

13-10-2023, 07:57 PM
Presenter seems to think it's funny that Gallagher is going around trying to break players' ankles.
His yellow should have been red. Dangerous and reckless all in one. From behind and a scissor action. Unbelievable at the best of times but in a friendly Jeezy Peeps

13-10-2023, 07:58 PM
Got to say Australia doing better than Scotland did against a far weaker England team, albeit I don't think England are taking this as seriously as they did the game at Hampden.

13-10-2023, 08:01 PM
Got to say Australia doing better than Scotland did against a far weaker England team, albeit I don't think England are taking this as seriously as they did the game at Hampden.

I assume you mean the England team today are a far weaker team?

Hulk1875
13-10-2023, 08:05 PM

Just thinking to myself how OZ have been good in this game forgetting that it’s a lesser team obv still a good team. But it’s a friendly we’re as against
Is they wanted to make a point and not let us get a sniff

13-10-2023, 08:07 PM

Yeah against us they had all the big guns out. Bellingham, Kane, Walker (probably their 3 best players), think Saka started too.

13-10-2023, 08:08 PM
Yeah against us they had all the big guns out. Bellingham, Kane, Walker (probably their 3 best players), think Saka started too.

The team against us was quite frightening tbh. Much better than that Spain team last night.

Hibees1973
13-10-2023, 08:10 PM
Get Boyle off now. Please.

13-10-2023, 08:11 PM
Strain looking tired and he’s on a booking. Wouldn’t be surprised if Miller gets the last 20 mins

13-10-2023, 08:13 PM
Lewis Miller coming on. Up against Rashford. This could be the making or breaking of him.

13-10-2023, 08:20 PM
Lewis Miller coming on. Up against Rashford. This could be the making or breaking of him.

Rashford you mean???

13-10-2023, 08:21 PM
Rashford you mean???
:greengrin:greengrin

13-10-2023, 08:21 PM

They were

13-10-2023, 08:27 PM
Dublin is a total tube, you would think Oz were a team of hammer throwers.

Hibees1973
13-10-2023, 08:30 PM
This is probably old news but the Asian Cup takes place 12/1/2024 - 10/2/2024.

There is a fair chance Boyle & Miller will be involved. This is likely to weaken us, but also The Yam & St Mirren.

Noticed there seems to be a winter break in the SPFL most of January but the Aussie guys could miss 3 or 4 league games and 2 Scottish Cup ties.

13-10-2023, 08:31 PM
Miller has done v well since he came on. He has come on leaps and bounds in the last few months.

The Pointer
13-10-2023, 08:32 PM
See that England player with '47' tattooed on the side of his neck? Do you think he has the rest of his sort code on the other?

Solonleith1
13-10-2023, 08:33 PM
I know its been said before today. But Strain and Baccus must be on our radar. Only concern will be that they rightfully will be on the radar of others now too.

Up-the-slope
13-10-2023, 08:34 PM
Dublin is a total tube, you would think Oz were a team of hammer throwers.

Homes under the Hammer getting to him :greengrin

Hibby Gav
13-10-2023, 08:35 PM
Miller has done v well since he came on. He has come on leaps and bounds in the last few months.

I agree, it’s amazing how getting picked regularly works eh :wink:

13-10-2023, 08:37 PM
I agree, it’s amazing how getting picked regularly works eh :wink:

Aye, I remember last season he did well in a defeat at Parkhead and then dropped. I couldn't understand it at the time.

Potty78
13-10-2023, 08:37 PM
The boy Jackson Irvine looks decent🤷*♂️

13-10-2023, 08:40 PM
Bit of a bore fest. Australia had the best of the last quarter of the game but England are just going through the motions and are not interested.:yawn:

13-10-2023, 08:40 PM
The boy Jackson Irvine looks decent🤷*♂️

Or Irvine Jackson for Matty F

13-10-2023, 09:43 PM
https://twitter.com/Socceroos/status/1712939930945806591?t=jPwgr999-90L6IuAeNhovA&s=19

Boyler and Grealish.

13-10-2023, 10:03 PM
https://twitter.com/Socceroos/status/1712939930945806591?t=jPwgr999-90L6IuAeNhovA&s=19

Boyler and Grealish.

