View Full Version : Historical question for the oldies
SonOfDavidFrancey
10-10-2023, 06:24 PM
FAO those of you gentlemen 'of a certain vintage'...
I started going to ER around 1968 or 1969.
Can anyone recall how much my dad would have had to slip me to get through the boys' gate in the late 60s / early seventies?
Does anyone have a programme from that era and can tell me the cover price?
And even more obscure. I often used to go to reserve matches in alternate weeks. Anyone remember how much they'd have charged for that?
Most grateful for any help. For something I'm writing.
10-10-2023, 06:26 PM
3d for the programme. Got one for my first game 1969.
SonOfDavidFrancey
10-10-2023, 06:30 PM
Thank you
10-10-2023, 06:45 PM
FAO those of you gentlemen 'of a certain vintage'...
I started going to ER around 1968 or 1969.
Can anyone recall how much my dad would have had to slip me to get through the boys' gate in the late 60s / early seventies?
Does anyone have a programme from that era and can tell me the cover price?
And even more obscure. I often used to go to reserve matches in alternate weeks. Anyone remember how much they'd have charged for that?
Most grateful for any help. For something I'm writing.
No sure how much as I always got a Lift over, never had the money to get in, it may have been a shilling for adults, dont quote me.
Programme from memory was 3d old money. Used to also go to lots of reserve games as well, dont remember paying to get in, may have been a small charge but the auld grey stuff is no as clear as it used to be.
SonOfDavidFrancey
10-10-2023, 06:49 PM
No sure how much as I always got a Lift over, never had the money to get in, it may have been a shilling for adults, dont quote me.
Programme from memory was 3d old money. Used to also go to lots of reserve games as well, dont remember paying to get in, may have been a small charge but the auld grey stuff is no as clear as it used to be.
Thank you, very helpful
10-10-2023, 08:52 PM
GGTTHPretty much as I recall it, can definitely recall a few lift overs into the old lower west enclosure, as well as the odd sneak in via the wall alongside what is now the ticket office (?)
10-10-2023, 09:26 PM
Don’t know if anyone remembers away games but I remember having to run the gauntlet and ‘changing ends’ at Love Street and having to wade past their fans to get to the other end for the second half 😂 also having to leave Parkhead with only the road and cars between us and them 👊👊 not a policeman in sight
donald_paterson
10-10-2023, 09:27 PM
Used to go fairly regularly to reserve games in early to mid 1960s, pretty sure they were free.
Weirdly can’t remember entrance cost for 1st team games at all though often got lifted over by other fans.
I remember waiting for big gates to open to let early leavers out when I had no money. Maybe imagining it now but seemed to get to see a fair bit of second half of games
10-10-2023, 09:45 PM
Mind my dad taking me to tynecastle in 1964 ( he was a jambo ) when I was about 9 years old and it was sixpence for me and a shilling when played rangers or Celtic.
Hibs1969
11-10-2023, 12:45 AM
27293 27294
That was my first season watching Hibs too. Happy days.
I’m not sure how much the gate fee was but here’s a photo of the programme for my first game
v Partick Thistle which cost the princely sum of 6d. I’ve also got a print from the Scotsman showing some action from the game with a young Peter Cormack firing off a shot.
Things being what they are, we lost 2-1, setting up a lifetime of ups and downs (maybe it should be downs and up) watching Hibs.
Sorry about the programme photo - for some infuriating reason it rotates every time I upload it and I’ll never get back the half hour I’ve spent trying to rectify it 🤬🤬🤬
11-10-2023, 02:38 AM
Dunno if I may have slipped a few years, but I seem to recall 3/- for adults and 1/6 for kids.
Going back a bit to 1964 I think when Real Madrid came to Easter Road there was no boys gate tickets, and the cost for everybody was double the normal men’s gate entry cost…….tickets were 6/-
11-10-2023, 05:10 AM
Can remember in September’69 playing football at Hollyrood Park and then nipping along to ER to catch most of the second half of a 5-1 victory over Partick Thistle as they let people out
Joe McBride scored a hat-trick and Peter Cormack scored a double one Arthur Duncan replied for Thistle
Attendance 6750
SonOfDavidFrancey
11-10-2023, 06:49 AM
Thanks to all for the info.
