View Full Version : St Mirren on Wednesday night
Garymcl
23-09-2023, 05:41 PM
Huge game great chance for a trip to Hampden surely we can up the attendance from what it is now like everyone else I’m excited about the new manager and his style of play our support was excellent again today let’s roar the boys on to Hampden
23-09-2023, 05:43 PM
Isn’t it on Tuesday?
Edit - put glasses on before reading fixture list lol
23-09-2023, 05:44 PM
Isn’t it on Tuesday??
Nope.
23-09-2023, 07:44 PM
Big test for us. Are St Mirren as good as their league position suggests? After all they only beat a mediocre outfit today. A win for us would really bolster our confidence.
biggie1875
23-09-2023, 07:53 PM
Looks like only a couple thousand sold if the dot count is anything to go by
plhibs
23-09-2023, 07:58 PM
I watched them v the jumbos today ( couldn't find the Hibs game anywhere). St. Mirren are a very well organized team, could have easily won that game today by more than one goal, think this will be a pretty tough game, Hope i'm wrong.
23-09-2023, 08:09 PM
Looking forward to this.
In his post match interview today Robinson said they'd already beaten us and it's not like we've got any new players since then. Wrong, sort of. We'd signed Vente the week before but his permit hadn't come through so we've now got him, not to mention Monty now Head Coach making a big difference.
Garymcl
23-09-2023, 09:20 PM
So looking forward to this game think it will be a cracker we need to get as many tickets sold this game is massive there is a semi final at Hampden at stake in my opinion more important than a derby cmon snap up these seats and support Monty and the boys to the semis :flag:
23-09-2023, 10:35 PM
Certainly a tough game against title chasing St Mirren, but a huge opportunity.
Win this, and the Dundee game, and there will be a huge buzz around the club going to tynecastle.
Mark05
23-09-2023, 10:37 PM
So looking forward to this game think it will be a cracker we need to get as many tickets sold this game is massive there is a semi final at Hampden at stake in my opinion more important than a derby cmon snap up these seats and support Monty and the boys to the semis :flag:
I'm the same, this is a big game.I really hope we beat St mirren will bring back the feel good factor.And to be honest I can't take to Robinson at all so will shut him up hopefully come on the hibs
23-09-2023, 11:48 PM
Get the tickets sold. Get to Hampden and the attacking players will score against anyone.
tonyrougier123
24-09-2023, 05:19 AM
Hard game Wednesday,gogic playing well at the back for them,never had a problem with him at hibs, Solid. Saying that I’m really liking Montgomery and his attitude towards the squad. Should be a good game under the lights.
nickwhibs
24-09-2023, 07:37 AM
Yeah big game and looking forward to it. Sure ticket sales will pick up after yesterday and as the game approaches
24-09-2023, 07:40 AM
I don't get paid until 4pm on Wednesday, guessing you'll still be able to buy online then no bother?
24-09-2023, 07:47 AM
Celtic getting dumped out in the last round improves our chances of winning this competition considerably. We all know there's only ever one winner if we meet the huns at hampden... and hearts are certainly nothing to fear if naismith is still in charge. Let's get this done on Wednesday.
24-09-2023, 07:48 AM
I watched them v the jumbos today ( couldn't find the Hibs game anywhere). St. Mirren are a very well organized team, could have easily won that game today by more than one goal, think this will be a pretty tough game, Hope i'm wrong.
They had three goals disallowed Butvthey are often winning games by just one goal so if we can defend better than we did the last time we played them , we have a good chance of beating them
But if they press us high like they did in the first game and we try and play out from the back like we have been doing they could punish us St Johnstone tried to do that at times and we nearly got caught out
LewysGot2
24-09-2023, 08:04 AM
We either win or have no game 4th November as that's semi final weekend and we're dueto play...St Mirren that day! So one of us is off to Hampden and the other off Christmas shopping.
We've definitely more options than August and definitely less distractions as we're out of Europe. Is Rocky available? How long was his league cup suspension?
24-09-2023, 08:13 AM
As decent as they clearly are, we basically have them a free hit for about 70 minutes on the opening weekend by being absolutely dire.
Fairly confident we can be in the game a wee bit more this time round. Don't think extra time and beyond would be too much of a surprise.
24-09-2023, 10:38 AM
Right folks, let’s start shifting these tickets now. One game away from Hampden and we have something worth supporting now.
24-09-2023, 11:02 AM
They are 2nd top of the league, this could be a cracker. Finding it really difficult to understand why the tickets aren't shifting better even with the historic apathy to League cup ties prior to the semis.
Just hoping the weather forecast for Wednesday I saw last night is wrong, it was horrible :confused:
24-09-2023, 12:04 PM
They are 2nd top of the league, this could be a cracker. Finding it really difficult to understand why the tickets aren't shifting better even with the historic apathy to League cup ties prior to the semis.
Just hoping the weather forecast for Wednesday I saw last night is wrong, it was horrible :confused:
Its Sunday mate. No one has a clue what the weather will be like on Wednesday.
24-09-2023, 12:14 PM
Its Sunday mate. No one has a clue what the weather will be like on Wednesday.
Tell that tae the BBC mate, the forecast is on as I type and they're talking about rain and gusts of wind up to 80mph :greengrin
Mind you, the lassie on Saturday morning said the cloud and rain over the north of Engerland and up to Edinburgh would burn off leaving a nice day, instead of that it peed down for about an hour before kick off.
24-09-2023, 12:26 PM
3-1 Hibs
SonOfDavidFrancey
24-09-2023, 12:31 PM
As decent as they clearly are, we basically have them a free hit for about 70 minutes on the opening weekend by being absolutely dire.