Must have been nice for him to get to meet meet Martin Boyle :greengrin

Callyballybe
13-10-2023, 10:15 PM
Grealish clearly has a Martin Boyle poster on his wall.

13-10-2023, 11:11 PM
Grealish clearly has a Martin Boyle poster on his wall.

Grealish is 5’9” and Boyle is 5’8”, but there looks about 4” difference between them in the video.

13-10-2023, 11:19 PM

Boyler and Grealish.Grealish couldnt wait knows his rep via McGinn.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Donegal Hibby
13-10-2023, 11:38 PM
After the disappointment of being unable to play in the world cup I'm glad for Boyle that he played at Wembley against England .

14-10-2023, 07:46 AM

Boyler and Grealish.

Looked like Boyler had to be reminded he was to give his strip to Grealish also.

14-10-2023, 07:57 AM
Grealish is 5’9” and Boyle is 5’8”, but there looks about 4” difference between them in the video.

Transfermarket has Grealish as 180cm or 5ft 11in

14-10-2023, 10:40 AM
For nine minutes last night two Hibs players were on the pitch in an international match at Wembley - when was the last time that happened?

14-10-2023, 10:58 AM
For nine minutes last night two Hibs players were on the pitch in an international match at Wembley - when was the last time that happened?

I guess our stat guys here will check that out.
I would say maybe as far back as the 50s,with players from the Hibs Famous Five sides representing Scotland.

I was at Wembley in 1975 when Arthur Duncan came on as a sub.
The Scotland manager that day was Hibs own ,the legendary Willie Ormond.
Does that count !!!
We got skelped 5-1 that day.
I got fleeing !!

On the song for our manager.
Not many gaffers get their own song.
Ormond had one when he was the Scotland boss .

14-10-2023, 11:40 AM
Was really impressed by Australia

LewysGot2
14-10-2023, 05:29 PM
Grealish couldnt wait knows his rep via McGinn.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Yup, mutual mate in SJM.

Loved the Boyler had his wee girl Amelia as a mascot- what an amazing night for her

14-10-2023, 05:41 PM
Was really impressed by Australia

I surprised Rangers haven’t gone for Graham Arnold.

14-10-2023, 05:56 PM

Probably say he knocked them back :rolleyes:

14-10-2023, 05:56 PM

I'm surprised Graham Arnold hasn't said he's turned them down, even though they have offered him it.

14-10-2023, 06:11 PM
Guess it would be Johnstone and Reilly early 1950s.

MKHIBEE
14-10-2023, 06:24 PM
I guess our stat guys here will check that out.
I would say maybe as far back as the 50s,with players from the Hibs Famous Five sides representing Scotland.

I was at Wembley in 1975 when Arthur Duncan came on as a sub.
The Scotland manager that day was Hibs own ,the legendary Willie Ormond.
Does that count !!!
We got skelped 5-1 that day.
I got fleeing !!

On the song for our manager.
Not many gaffers get their own song.
Ormond had one when he was the Scotland boss .

I was there that day, this is the first I have heard of Nijinsky coming on as a sub. Probably blocked out the whole match since then

14-10-2023, 06:29 PM
I was there that day, this is the first I have heard of Nijinsky coming on as a sub. Probably blocked out the whole match since then

Arthur started that day, hit the outside of the post.

MKHIBEE
14-10-2023, 06:37 PM
[QUOTE=Hiber-nation;7487101]Arthur started that day, hit the outside of the post.[/QUOTE

I’m beginning to doubt if I was even there now!

14-10-2023, 07:53 PM
I’m beginning to doubt if I was even there now!

https://www.11v11.com/matches/england-v-scotland-24-may-1975-233253/

14-10-2023, 08:21 PM
Arthur started that day even although we got gubbed 5-1 Arthur had no a bad game a bit of an unknown quantity to the English causing them problems with his sheer pace and directness as he did when we played the mighty Liverpool at ER defeating them 1-0 and Arthur getting pulled down for a second half penalty in the same year

The normally reliable Rangers goalkeeper Stewart Kennedy decided to do a Frank Haffey and every England shot on target seemed to go in leaving him looking like a puppet on a string in goal