Between lift overs, waiting for the gates to open and free reserve games we kids weren’t contributing much to the club coffers… :)
Pick up a few pop bottles to return and we could make a profit on a day out at the game !
adam middlemass
11-10-2023, 07:01 AM
Sorry have to disagree Pat, I’ve just checked my old programmes and they are definitely 6d - sorry to disappoint :flag:
This is the programme from my first game. Went with my sisters and we all got lift-overs so don't know what the admission cost would have been at that time?
Tickets throughout the 1970's ranged from anywhere between 50p and about £4 for a top European tie, depending on which part of the ground the ticket was for. I still have my Liverpool ticket for the cow shed that was £1.50 and my dad's ticket for the centre stand that was £4, whereas my Juventus ticket was £2 the year before. Derby and Old Firm tickets I've got vary in price but we're mostly £1.50.
11-10-2023, 07:49 AM
Can remember in September’69 playing football at Hollyrood Park and then nipping along to ER to catch most of the second half of a 5-1 victory over Partick Thistle as they let people out
Joe McBride scored a hat-trick and Peter Cormack scored a double one Arthur Duncan replied for Thistle
Attendance 6750
My first game
Snap, just used to ask someone for a lift over.
Radge70
11-10-2023, 09:04 AM
Did you get the glasses for free?
Hillsidehibby
11-10-2023, 09:09 AM
I thought when I first went in 1968 it was a shilling for the boys gate and sixpence for the reserves. A long time ago though!
11-10-2023, 09:13 AM
Never really paid in to watch the football until my later teens (late 70's) . Initially the auld man lifted me over the turnstile, then once I was old enough (aged around 8 or 9) I just started going with my pals. Many an adventure getting over that east terracing wall, a few getting back out. By the time we were 15 there were bit of wall where we could run at it, do a jump at it and do a bouncey foot pivot against it and reach the top with a hand. Over in a flash, polis or nae polis. Must have pissed them off right enough.
Stanton Spence
11-10-2023, 09:36 AM
Never really paid in to watch the football until my later teens (late 70's) . Initially the auld man lifted me over the turnstile, then once I was old enough (aged around 8 or 9) I just started going with my pals. Many an adventure getting over that east terracing wall, a few getting back out. By the time we were 15 there were bit of wall where we could run at it, do a jump at it and do a bouncey foot pivot against it and reach the top with a hand. Over in a flash, polis or nae polis. Must have pissed them off right enough.
Made me laugh as we done the same thing and can you imagine trying that now? 😂
11-10-2023, 09:48 AM
Remember when the boys gate price went up to half a crown sure it was 1970.
Victor
11-10-2023, 09:58 AM
Always got lift-overs in the 60’s. We always went to the east terracing, half way up. I always wanted to go trackside, but my Dad wouldn’t let me, due to the risk of being hit by a bottle! Reserve games were free and we would always go into the main stand for them.
11-10-2023, 10:13 AM
Made me laugh as we done the same thing and can you imagine trying that now? 😂
Occasionally I look at the stadium and consider ways in. Must be tough for Leith boys with families with nae money these days. It's like Fort Knox.
There were some escapades. I remember being caught by cops whilst trying to climb in with my then 7 year old brother in tow. Pal passed him up, wee cant was too slow going down, nabbed. I was about 17 and cops said that I was too old, I'd be getting charged (wtf) if I did it again.
Always remember going up for Hibs v Rangers, midweek game, c1974. BBC outside broadcast van parked up, with ladder attached to the sides. We remove said ladder, up and over. Smart enough to know that the gates weren't even open so a group of us sat in the dense bushes half way up the terrace embankment. Oh how we laughed as other wee bams climbed in, started getting chased by cops etc. It was carnage for ten minutes.
By the end of the 70's-early 80's we were still going as a group, but by then it was a case of sometimes needing to climb out.
