View Full Version : Scotland v England

11-09-2023, 07:58 AM
After my successful Cyprus thread last week thought I would go for 2 from 2.
All the players, both Scottish and English, seem to be up for it. Not the usual list of players pulling out for an international friendly.
Really hope we come away with a great result.

11-09-2023, 10:56 AM
It's funny how the player withdrawals have become a thing of the past now we have a decent manager and a successful team.

11-09-2023, 10:57 AM
It's funny how the player withdrawals have become a thing of the past now we have a decent manager and a successful team.

Yep no coincidence

CowgateHarp1875
11-09-2023, 11:34 AM
It's going to be another Clark masterclass on Tuesday. I think the English players are getting tired of Southgate, can see this being his last game in charge.

Pete70
11-09-2023, 11:34 AM
I see the match is on channel 4 tomorrow.

lugz
11-09-2023, 11:36 AM

I think the days of club over country are gone for now. Seems like both the Scotland and England lads enjoy meeting up and are all mates. Of course success helps that too.

Hannah_hfc
11-09-2023, 11:45 AM

It might be a tough listen… the pundit lineup is all English (apart from Graeme Souness who they still list as English)

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230911/cfe79c4a8a8e0d4ca525a19e1ed3124c.jpg

11-09-2023, 12:01 PM

All of Englands games are on channel 4.

11-09-2023, 12:20 PM
I think the days of club over country are gone for now. Seems like both the Scotland and England lads enjoy meeting up and are all mates. Of course success helps that too.
It also helps that there are very few Hum players in the squad. They were the main culprits for pulling out, followed by celtic. Its good now that we don't rely on them for our national sides

HarpOnHibee
11-09-2023, 12:22 PM
All of Englands games are on channel 4.

Being a premium side these days, it only makes sense that our own games (not against England) are only shown on premium channels.

11-09-2023, 12:26 PM
It might be a tough listen… the pundit lineup is all English (apart from Graeme Souness who they still list as English)

It's the language they speak that is listed as english, not the nationality of the pundit.

11-09-2023, 05:26 PM
With ties to both nations I'm just hoping for a decent game of football.

Porteous Vs Kane should be interesting, England will find it tough to break Scotland down.

I fancy SJM to put on a show.

11-09-2023, 05:40 PM
It's funny how the player withdrawals have become a thing of the past now we have a decent manager and a successful team. I always wondered that at Hibs with our injury list and two more weeks

11-09-2023, 08:13 PM
Scotland to win and Norway-Georgia draw please.

11-09-2023, 09:18 PM
https://i.ibb.co/wsdqWSs/IMG-2031.png (https://ibb.co/QdJVNPd)

ErinGoBraghHFC
11-09-2023, 09:35 PM
I’m saying **** all - as usual - but I’ve booked Wednesday off work and purchased champagne

12-09-2023, 06:38 AM
https://i.ibb.co/wsdqWSs/IMG-2031.png (https://ibb.co/QdJVNPd)

:faf::faf:

12-09-2023, 06:41 AM
With ties to both nations I'm just hoping for a decent game of football.

Porteous Vs Kane should be interesting, England will find it tough to break Scotland down.

I fancy SJM to put on a show.

Think Scotland will need to change midfield to give a bit more protection think Jack comes in for Gilmour as English have huge offensive threats. We can absolutely get at their defence. Think we will play similar to how we played Spain.

Hillsidehibby
12-09-2023, 07:40 AM
I can still remember the 100 year centenary game v England at a freezing Hampden in 1973. Humped 5-0!

12-09-2023, 07:48 AM
Think Scotland will need to change midfield to give a bit more protection think Jack comes in for Gilmour as English have huge offensive threats. We can absolutely get at their defence. Think we will play similar to how we played Spain.

I hope Jack gets nowhere near the pitch.

Have the confidence in that midfield that they can make England sweat, as opposed to the other way around.

Subbing Gilmour for Jack would be a highly depressing statement of lack of intent

Stanton Spence
12-09-2023, 07:48 AM
I just found out this game was on a couple of days ago and is just me or does this game seem very low key for a Scotland England game?

12-09-2023, 07:49 AM
I can still remember the 100 year centenary game v England at a freezing Hampden in 1973. Humped 5-0!