14-10-2023, 08:26 PM

No
I got that wrong .Arthur started the game, but he got subbed for Tommy Hutchison (Coventry City)

I mind a while back, i mentioned going to Hampden as a schoolboy for a Scotland v England game and remembered fans wearing club colours, or old rangers fans did.
There was 4/5 rangers players in the team often back then (Celtic too)

Now ! Have a look at this vid of the 1975 game at Wembley
Blink and you'll miss it,in the first few seconds of the film a "Scotland" fan is clearly wearing a red white and blue rangers scarf

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ok6zzQE72q0&t=4252s

14-10-2023, 08:49 PM
Guess it would be Johnstone and Reilly early 1950s.

Cheers - looks like it 1953 2-2 draw at Wembley with Reilly scoring both Scotland goals.

14-10-2023, 08:54 PM
Arthur started that day even although we got gubbed 5-1 Arthur had no a bad game a bit of an unknown quantity to the English causing them problems with his sheer pace and directness as he did when we played the mighty Liverpool at ER defeating them 1-0 and Arthur getting pulled down for a second half penalty in the same year

The normally reliable Rangers goalkeeper Stewart Kennedy decided to do a Frank Haffey and every England shot on target seemed to go in leaving him looking like a puppet on a string in goal

Zibi against hertz in that 2006 semi reminded me of Kennedy’s Wembley performance.

14-10-2023, 08:58 PM
Zibi against hertz in that 2006 semi reminded me of Kennedy’s Wembley performance.

That was a sackable offence

Made a difficult situation mission impossible

14-10-2023, 09:11 PM

Good summary there,Billy.

Kennedy indeed had possibly the worse game of his entire career ,and it had to be at effin Wembley :fuming:
Anyway, I sneaked in that day.......Again !!

At least Haffey had an excuse at Wembley in 1961

England pulled a flanker playing that day with an orange ball . (unusual then but became popular in the snow)
Haffey of Celtic would not touch it or pick it up.
And the two full backs, Shearer and Caldow of rAngers would not kick it !!

Interesting fact i just read
At Wembley ,Celtic's popular "Big Frank" had been fourth choice anyway,
an eleventh-hour international summons following injuries to....
Bill Brown (Tottenham Hotspur),
Lawrie Leslie (Airdrieonians)
and Ronnie Simpson (Hibernian).

H18S NX
15-10-2023, 10:15 AM
Good summary there,Billy.

Kennedy indeed had possibly the worse game of his entire career ,and it had to be at effin Wembley :fuming:
Anyway, I sneaked in that day.......Again !!

At least Haffey had an excuse at Wembley in 1961

England pulled a flanker playing that day with an orange ball . (unusual then but became popular in the snow)
Haffey of Celtic would not touch it or pick it up.
And the two full backs, Shearer and Caldow of rAngers would not kick it !!

Interesting fact i just read
At Wembley ,Celtic's popular "Big Frank" had been fourth choice anyway,
an eleventh-hour international summons following injuries to....
Bill Brown (Tottenham Hotspur),
Lawrie Leslie (Airdrieonians)
and Ronnie Simpson (Hibernian).

....Mick,how can you still remember that far back? I canny remember what happened last week never mind any other time m8.:greengrin:aok:

16-10-2023, 09:12 AM
....Mick,how can you still remember that far back? I canny remember what happened last week never mind any other time m8.:greengrin:aok:

Am the same memory wise,Gordon.
I have little recall of the Wembley games back then :confused: Mostly the "events" surrounding the trip.
Being in a boozer in Covent Garden at 8 am on the Saturday after being on the Friday night rattler from Waverley does befuddle the mind.
Although some things stick in the mind like Gordon McQueens header.
I was in line with the 18yrd box for that.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f-8M00lpaTY

And King Kenny having a wonder shot being saved by Shilton in 1973.
Me and a well known Southsider,Big Alex Imlach were sitting a few rows in front of the entire Tornadoes team in club blazers for that game (sneaked in to the posh seats)
That was the game we got in carrying the pipe bands gear !!
Jimmy blanked us !!:greengrin
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C5XMA_9dCOU

Poor show from the Tartan Army that day at Wembley.Only about 70.000 of us:greengrin