View Full Version : Josh Campbell
15-09-2023, 05:16 PM
Ah that well-known personal attribute of ‘winning titles’.
The maradona 7 comparison would have made more sense, and that was said in complete jest.
Indeed.
15-09-2023, 05:18 PM
I do not harpoon him at every opportunity. I rarely comment in match threads as I go to games. I think he desperately needs to improve his passing and control of the football. That is it. An opinion about his footballing ability formed entirely on watching him for 2+ years. I actually think he has improved a lot. A positive opinion based on watching him too. Does that not fit your nonsense agenda?
There is something between thinking he is Zidane and thinking he is utter pish. He is okay, some good, some bad, a lot to improve on. And yes, if he continues like the first day, he will not be at Hibs for long. He was playing against us.
Was nothing whatsoever to do with personal attributes. The question was ''what is the hardest thing to do in football''.
You knew fine what the question meant given the conversation it came from.
15-09-2023, 05:19 PM
An individual doesn't win titles.
The hardest thing for an individual footballer to do in a game is to score goals.
Campbell scores goals.
What's the hardest thing to do in football?
Ah right. You should've just said that mate. Instead of changing the question after I'd answered it.
Why do teams not just play 11 strikers if scoring is all that matters?
15-09-2023, 05:19 PM
You knew fine what the question meant given the conversation it came from.
I did not, no. I took it exactly as you said it. Next time I wont be so silly. I'll just read your mind.
15-09-2023, 05:20 PM
Ah right. You should've just said that mate. Instead of changing the question after I'd answered it.
Why do teams not just play 11 strikers if scoring is all that matters?
15-09-2023, 05:20 PM
I do not harpoon him at every opportunity. I rarely comment in match threads as I go to games. I think he desperately needs to improve his passing and control of the football. That is it. An opinion about his footballing ability formed entirely on watching him for 2+ years. I actually think he has improved a lot. A positive opinion based on watching him too. Does that not fit your nonsense agenda?
There is something between thinking he is Zidane and thinking he is utter pish. He is okay, some good, some bad, a lot to improve on. And yes, if he continues like the first day, he will not be at Hibs for long. He was playing against us.
Was nothing whatsoever to do with personal attributes. The question was ''what is the hardest thing to do in football''.
Answer may be to win a professional contract and to keep earning a living at the game. just wish I had half the ability of this boy at the game.
Aint half some rubbish spouted at times on this forum, can only be a slow news day.
15-09-2023, 05:21 PM
I did not, no. I took it exactly as you said it. Next time I wont be so silly. I'll just read your mind.
Just pay attention to the conversation and stop behaving like a child.
15-09-2023, 05:22 PM
Just pay attention to the conversation and stop behaving like a child.
How about sticking to the conversation instead of resorting to petty insults?
Do you believe Josh Campbells passing, control and general play is good enough to start in a Hibs side finishing 3rd consistently?
15-09-2023, 05:24 PM
Answer may be to win a professional contract and to keep earning a living at the game. just wish I had half the ability of this boy at the game.
Aint half some rubbish spouted at times on this forum, can only be a slow news day.
Again, you're very welcome to contribute something that shows me it is rubbish that I'm talking. I'm sure you'll manage that no problem.
Déjà vu.
What fun.
How about sticking to the conversation instead of resorting to petty insults?
Do you believe Josh Campbells passing, control and general play is good enough to start in a Hibs side finishing 3rd consistently?
You're behaving like a child desperate not to concede anything under any circumstances.
I just googled "What's the hardest thing to do in football".
Try it. Google usually takes you at your word too.
15-09-2023, 05:30 PM
You're behaving like a child desperate not to concede anything under any circumstances.
I just googled "What's the hardest thing to do in football".
Try it. Google usually takes you at your word too.
Didn't think so.
Still young though, time to improve.
tonyrougier123
15-09-2023, 05:37 PM
Didn't think so.
Still young though, time to improve.
At this point you’re just making a mockery of your own opinion.
Comments like “be at Falkirk before he knows it” shows the measure of your argument. Just petty garbage.
Canny make up my mind if your for real at this point or just winding folk up.
15-09-2023, 05:41 PM
Comments like “be at Falkirk before he knows it” shows the measure of your argument. Just petty garbage.
Still just insults. No one proving me wrong or even trying to discuss football/Josh's attributes. 9 pages of ''he scores a few and runs about''.
I said if he continues like his 35 minutes vs St Mirren, he will end up at falkirk. I don't really believe that is likely, though. He is better than that.
15-09-2023, 05:52 PM
I stopped debating anything with him a long time ago. Don't think it's winding up as much as a desperation to have the last word on anything and everything.
15-09-2023, 05:57 PM
Tbf he's just saying what the majority of people on this site are thinking. On the team for tomorrow thread not one person has picked Campbell in their starting eleven.
There’s just saying something and there’s being ridiculous about it.
In fairness I don’t think it’s trolling either, just always being that entrenched and desperate to be right resulting in not seeing how silly the argument is.
Either way I can understand someone not seeing it worth engaging with.
15-09-2023, 05:58 PM
Again, you're very welcome to contribute something that shows me it is rubbish that I'm talking. I'm sure you'll manage that no problem.
Good evening to you Sir, if I may go on the record here, I shall reiterate that the young man Campbell is not a bad modern-day player, he will go on to make Hibs a lot of money in the future. The fact that I may or not think you speak rubbish, has nothing to do with the fact he is a good young Hibs player, as such he gets my support.
That Sir, is my final word on the subject.
Another thread being ruined by petty bickering and arguing by usual suspect. :confused:
Donegal Hibby
15-09-2023, 06:29 PM
The facts remain he's a young goalscoring Midfielder who scored more goals from Midfield than any of our other midfielders ( expect him to do it this season too )!. He's improved greatly and has potential to improve further.
Even when he's not scoring his attitude is brilliant in the fact that he works his socks off for the team with great energy and stamina levels. Doesn't really matter if folk don't like / rate him or haven't picked him for there team .
The most important opinion about Josh Campbell will be the manager's and going by what he's been saying about wanting players to work hard and give him everything I think he's going to like a player like Josh because at the end of the day Josh always gives Hibs 100%. Hopefully as a Midfielder himself Monty can help him improve more aswell . Good player and one of our own.:Awright!:
15-09-2023, 06:36 PM
Josh Campbell isn't going to find himself at Falkirk anytime soon. That's just ludicrous. Do wonder if some on here actually will our own players to fail... :rolleyes:
15-09-2023, 06:37 PM
It’s like debating with a 6 year old.
15-09-2023, 06:55 PM
The facts remain he's a young goalscoring Midfielder who scored more goals from Midfield than any of our other midfielders ( expect him to do it this season too )!. He's improved greatly and has potential to improve further.
Even when he's not scoring his attitude is brilliant in the fact that he works his socks off for the team with great energy and stamina levels. Doesn't really matter if folk don't like / rate him or haven't picked him for there team .
The most important opinion about Josh Campbell will be the manager's and going by what he's been saying about wanting players to work hard and give him everything I think he's going to like a player like Josh because at the end of the day Josh always gives Hibs 100%. Hopefully as a Midfielder himself Monty can help him improve more aswell . Good player and one of our own.:Awright!:
Who in our team doesn't always give 100%?
15-09-2023, 07:14 PM
More like a stroppy, hormonal teenage girl, tbh.
6 year olds don't think they know everything and are never wrong!
IIII’mmmm sorry I thought we’d started.
Donegal Hibby
15-09-2023, 07:19 PM
I've always thought theres a few that would go through a brick wall for the club Campbell being one of them maybe because he's a hibby , lewy another . It just my own personal opinion though in saying that I don't think we have any that aren't fully committed either. In general we have a good bunch and a decent squad .
HNA12
15-09-2023, 08:54 PM
Cut out the childish bickering please. Long term posters who should know better.
15-09-2023, 09:29 PM
People were describing him as great before he signed his new contract. I remember someone telling BK and LJ to sign him up on a 10 year deal. Matty might remember it, if it was Longbangers.
Wasn’t us, think that was the interview we knocked back.
15-09-2023, 10:46 PM
Wasn’t us, think that was the interview we knocked back.
Yeah, I didn't think it was you. I think it was a zoom video or the likes.
16-09-2023, 06:52 AM
the Maradona 7?
I once did it twice on the spin. Scenes.
16-09-2023, 10:13 AM
I once did it twice on the spin. Scenes.
You didn't get dizzy?
16-09-2023, 10:16 AM
You didn't get dizzy?
No, it was my two puppies who were dizzy. I’d laced their pedigree chum with ketamine and later got disqualified for using performance enhancing dugs.
16-09-2023, 10:49 AM
No, it was my two puppies who were dizzy. I’d laced their pedigree chum with ketamine and later got disqualified for using performance enhancing dugs.
It's a bummer when that happens.
t least the dugs had a good time.
supermcginn
16-09-2023, 12:50 PM
Clearly hasn't impressed in training. Left out the team today.
16-09-2023, 12:51 PM
Clearly hasn't impressed in training.
Quite an assumption.
Bridge hibs
16-09-2023, 12:52 PM
Been playing with a shoulder injury, perhaps just rested
16-09-2023, 01:16 PM
Been playing with a shoulder injury, perhaps just rested
I think it’s been blatant he’s been carrying a knock or two for most of the season.
16-09-2023, 01:52 PM
Dearie me.
Clearly hasn't impressed in training. Left out the team today.You mean on the bench?
If you don't rate the boy fine, but no need to make up nonsense.
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
Daily Hibs
16-09-2023, 04:41 PM
I do think giving 100% and being good enough often get mixed up on here.
Campbell, Hanlon and Stevenson all prime examples.
16-09-2023, 04:45 PM
I do think giving 100% and being good enough often get mixed up on here.
Campbell, Hanlon and Stevenson all prime examples.
I genuinely can never understand why Hanlon always get's chucked in or paired up with Stevenson (other than it being lazy and easy to do). He's without a doubt still the best CB at Hibs and is without doubt still good enough. He'll be straight back in the team when fit.
Campbell and Stevenson are fine squad players as well. Obita will come in for Stevenson and Levitt will start over Campbell.
supermcginn
16-09-2023, 04:48 PM
You mean on the bench?
If you don't rate the boy fine, but no need to make up nonsense.
The team is the starting 11. So he was left out the team. Hope that clears it up for you as you don't seem very bright
Daily Hibs
16-09-2023, 04:48 PM
I genuinely can never understand why Hanlon always get's chucked in or paired up with Stevenson (other than it being lazy and easy to do). He's without a doubt still the best CB at Hibs and is without doubt still good enough. He'll be straight back in the team when fit.
Campbell and Stevenson are fine squad players as well. Obita will come in for Stevenson and Levitt will start over Campbell.
If Hanlon is our best Centre Back at the club we are in big bother.
They get paired together because they havent been good enough for us for years.
Daily Hibs
16-09-2023, 04:49 PM
Yes, how I look at it too :aok:
16-09-2023, 04:51 PM
If Hanlon is our best Centre Back at the club we are in big bother.
They get paired together because they havent been good enough for us for years.
Hanlon was arguably our best player last season, if not best top three easily. It's fine not liking a player though, but try and be objective about it.
We're far worse defensively when Hanlon doesn't play. Clear to see.
Daily Hibs
16-09-2023, 04:54 PM
Hanlon was arguably our best player last season, if not best top three easily. It's fine not liking a player though, but try and be objective about it.
We're far worse defensively when Hanlon doesn't play. Clear to see.
How many soft goals do we concede from crossed with Hanlon either losing his man or failing to even jump.
He's lost his pace. That was clear to see when we lost 6-1 at Ibrox in 2019, yet he's still at the club.
The team is the starting 11. So he was left out the team. Hope that clears it up for you as you don't seem very brightThe starting 11 is the starting 11. The team is the matchday squad.
And again unless you've got anything to substantiate the claim that he's no impressed in training. You're nothing more than a sad wee guy lying on the internet to reinforce his own views. Pathetic and sad.
16-09-2023, 04:58 PM
How many soft goals do we concede from crossed with Hanlon either losing his man or failing to even jump.
He's lost his pace. That was clear to see when we lost 6-1 at Ibrox in 2019, yet he's still at the club.
Probably not as many as you think. I'm sure Hanlon is consistently in the higher percentile of aerial duals won in the league. But apparently he's pish in the air and always gets bullied. It's absolute nonsense.
Anyway, threads about Campbell so I'll shut up about Hanlon.
Daily Hibs
16-09-2023, 05:01 PM
Probably not as many as you think. I'm sure Hanlon is consistently in the higher percentile of aerial duals won in the league. But apparently he's pish in the air and always gets bullied. It's absolute nonsense.
Anyway, threads about Campbell so I'll shut up about Hanlon.
Your words :aok:
16-09-2023, 05:01 PM
Your words :aok:
😂👍🏻 Well played.
supermcginn
16-09-2023, 05:03 PM
The starting 11 is the starting 11. The team is the matchday squad.
And again unless you've got anything to substantiate the claim that he's no impressed in training. You're nothing more than a sad wee guy lying on the internet to reinforce his own views. Pathetic and sad.
Don't think I've ever been asked the team before the game and listed the full squad 🤣🤣🤣The team is the starting 11 mate, it's embarrassing arguing otherwise. He was dropped from a fantastic win in Aberdeen, he clearly didn't rip it up in training or he would have started. I'll leave it at that because you clearly aren't the full shilling.
16-09-2023, 05:06 PM
Thought he was a strange sub today. More the bringing him on and dropping Le Fondre deeper to play Campbell up top. Weird.
Donegal Hibby
16-09-2023, 05:32 PM
Don't know how you came up with that conclusion . Campbell's one of the hardest working players we have btw , couldn't it have been due to us being away from home and up against a team that's beaten both old firm team's that we simply opted for a more defense minded Midfielder to partner Newell in Jeggo rather than a attacking one in Campbell? . Who I thought had a good game and the normally excellent Joe Newell had a extremely poor game for his standards tbh . Said it before Midfields a problem . It was clear to see in the 2nd half .
16-09-2023, 05:34 PM
Thought he was a strange sub today. More the bringing him on and dropping Le Fondre deeper to play Campbell up top. Weird.
Sort of. Campbell was always going to do more running up top in the absence of Doidge. Nit saying it worked by any means but I could see the thinking. He was going to close down the opposition more and he dies know where the back of the net is.
supermcginn
16-09-2023, 05:39 PM
Don't know how you came up with that conclusion . Campbell's one of the hardest working players we have btw , couldn't it have been due to us being away from home and up against a team that's beaten both old firm team's that we simply opted for a more defense minded Midfielder to partner Newell in Jeggo rather than a attacking one in Campbell? . Who I thought had a good game and the normally excellent Joe Newell had a extremely poor game for his standards tbh . Said it before Midfields a problem . It was clear to see in the 2nd half .
He was dropped for a game against a team that finished miles behind the team we beat away the last game, that's how. It's very simple. Newell is streets ahead of Campbell in ability .
Donegal Hibby
16-09-2023, 06:11 PM
He was dropped for a game against a team that finished miles behind the team we beat away the last game, that's how. It's very simple. Newell is streets ahead of Campbell in ability .
You've stated that Campbell didn't impress in training as to the reason of him not playing today when you really don't know and it's simply speculation on your part tbh . He played in the game against Aberdeen which we won btw . Too different type midfielders who I'm not going to even compare as they have different attributes .Newell definitely is our best Midfielder though today's performance from him certainly wasn't anything to be bragging about in all honesty though i think we can let him off with it as he's been excellent so far this season though
16-09-2023, 06:40 PM
I think JC needs a move.
The lad appears to lack technical ability and pace. He looks cumbersome and leggy in midfield and I think we are better when he goes off and worse when he comes on.
I’ve seen it suggested that he is unfit. If that is the case though, why is he playing at all? We all want academy breakthroughs to succeed and my tolerance for such players - perhaps unfairly (on other players)
- is higher for that reason.
It’s a bit alerting when a midfielder looks bad in what I think is quite a poor Hibs midfield (I am counting Youan and Boyle as attackers / wingers when I say that).
Paulie Walnuts
16-09-2023, 07:39 PM
Sort of. Campbell was always going to do more running up top in the absence of Doidge. Nit saying it worked by any means but I could see the thinking. He was going to close down the opposition more and he dies know where the back of the net is.
I’m not sure playing someone up top just because they run about a lot is a smart move.
It made no sense at all to play him there imo.
16-09-2023, 07:43 PM
I’m not sure playing someone up top just because they run about a lot is a smart move.
Was definitely a weird one. Thought he was poor after coming on.
Do think there's a player in there somewhere, he's shown there is, but needs to show it more consistently.
Paulie Walnuts
16-09-2023, 07:47 PM
I think JC needs a move.
The lad appears to lack technical ability and pace. He looks cumbersome and leggy in midfield and I think we are better when he goes off and worse when he comes on.
I’ve seen it suggested that he is unfit. If that is the case though, why is he playing at all? We all want academy breakthroughs to succeed and my tolerance for such players - perhaps unfairly (on other players)
- is higher for that reason.
It’s a bit alerting when a midfielder looks bad in what I think is quite a poor Hibs midfield (I am counting Youan and Boyle as attackers / wingers when I say that).
I’m not sure he needs a move. He’s fine as a squad player here. I just don’t think he’s good enough to be starting regularly.
If he gets a move from Hibs it’ll be down the way to a Motherwell/St Mirren etc imo.
Donegal Hibby
16-09-2023, 08:00 PM
After what was quite a good first half for us the 2nd half wasn't nearly as good , we gave the ball away far to easy I thought and considering Campbell didn't come on till about the 66 minute , the first 20 minutes in the 2nd half we were also poor in as well though!
zitelli62
17-09-2023, 12:34 AM
Look let's give the laddie a break don't know if he reads hibs.net or not but if he does he must wonder why so many fans are against him look he's a hibs fan first and foremost do people actually think he comes on and think ill be crap today just to wind the fans up course he doesn't he comes on and does his best to a lot of people that's not good enough that's there opinion but let's give him a break he one of our own if he wasn't a lot of fans would have him tarred and feathered by now give the guy a break.
17-09-2023, 12:38 AM
[QUOTE=Stubbsy90+2;7469908]I’m not sure he needs a move. He’s fine as a squad player here. I just don’t think he’s good enough to be starting regularly.
If he gets a move from Hibs it’ll be down the way to a Motherwell/St Mirren etc imo.[/QUOTE
Agree he's no stand out and in 442 no starter
Donegal Hibby
17-09-2023, 01:26 AM
Seems some fans always need some player to blame wither it be Campbell , Stevenson , Rocky , Hanlon ! Youan's got it too at one stage , Doidge another ? Anymore ? Miller maybe ? It will probably be someone else next week :rolleyes: SAD REALLY WE NEED TO BLAME SOMEBODY EVERY WEEK 😞
17-09-2023, 01:37 AM
Seems some fans always need some player to blame wither it be Campbell , Stevenson , Rocky , Hanlon ! Youan's got it too at one stage , Doidge another ? Anymore ? Miller maybe ? It will probably be someone else next week :rolleyes: SAD REALLY WE NEED TO BLAME SOMEBODY EVERY WEEK 😞
Or maybe folk just criticise players after having a bad game? If that happens more than once maybe the player has had a few bad games? It's not always having it in for someone or having an agenda against a certain player.
It's a fan forum, player performances are going to be discussed and debated every single game. If not, what's the point in this forum? It's not a blame game, it's just folk voicing their opinion.
Some folk focus on the negative, some on the positive. It's just peoples nature, everyone is wired differently. I get each side of that pisses the other off, bed wetter vs happy clappers etc, but it's part of the fun of this place, as mental as it is.
Donegal Hibby
17-09-2023, 01:54 AM
Or maybe folk just criticise players after having a bad game? If that happens more than once maybe the player has had a few bad games? It's not always having it in for someone or having an agenda against a certain player.
It's a fan forum, player performances are going to be discussed and debated every single game. If not, what's the point in this forum? It's not a blame game, it's just folk voicing their opinion.
Some folk focus on the negative, some on the positive. It's just peoples nature, everyone is wired differently. I get each side of that pisses the other off, bed wetter vs happy clappers etc, but it's part of the fun of this place, as mental as it is.
Campbell didn't come on today till the 66 minute and yet he's had more criticism than players on for 90 minutes that were poor . Rocky got blamed for the 2nd goal when it was clear he wasn't responsible for the poor defending at the near post ! Sorry I don't buy into fans being fair on there criticism of players as we all have favourites and ones we don't . Newell was poor , Boyle was too though it's easier to blame others which is exactly what's going on !
17-09-2023, 02:06 AM
Campbell didn't come on today till the 66 minute and yet he's had more criticism than players on for 90 minutes that were poor . Rocky got blamed for the 2nd goal when it was clear he wasn't responsible for the poor defending at the near post ! Sorry I don't buy into fans being fair on there criticism of players as we all have favourites and ones we don't . Newell was poor , Boyle was too though it's easier to blame others which is exactly what's going on !
Campbell basically played a third of the match so is absolutely open to criticism. I've already said why I think Rocky is at fault for the second goal so not going to go over old ground. Aye, the defending afterwards was bad as well, for sure, can't deny that. The manager even called it out.
It's fine to have favourites, but surely as adults you can say when one of your favourite players has a bad game? Stevenson is my favourite ever Hibs player. But I'll be the first to admit when he's had a poor game. I actually think this is a season too far for him as a starter.
Newell is another favourite of mine. Absolute stinker today. As bad a performance as I can remember. I think maybe being captain is a bit too much for him right now.
I just don't think everyone saying they thought Campbell was poor today is out to get him or don't like him. He was just pants when he came on.
Daily Hibs
17-09-2023, 02:23 AM
Well said.
It is a fans forum of varying opinions.
If he is a good player and plays well, he wont get criticised. Pretty simple really.
Donegal Hibby
17-09-2023, 02:42 AM
Campbell basically played a third of the match so is absolutely open to criticism. I've already said why I think Rocky is at fault for the second goal so not going to go over old ground. Aye, the defending afterwards was bad as well, for sure, can't deny that. The manager even called it out.
It's fine to have favourites, but surely as adults you can say when one of your favourite players has a bad game? Stevenson is my favourite ever Hibs player. But I'll be the first to admit when he's had a poor game. I actually think this is a season too far for him as a starter.
Newell is another favourite of mine. Absolute stinker today. As bad a performance as I can remember. I think maybe being captain is a bit too much for him right now.
I just don't think everyone saying they thought Campbell was poor today is out to get him or don't like him. He was just pants when he came on.
Campbell playing a third of the match and open to criticism is absolutely fair enough buddy though our star Midfielder playing for the full 90 ,giving the ball away , no covering , lack of creativity , poor set pieces warrants more criticism than Campbell is getting , let's not forget who's 23 and 30 here btw and the senior player and captain who was p**h against killie .
Donegal Hibby
17-09-2023, 02:45 AM
Well said.
If he is a good player and plays well, he wont get criticised. Pretty simple really.
Yours is certainly not as it's normally totally negative on anything green and white!
Daily Hibs
17-09-2023, 03:38 AM
Yours is certainly not as it's normally totally negative on anything green and white!
Questioning not winning a trophy since 2016 with us having 10 trips to Hampden since then?
We have under acheived for years.
Questioning not winning a trophy since 2016 with us having 10 trips to Hampden since then?
We've under achieved since the Famous Five era, that's around 70 years of it.
17-09-2023, 06:23 AM
Plenty energy up there from him. It’s what the new manager obviously wanted at that moment of the game. He did fine at it. The manager even name checked him afterwards. Not sure we know best to be honest. Like I said I can see the merit in it.
17-09-2023, 06:54 AM
We’d not need to blame anyone if we could hold on to a 2 goal lead without poor play costing us goals.
This is a very weird post given that you follow it up with a post laying into Joe Newell too.
17-09-2023, 06:59 AM
I don’t think Campbell deserves any negativity from the game to be honest. He was chucked on up top (he’s nae striker) and given very little to work with.
He tried to chase down everything, but was mostly doing it on his own. Up the other end multiple Killie players were running down everything our defence tried to do, and it was causing mistakes.
17-09-2023, 08:49 AM
Well said.
Yes, a bit like posting on forums.
If you offer an opinion that’s got a degree of rationale behind it, you can sometimes engage in discussion.
If you only post when we lose, only post negativity with statements as opinions, you’re going to be noticed and get identified at very least as a sad miserable fud, or even worse, a Jambo.
I know which I’d rather be.
Donegal Hibby
17-09-2023, 09:01 AM
Could you not say that about Aberdeen and hertz too ? Hertz are 60 years without winning league cup ! How's long since Aberdeen won the Scottish cup ? Reality is its getting harder for clubs to win the cups now as the old firm financially blow the rest of us a side .
Since 2016 there's been two non old firm clubs who have won the Scottish cup , us and st johnstone , the rest of the time it's been sevco once and Celtic 5 times . League cups been much the same with Celtic winning it 6 out of the last 8 years .
If following a team is just about winning cups for you then I'm afraid your following the wrong club . Try the old firm .
17-09-2023, 09:03 AM
He wasn’t dropped. He wouldn’t start in that 442. It wouldn’t make any sense. Not sure why you’re struggling with that.
Look let's give the laddie a break don't know if he reads hibs.net or not but if he does he must wonder why so many fans are against him look he's a hibs fan first and foremost do people actually think he comes on and think ill be crap today just to wind the fans up course he doesn't he comes on and does his best to a lot of people that's not good enough that's there opinion but let's give him a break he one of our own if he wasn't a lot of fans would have him tarred and feathered by now give the guy a break.
I don’t believe any player ever steps on a pitch thinking ‘I’ll be crap today’ for any reason.
That said, he’s there as a professional footballer. Whether he’s a Hibs fan or not, he deserves to be critiqued on that basis. There’s thousands of people attend Easter road who are also Hibs fans, but aren’t good enough to play (definitely me included), being one of our own shouldn’t shield anyone from honest appraisal (I don’t mean any of the over the top hyperbole that sometimes gets directed at players).
We can’t be in the stands, the pubs, on here or anywhere else saying it’s not good enough, need to be doing better, should be winning these matches, and in the same breath saying ‘go easy on xyz, he’s one of us’. If they’re not up to scratch in a given game, then they should be discussed as such. If they’re not delivering over weeks and months, the should be dropped. If it goes on longer, they should be replaced.
Paulie Walnuts
17-09-2023, 09:09 AM
Yes, a bit like posting on forums.
If you offer an opinion that’s got a degree of rationale behind it, you can sometimes engage in discussion.
If you only post when we lose, only post negativity with statements as opinions, you’re going to be noticed and get identified at very least as a sad miserable fud, or even worse, a Jambo.
I know which I’d rather be.
Everyone on here posts their opinion as a statement surely? :confused:
If someone posts Josh Campbell is a great player, that’s clearly their opinion, although that post is a statement.
I’m sure everyone could add ‘imo’ to the end of every sentence, but I didn’t think people needed things to be spelt out so much to them.
17-09-2023, 09:11 AM
He wasn’t dropped. He wouldn’t start in that 442. It wouldn’t make any sense. Not sure why you’re struggling with that.
He was in the starting lineup last week and was left out this week.
Whatever the reasons, that’s being dropped. Surely folk cannae be arguing against that, whatever the reasons.
Donegal Hibby
17-09-2023, 09:13 AM
We’d not need to blame anyone if we could hold on to a 2 goal lead without poor play costing us goals.
This is a very weird post given that you follow it up with a post laying into Joe Newell too.
If we hold onto the 2 goal lead nobody gets blamed . As to singling out certain individuals and blaming them like Rocky for the 2nd goal is ridiculous , as is blaming Campbell too . Me laying into Newell which I don't really want to do should be pointed out as folk are more forgiving of him having a bad game as he's one of our star players though doesn't get away from the fact he was awful yesterday too .
17-09-2023, 09:19 AM
If we hold onto the 2 goal lead nobody gets blamed . As to singling out certain individuals and blaming them like Rocky for the 2nd goal is ridiculous , as is blaming Campbell too . Me laying into Newell which I don't really want to do should be pointed out as folk are more forgiving of him having a bad game as he's one of our star players though doesn't get away from the fact he was awful yesterday too .
If we hold on to the two goal lead the mistakes haven’t happened and we wouldn’t need to be talking about it. All totally hypothetical.
Individual and collective mistakes caused us to chuck a two goal lead away and it was really poor, of course that’s going to be spoken about. Particularly for the likes of Rocky making mistakes which many people see as a recurring issue.
17-09-2023, 09:20 AM
He was definitely dropped.
17-09-2023, 09:22 AM
Rocky is massively, not solely, but massively at fault for the second goal.
If you dinnae want to see that, that’s fine. You’re entitled to your opinion. I don’t care if you want to think that.
In my opinion, Rocky made an absolute **** of himself and that action led to us losing the second goal.
Not unexpected, cos that’s what he does.
Donegal Hibby
17-09-2023, 10:20 AM
Rocky is massively, not solely, but massively at fault for the second goal.
If you dinnae want to see that, that’s fine. You’re entitled to your opinion. I don’t care if you want to think that.
In my opinion, Rocky made an absolute **** of himself and that action led to us losing the second goal.
Not unexpected, cos that’s what he does.
Rocky is indeed at fault with the first goal as were 3 other players that were ball watching in our box also . Rocky could and probably should have put the ball out though he was pushed in the back which the Hibernian manager acknowledged.The defending of the corner was really poor and had absolutely nothing to do with Rocky . Collectively as a team they were all responsible for chucking a two goal lead imo .
17-09-2023, 11:13 AM
People look for certain players to make mistakes.
They ignore those same mistakes in others.
For example, Lewis Stevenson has been denigrated to some degree or another every season. People look at his mistakes, not the brilliant work he does every week.
Some folk say nothing if the player they dislikes plays well, but go straight into attack mode as soon as an error creeps in.
I remember watching a game in the West lower years ago. Hibs were shooting towards the FF stand and Lewis was having a very good game, up and down our wing, tackling, providing an out ball for the midfield and helping to keep attacks on the boil.
On one occasion, he attempted to cross the ball directly in front of us, but messed it up and it went out for a goal kick. A guy in front of me booms out "Stevenson, you're f****** useless" and turned laughing to his girlfriend and said "He really is s**te".
He wasn't evaluating Lewis's performance or ability. He just wanted someone to blame and criticise.
Edit: Yes, I did say something. Vigorously.
19-09-2023, 03:47 PM
Everyone on here posts their opinion as a statement surely? :confused:
If someone posts Josh Campbell is a great player, that’s clearly their opinion, although that post is a statement.
I’m sure everyone could add ‘imo’ to the end of every sentence, but I didn’t think people needed things to be spelt out so much to them.
Speaking personally, I tend to find it aids discussion if people make an effort to add some context to their statement.
20-09-2023, 09:00 AM
we have been trying to find a midfielder who scores goals for a long time. Mallan and McGinn were the last we had and before that probably Dean Shields, Latapy and Pat Mcginley. Goal scoring Midfielders have been like goal dust for us over the years and finding one, shouldn't be taken lightly.
I too have reservations about Josh Campbells passing and ability to influence the midfield..but he is young and he has already proved that he is a footballer who is improving season on season. First let's actually look at his goalscoring record.
In 2019 he went on loan to Airdie and played 14 times without scoring
In 2020 he went to Arbroath and played 9 times without scoring
In 2021 he went to Edinurgh City and played 20 times, scoring 7 goals which is a fantastic return for a midfielder of better than 1 in 3
He has now played for Hibs 66 times and scored 10 goals
A picture of an improving player
so that's one goal in every 6.6 matches....how does that compare to other Hibs scoring midfielders ?
Latapy is the King of the modern era.. with a scoring rate of 1 in 4
Dean Shields is next at 1 in 5 (although he actually played up front sometimes, so we probably shouldn't count this)
Pat McGinley is next at 1 in 6
Josh Campbell 1 in 6.6
Stevie Mallan 1 in 7
Kyle McGennis 1 in 7
Zemmama 1 in 8
Scott Brown 1 in 8.5
John McGinn 1 in 8.5
Boozy 1 in 10
Collins 1 in 11
Now I'm not suggesting for a moment that Josh's overall contribution is on a par with Zemmama, Scott Brown or John McGinn. But his goal scoring record is right up there and he is 23 and can still improve.
As a cub we can decide that a goal every six and a half games isn't enough of a contribution and get rid.. or we can try to improve his passing, tackling and overall influence in midfield. Goal Scoring midfielders are a tough thing to find... I would prefer us to keep trying to improve young Josh, other than Joe Newell he's currently our most valuable midfield asset in my opinion.
20-09-2023, 09:11 AM
we have been trying to find a midfielder who scores goals for a long time. Mallan and McGinn were the last we had and before that probably Dean Shields, Latapy and Pat Mcginley. Goal scoring Midfielders have been like goal dust for us over the years and finding one, shouldn't be taken lightly.
I too have reservations about Josh Campbells passing and ability to influence the midfield..but he is young and he has already proved that he is a footballer who is improving season on season. First let's actually look at his goalscoring record.
In 2021 he went to Edinurgh City and played 20 times, scoring 7 goals which is a fantastic return for a midfielder of better than 1 in 3
so that's one goal in every 6.6 matches....how does that compare to other Hibs scoring midfielders ?
Dean Shields is next at 1 in 5 (although he actually played up front sometimes, so we probably shouldn't count this)
Josh Campbell 1 in 6.6
Stevie Mallan 1 in 7
Kyle McGennis 1 in 7
Zemmama 1 in 8
Scott Brown 1 in 8.5
John McGinn 1 in 8.5
Boozy 1 in 10
Collins 1 in 11
Now I'm not suggesting for a moment that Josh's overall contribution is on a par with Zemmama, Scott Brown or John McGinn. But his goal scoring record is right up there and he is 23 and can still improve.
As a cub we can decide that a goal every six and a half games isn't enough of a contribution and get rid.. or we can try to improve his passing, tackling and overall influence in midfield. Goal Scoring midfielders are a tough thing to find... I would prefer us to keep trying to improve young Josh, other than Joe Newell he's currently our most valuable midfield asset in my opinion.
Not forgetting Michael O’Neill 20% or John O’Neil 10% both approx
I am a big fan of Josh 3:10 so far this season but so far he has looked so far off it it is unreal
I appreciate he has been carrying an injury
Hoping that NM sees his undoubted potential puts an arm around him and brings him on Josh and few others
Onwards and upwards
sauzeelegod
20-09-2023, 09:27 AM
In the 442 system he’s gonna either have to play up front as a false 9 or on one of the wings cutting inside.
He’s behind Newell, Jeggo, Levitt and JDH (if ever fit) for one of the two CM spots imo.
Paulie Walnuts
20-09-2023, 09:35 AM
Josh Campbell 1 in 6.6
Stevie Mallan 1 in 7
Kyle McGennis 1 in 7
Zemmama 1 in 8
Scott Brown 1 in 8.5
John McGinn 1 in 8.5
Boozy 1 in 10
Collins 1 in 11
Have we been hunting for a goal scoring midfielder?
That list says to me that our best midfielders haven’t been all that much ‘goal scoring midfielders’. Brown, Collins, McGinn, Scott Allan. None of them have great records goals wise but they were all our best players.
Our midfielders need to do the basics of being a midfielder well. Thats where Josh falls down imo. Yes he can score, but the fundamental aspects of being a midfielder leave a lot to be desired and far outweigh the fact he gets some goals imo.
20-09-2023, 09:39 AM
Josh Campbell 1 in 6.6
Stevie Mallan 1 in 7
Kyle McGennis 1 in 7
Zemmama 1 in 8
Scott Brown 1 in 8.5
John McGinn 1 in 8.5
Boozy 1 in 10
Collins 1 in 11
Campbell has actually made 88 appearances for Hibs scoring 13 times. He’s only scored in 8 different games for us.
There have been games when he has been really good, the Aberdeen games last season being the obvious ones but the argument will always be that the rest of his game doesn’t offer enough when he’s not chipping in whereas all of the players listed (probably Mallan aside) offered much more.
It feels like this season under Johnson and in the Killie game like he was almost a pressing forward when we pushed up and a deep lying forward when we were a bit deeper. His best attribute appears to be getting into the box and being there to score which wasn't there under Jack Ross or Shaun Maloney. It's 13 goals in 66 starts and 22 sub appearances but I reckon he'd only scored 1 in about his first 40. So It's about 12 goals in 48 appearances which is 1 in 4 or 1 goal in 2.2 starts which is good going.
I wouldn't play him in a 2 man midfield and he shouldn't be used as the creative player in a 3 man midfield but there's plenty Scottish Premiership matches where his talents can be used in that sort of attacking, pressing midfield role.
I've been disappointed in him this season in that he seems softer, he had a bit of menace about him under Ross and Maloney.
20-09-2023, 10:08 AM
Campbell has actually made 88 appearances for Hibs scoring 13 times. He’s only scored in 8 different games for us.
There have been games when he has been really good, the Aberdeen games last season being the obvious ones but the argument will always be that the rest of his game doesn’t offer enough when he’s not chipping in whereas all of the players listed (probably Mallan aside) offered much more.
apologies for using out of date figures, although it only goes to show that he is continuing to average a goal every 6.5 games or so.
I agree he doesn't contribute enough in other ways and I said so in my original post. I just think it's worth conrinuing to develop him because goalscoring midfielders are rare.
Have we been hunting for a goal scoring midfielder?
That list says to me that our best midfielders haven’t been all that much ‘goal scoring midfielders’. Brown, Collins, McGinn, Scott Allan. None of them have great records goals wise but they were all our best players.
Our midfielders need to do the basics of being a midfielder well. Thats where Josh falls down imo. Yes he can score, but the fundamental aspects of being a midfielder leave a lot to be desired and far outweigh the fact he gets some goals imo.
Tbf we've not exactly had enough of a contribution from the midfield for a while, to be successful you needs goals from all over.
Donegal Hibby
20-09-2023, 10:53 AM
Just out of interest what's Newell, JDH and Levitt's goals for games stats ?
20-09-2023, 11:12 AM
Just out of interest what's Newell, JDH and Levitt's goals for games stats ?
8:125
2 :68
10 : 54
20-09-2023, 11:15 AM
Tbf we've not exactly had enough of a contribution from the midfield for a while, to be successful you needs goals from all over.
To be successful you need to win football matches and to do that it doesn’t matter where the goals come from as long as you outscore your opponent.
We aren’t currently struggling to score goals, in fact if we continue scoring at the current rate we’ll outscore the top flight teams of McLeish, Mowbray and Lennon. Our biggest problem at present is conceding goals at the other end and a big factor in that has been a lack of control in midfield.
Donegal Hibby
20-09-2023, 11:26 AM
8:125
2 :68
10 : 54
Surprised about Newell's , I had expected him to have scored more than that tbh for a creative Midfielder.JDH doesn't score many either. Levitt's is good , hopefully he's one when playing that can chip in with a few goals.
20-09-2023, 11:34 AM
Surprised about Newell's , I had expected him to have scored more than that tbh for a creative Midfielder.JDH doesn't score many either. Levitt's is good , hopefully he's one when playing that can chip in with a few goals.
Yep what they stats show is we need Levitt back and fit pronto.
20-09-2023, 11:38 AM
To be successful you need to win football matches and to do that it doesn’t matter where the goals come from as long as you outscore your opponent.
We aren’t currently struggling to score goals, in fact if we continue scoring at the current rate we’ll outscore the top flight teams of McLeish, Mowbray and Lennon. Our biggest problem at present is conceding goals at the other end and a big factor in that has been a lack of control in midfield.
Yup good point. It’s clear that in NM’s system the two central midfielders must be able to retain possession and control games, otherwise we will continue to look fragile. Josh doesn’t seem to be capable of that.
20-09-2023, 11:47 AM
Mallan aside? I think Mallan offered much more than Campbell does. Mallan played 95 games for Hibs, scoring 20 and assisting 17. He was far better on the ball.
20-09-2023, 12:01 PM
Mallan aside? I think Mallan offered much more than Campbell does. Mallan played 95 games for Hibs, scoring 20 and assisting 17. He was far better on the ball.
Yep. Mallan was better than Campbell.
Paloschi
20-09-2023, 12:13 PM
Got to disagree with this. While Mallan had a knack for scoring some very good goals, his best asset, he was a horrible midfielder. His passing was usually wayward, he couldn’t tackle or offer anything defensively and his positioning was very poor.
Campbell is a much better all round player. His ball retention could be better and his overall technique isn’t as good as Mallan’s was but his intelligence and what he offers overall is much, much better. Mallan now plays for Salford.
Donegal Hibby
20-09-2023, 12:14 PM
Yep what they stats show is we need Levitt back and fit pronto.
Definitely , going by the goals scored Levitt is an important player for us to get back fit especially with Campbell off form . Still think Campbell will come good again though getting Levitt back might see him chip in with a few goals . Can't see many goals from a midfield pairing of Newell and JDH tbh .
It feels like this season under Johnson and in the Killie game like he was almost a pressing forward when we pushed up and a deep lying forward when we were a bit deeper. His best attribute appears to be getting into the box and being there to score which wasn't there under Jack Ross or Shaun Maloney. It's 13 goals in 66 starts and 22 sub appearances but I reckon he'd only scored 1 in about his first 40. So It's about 12 goals in 48 appearances which is 1 in 4 or 1 goal in 2.2 starts which is good going.
I wouldn't play him in a 2 man midfield and he shouldn't be used as the creative player in a 3 man midfield but there's plenty Scottish Premiership matches where his talents can be used in that sort of attacking, pressing midfield role.
I've been disappointed in him this season in that he seems softer, he had a bit of menace about him under Ross and Maloney.
Under Maloney he was awful (partly through how Maloney used him), that was the period when he was getting pilloried from all sides, and where the Newell-jdh-Campbell midfield cemented itself in infamy.
20-09-2023, 12:30 PM
Based on that aye he was. Previous poster had him down as a 1 in 7 though.
Do think numbers can be a bit misleading, just generally. If you look at Campbell’s numbers of 13 goals and 9 assists in 88 appearances it doesn’t look too bad for a midfielder. But then you look at it and a third of those combined numbers came across a couple of games and you start to see the contributions are pretty infrequent.
Donegal Hibby
20-09-2023, 12:49 PM
Got to disagree with this. While Mallan had a knack for scoring some very good goals, his best asset, he was a horrible midfielder. His passing was usually wayward, he couldn’t tackle or offer anything defensively and his positioning was very poor.
Campbell is a much better all round player. His ball retention could be better and his overall technique isn’t as good as Mallan’s was but his intelligence and what he offers overall is much, much better. Mallan now plays for Salford.
20-09-2023, 01:28 PM
He didn't just score goals, he also assisted far more than Campbell does. He's miles better on the ball than Campbell.
Campbell is definitely a better athlete.
I cannae work out how, out of 2 attacking midfield players, the player who scores less, assists less, who's less comfortable on the ball and has worse technique is the "all round better player"?
Based on that aye he was. Previous poster had him down as a 1 in 7 though.
Do think numbers can be a bit misleading, just generally. If you look at Campbell’s numbers of 13 goals and 9 assists in 88 appearances it doesn’t look too bad for a midfielder. But then you look at it and a third of those combined numbers came across a couple of games and you start to see the contributions are pretty infrequent.
Well we don't just start to see it because you mention it in most posts. Personally I'm not convinced its relevant. I do agree numbers can be misleading, you fail to mention 22 of Josh's appearances were as a sub, some very fleeting. In his starts Josh has played at right back, wide left, holding mid, box to box mid and on Saturday he came on and went up front. I think those details put his 'infequency' of games in which he scored in some perspective.
20-09-2023, 04:48 PM
Well we don't just start to see it because you mention it in most posts. Personally I'm not convinced its relevant. I do agree numbers can be misleading, you fail to mention 22 of Josh's appearances were as a sub, some very fleeting. In his starts Josh has played at right back, wide left, holding mid, box to box mid and on Saturday he came on and went up front. I think those details put his 'infequency' of games in which he scored in some perspective.
There you go, you can use the numbers to suit yourself either way. He has shifted about a bit position wise but the majority of his appearances have been playing higher up the park and I don’t think he has enough end product consistently enough to play there. And I don’t think he has enough good attributes to play deeper in a Montgomery team, looking at how we are going to be set up. Reckon his game time will reduce this season.
20-09-2023, 04:53 PM
Good post.
20-09-2023, 04:56 PM
He didn't just score goals, he also assisted far more than Campbell does. He's miles better on the ball than Campbell.
Campbell is definitely a better athlete.
I cannae work out how, out of 2 attacking midfield players, the player who scores less, assists less, who's less comfortable on the ball and has worse technique is the "all round better player"?
Is it because athleticism, whether we like it or not, is a big part of being an effective midfielder?
I used to feel heart sorry for Mallan. His attitude was fine, he clearly had ability but he just looked to have a level of athleticism that was just never going to improve. With a bit more of a burst of pace, he'd have been a much more effective midfielder, both in attack and defence but it just wasn't there, meaning he was sadly a liability in our midfield too often.
That athletic ability wasn't something that was going to be taught whereas you feel that with Campbell he's already got that and that the other stuff might well come with time (well, not a shot like Mallan's which isn't easily taught at all).
I was actually really impressed with Mallan when he played for Salford against Leeds the other week. He was playing deep and had a very good game, with his slowness never really ending up being exposed.
There you go, you can use the numbers to suit yourself either way. He has shifted about a bit position wise but the majority of his appearances have been playing higher up the park and I don’t think he has enough end product consistently enough to play there. And I don’t think he has enough good attributes to play deeper in a Montgomery team, looking at how we are going to be set up. Reckon his game time will reduce this season.
I very much doubt that the majority of his appearances have been playing higher up the park. I can't recall him playing there before last season.
20-09-2023, 05:25 PM
I very much doubt that the majority of his appearances have been playing higher up the park. I can't recall him playing there before last season.
His appearances last season and this season make up the majority of his career Hibs appearances.
20-09-2023, 06:06 PM
He was our most attack minded midfielder last season, occasionally playing elsewhere. Prior to last season when it was the dreaded trio of him, JDH and Newell he was always the furthest forward of the three, albeit Maloney used him differently at times.
20-09-2023, 06:30 PM
And he okayed further up the park at City. He’s an attacking mid all day long. Oh and it’s a cert he will play less in a 442. He doesn’t suit that shape.
His appearances last season and this season make up the majority of his career Hibs appearances.
I know but he continued to play in a variety of roles last season. I certainly remember 1st couple of months when Henderson was being used in the forward, midfield role.
He was our most attack minded midfielder last season, occasionally playing elsewhere. Prior to last season when it was the dreaded trio of him, JDH and Newell he was always the furthest forward of the three, albeit Maloney used him differently at times.
I really wish Hibs supporters would avoid calling 3 of our players, 'the dreaded trio''! It adds nothing to any debate.
20-09-2023, 06:49 PM
I really wish Hibs supporters would avoid calling 3 of our players, 'the dreaded trio''! It adds nothing to any debate.
Whereas this post adds much more to the debate. Anyway, the only point I was making was that whenever he played in that three (prior to last season), Campbell was always the furthest forward of them (despite you not having seen him play forward prior to last season).
Donegal Hibby
20-09-2023, 06:50 PM
Maloney had him playing as a DM imo and it wasn't till LJ was manager that we started to play him further up . He's also played RB and now under the new manager plays him as a striker. Great asset for a club to have in a player that's so versatile in being able to play so many different positions if needed . Even our current manager praised him for the shift he put in against killie too.
20-09-2023, 06:54 PM
Maloney had him playing as a DM imo and it wasn't till LJ was manager that we started to play him further up . He's also played RB and now under the new manager plays him as a striker. Great asset for a club to have in a player that's so versatile in being able to play so many different positions if needed . Even our current manager praised him for the shift he put in against killie too.
First bit isn’t true. He was the most advanced of the midfield plenty times before Johnson, particularly when in a three of him, Newell and JDH. That was under Ross when he first got in to the team, under SDG when he was in caretaker charge after Ross then under Maloney at times, although not all the time.
20-09-2023, 07:00 PM
I know but he continued to play in a variety of roles last season. I certainly remember 1st couple of months when Henderson was being used in the forward, midfield role.
Whenever they both started in the first few months of last season, Henderson was always wide left and Campbell through the middle.
The exception to this was the Rangers game where Campbell started LWB before LJ changed it after half an hour, talking off Henderson and moving Campbell to attacking midfield.
20-09-2023, 07:10 PM
First bit isn’t true. He was the most advanced of the midfield plenty times before Johnson, particularly when in a three of him, Newell and JDH. That was under Ross when he first got in to the team, under SDG when he was in caretaker charge after Ross then under Maloney at times, although not all the time.
The idea that Johnson turned him into a AM is just nonsense. He’s played there loads before LJ came beat Hibs. And David Gray would have told him that.
Donegal Hibby
20-09-2023, 07:39 PM
He scored once I think it was under Maloney and under LJ he got 8 and had 4 or 5 assist's . I don't remember him getting into the box under Maloney to often more playing a deeper role ( Getting any players in the box was a problem under Maloney most of the time. ).
Campbell regularly got himself in the box or outside it under LJ and the difference between Campbells position in our team under Maloney compared to LJ's was night and day imo .
20-09-2023, 07:43 PM
He scored once I think it was under Maloney and under LJ he got 8 and had 4 or 5 assist's . I don't remember him getting into the box under Maloney to often more playing a deeper role ( Getting any players in the box was a problem under Maloney most of the time. ).
Campbell regularly got himself in the box or outside it under LJ and the difference between Campbells position in our team under Maloney compared to LJ's was night and day imo .
Our whole team scored significantly less goals under Maloney than we did under LJ.
20-09-2023, 07:45 PM
We had next to no attacking threat under Maloney because we had the likes of Jasper, Wright, Melkersen, Scott and Henderson. But Campbell didn’t play deep all the time. At times he played deeper, at times he found himself playing out wide due to our lack of options. But he’d had plenty of games as a more attack minded midfielder before LJ arrived.
Maloney almost always played 3-4-3
20-09-2023, 07:56 PM
Maloney almost always played 3-4-3
He did which is why I mentioned where he was played prior to Maloney coming in. You’re right that Maloney predominantly played 433 but not all the time. He played Doidge and Nisbet together a few times prior to Nisbet doing his cruciate and played all of Newell, JDH and Campbell on a few occasions as well.
Donegal Hibby
20-09-2023, 09:04 PM
We had next to no attacking threat under Maloney because we had the likes of Jasper, Wright, Melkersen, Scott and Henderson. But Campbell didn’t play deep all the time. At times he played deeper, at times he found himself playing out wide due to our lack of options. But he’d had plenty of games as a more attack minded midfielder before LJ arrived.
Part of having no attacking threat under Maloney was down to poor management in not getting players to push forward. When we did attack generally we'd be lucky to have one player in the box . For all LJ's faults getting our players into the box wasn't one of them as we'd regularly have 5 or 6 in the box.
Campbell mainly played a deeper role under Maloney and out wide due to lack of options probably wasn't helped due to Maloney signing Demitri Mitchell who was a wide player with a injury history too . He still should have played Campbell in his main position and even the when he did which wasn't often you'd rarely see Campbell getting into the box which was mainly down to Maloney's awful style of football imo .
20-09-2023, 09:09 PM
Part of having no attacking threat under Maloney was down to poor management in not getting players to push forward. When we did attack generally we'd be lucky to have one player in the box . For all LJ's faults getting our players into the box wasn't one of them as we'd regularly have 5 or 6 in the box.
Campbell mainly played a deeper role under Maloney and out wide due to lack of options probably wasn't helped due to Maloney signing Demitri Mitchell who was a wide player with a injury history too . He still should have played Campbell in his main position and even the when he did which wasn't often you'd rarely see Campbell getting into the box which was mainly down to Maloney's awful style of football imo .
What do you see as Campbell’s ‘main’ position out of interest?
Donegal Hibby
20-09-2023, 09:49 PM
What do you see as Campbell’s ‘main’ position out of interest?
I'm surprised you've asked that tbh as I'd have thought it was fairly obvious what Josh Campbell's main position was in fairness.
20-09-2023, 09:54 PM
I'm surprised you've asked that tbh as I'd have thought it was fairly obvious what Josh Campbell's main position was in fairness.
Pretty straightforward question really. I’m just curious from your point of view. What I think you see as his main position wouldn’t really have been accommodated in Maloney’s preferred system (so not just a straightforward case of playing him somewhere different) just as it won’t be accommodated in Montgomery’s preferred system.
20-09-2023, 10:02 PM
Sub
21-09-2023, 06:58 AM
Pretty straightforward question really. I’m just curious from your point of view. What I think you see as his main position wouldn’t really have been accommodated in Maloney’s preferred system (so not just a straightforward case of playing him somewhere different) just as it won’t be accommodated in Montgomery’s preferred system.
Exactly.
21-09-2023, 08:44 AM
Is it because athleticism, whether we like it or not, is a big part of being an effective midfielder?
I used to feel heart sorry for Mallan. His attitude was fine, he clearly had ability but he just looked to have a level of athleticism that was just never going to improve. With a bit more of a burst of pace, he'd have been a much more effective midfielder, both in attack and defence but it just wasn't there, meaning he was sadly a liability in our midfield too often.
That athletic ability wasn't something that was going to be taught whereas you feel that with Campbell he's already got that and that the other stuff might well come with time (well, not a shot like Mallan's which isn't easily taught at all).
I was actually really impressed with Mallan when he played for Salford against Leeds the other week. He was playing deep and had a very good game, with his slowness never really ending up being exposed.
I remember Lennon lining us up against Celtc with Mallan at the base of midfield. Looked like suicide but iirc it was a convincing 2-0 win for us.
21-09-2023, 09:03 AM
I remember Lennon lining us up against Celtc with Mallan at the base of midfield. Looked like suicide but iirc it was a convincing 2-0 win for us.
Stevie was outstanding that day spraying 40 yard passes all over the pitch
21-09-2023, 09:14 AM
One of two league wins in about 3 months that led to his sacking. It was suicide, it just happened to work once.
21-09-2023, 10:42 AM
If you worked out what Maloneyball was all about you are way smarter than me.
Ping it to the midfielder being marked and use a bit of magic to create an opening?
cameronw-hfc
21-09-2023, 11:57 AM
Something I noticed last week was our front 2 are very similar to what has been seen at Villa, and if you look at them, they play Watkins as the main striker, and the second striker is often Diaby(a winger). Doidge played that second striker role and was dropping deep and dragging players about and it worked really well, I can see Campbell playing that role very well.
It would take out the need for him to get involved earlier on in the play and focus more on his movement/supporting the striker. It might suit his game a little more and I think he could make that second striker role his own, in time.
I also think we will see others played in that role that might not be a striker by trade, it's not an old fashioned 442 with 2 blocks of 4 and 2 strikers that stay high, its much more of a fluid 442 that almost resembles a 4231 in possession at times and that could suit Josh. Technically I'd say he's not really up to the required level to play in the midfield 2, but I also think there's a place for him in the team, although I can only see him playing upfront in this system, or out wide at a stretch as the wingers seem to come inside more like inside forwards rather than traditional wingers.
21-09-2023, 05:41 PM
If you worked out what Maloneyball was all about you are way smarter than me.
Ping it to the midfielder being marked and use a bit of magic to create an opening?
I think Maloneyball was all about boring the opposition to sleep.
Donegal Hibby
21-09-2023, 05:45 PM
I'd have thought most folk would have seen Josh as an attacking midfielder though versatile in you can play him in a few positions. Strengths are he gets into good goalscoring positions , great stamina ,energy and work ethic for the team .Don't think many attack- minded players would have fitted into Maloney's preferred system which generally didn't involve attacking anyhow.
I'm not so sure he won't be accommodated in Monty's team tbh . He's already put him up forward and praised the shift he put in too.I think he could be used as a 10 behind the main striker aswell .
I think Josh Campbell is a good player who's contributed more than some of our other midfielders though because he's hit a bad patch the knife's are out just like they have been for Fish , Youan and other players in the past . Campbell will come good again and I'm still convinced if played he will score double figures for us this season which would be a very good return for a Midfielder imo .
Josh Campbell one of our own :not worth. :flag:
21-09-2023, 07:15 PM
I'd have thought most folk would have seen Josh as an attacking midfielder though versatile in you can play him in a few positions. Strengths are he gets into good goalscoring positions , great stamina ,energy and work ethic for the team .Don't think many attack- minded players would have fitted into Maloney's preferred system which generally didn't involve attacking anyhow.
I'm not so sure he won't be accommodated in Monty's team tbh . He's already put him up forward and praised the shift he put in too.I think he could be used as a 10 behind the main striker aswell .
I think Josh Campbell is a good player who's contributed more than some of our other midfielders though because he's hit a bad patch the knife's are out just like they have been for Fish , Youan and other players in the past . Campbell will come good again and I'm still convinced if played he will score double figures for us this season which would be a very good return for a Midfielder imo .
Josh Campbell one of our own :not worth. :flag:
Re him being accommodated in Monty’s team, he dropped him for his first game as he’s not going to play in the middle of the park in that system unless we are short of bodies. Found it strange him coming on as a forward, don’t think that would have happened had Doidge not been injured and had Vente not been playing with a knock from the first minute.
He will pick up minutes because he’ll put a shift in wherever he’s asked to play but he’s not going to be a first pick.
The knives aren’t out, many folk haven’t been convinced with him for as long as been playing.
Paulie Walnuts
21-09-2023, 08:02 PM
The knives aren’t out, many folk haven’t been convinced with him for as long as been playing.
The idea peoples opinions on Josh Campbell are based on nothing but ‘a bad patch’ is nonsense.
Donegal Hibby
21-09-2023, 09:03 PM
Re him being accommodated in Monty’s team, he dropped him for his first game as he’s not going to play in the middle of the park in that system unless we are short of bodies. Found it strange him coming on as a forward, don’t think that would have happened had Doidge not been injured and had Vente not been playing with a knock from the first minute.
He will pick up minutes because he’ll put a shift in wherever he’s asked to play but he’s not going to be a first pick.
Hanlon was dropped as well after playing in the Aberdeen game too. Didn't find it that strange him coming on as a forward because he gets into good goalscoring positions and has a good shot too though I think he'd do well in games playing behind our main striker too.
Monty praised him for the shift he put in when he came on against killie and I think will play him often enough wither he will be a regular I don't know though if he works as hard as he does for the team and starts scoring again he will be hard to drop like in his performance in the 2-2 against sevco were he was the best player on the park imo.
As to our Midfield I thought 2nd half in the Killie game we give the ball away badly and lacked creativity an going problem imo . A Midfield pairing of Newell and JDH doesn't impress me and personally I think Campbell offers more and has contributed more than JDH tbh .
Knives are always out with football fans and it doesn't take much for opinions to change ( including myself in that btw).It could be a team losing a few games or a player making mistakes or a dip in form of a player. Remember most fans wanting josh to sign a contract and delighted when he did too ! .
21-09-2023, 09:18 PM
Hanlon was dropped as well after playing in the Aberdeen game too. Didn't find it that strange him coming on as a forward because he gets into good goalscoring positions and has a good shot too though I think he'd do well in games playing behind our main striker too.
Monty praised him for the shift he put in when he came on against killie and I think will play him often enough wither he will be a regular I don't know though if he works as hard as he does for the team and starts scoring again he will be hard to drop like in his performance in the 2-2 against sevco were he was the best player on the park imo.
As to our Midfield I thought 2nd half in the Killie game we give the ball away badly and lacked creativity an going problem imo . A Midfield pairing of Newell and JDH doesn't impress me and personally I think Campbell offers more and has contributed more than JDH tbh .
Knives are always out with football fans and it doesn't take much for opinions to change ( including myself in that btw).It could be a team losing a few games or a player making mistakes or a dip in form of a player. Remember most fans wanting josh to sign a contract and delighted when he did too ! .
Hanlon was deemed not fit enough to start due to a knock as mentioned by our manager before kick off.
JDH didn’t play against Kilmarnock.
Donegal Hibby
21-09-2023, 09:20 PM
The idea peoples opinions on Josh Campbell are based on nothing but ‘a bad patch’ is nonsense.
Did folk not have opinions on Youan and Fish when they had a bad patch? Or is that nonsense too ? You really know how to add to a discussion or debate btw :rolleyes:.
Donegal Hibby
21-09-2023, 09:26 PM
Hanlon was deemed not fit enough to start due to a knock as mentioned by our manager before kick off.
JDH didn’t play against Kilmarnock.
I knew about Hanlon btw . Campbell also had a injury earlier in the season he was asked to play with at the time and I never said JDH did play against killie so you've lost me there mate .
21-09-2023, 09:38 PM
I knew about Hanlon btw . Campbell also had a injury earlier in the season he was asked to play with at the time and I never said JDH did play against killie so you've lost me there mate .
If you knew about Hanlon, why did you say he was dropped? He wasn’t dropped, he missed out due to injury.
JDH isn’t currently keeping Campbell out the team so whether or not he would contribute more than him isn’t really relevant.
Donegal Hibby
21-09-2023, 10:19 PM
If you knew about Hanlon, why did you say he was dropped? He wasn’t dropped, he missed out due to injury.
JDH isn’t currently keeping Campbell out the team so whether or not he would contribute more than him isn’t really relevant.
Hanlon's injury couldn't have been that bad in stopping him playing when he was on the bench . We dropped him to the bench for the Kilmarnock game in order to rest him which was the right decision.
JDH isn't keeping Campbell out of the team though it's relevant in that some folk would have him ahead of Campbell which I wouldn't as Campbell offers and contributes more to the team .
21-09-2023, 10:22 PM
Hanlon's injury couldn't have been that bad in stopping him playing when he was on the bench . We dropped him to the bench for the Kilmarnock game in order to rest him which was the right decision.
JDH isn't keeping Campbell out of the team though it's relevant in that some folk would have him ahead of Campbell which I wouldn't as Campbell offers and contributes more to the team .
Hanlon will start when fully fit and JDH will play every in front of Campbell in a midfield two when fit. He's much better than Campbell in a two.
Donegal Hibby
21-09-2023, 11:43 PM
Hanlon will start when fully fit and JDH will play every in front of Campbell in a midfield two when fit. He's much better than Campbell in a two.
Agreed about Hanlon. Absolute legend. Fair enough mate your entitled to your opinion though does JDH score more goals than Campbell ? , does he have more energy and stamina than Campbell ? . The when fit also seems to be issue with JDH unfortunately . Again don't think Newell and JDH are a good Midfield pairing, certainly lack goals tbh .
22-09-2023, 07:26 AM
Agreed about Hanlon. Absolute legend. Fair enough mate your entitled to your opinion though does JDH score more goals than Campbell ? , does he have more energy and stamina than Campbell ? . The when fit also seems to be issue with JDH unfortunately . Again don't think Newell and JDH are a good Midfield pairing, certainly lack goals tbh .
He doesn’t score more or have more energy, but he’s a better midfielder.
If we’re playing 2 centre mids, with Youan and Boyle wide, and 2 forwards, the 2 centre mids don’t need to score goals. They need to control the midfield.
22-09-2023, 07:29 AM
If Hanlons injury wasnt bad enough to have stopped him playing, and he was only being rested, then that was entirely the wrong decision.
If Hanlon had started we’d have got the 3 points, not only 1.
22-09-2023, 07:51 AM
If we’re playing 2 centre mids, with Youan and Boyle wide, and 2 forwards, the 2 centre mids don’t need to score goals. They need to control the midfield.
Also - if Campbell does play as one of the top 2, he won't be giving us "goals from midfield".
Donegal Hibby
22-09-2023, 09:39 AM
You mean like the way we controlled it in the 2nd half against killie ?. I watched other games were we had JDH in midfield with exactly the same outcome . Admire your optimism EASTY if you think everything's going to be ok and we are going to control or dominate other teams Midfields with a pairing of Newell and JDH btw :aok:
22-09-2023, 09:53 AM
You mean like the way we controlled it in the 2nd half against killie ?. I watched other games were we had JDH in midfield with exactly the same outcome . Admire your optimism EASTY if you think everything's we are going to control or dominate other teams Midfields with a pairing of Newell and JDH btw :aok:
We certainly won't with Campbell if JDH can't.
Donegal Hibby
22-09-2023, 09:55 AM
If Hanlons injury wasnt bad enough to have stopped him playing, and he was only being rested, then that was entirely the wrong decision.
Not if there was a risk of him being out for longer due to playing on that pitch . We are in the realm's of IF'S and BUTS now !. We don't know if we'd have won it if Hanlon had played. Wasn't just the defense at fault in the 2nd half but the midfield too who repeatedly give the ball away and lacked any creativity or control. Again if you think JDH and Newell in midfield is the answer to sorting this out , great stuff ! , though have my doubts tbh .
Donegal Hibby
22-09-2023, 10:01 AM
We certainly won't with Campbell if JDH can't.
We have tried JDH with Newell in midfield before and imo it's not worked they haven't controlled the midfield , lacked creativity and seeing as both of them have something like 10 career goals between them the chances of a goal are pretty slim though if your all happy with Newell and JDH in midfield fair enough.
22-09-2023, 10:06 AM
You mean like the way we controlled it in the 2nd half against killie ?. I watched other games were we had JDH in midfield with exactly the same outcome . Admire your optimism EASTY if you think everything's we are going to control or dominate other teams Midfields with a pairing of Newell and JDH btw :aok:
You'll never see me post anything remotely close to saying that I want Newell and JDH to be our midfield 2
I don't. I don't even particularly like JDH, but he's a better midfielder than Campbell.
22-09-2023, 10:12 AM
We have tried JDH with Newell in midfield before and imo it's not worked they haven't controlled the midfield , lacked creativity and seeing as both of them have something like 10 career goals between them the chances of a goal are pretty slim though if your all happy with Newell and JDH in midfield fair enough.
You don't need your midfield 2 to get goals in this system though. They're there to win and circulate the ball. We effectively have a 4-2-4. With 4 attackers more than capable of scoring regularly. That's plenty. It's about balance.
Donegal Hibby
22-09-2023, 10:21 AM
You'll never see me post anything remotely close to saying that I want Newell and JDH to be our midfield 2
I don't. I don't even particularly like JDH, but he's a better midfielder than Campbell.
Disagree again . Campbell has contributed more to hibs than JDH plus the fact one is regularly unavailable for selection as well is another factor that must be taken into account too .
22-09-2023, 10:29 AM
Disagree again . Campbell has contributed more to hibs than JDH plus the fact one is regularly unavailable for selection as well is another factor that must be taken into account too .
I don't see how what you've said is disagreeing with what I've said. It's irrelevant to the post you've quoted.
22-09-2023, 10:36 AM
You don't need your midfield 2 to get goals in this system though. They're there to win and circulate the ball. We effectively have a 4-2-4. With 4 attackers more than capable of scoring regularly. That's plenty. It's about balance.
Correct. CCM central midfielders only scored 3 goals in 91 combined appearances last season. The system needs players who can win possession and get it to full backs and attacking players quickly. They need to be very good passers as the style requires quick, often one touch passes into space. Of our current options, Newell and Levitt would probably be best suited and played well together as a 2 in a 4-4-2 at home to Luzern.
Donegal Hibby
22-09-2023, 10:41 AM
You so far have mentioned controlling , winning and circulating the ball from Midfield. It didn't happen against killie in the 2nd half and it's not just been that game but others as well. 2 minutes our 2 goal advantage lasted in the Killie game because we couldn't control , win or circulate the ball .
Paulie Walnuts
22-09-2023, 10:59 AM
Correct.
You’re wasting your time debating this one I reckon.
Josh Campbell has scored more goals and that appears to trump anything, even the things that midfielders need to be good at, which Campbell isn’t particularly good at.
22-09-2023, 11:16 AM
You so far have mentioned controlling , winning and circulating the ball from Midfield. It didn't happen against killie in the 2nd half and it's not just been that game but others as well. 2 minutes our 2 goal advantage lasted in the Killie game because we couldn't control , win or circulate the ball .
Are you arguing against the system/formation, or that you think we need Campbell in the midfield 2?
I'm not really sure what your point is?
22-09-2023, 11:21 AM
You're making out Campbell is Frank lampard. He gets a few more goals than the average midfielder. His all round game isn't worth it imo.
Donegal Hibby
22-09-2023, 11:26 AM
Correct.
You’re wasting your time debating this one I reckon.
Josh Campbell has scored more goals and that appears to trump anything, even the things that midfielders need to be good at, which Campbell isn’t particularly good at.
Another outstanding contribution once again 😂😂😂
22-09-2023, 11:35 AM
LJ constantly played him when injured.Id rather we rested players than have them more seriously injured.
22-09-2023, 11:37 AM
LJ constantly played him when injured.Id rather we rested players than have them more seriously injured.
Players shouldn’t be on the bench if they’re not fit to play.
In fact…wasn’t it you who complained of the same thing with Boyle in that European game?
22-09-2023, 11:49 AM
Players shouldn’t be on the bench if they’re not fit to play.
In fact…wasn’t it you who complained of the same thing with Boyle in that European game?
Im not disagreeing. And talking about this will at least stop people talking nonsense about Josh Campbell. :greengrin
I think Maloneyball was all about boring the opposition to sleep.
And us.
Paulie Walnuts
22-09-2023, 05:30 PM
Another outstanding contribution once again 😂😂😂
And yet near enough nobody that’s posting on the thread agrees with your nonsense that seems to think scoring goals is all that matters in football regardless of what position you play.
Outstanding contributions etc.
22-09-2023, 05:47 PM
Amazed that this silly thread is still going, a bit like the auld days wi the washer women hanging over the line gossiping away about a load of anything and mostly rubbish.
Young Josh is alright and he plays for Hibs.
:cb
22-09-2023, 06:03 PM
Amazed that this silly thread is still going, a bit like the auld days wi the washer women hanging over the line gossiping away about a load of anything and mostly rubbish.
Young Josh is alright and he plays for Hibs.
:cb
Or is it like football fans discussing football on a football forum? :wink:
Donegal Hibby
22-09-2023, 06:11 PM
And yet near enough nobody that’s posting on the thread agrees with your nonsense that seems to think scoring goals is all that matters in football regardless of what position you play.
Outstanding contributions etc.
There's plenty of folk on here that thinks Campbell's a decent player like I do . Who said scoring goals is all that matters? As to your favourite word ' nonsense ' maybe you should try and learn a few new words as your beginning to sound like a parrot 😂
22-09-2023, 06:32 PM
Or is it like football fans discussing football on a football forum? :wink:
Paulie Walnuts
22-09-2023, 06:52 PM
There's plenty of folk on here that thinks Campbell's a decent player like I do . Who said scoring goals is all that matters? As to your favourite word ' nonsense ' maybe you should try and learn a few new words as your beginning to sound like a parrot 😂
Campbell’s goals is your go to reasoning for why hes the man. You’ve told us about it god knows how many times. Almost a bit like a parrot ironically.
Donegal Hibby
22-09-2023, 07:20 PM
Campbell’s goals is your go to reasoning for why hes the man. You’ve told us about it god knows how many times. Almost a bit like a parrot ironically.
Are Campbells goals my reasoning for why he's the man ? When did I say he's ' The Man ' ? . That's some imagination you've got btw though I do think your probably eating to much cheese tbh 😂
I'm with you. I really dislike posters repeating themselves ad nauseam and especially ironically! :wink:
Donegal Hibby
22-09-2023, 08:07 PM
If it’s not your reason for it then I’ve no idea why you keep going on about it tbh and tbh I’ve got tbh and say you keep going on about it tbh.
Maybe LJ was the man after al tbh, like you kept telling us tbh as he kept on playing Josh Campbell and we kept on being a poor side tbh.
I can only wonder how much cheese you ate when you kept telling everyone how good LJ was… you know, tbh.
Mentioned other stuff too not just goalscoring though that probably went over your head ! Still no explanation from you to when I actually said Campbell was ' the man ' I notice ? . I think I will just ignore you now because all you seem to want to do is bicker or make snidely remarks which I can't really be bothered with anyhow :rolleyes:
22-09-2023, 08:19 PM
If it’s not your reason for it then I’ve no idea why you keep going on about it tbh and tbh I’ve got tbh and say you keep going on about it tbh.
Maybe LJ was the man after al tbh, like you kept telling us tbh as he kept on playing Josh Campbell and we kept on being a poor side tbh.
I can only wonder how much cheese you ate when you kept telling everyone how good LJ was… you know, tbh.
Post doesn’t read any funnier or cleverer after editing. All very needless.
22-09-2023, 11:07 PM
Post doesn’t read any funnier or cleverer after editing. All very needless.
Oh, come on, let's go to the stoning.
ErinGoBraghHFC
22-09-2023, 11:11 PM
You’re only making it worse for yourself.
23-09-2023, 12:06 AM
You’re only making it worse for yourself.
What’s Josh Campbell ever done for us…..
23-09-2023, 06:08 AM
Should be a good one today, local boy.
Donegal Hibby
27-09-2023, 09:42 PM
Well done Josh on your two assists tonight. :greengrin
scm70nyd1973
27-09-2023, 09:54 PM
Well said 👍
zitelli62
27-09-2023, 09:56 PM
Now now you'll get shot down for that on here behave please.
The_Sauz
27-09-2023, 09:58 PM
When did he get the second one :confused: (first one was a sliced shot):agree:
27-09-2023, 10:11 PM
His energy was much needed when he came on. Well done Josh.
Hibee_Craig7062
28-09-2023, 04:57 AM
Almost set St Mirren up for one too with a shockingly poor pass in his own half straight to a St Mirren player 😝
That apart, He did OK when he came on.
fife hfc
28-09-2023, 05:23 AM
I must admit I am not keen on him but last night he done well, and as with Tavares, Rocky etc he deserves a clean slate under Montgomery. I don't see him as a starter but can provide much needed energy later in the game. Like others in the team he does have limitations.
Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk
28-09-2023, 05:38 AM
Played ok when he came on, not sure anyone can call the first an assistance(I know it will likely be classed as one) but good to see the confidence to take the shot on in the first place, he will always be one that divides opinion but he is a good squad player
28-09-2023, 05:46 AM
Early days but I think there will definitely be times that we want Youan or Boyle playing through the middle in this formation. As good as Vente is, he’s not blessed with pace.
So there are going to be opportunities for Campbell or others to play those wide roles, whether that is starting or from the bench.
28-09-2023, 06:53 AM
Early days but I think there will definitely be times that we want Youan or Boyle playing through the middle in this formation. As good as Vente is, he’s not blessed with pace.
So there are going to be opportunities for Campbell or others to play those wide roles, whether that is starting or from the bench.
Enjoyed Campbell’s energy when he came on though pretty sure his first pass was straight to a buddy after that he was fine might have had more assists if Boyle had been deadlier
Said when we first signed him that Vente reminds me of Super Ally Macleod not the quickest but cool as ….when presented with a chance
29-09-2023, 10:53 PM
Enjoyed Campbell’s energy when he came on though pretty sure his first pass was straight to a buddy after that he was fine might have had more assists if Boyle had been deadlier
Said when we first signed him that Vente reminds me of Super Ally Macleod not the quickest but cool as ….when presented with a chanceIt wasn't his first but his third. I was counting because I expected him to get a doing at some point. His first two were excellent
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk