View Full Version : Derby rained off?

King Cosell
05-10-2023, 10:54 PM
Heavy rain forecast Friday night and all day Saturday.

05-10-2023, 10:57 PM
No

King Cosell
05-10-2023, 10:58 PM
No
Right, well, that's the end of that thread.

05-10-2023, 11:06 PM

Correct

05-10-2023, 11:10 PM
Correct, back to drinking it is then.....

06-10-2023, 01:14 AM
Flood of goals predicted, Vente, Boyle, Alf, ⚽️⚽️⚽️⚽️⚽️⚽️⚽️ 🥅

06-10-2023, 01:59 AM
Flood of goals predicted, Vente, Boyle, Alf, ⚽️⚽️⚽️⚽️⚽️⚽️⚽️ 🥅

Followed by a torrent of abuse towards jambo fans.

06-10-2023, 07:09 AM
Followed by a torrent of abuse towards jambo fans.

And a wave of appreciation for the Hibees 🤞🏻

06-10-2023, 07:26 AM
Just see the headlines !

"Hibs reign in Derby torrent"

Rose Burn bursts with floods of joy !

06-10-2023, 08:38 AM
McGlaughlin and co will need to bring waterproofs and brollys to cover the game from the state-of-the-art media facilities.

May not even get radio coverage due to “technical issues”

06-10-2023, 08:59 AM
McGlaughlin and co will need to bring waterproofs and brollys to cover the game from the state-of-the-art media facilities.

May not even get radio coverage due to “technical issues”

Is he not at the golf this weekend

06-10-2023, 10:31 AM
Is he not at the golf this weekend

It’s a great example of the BBC’s downward trajectory over time.

Renton Laidlaw to Brain McLaughlin.

06-10-2023, 10:43 AM
Wouldn’t mind if it was. I’ll be on a plane tomorrow from 2:30 for 4 hours with no WiFi connection. Could be a good or miserable start to my hols🙈

06-10-2023, 10:49 AM
No, they will just close the roof on the biggest and bestest ground in world football.

Trinity Hibee
06-10-2023, 10:54 AM
Just see the headlines !

No chance any of todays journalists are coming up with anything as creative as that!

06-10-2023, 02:53 PM
Edinburgh Derby abandoned as Tynecastle Pitch turned into Paddling Pool

06-10-2023, 03:18 PM
Heavy heavy rain forecast overnight and most of tomorrow. Tinycastle us a midden. This game could be a casualty. Particularly if the grounds staff have orders.

06-10-2023, 03:21 PM
Heavy heavy rain forecast overnight and most of tomorrow. Tinycastle us a midden. This game could be a casualty. Particularly if the grounds staff have orders.

The amount of rain forecast wouldn't be surprised if several games bite the dust either ours potentially being one of them.

06-10-2023, 03:24 PM
No, they will just close the roof on the biggest and bestest ground in world football.
Will that block their clear line of sight to the castle?

06-10-2023, 03:26 PM
I remember the Hearts Vs Motherwell game being called off due to a waterlogged pitch days before we were due to play them in the cup replay at Easter Road. I was meant to be going to the Hearts game as my boys club were meant to be playing on the pitch at half-time. It was barely spitting and going back to the car we met several Motherwell supporters who didn't believe us and continued on their way to the ground.

Chorley Hibee
06-10-2023, 03:28 PM
I remember the Hearts Vs Motherwell game being called off due to a waterlogged pitch days before we were due to play them in the cup replay at Easter Road. I was meant to be going to the Hearts game as my boys club were meant to be playing on the pitch at half-time. It was barely spitting and going back to the car we met several Motherwell supporters who didn't believe us and continued on their way to the ground.

Yes, they've form for this kind of thing.

Wouldn't surprise me if they tried it again.

Hibs4185
06-10-2023, 03:57 PM

It’s not rain, it’s all the jambos greeting and wanting it abandoned!

(This will def come back to haunt me)

06-10-2023, 04:23 PM
Got to feel for the media if it goes ahead.

06-10-2023, 04:35 PM
Just see the headlines !

er

I take it Rose Burn wasnae the Jambo lassie hanging out the Romanov banner from her windae? 🤔

06-10-2023, 04:37 PM

Bulgarian balcony tears have a lot to answer for 😭

06-10-2023, 04:39 PM
Got to feel for the media if it goes ahead.

:singing: Am texting in the rain ☔ :singing:
Just texting in the rain :singing:
Oh wait a minute now :singing:
Boyles just scored again !!!:greengrin

:partyhibb:partyhibb

06-10-2023, 05:17 PM

You'd only need two umbrellas to protect their entire pitch.

06-10-2023, 05:22 PM

They can't even keep the press box dry

06-10-2023, 05:44 PM
They can't even keep the press box dry

If that means fatso, and the other jurno's from the west then good, but I just cannot believe this to be so, after all how can you get 400,000 people into a ground that is a bit like a small bus shelter. Mind Dr Who done it wi his space ship.

06-10-2023, 05:56 PM
38mm to fall over the whole day.🤔

06-10-2023, 06:26 PM
If that means fatso, and the other jurno's from the west then good, but I just cannot believe this to be so, after all how can you get 400,000 people into a ground that is a bit like a small bus shelter. Mind Dr Who done it wi his space ship.

