View Full Version : Dundee on Saturday
Paulie Walnuts
30-09-2023, 04:42 PM
Didn’t play terribly but wasn’t great imo. Folk saying we battered them but I’d have said a draw was a fair result.
Been a solid enough start for NM but a win today would have been huge with the games we have coming so a bit disappointing.
30-09-2023, 04:44 PM
New gaffer still unbeaten, looks like we could have had 3 or 4 on another day. Encouraging stuff. Johnson would have lost that game.
30-09-2023, 04:46 PM
Should be smashing these teams at home.
Dundee, newly promoted FFS.
You didn't see the game obviously. They were very good.
30-09-2023, 04:48 PM
Didn’t play terribly but wasn’t great imo. Folk saying we battered them but I’d have said a draw was a fair result.
Been a solid enough start for NM but a win today would have been huge with the games we have coming so a bit disappointing.
Dundee were more than decent, defended well and had two great chances - but we were by far the better team, and very wasteful in front of goal.
Definitely deserved the win.
HendoDelivered
30-09-2023, 04:49 PM
No divine right to beat anyone
30-09-2023, 04:51 PM
Marshall made two saves, their keeper made nine. 14 corners to their 1.
23 goal attempts and 67% possession. If thats not battering them 😳
Just stop. Dearie me.
Of their 7 games to date Dundee have drawn 4, so I would suggest they are a well drilled defencive unit, Hibs unbeaten under Montgomery.
Not the end of the world. There’s two teams on the park and they defended for their lives and actually had a couple of chances themselves.
Frustrating day, we got in to loads of positions but the final bit was just lacking.
Five unbeaten since sacking Johnson so although it’s two points dropped today it’s no a disaster.
30-09-2023, 04:52 PM
four points picked up in four home games against
st mirren
Livingston
st johnstone
Dundee
Exceptionally poor
That was our downfall last season. Albeit our game v the other 3 have came under LJ.
Need to improve on it. Shouldn’t be leaving ER without 3 points after so many opportunities in front of goal.
Hard run coming up so guess we’ll see what NM’s hibs side are made of against better quality.
30-09-2023, 04:53 PM
Of their 7 games to date Dundee have drawn 4, so I would suggest they are a well drilled defencive unit, Hibs unbeaten under Montgomery.
Thought the way they played it was clear as day that Docherty worked with McIness for years.
30-09-2023, 04:55 PM
No point complaining about the limited time added on, we had long enough to score from the many chances but just didn't manage it.
Disappointing but we just have to move on and look to do better next Saturday.
Donegal Hibby
30-09-2023, 04:56 PM
Dundee haven't exactly been getting smashed by anyone since there return to the top flight. Only lost 2-1 away to St mirren , beat hertz at home and held Celtic for over 50 minutes at parkhead before losing.
On another day we would have won well . 63 % possession , 23 shots . 9 on target . 14 corners and there keeper gets MOTM in report I read . Definitely feel we are going in the right direction .👍
Keepthefaith
30-09-2023, 04:57 PM
Ipswich are newly promoted and top of the championship. I thought Dundee played well, tried to pass it, looked dangerous on the break. Definitely not the worst team in the division.
On chances and possession were were well ahead but Marshall saved us in the end!
Momentum maintained on the back of a hard fought excellent win on weds. A week's rest before hearts then a wee rest for international weekend before we play the old firm. We're going to be ok...
Bridge hibs
30-09-2023, 04:58 PM
I blame Stevenson and Hanlon for the 0-0 draw
Exceptionally poor
That was our downfall last season. Albeit our game v the other 3 have came under LJ.
Need to improve on it. Shouldn’t be leaving ER without 3 points after so many opportunities in front of goal.
Hard run coming up so guess we’ll see what NM’s hibs side are made of against better quality.
😂😂 you’ve been waiting all week for this..
30-09-2023, 04:59 PM
Disappointing not to win but I’ll tell you what I’m going to enjoy football under Monty, home or away I don’t think he’ll change approach and the attacking football is really good to watch. He’s only two weeks in the door and already the football is night and day from what we endured under Johnson. Thought we played some really good stuff today, and Marshall is back to looking what he is - a very good goalkeeper. Team looks confident and together.
30-09-2023, 05:02 PM
Should we aye
30-09-2023, 05:04 PM
Probably Stevenson and Hanlons fault.
30-09-2023, 05:05 PM
Tavares is still an issue for me, he added hee haw when he came on today, for me he just doesn't have anything special, also wonder why vente doesn't play a full game
hibbytam
30-09-2023, 05:05 PM
Thought the way they played it was clear as day that Docherty worked with McIness for years.
Said that at the game, was like watching a less good version of Aberdeen from a few years ago. Will get the points, but I wouldn't like watching that every week
30-09-2023, 05:06 PM
Dundee haven't exactly been getting smashed by anyone since there return to the top flight. Only lost 2-1 away to St mirren , beat hertz at home and held Celtic for over 50 minutes at parkhead before losing.