Was thinking the same

Was it not Willie Ormond’s first game ?

Might see ultra cautious Southgate finally taking the handbrake off

Cmon Scotland

12-09-2023, 07:57 AM

We started against Spain with:

McTominay
McGregor
McGinn
Christie

Gilmour instead of Christie would be my midfield. Jack should be nowhere near it

We also went to Wembley in the Euros and played 2 strikers with a midfield of McGregor, Gilmour and McGinn and managed a 0-0 so have no issues with Gilmour playing at all

Let them worry about our midfield

12-09-2023, 08:12 AM

Na Gilmour has to play. England less likely to get a shot of the ball that way. He’s one of the form midfielders in the Premier League.

Musselbound
12-09-2023, 08:17 AM

Have the confidence in that midfield that they can make England sweat, as opposed to the other way around.

Subbing Gilmour for Jack would be a highly depressing statement of lack of intent

It will be important to have some possession and take pressure off the defence. Gilmour was outstanding against England last time so I'd stick with him.

12-09-2023, 08:44 AM
Na Gilmour has to play. He’s one of the form midfielders in the Premier League.

Very much so.

12-09-2023, 08:56 AM

Gilmour ran the show the last time we played them and was by far the best player on the pitch. Be mad not to play him.

12-09-2023, 09:46 AM

Yip, call-off virtually vanished like magic. And suspect increasing number of marginalised English players looking at their DNA profile for some distant Scottish relations. SFA should be running an ad campaign :greengrin

12-09-2023, 09:53 AM

Ryan Jack isn't even good enough for Rangers, nevermind Scotland!

12-09-2023, 10:53 AM
Not much bothered about the outcome but looking for absolutely outstanding performances from Nisbet, Porto and even SJM to attract damn silly Christmas offers.

12-09-2023, 10:57 AM

Fair comment just thinking Steve may think a more defensive player may suit better. Cyprus even in a game they were dominated got into three or four very good spaces in front of central defenders.

12-09-2023, 10:58 AM
We started against Spain with:

McTominay
McGregor
McGinn
Christie

Gilmour instead of Christie would be my midfield. Jack should be nowhere near it

We also went to Wembley in the Euros and played 2 strikers with a midfield of McGregor, Gilmour and McGinn and managed a 0-0 so have no issues with Gilmour playing at all

Let them worry about our midfield

Fair point.

12-09-2023, 11:40 AM
Anyone know if there's specials after the game back into Glasgow. Also which station as England fans are mount florida end so guessing its Kings Park.

Cuikyhibs
12-09-2023, 12:20 PM

McCoist on co-comms tonight

darwenhibby
12-09-2023, 12:39 PM
Talk sport mentioning England fans visiting Ibrox before heading to Hampden ffs

12-09-2023, 12:40 PM

I’m sure they’ll be made very welcome and might even share a wee sing-song.

12-09-2023, 12:55 PM

Think England have been based there and are using their facilities.

12-09-2023, 01:22 PM
Anyone know if there's specials after the game back into Glasgow. Also which station as England fans are mount florida end so guessing its Kings Park.

England fans are being directed to King's Park after the game.

12-09-2023, 01:22 PM
How many tickets did England get?

12-09-2023, 01:23 PM
Think England have been based there and are using their facilities.

Based at Rangers training Centre, formerly Murray Park.

12-09-2023, 01:23 PM
How many tickets did England get?

Around 2,800.

CowgateHarp1875
12-09-2023, 03:43 PM

English fans visit English stadium before English game, I am truly shocked

12-09-2023, 04:25 PM
English fans visit English stadium before English game, I am truly shocked

Oswalds appears to be their chosen pub for today. Wonder what made them choose there 🙄.

12-09-2023, 05:11 PM
Has it sold out?

12-09-2023, 05:16 PM
You lot have gone soft.

To the tune of those were the days my friend

"We f****** hate England"

"Bring on the English"

Scotland lite.

Lights the touch paper and retires a safe distance :)

Enjoy fellas. We're all Hibs :)

12-09-2023, 05:17 PM
Oswalds appears to be their chosen pub for today. Wonder what made them choose there 🙄.

The polis probably.

12-09-2023, 05:34 PM
Same team again

CowgateHarp1875
12-09-2023, 05:38 PM

Just a coincidence. No doubt there'll be plenty of proud "Scots" in there with them tonight mate 😂

what an embarrassment to our nation they are.

12-09-2023, 05:39 PM
PP has us 4/1. That's massive odds considering we're putting out a strong side and given our form...

Just saw England have made a few changes too

12-09-2023, 05:45 PM
Apparently there are people trying to sell half and half Scotland/England scarves outside Hampden. Can’t see that being a big seller 🤣

12-09-2023, 05:46 PM
Apparently there are people trying to sell half and half Scotland/England scarves outside Hampden. Can’t see that being a big seller 🤣

Aye just seen plenty of them for sale. 🤣

CowgateHarp1875
12-09-2023, 05:49 PM

They should take them to Bridgeton they'd be a massive seller there 😂

Tha Cabbage Kid
12-09-2023, 06:04 PM
Is channel 4 the place to watch it? Or will it be bias commentary?

12-09-2023, 06:04 PM
Is channel 4 the place to watch it? Or will it be bias commentary?

Not checked yet, but hoping we have our usual production through via play?

12-09-2023, 06:07 PM
Aye just seen plenty of them for sale. 🤣

It would’ve been easy to spot with the huge queue of people waiting to buy one 😉

12-09-2023, 06:10 PM
Not checked yet, but hoping we have our usual production through via play?

Just checked and doesnt look like it. Wtf. Why are we not broadcasting this as our home match?

Stairway 2 7
12-09-2023, 06:15 PM
Can't get that up for a friendly, England or not. More interested in Georgia Norway result

12-09-2023, 06:17 PM
Can't get that up for a friendly, England or not. More interested in Georgia Norway result

A draw puts us through doesn’t it?

Stairway 2 7
12-09-2023, 06:17 PM
A draw puts us through doesn’t it?

Yep

12-09-2023, 06:32 PM
Nisbet to score the winner.

DIXIHIBS
12-09-2023, 06:32 PM

Snap. Actually wish we weren't playing them. We are on such a good run just now i would hate a friendly defeat to knock our confidence at this important time. Equally a win would boost us even more.

Tha Cabbage Kid
12-09-2023, 06:35 PM
It's Scotland Vs England what's not get up for?

12-09-2023, 06:41 PM
Correct response to that anthem

Davy Mac
12-09-2023, 06:42 PM
Brilliant, normally dont like booing another countries anthem but found that quite entertaining lol

12-09-2023, 06:43 PM
can't beat a Hampden roar

12-09-2023, 06:44 PM
Gutted not there tonight. Atmosphere sounds electric. On a positive booked up for Germany today!

e2los
12-09-2023, 06:48 PM

Absolutely!

PhoenixHibee
12-09-2023, 06:51 PM
Is there anywhere i can tune in to a commentary if I cannot view the game?
Thanks

12-09-2023, 06:57 PM
Is there anywhere i can tune in to a commentary if I cannot view the game?
Thanks

I'm in dc watching on fox 2 , I think. I was planning on watching on FoX (free trial via Prime) in Spanish, but I found this instead.

Edir: ViX !!

12-09-2023, 06:59 PM
Brilliant from Porto.

DIXIHIBS
12-09-2023, 06:59 PM
Porteous started well.

12-09-2023, 07:00 PM
Couldn't get on the ball early doors but been much better last few minutes. Bit of nerves maybe.

e2los
12-09-2023, 07:03 PM
Liking the way Gunn is controlling the box and area around it.

hibeerealist
12-09-2023, 07:04 PM

Should not be booing any anthem, well Russia would warrant booing but its bad patter

12-09-2023, 07:05 PM
Angus Gunn looks a real asset

e2los
12-09-2023, 07:07 PM
Think Bellingham felt that from Porto.

Off the bar
12-09-2023, 07:08 PM
Is there VAR tonight?

12-09-2023, 07:08 PM
Think Bellingham felt that from Porto.

He got a tiny touch on the ball if it hadn't been given as offside.

12-09-2023, 07:09 PM
Should not be booing any anthem, well Russia would warrant booing but its bad patter
Is that so?

12-09-2023, 07:11 PM
England causing Scotland's defence a few problems.