11-10-2023, 10:21 AM
1 s and 3d Boys Gate 1968/69
Used to get half a crown 2 s and 6d
Would cover admission programme bus fare and a sweet
Plus one of those stiff paper rosettes in the green and white, with a little Scottish cup in the middle. Whatever happened to that level of product at the game 🤣
11-10-2023, 10:23 AM
Don’t know if anyone remembers away games but I remember having to run the gauntlet and ‘changing ends’ at Love Street and having to wade past their fans to get to the other end for the second half 😂 also having to leave Parkhead with only the road and cars between us and them 👊👊 not a policeman in sight
Can remember doing the changing ends thing at Tynecastle quite eventful as a kid :greengrin
11-10-2023, 10:23 AM
Watching folk make the journey over and into the old East was a good spectator sport from the FF Upper well into the 90's although hope they actually then got past the turnstiles remains a mystery
I remember going along to ER to buy tickets for Real Madrid game. They were a special price, 6 shillings, 30p today and if Hibs Net had existed then there would have been a thread saying they were overpriced! Anyway, 30,000 turned up and the rest is history!
11-10-2023, 04:10 PM
The gates were opened mid way through the second half and anyone could walk in off the street. Unfortunately I remember the Huns taking advantage of that after segregation was brought in and invading the North corner in the late 70s..
11-10-2023, 04:19 PM
The gates were opened mid way through the second half and anyone could walk in off the street. Unfortunately I remember the Huns taking advantage of that after segregation was brought in and invading the North corner in the late 70s..
Sadly by the time I was 16 (the start of the 1980-81 season) there was no escape :greengrin We often went up just to muck about, think about robbing the pie stand or whatever. Climbing out was often more interesting than the game. Edit: Bertie won promotion, I seem to remember us romping that league, it must have been on his return to the prem in 81-82 that his preferred 0-0 took root.
11-10-2023, 04:33 PM
Remember a mental pagger in the Cave with the Hun 1972:73 Dryborough Cup Semi Final when we easily beat them 3-0 after they had just won ECWC
The beginning of the end for the Cave
12-10-2023, 10:38 AM
Putting prices into perspective, around 1968, a pint of heavy ( in the Shrubhill Bar ) cost 1 shilling and 10 pence and a pint of lager was 2 shillings and 3 pence. Imagine getting into a football match for the price of a pint these days. :greengrin
12-10-2023, 10:45 AM
Putting prices into perspective, around 1968, a pint of heavy ( in the Shrubhill Bar ) cost 1 shilling and 10 pence and a pint of lager was 2 shillings and 3 pence. Imagine getting into a football match for the price of a pint these days. :greengrin
All went Pete Tong when Graeme Souness arrived and said we get our football too cheap here in Scotland back in ‘86
stuart-farquhar
12-10-2023, 11:04 AM
Ah, you forgot the extra 3d for lime in the lager. Original alcopop really.
12-10-2023, 11:09 AM
Ah, you forgot the extra 3d for lime in the lager. Original alcopop really.
It was only 1p for a dash of lime. It was often watered down …… telltale sign was when it turned the lager cloudy.
Hillsidehibby
12-10-2023, 11:35 AM
My dad said that back in his day a pint, a haircut and getting into the football were all the same price
12-10-2023, 02:33 PM
Plus one of those stiff paper rosettes in the green and white, with a little Scottish cup in the middle. Whatever happened to that level of product at the game 🤣
They were good. I had a Peter Cormack one.
I'm sure if was 2/6 for the boys gate and maybe 5/- for the adult gate. The programmes was 6d.
12-10-2023, 09:22 PM
I'm sure if was 2/6 for the boys gate and maybe 5/- for the adult gate. The programmes was 6d.
👍
Was my first answer
I had a couple of these one I got at Ibrox with a picture of Pat Stanton a John McNamee one and a Joe McBride one which I got at Tynecastle the day he scored the only goal of the game.
I don't remember a 1 0 at Tiny. Suspect it was 2 0 game in 1969 when, incredibly we won away at Tiny, Celtc and The Rangers in the space of 4 weeks! Great days!