Fairly confident we can be in the game a wee bit more this time round. Don't think extra time and beyond would be too much of a surprise.
100% true and for the 15 mins Hibs played that day St Mirren couldn’t cope
LewysGot2
24-09-2023, 02:50 PM
Right folks, let’s start shifting these tickets now. One game away from Hampden and we have something worth supporting now.
Yup. Let's get behind the lads and roar them on to Hampden. 👏👏👏
Hopefully it's just slow uptake and there will be momentum towards Wednesday
24-09-2023, 02:51 PM
Will this be on HTV international?
JammyDoidger
24-09-2023, 03:24 PM
This is a huge game. Get through this and there's no reason we can't go on and win the cup imo, we will score goals against anyone, win these next 2 games and we go to Tynie with huge momentum. Come on Hibs.
24-09-2023, 03:48 PM
I feel guilty, now, as I can't actually make the game this week.
24-09-2023, 04:15 PM
Where’s the singing section this game
LewysGot2
24-09-2023, 04:23 PM
Where’s the singing section this game
FF is shut. So East?
24-09-2023, 04:38 PM
They had three goals disallowed Butvthey are often winning games by just one goal so if we can defend better than we did the last time we played them , we have a good chance of beating them
But if they press us high like they did in the first game and we try and play out from the back like we have been doing they could punish us St Johnstone tried to do that at times and we nearly got caught out
yup the last two games have been great and I know it’s still a wip. But we look really vulnerable through the middle of our defence. Rocky I’m afraid to say doesn’t have the positional nous to handle our fullbacks bombing forward. There was one Stj attack yesterday when he basically ran away from their player closing in on our goal.
24-09-2023, 06:30 PM
Can’t wait for Wednesday night. What I’ve seen in the last few weeks has really given me the buzz back.
Hopefully others feel the same and we can get a decent crowd in. Massive game and massive opportunity.
24-09-2023, 06:36 PM
Can't believe how few tickets we've sold for this! Looks like we've only sold about 2000 so far.
Strange.
24-09-2023, 06:49 PM
Can't believe how few tickets we've sold for this! Looks like we've only sold about 2000 so far.
Strange.
Find this hard to believe I must say? Must be an error of sorts.
With a renewed sense of optimism around the club and the early days of a new manager with a different, but more attractive kind of style, and a tie that should we win we’d be off to Hampden, it’s a hugely appealing fixture.
New disco lights too!
24-09-2023, 06:54 PM
Find this hard to believe I must say? Must be an error of sorts.
With a renewed sense of optimism around the club and the early days of a new manager with a different, but more attractive kind of style, and a tie that should we win we’d be off to Hampden, it’s a hugely appealing fixture.
New disco lights too!
Na the sales really are dreadfully low as it stands. I think we’ll shift a fair few in the next few days. There’s just not been any urgency for folk to buy a ticket yet.
24-09-2023, 07:00 PM
Perhaps some still think you can use season ticket?
24-09-2023, 07:03 PM
Can you buy digital tickets for this game?
24-09-2023, 07:09 PM
Can you buy digital tickets for this game?
Yes
24-09-2023, 07:16 PM
I'm there. It makes a lot less sense missing this game than it does a league game. This is a competition we actually have a chance of winning.
Don't know about anyone else but last time I lost it properly after a Hibs goal was Hanlon in December 21. I want more of that.
24-09-2023, 07:28 PM
Does seem odd that the sales are so low but then I'm one who hasn't bothered his arse to buy one yet. Dunno why, but this game has almost passed my by. Will get a ticket tomorrow.
24-09-2023, 07:49 PM
Strange.
Can that actually be true? I know we'll shift a few over the next 3 days but surely to christ we're not gonna have a lower crowd than we had for Raith Rovers?
24-09-2023, 07:50 PM
Does seem odd that the sales are so low but then I'm one who hasn't bothered his arse to buy one yet. Dunno why, but this game has almost passed my by. Will get a ticket tomorrow.
Just bought mine tonight.
24-09-2023, 08:10 PM
Yes
Ta
24-09-2023, 08:27 PM
Maybe next season they may look at the pricing
Sadly with European games and cost of living etc
£20 in between two home games before pay day means ticket sales struggle.
Would have loved to see £12 adults and under 16s go free or something.
24-09-2023, 08:37 PM
Maybe next season they may look at the pricing
Sadly with European games and cost of living etc
£20 in between two home games before pay day means ticket sales struggle.
Would have loved to see £12 adults and under 16s go free or something.
I don’t think there can really be much complaint at £20 for a cup quarter final in fairness. There has been a lot to fork out for, more for those that go away lately, but pricing is all right for this game IMO.
Unless we’re playing Hearts, you just don’t get a good home crowd at this stage of the competition.
24-09-2023, 08:39 PM
There’ll be a last minute rush to buy, would expect circa 7-8,000 there. I’ve got 4 to buy but just not got round to it yet.
24-09-2023, 09:07 PM
4 bought
25-09-2023, 01:08 PM
Just bought 4 but wasn’t given the option for digital tickets, did anyone get them emailed? Looked like only option was for the tickets to be picked up pre game which isn’t ideal.
25-09-2023, 01:54 PM
I see the semis are on 4/5 November. We were due to play St Mirren away on the 4th so that'll be postponed.
25-09-2023, 02:06 PM
I expect a difficult match but definitely one we should be looking at winning.
Not sure I would be making alot of changes though.
25-09-2023, 02:21 PM
Ticket bought. Looking forward to it, though the weather forecast is not great.
25-09-2023, 02:34 PM
Just bought 4 but wasn’t given the option for digital tickets, did anyone get them emailed? Looked like only option was for the tickets to be picked up pre game which isn’t ideal.