They will need a waterproof cover for the dining room chairs

Skol
06-10-2023, 06:35 PM
Should keep the pyrotechnics at bay

06-10-2023, 06:48 PM
38mm to fall over the whole day.🤔

Plus them watering the pitch overnight

LewysGot2
06-10-2023, 09:22 PM
Let’s be grateful that it’s there and it’s not our pitch taking a doing. :greengrin

06-10-2023, 09:33 PM
Rain’s been on a few hours but not particularly heavy so far, don’t think the game will be in any doubt whatsoever

06-10-2023, 09:33 PM
My Parkrun in pitlochry and another event in oban cancelled tomorrow due to travel warning

06-10-2023, 09:37 PM
TransPennine Express and Avanti telling passengers not to travel tk Scotland tomorrow.

06-10-2023, 09:40 PM
My Parkrun in pitlochry and another event in oban cancelled tomorrow due to travel warning

Leith weather folk must be ****ting themselves.

06-10-2023, 09:42 PM
The amount of rain forecast wouldn't be surprised if several games bite the dust either ours potentially being one of them.

Maybe it will turn out like the great storm forecast for the St Mirren game a couple of weeks ago that failed to materialize.
The met office are pretty hopeless at weather forecasting and tend to give out yellow warnings like confetti.

06-10-2023, 09:58 PM
Maybe it will turn out like the great storm forecast for the St Mirren game a couple of weeks ago that failed to materialize.
The met office are pretty hopeless at weather forecasting and tend to give out yellow warnings like confetti.

Looking outside just now and it’s absolutely bucketing down so I don’t think they’re going to be too far off. If, as is predicted, that doesn’t really stop between now and kick off it’s a heck of a lot of rain for a pitch to take. Hope they have decent drainage and/or they’ve got the covers on!

06-10-2023, 09:59 PM
Bill Giles says it will be fine. 🤔

He's here!
06-10-2023, 10:00 PM
Trains suspended in 'do not travel' weather warning for Scotland - BBC News (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-67035351)

Things do appear to be getting quite serious.

Wedge
06-10-2023, 10:20 PM
Weather folk ken what's gaun on.

06-10-2023, 10:37 PM
Yeah I don't think this will be going ahead.

06-10-2023, 10:40 PM
It’s alright tynecastle has a roof

06-10-2023, 10:41 PM
I can almost see our stadium from where I live and while it’s definitely heavy rain just now, I wouldn’t say it’s anything too serious yet!

I guess if it just keeps going at this level then by tomorrow afternoon things might be starting to get a bit flooded…

06-10-2023, 10:44 PM
Trains suspended in 'do not travel' weather warning for Scotland - BBC News (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-67035351)

I don’t really know how these weather warnings work but any time we get an amber weather warning for snow, nothing ever serious seems to come of it.

06-10-2023, 11:19 PM
Our EH11 friends have a Grade 1000 stadium. It's unthinkable that heavy rain could make that pride-of-football billiard table unplayable.

07-10-2023, 05:02 AM
Did they not have a home game called off against Partick in the championship a couple of year ago due to rain?

07-10-2023, 05:06 AM
I can see their low level press box getting washed oot and their dug out lounge chairs getting washed away in the deluge drifting towards the Gorgie Road end

147lothian
07-10-2023, 05:34 AM
It's not just the rain, I just saw a crisp packet in the air.

07-10-2023, 06:12 AM
I'm not far from Tynecastle this morning and the rain isn't that heavy at all. Could of course change later on but absolutely no chance it will be off if the rain stays as it is now.

07-10-2023, 06:31 AM
Did they not have a home game called off against Partick in the championship a couple of year ago due to rain?

Yep was just before the moneyspinning replay. No other game within 100 mile radius was off. Obviously friendly local fire service and ref helped them out :greengrin

07-10-2023, 06:35 AM
Yep was just before the moneyspinning replay. No other game within 100 mile radius was off. Obviously friendly local fire service and ref helped them out :greengrin

That worked out well for them.

07-10-2023, 06:38 AM
That worked out well for them.

Indeed justice prevailed :agree:

07-10-2023, 06:39 AM
Hosing down now and the golf has been cancelled 😢

07-10-2023, 06:42 AM
I'm not far from Tynecastle this morning and the rain isn't that heavy at all. Could of course change later on but absolutely no chance it will be off if the rain stays as it is now.

Scrap that. Absolutely hammering it down now.

07-10-2023, 06:52 AM
Game better be on, I’m buzzing for it today which is an absolute rarity in itself. Might be the travel issues etc that do for it as roads and rail seem to be in a bad way this morning.

BH Hibs
07-10-2023, 07:20 AM

Anyone using the Bathgate to Edinburgh line might want to catch an earlier train as the trains are running at the moment but under a speed restriction. The official line is not to travel but I know people are going to go to the game if it’s still on. Delays and cancellations everywhere though. Stay safe Hibees.

07-10-2023, 07:24 AM
Hammering down now, can’t see it being on tbh.

07-10-2023, 07:32 AM
Games lower down the pyramid starting to be called off.

Still can't see our game being impacted. Park will be heavy but the drainage and run off should be streets ahead of anything at the lower levels.

07-10-2023, 07:47 AM
Games lower down the pyramid starting to be called off.

Still can't see our game being impacted. Park will be heavy but the drainage and run off should be streets ahead of anything at the lower levels.

You'd think so, especially given their state of the art, world leading 400,000 capacity main stand that keeps everyone dry during a downpour, not even the reporters tables' get wet. :wink:

07-10-2023, 07:47 AM
Loads of trains now cancelled

07-10-2023, 07:51 AM
Loads of trains now cancelled

Definitely wouldn't rely on rail today

07-10-2023, 07:54 AM
KP saying no warnings currently.

Meanwhile it’s to be 25 degrees in London today

Surely livi will called off 1st, if that goes ahead the tiny should be ok

07-10-2023, 08:00 AM
KP saying no warnings currently.

A few people saying they have head of a pitch inspection at 10:30am. Just a rumour.

07-10-2023, 08:00 AM
Roads are hellish, just drove to Haddington for work and seen three or four ambulances/ police cars with sirens and a car into the railings near QMU

I think it’ll be off

Hibees1973
07-10-2023, 08:03 AM
A few people saying they have head of a pitch inspection at 10:30am. Just a rumour.

Yam mate of mind just confirmed this.

Game in serious doubt of going ahead.

07-10-2023, 08:05 AM
I think if it is called off, the reasons will be for public/travel safety,rather than the pitch condition alone .

Off the bar
07-10-2023, 08:05 AM
Meanwhile it’s to be 25 degrees in London today

Already looking lovely out my window in SE London! Pretty wild the difference between here and up north.

07-10-2023, 08:08 AM
I remember a new years derby at Easter Rd being called off pretty late on. Think I was around Davidson Mains when I heard on the radio it was off
Must’ve been in the 1980’s

07-10-2023, 08:09 AM
Just walked round to get the bus in to town and it’s absolutely chucking down. If it stays as relentless as this, which it’s meant to, I really can’t see this being on.

If there's a pitch inspection that early then no chance it's going ahead.

I am pretty confident I have been to matches where the weather leading up has been horrible - not sure this is quite the apocalypse yet................

07-10-2023, 08:11 AM
Hibs just tweeting who is all going to tynecastle today, if there was a pitch inspection surely they would be saying

07-10-2023, 08:12 AM
Hibs just tweeting who is all going to tynecastle today, if there was a pitch inspection surely they would be saying

That would have been a scheduled post.

07-10-2023, 08:13 AM

Especially with another 4 and half hours rain to come after I stay not far from gorgie and rain been bouncing of the ground last couple of hours

07-10-2023, 08:13 AM

I can’t see anywhere that there’s a 10.30 pitch inspection, although it would make sense to do one

07-10-2023, 08:14 AM
Trains being called off is probably a result of that disaster up Aberdeen way. And rightly so if their policy is to review trains with prolonged periods of rain.

However, I’m looking out my window and it’s rain, nothing more, nothing less. Not a storm, no heavy winds just rain.

I’d be surprised if the game is called off.

Stubbsy90+2
07-10-2023, 08:14 AM
I’d be stunned if the game is called off.

davhibby
07-10-2023, 08:16 AM
I can’t see anywhere that there’s a 10.30 pitch inspection, although it would make sense to do one

The only early pitch inspection so far in the top 2 leagues is at Dens and they had terrible drainage problems last season plus it’s county travelling so they’ll want to call it off early if there’s a doubt.

I’d be very surprised if any of the other top flight or championship games get called off

07-10-2023, 08:18 AM

What’s the point of a pitch inspection at 10:30. Surely would need to be as close to KO as possible

07-10-2023, 08:19 AM

Especially with another 4 and half hours rain to come after I stay not far from gorgie and rain been bouncing of the ground last couple of hours

skyehibee
07-10-2023, 08:21 AM
Trains aren’t off. I stay in Newcraighall and all have run this morning and still are, only certain lines up north are cancelled.

What’s the point of a pitch inspection at 10:30. Surely would need to be as close to KO as possible

They do an early one with a local ref who makes a call on whether the pitch is playable at that point. If he says it's unplayable at that point then the ground staff get to work and they'll reinspect an hour or so later. If it's still unplayable and the forecast is for more rain they will either call it then or ask for further work to be done.

Leaving it up to the match ref 90 minutes before kick off gives no time for any work to be done to get the pitch in a playable position and leaves a logistical headache of fans grouping outside the stadium etc.

The match ref will still have the final call if it gets to that stage but any qualified ref can carry out the checks needed so they will have a fair idea of the outcome a good bit in advance.

Hibs official will surely post if there is a pitch inspection going ahead.

07-10-2023, 08:22 AM
Mind the Vetra, and to a lesser extent Dinaburg, home Intertoto ties that were played in similar. Both absolute shambles!

Can also mind being in the Nip before a game for a home friendly against I want to say Sunderland that was called off very late on because of similar rain

07-10-2023, 08:23 AM
Golf up and around St Andrews has been delayed till 10. If they’re struggling with flooding on links courses the Fitba is really going to take a hit.

07-10-2023, 08:23 AM
Hearing Bonnyrigg Rose game is off

07-10-2023, 08:24 AM

No idea, like I said it's a rumour and only posting what I read. I'd have thought there would be some communication from both teams if there was to be a pitch inspection.

07-10-2023, 08:25 AM
What’s the point of a pitch inspection at 10:30. Surely would need to be as close to KO as
possible

I was thinking the same.
See how quick Hampden dealt with waterlogged pitch not so long ago.
Back in the day, these early morning inspections were usually in winter time for frozen/ice/snow covered pitches,plus open terraces,surrounding streets being affected.Police and public transport folk got a say as well back then.

07-10-2023, 08:26 AM
Mind the Vetra, and to a lesser extent Dinaburg, home Intertoto ties that were played in similar. Both absolute shambles!

Can also mind being in the Nip before a game for a home friendly against I want to say Sunderland that was called off very late on because of similar rain

Morton away in the Championship springs to mind for me.

