View Full Version : Spain vs Scotland in Seville

Pages : 1 [2]

12-10-2023, 08:55 PM
Ref was an absolute homer its that simple. Hope Clarke has the guts to say so.

12-10-2023, 08:57 PM
Norway need the 6 points from 2 games so anything except a win and we are over the line

12-10-2023, 09:01 PM
Midfield really have to get on the ball in these games. McGinn and McGregor were really poor, same against England. McTominay not great either, "goal" apart. It would help if there was a better option up front but that isn't happening any time soon.

Stairway 2 7
12-10-2023, 09:01 PM
Norway 16/5 on skybet for Sunday, Spain win or draw 1/5 on

12-10-2023, 09:04 PM
Hickey has been MOTM tonight imo. He looks ready to make another step up in levels which is annoyingly good news for Hearts.

Did Hearts not give up a sell on fee

12-10-2023, 09:06 PM

That's what I recall reading.

12-10-2023, 09:07 PM

Bologna paid Hearts £150k to remove the sell-on clause.

Green Reaper
12-10-2023, 09:08 PM

Sold it for an extra 100k I think

12-10-2023, 09:12 PM
McGinn kens

12-10-2023, 09:14 PM
McGinn kens

Certainly does 👍

12-10-2023, 09:14 PM
a friendly with the world champions just to get the players confidence up again

Not playing Argentina :greengrin

12-10-2023, 09:15 PM
McGinn kens

Brilliant interview. Hope the manager let's rip now to.

12-10-2023, 09:17 PM
McGinn kens

Aye .... trying his hardest to avoid a fine from UE we want the big nations to qualify FA and probably failing

12-10-2023, 09:17 PM
Bologna paid Hearts £150k to remove the sell-on clause.

Hearts made £1.5 million when he moved to Brentford. Why would they sell any remaining sell ons for £150k when its clearly gonna be more.

12-10-2023, 09:22 PM
Doesn't matter. Wasn't the basis for the decision when it was made and wasn't checked at the time so they can't now say that it was offside anyway.The referee clearly signalled for a direct free kick so he didn't give it for offside as that would be indirect. The offside is just uefa revisionism as it was such a dodgy decision.

12-10-2023, 09:24 PM
IF the ref had given offside after VAR check he would have raised his arm, he didn’t he gave the sign for a free kick (horizontal arm).

10 mins later they announced offside.

There can only be one reason for this. They knew they had screwed up and then retrofitted the offside. It’s a total disgrace. It wouldn’t happen to Spain, England, Italy, France etc.

That referee was determined not to let us get any decisions.

12-10-2023, 09:25 PM
Does a draw not do us?

Yes it does would ideally be the result so we still have chance of winning group

12-10-2023, 09:26 PM
VAR is an added layer of security for the more lucrative countries and teams.

That's it.

Trinity Hibee
That refereeing performance needs called out. Absolutely scandalous

Stairway 2 7
Hearts made £1.5 million when he moved to Brentford. Why would they sell any remaining sell ons for £150k when its clearly gonna be more.

No they didn't as this article and Banderson in the news says it was a pre agreed 6 figure sum they got

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.scottishdailyexpress.co.uk/sport/football/aaron-hickey-hearts-windfall-revealed-27406393.amp

Mantis Toboggan
12-10-2023, 09:27 PM
Also not hearing anything on the obvious foul happening on Dykes as the free kick was going on right in the middle of the check for a foul by Henry. What a suprise.

Good chat from Clark, Balague and Hutton talking nonsense

12-10-2023, 09:27 PM
On potentially doing Scotland a favour on Sunday, Morata adds: "I'd hope to see (Norway captain) Martin Odegaard in the Euros, so I'd be happy if they qualified as well."

Trinity Hibee
12-10-2023, 09:29 PM
On potentially doing Scotland a favour on Sunday, Morata adds: "I'd hope to see (Norway captain) Martin Odegaard in the Euros, so I'd be happy if they qualified as well."

**** that wee gimp. He might have scored tonight but he’s pish

12-10-2023, 09:31 PM
The referee clearly signalled for a direct free kick so he didn't give it for offside as that would be indirect. The offside is just uefa revisionism as it was such a dodgy decision.

Yep his signal is for a foul not offside which is a straight arm up. Interesting the offside graphic wasn't along the line of offside. Absolutely corrupt.