12-09-2023, 07:11 PM

Boooooo

12-09-2023, 07:12 PM
Haaland scores

LunasBoots
12-09-2023, 07:13 PM
The wee runs they make off the ball and the ball over the top causing us a fair few problems

12-09-2023, 07:18 PM
Baws. Foden 1-0.

they all count i guess

e2los
Meh....

Booooo!

It had been coming to be fair.

There it is :confused:
Well taken goal.

12-09-2023, 07:19 PM
Fair reflection of the game really. Neither team have been great but England have been the better.

12-09-2023, 07:19 PM
No sure why Porteous keeps trying to play them offside, just defend it

12-09-2023, 07:20 PM
Played like a friendly. England deservedly take the lead

timewilltell
Fair reflection of the game really. Neither team have been great but England have been the better.

Crap cross into the box by Tierney before the goal.

ally please don't say fodden knew exactly what he was doing there ffs

12-09-2023, 07:21 PM
Played like a friendly. England deservedly take the lead

It’s been coming. They’re a far better team than us.

e2los

Part of the plan as I have Scotland to win and BTTS.

I think we look solid and it was a lucky goal..

Just my opinion.

And now it's 2...

WTF do I know..

**** sake 2-0. That’s a stinker to lose.

FFS Robertson. Sunday league stuff.

Game over. What a sequence of play from England

-Jonesy-
What the **** was that

Robertson omfg

and that'll be that, so soon

12-09-2023, 07:22 PM
Absolutely pathetic defending all round.

No sure why Porteous keeps trying to play them offside, just defend it
Difference between championship player v EPL player. Number 2, that's me find something else to watch. Poor defending again.

What the **** is Robertson doing ffs

Stairway 2 7
Ffs. England Spain then France to burst our bubble before an important one against Georgia

12-09-2023, 07:23 PM
Robertson aaaaggghhhh

If this was the 1970s that would have been into Row Z and a firm pat on the back from the keeper for doing the right thing. Never a time to try and play the ball out.

Hendry and now Robertson FFS
just defend

Pen check over, not given.

SJNB Hibby
Now 2-0 Norway, guess we'll have to beat Spain

12-09-2023, 07:24 PM
CB for sure our weakest area

12-09-2023, 07:24 PM
It's not been a great few minutes all round has it?

Stairway 2 7
12-09-2023, 07:25 PM

Or Georgia or Norway. Norway have to beat Spain and Spain will be needing the win too

LunasBoots
12-09-2023, 07:25 PM
Different level between the players, no real surprise

12-09-2023, 07:26 PM
They're a very good side has to be said

12-09-2023, 07:26 PM
McCoist bang on the money.

SJNB Hibby
12-09-2023, 07:27 PM
Or Georgia or Norway. Norway have to beat Spain and Spain will be needing the win too
Georgia lose tonight and theyre effectively out of it, so not much to play for AND Norway would need to beat Spain, so not the end of the world

Questions for Clark to answer here. Set up wrong from the start and getting found out big time.

Absolute garbage first half.

We seem to be slowing the game down at every opportunity. Even when we’re attacking. Move it quicker FFS.

12-09-2023, 07:28 PM
not a bad tackle ? ffs his trailing leg wipes him out

England so much the bet6er side. Movement and one touch passing is excellent. Porteous up against much higher quality players. Adams lost up front.

Don't see that happening to be honest

A goal back before half time would be smashing.

Great. A punch up!

12-09-2023, 07:29 PM
Dion Dublin needs to go back to property porn.

12-09-2023, 07:30 PM
England so much the bet6er side. Movement and one touch passing is excellent. Porteous up against much higher quality players. Adams lost up front.

It's just levels. They have class all over the park, we have it in patches.

When it comes down to it they have aspirations and a realistic chance to win the big tournaments (and it's hilarious when they find new ways to fail), we are just wanting to be there.

12-09-2023, 07:32 PM
They are the better team well organised in defence some quick one touch passing through the midfield and look at Their options up front compared to us

12-09-2023, 07:33 PM
Questions for Clark to answer here. Set up wrong from the start and getting found out big time.

Absolute garbage first half.

??

Reality check that. Thankfully only a friendly

What a player Foden is.

Willis1875
12-09-2023, 07:34 PM
Getting schooled here.
Bellingham acts every bit a Real Madrid player,unfortunately plays like one aswell

Friendly nature of the game is suiting England's passing game. Scotland done a lot of running about but a yd or two off the pace, and not prepared or able stick a leg in.

Disappointing effort from Scotland here.

Was thinking the same thing, this could get messy.
We’ve nothing up front…

Feels like deja vu

Like back watching Hibs v Villa

One touch gone

LunasBoots
12-09-2023, 07:35 PM
Haven't coped with the quick one twos and clever runs at all.

Friendly nature of the game is suiting England's passing game. Scotland done a lot of running about but a yd or two off the pace, and not prepared or able stick a leg in.

Disappointing effort from Scotland here.

Don't think it's a friendly is part of it. It's been fairly competitive that way.

They are just a top drawer team, top 4 or 5 in the world. And as good as we are, we're nowhere near that.

We'd be all over them if our socks weren't red :-)

England are soberingly good.

12-09-2023, 07:36 PM
Just tuned in. Whys McGinn not playing?

Keyser Sauzee
Any good build up play from us always comes down our left side because Hickey is a left footer playing at right back, he comes in on his stronger foot. The better teams know to press us when Robertson and Teirney have it and let Hickey have it. Really need Patterson to come onto a game for Everton.

Mikey_1875
We look to be playing with fear going forward while England seem to have the shackles off.

I think we should be giving a better account of ourselves than we currently are but it shows the gulf in class and how far we still have to go.

Beating Norway at Hampden and it’s done.

12-09-2023, 07:37 PM
Just tuned in. Whys McGinn not playing?

A career in comedy awaits. Said nobody ever.

So predictable.

The lack of a top class forward will always be a huge problem and even if we qualify we'll never get anywhere without one.

Tha Cabbage Kid
Few occasions mcginn slows down play when we were on the attack. Not sure why he wants to slow it down?

Skol
Feels like deja vu

One touch gone

That was my thought. The English players are on a completely different level

e2los
12-09-2023, 07:38 PM
I don't think this is over.

50 to 1 for Scotland to turn this around.

Scotland like Hibs generally means drama.

It's interesting watch anyway.

12-09-2023, 07:38 PM
A career in comedy awaits. Said nobody ever.

It was my mistake. I honestly hadn't noticed him.

12-09-2023, 07:39 PM
It's just levels. They have class all over the park, we have it in patches.

When it comes down to it they have aspirations and a realistic chance to win the big tournaments (and it's hilarious when they find new ways to fail), we are just wanting to be there.

Granted, but Scotland usually able to compete v England by being more than the sum of the parts. England have been able to treat this like a training game, free of a pressure whatsoever. England having far too much fun.

Feels like deja vu

One touch gone

I was about to post the same. Only difference is it's 2-0 at HT instead of 3-0. Schooled.

CowgateHarp1875
The occasion seems to have gotten to our players thus far. Really disappointing performance.

LunasBoots
12-09-2023, 07:40 PM
Granted, but Scotland usually able to compete v England by being more than the sum of the parts. England have been able to treat this like a training game, free of a pressure whatsoever. England having far too much fun.

Aye, we've played far to open, past teams where very gritty and defensively minded.

SJNB Hibby
12-09-2023, 07:41 PM
I hope its sorted before then----dont want to need a point going into the last game

Off the bar
12-09-2023, 07:41 PM
So predictable.

The lack of a top class forward will always be a huge problem and even if we qualify we'll never get anywhere without one.

That’s it for me. I don’t think we’re miles off it but we’re so thin up front, we need someone scoring 20+ in one of the top leagues.

12-09-2023, 07:42 PM
I would have played Patterson at right back before Hickey. Not our only issue but he always hS to turn back onto his left foot. England have very good players tho. Bellingham and Foden are outstanding 🤢

12-09-2023, 07:42 PM
Walker's shot was going out for a throw and Robertson made an uncharacteristic mistake for their second.

It should be 0-0.

Happy clappers unite.

Newry Hibs
12-09-2023, 07:43 PM

Or drawing with Norway, or norway drawing with Spain

12-09-2023, 07:43 PM
The Cyprus game was the one that mattered this week.

12-09-2023, 07:45 PM
I hope its sorted before then----dont want to need a point going into the last game

It will be.

Norway won't beat Spain and we won't lose in Georgia

12-09-2023, 07:45 PM
We’re up against a far superior team so I wouldn’t get too upset if we’re on the end of a hiding. If we can continue to compete in the meaningful games, we’ll be fine. I hope a hammering tonight doesn’t destroy what we’ve achieved so far in the qualifying stage.

The Pointer
12-09-2023, 07:46 PM

Indeed, just embarrassing.

12-09-2023, 07:46 PM
What a player Foden is.
Terrific

12-09-2023, 07:47 PM
Or drawing with Norway, or norway drawing with Spain

Or Scotland winning in Georgia, no?

Mikey_1875
12-09-2023, 07:47 PM
Southgate has thrown us a lifeline

12-09-2023, 07:48 PM
They're full of class players and deserve their lead. Goodness knows why we set out to defend and try and hold them - a home friendly against your biggest rivals, with the momentum and good feeling we've built up lately, and it looks like we set out for a 0-0 draw. Give that team time on the ball and they'll do what they've done to us - absolutely dominate us. Ukraine went after them at the weekend and it worked - hopefully we come out and attack second half.

Brummie_Hibs
12-09-2023, 07:49 PM
we won't lose in Georgia
Having travelled to Georgia twice, for our last qualifiers with them, I've learnt my lesson saying things like that.

Newry Hibs
12-09-2023, 07:52 PM
Or Scotland winning in Georgia, no?

Or norway drawing with Cyprus

12-09-2023, 07:54 PM
ally likes saying 'i'm going to tell you something' eh :greengrin

Stairway 2 7
12-09-2023, 07:54 PM
Spain will need the win so I'm sure they will get a draw at least v Norway

12-09-2023, 07:55 PM

"He really does".

12-09-2023, 07:57 PM
"He really does".

that tae

12-09-2023, 08:01 PM

As it stands and assuming results stay the same tonight and Spain beat us and Norway beat Cyprus in next round of games then
15th October Norway v Spain is a crucial game for both of them, Spain win or draw and it all over for Norway,

Norway win would leave group wide open but they would only have 1 game left against us while spain and scotland will have 2 games left

12-09-2023, 08:01 PM
Scotland must mean business Nanny Macphee has got his clipboard oot

12-09-2023, 08:02 PM
This is becoming unwatchable. We're so out of our depth.

12-09-2023, 08:05 PM

Always likes to tell us what his "initial reaction" is too

They're just not up for it. Getting the result in Cyprus was the entire focus for the team.

Despite the opposition, this hasn't featured much in their thoughts and is well down in the importance stakes.

Maybe not a bad thing, there was a kind of "Ally's Army" thing starting to develop.

CowgateHarp1875
Booing an anthem that has "rebellious Scots to crush" in one of its verses is OK in my book.

12-09-2023, 08:06 PM
Booing an anthem that has "rebellious Scots to crush" in one of its verses is OK in my book.

It doesn't have that verse, but we've been here before.

12-09-2023, 08:07 PM
Even in possession we look under pressure. Sign of a team in total control.

12-09-2023, 08:07 PM
This is now a horrid watch. England done enough to win the game, don't care any more. Scotland simply unable to change the game in any way.

Robertson has had a horrible game.

CowgateHarp1875
12-09-2023, 08:08 PM
Andy Robertson is so overrated

Skol
12-09-2023, 08:09 PM
They're full of class players and deserve their lead. Goodness knows why we set out to defend and try and hold them - a home friendly against your biggest rivals, with the momentum and good feeling we've built up lately, and it looks like we set out for a 0-0 draw. Give that team time on the ball and they'll do what they've done to us - absolutely dominate us. Ukraine went after them at the weekend and it worked - hopefully we come out and attack second half.

I read that Clarke saw this as good prep for Spain in Seville. Maybe such an approach isn’t such a bad idea if that was the aim

Why not give Nisbet or even Shankland a chance?

CowgateHarp1875
It doesn't have that verse, but we've been here before.

Course it does.

12-09-2023, 08:10 PM
This is now a horrid watch. England done enough to win the game, don't care any more. Scotland simply unable to change the game in any way.

Robertson has had a horrible game.

Horrid watch? It's a friendly. Nobody will care by tomorrow.

e2los
12-09-2023, 08:11 PM
It's on!

Lol

god bless you harry mguire :greengrin

well done arry

Great sub Southgate! :greengrin

12-09-2023, 08:12 PM

Oh dear, nae luck. :greengrin

12-09-2023, 08:13 PM
You've honestly got to feel so sorry for Maguire eh

Off the bar

He is absolute garbage and nothing and no one will convince me otherwise

Absolutely not. Fantastic player and captain he's been over the years for his country.

12-09-2023, 08:15 PM

e2los
I still believe!

Course it does.

Nope.

NO

Where have this team been all game?!?

Great chance for SJM.

12-09-2023, 08:16 PM
Not a bit. I played the same position and if I made the mistakes he does weekly my fellow center back would have been kicking my baws. I'm baffled as to how he got to where he is, he fails every required metric for a top class center back.

12-09-2023, 08:18 PM
"It's taken an own goal and 68 minutes to create an atmosphere in here"

Ally Mccoist

LunasBoots
12-09-2023, 08:20 PM
"It's taken an own goal and 68 minutes to create an atmosphere in here"

Ally Mccoist

Must of had his hunplugs in.

12-09-2023, 08:21 PM
What a player Bellingham is.

Bellingham is sheer class.

e2los
Wouldn't it be great to win with 0 shots on target?

Need more own goals from England.

DIXIHIBS
12-09-2023, 08:24 PM

Seriously!! Maybe having a poor game tonight but 50 caps, EPL winner, champions league winner....aye he's really crap.

LunasBoots
12-09-2023, 08:25 PM
That's why Bellighams at Real

DIXIHIBS
Bellingham is sheer class.

He's gonna be a superstar.

NC1875
Bellingham has Christie and McGregor in his back pocket. What a player

Ah well. Game over. What a player Bellingham is

how simple was that

anyway, ally does his 'listen i'll tell you right now' for the 16th time

Skol
Bellingham is a player

Fine goal.

12-09-2023, 08:26 PM
Abysmal defending.

Game over. Their ability to go up a level when they need to is just something we don't have.

If you give Kane all the room in the world of course he's going to score.

e2los
I don't think we are too terrible aside from the 1-3 current score line.

No pressure on England to win as it's a friendly.

Good experience for us imho.

12-09-2023, 08:27 PM
3-1. FFS Monty oot....

12-09-2023, 08:28 PM
Bellingham is an absolute freak of a player.

12-09-2023, 08:28 PM
Seriously!! Maybe having a poor game tonight but 50 caps, EPL winner, champions league winner....aye he's really crap.

I think Tierney is generally the better player but he’s been as poor as I’ve seen him for Scotland tonight too.

One of those nights. Playing against a team like this we really needed bigger performances from our main players.

12-09-2023, 08:29 PM
Bellingham is an absolute freak of a player.

Him, Foden, Rice, Grealish, Saka, Rashford, Kane...

I'll be really surprised if they don't find a way to win a major competition soon. Serious talent in this squad.

12-09-2023, 08:29 PM
Scotland players sitting back admiring England passing the ball around. We've failed to compete properly in this friendly and England have taken full advantage of this training match. Given the freedom of Hampden.

12-09-2023, 08:31 PM
If your top players are miles off it then you've no chance. Robertson and McGinn in particular have been awful. Porto can come out of this with credit.

12-09-2023, 08:31 PM
Spain scored 13 goals over this international break.

They'll beat us then get at least a draw against Norway, which sends us through

e2los
12-09-2023, 08:33 PM
Scotland players sitting back admiring England passing the ball around. We've failed to compete properly in this friendly and England have taken full advantage of this training match. Given the freedom of Hampden.

Kinda given up by the look of it.

Would like to see us have a shot on target before the final whistle.

12-09-2023, 08:33 PM

I'll be really surprised if they don't find a way to win a major competition soon. Serious talent in this squad.

Plenty good players but then again I’ve been hearing the whole “win a tournament” thing pretty much my whole life, and I’ll be surprised if they do.

There’s always a few teams better.

SJNB Hibby
12-09-2023, 08:34 PM
Georgia score---- 2 minutes left

12-09-2023, 08:34 PM
2-1 norway

12-09-2023, 08:35 PM

Nah. They are not sitting back watching them, we are playing against one of the best teams in the world.

If we can't get near them it's not because we are sitting back watching them, it's because we are against the absolute best in the world (or very close to it).

Sometimes you just lose a game of football. Someone isn't always to blame.

12-09-2023, 08:36 PM
Nah. They are not sitting back watching them, we are playing against one of the best teams in the world.

If we can't get near them it's not because we are sitting back watching them, it's because we are against the absolute best in the world (or very close to it).

SJNB Hibby
12-09-2023, 08:37 PM
2-1 norway
Georgia almost equalised with the last kick of the game

12-09-2023, 08:38 PM
Men and boys. Simple as that. We’ll still do well against lesser teams.

CL0762
12-09-2023, 08:38 PM
Bellingham man, what a player he is. 20 years of age as well, frightening.

12-09-2023, 08:39 PM
Bellingham is a player

Absolutely brilliant player.

12-09-2023, 08:40 PM
Georgia almost equalised with the last kick of the game

Really? Aw man, this has been a real Scotland evening.

12-09-2023, 08:41 PM

Thankfully their manager isn't as good as the squad at his disposal (similar to Martinez as manager of Belgium)

12-09-2023, 08:41 PM

Nah they are just much better than us.

What would you have our boys do? Kick them off the park?

12-09-2023, 08:42 PM
righty away back down the road to drink and swim in yer keek infested cloudy water

:)

12-09-2023, 08:46 PM
Thankfully their manager isn't as good as the squad at his disposal (similar to Martinez as manager of Belgium)

This is it. Good manager and they could win the next Euro's and World Cup. Please stick with Garteh! 🤞🏻

12-09-2023, 08:48 PM
Nah they are just much better than us.

What would you have our boys do? Kick them off the park?

Well, yes actually.

To compete seriously with them, we'd have to stop their midfield and we've not got the players to do that legally.

England were always going to be far better. Shame they had to play this 150th nonsense, as being on a good run is always something you want to keep going. This certainly won’t derail qualifying as that’s a given now, but was a game Scotland could have done without as being comfortably beaten isn’t good for going into games against better opposition for next summer. England barely got out of 3rd gear.

I know it was a friendly but not once did our players get into them. We huffed and puffed and nothing else.

England a quality team but we let them boss it without putting a glove on them.

Portugal seem to be doing all right under Martinez.

12-09-2023, 08:49 PM
Well, yes actually.

To compete seriously with them, we'd have to stop their midfield and we've not got the players to do that legally.

Maybe in a game that mattered like we did in the Euros.

Tonight meant nothing.

12-09-2023, 08:49 PM
Surprised some on here havent blamed Monty for the loss 🤣

12-09-2023, 08:51 PM
Surprised some on here havent blamed Monty for the loss 🤣
Missed my post didn't ye? :greengrin

12-09-2023, 08:52 PM
Maybe in a game that mattered like we did in the Euros.

Tonight meant nothing.
Might mean nothing to you but I’d imagine the majority it does still mean something :dunno:

12-09-2023, 08:53 PM
England are very fortunate to have Bellingham. He is quite authoritative for a young guy. Great future for him.

timewilltell
Souness doing my head in...

:agree: To be fair to us, we are one of the best of the also-rans of international football at the moment, but we can’t compete with the very best, which England undoubtedly are. Our wins against Spain and Sweden bear this out.

12-09-2023, 08:56 PM
If we don't qualify for the Euros it's a failure. But if England don't win it then that's a failure because they are good enough. Massive difference but having said that some of our lads were really poor tonight. Robertson's performance had nothing to do with the opposition, he was just rank apart from the assist.

Musselbound
12-09-2023, 08:57 PM
:agree: To be fair to us, we are one of the best of the also-rans of international football at the moment, but we can’t compete with the very best, which England undoubtedly are. Our wins against Spain and Sweden bear this out.

Well England still to prove they are the very best - by winning a tournament. No doubt the better team won tonight but Scotland were like rabbits in the headlights first half.