I got mine emailed when selecting e-ticket
25-09-2023, 02:51 PM
I got mine emailed when selecting e-ticket
Yeah, it was because I was buying one for a student this time, needs to be checked prior to releasing the ticket.
25-09-2023, 07:19 PM
Looking like we’ve sold quite a few today but overall still very low. Without doing the full dot count I’d guess it’ll be somewhere between 4 and 5 thousand sold. Hopefully sales continue to pick up tomorrow.
Keepthefaith
25-09-2023, 07:25 PM
Looking like we’ve sold quite a few today but overall still very low. Without doing the full dot count I’d guess it’ll be somewhere between 4 and 5 thousand sold. Hopefully sales continue to pick up tomorrow.
folk may well be waiting to see how bad the weather is, as forecast is a little sensationalised! having just seen an updated forecast, I don't think it'll be too bad for us.
on the plus side, Dundee sales seem to be going really well!
wazoo1875
25-09-2023, 07:41 PM
Does anyone know if you could add the tickets to your season ticket? I can’t mind what I done when I bought them but can’t find an email with tickets in it. I got my own seats if that makes any difference 🤷🏻*♂️
25-09-2023, 07:52 PM
Don’t like how the FF is shut, sends the wrong message. Need to be shooting into our fans behind the goal whereas St.Mirren will have a big crowd right behind the goal. Could’ve even just shut the upper tiers of the West and FF
Hibeewilly
25-09-2023, 07:52 PM
I've just had a look and the sales are embarrassing. It would have made more sense for the Club to have made it £10 a head and got a decent crowd. Its a quarter final FFS so god knows what Montgomery will think about this.....
25-09-2023, 07:53 PM
Does anyone know if you could add the tickets to your season ticket? I can’t mind what I done when I bought them but can’t find an email with tickets in it. I got my own seats if that makes any difference 🤷🏻*♂️
Access couldn’t be added to card for this game.
Hibeewilly
25-09-2023, 07:55 PM
You can't unfortunately, its a paper ticket or E ticket
wazoo1875
25-09-2023, 07:57 PM
You can't unfortunately, its a paper ticket or E ticket
Cheers for that, I’ve not had an email with tickets. I’ll give them a call tomorrow.
25-09-2023, 08:00 PM
I've just had a look and the sales are embarrassing. It would have made more sense for the Club to have made it £10 a head and got a decent crowd. Its a quarter final FFS so god knows what Montgomery will think about this.....
Halving the cost wouldn’t have doubled the crowd IMO. It’s a quarter final, as you say, the pricing is fine.
For whatever reason, these games rarely draw a big home crowd.
Cheers for that, I’ve not had an email with tickets. I’ll give them a call tomorrow.
Try going into your account history in your ticketing account and click on "resend email".
Presumably you've checked your junk email folder.
wazoo1875
25-09-2023, 09:11 PM
Try going into your account history in your ticketing account and click on "resend email".
Presumably you've checked your junk email folder.
Got it mate cheers, that’s exactly what I done 👍🏻
👍 Good stuff.
25-09-2023, 11:41 PM
I think it's a tough one to access just where and how good they are after only playing Hearts at the weekend.
26-09-2023, 12:03 AM
Exactly .... So £20 & £15 isn't exactly over pricing it, it costs more to get into a league game against Ross County. For the Morton v Airdrie championship game this Saturday its £22 for adults and £16 concessions. Some games get good crowds on the back of cheap pricing, which is fine, but the inference that prices for this game are actually putting off our hard core support of 10K ish had better not be right or this club is in real trouble.
Our supporters can be great at times, but at other times we are just pish and this looks like being one of those times .... No doubt if we do win on Wednesday and we end up drawing Hearts at Hampden in the semis we can look forward to the thread where folk give their reasons for not going interspersed with folk saying it's not up to other folk to criticise them for not going being twice as long as the 'come on the Hibees' thread.
What Montgomery will think is, the crowd was over 16,000 on Saturday so this is a club with potential, it's my job to make sure that 16,000 keep coming and hopefully add to it as the season progresses.
Musselbound
26-09-2023, 03:41 AM
[QUOTE=B.H.F.C;7475552]Halving the cost wouldn’t have doubled the crowd IMO. It’s a quarter final, as you say, the pricing is fine.For whatever reason, these games rarely draw a big crowd
I might have gone at £15. Also costs £5 for my bus fare so £20 tips it over the edge for me. It's also extra money to find for people whether or not they've got a season ticket of course. As was said, would it have been worth making it a bit cheaper to get more fans in, albeit not doubling the gate? Earlier rounds of this competition tend to be a bit cheaper and it's already the second time this season we've played St Mirren at home.
26-09-2023, 04:57 AM
I think it's a tough one to access just where and how good they are after only playing Hearts at the weekend.
They are undefeated in the League
P6 W4 D2 L0
They have already defeated us at Easter Road this season 2-3
The result on Saturday flattered Hearts should have been more
We will have to be at our best
Is the game being streamed in UK?. On holiday so can't get up for it.
patstanton70
26-09-2023, 06:37 AM
Exactly .... So £20 & £15 isn't exactly over pricing it, it costs more to get into a league game against Ross County. For the Morton v Airdrie championship game this Saturday its £22 for adults and £16 concessions. Some games get good crowds on the back of cheap pricing, which is fine, but the inference that prices for this game are actually putting off our hard core support of 10K ish had better not be right or this club is in real trouble.
Our supporters can be great at times, but at other times we are just pish and this looks like being one of those times .... No doubt if we do win on Wednesday and we end up drawing Hearts at Hampden in the semis we can look forward to the thread where folk give their reasons for not going interspersed with folk saying it's not up to other folk to criticise them for not going being twice as long as the 'come on the Hibees' thread.
What Montgomery will think is, the crowd was over 16,000 on Saturday so this is a club with potential, it's my job to make sure that 16,000 keep coming and hopefully add to it as the season progresses.
out of interest does anyone know what the average mariners crowds were when he was there?
26-09-2023, 06:44 AM
out of interest does anyone know what the average mariners crowds were when he was there?
Not sure in the reliability, but around 7-8k on average. Source Transfer Markt.
For comparison had ours at 16k last season.
patlowe
26-09-2023, 07:02 AM
They are undefeated in the League
P6 W4 D2 L0
They have already defeated us at Easter Road this season 2-3
The result on Saturday flattered Hearts should have been more
We will have to be at our best
They are a strong, resilient team and you can't argue with that record so far. On the other hand, in the opening game I didn't think they were all that great - we were a shambles that day yet still able to put them under huge pressure in the second half before the sucker punch. We should be confident because we have more quality IMO but conscious they are a well drilled, confident side that will take advantage if we're not at the races.
He's here!
26-09-2023, 07:14 AM
Folk get too riled about attendances.
The reasons many are not going to this game are pretty straightforward. We have three home games in 7 days, season tickets aren't valid for this one and fans who take young kids to games will naturally opt for the daytime, weekend kick-offs.
It's nothing to do with the fans being 'pish', it's just down to practicalities and priorities.
26-09-2023, 07:26 AM
They are a strong, resilient team and you can't argue with that record so far. On the other hand, in the opening game I didn't think they were all that great - we were a shambles that day yet still able to put them under huge pressure in the second half before the sucker punch. We should be confident because we have more quality IMO but conscious they are a well drilled, confident side that will take advantage if we're not at the races.
Looking back we were a shambles under LJ a rudderless ship
St Mirren have good players and are on a decent run building consistency and growing more and more confident with every passing game
If Monty picks his strongest side from our best and most experienced players Hibs win
26-09-2023, 07:37 AM
[QUOTE=B.H.F.C;7475552]Halving the cost wouldn’t have doubled the crowd IMO. It’s a quarter final, as you say, the pricing is fine.For whatever reason, these games rarely draw a big crowd
I might have gone at £15. Also costs £5 for my bus fare so £20 tips it over the edge for me. It's also extra money to find for people whether or not they've got a season ticket of course. As was said, would it have been worth making it a bit cheaper to get more fans in, albeit not doubling the gate? Earlier rounds of this competition tend to be a bit cheaper and it's already the second time this season we've played St Mirren at home.
Not being funny but those are 1994 prices
That was nearly 30nyears ago
£20 in 2023 is cheaper than a lower league game, to see Boyle youan vente alf newell & co giving their all to reach a cup semi, where celtic are (unusually) already out.
Let's get along & create an atmosphere the team deserves
26-09-2023, 08:02 AM
Agree didn’t think they were that great first game either. Will be tough but think we will have too much going forward for them. Thought they were shaky at the back in that game not to say we weren’t also right enough :greengrin
26-09-2023, 08:15 AM
Agree with this. They are doing very well, punching well above their weight, but I’d take a home tie against St Mirren to get to Hampden any time, especially when we have the attacking threat we do. We’re a different team since we got Europe out the way and, more so, since we got rid of Johnson.
26-09-2023, 09:55 AM
Folk get too riled about attendances.
The reasons many are not going to this game are pretty straightforward. We have three home games in 7 days, season tickets aren't valid for this one and fans who take young kids to games will naturally opt for the daytime, weekend kick-offs.
It's nothing to do with the fans being 'pish', it's just down to practicalities and priorities.
Yes, but we hadn't had a home game in September prior to the St Johnstone match and for the Dundee game most folk will have been paid the day before. The fact that the games either side of St Mirren were ST matches should be a positive for around two thirds of potential attendees, not a negative for the club.
Given the crowds we have been getting, our recent upturn in form and the quality of the opposition and the fact its not on the telly, on top of what I've outlined above there's absolutely no reason we shouldn't be getting at least 12,000 for this game, instead we look nowhere near it.
IMO no matter how you slice it, in a month where we are far from overloaded with home games, its a piss poor effort so far from the club's 'supporters'
26-09-2023, 10:00 AM
People have their reasons I'm sure.
But theres more of a buzz about the club since the new manager came in and it's a quarter final of a competition we actually have a chance of winning with the stronger of the two uglies already gone.
We should be getting 10k plus
Musselbound
26-09-2023, 10:22 AM
[QUOTE=Musselbound;7475640]
Not being funny but those are 1994 prices
That was nearly 30nyears ago
£20 in 2023 is cheaper than a lower league game, to see Boyle youan vente alf newell & co giving their all to reach a cup semi, where celtic are (unusually) already out.
Let's get along & create an atmosphere the team deserves
I seriously doubt £15 was standard 1994 prices. Where do you get that info from? I started going to ER regularly in 1990 and clearly remember the tickets cost £4.
There may well be Championship teams charging over £20 now but I do attend lower league games which cost £15 or less. The only games I get to at ER now are the ones where the price is lower, such as friendlies or League Cup games.
Just saying from the point of view of a fan who has been priced out.
SickBoy32
26-09-2023, 10:54 AM
Wonder if the club are considering the return of the cup top up, given the low crowds we've been attracting recently for home cup ties
That, or the return of loyalty points, would likely see a decent bump to the attendances at these fixtures IMO
26-09-2023, 11:11 AM
Midweek game in front of a small crowd. Away team flying. Has all the makings of an upset. 5-0 Hibs :greengrin
26-09-2023, 11:20 AM
Wonder if the club are considering the return of the cup top up, given the low crowds we've been attracting recently for home cup ties
That, or the return of loyalty points, would likely see a decent bump to the attendances at these fixtures IMO
Cup top up was £50. There must have been a few times that Hibs lost out on that one.
26-09-2023, 11:28 AM
Cup top up was £50. There must have been a few times that Hibs lost out on that one.
They probably did, none more so than the 2015/16 season.
However, I’m sure the club would rather have nights like v Aberdeen (Malonga goal) and the like rather than poor crowds currently.
There has to be a happy medium. Say £75 for cup top up and if drawn away, then the cup top ups get some sort of priority for tickets if it’s a ticket scramble.
Garymcl
26-09-2023, 11:43 AM
If people can’t don’t want to make it fine it’s important the fans who turn up get right behind the team and make them selves heard we win this we are in a semi final at hampden remember it’s on a weekend for a change and if we happen to get the govan **** we might only get 20000 or less we’ve proved before we can easily take that there will be scramble everyone likes a wee trip to hampden
26-09-2023, 11:56 AM
If people can’t don’t want to make it fine it’s important the fans who turn up get right behind the team and make them selves heard we win this we are in a semi final at hampden remember it’s on a weekend for a change and if we happen to get the govan **** we might only get 20000 or less we’ve proved before we can easily take that there will be scramble everyone likes a wee trip to hampden
Not a chance we'll take 20k to a semi final
26-09-2023, 12:59 PM
Just been on and got mine, I’m the only one in my group going so thought I’d go to the West for a wee change. Managed to get a seat about bang on halfway just behind the dugout. Hopefully sales pick up but it’s a couple days before payday for a lot of people I think, sandwiched between two home games and plenty folk will have paid for derby tickets last week.
26-09-2023, 03:14 PM
What do we think then? Same team as Saturday? I think we might change one or two but nothing drastic, great chance for a place in the semis.
Hibees1973
26-09-2023, 03:15 PM
There is a small chance this game may be postponed given there is a huge storm forecast for tomorrow night (gale force winds 50-60mph & heavy rain).
Game will be a lottery, if it goes ahead.
26-09-2023, 03:19 PM
There is a small chance this game may be postponed given there is a huge storm forecast for tomorrow night (gale force winds 50-60mph & heavy rain).
Game will be a lottery, if it goes ahead.
Not till about 10pm I read so should be fine until the penalties 😬
26-09-2023, 03:23 PM
I think going by eticketing we’ve sold maybe 3500?
26-09-2023, 03:31 PM
26-09-2023, 04:08 PM
Without doing a full dot count I reckon a bit more than that 5,000ish I reckon.
I’d guess we’ll end up with about 8,000 in the Hibs end.
26-09-2023, 04:11 PM
That does seem very low. I could hardly get a seat in section 13 of the west upper when I bought on Monday, so would think there will be more than 3.5k sold.
26-09-2023, 04:50 PM
It would be great if the club could find something like cup top-ups again. Starting from a base of zero is always difficult for a game like this. And on the back of 3 European ties the last of which fell on pay day this month. In isolation the price for tomorrow is OK.
26-09-2023, 05:12 PM
Don’t like how the FF is shut, sends the wrong message. Need to be shooting into our fans behind the goal whereas St.Mirren will have a big crowd right behind the goal. Could’ve even just shut the upper tiers of the West and FF
No they won’t - neither stands behind the goals are open
26-09-2023, 05:17 PM
No they won’t - neither stands behind the goals are open
Where are they putting the st mirren support?
26-09-2023, 05:21 PM
Without doing a full dot count I reckon a bit more than that 5,000ish I reckon.
I’d guess we’ll end up with about 8,000 in the Hibs end.
We will be wanting 20000 for the final though.
26-09-2023, 05:27 PM
And we'd be perfectly within our rights. Neutral venue, 50/50
26-09-2023, 05:30 PM
And why wouldn’t we?
26-09-2023, 05:30 PM
That does seem very low. I could hardly get a seat in section 13 of the west upper when I bought on Monday, so would think there will be more than 3.5k sold.
I bought ours ages ago and couldn’t get my own seat, so we ended up in the same seats but a row in front.
26-09-2023, 05:32 PM
It would be great if the club could find something like cup top-ups again. Starting from a base of zero is always difficult for a game like this. And on the back of 3 European ties the last of which fell on pay day this month. In isolation the price for tomorrow is OK.
The cup top up was brilliant, not just for the value but for the convenience as well. I get that Hibs might have lost out on ticket income but i think sometimes they need to look past the pound signs and the top-up was a great way to keep your seat for cup games.
26-09-2023, 05:37 PM
Hopefully folk can afford the semi final tickets with it being sandwiched in between two home games……
Keepthefaith
26-09-2023, 05:45 PM
if the weather forecast at the start of the week has put folk off then its frustrating as latest forecast just looks like a typical blowy, showery autumn night, nothing really extreme by the time it reaches us! come on, lets get behind the lads!
26-09-2023, 05:47 PM
And we'd be perfectly within our rights. Neutral venue, 50/50
It will be hard to argue for it if we can't muster more than 8000 for our home ties .
26-09-2023, 05:47 PM
Am waiting to see what weather is like as will. E travelling through ftom paisley then heading to Fife after game
26-09-2023, 05:49 PM
Hopefully folk can afford the semi final tickets with it being sandwiched in between two home games……
No need for that Uber fan pish.
If we get there, some people will be able to afford it, some people won't.
Some people might feel that a semi-final is worth sacrificing something else for. Some won't.
Not everyone has the same priorities, or wealth, as you.
26-09-2023, 05:53 PM
It will be hard to argue for it if we can't muster more than 8000 for our home ties .
Our last two home quarter finals have had crowds of 11,891 and 11,170 and they were with away supports filling most of the south stand.
Crap home attendances (not just for us) is just the way it is in this competition at this stage. Our last quarter final in the competition up at Tannadice they only had the bottom tiers of two stands open for their own fans.
Finals are a different thing altogether and if you’re capable of selling all your tickets then you should have the chance to.
26-09-2023, 05:54 PM
Some people might feel that a semi-final is worth sacrificing something else for. Some won't.
It was a tongue in cheek comment mate, calm doon
It's going to be dark no one will see how many are there 😂
26-09-2023, 06:02 PM
They should announce guaranteed Cup Final tickets for everybody that attends.
And maybe a free hot-dog
Our last two home quarter finals have had crowds of 11,891 and 11,170 and they were with away supports filling most of the south stand.
Crap home attendances (not just for us) is just the way it is in this competition at this stage. Our last quarter final in the competition up at Tannadice they only had the bottom tiers of two stands open for their own fans.
Finals are a different thing altogether and if you’re capable of selling all your tickets then you should have the chance to.
Then you add in the financial difficulties happening now, the match being 1 of 3 home games in a week and 2/3 days before payday for a lot of people. Hope those able to attend get right behind the team and get us to hampden.:flag:
26-09-2023, 06:11 PM
And maybe a free hot-dog
Everyone that goes or not, will get a Cup Final ticket
26-09-2023, 07:31 PM
And maybe a free hot-dog
I’ll pass on the hotdog. Someone in front of me had one on Saturday and I thought they were eating pedigree chum.
Bridge hibs
26-09-2023, 07:39 PM
I’ll pass on the hotdog. Someone in front of me had one on Saturday and I thought they were eating pedigree chum.
Sorry, the dug told me I could take one 🫢
26-09-2023, 08:30 PM
Just bought mine, ended up delaying till just before payday, not sure if others felt the same.
Attendance still looks very low
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
Donegal Hibby
26-09-2023, 09:22 PM
Monty pre match St mirren interview here .
https://youtu.be/B5HAIBxM6PU?si=FZLd5Mv1dm9UJbuz
26-09-2023, 09:25 PM
I bought ours ages ago and couldn’t get my own seat, so we ended up in the same seats but a row in front.
Is there no escape room available tomorrow night likes?
26-09-2023, 09:35 PM
I’m going there before and possibly after.
26-09-2023, 10:57 PM
Making 3 home games in a month doesn't qualify anybody as an 'uber fan' mate and neither does going to support your team in a semi final 40 miles along the road.
This isn't anywhere near an uber fan debate and that's the problem ... this is a game you should be expecting Hibs fans to want to be at as standard, no out of the ordinary effort required, no mental pricing, just a bog standard cup quarter final at home at a normal kick off time in a month where we have only had one ... one ... other home game.
If expecting Hibs fans to turn out to support 'their' team in those circumstances is entering the realms of an 'uber fan' debate then the definition of what an uber fan is has changed a lot ........ a hell of a lot.
27-09-2023, 06:14 AM
Your not letting this go are you
27-09-2023, 06:15 AM
Tickets bought looking forward to it should be a cracking match. :flag:
27-09-2023, 06:56 AM
Making 3 home games in a month doesn't qualify anybody as an 'uber fan' mate and neither does going to support your team in a semi final 40 miles along the road.
This isn't anywhere near an uber fan debate and that's the problem ... this is a game you should be expecting Hibs fans to want to be at as standard, no out of the ordinary effort required, no mental pricing, just a bog standard cup quarter final at home at a normal kick off time in a month where we have only had one ... one ... other home game.
If expecting Hibs fans to turn out to support 'their' team in those circumstances is entering the realms of an 'uber fan' debate then the definition of what an uber fan is has changed a lot ........ a hell of a lot.
Expecting people to spend their time and money a certain way, usually the same way as those complaining about attendances, is the heart of the Uber fan debate. As I always say on these kind of threads. Go if you want to and can, feel comfortable you are showing your support. Don’t worry about how strangers choose to spend their time and money.
27-09-2023, 07:00 AM
if you were picking and choosing wouldn't you drop the St J game for the St Mirren? And I'm talking about local walk ups here.
He's here!
27-09-2023, 07:27 AM
if you were picking and choosing wouldn't you drop the St J game for the St Mirren? And I'm talking about local walk ups here.
St Johnstone was a Hibs Kids game. When you have Hibs Kids membership you're not going to drop that game in favour of a midweek game from which young kids might not get home until after 11 (or later in our case).
As a family we can't afford 3 games in a week. In fact we can only afford one so the Hibs Kids one wins out.
27-09-2023, 08:06 AM
Looking forward to tonight. Massive match against really good opposition.
The crowd will be what it is.
27-09-2023, 08:11 AM
Same here, St Mirren have had a great start to the season and we’re looking better than when we played them a few weeks ago. Genuinely could go either way and it’ll need a good performance to take us to Hampden.
, where we’ll definitely play Hearts (possibly).
27-09-2023, 08:12 AM
Exactly, think it will be a cracker. Taking the opportunity to sit in the East for a change - what way is the wind blowing at 7:45!
27-09-2023, 08:16 AM
Exactly, think it will be a cracker. Taking the opportunity to sit in the East for a change - what way is the wind blowing at 7:45!
Yep made sure i was relatively high up to escape the rain maybe. Spoilt being normally in ff upper :greengrin
27-09-2023, 08:40 AM
St Johnstone was a Hibs Kids game. When you have Hibs Kids membership you're not going to drop that game in favour of a midweek game from which young kids might not get home until after 11 (or later in our case).