Second goal is a killer as puts them ahead of us on head to head due to goal difference.

12-10-2023, 09:33 PM

He's not really thought that out very well. Spain can't afford to lose any games if they want to finish top

Correct, he didn't even connect with that header for the goal, no wonder Spurs emptied him 💩

Silversand
On potentially doing Scotland a favour on Sunday, Morata adds: "I'd hope to see (Norway captain) Martin Odegaard in the Euros, so I'd be happy if they qualified as well."Morata is a ****

Sent from my SM-S911B using Tapatalk

12-10-2023, 09:36 PM
Correct, he didn't even connect with that header for the goal, no wonder Spurs emptied him 💩

Morata? Don’t think he was ever at Spurs. Chelsea?

Actually think he’s always been a decent enough striker.

But you’re right - **** him 😁

Ralphy C
12-10-2023, 09:43 PM
Aye .... trying his hardest to avoid a fine from UE we want the big nations to qualify FA and probably failing
Trying to find an alternative word for cheated i think.

12-10-2023, 09:44 PM
Jeezo

quite the controversial referee
https://www.google.com/search?q=serdar+g%C3%B6z%C3%BCb%C3%BCy%C3%BCk+cont roversy&rlz=1C1MSIM_en-GBGB990GB992&oq=serdar+g%C3%B6z%C3%BCb%C3%BCy%C3%BCk+controvers y&gs_lcrp=EgZjaHJvbWUyBggAEEUYOdIBCTM3MDBqMGoxNagCAL ACAA&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

Ralphy C
12-10-2023, 09:46 PM
IF the ref had given offside after VAR check he would have raised his arm, he didn’t he gave the sign for a free kick (horizontal arm).

There can only be one reason for this. They knew they had screwed up and then retrofitted the offside. It’s a total disgrace. It wouldn’t happen to Spain, England, Italy, France etc.

Im sure they dont send refs to the monitor for off side decisions anyway do they?

Trinity Hibee
12-10-2023, 09:50 PM
Im sure they dont send refs to the monitor for off side decisions anyway do they?

No they dont

12-10-2023, 09:51 PM

I think they do if he is offside and decision is whether he is involved in the play

one day maybe...
12-10-2023, 10:00 PM
Cheated simple as that

12-10-2023, 10:01 PM
I think they do if he is offside and decision is whether he is involved in the play
I watch English football every week and i'm not sure I've seen a referee go over to look at an offside. At least if I have then it's so long ago that i've forgotten it.

12-10-2023, 10:04 PM
I watch English football every week and i'm not sure I've seen a referee go over to look at an offside. At least if I have then it's so long ago that i've forgotten it.

They’ve ****ed up. That’s not what he checked for. He signalled for a foul and not an offside, they never raised the offside at the time.

It might be shown to be offside but that’s 100% not what they gave it for at the time no matter what they say.

12-10-2023, 10:04 PM
Can't believe that var decision 😂😂😂

12-10-2023, 10:09 PM
They’ve ****ed up. That’s not what he checked for. He signalled for a foul and not an offside, they never raised the offside at the time.

It might be shown to be offside but that’s 100% not what they gave it for at the time no matter what they say.
Oh I'm not disagreeing with you, that was a monumental balls up. Or blatant cheating which it looked like to me.

davym7062
12-10-2023, 10:15 PM
spain are good they dont need any help.. ragin

12-10-2023, 10:18 PM

Spain are *****

12-10-2023, 10:45 PM
spain are good they dont need any help.. raginAnd yet they got it. Funny that.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

davym7062
12-10-2023, 10:46 PM
And yet they got it. Funny that.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

football is corrupt

12-10-2023, 10:47 PM
I now hate Spain and UEFA corruption to protect them.

I am hoping for a draw on Sunday, we qualify and then win last two games and win the group.

The anger from tonight should ensure we do everything to win this group.

Dr What If?
12-10-2023, 11:19 PM
I now hate Spain and UEFA corruption to protect them.

I am hoping for a draw on Sunday, we qualify and then win last two games and win the group.

The anger from tonight should ensure we do everything to win this group.
Tonight showed that it is not up to us who wins the group......how well we play, how often we put the ball in the net, those in charge decide how this group finishes. Honestly, is this still even a sport?

JammyDoidger
13-10-2023, 02:44 AM
Be good to hear the audio when the ref goes to the monitor that should clear it up eh..

13-10-2023, 03:34 AM
referee "you wanna me to chalk that off"

Var "Si Senor muchas gracias, muchas Euro will reach your El Banko account by siesta time tomorrow"

end of transmission

13-10-2023, 04:32 AM

Very good player. Scores goals wherever he goes, and has a great record for Spain. Walks into any Scotland side in the last 50 years.

13-10-2023, 06:22 AM
Cheated! End off!

Not one Spanish player on the pitch challenged the goal. We've all seen cases when a goalie (one of the world's most protected species) claims a player is interfering with their attempt to save the ball and yet the goal is still given. Here, we have a case that a goalie doesn't complain, yet some idiotic VAR referee comes up with the subjective view that the goalie was impeded.

Ridiculous decision!

JammyDoidger
13-10-2023, 06:24 AM
Cheated! End off!

Not one Spanish player on the pitch challenged the goal. We've all seen cases when a goalie (one of the world's most protected species) claims a player is interfering with their attempt to save the ball and yet the goal is still given. Here, we have a case that a goalie doesn't complain, yet some idiotic VAR referee comes up with the subjective view that the goalie was impeded.

Ridiculous decision!

This is where I'm at, if the goal stands no one is complaining that it shouldn't. Shocking.

13-10-2023, 06:25 AM
Spain are *****

I agree! That is the worst Spanish team I've seen in the past 2-3 decades! Yes, they could easily have been a couple up early in the game, but they had run out of ideas until the McTominay 'goal'.

I know Norway are not brilliant, but I think they will beat Spain in Oslo. They have to win the game and I think they will.

13-10-2023, 06:45 AM
Mind when Marshall was rocketed into the back of his net at Ross County and the goal stood :rolleyes:

Salisbury Hibby
13-10-2023, 06:53 AM
On potentially doing Scotland a favour on Sunday, Morata adds: "I'd hope to see (Norway captain) Martin Odegaard in the Euros, so I'd be happy if they qualified as well."Surely they wouldn't lie down to help Norway and hinder Scotland?

Sent from my SM-A536B using Tapatalk

13-10-2023, 06:58 AM
Surely they wouldn't lie down to help Norway and hinder Scotland?

Sent from my SM-A536B using Tapatalk

That would potentially leave them on a max of 18 points , and we can get to 21 so wouldn't think so

13-10-2023, 07:38 AM

I was at the game and watched the ref very closely when he returned to pitch from the monitor. He very clearly signalled for offside then an indirect free kick. I was surprised when everyone started saying folk back home were saying it was for a foul on the keeper. Why would that be indirect? Turns out it was the TV and scoreboard operator great got it wrong initially.

13-10-2023, 08:03 AM
I was at the game and watched the ref very closely when he returned to pitch from the monitor. He very clearly signalled for offside then an indirect free kick. I was surprised when everyone started saying folk back home were saying it was for a foul on the keeper. Why would that be indirect? Turns out it was the TV and scoreboard operator great got it wrong initially.

This was his signal when he returned from the monitor

13-10-2023, 08:08 AM

He signaled for a foul so maybe you were not watching that closely 👀

IF the VAR review was for offside we would have seen the lines first then we would have seen if interference. The VAR decision was given as a foul. 8 minutes later it was changed to offside.

13-10-2023, 08:18 AM
He signaled for a foul so maybe you were not watching that closely ��

IF the VAR review was for offside we would have seen the lines first then we would have seen if interference. The VAR decision was given as a foul. 8 minutes later it was changed to offside.

No, he didn’t. His initial action was to blow the whistle and point towards the opposite end, indicating a free kick to Spain. Many in the crowd thought he was pointing to the centre spot to give the goal. He absolutely then signalled for offside by making the line across the pitch motion with his hand then raised it to indicate an indirect free kick. He also had his arm raised as the free chick was being taken. Why would a foul on the keeper be indirect? I don’t care what you saw on TV, that is what happened. He was called to the monitor the determine if the offside was interfering with play. Why it was reported as a foul, I have no idea but I knew (and said to those around me) at the time, that he’d given offside.

