View Full Version : Brian McLauchlin

Hibstrooper
11-09-2023, 12:55 PM
Surely it’s time this numpty is kept away from Easter Road?

Striking with his negativity again today, asking Ian Gordon why they would appoint someone with no experience of Scottish football.

Last time with Johnson’s appointment he was asking why he’d come up Scottish football given it’s so poor.

He was also quick with his “Gordon open to selling Hibs” headlines after a throwaway comment.

His interviews are always negative and sh*t stirring and he was at it again today on what’s a positive day for the club.

11-09-2023, 12:59 PM
Keep him. If we do well there's nothing like rubbing a journos face in it.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

11-09-2023, 01:00 PM
I get the feeling he's trying to come across as controversial. I actually attended a sportsman's dinner where he was one of the speakers. Funny guy.

11-09-2023, 01:03 PM
Keep him. If we do well there's nothing like rubbing a journos face in it.

Sleekit coward behind a mike.
He did not dare to pose that "experience" question direct to Nick, but chose Ian .
He is a slimy overfed maroon toad.

11-09-2023, 01:10 PM
It was a valid question.

Its timing, and the way he structured it, left a lot to be desired, but it won't be the last time he has to field similar.

11-09-2023, 01:12 PM
He's a Jambo. What do you expect?

I get the feeling he's trying to come across as controversial. I actually attended a sportsman's dinner where he was one of the speakers. Funny guy.Creating controversy is BBC Sportsounds editorial policy. Two pundits taking polarised views on everything and anything. So boring.

HFC93
He clearly hates us, but I'm completely against censoring/banning journalists. Leave that to the bigot brothers.

Hibees1973
11-09-2023, 01:20 PM
For a journo his questions are a bit tedious and lazy.

Very little insight or thought put into his questioning. He doesn't bother me in anyway. Some on here label him as a Yam. Is there proof or substance in this?

I don't care if he is anti Hibs. In the past I have heard him speak positively of Hibs when we were playing well, in particular that six month spell under Lennon.

I just think it's a BBC Scotland thing. I listened to the podcast after match analysis of the Scotland match against Cyprus with Wullie Miller, Levein and Richard Gordon. What a borefest it was, I ended up switching off after 10 minutes. BBC Scotland are miles behind Radio 5 Live with their journo's and pundits.

Kenny Crawford is the worst of the lot.

11-09-2023, 01:23 PM
He just needed to say no ‘experience’ of Scottish football, rather than ‘knowledge’, but I can’t say I believe it was an accident…

Gloucester Hibs
11-09-2023, 01:24 PM
He's been at it for years with regards us, can mind Yogi going mental at him once.

I'd like someone at Hibs to call him out on it, there's no way he'd apply his line of questioning to Budge or whatever donut currently resides in the Hearts hot seat.

11-09-2023, 01:26 PM
I get the feeling he's trying to come across as controversial. I actually attended a sportsman's dinner where he was one of the speakers. Funny guy.

Nothing funny about him behaving like Jeremy Paxman when asking questions of any Hibernian employee.

Its not sports journalism he is involved in.
A bairn wae a biscuit erse can ask daft questions without reason.
His reasons are a petty,infantile dislike of our club.
Its not professional, or even impartial,not one bit. Sleekit pig.

Having got that off ma chest ,it seems that back during The Cheating Years,the neebours didnae like him much either !

https://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/97014-bbc-hack-brian-mclaughlin/

11-09-2023, 01:27 PM
Who cares about the greasy Jambo trumpet and what he has to say?

11-09-2023, 01:27 PM
He's been an awful journo for years. Hibs should do all they can to make him feel unwelcome. Maybe ensure he has to walk loads of stairs to get to any interview as that will soon do him in.

Hibees1973
11-09-2023, 01:34 PM
He's been an awful journo for years. Hibs should do all they can to make him feel unwelcome. Maybe ensure he has to walk loads of stairs to get to any interview as that will soon do him in.

Yeah and hand him a bag of pies just before he starts walking up the stairs.

11-09-2023, 01:35 PM
It was a valid question.

Its timing, and the way he structured it, left a lot to be desired, but it won't be the last time he has to field similar.

Had he highlighted actual experience rather than knowledge, then possibly.

That was just sheer ignorance from McLaughlin this morning, where if he’d done a bit of homework before choosing his questions then he’d have saved making an utter fool of himself.

That look that Monty gave him was quite telling. The wheezing Jambo has already had his card marked. You can tolerate his nonsense for a time but it’s come to a point where we need to be saying “no more”
As licence fee payers we’re funding these regular verbal assaults on our club.

CowgateHarp1875
11-09-2023, 01:41 PM
He should be banned the man is a disgrace.

11-09-2023, 01:50 PM
Sounds and looks exactly how you'd imagine a Jambo would.

11-09-2023, 01:53 PM
banning him im afraid is just a bit The The rangers for me. What we can do is make him last to ask a question at every press conference Wait until the very end of every match day / night until he get access to coaches/players. He gets ZERO additional info from the club on anything. Nae parking space and constantly "Forget" to put his name down for press seats etc....

Donegal Hibby
11-09-2023, 01:54 PM
He's just another hertz 🤡
Hopefully feels totally uncomfortable every time visiting us 😀

USA_Hibee
11-09-2023, 01:54 PM
Not up for banning journalists from our press conferences.

11-09-2023, 01:55 PM
Why you all greeting about a Hearts supporting journalist?? Mental.

11-09-2023, 01:58 PM
I usually think folk are being a bit narrow-minded and precious when they are outraged by media questions and other managers’ comments etc.

I did think it sounded a bit poor from him this morning though. However it happens every day in journalism/sports conferences.

Banning him from Easter road?! Away yi go.

11-09-2023, 02:10 PM

Especially when we could all be greeting about our hero not getting the Hibs job.

Rumble de Thump
11-09-2023, 02:20 PM
The problem isn't so much this overripe plum. The real problem is the arrogant people running the BBC who seem to want their journalists to be completely biased then deny that it happens.

11-09-2023, 02:20 PM
It was a valid question.

My thoughts exactly.

Perfectly sensible question delivered particularly badly for a professional journalist.

CowgateHarp1875
11-09-2023, 03:00 PM
I always feel there's an air of negativity from media towards our club be it us announcing a manager or signing a player.

11-09-2023, 03:04 PM
My thoughts exactly.

Perfectly sensible question delivered particularly badly for a professional journalist.

I think it was a sensible question poorly delivered but a little odd it was aimed at IG rather than Monty himself. Seems a blatant attempt to put Ian on the spot which didn't really work imo.

11-09-2023, 03:06 PM
Not in favour of banning journalists, far better to give them a look of disdain the way Ange (or Fergie in the past) are good at. Nothing beats a disdainful stare to make a journalist look like a daftie.

He's here!
11-09-2023, 03:11 PM
It was a valid question.

I didn't hear the way it was asked but as you say a perfectly valid question on the face of it.

How was it answered out of interest?

11-09-2023, 03:14 PM
The only journalist i'd want banned from Easter Road/East Mains is Keith Jackson and it should have been done seven years ago. McLauchlin is just irritating whereas Jackson has caused reputational damage to our club, or at least tried to.

11-09-2023, 03:53 PM
McLauchlin has been doing the job for 20 years and still doesn't know anything about Scottish football.

11-09-2023, 03:56 PM

On the face of it, it is petty. But, it's another example of the constant drip feeding of negativity they take great delight in putting our way. its the exact opposite when talking about the Jumbos.

It goes a long way in setting the mood, consciously and unconsciously, of a support.

11-09-2023, 04:02 PM
McLauchlin has been doing the job for 20 years and still doesn't know anything about Scottish football.Indeed, you only have to remember he is a "journalist" but somehow managed to miss the facts behind the whole Hearts administration events and the real stories that surfaced around charity thefts, creditors lists and somehow getting free use of city and council assets.......

Hibs07p
11-09-2023, 04:03 PM
Why does everyone call him a journalist? Why are any of the msm commentators classed as journalists? To claim that right, surely they should report the truth without fear or favour. Can any of them claim unbiased reporting of Scottish club football ? I doubt that very much. They’re all biased club cheerleaders paid for by us, the taxpayer. They are not part of the solution to advancing Scottish football, they’re part of the problem, by defending indefensible incidents on the football field, particularly when it involves their club. To call them journalists is a disservice to journalism.

GGTTH Scottish Cup Winners 2016

11-09-2023, 04:06 PM
Why does everyone call him a journalist? Why are any of the msm commentators classed as journalists? To claim that right, surely they should report the truth without fear or favour. Can any of them claim unbiased reporting of Scottish club football ? I doubt that very much. They’re all biased club cheerleaders paid for by us, the taxpayer. They are not part of the solution to advancing Scottish football, they’re part of the problem, by defending indefensible incidents on the football field, particularly when it involves their club. To call them journalists is a disservice to journalism.

GGTTH Scottish Cup Winners 2016I agree with you hence the " "[emoji6]

11-09-2023, 04:07 PM
I usually think folk are being a bit narrow-minded and precious when they are outraged by media questions and other managers’ comments etc.

I did think it sounded a bit poor from him this morning though. However it happens every day in journalism/sports conferences.

He's having a go at the journalists now!

11-09-2023, 04:09 PM
I always thought Postecoglu handled the Scottish sports press well, he seems to be doing the same in England as well.

Happy enough to play the game to an extent but will answer in a way that leaves them in no doubt that he is merely indulging them. His 'that's not how it works mate' when a journo suggested he hand Levy a list of Kane replacements was brilliantly awkward.

Hopefully Montgomery shows the same attitude. Tolerate people like McLaughlin but leave them in no doubt who is in charge of any relationship. I always think too many in the Scottish game are careful in what they say as they know their next gig could well be a punditry one working with these guys.

11-09-2023, 04:09 PM
I think it was a sensible question poorly delivered but a little odd it was aimed at IG rather than Monty himself. Seems a blatant attempt to put Ian on the spot which didn't really work imo.

:agree: Putting Ian on the spot and making him feel uncomfortable was the fat Jambo’s intention. Aimed at either Nick or Ian, a more reasonable line of questioning might have been : ‘ Do you think a limited knowledge and experience of football in Scotland might be a difficult disadvantage to overcome?’
As it was and the way he phrased it, the muppet was making his own, sarcastic and negative spin on Nick’s appointment. The question, however, should have been directed to Nick in the first place but the fat Jambo is clever enough to know that he would be giving him the opportunity to expand on his plans for the club.

11-09-2023, 04:16 PM
We need a shot across the bow for the BBC. Sick of the negativity and the same clowns who think they know more.

This is the same McLaughlin who was fawning over Anne Budge when she moved the team to Murrayfield and he said to her before a game “how apt for you Anne, Queen Anne in the royal box at Murrayfield” A pathetic sniveling bitter jambo prick.

11-09-2023, 04:32 PM
The good thing about the way the presser went regards MccLauchlin is that NM will now who the guy is and what his agenda us. He will be ready to make him look like the fool he is and up until today he wouldn’t have known him from you or I. Now he does.

11-09-2023, 04:44 PM
He's having a go at the journalists now!

Yes they’re very pretty!

11-09-2023, 05:03 PM
I always thought Postecoglu handled the Scottish sports press well, he seems to be doing the same in England as well.

Happy enough to play the game to an extent but will answer in a way that leaves them in no doubt that he is merely indulging them. His 'that's not how it works mate' when a journo suggested he hand Levy a list of Kane replacements was brilliantly awkward.

Hopefully Montgomery shows the same attitude. Tolerate people like McLaughlin but leave them in no doubt who is in charge of any relationship. I always think too many in the Scottish game are careful in what they say as they know their next gig could well be a punditry one working with these guys.

Agree, I have high hopes of him dealing with the media in Big Ange style :greengrin

LJ seemed to get on fine with the bloated jambo fud but I thought JR was going to stick the nut on him once, McLauchlan really got to him.

The talk of banning him is just nonsense, leave stuff like that to the huns.

11-09-2023, 05:05 PM
I’d expect a bit of media kickback against us for a while. From the way certain elements of the Glasgow media were talking, you’d think that Neil Lennon was by a mile the best candidate for the job and a nailed on dead cert to get it, and we should roll out the red carpet for him.

Seeing as how the reality is that his star has faded so much that he couldn’t seemingly make the shortlist, expect those same media people to belittle the experience and knowledge of Monty.

“Watch this space”.

HarpOnHibee
11-09-2023, 05:12 PM
If the entire attitude surrounding our club is influenced by some wee tollyhole in the media, then that says more about us than him. I don't like Brian, I don't like most of the so called "journalists" in our game or within the country in general. But banning them from the club would reflect poorly on us in my opinion. I say, let them take their cheap digs and make them look like complete fools when we do the business on the park.

11-09-2023, 05:12 PM
Agree, I have high hopes of him dealing with the media in Big Ange style :greengrin

LJ seemed to get on fine with the bloated jambo fud but I thought JR was going to stick the nut on him once, McLauchlan really got to him.

The talk of banning him is just nonsense, leave stuff like that to the huns.

Seem to remember him asking a question of JR that got a civil but short response, and when he tried to nip at him further, JR got much shorter in tone and essentially told him to give it a rest

11-09-2023, 05:14 PM
Like being able to see the great wall of China from space, I can see the blocked arteries of McLaughlin just by looking at him.

Never hidden his leanings and takes delight in stirring up the Hibs clueless/in crisis/Hibsed it rhetoric. We should ban him.

Greenwich_Hibby
11-09-2023, 05:49 PM
Jambo erse waiting for his pension. Don't give him the time of day, he's just attention seeking negativity for the BBC, who still cant accept Hibs win the cup fair and square in 2016.

11-09-2023, 05:55 PM
Reporting Scotland spent their interview asking what he thought of the old Celtic manager.

11-09-2023, 05:56 PM

This . Banning journalists is a very Sevco thing to do

11-09-2023, 06:15 PM
Not in favour of banning journalists, far better to give them a look of disdain the way Ange (or Fergie in the past) are good at. Nothing beats a disdainful stare to make a journalist look like a daftie.

Monty certainly gave him a good "who is this clown?" stare this morning.

11-09-2023, 06:34 PM
Especially when we could all be greeting about our hero not getting the Hibs job.
Naughty :greengrin

11-09-2023, 07:33 PM
Surely it’s time this numpty is kept away from Easter Road?

Striking with his negativity again today, asking Ian Gordon why they would appoint someone with no experience of Scottish football.

Last time with Johnson’s appointment he was asking why he’d come up Scottish football given it’s so poor.

He was also quick with his “Gordon open to selling Hibs” headlines after a throwaway comment.

His interviews are always negative and sh*t stirring and he was at it again today on what’s a positive day for the club.

What was IG’s reply ?

11-09-2023, 07:38 PM
“how apt for you Anne, Queen Anne in the royal box at Murrayfield”

https://i.ibb.co/swHXs3K/20230911-172326.gif

11-09-2023, 07:46 PM
What was IG’s reply ?

He told him that Nick Montgomerie while not having a lot of experience of the Scottish game he was certainly knowledgeable about it. Explained how he ticked a lot of the boxes that they were looking for in a manager - winning mentality, development of young players and overachieving on a small budget.

11-09-2023, 08:04 PM
We need a shot across the bow for the BBC. Sick of the negativity and the same clowns who think they know more.

This is the same McLaughlin who was fawning over Anne Budge when she moved the team to Murrayfield and he said to her before a game “how apt for you Anne, Queen Anne in the royal box at Murrayfield” A pathetic sniveling bitter jambo prick.

He’s in that Hearts documentary the BBC did… turning up early at press conferences to bag a front row seat (or two) and then asking the softest, most complimentary questions of his Queen.

A pathetic wee Jambo servant.

11-09-2023, 08:17 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230911/8bb1dffcd6eee0ccee0e5dabd09505da.jpg

11-09-2023, 08:30 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230911/8bb1dffcd6eee0ccee0e5dabd09505da.jpg

That is brilliant :greengrin

11-09-2023, 08:31 PM
He told him that Nick Montgomerie while not having a lot of experience of the Scottish game he was certainly knowledgeable about it. Explained how he ticked a lot of the boxes that they were looking for in a manager - winning mentality, development of young players and overachieving on a small budget.

Thought he answered that very well

11-09-2023, 08:51 PM

[emoji16][emoji16][emoji16][emoji23][emoji23]

11-09-2023, 09:14 PM
Montgomerie

Aw naw

xyz23jc
11-09-2023, 09:15 PM

Bang on the money mate! :top marks

11-09-2023, 09:43 PM
He's a ****ing welt.

11-09-2023, 09:53 PM
Been at it for years, nothing new here.

I'm not for banning journos, however I'm all for people at the club calling him out on it and putting him in his place in a dignified way.

As other have said Ange appeared to be very good at that kind of thing. I think Nick dealt with his questions pretty well too, he seems to be on top of the whole journos putting words in his mouth thing.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

1875Sean
11-09-2023, 10:37 PM
The same dinosaur that was smug saying he signed a 36 year old from India

11-09-2023, 11:52 PM
He just needed to say no ‘experience’ of Scottish football, rather than ‘knowledge’, but I can’t say I believe it was an accident…

Exactly!

How could he possibly gauge the level of Monty’s knowledge of Scottish football?

Not all one’s knowledge of something is derived from experience.

12-09-2023, 12:08 AM
Exactly!

How could he possibly gauge the level of Monty’s knowledge of Scottish football?

That's the issue isn't it? Most historians, for example, have no actual experience of what they specialise in but to say they've no knowledge of their field is contemptuous and ridiculous.

How the hell does fat Brian know what Nick Montgomery's "knowledge" of Scottish football is? Did he draw him up a quiz before the presser?

Just showed himself up as a cheerleader and a foolish, lazy fourth rate hack. I hope the club are giving biased clowns like McLaughlin the short shrift they deserve. In his case probably nae pies.

12-09-2023, 01:12 AM
Aw naw

Yep ..first reported misspelling!😂

12-09-2023, 01:14 AM
The same dinosaur that was smug saying he signed a 36 year old from India

Which we didn’t.

But the Jambo Cannae even decipher Wikipedia correctly.

12-09-2023, 06:31 AM
Exactly!

He will have learned more about Scottish football just doing his research for the job than Brian will know in all his years as a lazy hack who has lived here all his life. Montys mentor Warnock certainly appeared to have good knowledge of Scottish football.

12-09-2023, 07:56 AM
https://www.facebook.com/reel/1459034361549668

On a similar note, Keith Jackson has unearthed some shocking video footage of the 2016 cup final which shows he was right all along.

DIXIHIBS
12-09-2023, 08:10 AM

On a similar note, Keith Jackson has unearthed some shocking video footage of the 2016 cup final which shows he was right all along.

These bad hibbies get everywhere.

GRA
12-09-2023, 08:34 AM
Not the first and certainly won't be the last 'journalist' with an anti-Hibs bias. However, we need to use this to create a siege mentality within our club, Alex Ferguson was the master of this in the early 80s when another club had the audacity to challenge to OF for trophies.

When Stubbsy came in he said 'why not this year?' when asked how he'd get the Scottish Cup monkey off our backs. He remarked how the 'journalists' laughed at that statement then he highlighted the glee at having to face those same 'journalists' after he'd won the trophy :greengrin need to use that same energy to progress our club.

Donegal Hibby
12-09-2023, 08:47 AM

Often wondered was there more as a club we could/ should have done at that time those stories were printed in the record ? .

12-09-2023, 09:50 AM
Don't mind those kind of questions. They're pertinent. Up to Hibs and manager to be able to answer them confidently and competently.

CowgateHarp1875
12-09-2023, 11:52 AM
Not the first and certainly won't be the last 'journalist' with an anti-Hibs bias. However, we need to use this to create a siege mentality within our club, Alex Ferguson was the master of this in the early 80s when another club had the audacity to challenge to OF for trophies.

When Stubbsy came in he said 'why not this year?' when asked how he'd get the Scottish Cup monkey off our backs. He remarked how the 'journalists' laughed at that statement then he highlighted the glee at having to face those same 'journalists' after he'd won the trophy :greengrin need to use that same energy to progress our club.

100% agree with this mate 👍

12-09-2023, 11:55 AM
Don't mind those kind of questions. They're pertinent. Up to Hibs and manager to be able to answer them confidently and competently.

Him an auld pichey breeks, make perfect drinking pals, one speaks peicsh and the other reeks o peicsh.
**** the hertz
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin :greengrin:greengrin

mcohibs
12-09-2023, 12:18 PM
I’m no fan of McLaughlin but it’s a journalist’s job to ask these types of pressing questions, and tbh a lot of people would have been interested to hear the thought process behind the appointment. A lot of the chat pre appointment was that Hibs needed someone with experience of Scottish football. FWIW I don’t think IG answered the question well.

I think McLaughlin realised half way through that his question came off a bit confrontational and he catches himself on. But what he was saying was correvt. NM doesn’t have experience of Scottish football. If we’re going to get offended at questions like that by the media then we’re in for a rough ride.

Rumble de Thump
12-09-2023, 12:48 PM
I’m no fan of McLaughlin but it’s a journalist’s job to ask these types of pressing questions, and tbh a lot of people would have been interested to hear the thought process behind the appointment. A lot of the chat pre appointment was that Hibs needed someone with experience of Scottish football. FWIW I don’t think IG answered the question well.

I think McLaughlin realised half way through that his question came off a bit confrontational and he catches himself on. But what he was saying was correvt. NM doesn’t have experience of Scottish football. If we’re going to get offended at questions like that by the media then we’re in for a rough ride.

It was a deliberately negatively loaded question and one I can't recall him, or anyone else at the BBC, putting to any other managers. It was standard bevahiour from him and I don't expect anyone will have been offended by it. What he said was wrong. Montgomery does have knowledge of the Scottish game and McLaughlin's comments highlighted his own ignorance. Journalism is just something he's not good at.

12-09-2023, 12:49 PM

Pep and Klopp had no experience of English football prior to their arrival. In these internet days, research is easy and the question really isn't relevant. NM adapted to Australia and he'll adapt to Scotland too.

12-09-2023, 12:55 PM
Pep and Klopp had no experience of English football prior to their arrival. In these internet days, research is easy and the question really isn't relevant. NM adapted to Australia and he'll adapt to Scotland too.

He said that NM had no "knowledge" of the Scottish game, not experience.

12-09-2023, 01:15 PM
Pep and Klopp this, Pep and Klopp that.

Seems like a default point to make on here recently.

12-09-2023, 01:22 PM

Does that make it wrong?

12-09-2023, 01:31 PM

Have you watched him interview Hearts manager(s). He's like a fluffier girl.

12-09-2023, 01:34 PM
worth noting that Brian McLauchlin is an anagram of :

Anal Climb Urchin
Animal Clinch Rub
Bunni Hair Mcall
Brain Claim Lunch
Cannibal Hurl Mic
Cinch Lamb Urinal

any other suggestions welcome

McSwanky
12-09-2023, 01:35 PM

Giving examples of 2 managers that had no experience of the leagues they were going into, but were successful because, well, they are good managers. You could say the same about Postecoglu at Celtic. Whilst they are maybe extreme examples, they are still examples.

It's just to make a point that knowledge/experience of the intricacies of the leage you're going into doesn't mean you're not going to be successful. Which is reasonable, no?

12-09-2023, 01:37 PM
Not necessarily but it’s all over this forum these days.

What relevance does their experience, or lack of it, have to to do with anything?

It doesn’t strengthen your argument about NMs lack of knowledge / experience of the Scottish game in any way.

The whole point about “Scottish football” has been blown way out of proportion.

For as long as I’ve been alive people have talked about the game being different up here.

Now, because we’ve brought someone in from managing abroad, we’re being told it’s all nonsense and just to ignore it.

It’s pathetic. No one is even allowed to voice any ‘concerns’ on anything to do with NM without some form of pile on.

12-09-2023, 01:39 PM

Jose Mourhino

Arsene Wenger

Alex Ferguson

Better?

McSwanky
12-09-2023, 01:40 PM
worth noting that Brian McLauchlin is an anagram of :

Anal Climb Urchin
Animal Clinch Rub
Bunni Hair Mcall
Brain Claim Lunch
Cannibal Hurl Mic
Cinch Lamb Urinal

any other suggestions welcome

Munch labial ring? :Ummm:

12-09-2023, 01:42 PM
Giving examples of 2 managers that had no experience of the leagues they were going into, but were successful because, well, they are good managers. You could say the same about Postecoglu at Celtic. Whilst they are maybe extreme examples, they are still examples.

It's just to make a point that knowledge/experience of the intricacies of the leage you're going into doesn't mean you're not going to be successful. Which is reasonable, no?

LJ had next to no experience of the game up here and it showed.

It’s a legitimate concern and one that we should be able to discuss without fearing a backlash from fellow fans.

If you’ve got to use some of the best managers alive today to give examples, that kinda proves the point.

There’s been numerous managers have to Scotland and failed. Certai uk more than those that have been a success.

McSwanky
12-09-2023, 01:46 PM

It’s a legitimate concern and one that we should be able to discuss without fearing a backlash from fellow fans.

If you’ve got to use some of the best managers alive today to give examples, that kinda proves the point.

There’s been numerous managers have to Scotland and failed. Certai uk more than those that have been a success.

The pool is pretty small to draw any reasonable conclusion from. Any proper analyst would laugh you out of town for suggesting that you can draw any conclusions from what is really only a handful of foreign managers in Scotland. The data set is tiny.

By the way, of course I'm going to choose successful managers to illustrate that managers can be successful, would you prefer I chose a **** one? :greengrin

My opinion is that LJ failed because he wasn't a very good manager, not anything to do with his experience of the Scottish game. But it's just a view, as is your first sentence.

12-09-2023, 01:47 PM

What relevance does their experience, or lack of it, have to to do with anything?

It doesn’t strengthen your argument about NMs lack of knowledge / experience of the Scottish game in any way.

For as long as I’ve been alive people have talked about the game being different up here.

Now, because we’ve brought someone in from managing abroad, we’re being told it’s all nonsense and just to ignore it.

It’s pathetic. No one is even allowed to voice any ‘concerns’ on anything to do with NM without some form of pile on.

I think you need to get off your high horse.

Make your point. Some will agree, some won’t.

Don’t keep repeating the same thing again and again and again and again. It gets tedious.

12-09-2023, 01:47 PM
Jose Mourhino

Arsene Wenger

Alex Ferguson

Better?

Nope. You’re still using some of best mangers around as examples.

How about doing a list of those that have failed?

There will be dozens of them. So many down south that you won’t even remember them I’d imagine

In fact, pretty much all the other mangers that have come to England in the last 10 or 20 years or so have failed.

Take away the money from Chelsea, Man City and Liverpool and they’d have won hee-haw.

12-09-2023, 01:48 PM
I think you need to get off your high horse.

Make your point. Some will agree, some won’t.

Don’t keep repeating the same thing again and again and again and again. It gets tedious.

What high horse?

I’ve posted this once.

Don’t be so damn rude. I never said a word to you.

12-09-2023, 01:49 PM
Munch labial ring? :Ummm:

I'll see your Munch Labial Ring and raise you

Alan Bum Clinic RH :shocked:

12-09-2023, 01:52 PM
What high horse?

I’ve posted this once.

Don’t be so damn rude. I never said a word to you.

If someone disagrees with you it doesn’t mean you’re ‘not allowed’ to say it. It means they disagree with you.

12-09-2023, 01:52 PM
A thread like this is exactly what he wants.

12-09-2023, 01:53 PM
If someone disagrees with you it doesn’t mean you’re ‘not allowed’ to say it. It means they disagree with you.

I’ve no idea what you’re getting at. Maybe confusing me with someone else?

12-09-2023, 01:54 PM
Nope. You’re still using some of best mangers around as examples.

How about doing a list of those that have failed?

There will be dozens of them. So many down south that you won’t even remember them I’d imagine

In fact, pretty much all the other mangers that have come to England in the last 10 or 20 years or so have failed.

Take away the money from Chelsea, Man City and Liverpool and they’d have won hee-haw.

Pretty much all the managers who were brought up in Scottish football have failed.

So what if there is a difference?

Having experience of it is no guarantee of success, most managers fail, but managers without prior knowledge of any differences can learn about them.

Previous experience is irrelevant. That's the point.

12-09-2023, 02:04 PM
I’ve no idea what you’re getting at. Maybe confusing me with someone else?

It’s in your post I quoted. You claim you’re not being allowed to voice any concerns, which is just ridiculous.

If that were true, I wouldn’t have been able to read them.

12-09-2023, 02:06 PM
It’s in your post I quoted. You claim you’re not being allowed to voice any concerns, which is just ridiculous.

If that were true, I wouldn’t have been able to read them.

What is it I’ve repeated again and again and again that is so tedious to you?

12-09-2023, 02:09 PM
What is it I’ve repeated again and again and again that is so tedious to you?

You wanted Derek McInnes, right?

We haven’t appointed him. I get your disappointment but let’s give the new guy the benefit of the doubt.

With both Shaun Maloney and Lee Johnson I had deep misgivings from their first interviews with the media. But banging on and on about them would have been boring and, you know, maybe I would be proved wrong?

I’m really hoping for a bit of positivity and unity as this new chapter unfolds. Let’s give the new guy a chance.

Garymcl
12-09-2023, 02:14 PM
Totally agree with waxy he would love us debating his virtues as a reporter let it go not important (like the man in question) had our say fair enough let’s concentrate on the positives of our club ggtth

12-09-2023, 02:27 PM

The only thing LJ showed was lack of managerial nouse and probably underestimating teams. Football is football. It looks like NM is never going to underestimate anything and his default setting is hard work. He is a proven winner who walks the walk. I’m very excited to see where we will be in the next year or two. Scottish experience is irrelevant in this appointment IMO.

Donegal Hibby
12-09-2023, 02:32 PM
What's been said about LJ's lack of experience of Scottish football that's concerning folk about our new manager isn't exactly accurate . Lee Johnson was at two different Scottish clubs one of which he played about 20 times for which he won the league cup at .

Jamie McAllister played over 200 games in the Scottish game for 4 different Scottish clubs .

Adam Owen I read had played in Scotland briefly. He had about 2 years at Celtic and spent quite a long time at sevco aswell .

I hardly think any of them were inexperienced or lacking in knowledge of the Scottish game quite frankly.

12-09-2023, 02:32 PM

Who said people can't voice concerns? Claiming it to be a pile on when it's just several people disagreeing, that's what is pathetic.

You wan't people to voice their concerns (which is fine) but to then think too many people have disagreed is hypocrital.

12-09-2023, 02:35 PM

He knew before he said it that it was confrontational…. Does it all the time with Hibs and never with his chums at the Pink Bud Shelter … thinks he’s clever but totally lacks professionalism and credibility

12-09-2023, 02:38 PM

12-09-2023, 02:40 PM

:agree: Pep has spent well over a billion pounds at Man City. No wonder he's successful. Silly example to use when talking about Montgomery.

12-09-2023, 02:41 PM

Alan Bum Clinic RH :shocked:For me, he is more of a Chirl in bum canal sort of a guy.

12-09-2023, 02:50 PM
Who said people can't voice concerns? Claiming it to be a pile on when it's just several people disagreeing, that's what is pathetic.

You wan't people to voice their concerns (which is fine) but to then think too many people have disagreed is hypocrital.

Exactly, its nowhere near a pile on. If people disagreeing with what you’ve posted upsets you then it’s probably best to avoid posting all together.

12-09-2023, 02:58 PM
You wanted Derek McInnes, right?

We haven’t appointed him. I get your disappointment but let’s give the new guy the benefit of the doubt.

With both Shaun Maloney and Lee Johnson I had deep misgivings from their first interviews with the media. But banging on and on about them would have been boring and, you know, maybe I would be proved wrong?

I’m really hoping for a bit of positivity and unity as this new chapter unfolds. Let’s give the new guy a chance.

I wanted Lennon but am happy with NM.

Similar to others on here, NM will have my full backing. Whether you or anyone else believes that is completely irrelevant.

I’ve not posted one negative thing since NM was appointed.

12-09-2023, 03:03 PM

Nah, you’re at it all the time, having wee digs at me and making snidely remarks.

What do you get out of it?

Donegal Hibby
12-09-2023, 03:06 PM
:agree: Pep has spent well over a billion pounds at Man City. No wonder he's successful. Silly example to use when talking about Montgomery.

Another example to look at is Lennon's last year at Celtic when he spent over £30 million quid and blew ten in a row BIGTIME and yet Ange postecoglou comes in with little or no experience of Scottish football and transforms them from a mediocre team into something special . Guarantee you if Celtic fans had the choice between Lennon's experience and knowledge of the Scottish game or the inexperienced Ange postecoglou , Ange would win quite comfortably every day of the week! Having experience or the lack of it about a league doesn't necessarily make you a good or bad manager .

12-09-2023, 03:10 PM
Nah, you’re at it all the time, having wee digs at me and making snidely remarks.

He's the worst for it on here. Whatever make folk happy.

12-09-2023, 03:16 PM
He's the worst for it on here.

Yup. There’s a few of them rarely post their own thoughts and just like to try and put down fellow fans.

I completely disagreed with you about LJ, our views couldn’t have been further apart, but not once did you take a pop at me personally or try to put me down.

We posted our own thoughts and disagreed in a civil manner.

Some folk don’t know how to disagree without arguing it seems.

McSwanky
12-09-2023, 03:16 PM
The Brighton manager has done ok since he came in, I'd say. No experience of English football there. There are lots of examples in England of foreign managers who have over achieved. In Scotland, a bit more difficult to find, but like I say, the sample size is so small it's diffiicult to draw any reasonable conclusions.

12-09-2023, 03:19 PM
Yup. There’s a few of them rarely post their own thoughts and just like to try and put down fellow fans.

I completely disagreed with you about LJ, our views couldn’t have been further apart, but not once did you take a pop at me personally or try to put me down.

Well to be fair i thought you were a **** for wanting Neil Lennon (only kidding) :greengrin It's an absolute pile on on here from some if you dare have a different opinion and don't follow the crowd. I'm now being accused of not wanting Montgomery to do well. Mental.

McSwanky
12-09-2023, 03:27 PM

I'll be honest and say I reacted because of your tone, I don't think using the word 'pathetic' was the smartest move when you're addressing your fellow fans. It got my back up, even though I wasn't one of the ones "piling on" originally.

I'm fine with different views btw, crack on.

12-09-2023, 03:28 PM
Well to be fair i thought you were a **** for wanting Neil Lennon (only kidding) :greengrin It's an absolute pile on on here from some if you dare have a different opinion and don't follow the crowd. I'm now being accused of not wanting Montgomery to do well. Mental.

You're being criticised for saying that NM should be slaughtered if we don't win on Saturday. That point of view is mental.

12-09-2023, 03:31 PM

Did he ask the same question about Daniel Stendel to Anne Budge?

12-09-2023, 03:39 PM
You're being criticised for saying that NM should be slaughtered if we don't win on Saturday. That point of view is mental.

I didn't say that though

12-09-2023, 03:45 PM
I didn't say that though

There was no other meaning to be taken from what you said.

12-09-2023, 04:05 PM
I didn't say that though

12-09-2023, 04:36 PM
I didn't say that though
Any of our previous managers would get slaughtered for not winning at Killie. Montgomery shouldn't be exempt. Any manager who comes in needs to hit the ground running.

???

12-09-2023, 09:41 PM
Did he ask the same question about Daniel Stendel to Anne Budge?

Probably wasn't McLauchlin but someone did ask him because he let slip that he hadn't even heard of Hearts before he remembered what he'd been told to say and corrected himself to say he'd heard of Hearts but not Hibs.

12-09-2023, 10:14 PM

Alan Bum Clinic RH :shocked:

My fave is Phat Yambo wonk.

12-09-2023, 10:31 PM

I and others disagreed with comments about and Montgomery. You then said it was pathetic and people aren't allowed to voice their concerns without a pile on. As I'd been one that had disagreed, I was one of those you were calling pathetic so I responded. There's nothing snidey in that.

Most posters on here are able to put their point across in a reasonable and balanced way however in my opinion a number of your posts are over the top and that's why I respond to some of them. I also respond to other's posts I think are over the top.

You maybe don't realise it but some of your posts come across as trolling / attention seeking and when people have responded strongly you've reacted by suggesting you're being picked on. You are absolutely within your rights to post your views but if you are going to post strong opinions then you shouldn't be surprised to get strong responses. I don't expect you to take on board what I'm saying but seeing some of the other replies to you, I don't think I'm the only one that thinks along these lines.

Stonewall
12-09-2023, 10:37 PM
Look-we all know the guy is a tool.

Has anyone here ever taken a word he has ever written seriously?

Thought so, so all this reaction is playing into his and his employers “strategy”.

File and ignore: next.

12-09-2023, 10:43 PM

You've called me snidey and also called me and others pathetic so you're not averse to putting down fellow fans yourself.

And you're not exactly the best at disagreeing without arguing.

13-09-2023, 06:33 AM
???

That's not saying he should be slaughtered is it. I'm not saying he must be slaughtered. It's saying he shouldn't be exempt. Some people will slaughter him some won't. He shouldn't be exempt from it because he's our new manager. This shouldn't be used as a transition period he needs to get results and quickly. Lee Johnson got slaughtered for the Falkirk game. Was he exempt because he was new? Or is it because there's a Montgomery love in and people didn't like LJ?

Don't know how many times I have to explain that. Becoming tedious. I'll copy and paste this for the next person that struggles to understand.

13-09-2023, 06:44 AM
There was no other meaning to be taken from what you said.

Even though I've explained it 500 times?

13-09-2023, 07:01 AM
That's not saying he should be slaughtered is it. I'm not saying he must be slaughtered. It's saying he shouldn't be exempt. Some people will slaughter him some won't. He shouldn't be exempt from it because he's our new manager. This shouldn't be used as a transition period he needs to get results and quickly. Lee Johnson got slaughtered for the Falkirk game. Was he exempt because he was new? Or is it because there's a Montgomery love in and people didn't like LJ?

Don't know how many times I have to explain that. Becoming tedious. I'll copy and paste this for the next person that struggles to understand.

Losing against a league one side in the cup was one of our worst results in many years. It was also completely on him because he played a shocking team that he had to rectify for the second half (a common theme during his tenure). Nothing to do with people not liking him and everything to do with him being an absolutely rotten manager.

NM will get the same treatment if he has a similarly awful result.

13-09-2023, 07:49 AM

Don't know how many times I have to explain that. Becoming tedious. I'll copy and paste this for the next person that struggles to understand.Nobody struggled to understand. You can play weasel words all you want with it but it's pretty plain.

Donegal Hibby
13-09-2023, 08:18 AM

This slaughtering talk is absolute crazy ! Your not saying he should be slaughtered and your not saying he must be slaughtered and yet you keep bringing up he shouldn't be exempt from it ! Sounds like abit of a contradiction tbh .

The new Managers only got 5 days before the match and possibly only two training sessions and as he said all the squad won't be back together till Wednesday or Thursday . As to LJ getting slaughtered for the Falkirk game , I definitely wasn't one that did though I would like to add there's a bit of a difference between playing Killie and Falkirk in all honesty and LJ got more than enough time after that .

Whatever slaughtering you think Lee Johnson got is in the past , he's gone and it's time to move on and support our current manager and not be trying to beat him with a stick because you think the previous manager was . MOVE ON BUDDY 👍

13-09-2023, 08:19 AM
I and others disagreed with comments about and Montgomery. You then said it was pathetic and people aren't allowed to voice their concerns without a pile on. As I'd been one that had disagreed, I was one of those you were calling pathetic so I responded. There's nothing snidey in that.

Most posters on here are able to put their point across in a reasonable and balanced way however in my opinion a number of your posts are over the top and that's why I respond to some of them. I also respond to other's posts I think are over the top.

You maybe don't realise it but some of your posts come across as trolling / attention seeking and when people have responded strongly you've reacted by suggesting you're being picked on. You are absolutely within your rights to post your views but if you are going to post strong opinions then you shouldn't be surprised to get strong responses. I don't expect you to take on board what I'm saying but seeing some of the other replies to you, I don't think I'm the only one that thinks along these lines.

I have never posted to troll or seek attention, ever.

If you think that then please just ignore me and don’t respond to any of my posts in future.

13-09-2023, 08:46 AM
Look-we all know the guy is a tool.

Has anyone here ever taken a word he has ever written seriously?

Thought so, so all this reaction is playing into his and his employers “strategy”.

File and ignore: next.

Are you back onto McLauchlin here or… 😁

13-09-2023, 09:36 AM

No-one will slaughter him, possibly you excepted, because they realise his influence on the team, after 5 days as manager, is minimal.

13-09-2023, 09:42 AM
Even though I've explained it 500 times?

You just posted that some people will slaughter him if we lose and you agree that should happen because "he's not exempt".

You think the manager should be slaughtered, or not be exempt from a slaughtering, or be criticised or some such nonsense despite the fact that he's just in the door.

You could not be more wrong, but your desperation to blame him won't let you see that.

Give it a rest. Please.

Daily Hibs
13-09-2023, 09:47 AM

Yep, the pile ons on here when someone dares to go against the grain are a bit OTT.

I'm as concerned as anyone about this appointment but until someone clears out the deadwood in the squad we will be discussing new manager after new manager as frequently as we have been. I thought the club would have gone for the safer option this time around. This guy does need to hit the ground running.

13-09-2023, 09:53 AM
Yep, the pile ons on here when someone dares to go against the grain are a bit OTT.

I'm as concerned as anyone about this appointment but until someone clears out the deadwood in the squad we will be discussing new manager after new manager as frequently as we have been. I thought the club would have gone for the safer option this time around. This guy does need to hit the ground running.

If someone posts a controversial point of view, people will counter it. That's not a pile on.

Is someone says the new, 5 day in post, manager should be slaughtered if we don't beat a team who play on a horrible surface and who have already beaten the two most powerful teams in the league, then there's certain to be a lot of contradiction.

Should people not post their viewsto avoid being accused of "piling on"?

If the poster continues to justify those remarks,, they're inviting more contradictory posts. It's almost as if they're enjoying the attention.

Oh, and the new manager doesn't need to hit the ground running. He'll get time to evaluate the squad, their strengths and weaknesses and work out how best to get them working together.

13-09-2023, 09:56 AM
Ultimately, if you don’t like him, don’t read his articles, don’t engage with his tweets. His job depends on engagement and views, not whether a given fanbase like him.

If his work gets no traction he won’t get work.

Daily Hibs
13-09-2023, 09:58 AM
If someone posts a controversial point of view, people will counter it. That's not a pile on.

Is someone says the new,b5 day in post, manager should be slaughtered if we don't beat a team who play on a horrible surface and who have already beaten the two most powerful teams in the league, then there's certain to be a lot of contradiction.

Its a surprising length of thread for a question that's fair enough though. Who was the last manager we appointed with experience of Scottish Football? Jack Ross.

It's been two failed appointments so we need this to be the right one. We are now on our third manager in a row that hasn't managed in Scotland.

BM is within his rights to ask it. It is a risk.

Daily Hibs
13-09-2023, 10:02 AM

Is someone says the new, 5 day in post, manager should be slaughtered if we don't beat a team who play on a horrible surface and who have already beaten the two most powerful teams in the league, then there's certain to be a lot of contradiction.

If the poster continues to justify those remarks,, they're inviting more contradictory posts. It's almost as if they're enjoying the attention.

Oh, and the new manager doesn't need to hit the ground running. He'll get time to evaluate the squad, their strengths and weaknesses and work out how best to get them working together.

Ofcourse he has to hit the ground running. We need to start picking up points and we have a League Cup Quarter Final.

Do we want to be successful or not?

No point making a risky appointment and then being very conservative about it.

13-09-2023, 10:03 AM
Its a surprising length of thread for a question that's fair enough though. Who was the last manager we appointed with experience of Scottish Football? Jack Ross.

It's been two failed appointments so we need this to be the right one. We are now on our third manager in a row that hasn't managed in Scotland.

He said "NM has no knowledge of Scottish football".

That's patently not true.

Had he asked if he thought that his lack of experience in the Scottish League was an issue, it would have been acceptable, but in his desperation to knock our new manager, he was as insulting as he could be.

13-09-2023, 10:03 AM
Don’t know why everybody is arguing.

Monty might be a failure at Hibs, he might be a roaring success or he might be a bit hit and miss. Personally I just think ‘strap yourself in and enjoy the rollercoaster’

There are many reasons why clubs choose a football manager. Experience of Scottish football , in this case, is just one of many criteria.

Hibs have a professional recruitment process with various boxes to tick and Monty at this moment in time ticked the most out of all the candidates.

I personally like the young ambitious manager type, looking to further their career. Mowbray and Stubbs being successful examples of this.

All we can do for any new manager when selected is to wish him good luck, he’ll need it. ……and McLauchlin will be the least of his worries..:greengrin

13-09-2023, 10:07 AM
Ofcourse had has to hit the ground running. We need to start picking up points and we have a League Cup Quarter Final.

Do we want to be successful or not?

No point making a risky appointment and then being very conservative about it.

It's a marathon not a sprint.

Yes, we need to progress in the cup, but if you want to turn a tanker round, you have to stop it first, and that doesn't happen immediately.

13-09-2023, 10:08 AM
He said "NM has no knowledge of Scottish football".

That's patently not true.

Had he asked if he thought that his lack of experience in the Scottish League was an issue, it would have been acceptable, but in his desperation to knock our new manager, he was as insulting as he could be.

This…💚

Glory Glory

13-09-2023, 10:15 AM

So we. Are now saying they haven’t managed. Not experience or Knowledge of Scottish football but managed.

They guys just in the door and the chat about him being exempt from criticism is just baffling! Why all the negativity.

It’s like some posters want him to fail just so they can say ‘told you’

Donegal Hibby
13-09-2023, 10:15 AM

You keep on about a overhaul , clearing out the Deadwood , We've moved on quite a few , who is it you want to move on now ?. we have also signed some good players like Youan , Vente , Alf , Levitt , Obita , Fish etc and have a decent squad imo .

Who's the safer option we should have went for ? Would he have to hit the ground running too ?

The majority of the Hibs fans are behind the new manager and know he needs time with the team for alot of numerous reason that seem to go over certain posters heads.

The pile ons are a small minority being totally negative in having us beat before we play and suggesting a new manager should be slaughtered for his first game were he's had under a week to work with the team . Your right though it's certainly OTT reaction indeed !

13-09-2023, 10:56 AM

That’s absolutely unreasonable. I don’t think the majority of the support - the vast majority - would agree with your view. The guy won’t have been in the door a week and you are demanding no bedding in period and that he must hit the ground running? It’s just nonsense and totally unrealistic - as well as wholly unreasonable. Lets give the boy a chance eh? And maybe start judging after a few weeks at least. Mental stuff.

13-09-2023, 11:03 AM
So we. Are now saying they haven’t managed. Not experience or Knowledge of Scottish football but managed.

They guys just in the door and the chat about him being exempt from criticism is just baffling! Why all the negativity.

It’s like some posters want him to fail just so they can say ‘told you’

Do you ever post stuff so that you can say “I told you so” at a later date?

I’m guessing not.

How about accepting what people post at face value and not trying to second guess them based on what you “think” they’re saying.

Again, this sort of chat only ever goes one way. None of you accuse anyone posting positive stuff of having an agenda or being a troll or such like.

Why do these accusations only ever go one way?

13-09-2023, 11:07 AM
I have never posted to troll or seek attention, ever.

If you think that then please just ignore me and don’t respond to any of my posts in future.

Your posts are quite deserving of a response because more often than not there is not too much to justify your views/opinions. You’ve been waving the flag for NL even when LJ was still our manager. Despite numerous counter arguments as to why NL should never be considered for the Hibs job again, I can’t recall you putting any decent argument forward as to why he should be. You make lots of negative accusations about other posters behaviour and always like to play the victim, but who’s the guy piling on - a phrase you seem to like - the new manager and trying to pick holes in his credentials? Give it a rest and get behind him. Try and take a bit more of a positive look at the situation. I get the feeling you revel in being a bit of an outlier though.

13-09-2023, 11:11 AM
Do you ever post stuff so that you can say “I told you so” at a later date?

I’m guessing not.

How about accepting what people post at face value and not trying to second guess them based on what you “think” they’re saying.

Again, this sort of chat only ever goes one way. None of you accuse anyone posting positive stuff of having an agenda or being a troll or such like.

You’ve already answered your question but why would I do that?
I do accept folk for face value and will continue to do so. It’s also not about thinking it’s about what they’ve posted.

I’m more than happy for people to post their opinions and I respect that however I too have an opinion.

You can see there are negative undertones already and the new manager is just in the door. That’s why I posted what I did. Not made up but a response to what has been written.

13-09-2023, 11:14 AM
By the way, Brian McLaughlin is an obese, wheezing Hearts mess.

13-09-2023, 12:13 PM
None of you accuse anyone posting positive stuff of having an agenda or being a troll or such like.

Because it would be strange for a maroon-minded person to come on and be falsely positive about Hibs?

CL0762
13-09-2023, 12:14 PM
Have never liked McLaughlin but his fawning with Shankland after the PAOK game at Tynecastle was absolutely embarrassing.

“Oh Lawrence what a night at tynecastle”. Fat freak that he is.

13-09-2023, 12:23 PM
There was nothing wrong with the line of questioning IMO but surely the person it should have been directed to was Nick Montgomery, not Ian Gordon. If you ask me McLauchlin took deliberate aim at what he saw as the low hanging fruit, as an experienced 'journalist' it wouldn't have taken him long to identify who was and wasn't comfortable facing the press.

The stock in trade answer for this kind of question should be easy. Did Fergie have experience of English football? Did Pep? Did Klopp? was this seen as an issue when they were unveiled by Utd, City or Liverpool? Was Ange asked the question in Scotland or England?

A good manager is a good manager and knowledge of the league they arrive at to manage in shouldn't be a factor if they have long serving and experienced staff around them to give them a heads up ... you couldn't ask for better than David Gray or Darren McGregor, not to mention Paul Hanlon and Lewis Stevenson who have played at the grounds of every team in this league so often it's a wonder they haven't been offered testimonial matches by half of them.

As for McLaughlin ... I'm not for banning journalists, not even him, the fact is that by now Hibs should be well aware of the type of question he is likely to ask and be prepared for it.

13-09-2023, 12:36 PM
Your posts are quite deserving of a response because more often than not there is not too much to justify your views/opinions. You’ve been waving the flag for NL even when LJ was still our manager. Despite numerous counter arguments as to why NL should never be considered for the Hibs job again, I can’t recall you putting any decent argument forward as to why he should be. You make lots of negative accusations about other posters behaviour and always like to play the victim, but who’s the guy piling on - a phrase you seem to like - the new manager and trying to pick holes in his credentials? Give it a rest and get behind him. Try and take a bit more of a positive look at the situation. I get the feeling you revel in being a bit of an outlier though.

Give what a rest?

Since the minute NM was appointed you’ll not find a single negative post about him from me.

As for your last line, again, you’re wrong. You won’t believe me but that’s fine

Why do you guys even read what I post if you think I’m trolling or lying? Ignore me and give us all peace.

I never quote you unless it’s a direct response to something you’ve said to me. It would be good if you did similar.

13-09-2023, 12:37 PM
Because it would be strange for a maroon-minded person to come on and be falsely positive about Hibs?

That makes no sense. Who’s the maroon minded person?

13-09-2023, 12:47 PM
That makes no sense. Who’s the maroon minded person?

Why? I’m not accusing anyone.. I’m simply offering a suggestion as to why positive people wouldn’t be accused of trolling in the same way.

HNA2
13-09-2023, 12:59 PM
Threads gone way off track. We dont want to be closing threads so can we try and get back on topic please

13-09-2023, 01:10 PM
There was nothing wrong with the line of questioning IMO but surely the person it should have been directed to was Nick Montgomery, not Ian Gordon. If you ask me McLauchlin took deliberate aim at what he saw as the low hanging fruit, as an experienced 'journalist' it wouldn't have taken him long to identify who was and wasn't comfortable facing the press.

The stock in trade answer for this kind of question should be easy. Did Fergie have experience of English football? Did Pep? Did Klopp? was this seen as an issue when they were unveiled by Utd, City or Liverpool? Was Ange asked the question in Scotland or England?

A good manager is a good manager and knowledge of the league they arrive at to manage in shouldn't be a factor if they have long serving and experienced staff around them to give them a heads up ... you couldn't ask for better than David Gray or Darren McGregor, not to mention Paul Hanlon and Lewis Stevenson who have played at the grounds of every team in this league so often it's a wonder they haven't been offered testimonial matches by half of them.

As for McLaughlin ... I'm not for banning journalists, not even him, the fact is that by now Hibs should be well aware of the type of question he is likely to ask and be prepared for it.I'm against banning journalists but we could just narrow all the doorways and he wouldn't be able to get in anyway.

I would ban the Daily Record guys but they aren't journalists anyway.

GRA
13-09-2023, 01:21 PM
Lost all respect for the BBC & their Scottish football impartiality after the Hearts v Zurich 2nd leg last year. The first half was a non-stop Jambo fawning fest. Verbal diarrhoea about how wonderful they were and how they were going to dominate 3rd place (and possibly challenge further) for years to come. Thought I was listening to Hearts TV!

Contrast that with the link on the BBC website for our last game. Not even a basic check to see we had won 2-0!

Ludicrous from a so called national broadcaster. But, as I've said before, we need to use this to create a siege mentality.

Victor
13-09-2023, 01:37 PM
Threads gone way off track. We dont want to be closing threads so can we try and get back on topic please

Wholeheartedly agree. But this is happening with all threads at the moment.

13-09-2023, 02:15 PM
Are you back onto McLauchlin here or… [emoji16]Can I just say that McLauchlin is a lazy midlothianesque sycophantic admirer of an elderly lady dressed in a twin set that looks like it's been made out of left over carpet from the school view lounge.

13-09-2023, 02:28 PM
Can I just say that McLauchlin is a lazy midlothianesque sycophantic admirer of an elderly lady dressed in a twin set that looks like it's been made out of left over carpet from the school view lounge. Sent from my SM-A750FN using TapatalkSmooth talking b*****d aren't ye? :)

leith lynx
13-09-2023, 02:36 PM
Can I just say that McLauchlin is a lazy midlothianesque sycophantic admirer of an elderly lady dressed in a twin set that looks like it's been made out of left over carpet from the school view lounge.

Fair Comment.

Donegal Hibby
13-09-2023, 02:38 PM
Just out of interest has there been managers at other clubs in the past asked about having little knowledge or no experience of Scottish football before like stendel , Jansen , le guen , postecoglou etc ? .

percy veer
13-09-2023, 02:55 PM
ill give it to mcglaughlin though he did ask endless probeing questions on the hearts management structure this summer and no stone was left unturned.

13-09-2023, 03:03 PM
ill give it to mcglaughlin though he did ask endless probeing questions on the hearts management structure this summer and no stone was left unturned.It must be said, he does seem to enjoy a good probing, by, with and to, any member of the inner circle in Mrs doctor Budge's fiefdom.

13-09-2023, 03:53 PM
ill give it to mcglaughlin though he did ask endless probeing questions on the hearts management structure this summer and no stone was left unturned.

Brilliant point given the shambles over there with managers

CowgateHarp1875
13-09-2023, 05:21 PM
Lost all respect for the BBC & their Scottish football impartiality after the Hearts v Zurich 2nd leg last year. The first half was a non-stop Jambo fawning fest. Verbal diarrhoea about how wonderful they were and how they were going to dominate 3rd place (and possibly challenge further) for years to come. Thought I was listening to Hearts TV!

Contrast that with the link on the BBC website for our last game. Not even a basic check to see we had won 2-0!

Ludicrous from a so called national broadcaster. But, as I've said before, we need to use this to create a siege mentality.

The Scottish media really dislikes Hibernian football club for some reason, it's really weird.

13-09-2023, 05:59 PM
McLauchlin is a fat overweight who has no knowledge of a calorie controlled diet.

13-09-2023, 06:05 PM
The Scottish media really dislikes Hibernian football club for some reason, it's really weird.

Nothing weired about it, we are way too cool a team and club for the rest o them, even the lesser greens had to copy us.

CowgateHarp1875
13-09-2023, 06:13 PM
Nothing weired about it, we are way too cool a team and club for the rest o them, even the lesser greens had to copy us.

Couldn't agree more mate GGTTH ☘️

Hibees1973
13-09-2023, 06:20 PM

Good post.

Some of the more extreme, naive and excitable pundits do get a bit carried away at times. Not just regarding the Yam but all of the other major clubs. Most of the time I switch off the radio/TV when they get carried away.

What I don't recognise though is a consistent campaign or bias against Hibs by the BBC. Hibs have come in for criticism recently and rightfully so, but other clubs have copped it from the BBC as well.

You would hope for a balanced opinion from the good old Beeb, but they sensationalise stories just as much as the red top newspapers these days which is disappointing. But that's where we are nowadays.

mixumatosis
13-09-2023, 06:47 PM
I'd find the whole "no experience of Scottish football" argument a lot more credible if Scottish clubs, whose managers are brimming with knowledge and experience of Scottish football, weren't regularly pumped out of Europe by smaller / comparable sized clubs whose managers have exactly no experience of Scottish football.

At this point we should be asking whether knowledge of Scottish football is a disadvantage.

13-09-2023, 09:07 PM
**** the Hertz

13-09-2023, 09:14 PM
McLauchlin is a fat overweight who has no knowledge of a calorie controlled diet.

Oi! Cut that out. Some of us have feelings you know 🤨

14-09-2023, 05:56 AM
I'd find the whole "no experience of Scottish football" argument a lot more credible if Scottish clubs, whose managers are brimming with knowledge and experience of Scottish football, weren't regularly pumped out of Europe by smaller / comparable sized clubs whose managers have exactly no experience of Scottish football.

At this point we should be asking whether knowledge of Scottish football is a disadvantage.

Very good post

14-09-2023, 03:10 PM
Good post.

Some of the more extreme, naive and excitable pundits do get a bit carried away at times. Not just regarding the Yam but all of the other major clubs. Most of the time I switch off the radio/TV when they get carried away.

What I don't recognise though is a consistent campaign or bias against Hibs by the BBC. Hibs have come in for criticism recently and rightfully so, but other clubs have copped it from the BBC as well.

You would hope for a balanced opinion from the good old Beeb, but they sensationalise stories just as much as the red top newspapers these days which is disappointing. But that's where we are nowadays.

I agree with you to some extent about being negative but they are very rarely positive about Hibs.

Very rarely are we given praise and both Hearts and Aberdeen get a free pass. Neither of these clubs are doing well this season but it is almost unmentioned. Meanwhile we are terrible while being above Aberdeen and one point behind Hearts.

It's often not what they are saying but how they present it.
Finally there is no excuse for the amount of times we are last on Sportscene.

14-09-2023, 03:21 PM
I agree with you to some extent about being negative but they are very rarely positive about Hibs.

Very rarely are we given praise and both Hearts and Aberdeen get a free pass. Neither of these clubs are doing well this season but it is almost unmentioned. Meanwhile we are terrible while being above Aberdeen and one point behind Hearts.

It's often not what they are saying but how they present it.
Finally there is no excuse for the amount of times we are last on Sportscene.

Last season summed it up for me. Hawrts beat Aberdeen 5 0 and it's only a matter of time before the maroon galacticos are showing Pep the way forward. Next week we beat Aberdeen 6 0 and it's the worst Aberdeen team ever. No praise at all for Hibs!

14-09-2023, 05:59 PM
Last season summed it up for me. Hawrts beat Aberdeen 5 0 and it's only a matter of time before the maroon galacticos are showing Pep the way forward. Next week we beat Aberdeen 6 0 and it's the worst Aberdeen team ever. No praise at all for Hibs!

**** the hertz
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin :greengrin:greengrin

28-09-2023, 07:22 PM
Anyone here this slaver on the bbc radio Scotland sports update at 6? He’s covering the Ryder Cup in Rome I reckon he might have been on the beers, getting his words mixed up and speaking suspiciously slowly at times.

Good use of our license fee…

28-09-2023, 07:39 PM
Anyone here this slaver on the bbc radio Scotland sports update at 6? He’s covering the Ryder Cup in Rome I reckon he might have been on the beers, getting his words mixed up and speaking suspiciously slowly at times.

He would likely blame the Rome heat and not the vino calapso !
I was wondering at the silence yesterday on the radio from the rotund jambo Brian Big Mac.
Listening to Radio Scotland this morning i discover Big Fry Bry is covering the Ryder Cup in Rome.

When in Rome Brian,.......as they say. So eat lots of pasta washed down with a very rich red,fatso.
I trust you know more about golf than you think Oor Monty kens aboot Fitba?
ari vi derchi Roma !

Pity though, would love him to have interviewed, or should i say hassled Nick last night.
Drunk or sober.
Monty will get him back soon enough :aok:

28-09-2023, 07:59 PM

It was when I was standing next to him at Tynie and he was wanting to interview David Templeton and it was like that Alan Partrudge ‘Alan’ sketch with him shouting ‘Temps’ over and over 😂 he’s just a very very average broadcaster who is very Hearts minded - Yogi used to rip the **** out him and BM wilted every time

29-09-2023, 08:23 AM

As a keen golf fan myself, is this really the best BBC Scotland can do?

Thankfully Radio 5 Live are providing proper Ryder Cup coverage. Not expecting to be hearing McLaughlin at any point during the day as part of the expert commentary team.

29-09-2023, 09:55 AM
It was when I was standing next to him at Tynie and he was wanting to interview David Templeton and it was like that Alan Partrudge ‘Alan’ sketch with him shouting ‘Temps’ over and over 😂 he’s just a very very average broadcaster who is very Hearts minded - Yogi used to rip the **** out him and BM wilted every time

Am sure after Big Mac and fries snide question to Monty at his "welcome to Hibs" press meeting ,Monty will have been schooled on this biased buffoon.
Am sure when Big Mac returns from his pasta and vino tasting holiday in Rome ,oor Monty will be ready for his petty and disrespectful questions.

29-09-2023, 09:58 AM
As a keen golf fan myself, is this really the best BBC Scotland can do?

Thankfully Radio 5 Live are providing proper Ryder Cup coverage. Not expecting to be hearing McLaughlin at any point during the day as part of the expert commentary team.

Not really sure why they need to spend budget to send him and not just carry the 5 Live report.

They can barely cover Scottish football as it is!

29-09-2023, 11:12 AM
Not really sure why they need to spend budget to send him and not just carry the 5 Live report.

They can barely cover Scottish football as it is!

Exactly. I continually defend the BBC but their duplication of work is at times staggering. My main gripe is when they go outside to one of their thousands of 'expert' correspondents who then repeats pretty much what the anchor in the studio has just said.