As a family we can't afford 3 games in a week. In fact we can only afford one so the Hibs Kids one wins out.
As I said I'm talking about walk ups. Not memberships and STs etc.
27-09-2023, 09:07 AM
Criticising people for not being able to afford to go to a game is, though.
linlithgowhibbie
27-09-2023, 10:13 AM
Same way as the blinking monsoon!:thumbsup:
27-09-2023, 10:52 AM
Your not letting this go are you
I wasn't being serious, though that maybe isn't obvious.
27-09-2023, 10:52 AM
Criticising people for not being able to afford to go to a game is, though.
Where have I done that?
I am the first to heavily criticise the SPFL for overloading December with fixtures when that is the most expensive month of the year for most folk. For a long time during the 80s and 90s going to ER every home game was out of the question for me financially, nobody appreciates more than me that football has to take a back seat in folk's priorities at times.
I'm all for a reasoned argument on this subject. But it should be based on available evidence and not just presumptions. Hibs have had one home game this month, which was a ST game, we have one at the end of the month, also a ST game, where most folk who are walk ups will already have been paid. It is therefor reasonable to presume that a large number of folk who regularly attend ER from our average of around 16,000 are giving this game a miss because they simply can't be arsed to go, many of them ST holders.
August:
Inter ..... 13,000 ..... Non ST
St Mirren .... 17,500
Luzern .... 13,000 ... Non ST
Raith ..... 8,600 ... Non ST
Villa .... 19,000 .... Non ST a horrific KO time and more expensive tickets than tonight.
Livvi ... 15,000
So we could get near enough 3000 walk ups for the Livvie game after absolutely the most expensive month we are going to get all season, with 4 non ST games and yet the reason we could end up with a sub 10,000 home crowd for St Mirren is economic, in a month where we have had one ST home game? Absolutely no chance.
This isn't having a go at individual fans who can't afford tonight, it's most definitely having a go at our fans as a whole and if the crowd is sub 10K for tonight it's entirely justified IMO ... especially on a site that's dedicated to folk who are supposed to be 'enthusiastic' about their football club.
27-09-2023, 10:54 AM
I wasn't being serious, though that maybe isn't obvious.
27-09-2023, 11:26 AM
Where have I done that?
I am the first to heavily criticise the SPFL for overloading December with fixtures when that is the most expensive month of the year for most folk. For a long time during the 80s and 90s going to ER every home game was out of the question for me financially, nobody appreciates more than me that football has to take a back seat in folk's priorities at times.
I'm all for a reasoned argument on this subject. But it should be based on available evidence and not just presumptions. Hibs have had one home game this month, which was a ST game, we have one at the end of the month, also a ST game, where most folk who are walk ups will already have been paid. It is therefor reasonable to presume that a large number of folk who regularly attend ER from our average of around 16,000 are giving this game a miss because they simply can't be arsed to go, many of them ST holders.
August:
St Mirren .... 17,500
Villa .... 19,000 .... Non ST a horrific KO time and more expensive tickets than tonight.
Livvi ... 15,000
So we could get near enough 3000 walk ups for the Livvie game after absolutely the most expensive month we are going to get all season, with 4 non ST games and yet the reason we could end up with a sub 10,000 home crowd for St Mirren is economic, in a month where we have had one ST home game? Absolutely no chance.
This isn't having a go at individual fans who can't afford tonight, it's most definitely having a go at our fans as a whole and if the crowd is sub 10K for tonight it's entirely justified IMO ... especially on a site that's dedicated to folk who are supposed to be 'enthusiastic' about their football club.
The European games aren’t comparable, they’re a novelty against different teams. The League Cup just doesn’t do it for folk until you get to Hampden (and sometimes that doesn’t even do it for folk). Always been the same and no sign of it changing across the board.
I think the crowd will be crap and it’s disappointing but it’s simply down to lack of interest in this tournament at this stage.
27-09-2023, 11:30 AM
Wonder what weather we can be expecting by Kick Off?
Storm Agnes passing over so hopefully the stands can maybe provide some shelter from wind/rain.
27-09-2023, 11:33 AM
I take it they'll allow brollies in to the ground? (not to use in the stands obviously...)
27-09-2023, 11:34 AM
How's the weather in Edinburgh? Is there any chance the game could be cancelled?
27-09-2023, 11:37 AM
The European games aren’t comparable, they’re a novelty against different teams. The League Cup just doesn’t do it for folk until you get to Hampden (and sometimes that doesn’t even do it for folk). Always been the same and no sign of it changing across the board.
I think the crowd will be crap and it’s disappointing but it’s simply down to lack of interest in this tournament at this stage.
Yup, it'll be mostly down to the competition. Not saying that's right or wrong, but it's a factor that has to be taken into account if you're going to number crunch. Not every one of the XX000 fans in the stadium in the games in August was a "watch hibs every game in every competition I possibly can" type fans.
27-09-2023, 11:37 AM
If anyone is going to get annoyed at what looks like being a poor turnout, it might be worth seeking out one of the programmes on sale.
If we go all the way and win the thing we can read pleads by non attendees for any spare programmes to complete “road to final” collections and reply by telling them to F-Off in an act of self satisfaction.
27-09-2023, 11:45 AM
How's the weather in Edinburgh? Is there any chance the game could be cancelled?
Cloudy, mild, dry, no wind.
27-09-2023, 11:50 AM
A good point
I am not aware of the Old Firm support being affluent (in any shape or form) yet they turn up for cup games more than a lot of our support do
A home game, a new manager, a £2.5m forward line...and folk want 1994 prices as an incentive?