On another day we would have won well . 63 % possession , 23 shots . 9 on target . 14 corners and there keeper gets MOTM in report I read . Definitely feel we are going in the right direction .👍
The stats look impressive but I can't really recall the Dundee keeper pulling off any non routine saves. We huffed and puffed but apart from Millers lofted header over the bar I can't really remember thinking "we should have scored that". Dundee generally defended well before it got to that stage and we were lucky not to concede ourselves. Thought the crowd was very flat as well up until the final 10 minutes.
Stevenson, Newell and Vente weren't at the races today. I'm not sure what Stevenson offers now other than being a squad player. Numerous times he could have crossed and he played an easy pass sideways or back. Complete waste of time as an attacking option. We looked more dangerous when Obita came on. And Tavares? Do me a favour. Hopefully NM has seen enough now. Thought it was a poor day at the office. A disappointing end to a decent week made worse by Aberdeen and Hearts result.
Victor
Just stop. Dearie me.
Best just to ignore. Been quiet for a while and now returning with the daily p**h.
Also very strange how many big game disasters we have had in the last 15 years with 10 visits to Hampden since 2016 and nothing to show for it.
Ah yeah of course. All of which were their fault.
Or the mentality they have maybe?
30-09-2023, 05:11 PM
Tavares is still an issue for me, he added hee haw when he came on today, for me he just doesn't have anything special, also wonder why vente doesn't play a full game
He’s never making it at Hibs. Not once looked like he’s got what it takes.
30-09-2023, 05:11 PM
We’re on form, playing at home, against a newly promoted team.
Struggling to think of which games will be easier than this so it should be a pretty safe bet.
Bookies have us as clear favourites too.
That lasted well 🙄
30-09-2023, 05:20 PM
Weird overreaction. If you totally change the style of play it's not going to work every time at first. Thought we were guilty of overplaying a lot in the box, trying to be far too cute when there just wasn't the space to do it.
By and large though, it's fine. We're getting better. It's a crap feeling knowing you could be on to something and dropping points when your rivals have won, but it's a damn sight better than dropping points in a game you barely competed in.
30-09-2023, 05:28 PM
Thought we played well, on another day it could have been 3 or 4. Jair just doesn’t ever look like he’s anywhere near this level unfortunately.
babahibs
30-09-2023, 05:29 PM
k
30-09-2023, 05:30 PM
Weird overreaction. If you totally change the style of play it's not going to work every time at first. Thought we were guilty of overplaying a lot in the box, trying to be far too cute when there just wasn't the space to do it.
By and large though, it's fine. We're getting better. It's a crap feeling knowing you could be on to something and dropping points when your rivals have won, but it's a damn sight better than dropping points in a game you barely competed in.
Well said 👏
30-09-2023, 05:37 PM
Have to say, they were better than I thought they'd be. I admit I haven't seen much of them so far this season. But they look a decent enough team.
Even then we done enough to win two games of football. So many missed chances and unlucky wee breaks. Could be a crucial two points dropped.
30-09-2023, 05:38 PM
Decent enough game, so-so performance, crap result.
LewysGot2
30-09-2023, 05:40 PM
Think some players looked leggy today and the likes of Miller reverted back to the kind of game he'd had before his decent run. Decision making at crucial times could've been better.
30-09-2023, 05:41 PM
Decent enough game, so-so performance, crap result.
The subs didn’t help us.
I thought Obita for Stevenson would give us another option in an attacking sense, but he barely got involved.
Le Fondre and Vente off for Jair and Doidge weakened us loads.
jakedance
30-09-2023, 05:43 PM
I thought we played pretty well, not brilliant but clearly the better team. If we’d squeezed a goal in with a deflection no one would be complaining. I’m feeling really positive about the Montgomery era. The handful of people who booed at the end need to give themselves a shake.
30-09-2023, 05:44 PM
The subs didn’t help us.
I thought Obita for Stevenson would give us another option in an attacking sense, but he barely got involved.
I thought Obita and Doidge done alright when they came on.
Tavares? Well..
30-09-2023, 05:44 PM
I thought we played pretty well, not brilliant but clearly the better team. If we’d squeezed a goal in with a deflection no one would be complaining. I’m feeling really positive about the Montgomery era. The handful of people who booed at the end need to give themselves a shake.
I'm hoping they were booing the referee and not the team? Cause if they were booing the team that's madness.
Mikey_1875
30-09-2023, 05:47 PM
Can’t believe we didn’t manage to turn one of those cutbacks in during the second half. Practice them in the warm up as well. We were unfortunate that a couple of great chances fell to Hanlon in the first half, one of which looked a sitter.
We definitely need a couple of reinforcements in the wide areas with this system though. Feels a bit all or bust with our starting XI but nothing Monty can do with that at the moment unless there are any more youth players ready to go.
Dundee looked well drilled and that was with a couple of injuries too. They’ll be fine this season.
30-09-2023, 05:54 PM
The subs didn’t help us.
Yup. No idea why Vente went off.