13-10-2023, 08:27 AM
I agree! That is the worst Spanish team I've seen in the past 2-3 decades! Yes, they could easily have been a couple up early in the game, but they had run out of ideas until the McTominay 'goal'.

I know Norway are not brilliant, but I think they will beat Spain in Oslo. They have to win the game and I think they will.

Can’t agree. I think they’re a decent enough side and we rode our luck a lot during that game before all the drama. I think some are letting the niggle between us cloud their judgement a little. Didn’t they just win that daft nations league thing or whatever it’s called?

They are a far better side than Norway and think they’ll win comfortably. They’ll probably fair reasonably well in Germany as well.

13-10-2023, 08:29 AM
From what we’ve seen in the last couple of games, England are a FAR better side than Spain.

13-10-2023, 08:46 AM
No, he didn’t. His initial action was to blow the whistle and point towards the opposite end, indicating a free kick to Spain. Many in the crowd thought he was pointing to the centre spot to give the goal. He absolutely then signalled for offside by making the line across the pitch motion with his hand then raised it to indicate an indirect free kick. He also had his arm raised as the free chick was being taken. Why would a foul on the keeper be indirect? I don’t care what you saw on TV, that is what happened. He was called to the monitor the determine if the offside was interfering with play. Why it was reported as a foul, I have no idea but I knew (and said to those around me) at the time, that he’d given offside.

McGinn said in his interview that the ref changed his mind on the pitch about what he had given it for.

I did wonder about the signal as (on tv) it looked as if he only signalled for direct free kick. Balague said the same as you so presumably it just wasn’t caught on tv.

In any case, surely if it was always offside they were checking/giving, the correct signal would have been to raise his hand for offside immediately after doing the var ‘tv outline’ action?

Whatever’s happened. It did not look good.

13-10-2023, 08:49 AM

Bobby Madden is saying that the ref definitely indicated a direct free kick for a foul and not for an indirect free kick for offside

13-10-2023, 09:01 AM
No, he didn’t. His initial action was to blow the whistle and point towards the opposite end, indicating a free kick to Spain. Many in the crowd thought he was pointing to the centre spot to give the goal.

This is the part he shouldn’t have done if it was for offside

13-10-2023, 09:05 AM
Bobby Madden is saying that the ref definitely indicated a direct free kick for a foul and not for an indirect free kick for offside

If Bobby Madden said it then I'm even more convinced he indicated for offside.

13-10-2023, 09:11 AM
Surely they wouldn't lie down to help Norway and hinder Scotland?

Sent from my SM-A536B using TapatalkI'm sure UEFA would love Halland to be playing in Germany next year.

13-10-2023, 09:16 AM

UEFA are never, ever going to allow Spain to fail qualification for the Euro Finals. If that means giving them a little nudging help now and again, so be it.

Had Scotland won last night, Spain's position would have been in jeopardy. A Norway win on Sunday would have allowed Scotland and Norway the chance to stitch up the top two places.

13-10-2023, 10:37 AM
UEFA are never, ever going to allow Spain to fail qualification for the Euro Finals. If that means giving them a little nudging help now and again, so be it.

Had Scotland won last night, Spain's position would have been in jeopardy. A Norway win on Sunday would have allowed Scotland and Norway the chance to stitch up the top two places.

Just like FIFA made sure Italy qualified for the last world cup.

13-10-2023, 11:15 AM

This ref is very incompetent at one time he was the worst on their books. Hes a nightmare.

13-10-2023, 11:18 AM
Just like FIFA made sure Italy qualified for the last world cup.

Also Henry’s handball

13-10-2023, 11:32 AM

Big teams have missed Euros and world cups plenty in the last 20 years. The idea that uefa would help them qualify by rigging games in plain site is ridiculous.

Spain have a nations league playoff too. I dont think they're in much danger.

13-10-2023, 11:58 AM
Big teams have missed Euros and world cups plenty in the last 20 years. The idea that uefa would help them qualify by rigging games in plain site is ridiculous.

Spain have a nations league playoff too. I dont think they're in much danger.

I looked up naive in the online dictionary & it directed me to the above post..

Trinity Hibee
13-10-2023, 11:59 AM

13-10-2023, 12:00 PM

If UEFA and FIFA make sure the big teams qualify for the Euros and World Cup then explain how Hearts haven't?

Trinity Hibee
13-10-2023, 12:01 PM
If UEFA and FIFA make sure the big teams qualify for the Euros and World Cup then explain how Hearts haven't?

Because they are a club side

13-10-2023, 12:07 PM

Difficult to argue with this. Did Romanov not predict they would be European champions within 3-5 years and then appointed Graham Rix and did team selection by fax machine.

13-10-2023, 12:07 PM
I dont get the fuss. It was offside and the ref signaled for offside. The Scotland player was interfering with play because everyone is saying his touch on the keeper was never a foul. Therefore he was close enough to the keeper to be offside.

As for Spain letting Norway win. Behave, if they do that then there is a very good chance they won't win the group lol.

13-10-2023, 12:16 PM
Does it make any difference if we finish 1st or 2nd in the group?

13-10-2023, 12:17 PM
I dont get the fuss. It was offside and the ref signaled for offside. The Scotland player was interfering with play because everyone is saying his touch on the keeper was never a foul. Therefore he was close enough to the keeper to be offside.

As for Spain letting Norway win. Behave, if they do that then there is a very good chance they won't win the group lol.

Marshall called it as offside straightaway on Sky Sports News last night. He was in no doubt that the goal would be chalked off as our player was interfering with play. And he was right.

13-10-2023, 12:19 PM

Superb. The crowd goes mild.

England, Italy and Netherlands have all missed tournaments in the last 15, years. Don't be silly mate. Europe has enough excellent sides without Spain, I don't think Uefa are going to risk their very existence to help them win a game that they don't even need to to qualify.

It literally was offside. The penalty Norway didn't get Vs Spain was a worse decision than last night. I assume you were calling match fixing them too?

13-10-2023, 12:22 PM

I think, if he was in an offside position (I've not actually seen any lines confirming this yet) when the kick is taken.... its correct to rule it out. In my mind he has to be involved in play if in contact with the keeper as the shot comes in. No doubt for me.

The fuss is about the absolute shambles, apparent changing of minds, and dodgy-looking events that took place during it. Coupled with some outrageous refereeing throughout the game. Surely if you watched the game, you get that?

For the last line... I doubt anyone actually believes that, and agree it would be a completely ridiculous notion for anyone to genuinely suggest it. I think its just a comment based on Morata saying he wouldn't mind seeing them qualify too. Nothing in it whatsoever.

Mcbizz1998
13-10-2023, 12:27 PM

No, the ref signalled for a direct freekick - so a foul. The VAR pictures didn't include the lines, presumably weren't looking for offside. They then said it was foul to the players, graphics in the stadium and on the television.

Pretty clear what the fuss is.

MKHIBEE
13-10-2023, 12:29 PM
They are only big in Gorgie

13-10-2023, 12:30 PM
Does it make any difference if we finish 1st or 2nd in the group?

Yes. Finish 1st and we’ll be in pot A or B fir the finals draw. Finish 2nd and its pot B or C. Also effects the World Cup draw seeding next year.

13-10-2023, 12:31 PM

Agree with this with one caveat…..would that decision be reached if it was at the other end (or a Rangers goal)?

13-10-2023, 12:36 PM

Jeez where do you start with this 👀

McTominay scored straight from free kick, no additional touch by anyone and no signal from linesman for foul or offside. VAR called the ref to look at a FOUL. He gave the foul and indicated a free kick with the correct hand gesture. All the media and the TV screen and stadium screens were told it was disallowed for a foul. There was no drawing of the lines.

Ten minutes later it was changed to be offside. A quick angled view on drawling the lines was shared yet other straight on angles indicate he wasn’t offside. It is debatable he was interfering with play or not as ball was in the net quicker than he could move.

It was 0-0 in a vital game after about an hour. It changed the whole game and probably stopped us qualifying last night.

At best it was very badly handled, at worst it was manipulated after the event to avoid scrutiny.

13-10-2023, 12:39 PM
If ut was offside the ref wouldn't have needed to go to the scree. Offside isn't a decision, it is back or white. I believe that the offside has come into it to save the argument of the fact that the initial free kick decision was possibly one of the worst I've ever seen. I haven't seen the replays showing offside but I watched the game in a pub in portugal and I dont think he signalled for offside. No one in the oub thought ut was a free kick, offside has saved him. Terrible refereeing throughout the game topped of by complete incompetence with our goal

JammyDoidger
13-10-2023, 12:44 PM
They should just scrap the interfering with play rule, should only be offside if you actually touch the ball, save all the messing about.

TrinityHFC
13-10-2023, 12:45 PM
If ut was offside the ref wouldn't have needed to go to the scree. Offside isn't a decision, it is back or white. I believe that the offside has come into it to save the argument of the fact that the initial free kick decision was possibly one of the worst I've ever seen. I haven't seen the replays showing offside but I watched the game in a pub in portugal and I dont think he signalled for offside. No one in the oub thought ut was a free kick, offside has saved him. Terrible refereeing throughout the game topped of by complete incompetence with our goal

When the potential offside wasn’t the scorer but was someone who might have been interfering with play then they can go to the screen to take a look about the extent of the interference.

madsen5
13-10-2023, 12:48 PM
They should just scrap the interfering with play rule, should only be offside if you actually touch the ball, save all the messing about.

As Bill Shankly said " if you're not interfering
with play you shouldn't be on the pitch.

13-10-2023, 12:48 PM

So you can stand right infront of the goalie at free kicks, blocking his view.

delbert
13-10-2023, 12:50 PM
Jeez where do you start with this 👀

McTominay scored straight from free kick, no additional touch by anyone and no signal from linesman for foul or offside. VAR called the ref to look at a FOUL. He gave the foul and indicated a free kick with the correct hand gesture. All the media and the TV screen and stadium screens were told it was disallowed for a foul. There was no drawing of the lines.

Ten minutes later it was changed to be offside. A quick angled view on drawling the lines was shared yet other straight on angles indicate he wasn’t offside. It is debatable he was interfering with play or not as ball was in the net quicker than he could move.

It was 0-0 in a vital game after about an hour. It changed the whole game and probably stopped us qualifying last night.

At best it was very badly handled, at worst it was manipulated after the event to avoid scrutiny.

Sorry but you’re missing the point here, if it was ruled out for offside then, under the current VAR protocols, the referee would NOT have been required to look at the monitor, full stop, that decision comes from the VAR officials. The reason the referee was called over and subsequently disallowed the goal was for an offence other than offside, and that’s a problem which they have tried to paper over by basically lying.

Paulie Walnuts
13-10-2023, 01:02 PM
Sorry but you’re missing the point here, if it was ruled out for offside then, under the current VAR protocols, the referee would NOT have been required to look at the monitor, full stop, that decision comes from the VAR officials. The reason the referee was called over and subsequently disallowed the goal was for an offence other than offside, and that’s a problem which they have tried to paper over by basically lying.

Are you and col2 not saying the same thing? :greengrin

JammyDoidger
13-10-2023, 01:08 PM

That goal last night wasn't any different from what you'd see at corner, so frustrating, there's body's all over the place probably blocking the keepers view let's be serious, can't believe it was ruled out like. They are always looking for something, it's not clear and obvious he's not touched the ball, different if he flicked it in. He's gave a foul regardless of what anyone says, then they've changed it, as offside looks better for them, we were never winning that last night, can't help but feel cheated, like I said before I'd love to hear the audio just to clear it up.
The more you watch it the worse it is, he's rifled that ball, no goalie is stopping it, he's not even complained. Gutting.

HarpOnHibee
13-10-2023, 01:12 PM

Is it not on the goalie to unblock his own view? If not, then opposition players would be as well standing outside the box whenever they get a corner, just in case.

13-10-2023, 01:20 PM
The penalty Norway didn't get Vs Spain was a worse decision than last night.

I’m no sure this supports your argument

13-10-2023, 01:21 PM
Is it not on the goalie to unblock his own view? If not, then opposition players would be as well standing outside the box whenever they get a corner, just in case.

Strange way of looking at things

HarpOnHibee
13-10-2023, 01:23 PM
Strange way of looking at things

Surely it shouldn't be the responsibility of attacking players to ensure the goalies view of the ball isn't blocked?

13-10-2023, 01:25 PM
Surely it shouldn't be the responsibility of attacking players to ensure the goalies view of the ball isn't blocked?

If they’re in an offside position then of course it is, or they will get offside given against them and rightly so

13-10-2023, 01:28 PM
I’m no sure this supports your argument

So it's been rigged from the first game? How deep does this go?

