View Full Version : Jimmy O'Rourke On this day in 1965
18-09-2023, 03:32 PM
Jimmy ORourke would have been 77 today.
On this day 18th Sept 1965 on his 19th birthday Jimmy scored two goals in a 4=0 win at Tiny against Hertz.
Fans streamed in late,others were leaving as Hibs were 4=0 up within first eight minutes of the game.
Other 2 goals courtesy of my legendary hero Eric" the rebel" Stevenson.
Ok ..a thread from the Hibs.net archive retelling that game and a couple of other interesting links about and by Jimmy .
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?161530-Jimmy-O-Rourke-s-Birthday-18-September
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/classic-match-hearts-0-hibs-4-sept-18-1965-2443980
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/jimmy-orourke-interview-only-room-for-one-wee-fat-barrel-at-hibs-294920
Everyone knew his name :greengrin
Maybe the tech types here can add/link some photos etc:aok:
Bless him Michael. Never far from my thoughts. Some 19th birthday and only played because Neil Martin was injured. Jimmy and Eric were of course famously the 2 substitutes against Real Madrid!
18-09-2023, 03:48 PM
Bless him Michael. Never far from my thoughts. Some 19th birthday and only played because Neil Martin was injured. Jimmy and Eric were of course famously the 2 substitutes against Real Madrid!
Aye Brian you knew James from school and kept that friendship for the rest of his life.
You knew him better than most and of course i understand you miss him
today.
God Bless JOR
MagicSwirlingShip
18-09-2023, 03:51 PM
On this day 18th Sept 1965 on his 19th birthday Jimmy scored two goals in a 4=0 win at Tiny against Hertz.
Fans streamed in late,others were leaving as Hibs were 4=0 up within first eight minutes of the game.
Ok ..a thread from the Hibs.net archive retelling that game and a couple of other interesting links about and by Jimmy .
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?161530-Jimmy-O-Rourke-s-Birthday-18-September
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/classic-match-hearts-0-hibs-4-sept-18-1965-2443980
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/jimmy-orourke-interview-only-room-for-one-wee-fat-barrel-at-hibs-294920
Thanks for sharing Mick, love posts like this,
Can you fill us younger ones in why Eric Stevenson was named “The Rebel?”
18-09-2023, 04:06 PM
Thanks for sharing Mick, love posts like this,
Can you fill us younger ones in why Eric Stevenson was named “The Rebel?”
Brog would likely answer that better than me.
Eric was a product of the post war austerity and would have been a fan of movies that had yer Marlon Brandos and Jimmy Deans
Rebels without a cause type films
Eric like them characters was a bit of a social rebel ,clothes,hair style etc.
That is my thoughts on the nickname The Rebel.
There might be a more football related reason. I dont know.
It might be lillian Gish .Brog will know !
I remember when we used to go for our 26 bus at Montrose Terrace, we would see Eric and other players going into the pub named Lovats across from the bus stop.It was called The Terrace years later
Pubs opened at 5pm then after afternoon close from 2.30
The match finished twenty minutes ago and they are first in the pub !!
Quite The Rebel right enough. Never had a bath !!:greengrin
18-09-2023, 05:04 PM
Hi Mick, hope you're doing alright pal.
I think Eric Stevenson was known as The Rebel from the fact that Hearts originally signed him on a full professional contract when he was under age. It resulted in them being fined £150 by the SFA and led to Hibs stepping in him to sign him when he came of age.
18-09-2023, 05:13 PM
I think Eric Stevenson was known as The Rebel from the fact that Hearts originally signed him on a full professional contract when he was under age. It resulted in them being fined £150 by the SFA and led to Hibs stepping in him to sign him when he came of age.
👍
And Hearts S Form Peter Cormack drove a tractor into a terracing wall at Tiny that’s how we got him 😂
18-09-2023, 05:19 PM
I was one of the late comers thanks to a missed bus!
Hearts fans were streaming out as we went through the turnstiles. Reading the Evening News article it more or less implies that we were lucky.😂😂😂😂
18-09-2023, 05:40 PM
I was one of the late comers thanks to a missed bus!
Hearts fans were streaming out as we went through the turnstiles. Reading the Evening News article it more or less implies that we were lucky.
aye,lucky,like the Zorro Game (0-7)
Years later in a boozer ,a jambo chatting to Jimmy said
"before you scored the 1st goal ,hertz could have been two up"
To which Jimmy replied "Well ,it would have been 7-2 then !"
Jimmy was one of two players whose move from hibs left me utterly dejected, the other being Pat Stanton.
18-09-2023, 10:11 PM
Cheers... One day at a time,:greengrin as the song goes.
Aye ,maybe so on The Rebel nickname origins.
Boyle and Elie would have liked his style,with his dazzling runs down the left wing.
He could show Boyler how to win a penalty !
He did epitomise this great hit of 1962
"Just because he doesnt do what everybody else does":singing::singing:
!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=waRbcqP4cUI
Eric was a great "left fitter" So was Jimmy :greengrin
19-09-2023, 06:40 AM
Cheers... One day at a time,:greengrin as the song goes.
Aye ,maybe so on The Rebel nickname origins.
Boyle and Elie would have liked his style,with his dazzling runs down the left wing.
He could show Boyler how to win a penalty !
He did epitomise this great hit of 1962
"Just because he doesnt do what everybody else does":singing::singing:
!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=waRbcqP4cUI
Eric was a great "left fitter" So was Jimmy :greengrin
Used to be a joy watching Stevie’s tricky wing play hugging that touchline dribbling twisting and turning always had the fullback in his back pocket the master at winning penalties for the Penalty King Joe Davis to slot home
Jock Wallace once said if he got his act together he could easily play for Scotland but was up against Henderson and Johnstone
A die hard Hibee went AWOL at Ayr United to watch Hibs win the League Cup at Hampden in 1972
His book ‘ Hibs Through and Through’ is a good read
Another like Wee Jimmy gone but not forgotten
19-09-2023, 08:29 AM
Great thread, fantastic to have first hand accounts of such great players from people who knew them. Thank you.:thumbsup:
H18S NX
19-09-2023, 12:21 PM
Mick,was i with you at that game? my memory is no the same these days,I spoke to Eric a few months before he passed(he was the brother in law) of a mate of mine,spoke for ages about the Hibs,a great guy indeed ,just like Jimmy.RIP.
That's pretty much the case although in those days, more than 60 years ago all the power was with the clubs. Eric was effectively an early day Bosman, point blank refused to play for them until his contract was torn up. As Billy says Peter C was similar though he didn't have to go to same lengths as Eric to get his contract cancelled. Of course a 17 year old Peter, was one of the stars of the Real M game along with the ancient 19 years old King Pat. Incidentally Peter and Jimmy both shared the nickname Corky in their younger days! Michael, thanks for starting this lovely thread.
19-09-2023, 04:29 PM
That's pretty much the case although in those days, more than 60 years ago all the power was with the clubs. Eric was effectively an early day Bosman, point blank refused to play for them until his contract was torn up. As Billy says Peter C was similar though he didn't have to go to same lengths as Eric to get his contract cancelled. Of course a 17 year old Peter, was one of the stars of the Real M game along with the ancient 19 years old King Pat. Incidentally Peter and Jimmy both shared the nickname Corky in their younger days! Michael, thanks for starting this lovely thread.
Great recall you have Brian.
I mind the reason now .Although i still prefer my "teddy boy" version !
I mind in later years McLean at the Arabs would tie laddies to awfy long contracts.
May have ruined a few who couldn't break through at United and stagnated
I think a stop was put to that.
19-09-2023, 04:37 PM
Mick,was i with you at that game? my memory is no the same these days,I spoke to Eric a few months before he passed(he was the brother in law) of a mate of mine,spoke for ages about the Hibs,a great guy indeed ,just like Jimmy.RIP.
Very likely,Gordon. My memory is the same.
Befuddled with the "drug" of our youth at games.
Half bottle o Four Crown and 4 cans o Export (in the ground)
In the early days of Clerry there was loads of Hibby's.
A fair squad of us went together in those schooldays of the early/mid 60s.
Migrants came from the overcrowded tenements of Leith ,Stockbridge and the Southside,to the then countryside that was Clermiston !!
A few Lochender migrants as well near us !
So the number 1 bus from the top o Drum Brae would be full by the time it got to Corstorphine or D/Mains the other way !!
Any more fares,please !! ding ding !!
Games at Tynie then (if we won) would result in a mass march from top o McLeod Street back into toon.
Singing and dancing awe the way !No flares or drums !!
Kinda dispersed around Haymarket/Shandwick Place.
19-09-2023, 04:41 PM
Very likely Gordon. My memory is the same.
Although in the early days of Clerry there was loads of Hibby's.
Migrants came from the overcrowded tenements of Leith ,Stockbridge and the Southside,to the then countryside that was Clermiston !!
So the number 1 bus from the top o Drum Brae would be full by the time it got to Corstorphine or D/Mains the other way !!
Can still see the ‘ Clerrie Jungle ‘ sign disappearing over the horizon in the # 1 bus going over the Drumbrae 😀
Tongs ya bass !
19-09-2023, 04:59 PM
Can still see the ‘ Clerrie Jungle ‘ sign disappearing over the horizon ��
Tongs ya bass !
Aye Billy, they were very much a Hibs squad when founded:rockin::greengrin
"we've got class!!
Oh and i liked your recollection of Stevie going to the 72 LC Final.
It should have been in a Hibs blazer !.
19-09-2023, 06:55 PM
Taken too soon. Wonderful player and true Hibee
19-09-2023, 07:19 PM
Games at Tynie then (if we won) would result in a mass march from top o McLeod Street back into toon.
Kinda dispersed around Haymarket/Shandwick Place.
Great times and a regular occurrence in those days. The march after the Pat Quinn hat trick game was one of the best.
19-09-2023, 07:42 PM
Great times and a regular occurrence in those days. The march after the Pat Quinn hat trick game was one of the best.
Pat " The General" Quinn had his own song, too !
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=klWzVuxdygg
[ Pat played over 200 games for Hibs,
cementing his place in the club’s pantheon of heroes with a hat-trick against Hearts in 1967 (1-4)
A great goal in their legendary win over Real Madrid in a 1964 friendly,
and another goal in their equally-celebrated 5-0 win over Napoli in the Fairs Cup.
Along the way, he had been the Easter Road club’s first official substitute in a competitive game, against Clyde.
His final game for Hibs was against Celtic in the 1969 League Cup Final]
Source :The Scotsman/EEN
The Mighty Quinn RIP
19-09-2023, 07:52 PM
Remember Wee Jimmy scoring a sublime free-kick with the outside of his right foot to help reduce the deficit
19-09-2023, 08:06 PM
Remember Wee Jimmy scoring a sublime free-kick with the outside of his right foot to help reduce the deficit
Indeed, Billy
Fire at Hampden a few months earlier resulted in the 1968/69 LC Final being delayed.
We fancied our chances when it should have been played :agree:
Conspiracy !! Petrie !!
We got a hiding ,but that wisnae a bad Hibs team.
So i will add this to show the two best goals of that game ..at the end !
Only continentals back then scored free kicks like the one you mention!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wx2ePQycYtM
Pat " The General" Quinn had his own song, too !
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=klWzVuxdygg
[ Pat played over 200 games for Hibs,
cementing his place in the club’s pantheon of heroes with a hat-trick against Hearts in 1967 (1-4)
A great goal in their legendary win over Real Madrid in a 1964 friendly,
and another goal in their equally-celebrated 5-0 win over Napoli in the Fairs Cup.
Along the way, he had been the Easter Road club’s first official substitute in a competitive game, against Clyde.
His final game for Hibs was against Celtic in the 1969 League Cup Final]
Source :The Scotsman/EEN
The Mighty Quinn RIP
Michael,after the 4 1 game at Tynecastle we stood outside to meet the players. Wee Pat Quinn hadn't scored for 2 years but had notched a superb hat trick. My pal, Ted Brack, top Hibs author, said ' Pat is that your 1st ever hat trick? Pat replied, ' seek scoring them son'! Some player, some man Pat Quinn!!
19-09-2023, 08:50 PM
Michael,after the 4 1 game at Tynecastle we stood outside to meet the players. Wee Pat Quinn hadn't scored for 2 years but had notched a superb hat trick. My pal, Ted Brack, top Hibs author, said ' Pat is that your 1st ever hat trick? Pat replied, ' seek scoring them son'! Some player, some man Pat Quinn!!
Aye,Brian
Cheeky Ted !
Nae flies oan The Mighty Quinn (23 months it wiz)
Jimmy loved him, and learning from him !
Link to some photos/information on Pat for our younger fans
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/pat-quinn-tributes-hibs-legend-18587004
https://www.scotsman.com/news/obituaries/obituary-pat-quinn-free-scoring-football-player-manager-and-coach-2929827
20-09-2023, 12:14 AM
Bloody hell, takes me back that game, I was 12
20-09-2023, 07:20 AM
Bloody hell, takes me back that game, I was 12
Still remember it well.
Standing in the school end, thinking I couldn’t wait to see my Hearts supporting pals!
Remember one telling me he was stuck in a queue getting in…by the time he got in it was 4-0 so he went straight out again.
20-09-2023, 07:30 AM
Love this stuff. Before my time but lovely to read about memories and great players.
20-09-2023, 07:37 AM
Interesting clip from the Match Day Programme
Hearts couldn’t beat us at Tiny but were undefeated at Easter Road in the preceding 10 years our very own and Jimmy’s great pal and striking partner Alan Gordon scoring four goals against us
The preceding New Years Day fixture saw a 1-0 win at Tiny for the Hibees with Willie Hamilton scoring that wonder goal from an impossible angle
https://i.ibb.co/zbkg9vk/IMG-2058.png (https://ibb.co/ZKZr4DZ)
https://i.ibb.co/bFZ0KZJ/IMG-2059.png (https://ibb.co/yp19Q1S)
20-09-2023, 07:58 AM
Interesting clip from the Match Day Programme
Hearts couldn’t beat us at Tiny but were undefeated at Easter Road in the preceding 10 years our very own and Jimmy’s great pal and striking partner Alan Gordon scoring four goals against us
The preceding New Years Day fixture saw a 1-0 win at Tiny for the Hibees with Willie Hamilton scoring that wonder goal from an impossible angle
https://i.ibb.co/zbkg9vk/IMG-2058.png (https://ibb.co/ZKZr4DZ)
https://i.ibb.co/bFZ0KZJ/IMG-2059.png (https://ibb.co/yp19Q1S)
https://youtu.be/l3Z0Qa7sjDg?si=obfhPdrmOAKJn8gp
Good stuff, Billy
The first part of the following film is dedicated to Willie(and includes that goal you mention !) and his relationship with Jock Stein.(the remainder of the film is about Stein leaving Hibs)
What a team that was,though. Skill in abundance !
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l3Z0Qa7sjDg
20-09-2023, 08:06 AM
Good stuff, Billy
The first part of the following film is dedicated to Willie(and includes that goal you mention !) and his relationship with Jock Stein.
What a team that was !
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l3Z0Qa7sjDg
Was that you or Brog running on to the pitch to congratulate Willie Hamilton on his wonder strike ?
20-09-2023, 08:23 AM
Was that you or Brog running on to the pitch to congratulate Willie Hamilton on his wonder strike ?
I never owned a big coat like that, i was only 13 at the time ! :greengrin
I remember a well known Hibby back in the Tornadoes days who ran on the pitch from the old North Enclosure and got chucked out the ground .
He got back in and did it again !
He was raging at the ref .Guess what?... it was a game against The Hun .
I knew him from the West End boozers at the time .Some character was big Peter .
Its a shame there are not a load of film from that era and the Tornadoes days ,but i found this episode of BBC Scotland Sportsreel programme from 63/64 season. A Derby included!
Older fans will recognise commentators.
Brilliant footage.Pure nostalgia!:greengrin
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H6jBNlRFcm8
20-09-2023, 08:42 AM
I never owned a big coat like that, i was only 13 at the time ! :greengrin
I remember a well known Hibby back in the Tornadoes days who ran on the pitch from the old North Enclosure and got chucked out the ground .
He got back in and did it again !
He was raging at the ref .Guess what?... it was a game against The Hun .
I knew him from the West End boozers at the time .Some character was big Peter .
Its a shame there are not a load of film from that era and the Tornadoes days ,but i found this episode of BBC Scotland Sportsreel programme from 63/64 season. A Derby included!
Older fans will recognise commentators.
Brilliant footage.Pure nostalgia!:greengrin
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H6jBNlRFcm8
Can almost smell the hot pies, pish , baccy and stale alcohol watching that
Beware of pickpockets !
20-09-2023, 09:07 AM
Still remember it well.
Standing in the school end, thinking I couldn’t wait to see my Hearts supporting pals!
Remember one telling me he was stuck in a queue getting in…by the time he got in it was 4-0 so he went straight out again.
Aye Fred
Of course no fan segregation then, although it tended to sort itself out at the games ,particularly behind the goals.
The Tynie main shed opposite main stand could get tasty on Derby Days.
Jimmy was fortunate to travel the world with Hibs ,but i know he cherished his time in Oz with fellow Hibs fans who treated him and his wife like royalty .
And you treated me to a pint in the Standing Order when i met you with Jimmy all those years ago on one of your "home visits":greengrin
Maybe now with Monty in charge, and the Australian players/connections you might see Hibs on Tour in Oz in the near future !!
Maybe Jason C fancies a return to ER for a bit :greengrin
H18S NX
20-09-2023, 10:56 AM
Kinda dispersed around Haymarket/Shandwick Place......Happy days m8,hope you are keeping well.
20-09-2023, 01:59 PM
Can almost smell the hot pies, pish , baccy and stale alcohol watching that
Beware of pickpockets !
Aye Hertz had the sign up everywhere round the ground walls.No change there,then !
There might have been a bit of nefarious nonsense at the games back then with such huge crowds,including the guy on the terrace aisleswho sold the bruised/chipped apples covered in toffee,oot a soggy card board box with a string handles !
I missed this cup game linked below,my nappies wirnae dry !!
Brog likely go a lift over that day :agree: or sneaked in !
I know this thread and main topic is going sideways and backwards/
I really wante to link this film to show younger fans the sheer scale and size of the main terrace back then (East)
The top section (known as Shaws Heights) was added after our record breaking crowd v hertz of a few seasons earlier.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ddj-Xh9JipE
A wee nostalgic bonus is this wonderful film a few years before the terracing extension.
And Hibs were champions of Scotland.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mu8T2jQVQAI
Courtesy of Hibby Col
I note the Clermiston number 1 bus to the Holy Ground at the beginning of film:greengrin
Even though Clerry housing had yet to be built !!:greengrin
Probably D/Mains/Quality Street* terminus then.and Corstorphine.
:singing: "At Easter Road they play":singing:
*Quality Street. What a name that would be for a football ground !
20-09-2023, 02:32 PM
.....Happy days m8,hope you are keeping well.
Getting by,Gordon.Tough few years with my illness.
All that lockdown and shielding takes its toll.But i got through it
Losing our pal Davie Carnegie to covid scared me a bit. Didnae see that coming.
Anyway, i digress . Sorry Folks!
Aye ,we had some great days back then,win or lose .
We enjoyed our games and the social aspect.... Tawny, Ruby, Fortified, or whatever cheap hooch/wine and beer !! ..
and when we graduated it was up the Clerry Inn or hit the toon !
Ma Scotts at 17 was one !!
Happy days indeed. CJYB :greengrin:agree:
Cheers!!:thumbsup:
Mark05
20-09-2023, 03:26 PM
Hi Mick, My dad used to love talking about Jimmy and the famous five and the tornadoes. I must admit i was a bit jealous as it was before my time.I grew up watching teams that how can I say were mediocre.I remember him telling me before segregation he was at a derby game and a hearts fan punched him in the face,I asked him what he did he told me he watched the rest of the game and when the final whistle went tapped the the guy on the shoulder and punched the guy back.I couldn't have waited but my dad loved football and didn't want to miss the game brawling.I can imagine what went on in those days
20-09-2023, 03:38 PM
Hi Mick, My dad used to love talking about Jimmy and the famous five and the tornadoes. I must admit i was a bit jealous as it was before my time.I grew up watching teams that how can I say were mediocre.I remember him telling me before segregation he was at a derby game and a hearts fan punched him in the face,I asked him what he did he told me he watched the rest of the game and when the final whistle went tapped the the guy on the shoulder and punched the guy back.I couldn't have waited but my dad loved football and didn't want to miss the game brawling.I can imagine what went on in those days
God Bless your Dad.He did the diplomatic thing :casper: take that, jumbo !
We have had a couple of good football teams with good skill since your dad's and Jimmy's time.
And one of course that secured the Holy Grail ....at last.
Lets hope Monty cements his way and it is the exciting football promised that will have supporters on edge of their seats again.
Other than demanding managerial changes every 5 minutes, Hibs fans dont ask for much,do they?:greengrin
Oh Here is another Hun skelping from the archive
100.000 at Greyskull .Scottish Cup Tie 1951
Familiar final score:greengrin
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cdtm5w3LDNU
Mark05
20-09-2023, 04:41 PM
God Bless your Dad.He did the diplomatic thing :casper: take that, jumbo !
We have had a couple of good football teams with good skill since your dad's and Jimmy's time.
And one of course that secured the Holy Grail ....at last.
Lets hope Monty cements his way and it is the exciting football promised that will have supporters on edge of their seats again.
Other than demanding managerial changes every 5 minutes, Hibs fans dont ask for much,do they?:greengrin
Oh Here is another Hun skelping from the archive
100.000 at Greyskull .Scottish Cup Tie 1951
Familiar final score:greengrin
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cdtm5w3LDNU
I enjoyed watching that Mick,it's always nice watching hibs beat rangers no matter when it was.Yes your right there has been some good hibs teams league Cup winners 1991,2007 good times and latapy, suzee etc was a great team to watch. Obviously the big one in 2016 we will never forget.I have a good feeling with Monty hopefully the good times will come again all the best
20-09-2023, 05:05 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cK2MBVjZa50
Here's Mr O'Rourke in action, some fantastic goals and a nice wee bit of reminiscence from the great man himself.
21-09-2023, 02:03 AM
Aye Fred
Of course no fan segregation then, although it tended to sort itself out at the games ,particularly behind the goals.
The Tynie main shed opposite main stand could get tasty on Derby Days.
Jimmy was fortunate to travel the world with Hibs ,but i know he cherished his time in Oz with fellow Hibs fans who treated him and his wife like royalty .
And you treated me to a pint in the Standing Order when i met you with Jimmy all those years ago on one of your "home visits":greengrin
Maybe now with Monty in charge, and the Australian players/connections you might see Hibs on Tour in Oz in the near future !!
Maybe Jason C fancies a return to ER for a bit :greengrin
Wouldn't surprise me to see Monty offer JC another stint in the future if he became available.....certainly knows how to get the best out of him
21-09-2023, 07:13 AM
Not seen it mentioned but pretty sure Jimmy was due to go to Blackpool that weekend for the traditional Blackpool September weekend escape with his mates and to celebrate his 19th birthday and was surprised to be told to bring his boots to Tiny on the Saturday as he was playing
A few disappointed Hearts mates were not too pleased to see him when he eventually caught up with them down south
Apologies if already posted
21-09-2023, 07:41 AM
Not seen it mentioned but pretty sure Jimmy was due to go to Blackpool that weekend for the traditional Blackpool September weekend escape with his mates and to celebrate his 19th birthday and was surprised to be told to bring his boots to Tiny on the Saturday as he was playing
A few disappointed Hearts mates were not too pleased to see him when he eventually caught up with them down south
Apologies if already posted
Billy
It is spoken of in one of the best interviews i think Jimmy did.
An interview with The Scotsman around 5 years ago.
I linked it in my OP.
Its the nearest Jimmy got to writing a book.!
It was the "the wee fat barrel" interview.
Full of humour and honesty on himself and his love for Hibs.
Jimmy's Blackpool story aka Hertz 0 Hibs 4 :greengrin
On 18 September, 1965 I was turning 19 and I had the trip to Blackpool booked, having expected to be playing the reserves derby the night before.
But Neil Martin was injured, so I was put up to the first team.
By the tenth minute, Hearts fans were streaming out of Tynecastle and Hibs fans late in arriving had missed four goals.
Eric Stevenson scored two and I got one with my right foot from 20 yards and another with my left from the same distance.
I carried on down to Blackpool after the game, my first trip there, and was standing underneath the tower when this Hearts pal, Jimmy Ferguson, shouted: ‘You dirty Hibee *******!’
He’d been at Bloomfield Road (Blackpool FC ground) that afternoon.
“‘I couldn’t believe what was happening at Tynie when the half-times were put up on the scoreboard,’ he said. ‘
In fact, I climbed over the wall and went right up the tunnel to query it.
‘I think you must have that one the wrong way round,’ I said.
‘No,’ I was told, ‘it’s four to Hibs.’”:greengrin
.................................................. .........................................
Even down in Blackpool
Everyone knew his name !!:wink:
21-09-2023, 08:04 AM
Billy
It is spoken of in one of the best interviews i think Jimmy did.
An interview with The Scotsman around 5 years ago.
I linked it in my OP.
Its the nearest Jimmy got to writing a book.!
It was the "the wee fat barrel" interview.
Full of humour and honesty on himself and his love for Hibs.
Jimmy's Blackpool story aka Hertz 0 Hibs 4 :greengrin
On 18 September, 1965 I was turning 19 and I had the trip to Blackpool booked, having expected to be playing the reserves derby the night before.
But Neil Martin was injured, so I was put up to the first team.
By the tenth minute, Hearts fans were streaming out of Tynecastle and Hibs fans late in arriving had missed four goals.
Eric Stevenson scored two and I got one with my right foot from 20 yards and another with my left from the same distance.
I carried on down to Blackpool after the game, my first trip there, and was standing underneath the tower when this Hearts pal, Jimmy Ferguson, shouted: ‘You dirty Hibee *******!’
He’d been at Bloomfield Road (Blackpool FC ground) that afternoon.
“‘I couldn’t believe what was happening at Tynie when the half-times were put up on the scoreboard,’ he said. ‘
In fact, I climbed over the wall and went right up the tunnel to query it.
‘I think you must have that one the wrong way round,’ I said.
‘No,’ I was told, ‘it’s four to Hibs.’”:greengrin
.................................................. .........................................
Even down in Blackpool
Everyone knew his name !!:wink:
👍