View Full Version : East v west

17-09-2023, 08:34 PM
We all know that weegies are weird, preferring salt and vinegar over salt and sauce.

I came across another one today, complete the nonsense verse "Skinny Malinky long-legs" what kind of feet did they have??

My weegie wife says one thing I say something else.

Jay
17-09-2023, 08:36 PM
Big banana feet, of course :greengrin

17-09-2023, 08:38 PM
Big banana feet, of course :greengrin

Are you from the east or west? 🤔

Paulie Walnuts
17-09-2023, 08:41 PM
Umbrella feet - from Edinburgh.

17-09-2023, 08:42 PM
Umbrella feet :greengrin

17-09-2023, 09:11 PM
We all know that weegies are weird, preferring salt and vinegar over salt and sauce.

I came across another one today, complete the nonsense verse "Skinny Malinky long-legs" what kind of feet did they have??

My weegie wife says one thing I say something else.Hold on..

Skinny Malinky long legs
Big bannany feet
Went to the pictures
Couldny find a seat
When the picture started
Skinny Malinky farted

..remembered that last bit as I typed, sadly.

Heard that as a tiny nipper, am from Niddrie.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Stairway 2 7
17-09-2023, 09:13 PM
Hold on..

Skinny Malinky long legs
Big bannany feet
Went to the pictures
Couldny find a seat
When the picture started
Skinny Malinky farted

Same, Leith

Jay
17-09-2023, 10:36 PM
Are you from the east or west? 🤔

East

18-09-2023, 12:03 AM
Umbrella Feet from the North West of England 😀

18-09-2023, 03:56 AM
Umbarella feet. Need the extra syllable to make it scan. North of Edinburgh.

18-09-2023, 06:35 AM
Umbrella feet when I was growing up in Edinburgh.

18-09-2023, 07:09 AM
Hold on..

Skinny Malinky long legs
Big bannany feet
Went to the pictures
Couldny find a seat
When the picture started
Skinny Malinky farted

Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkThis Magdalene boy says it was definitely umbrella feet[emoji16]

18-09-2023, 09:20 AM
Umbarelly feet.

Leith, 1970”s.

18-09-2023, 10:13 AM
This Magdalene boy says it was definitely umbrella feet[emoji16]

Sent from my SM-A750FN using TapatalkA huge cultural demarcation there.

Ya big bannany.

18-09-2023, 10:13 AM
Umbarella feet. Need the extra syllable to make it scan. North of Edinburgh.What extra sylable?

18-09-2023, 10:21 AM
What extra sylable?

18-09-2023, 10:32 AM
This is dug-out fodder.

So it is...

18-09-2023, 10:39 AM
A huge cultural demarcation there.

Ya big bannany.

Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkMYT ya bass[emoji6]

18-09-2023, 11:16 AM
MYT ya bass[emoji6]

I'll have a word with both of the MYT later.

18-09-2023, 11:31 AM
I'll have a word with both of the MYT later.

Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkQuality not quantity. Well known fact that every male under 20 from magdalene could sprint through Niddrie tunnel to the comparative safety of Bingham in sub 5 seconds[emoji16]

18-09-2023, 12:03 PM
Quality not quantity. Well known fact that every male under 20 from magdalene could sprint through Niddrie tunnel to the comparative safety of Bingham in sub 5 seconds[emoji16]

Sent from my SM-A750FN using Tapatalk[emoji1787] That tunnel was your friend.

18-09-2023, 12:04 PM
[emoji1787] That tunnel was your friend.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk[emoji23]

18-09-2023, 12:07 PM
Big banana feet

East Lothian, so much further East than you Edinbuggers ;-)

18-09-2023, 12:42 PM
Work pals, one from Blackhall the other from Albert St, firmly on the side of bannany as well.

18-09-2023, 12:44 PM
Big banana feet

Also East Lothian and big banana feet.

18-09-2023, 01:01 PM
Work pals, one from Blackhall the other from Albert St, firmly on the side of bannany as well.

Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkMissus born in Leith said umbrella feet straight away.

Clinches it for me.

18-09-2023, 01:06 PM
Dalkeith, banana.

18-09-2023, 01:19 PM
I can't remember (greeendykes) but my wife falls down firmly on the bananay feet and she's from Livi.

18-09-2023, 01:24 PM
Split in my office.

I'm umbrella (Oxgangs), the 2 Leithers are the same, the 19 year old has no ****ing idea what we are talking about and the sole west coaster (Ayrshire) is banany.

18-09-2023, 01:27 PM
Umbrella feet when I grew up in Leith but I have heard both versions over the years

18-09-2023, 01:30 PM
Leith= Umbrella feet

fact and end of

Leith= Salt and Sauce

fact and end of

oh and YLT ya bass

18-09-2023, 02:40 PM
Thanks everyone, it seems to vary depending on where you grew up. Umbrella for me, Stockbridge and fife. Banana for my wife, Grangemouth.

18-09-2023, 02:48 PM
What bloody use is a banana in scotland where it's always raining?

Umbrella wins every time[emoji16]

18-09-2023, 03:08 PM
What bloody use is a banana in scotland where it's always raining?

Umbrella wins every time[emoji16]

You haven't thought it through.

It's not whether a banana is of use in Scotland or not. It's about living with them as feet and how that impacts any or all visits to the cinema.

How would you use the umbierellys if you had them attached to the bottom of your legs anyway?

18-09-2023, 03:11 PM
You haven't thought it through.

It's not whether a banana is of use in Scotland or not. It's about living with them as feet and how that impacts any or all visits to the cinema.

How would you use the umbierellys if you had them attached to the bottom of your legs anyway?

Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkI just can't contemplate having bananas as feet when umbrellas are available. I feel the same way about any other fruit in this situation.

Whereas with an umbrella, I'd do handstands if it was raining, best use of resources available if that resource is available.

18-09-2023, 03:27 PM
I just can't contemplate having bananas as feet when umbrellas are available. I feel the same way about any other fruit in this situation.

Whereas with an umbrella, I'd do handstands if it was raining, best use of resources available if that resource is available.

Aye, you and handstands. Happens every day.

18-09-2023, 03:31 PM

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk[emoji23]

I'm off to the pub......

18-09-2023, 04:03 PM
Another Bannany from me, born Leith brought up East Lothian.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.glasgowlive.co.uk/news/glasgow-news/skinny-malinky-long-legs-classic-20050781.amp

18-09-2023, 04:07 PM

banana feet where I grew up in Livingston

18-09-2023, 04:46 PM
Also East Lothian and big banana feet.

Bridge hibs
18-09-2023, 04:58 PM
I just can't contemplate having bananas as feet when umbrellas are available. I feel the same way about any other fruit in this situation.

Sent from my SM-A750FN using TapatalkYou wear the banana skins on your feet, they help if you have Plantain fasciitis 🤭

18-09-2023, 05:16 PM
You wear the banana skins on your feet, they help if you have Plantain fasciitis [emoji2960]Bloody fascists, get everywhere

18-09-2023, 09:38 PM
"No danger" is another one.

Pretty much means the opposite thing depending on which coast you are on.

18-09-2023, 10:27 PM
Umbrella must be a specifically Edinburgh thing - I was anything but West Coast (West Lothian) and it was banana there...

19-09-2023, 01:21 PM
Umbrella must be a specifically Edinburgh thing - I was anything but West Coast (West Lothian) and it was banana there...

Not according to Scouse....

:-)

22-09-2023, 04:43 PM
"No danger" is another one.

Pretty much means the opposite thing depending on which coast you are on.

Yip, one of the guys from edinburgh I work with says this all the time when he means yes he will get it done, means the complete opposite where I stay

22-09-2023, 06:35 PM
Yip, one of the guys from edinburgh I work with says this all the time when he means yes he will get it done, means the complete opposite where I stay

I’m with you, no danger is another form of saying no way, as in ‘no danger Hearts are worth watching’

Stairway 2 7
22-09-2023, 09:29 PM
I’m with you, no danger is another form of saying no way, as in ‘no danger Hearts are worth watching’

That's the only way I've heard it in Edinburgh?

22-09-2023, 09:50 PM
Banana for me and Umbrella for the wife. We were brought up a few hundreds yards away from each other in east Edinburgh

MKHIBEE
23-09-2023, 05:29 AM
Weegie says big banana feet, or it was 60 years ago

BS44
23-09-2023, 11:28 AM
Bairn seems do be used more through here and wean in Glasgow

23-09-2023, 12:04 PM
That's the only way I've heard it in Edinburgh?

Agreed. From my experience, in Edinburgh it means 'no chance'. West coast it means 'no bother' or 'no problem'.

23-09-2023, 12:04 PM

So it is.

23-09-2023, 12:06 PM
So it is.

23-09-2023, 01:10 PM
Agreed. From my experience, in Edinburgh it means 'no chance'. West coast it means 'no bother' or 'no problem'.

Genuinely never heard of it meaning ‘no bother’…seems to be at total odds to the concept of avoiding danger which surely Nae Danger is a simple slang for!

Still who knows with with such things but are we saying in the west that someone saying ‘Nae danger am doin’ that’ is actually saying ‘ Yes, I’ll do that no problem’ ?!? How odd [emoji1787]

23-09-2023, 01:42 PM
Genuinely never heard of it meaning ‘no bother’…seems to be at total odds to the concept of avoiding danger which surely Nae Danger is a simple slang for!

Still who knows with with such things but are we saying in the west that someone saying ‘Nae danger am doin’ that’ is actually saying ‘ Yes, I’ll do that no problem’ ?!? How odd [emoji1787]See also - No Stewart Grainger.

23-09-2023, 02:00 PM

Scandinavian influence. Danish for child is barn.

I'm guessing but the English Kids is probably derived from the German Kinder.

24-09-2023, 08:21 AM

Thankfully

24-09-2023, 11:42 PM
Big banana feet

Umbrella feet in the Pans.

25-09-2023, 07:47 AM
Umbrella feet in the Pans.Is that a genetic thing though?[emoji6]

MKHIBEE
25-09-2023, 08:01 AM

Billy Connolly would like a word

25-09-2023, 08:09 AM

Still who knows with with such things but are we saying in the west that someone saying ‘Nae danger am doin’ that’ is actually saying ‘ Yes, I’ll do that no problem’ ?!? How odd

I think you can find logic for either meaning:

No danger = "there's no danger of that happening" = no chance

No danger = "there's no danger to worry about" = no problem

That said, when I asked a west-coast friend about it he said it could have either meaning, so maybe they're just confused.

25-09-2023, 09:01 AM
I think you can find logic for either meaning:

No danger = "there's no danger of that happening" = no chance

No danger = "there's no danger to worry about" = no problem

That said, when I asked a west-coast friend about it he said it could have either meaning, so maybe they're just confused.

Weegies probably think Eastcoasters are quaint, having completely different words for problem and danger, like Eskimos having more than one word for snow. Weegies are so dumb.