13-10-2023, 06:31 PM
Plus one of those stiff paper rosettes in the green and white, with a little Scottish cup in the middle. Whatever happened to that level of product at the game [emoji1787]I've still got one from 1972[emoji23]
Quality never goes out of fashion
baker1959
16-10-2023, 08:38 PM
In 1970-71 admission to the terracing at Easter Road was 3 shillings (15p) for children and 6 shillings (30p) for adults. Reason I know this is because after the Ibrox disaster there was an appeal fund set up by the Lord Provost of Glasgow, and me and my dad donated 9 shillings, this being the cost of admission to a football match.
Funny how in those days there was a boys gate, and a 'father and son' gate, where you could go in together instead of being separated, but no mention of girls/women/mothers.
16-10-2023, 08:48 PM
In 1970-71 admission to the terracing at Easter Road was 3 shillings (15p) for children and 6 shillings (30p) for adults. Reason I know this is because after the Ibrox disaster there was an appeal fund set up by the Lord Provost of Glasgow, and me and my dad donated 9 shillings, this being the cost of admission to a football match.
Funny how in those days there was a boys gate, and a 'father and son' gate, where you could go in together instead of being separated, but no mention of girls/women/mothers.
No mention of women’s toilets either IIRC
16-10-2023, 11:01 PM
No mention of women’s toilets either IIRCMight be the drugs, but wasn't there a Ladies on the East terrace? Gawd knows how the facilities were as the Gents was basically a ditch without a stall? My one and only visit to Broomfield, a very rare away game, noticed the complete lack of lady facilities
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
17-10-2023, 05:31 AM
Might be the drugs, but wasn't there a Ladies on the East terrace? Gawd knows how the facilities were as the Gents was basically a ditch without a stall? My one and only visit to Broomfield, a very rare away game, noticed the complete lack of lady facilities
I go back to 1968 struggling to remember a ‘ ladies’ although there might have been in later years on The East I remember a communal Wall at the back of the West at the entrance to the toilets :confused:
As you say I remember a few ‘ mens ‘ facilities at away games leaving a lot to be desired Brockville Tiny and Hampden where people didn’t even bother looking for a toilet
Logie Green
17-10-2023, 07:09 AM
Might be the drugs, but wasn't there a Ladies on the East terrace? Gawd knows how the facilities were as the Gents was basically a ditch without a stall? My one and only visit to Broomfield, a very rare away game, noticed the complete lack of lady facilities
Perhaps the lack of lady facilities at Broomfield is down to the lack of ladies in Airdrie?
17-10-2023, 03:13 PM
Tynecastle-the only ground I’ve beeb to with huge signs on the back walls-BEWARE OF PICKPOCKETS.
17-10-2023, 03:30 PM
Tynecastle-the only ground I’ve beeb to with huge signs on the back walls-BEWARE OF PICKPOCKETS.
Still going on today with Budge picking the pockets of all those clowns giving their money away every month 🤣🤣🤣
MGmick
17-10-2023, 07:10 PM
From my memories of late 60's, early 70's. I used to get a two bob bit. That was, thrupence each way for a half on the bus. A shilling to get in and a tanner for sweeties. Of course, the shilling always went into the sweetie fund because that "mister" always gave you a lift over. It was a toss up whether or not you blew the buse fare home and gave the conductor a false name and address. Then the double doors came in. There was no danger you were buying a ticket then. I never used to buy a programme when I was a bairn but you could usually get one from a grown up when he was finished with it.
zitelli62
17-10-2023, 09:27 PM
A bit of topic but I used to always buy the crisp things the people used to sell walking around the ground with the boards round there neck maybe mid to late seventies.
17-10-2023, 09:29 PM
A bit of topic but I used to always buy the crisp things the people used to sell walking around the ground with the boards round there neck maybe mid to late seventies.
Kia Ora and Wagon Wheels
17-10-2023, 10:36 PM
Been replaced with a sign saying "haud on tae yer poppies"
From my memories of late 60's, early 70's. I used to get a two bob bit. That was, thrupence each way for a half on the bus. A shilling to get in and a tanner for sweeties. Of course, the shilling always went into the sweetie fund because that "mister" always gave you a lift over. It was a toss up whether or not you blew the buse fare home and gave the conductor a false name and address. Then the double doors came in. There was no danger you were buying a ticket then. I never used to buy a programme when I was a bairn but you could usually get one from a grown up when he was finished with it.I remember needing exactly 2s6d to bus to and from and get into the game. Must have been just pre-decimilisation.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
I don't remember a 1 0 at Tiny. Suspect it was 2 0 game in 1969 when, incredibly we won away at Tiny, Celtc and The Rangers in the space of 4 weeks! Great days!
I was sure it was 1-0 to Hibs and Joe scored he thought he was offside but still scored. I think the 2-0 game was Crops and Johnny Hamilton Willie McFarlane had just become the manager if I remember right (or maybe no).
Remember when the boys gate price went up to half a crown sure it was 1970.
I think it was half a crown in the late sixties and 5/- for adults, going up to 30p for adults by the time the TT's arrived.
18-10-2023, 03:20 PM
I was sure it was 1-0 to Hibs and Joe scored he thought he was offside but still scored. I think the 2-0 game was Crops and Johnny Hamilton Willie McFarlane had just become the manager if I remember right (or maybe no).
Joe McBride Snr only played in one victory at Tiny
A 2-0 victory on 27/9/1969 that took Hibs to top of the league
Peter Cormack headed home a Joe McBride cross just before half time
Joe added a second before being replaced by Colin Grant on the hour mark
Was Willie MacFarlane’s first game in charge
Att 26800
18-10-2023, 03:46 PM
Speamooontt chewing gum maccaroooon bars
Johnny Hamilton [and Pat Stanton], scored in the 2-1 win at Parkhead, just before the derby, when Tom McNiven was still in temporary charge.
18-10-2023, 06:42 PM
4/9/1971
Hearts 0 v 2 Hibernian
Cropley with a stunning goal that fairly ripped into the net high past Cruikshank and a last minute goal from Johnny Hamilton
Sodjer loved a goal against the Hearts
Manager Eddie Turnbull
18-10-2023, 06:59 PM
Does anyone remember the gymnasium under the North Stand. You would see the team warming up before some games when the door was open. It also doubled as a holding area for the people who had been arrested awaiting the transport to arrive to take them to the various police stations.
18-10-2023, 08:19 PM
Mind my dad taking me to tynecastle in 1964 ( he was a jambo ) when I was about 9 years old and it was sixpence for me and a shilling when played rangers or Celtic.
Sadly, I had the same experience as a nipper, but with an uncle. Eventually decided enough was enough when I was about 12 and stopped going. Ended up being taken to ER by school mates and experiencing the atmosphere in the 'Cave' for the Napoli game when I was 15... never looked back :greengrin
SonOfDavidFrancey
18-10-2023, 08:51 PM
Thanks for all the many replies to this thread from me as OP. I got the info I wanted, but got so much more.
18-10-2023, 09:29 PM
Thanks for all the many replies to this thread from me as OP. I got the info I wanted, but got so much more.
That's what happens when you poke old men's memories with a stick... ye cannae shut them up :greengrin
4/9/1971
Hearts 0 v 2 Hibernian
Cropley with a stunning goal that fairly ripped into the net high past Cruikshank and a last minute goal from Johnny Hamilton
Sodjer loved a goal against the Hearts
Manager Eddie Turnbull
That was the one I was thinking of 2-0 remember it well we were at the McLeod Street end.
Joe McBride Snr only played in one victory at Tiny
A 2-0 victory on 27/9/1969 that took Hibs to top of the league
Peter Cormack headed home a Joe McBride cross just before half time
Joe added a second before being replaced by Colin Grant on the hour mark
Was Willie MacFarlane’s first game in charge
Att 26800
That must have been the one I was thinking about. He thought he was offside but still scored. I'm sure Cruikshank was protesting about it to the ref for ages. I thought my memory was going cos I was sure I had been at a game at Tynie when he scored. I thought it was the only goal though.
19-10-2023, 03:58 PM
One guy who sticks in the mind from the 1980s was the very vocal chap who used to stand at the front of the East terracing with the sole aim of following the unfortunate linesman up and down the pitch for the whole 90 mins , hurling abuse as he went.