Morton fanson Twitter were saying the area around the ground was under about 3ft of water at 10 in the morning. At 11 we were told the game was definitely going ahead so buses started their journey, folk were on trains etc. Everyone knew it wasn't happening but because it was officially on plenty started travelling.

It was eventually called off about 12.45 when someone in authority opened their eyes and confirmed what Morton fans had said about 3 hours before.

07-10-2023, 08:26 AM

Fans need to travel also

07-10-2023, 08:27 AM

Makes every sense.

Fans of both Clubs will be travelling from all over to get there so they won't want to be travelling on dodgy roads if there is any possibility that the game will be postponed.

07-10-2023, 08:27 AM
Inverness game on Vs Patrick but pitch will be continued to be monitored 👀

ℹ️Today’s match against @PartickThistle remains ON with no pitch inspection currently planned.

Given the forecast, the pitch which is 100% playable right now, will of course be monitored in the hours ahead of kick-off but no inspection is scheduled.

07-10-2023, 08:28 AM

Morton fanson Twitter were saying the area around the ground was under about 3ft of water at 10 in the morning. At 11 we were told the game was definitely going ahead so buses started their journey, folk were on trains etc. Everyone knew it wasn't happening but because it was officially on plenty started travelling.

It was eventually called off about 12.45 when someone in authority opened their eyes and confirmed what Morton fans had said about 3 hours before.
Remember it well. We stopped in Livingston for beers when we heard it was cancelled and I proceeded to slip arse over heed all the way down a mucky hill on way back to the bus. Good times

07-10-2023, 08:29 AM
Golf up and around St Andrews has been delayed till 10. If they’re struggling with flooding on links courses the Fitba is really going to take a hit.

A small part of the course is actually below sea level!

And it was high tide about an hour ago.

07-10-2023, 08:31 AM
Yam mate of mind just confirmed this.

Game in serious doubt of going ahead.

Some daft laddies on Twitter. There is nothing from anyone official. It’s a wee bit wet outside but nothing to suggest cancellation.

07-10-2023, 08:32 AM
On the bus in to town just now and roads all absolutely fine.

Only thing impacting this should be the pitch.

My golf course has shut today. But that’s simply coz they don’t want people wrecking the fairways in this weather.

hibby rae
Already looking lovely out my window in SE London! Pretty wild the difference between here and up north.

If anything 25 degrees in October in London is a lot worse than it pissing down in Scotland in October. One of those should not be happening!

07-10-2023, 08:33 AM

I was on the train down from Aberdeen for that one. Kept checking so we could jump off the train and go home. It was called off just as we left Stirling so we had to go all the way to Glasgow anyway.

07-10-2023, 08:33 AM
If anything 25 degrees in October in London is a lot worse than it pissing down in Scotland in October. One of those should not be happening!

I’d be happier with the sun

07-10-2023, 08:34 AM
Hearing Bonnyrigg Rose game is off

Pitch inspection at 11am but that game will be off. The bottom corner will be like the diving pool at the Commie

Gloucester Hibs
07-10-2023, 08:35 AM
Just drove from Gilmerton to Leith Academy for the wee man’s fitba and the roads are ok.

07-10-2023, 08:35 AM
This thread is more split than the Joe Newell ones of past seasons!

07-10-2023, 08:36 AM
Can someone go run about with a football at Saughton park for 90 mins and let us know how it goes?

07-10-2023, 08:37 AM
I was on the train down from Aberdeen for that one. Kept checking do we could jump of the train and go home. It was called off just as we left Stirling so we had to go all the way to Glasgow anyway.

Bus I was on just continued to the Ancient Order of Hibernian Society club in Port Glasgow anyway. Couple of pints, a game of pool and some questionable songs on the jukebox and we headed home.

Replayed game was a freezing midweek night, Stokes scored in a 1-0 win.

hibby rae
07-10-2023, 08:37 AM
No idea, like I said it's a rumour and only posting what I read. I'd have thought there would be some communication from both teams if there was to be a pitch inspection.

I'd be very surprised if there wasn't pitch inspections throughout the day.

Would it not be standard practice to do one before a game anyway?

07-10-2023, 08:42 AM
Dundee v Ross County off

hibby rae
07-10-2023, 08:42 AM
I’d be happier with the sun

In the short term haha

07-10-2023, 08:44 AM
Bus I was on just continued to the Ancient Order of Hibernian Society club in Port Glasgow anyway. Couple of pints, a game of pool and some questionable songs on the jukebox and we headed home.

I had a Hibs supporting pal from Greenock many years ago(lost touch,sadly)
He told me his uncles/relatives were in the AOH and Port Glasgow use to run a bus to the Holy Ground back in the Famous Five days.
Nothing questionable about a traditional rebel song :greengrin

07-10-2023, 08:45 AM
Can someone go run about with a football at Saughton park for 90 mins and let us know how it goes?

Just tried it, but at Roseburn Park whilst waiting on the Roseburn Bar opening. It's pretty wet oot there.

07-10-2023, 08:46 AM
I'd be very surprised if there wasn't pitch inspections throughout the day.

Would it not be standard practice to do one before a game anyway?

No

07-10-2023, 08:46 AM
Dundee v Ross County off

https://i.ibb.co/K2h3dm4/20231007-094434.jpg (https://ibb.co/K2h3dm4)

07-10-2023, 08:47 AM
https://i.ibb.co/K2h3dm4/20231007-094434.jpg (https://ibb.co/K2h3dm4)
Dens Park really is grim as ****

hibee316
07-10-2023, 08:49 AM
I had a Hibs supporting pal from Greenock many years ago(lost touch,sadly)
He told me his uncles/relatives were in the AOH and Port Glasgow use to run a bus to the Holy Ground back in the Famous Five days.