13-10-2023, 01:28 PM
So it's been rigged from the first game? How deep does this go?

Right to the top

13-10-2023, 01:29 PM

You can't be offside from a corner.

An offside player blocking the goalies view should be offside and currently is.

HarpOnHibee
13-10-2023, 01:33 PM
You can't be offside from a corner.

An offside player blocking the goalies view should be offside and currently is.

I agree that an offside player blocking the goalies view should be offside. However, if you watch the footage of the goal, the goalies view of the ball clearly wasn't blocked at all. His eyes followed the flight of the ball all the way into the corner of the net. He was never getting to it regardless of Hendry's positioning, which is why he didn't even bother to protest the goal.

13-10-2023, 01:43 PM
I agree that an offside player blocking the goalies view should be offside. However, if you watch the footage of the goal, the goalies view of the ball clearly wasn't blocked at all. His eyes followed the flight of the ball all the way into the corner of the net. He was never getting to it regardless of Hendry's positioning, which is why he didn't even bother to protest the goal.

I don't fully agree with the decision, but there is an argument that he was interfering imo. It's a bit harsh for sure, but not match fixing.

13-10-2023, 01:49 PM
Because they are a club side

Thank you for your very literal and factual answer.

13-10-2023, 01:54 PM
I don't fully agree with the decision, but there is an argument that he was interfering imo. It's a bit harsh for sure, but not match fixing.

Agree. Can't help but feel if we looked at this without Scotland specs, you'd be considered interfering if you happen to nudge the keeper over his own goal line - strongly or not, whether he was saving it or otherwise. He's touched the keeper, it was never going to be allowed on an offside/onside front.

Trinity Hibee
13-10-2023, 01:57 PM
Thank you for your very literal and factual answer.

Just happy I could help clear that one up

13-10-2023, 02:11 PM
Interesting angle

https://x.com/viaplaysportsuk/status/1712564534454480939?s=61

13-10-2023, 02:16 PM
Interesting angle

https://x.com/viaplaysportsuk/status/1712564534454480939?s=61Offside not looking all that obvious from there.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

13-10-2023, 02:17 PM
Offside not looking all that obvious from there.

Shove on the goalie though :greengrin

13-10-2023, 02:30 PM
Interesting angle

https://x.com/viaplaysportsuk/status/1712564534454480939?s=61

I posted the same clip last night during the game. Willie Miller said hendry raised his hands and pushed the keeper!

13-10-2023, 02:34 PM
Shove on the goalie though :greengrin

I've freeze framed it and it looks like hendry leans towards the keeper but it's not obvious that there is contact or not.

13-10-2023, 02:39 PM
Offside not looking all that obvious from there.

I've watched that a few times and can't see how it helps the argument he's not offside?

Impossible to tell, but certainly doesn't make him long MORE onside.

13-10-2023, 02:44 PM
I've freeze framed it and it looks like hendry leans towards the keeper but it's not obvious that there is contact or not.

Keeper is nowhere close to saving that ball, doesn't even attempt to jump for it or come off his line. after it goes in not a single Spanish player complains, Keeper knows he's made a total arse of it.

Complete lack of complaints is very telling IMO

Paulie Walnuts
13-10-2023, 03:26 PM

Are you and col2 not saying the same thing? :greengrin

13-10-2023, 03:33 PM
https://twitter.com/STVNews/status/1712840675773841547

UEFA confirm Scott McTominay's disallowed goal against Spain was ruled out for offside.

13-10-2023, 04:20 PM
https://twitter.com/STVNews/status/1712840675773841547

UEFA confirm Scott McTominay's disallowed goal against Spain was ruled out for offside.

Absolute rubbish from them. The ref doesn’t get sent to the monitor for offside.

13-10-2023, 04:25 PM
Absolute rubbish from them. The ref doesn’t get sent to the monitor for offside.

He does in this scenario. He is looking to see if the player is interfering with play. If the player had actually got a touch on the ball and it was his goal then he wouldn't have been sent to the monitor.

13-10-2023, 04:35 PM
Ref clearly signalling for offside, as I said.

https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/moment-spain-vs-scotland-referee-27907154?fbclid=IwAR1uRE-YTTtewCuYz2JlG-Z18HuCLZ3xhq017mabcEkcRdxoNRLWb9cL9-8_aem_ATlhokXLcpWc7XDQgvopv7YEI4yoAtnqXgGe_UrynrEm YW67bey0e5WDgxrt_TX5U6Q

13-10-2023, 05:30 PM
Ref clearly signalling for offside, as I said.

https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/moment-spain-vs-scotland-referee-27907154?fbclid=IwAR1uRE-YTTtewCuYz2JlG-Z18HuCLZ3xhq017mabcEkcRdxoNRLWb9cL9-8_aem_ATlhokXLcpWc7XDQgvopv7YEI4yoAtnqXgGe_UrynrEm YW67bey0e5WDgxrt_TX5U6Q

If this is before he was called to the monitor, presumably the VAR people were suggesting he check whether Hendry was interfering with play.

13-10-2023, 05:43 PM
If this is before he was called to the monitor, presumably the VAR people were suggesting he check whether Hendry was interfering with play.

It was after. And also after when he had signalled for a direct free kick to Spain which happened as soon as he stepped back on to the pitch following the monitor check

13-10-2023, 06:57 PM
https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11095/12984017/scott-mctominay-sfa-writes-to-uefa-over-var-decision-to-rule-out-goal-in-spain-defeat

Scott McTominay: SFA writes to UEFA over VAR decision to rule out goal in Spain defeat

14-10-2023, 07:14 AM
Keeper is nowhere close to saving that ball, doesn't even attempt to jump for it or come off his line. after it goes in not a single Spanish player complains, Keeper knows he's made a total arse of it.

Complete lack of complaints is very telling IMO

Complaint comes from VAR. "***** amor" .... "Ref, get your arse over to the monitor. If we look hard enough, we'll find some reason to chalk that off." It's only Scotland. No one will give a toss."

Steven79
14-10-2023, 01:38 PM
So you can stand right infront of the goalie at free kicks, blocking his view.Remember what happened to Marshall up on Dingwall?

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

14-10-2023, 10:09 PM
Remember what happened to Marshall up on Dingwall?

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Yes, I do.

147lothian
15-10-2023, 07:14 PM
Am I the only one hoping the Norway Spain game ends in a draw? It ends in a draw for me give Scotland the best chance of winning the group, hoping for a Spain win seems to be whatever happens we have qualified, I'm glad the Spain goal was ruled out.

Stairway 2 7
15-10-2023, 07:40 PM
Am I the only one hoping the Norway Spain game ends in a draw? It ends in a draw for me give Scotland the best chance of winning the group, hoping for a Spain win seems to be whatever happens we have qualified, I'm glad the Spain goal was ruled out.

We'd all prefer the draw but that is no use to our ticker when Norway could score and win. I'll jump about for a Spain goal though as I just want Germany guaranteed first and foremost

15-10-2023, 07:43 PM
We'd all prefer the draw but that is no use to our ticker when Norway could score and win. I'll jump about for a Spain goal though as I just want Germany guaranteed first and foremost

Same for me. I still think Spain will get the job done in the second half. Draw perfect but would sooner see Spain go a couple in front and know it’s done.

15-10-2023, 07:43 PM

Same. I'll take a draw. Would be better if Norway snatched the draw from 0-2 down - in the sixth minute of injury time (of 6)!

15-10-2023, 07:54 PM
Offside, no?

15-10-2023, 07:59 PM
1-0 Spain. Another dodgy offside call goes Spain way.

15-10-2023, 08:03 PM
VARse yet again. Where is the clear and obvious error ? The ref and linesmen are becoming bit part players, deferring to some no-marks watching on TV. Delay, delay and more unnecessary delay. VAR is ruining the game.

15-10-2023, 08:04 PM
VARse yet again. Where is the clear and obvious error ? The ref and linesmen are becoming bit part players, deferring to some no-marks watching on TV. Delay, delay and more unnecessary delay. VAR is ruining the game.

Every goal is checked. Obvious or not. Shouldn’t take 4 minutes tho.

15-10-2023, 08:13 PM
Every goal is checked. Obvious or not. Shouldn’t take 4 minutes tho.

I'd give VAR 10 secs to overturn the ref, otherwise on-field decisions should stand. Anything longer than that is just folk trying to find reasons to chalk goals off.

If VAR can't do that, then hand it over to AI. Killing the game.