Embarassing bunch
27-09-2023, 12:15 PM
Not that many tickets left in the west, couple of sections nearly sold out in the east. It won't be a great crowd but it'll be better than some were predicting I reckon
27-09-2023, 12:42 PM
Not that many tickets left in the west, couple of sections nearly sold out in the east. It won't be a great crowd but it'll be better than some were predicting I reckon
Other than the middle sections, the East & West both have loads left
27-09-2023, 12:51 PM
Novelty or not I doubt many folk gave paying the leccy bill a miss to go to any of our 3 European matches in August.
The crowd at Kilmarnock last night was 6,014 ... 263 less than their previous home game with us, the Hearts support didn't look any bigger than ours was. I imagine it wasn't a ST game for their fans so it was their 2nd PATG game this month and it was their 5th home game. The weather was appalling too.
Clearly their lack of interest for one of only two competitions either club has a hope of winning doesn't match ours once they reach the quarter finals .... maybe it's not just Jambos who suffer from 'its too wee tae bother aboot' syndrome.
27-09-2023, 01:48 PM
Anyone know how many tickets St Mirren have sold for tonight? I presume quite a few since Hibs are closing the gate before and after the game between the east and south.
Gruff
27-09-2023, 01:49 PM
The weather report from roughly a mile from ER is the rain has arrived and the wind is at breeze level, but fairly mild temp wise
27-09-2023, 02:02 PM
Anyone know how many tickets St Mirren have sold for tonight? I presume quite a few since Hibs are closing the gate before and after the game between the east and south.
Read earlier 1300.
27-09-2023, 02:10 PM
Where have I done that?
August:
St Mirren .... 17,500
Livvi ... 15,000
Why do you care so much about whether other Hibs fans go to the game tonight or not??
Why do you even want to have a go at anyone?!
Seems like a complete waste of your time and energy getting worked up about nothing.
27-09-2023, 02:43 PM
Novelty or not I doubt many folk gave paying the leccy bill a miss to go to any of our 3 European matches in August.
The crowd at Kilmarnock last night was 6,014 ... 263 less than their previous home game with us, the Hearts support didn't look any bigger than ours was. I imagine it wasn't a ST game for their fans so it was their 2nd PATG game this month and it was their 5th home game. The weather was appalling too.
Clearly their lack of interest for one of only two competitions either club has a hope of winning doesn't match ours once they reach the quarter finals .... maybe it's not just Jambos who suffer from 'its too wee tae bother aboot' syndrome.
Re the first bit, I don’t think most people are paying attention to the leccy bill now. They simply don’t want to go whereas they do want to go to a European game. That’s all there is to it.
It’s the same at most stadiums in this competition. Guaranteed the crowd at Ibrox tonight will be well down on what it was on Saturday.
I’ll be there, I’d prefer a bigger crowd, but it is what it is.
27-09-2023, 02:52 PM
What’s the weather like in Edinburgh currently? I’m at work in Haddington and it’s just starting to turn. Pissing down but no actually that windy
27-09-2023, 03:03 PM
What’s the weather like in Edinburgh currently? I’m at work in Haddington and it’s just starting to turn. Pissing down but no actually that windy
Been hosing down for 2 hours, quite mild, not much wind at AGB.
27-09-2023, 03:10 PM
Just seen a paper bag wafting along the street.
27-09-2023, 03:10 PM
It's not raining where i am in Leith just now. It has been raining on and off today but not heavily. There's no wind and it's mild outside, although this may all change closer to kick off time if the 'storm' arrives.
27-09-2023, 03:12 PM
since Hibs are closing the gate before and after the game between the east and south.
Where are you seeing that ?
Edit: just seen it. Extra walking time on a night when it will be chucking it down, great.
27-09-2023, 03:21 PM
Just seen a paper bag wafting along the street.
Where are you seeing that?
27-09-2023, 03:26 PM
Why do you care so much about whether other Hibs fans go to the game tonight or not??
Why do you even want to have a go at anyone?!
Seems like a complete waste of your time and energy getting worked up about nothing.
Think he makes perfectly valid points.
27-09-2023, 03:35 PM
A good point
I am not aware of the Old Firm support being affluent (in any shape or form) yet they turn up for cup games more than a lot of our support do
A home game, a new manager, a £2.5m forward line...and folk want 1994 prices as an incentive?
Embarassing bunch
Rangers have good availability in almost every area of their stadium.
Wakeyhibee
27-09-2023, 03:37 PM
Where have I done that?
August:
St Mirren .... 17,500
Livvi ... 15,000
I think this is down to choice as a result of changing watching habits.
20yrs ago and more STs accounted for roughly 10% of the home support now its roughly 80%. LC & SC games attract far smaller crowds compared to league games v respective opponents. Go back to when it was less STs and the SC certainly and some LC games drew far more.
Overall Hibs support has grown in my lifetime maybe not latent support but regular attending and overall season totals.
I think today there's a choice to be made after committing to an ST. Its not just a Hibs or Scottish football thing either. The English league games are the same in relation to their respective cup games.
27-09-2023, 03:42 PM
Where have I done that?
You didn't.
My original reply was to Blaster's post.
27-09-2023, 04:16 PM
Where are you seeing that ?
Edit: just seen it. Extra walking time on a night when it will be chucking it down, great.
I know it's the polis not Hibs who decide but anyone know the likelihood of the barrier being up in Albion Place after the game to let the away fans disperse up Easter Road before us? Would rather wait for 15-20mins in the stand than outside at the barrier if it's pissing down.
27-09-2023, 04:24 PM
Is the game on Hibs TV international?
27-09-2023, 09:39 PM
You didn't.
My original reply was to Blaster's post.
Hopefully everyone can afford 3 games in a week. Especially me 😉🇳🇬