My favourite rebel song is Cantina Band.

The ones you are talking about, in my opinion, should be consigned to the bin.

Edit - I see you have edited the bit out about the party tunes :)

07-10-2023, 08:59 AM
My favourite rebel song is Cantina Band.

The ones you are talking about, in my opinion, should be consigned to the bin.

Edit - I see you have edited the bit out about the party tunes :)

Hadnt noticed ,till you did, An edit froze earlier.

What ones was i talking about ? I mentioned no song titles.
However,The Foggy Dew song is not questionable in my opinion.
Nr should it be "consigned to the bin"
You'll be banning books next! :greengrin

7Hero
07-10-2023, 09:01 AM
Some daft laddies on Twitter. There is nothing from anyone official. It’s a wee bit wet outside but nothing to suggest cancellation.

A wee bit wet 🤣

07-10-2023, 09:03 AM

I like that you’re sticking to your guns after dismissing the thread in the second post, BS 😂👍

The sort of boldness we want at tynecastle today…. If it goes ahead 😁

07-10-2023, 09:07 AM
You would expect the drainage at the Tiny Library could deal with some Scottish rain.

It’s just some rain - some folk making it out like it’s end of the world.

If the game doesn’t go ahead today we may as well all move to 3G pitches and stop moaning about them.

Would advise decent waterproofs and arriving arriving at the stadium - if you arrive close to kick off you will miss start of the game due to the nonsense queue system.

Hibs4185
07-10-2023, 09:09 AM
Hope they’ve got drainage in their mono block….sorry I mean piazza.

07-10-2023, 09:09 AM
All is Barry has tweeted game on.

Pitch will be monitored.

BegbieHSC
07-10-2023, 09:10 AM
If the derby is called off because the infrastructure and pitch can’t handle the rain in 2023, in the era of £1m pitches, they’ll never be able to call us ‘the wee team’ again.

07-10-2023, 09:10 AM
If the game goes ahead - it will kill their pitch for the rest of the season.

07-10-2023, 09:12 AM
At least George Foulkes stained slacks won’t be quite as noticeable for him today.

07-10-2023, 09:15 AM
If the game goes ahead - it will kill their pitch for the rest of the season.

Let’s hope it goes ahead then

07-10-2023, 09:18 AM
At least George Foulkes stained slacks won’t be quite as noticeable for him today.

The smell for the folk around him on the other hand

If the derby is called off because the infrastructure and pitch can’t handle the rain in 2023, in the era of £1m pitches, they’ll never be able to call us ‘the wee team’ again.

This clip is mad . The ref had to be corrupt !

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_DEzveKPGtM

Classic rain song

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cK5G8fPmWeA

I remember a new years derby at Easter Rd being called off pretty late on. Think I was around Davidson Mains when I heard on the radio it was off
Must’ve been in the 1980’s

Yes. Must’ve been around 86. We were in the old Loch Inn having pre-match pints when we heard the game was off about half an hour before ko.

07-10-2023, 09:23 AM
Yes. Must’ve been around 86. We were in the old Loch Inn having pre-match pints when we heard the game was off about half an hour before ko.

1st January 1987

07-10-2023, 09:24 AM
1st January 1987

Can remember walking down easter road as everything was walking away from the ground :greengrin

07-10-2023, 09:25 AM
1st January 1987

Cheers. I’m to remember if this was a day or a night game?

07-10-2023, 09:27 AM
1st January 1987

I’m sure our bus was coming through portobello when we found out it was off

07-10-2023, 09:28 AM
I’m sure our bus was coming through portobello when we found out it was off

We were in Jimmy O'Rourkes pub at Jocks Lodge

07-10-2023, 09:29 AM
Cheers. I’m to remember if this was a day or a night game?

07-10-2023, 09:33 AM

I had the worst hangover ever that day. Crawled out my bed, got ready and walked along to teh pub to be told it was off. I remember a mixture of delight and anger

scm70nyd1973
07-10-2023, 09:40 AM
For the 1/1/87 game I stayed off the booze so I could drive through to Edinburgh for the game (from Glasgow). Got to the Airdrie cut off and heard that it was off. Ended up at the East Stirling v Stenhousmuir derby🤭 I think each person at the game shook my hand for coming and to wish me a HNY 😁

07-10-2023, 09:40 AM
Crazy, I’m at Gloucester (my eldest is playing at Meadow Park) and it’s roasting down here. 19° and rising, sunny. I’m in shorts.

07-10-2023, 09:41 AM
I'm in Yorkshire and it's sunny here but has rained bad for two days!

147lothian
07-10-2023, 09:43 AM
Dundee v Ross County off waterlogged pitch

scm70nyd1973
07-10-2023, 09:45 AM
The Poppy thieves are such half wits they will put the sprinklers on and then complain when the game is aff and that they will lose money 🤭

07-10-2023, 09:46 AM
Dundee v Ross County off waterlogged pitch

Sturgeon has stepped down as first minister too

scm70nyd1973
07-10-2023, 09:48 AM
Crazy, I’m at Gloucester (my eldest is playing at Meadow Park) and it’s roasting down here. 19° and rising, sunny. I’m in shorts.

Mental here too in Costa del Sol - 24 degrees and sunny - weird - I’ll get ma coat 🤭

Coach Jon
07-10-2023, 09:54 AM
School games currently going on at Double Hedges grass 11 a side pitches,with referees, so must be deemed playable.

07-10-2023, 09:57 AM
Plenty of puddles for their drinkers

07-10-2023, 09:58 AM
Dunfermline v Arbroath now subject to refs inspection. That's on the back off them tweeting game on about an hour ago.

07-10-2023, 10:00 AM
Dunfermline v Arbroath now subject to refs inspection. That's on the back off them tweeting game on about an hour ago.

Still pretty early but there will no doubt be a lot moret

Just_Jimmy
07-10-2023, 10:01 AM
The Dunhill is off

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

07-10-2023, 10:04 AM
We were in Jimmy O'Rourkes pub at Jocks Lodge

Me too, having travelled from London! I had to return before we finally played, think it was 2 2 and 3 different players, inc Douie Bell, made their debuts!

07-10-2023, 10:05 AM
OK here in Edinburgh just now and weather forecast shows it down under 2mm from 14:00 which is light? Definitely seen worse (the rain at Hampden against Georgia was unlike anything I’ve seen in Scotland!).

07-10-2023, 10:05 AM
https://twitter.com/officialdafc/status/1710596550248772072?t=qqTep7LVwmLLVwNO45sigA&s=19

This is the pitch at East End Park. No idea how they could all but tweet 'game on' an hour before this was taken😅

07-10-2023, 10:07 AM
Dunfermline game off apparently

Hibee_Craig7062
07-10-2023, 10:09 AM
Jambo mate says there will be a 1pm pitch inspection. can't find anything official about that mind you!

Trains aren’t off. I stay in Newcraighall and all have run this morning and still are, only certain lines up north are cancelled.

No they aren't all off but the ones that do run will do so with a speed restriction of 40mph max or 20mph max where line speed in less than 40

https://twitter.com/officialdafc/status/1710596550248772072?t=qqTep7LVwmLLVwNO45sigA&s=19

This is the pitch at East End Park. No idea how they could all but tweet 'game on' an hour before this was taken😅

That pic is at the side of the pitch and not even on the actual pitch!

07-10-2023, 10:13 AM
Left Ayr on a replacement bus to Irvine on route to haymaket.

Got to Irvine to be told all trains off in Scotland.

Waiting on Replacement bus back to Ayr to get my car to drive up.

Total farce.

He's here!
07-10-2023, 10:16 AM

There are no trains running from England to Scotland. My cousin can't get further than Preston so won't make the game.

07-10-2023, 10:16 AM

Game off

https://i.ibb.co/3fSz7zq/20231007-111609.jpg (https://ibb.co/3fSz7zq)

07-10-2023, 10:18 AM
Left Ayr on a replacement bus to Irvine on route to haymaket.

Got to Irvine to be told all trains off in Scotland.

Waiting on Replacement bus back to Ayr to get my car to drive up.

Total farce.

Not all trains are cancelled, lots in the west are. But Glasgow to Edinburgh still running with speed restrictions.

07-10-2023, 10:19 AM
Not all trains are cancelled, lots in the west are. But Glasgow to Edinburgh still running with speed restrictions.

The Scot rail guy told us only two routes are running in the country.

07-10-2023, 10:19 AM
Budge will be furious if all the gammon sandwiches and pork scratchings go to waste. She will be desperate for the game to go ahead.

07-10-2023, 10:20 AM

I know you will be itk with this type of info but you’ll be aware if the rain continues as is there is a potential for services to be cancelled across the board leaving people stranded!

07-10-2023, 10:21 AM
If it was definitely on you’d think we’d have had proper confirmation to get rid of the uncertainty

07-10-2023, 10:22 AM
Budge will be furious if all the gammon sandwiches and pork scratchings go to waste. She will be desperate for the game to go ahead.

Will there be chips?

07-10-2023, 10:26 AM
If it was definitely on you’d think we’d have had proper confirmation to get rid of the uncertainty

I’m in Bonnyrigg and it’s barely on here. Given the recent Scotland game and the downpour we witnessed this is nothing like it and if they can’t get the game on it sums that club up for the amateurs they are.

Renfrew_Hibby
07-10-2023, 10:26 AM
Will there be chips?

Wonder if today's the day all the media equipment down the front of that 'stand' finally blows.

07-10-2023, 10:27 AM

Can’t do that as we’re not weather forecasters. All they can do is confirm whether or not there is a scheduled pitch inspection or not. As things stand, the game is on.

07-10-2023, 10:29 AM

Tough one sean. It could be fine to go ahead now but rain continues into afternoon and becomes unplayable closer to kick off, or even after (please no).

So a ‘definitely on’ might not be an option today. An update be good though like you say.

Hopefully their drains are doing the job. Can’t help thinking conditions will suit them better now.. so reducing my prediction to a 3 goal win.

07-10-2023, 10:30 AM
Wonder if today's the day all the media equipment down the front of that 'stand' finally blows.

What the best media facilities in the world??? Surely no

07-10-2023, 10:32 AM
Get the lads who cleared Hampden a few months ago on the way.

Stonewall
07-10-2023, 10:35 AM
The Tynecastle pitch is a hybrid one is it not?

Will have a top notch drainage system so I think that there is every chance the game will go ahead.

07-10-2023, 10:35 AM

No sure you can do that really

Malonga's Cat
07-10-2023, 10:36 AM
There's no way a stadium the calibre of Tynecastle can't handle this weather. It's got 981 UEFA stars don't you know. Big teams have the best drainage, stop worrying.

07-10-2023, 10:41 AM
Get the lads who cleared Hampden a few months ago on the way.

Hearts fans will manage it, being a bunch of spongers.

07-10-2023, 10:44 AM
Been reliably informed the game is 100% on. No ref pitch inspection expected. Not a single puddle on the surface.

07-10-2023, 10:44 AM
Been reliably informed the game is 100% on. No ref pitch inspection expected. Not a single puddle on the surface.

They’ve drank them all

07-10-2023, 10:46 AM
If they've got a few injuries it'll probably be off.

07-10-2023, 10:48 AM
They’ve drank them all

😄

Coach Jon
07-10-2023, 10:48 AM
They’ve drank them all

:top marksBrilliant.

07-10-2023, 10:51 AM
I know you will be itk with this type of info but you’ll be aware if the rain continues as is there is a potential for services to be cancelled across the board leaving people stranded!

I wish the public would take note of the weather warnings and think services could be cancelled. The amount of people coming in to Waverely today who look like day trippers, might be stuck in Edinburgh and no doubt blame the scotrail staff. Glad the hubbie is finishing at 1:45pm!

Dunblane and Glasgow queen street lines now closed.

For fans going to the game today, travel safely!

BS44
07-10-2023, 10:52 AM

The match is seemingly getting shown in the media room to protect their equipment

07-10-2023, 11:02 AM
All trains now cancelled. Match commander would have been on the call with Network rail and Scotrail.

Dundee game off.

Manxhibs
They’ve drank them all

Brilliant haha

Trains cancelled

07-10-2023, 11:04 AM

I was on that one, the Milton Mowbray

07-10-2023, 11:04 AM
All trains now cancelled. Match commander would have been on the call with Network rail and Scotrail.

That'll be that then.

07-10-2023, 11:05 AM

I must have been lucky. Literally just got off a train from Brunstane to Waverley. Must have been the last ride of the day so to speak.

That'll be that then.

How do you mean?

Trains cancelled

All trains in Scotland? Some still showing as running on my App and can't see anything in Twitter (X)

07-10-2023, 11:06 AM
Very heavy in Dunbar last 10 mins

07-10-2023, 11:06 AM
All trains in Scotland? Some still showing as running on my App and can't see anything in Twitter (X)

I think so. Just heard it on the wireless.

07-10-2023, 11:08 AM

According to scotrail staff at Waverely every train is cancelled. Presume the Twitter and customer service sites are getting updated shortly

pollution

BBC says no trains running into the country, a slight difference.

According to scotrail staff at Waverely every train is cancelled. Presume the Twitter and customer service sites are getting updated shortly

Cheers 👍
People were warned not to travel.

07-10-2023, 11:09 AM
I'm on the bus coming in from the east and it's just an October rainy day. What's all the fuss about.

07-10-2023, 11:09 AM
If we cancel games purely on rail travel the RMT will be absolutely buzzing - strikes every weekend HWG.

07-10-2023, 11:11 AM
If the pitch is playable the game will go ahead.

(Surely to ****)

07-10-2023, 11:12 AM
I'm on the bus coming in from the east and it's just an October rainy day. What's all the fuss about.

Tbf if was an Amber weather warning that was about the night before the landslip that caused the Stonehaven rail derailment back in 2020, I’d imagine the level of caution over prolonged heavy rain is now greater.

07-10-2023, 11:13 AM

(Surely to ****)

If people can't get there or could be stranded in the city after then the game should be cancelled.

Not everyone lives 10 mins walk from the stadium.

07-10-2023, 11:14 AM
If people can't get there or could be stranded in the city after then the game should be cancelled.

I know they don’t. I still don’t think they’ll cancel the match because of train cancellations though.

Could be wrong.

07-10-2023, 11:19 AM

Does that not mean we should cancel all matches in Scotland then?

07-10-2023, 11:21 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/live/uk-scotland-67038965

This is not a normal wet day' - warning as parts of Scotland hit by rain

Hibs4185
07-10-2023, 11:24 AM
I’ve just driven from the Borders to Edinburgh and back. The roads aren’t that bad. River was flooded in a couple of places but not that bad, seen far worse.

07-10-2023, 11:24 AM
They’ve got the ticket money, the game will be on

07-10-2023, 11:25 AM
My raindar suggests by 2pm the rain will have pretty much gone and only light showers from there on in with prolonged dry spells.

Weather for the match might actually be OK.

Would surely have been cancelled by now of travel was going to be the deciding factor but hey in Scottish fitba you never quite know!

eaststandstoner
07-10-2023, 11:27 AM

The way I see it mate, We’re humans am sure we can work something out, if we want to get there and back home we’ll find a way. It’s some rain no nyc type flooding

07-10-2023, 11:28 AM

(Surely to ****)

It’s not just about the pitch it’s about public safety

07-10-2023, 11:30 AM

Okay. If the pitch is playable and the public are safe - surely the game will go ahead.

07-10-2023, 11:31 AM

Surely that just extends to Edinburgh though and the roads and pavements are fine. Can't call a game off because Jimmy in Kelso can't get to the game.

07-10-2023, 11:32 AM
Okay. If the pitch is playable and the public are safe - surely the game will go ahead.

Ha indeed.

07-10-2023, 11:32 AM
Surely that just extends to Edinburgh though and the roads and pavements are fine. Can't call a game off because Jimmy in Kelso can't get to the game.

Hardly ken it’s been raining down here right now. Jimmy will be fine 👍

Skol
07-10-2023, 11:33 AM
If it’s called off on public safety grounds, they are too late as those travelling will be on route already.

07-10-2023, 11:34 AM
I need to find alternative transport to the game due to multiple train cancellations.

I realise the game will probably go ahead but it's gonna be a bit of a nightmare travelling before and after the match

pollution
07-10-2023, 11:35 AM
I need to find alternative transport to the game due to multiple train cancellations.

I realise the game will probably go ahead but it's gonna be a bit of a nightmare travelling before and after the match

Where are you travelling from ?

07-10-2023, 11:36 AM
https://i.ibb.co/kSjhtB6/Screenshot-20231007-123513-X.jpg (https://ibb.co/cr0Nj3X)

Chorley Hibee
07-10-2023, 11:37 AM
All trains in Scotland are not cancelled.

Nothing announced by Scotrail etc, and still services running between Glasgow and Edinburgh.

pollution
07-10-2023, 11:42 AM

I'm glad I didn't take their advice !
Where did you read this.

07-10-2023, 11:45 AM

It's an Edinburgh derby, we're not playing in Glesgae or Aberdeen. Must be the safest match to travel to in Scotland,99% of fans will be local.

07-10-2023, 11:45 AM
Where did you read this.

Not all trains but quite a few from my direction(Polmont station) to edinburgh have been cancelled, think I only have two between now and the game, I'm currently standing at the station waiting now

07-10-2023, 11:48 AM
Where did you read this.

Was told it by my husband who works in Waverley. He was told to finish early due to no trains departing. It’s a constant changing situation, staff can’t keep up with what is getting said over the radio! And people online can’t keep up with it aswell.

Hope people get to and from the game safely.

07-10-2023, 11:52 AM
It's rain, we get a lot of it.

If the roads aren't flooded where you live then you drive with the same approach as on any other very wet day.

Shame if you are travelling a distance, need a train or bus or whatever, but I'm not really getting the OTT public safety stuff.

The pitch will decide if the game is going ahead, nothing else.

Hibs4185
07-10-2023, 11:53 AM
The Mrs is taking the kids to a friends house so I can watch the game in peace.

If it’s called off, I’ll have to go.

Please please be on!

07-10-2023, 11:53 AM
Bowling Station near Clydebank

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/F70yqL0W8AA6VHC?format=jpg&name=4096x4096

07-10-2023, 11:54 AM
It's an Edinburgh derby, we're not playing in Glesgae or Aberdeen. Must be the safest match to travel to in Scotland,99% of fans will be local.

Correct. If it gets cancelled and is played week a whole bunch of folk won’t be able to make it for different reasons.

Game on, beat these *****.

07-10-2023, 11:55 AM
Not sure when the picture was taken but looks good

https://i.ibb.co/qpBKYdx/20231007-125427.jpg (https://ibb.co/qpBKYdx)

07-10-2023, 11:56 AM
100% game on.

07-10-2023, 11:58 AM
Practically horizontal at times down Leith just now.

Wouldn't like to be playing in it that's for sure. Hope it dies down nearer kick off

Skol
07-10-2023, 11:59 AM
I wish we were in The old uncovered gorgie road end today :-0

While I get your point its nowhere near 99%. I don't have a ticket for game but if I did I'd be travelling from Glasgow which would be a problem as a lot of the streets around me are already flooding pretty badly.

It looks anything but good. It does look playable however.

Hibs4185
07-10-2023, 12:03 PM

LTYF, nothing in that picture looks good 🤣

07-10-2023, 12:04 PM
I wish we were in The old uncovered gorgie road end today :-0
Weather similar to the Archigoal game never been so wet watching a game squelched all the way home.

07-10-2023, 12:07 PM
1pm train from bathgate has been cancelled.

McSwanky
07-10-2023, 12:07 PM

https://i.ibb.co/qpBKYdx/20231007-125427.jpg (https://ibb.co/qpBKYdx)Looks absolutely honking to me

Sent from my YAL-L21 using Tapatalk

07-10-2023, 12:10 PM
Pathetic.

Helensburghhibs
07-10-2023, 12:11 PM
As someone who travels 2 hours one way to home games i have sympathy with travel plans being affected but,,, yhe only conditions that should be taken into consideration are the ground and immediate surrounding areas

Keepthefaith
07-10-2023, 12:11 PM
At straiton, rain is light and with forecast better later think we should be fine

07-10-2023, 12:17 PM
Put it this way, if I'd got a ticket there's no way I'd be making it there from Fife.

07-10-2023, 12:17 PM

Nothing in that pic looks good.

07-10-2023, 12:19 PM
Put it this way, if I'd got a ticket there's no way I'd be making it there from Fife.

I'm sitting in the pub with someone from Fife.

KdyHby
07-10-2023, 12:20 PM

The drive from Kirkcaldy to Roseburn was fine, slowed down to 50 a couple of times on the motorway because of flooding. 👍

07-10-2023, 12:31 PM
Where are you travelling from ?

Not my normal location but... from Renfrewshire.

EDIT: Got a car share and the roads aren't as bad as I thought

07-10-2023, 12:33 PM
I'm sitting in the pub with someone from Fife.

The drive from Kirkcaldy to Roseburn was fine, slowed down to 50 a couple of times on the motorway because of flooding. 👍

Fair enough but we're semi rural and the main road out the village to the bridge already has a car stuck in it.

pollution
07-10-2023, 12:33 PM
Not my normal location but... from Renfrewshire.

EDIT: Got a car share and the roads aren't as bad as I thought
Nice one

07-10-2023, 12:34 PM
Nice one

07-10-2023, 12:35 PM
Colinton stopped raining