None of our forward players were having great games, but he’s the most likely one to score.
Victor
30-09-2023, 05:57 PM
Have to say, they were better than I thought they'd be. I admit I haven't seen much of them so far this season. But they look a decent enough team.
Even then we done enough to win two games of football. So many missed chances and unlucky wee breaks. Could be a crucial two points dropped.
I think a lot of people forget that the other team don’t just turn up for us to beat them. Dundee were well organised and came with a game plan to defend and hit us on the break. Thanks to Marshall they didn’t score, but their defending was top class. If that was them carrying injuries I dread to think what they will be like at full strength. They won’t be the league whipping boys if they continue to play like that.
30-09-2023, 06:03 PM
No divine right to beat anyone
Montgomery also saying in his post match interview that we should have won the game.
No different to what some fans are saying on here really.
He's here!
30-09-2023, 06:07 PM
I think a lot of people forget that the other team don’t just turn up for us to beat them. Dundee were well organised and came with a game plan to defend and hit us on the break. Thanks to Marshall they didn’t score, but their defending was top class. If that was them carrying injuries I dread to think what they will be like at full strength. They won’t be the league whipping boys if they continue to play like that.
Good post.
Disappointing not to break them down but they were savvy and stuck impressively to their game plan from start to finish. Unlike St Mirren in midweek who thought they had us beat after bossing the first half. Kudos to Monty for turning it around but Saints definitely switched off at the start of the second half.
Crunchie
30-09-2023, 06:21 PM
Need to be beating teams like that at home
We did everything but score, it was one of those days and every team has them. St Johnstone came away with a point from Glasgow.
30-09-2023, 06:27 PM
Yup. No idea why Vente went off.
None of our forward players were having great games, but he’s the most likely one to score.
He was knackered.
30-09-2023, 06:34 PM
Vente had an ice pack on after the game on Wed, so was carrying a knock I think. Unlucky not to score with his two efforts on goal today, two great saves.
Hasn’t missed the target for us yet, I don’t think.
30-09-2023, 06:36 PM
Draw is better than loss.
30-09-2023, 06:45 PM
Dundee were more than decent, defended well and had two great chances - but we were by far the better team, and very wasteful in front of goal.
Definitely deserved the win.
Behave, cannae have someone talking sense on here.
LOL. Best summary of today's game
30-09-2023, 06:45 PM
Performance level showed that we’ll be fine IMO. Created plenty and a mix of poor finishing, bad luck and some good goalkeeping thwarted us.
Still very encouraging.
Spot on
Yip and guess what, Killie also have a total of 4 draws, people wanted McIness and there are some complaining about today, first draw under Montgomery.
HendoDelivered
30-09-2023, 06:52 PM
Montgomery also saying in his post match interview that we should have won the game.
Aye but the way some are saying it is like we should just be able to turn up and beat them cos its Dundee and we are at home. Thats no quite the case.
ChuckNor
30-09-2023, 06:53 PM
Hibs fans are specialists at overreacting. Some of the comments here are crazy. That was an excellent performance. We did everything other than score. If Lewis Miller worked on his headers he could’ve had two today and an assist. If we keep playing like that we will be more than fine.
30-09-2023, 07:05 PM
Just back, we did everything but put the ball in the net, Ave the most entertaining 0-0 I’ve seen. Two teams who both played well.
30-09-2023, 07:09 PM
Hibs fans are specialists at overreacting. Some of the comments here are crazy. That was an excellent performance. We did everything other than score. If Lewis Miller worked on his headers he could’ve had two today and an assist. If we keep playing like that we will be more than fine.
No going to pick any players out but we done fine today, Dundee played like they was posessed, done well and got a point. Paul Hanlon had 3 good headers in the first half, could all have been goals. Good things are happening down Easter Road way I did not even mind the rain, and what a difference when the arc lights switched on.
30-09-2023, 07:12 PM
Marshall did well today when called upon.
30-09-2023, 07:13 PM
Even he’s improved since Johnson left.
30-09-2023, 07:18 PM
Prefered the Dundee goalie Carson, we should put a bid in for him.
30-09-2023, 07:21 PM
Yip and guess what, Killie also have a total of 4 draws, people wanted McIness and there are some complaining about today, first draw under Montgomery.
Second draw, Killie away as well.
Despite the score I really enjoyed the game and thought we were excellent in spells. On another day we score 4 or 5 (albeit dundee might have grabbed 2). The amount of chances we are creating is very promising.
Credit to Dundee they were scrappy, battled hard and played some good stuff of their own at times.
penihibs
30-09-2023, 07:28 PM
Thought Dundee deserved their point today, enjoyed the game. Dundee's support backed them well good atmosphere.
30-09-2023, 08:38 PM
NMs reaction
https://youtu.be/Uriw-9TWMZs?si=GjhuWbwhSztWXFib
NMs reaction
https://youtu.be/Uriw-9TWMZs?si=GjhuWbwhSztWXFib
This is why I've taken to NM so quickly, an honest assessment, speaks very well, doesn't come out with nonsense sayings to make him sound like he's competent. Have full faith he'll continue to make us better and we'll have a good season.
HibeEC
30-09-2023, 09:33 PM
Can't believe anyone is complaining about today's performance. I thought we were excellent: 23 attempts on goal, 9 on target, 14 corners. We just couldn't put the ball in the net, it happens sometimes. Maybe next game they all go in!!!! :greengrin
EVENTUALLY
30-09-2023, 09:33 PM
Thought Dundee deserved their point today, enjoyed the game. Dundee's support backed them well good atmosphere.
Thought their Liverpool loanee left back Beck was very impressive. One for McDermott's notebook to keep an eye on.
30-09-2023, 10:10 PM
What a cracking strip they've got.
30-09-2023, 10:18 PM
Obviously need more firepower. Sign Griffiths and we win that game.
Criswell
30-09-2023, 11:05 PM
Dundee pretty much parked the bus in the second half. We had so much possession and had plenty of scoring chances. Some players lack of basic footballing technique in front of goal cost us the win. Makes you wonder what the hell they do in training during the week
01-10-2023, 12:23 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231001/9543e85a6ef710952686a69bb1107712.jpg
Should have had a pen first half, VAR should be spotting that
JammyDoidger
01-10-2023, 12:46 AM
I must have been watching a different game but all I felt today was frustration, the subs were baffling, still don't understand what Tavares has done differently to warrant a game, offers nowt, we should be scoring against dundee, don't care what excuses people want to make up, it wasn't good enough, Youan gets near the box and it's like he's got a blindfold on, it's irritating at the best of times but especially when we don't get the win. We create nothing for Vente's, it's actually a shame for the boy.
Maybe the slackest performance of the last weeks 3 matches but we created enough chances to win the game 4-0 and on another day you would.
We looked slightly leggy after the hour mark and let dundee more into the game. Dundee deserve credit, they were right up for it and made it a decent game.
Didn’t get the Tavares substitution at all and I feel that excitement needs to end soon.
Miles ahead of Johnson’s team in every way and he’s been here two weeks! A good season ahead!
DIXIHIBS
01-10-2023, 06:48 AM
Can't believe anyone is complaining about today's performance. I thought we were excellent: 23 attempts on goal, 9 on target, 14 corners. We just couldn't put the ball in the net, it happens sometimes. Maybe next game they all go in!!!! :greengrin
There are a few clowns complaining but they would moan if we won....irs what they do. Vast majority on here and in pub afer, happy with performance but disappointed in result. We remain unbeaten under NM and lets hope that continues next week. The overreaction of fans nowadays....not just hibs...is ridiculous. Lose a game or even draw and the team gets booed and social media goes into meltdown. I enjoyed the game yesterday even though we didnt win, thought Dundee put on a decent show and we were a unlucky not to win....thats football. If fans stopped losing the plot everytime their team doesnt win, they might actually enjoy watching the game.
01-10-2023, 07:00 AM
Monnty was saying it after the fact. The performance was there to back him up.
Some fans were calling it our easiest game of the season BEFORE the performance.
They were proved incorrect by Dundee's effort.
LewysGot2
01-10-2023, 07:03 AM
Some fans were calling it our easiest game of the season BEFORE the performance.
Aye, and some were blaming Hanlon before the match too...I heard one guy rant for 90 mins, just bloody mindedly determined for Hanlon to fail so his loud prediction at 2.30pm that we were going to lose and "it would be all on Hanlon" could come true.
I mean, seriously, I do worry at the wellbeing of some of our support.
Fans,eh?
coldingham hibs
01-10-2023, 07:13 AM
I must have been watching a different game but all I felt today was frustration, the subs were baffling, still don't understand what Tavares has done differently to warrant a game, offers nowt, we should be scoring against dundee, don't care what excuses people want to make up, it wasn't good enough, Youan gets near the box and it's like he's got a blindfold on, it's irritating at the best of times but especially when we don't get the win. We create nothing for Vente's, it's actually a shame for the boy.
Agree, in particular I thought the first half was very poor, a bit like the first half of the last 3 games. Cannot afford to miss so many good chances and drop points against pretty poor teams. We now have Hearts, Celtic & Rangers so dropping points today and at Kilmarnock when 2-0 up could leave us rooted in the bottom 6, a big test coming up. We need to have a significant winning streak soon if we intend competing at the top end as draws aren’t good enough.
01-10-2023, 07:33 AM
There are a few clowns complaining but they would moan if we won....irs what they do. Vast majority on here and in pub afer, happy with performance but disappointed in result. We remain unbeaten under NM and lets hope that continues next week. The overreaction of fans nowadays....not just hibs...is ridiculous. Lose a game or even draw and the team gets booed and social media goes into meltdown. I enjoyed the game yesterday even though we didnt win, thought Dundee put on a decent show and we were a unlucky not to win....thats football. If fans stopped losing the plot everytime their team doesnt win, they might actually enjoy watching the game.
Good post. Credit needs to be given to Dundee and Docherty. They were good and have beaten Hearts this season plus drawing last week after playing with ten for an hour.
01-10-2023, 07:40 AM
Not a criticism post
What is plan b though?
Just never seen it changed cause we have dominated so much of the games he has been in charge
However I felt newell and Jeggo from 65 yesterday struggled purely cause they played all games and all minutes this week.
I thought going to a 4/3/3 might have helped by gaining more control in the middle as I felt Dundee looked quite dangerous going forward.
Again not a criticism at all I’m just intrigued to see what you think he would change it too when the current formation is not bearing fruit.
01-10-2023, 07:46 AM
I did that, and stand by it.
The performance, as you and NM say, was there to back me up.
Which games do you think will be easier than Dundee at home? If I can't feel confident with a wee bit of swagger going into these sort of games, when can I?
Besides, if I had posted before the game that I think we'd only get a draw, or been beaten, folk would have piled on saying I was being negative and to get behind the manager.
This place is mental these days. Can't post anything without fear of folk having a pop.
Someone yesterday posted the equivalent of a giant told you so to my post almost immediately the game was over. What the actual f?
It's like he was pleased we'd dropped points just so he could quote me for getting a prediction wrong.
01-10-2023, 07:53 AM
Not a criticism post
What is plan b though?
Just never seen it changed cause we have dominated so much of the games he has been in charge
However I felt newell and Jeggo from 65 yesterday struggled purely cause they played all games and all minutes this week.
I thought going to a 4/3/3 might have helped by gaining more control in the middle as I felt Dundee looked quite dangerous going forward.
Again not a criticism at all I’m just intrigued to see what you think he would change it too when the current formation is not bearing fruit.
I think plan b seems to be to move people about within the shape but not change the shape itself.
When we brought Tavares on I’d have went with Levitt and went to a 3. All our threat was out wide but we weren’t getting enough from it. A different type of additional midfielder would have offered something IMO.
We’ve started slowly the last few games but teams know exactly what they’re coming up against and can work to counter it. It’s good that he has a way of playing but it is going to need tweaked from time to time. The next few games will tell us about his willingness to change or not.
McGruber
01-10-2023, 08:01 AM
Not a criticism post
What is plan b though?
Yeah, agree with you here. Delighted with Monty and his team and feel we are already much better than under Johnson. He has his preferred formation but you can't play it all the time.
After the hour yesterday (before in Newell's case) we started looking a bit leggy yesterday. Dundee had been set up to defend the threats from wide. Felt at the time we never needed a like for like change with Tavares wide and needed more threat through the middle. I would have liked to have seen that change, tactical change to give Dundee something new to worry about and went 3 in the middle. Obita could have added wide pushing on and Levitt on instead of Tavares.
Said on other thread about Levitt and some saying he isn't ready after injury - fair enough, but why on the bench if can't play? Have McCallister or other creative mid on bench. Anyway, love how it is going with Monty just hope he can change it up aswell when needed
01-10-2023, 08:12 AM
Which games do you think will be easier than Dundee at home? If I can't feel confident with a wee bit of swagger going into these sort of games, when can I?
Besides, if I had posted before the game that I think we'd only get a draw, or been beaten, folk would have piled on saying I was being negative and to get behind the manager.
This place is mental these days. Can't post anything without fear of folk having a pop.
Someone yesterday posted the equivalent of a giant told you so to my post almost immediately the game was over. What the actual f?
It's like he was pleased we'd dropped points just so he could quote me for getting a prediction wrong.
St Johnstone at home would be easier
01-10-2023, 08:22 AM
Prefered the Dundee goalie Carson, we should put a bid in for him.
Carson was great today 👏
01-10-2023, 08:27 AM
Agree about Vente, Boyle can be gready at times and Ellie is too busy trying to show off.
01-10-2023, 08:43 AM
I thought a 3-0 prediction before the game was a bit generous. However, we created enough so with an early goal who knows?
On paper it was as good a chance for three points as we'll get. I predicted a close win. Sadly (for my predictions) Trevor Carson had other ideas.
Hopefully we take it out on hearts.
01-10-2023, 08:45 AM
Disappointing day yesterday, I didn't see anything wrong with the performance (except the finishing) but a goalless draw at home with Dundee will never feel anything other than unsatisfying and frustrating.
Who knows, might end up for the best. Keep people's feet on the ground going into the derby. A big win yesterday would have raised the giddy level considerably and that's never been a good, or a particularly successful, look for us. Especially when it comes to derbies
Let's keep calm and do a professional job next week.
01-10-2023, 09:07 AM
Carson was great today 👏
Thought he was very shaky first half with all the corners we had
Funny how the usual ‘Broken record’ posters are not giving Paul and Lewis credit for a clean sheet yesterday. Quick enough to criticise them for every little mistake but no praise or positivity when it’s the other way.
Similarly no criticism or over analytic assessment of those who were missing chances etc at the other end.
Funny how the usual ‘Broken record’ posters are not giving Paul and Lewis credit for a clean sheet yesterday. Quick enough to criticise them for every little mistake but no praise or positivity when it’s the other way.
Similarly no criticism or over analytic assessment of those who were missing chances etc at the other end.
I thought hanlon did well and should start ahead of rocky. Stevenson though while he did ok should not start ahead of obita.
Totally understand that but there are a number on here who are happy to criticise them both even before the game starts and blame them for events of the past but are unable to give praise where praise is due!
01-10-2023, 11:44 AM
Stevenson was honking yesterday.
01-10-2023, 11:45 AM
I think the majority of posters would rather have Hanlon playing instead of Rocky to be fair.
Stevenson on the other hand I thought was really poor. Continually slowed our play down. I’d like to think him playing yesterday was just a bit of rotation with having a game midweek as well and Obita will be back in next week. Obita still has a fair bit to prove but he needs a good run at it now IMO.
It’s not the point. He was part of the defence/team that kept a clean sheet.
Plenty other players are honking yet don’t receive the same scrutiny as those two.
LEaston87
01-10-2023, 11:52 AM
Stevenson was so hesitant to cross the ball in whenever he had a good opportunity on his left foot. Kept turning back and passing it backwards. I understand its good to keep possession if theres nothing on but there was some wasted opportunities to get a good ball into the box yesterday from him
I think the majority of posters would rather have Hanlon playing instead of Rocky to be fair.
Stevenson on the other hand I thought was really poor. Continually slowed our play down. I’d like to think him playing yesterday was just a bit of rotation with having a game midweek as well and Obita will be back in next week. Obita still has a fair bit to prove but he needs a good run at it now IMO.
Think the point I’m trying to make is that both these players get skated week in week out when the play for every single mistake or misplaced pass. Yesterday yes Lewis was off the game but he was part in the defence along with Paul that kept a clean sheet. At the other end we missed loads of chances players had misplaced paces yet some posters fail to scrutinise them as much as Paul and Lewis.
It becomes tiresome that so called supporters hound these two and blame them for last results.
I know they are both nearing the end of their playing days at Hibs but it’s really beginning to grind they way they are treated.
Just saying like and by no way is this a pop at you and 99% of folk on here!
01-10-2023, 12:09 PM
St Johnstone at home would be easier
Yeah, and we beat them comfortably at home.
I thought we'd do the same yesterday.
Are you going to pull anyone up if they think we might get results against Hearts or Rangers?
I don't know what to do. If I think we'll win I might be wrong, and If I think we'll lose I'm being negative! It's all so confusing!
01-10-2023, 12:10 PM
Stevenson was so hesitant to cross the ball in whenever he had a good opportunity on his left foot. Kept turning back and passing it backwards. I understand its good to keep possession if theres nothing on but there was some wasted opportunities to get a good ball into the box yesterday from him
Most teams don't just punt the ball into the box every time there's an opportunity to do so because centre halves want you to do exactly that.
There has to be the right movement, the right space and the right people in there.
His defensive work was fine, but going forward as ever he slows the play down too much and loses momentum
The Tubs
01-10-2023, 12:17 PM
Did Vente not have about three headers at goal? I'm sure there was one in the first half that I thought he should have finished.
01-10-2023, 12:43 PM
Most teams don't just punt the ball into the box every time there's an opportunity to do so because centre halves want you to do exactly that.
There has to be the right movement, the right space and the right people in there.
He didn’t say Stevenson should just punt it into the box every time there is an opportunity to do so - in fact the poster even mentions that it’s good hold onto possession if there is nothing on in the box.
Yesterday, on at least 2 occasions in the first half Stevenson had the opportunity to play an early low cross in behind the opposition defence as part of a promising attack and didn’t. These wouldn’t have been punts into the box to centre backs who are ready to deal with a cross, it looked like he didn’t back himself to be able to execute what was required.
He didn’t say Stevenson should just punt it into the box every time there is an opportunity to do so - in fact the poster even mentions that it’s good hold onto possession if there is nothing on in the box.
Yesterday, on at least 2 occasions in the first half Stevenson had the opportunity to play an early low cross in behind the opposition defence as part of a promising attack and didn’t. These wouldn’t have been punts into the box to centre backs who are ready to deal with a cross, it looked like he didn’t back himself to be able to execute what was required.
Stevensons body position is always favouring a ball inside. It is his first thought regardless of options. There are times that he should continue on or pass down the wing. Sometimes get a cross in. His default thought is the safe option inside.
01-10-2023, 01:10 PM
Stevensons body position is always favouring a ball inside. It is his first thought regardless of options. There are times that he should continue on or pass down the wing. Sometimes get a cross in. His default thought is the safe option inside.
Don't think it used to be so obvious, but there was twice in the first half we got the ball on the angle of the box and his touch immediately ruled out any chance of a cross.
Appreciate we're trying to move the ball more, but he does increasingly close off his options. Must be a bit annoying if you're Dylan Vente or such like.
Daily Hibs
01-10-2023, 01:26 PM
We drew 0-0 dropping two points against one of the easiest opponents in the league.
Yesterday being a run of the mill league game in a long season is a game the fans expect to win and the performance is secondary. If we are an ambitious club the 3 points are all that matter.
Its mental that some are accepting a 0-0 draw to make a point about these two players.
01-10-2023, 01:30 PM
We drew 0-0 dropping two points against one of the easiest opponents in the league.
Yesterday being a run of the mill league game in a long season is s game the fans expect to win and the performance is secondary. If we are an ambitious club the 3 points are all that matter.
Its mental that some are accepting a 0-0 draw to make a point about these two players.
Draws against Kilmarnock and Dundee are acceptable now LJ is out and Montgomery is in.
01-10-2023, 01:39 PM
Draws against Kilmarnock and Dundee are acceptable now LJ is out and Montgomery is in.
Pish. Folk just recognise that one is trying to fix the mess created by the other and that it isn’t going to happen overnight with the exact same players.
Hibs will be capable of dropping points against anyone in the league for the rest of time.
01-10-2023, 01:41 PM
There are engineering works on the East Coast railway this weekend making it impossible for me to get to the game.
In theory, driving would make it possible but I don't think I'd be able to take on an 8 hour round trip with a match halfway through. :hmmm:
Day-tripper.
Yesterday being a run of the mill league game in a long season is a game the fans expect to win and the performance is secondary. If we are an ambitious club the 3 points are all that matter.
So please explain what’s a run of the mill league game and why are they the easiest opponents in the league then explain where I have said 0-0 is acceptable?
I made a point of a clean sheet and that certain players would never ever get praise or acknowledgement from certain posters regarding this.
01-10-2023, 01:45 PM
Had a look this morning and Dundee have only lost to the top two sides this season so far, they’re doing better than i thought.
Think we should have won on the balance of play and on another day with those chances we’d have won comfortably.
Daily Hibs
01-10-2023, 01:48 PM
So please explain what’s a run of the mill league game and why are they the easiest opponents in the league then explain where I have said 0-0 is acceptable?
I made a point of a clean sheet and that certain players would never ever get praise or acknowledgement from certain posters regarding this.
Yesterday.
Dundee are a newly promoted side who rarely beat us at Easter Road.
HFC93
01-10-2023, 01:49 PM
A few posters stiring on this thread after being suspiciously absent for a few weeks. You never see them on threads when we win 🤔
01-10-2023, 01:53 PM
Day-tripper.
Or not, as the case was.
Yesterday.
Dundee are a newly promoted side who rarely beat us at Easter Road.
You’ve an air of entitlement about you and every single point has to be earned regardless of the opponents.
We missed loads of chances yesterday and that’s disappointing but there will always be positives to take from each game and that includes yesterday
A few posters stiring on this thread after being suspiciously absent for a few weeks. You never see them on threads when we win [emoji848]
And our chums along the road winning??
Daily Hibs
01-10-2023, 02:03 PM
You’ve an air of entitlement about you and every single point has to be earned regardless of the opponents.
We missed loads of chances yesterday and that’s disappointing but there will always be positives to take from each game and that includes yesterday
So a club with our resources, attacking players, putting together a good run, a good midweek win against a good side to get us into a semi final, playing against a newly promoted side who rarely beat us at home.... fans who expect us to be winning that game are entitled?
It's very frustrating because it's a daft two points dropped
01-10-2023, 02:03 PM
Thought their Liverpool loanee left back Beck was very impressive. One for McDermott's notebook to keep an eye on.
He was good, I was impressed by him. Slightly built but rapid, good on the ball and good at driving forward. Boyle struggled to pass him with pace a couple of times.
I thought Dundee were a better side than St Johnston. They had guys in the central midfield linking with their forwards and causing problems for us. Left back and the blond midfielder were both decent.
Hibs were too passive and didn't do enough first half, more creative but very wasteful in the second. Not just the strikers, I think Miller, Fish and Hanlon had good headed opportunities. We could and should have scored a few.
I wouldn't have taken Youan off. He always will offer more than Tavares, be more likely to grab a goal out of nothing.
I assume Obita was needing rested, otherwise not sure why Stevenson started either.
I felt we were often predictable, everything was down the flanks and we didn't see Jeggo or Newell link with the strikers that often. Newell had a quiet game for me, not quite at his best.
01-10-2023, 02:04 PM
For me Lewis didn't have one of his best days yesterday.
In the first half he had a few chances with all the time in the world to whip early crosses in and instead checked back and because he's so one footed rolled the ball back ten yards instead.
Against a team that's hard to break down early crosses can help no end.
Defensively he was sound enough but I think Obita has to be the preferred option going forward.
So a club with our resources, attacking players, putting together a good run, a good midweek win against a good side to get us into a semi final, playing against a newly promoted side who rarely beat us at home.... fans who expect us to be winning that game are entitled?
It's very frustrating because it's a daft two points dropped
Yeah 3 tough games including a midweek game whilst Dundee were resting up.
By your reckoning about poor defenders and how they have cost us in the past, It was our attacking players fault, all of them who let the club down yesterday and it’s their poor shambolic finishing that cost us yesterday dropping 2 points and us falling behind our rivals.
We cannot win them all and I never ever expect us to win anything without hard work and a bit of luck here and there.
01-10-2023, 02:12 PM
Three games in a week and we managed two wins and a draw with Montgomery at the helm. I’m impressed with that outcome given the previous manager made it sound like it was impossible to get results with that kind of fixture schedule.
Daily Hibs
01-10-2023, 02:29 PM
Yeah 3 tough games including a midweek game whilst Dundee were resting up.
By your reckoning about poor defenders and how they have cost us in the past, It was our attacking players fault, all of them who let the club down yesterday and it’s their poor shambolic finishing that cost us yesterday dropping 2 points and us falling behind our rivals.
We cannot win them all and I never ever expect us to win anything without hard work and a bit of luck here and there.
Didn't Hanlon have chances to score yesterday? All be it the break of the ball was unlucky but he did have a couple of chances.
DIXIHIBS
01-10-2023, 02:30 PM
And our chums along the road winning??
Im sure its just a coincidence :wink:. They cant even hide themselves very well.
Didn't Hanlon have a few chances to score yesterday? All be it the break of the ball was unlucky but he did have a couple of chances.
We had that many I couldn’t say! But why single him out? The experts missed more!
Daily Hibs
01-10-2023, 02:38 PM
👆
[emoji115]
How did I know you were going to mention this post when you mentioned Hanlon.
So back to the broken record approach and your continued hatred of everything Paul Hanlon.
Nice one!
Daily Hibs
01-10-2023, 02:43 PM
How did I know you were going to mention this post when you mentioned Hanlon.
So back to the broken record approach and your continued hatred of everything Paul Hanlon.
Nice one!
Whatever way we look at it, it was two dropped points yesterday.
01-10-2023, 02:46 PM
Jack Ross is proof that “the performance is secondary” is bollocks. He got us third in the league and a cup final, and yet a notable section of the fan base was unhappy.
Yesterday we did everything but put the ball in the net as their keeper played a blinder. I don’t know what else there is to accept or reject, it’s reality and if we play that game another ten times, we win it ten times.
HendoDelivered
01-10-2023, 03:30 PM
Booing at FT 🤣🤣🤣
01-10-2023, 03:37 PM
It's not really entitlement to suggest that we should beat Dundee at home.
Next week, against Hearts, this forum will be full of folk predicting wins for us. Same when we face Rangers.
No one gets pelters for that. It's getting behind behind the boys and supporting the team.
Now, folk who are suggesting we should beat Dundee are getting all sorts of replies!!! What's going on?
If we accept that there's a strongest team in the league, it follows that there are weaker ones. Dundee being classed as one of those isn't really far fetched at all.
Especially when we're at home, and playing well, going by most peoples thoughts since NM came in.
It's like people are trying to tell us to calm down and to expect to drop points. Well, nah, I had enough of expecting that under LJ and Maloney, and was generally proved right!
Now, finally, I've started to enjoy going to ER again and there will hopefully be many more games that I go to expecting to win.
Absolutely nothing wrong with that at all and it's certainly not feeling 'entitled' about anything.
01-10-2023, 03:46 PM
I stuck Hibs in my acca today.
Please accept my apologies.
Accepted.
01-10-2023, 03:51 PM
Yesterday was a home game and given opposition I expected us to win as we have been scoring gosls in games leading up to it
It we move on and chance to win at Tynie to make amends
01-10-2023, 04:10 PM
I went yesterday expecting us to win too. Not entitled or cocky about it, just felt good about our team and liked our chances at home. So did the bookies.
Turned out we weren’t clinical enough and I think Dundee probably deserved their point.
Disappointing but not a huge deal. If we follow it up with a win at tynecastle then Monty has made a very good start.
Oh and I think Dundee will stay up this year. Worse teams than them.
01-10-2023, 04:21 PM
For me, the 2 important times for assessing how good this team is under Montgomery is 1/ October when we play Hearts, Rangers and Celtic, and 2/ probably January when Montgomery has the opportunity to make changes, particularly at the back. There seems to be a better atmosphere at the club at the moment, but the feel good atmosphere could just as easily dissapear if we lose all 3 of these games. That said, 2 wins and a draw isn't bad going for 3 games in a week.
01-10-2023, 06:17 PM
I went yesterday expecting us to win too. Not entitled or cocky about it, just felt good about our team and liked our chances at home. So did the bookies.
Turned out we weren’t clinical enough and I think Dundee probably deserved their point.
Disappointing but not a huge deal. If we follow it up with a win at tynecastle then Monty has made a very good start.
Oh and I think Dundee will stay up this year. Worse teams than them.
Was just about to post the same. :aok: