View Full Version : Masters event

LewysGot2
05-09-2023, 05:15 PM
This weekend the Masters return. Decided to toddle along to see the likes of Marv and Holty do their thing. Already scunnered it's a free weekend 🤣

05-09-2023, 06:17 PM
This weekend the Masters return. Decided to toddle along to see the likes of Marv and Holty do their thing. Already scunnered it's a free weekend 🤣

On tv ?

LewysGot2
05-09-2023, 06:19 PM
On tv ?

BBC Scotland channel

05-09-2023, 06:20 PM
BBC Scotland channel

Will watch it :aok:

PHeffernan
05-09-2023, 06:32 PM

Riordan due to play last time I looked

09-09-2023, 09:03 AM
BBC Scotland at 7.

Anyone know the full Hibs team? Should be a fun watch.

09-09-2023, 09:22 AM
BBC Scotland at 7.

Anyone know the full Hibs team? Should be a fun watch.

Holt, Bartley, Murray, Riordan, can't mind who else

davcar
09-09-2023, 09:25 AM

Combe, Sproule, Sheils and Nish as well I think

09-09-2023, 09:28 AM
It’s almost a sellout, no idea how many the arena holds

https://www.90min.com/posts/scottish-masters-2023-get-to-know-teams-top-players
Hibs
Combe
Murray
Bartley
Shiels
Sproule
Nish
Holt
Riordan

09-09-2023, 09:31 AM
What happened with Nish court case? I take it he was found not guilty.

09-09-2023, 09:46 AM
Hope TF that Bartley wipes out the painter or the high-fiver if we play Hearts.

09-09-2023, 10:00 AM

Hibs
Combe
Murray
Bartley
Shiels
Sproule
Nish
Holt
Riordan

Just give the ball to Riordan.

09-09-2023, 11:55 AM

I’m sure it will get a bit tasty with some players.

09-09-2023, 12:11 PM

It’s a round robin so they all play each other. Top 2 in the group meet in the final.

09-09-2023, 03:15 PM

Hibs
Combe
Murray
Bartley
Shiels
Sproule
Nish
Holt
Riordan

No midfield Hibs! That’s the way to go, either defend or attack, no half measures.

And Gary Hooper is still playing professional football?!

09-09-2023, 04:32 PM

High sixer

09-09-2023, 05:23 PM
Any betting markets on this

09-09-2023, 06:02 PM
Mon the Hibs.

09-09-2023, 06:09 PM
Hibs going back to back games with the Huns first then Hearts.

09-09-2023, 06:09 PM
Hibs going back to back games with the Huns first then Hearts.

Aye whilst Hearts will have fresher legs

09-09-2023, 06:13 PM
Who’s the Hibs Manager

09-09-2023, 06:13 PM
Who’s the Hibs ManagerDunno but bin 'um.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Mikey_1875
09-09-2023, 06:26 PM
😂😂 brilliant

09-09-2023, 06:26 PM
Dirty hearts *******

50/50 maybe but my statement still stands 😁

09-09-2023, 06:27 PM
Ryan Stevenson keeping it classy as ever lmao

leith lynx
Tattooed freak is asking for it

Dirty hearts *******

No shock, he's still an absolute rat.

09-09-2023, 06:28 PM
Dirty hearts *******

Nothings changed over the years. Still a dirty wee scroat.

I thought it was pretty funny to be honest.

If Montgomery loses the derby he's gone.

09-09-2023, 06:29 PM
Mon Hibs lets beat the Huns then knock these out.

Naismith oot!
Budge oot!

Mon Hibs lets beat the Huns then knock these out.

3-2 Hibs coming up. 🤞

09-09-2023, 06:31 PM
Ffs that kit, couldn't they have just worn blue?

09-09-2023, 06:32 PM
The Rangers mob look like they've been let out of Barlinnie for the day :cb

09-09-2023, 06:35 PM
The Rangers mob look like they've been let out of Barlinnie for the day :cb

Taking it a bit too seriously are they no? Some team they've put out! It's meant to be a laugh, guys.

09-09-2023, 06:37 PM
Sit doon, Hutton!! 😂

09-09-2023, 06:37 PM
Sevco playing Dorrans is truly some try-hard pish.

Marvin Bartley doing Marvin Bartley things. 🥰

09-09-2023, 06:39 PM
What is not to love about Ivan Sproule ? Legend :thumbsup:

09-09-2023, 06:40 PM
First of three from Ivan.

09-09-2023, 06:41 PM
This is actually class. Why did they stop doing them?

09-09-2023, 06:45 PM
Maureeece Ross :greengrin

Maurice Ross pulls his hamstring trying to take out Bartley - karma.

Hutton been chopped by Bartley and Murray !

09-09-2023, 06:46 PM
****ing love Marv so much.

leith lynx
09-09-2023, 06:49 PM
That pitch/carpet looks dangerous

Mikey_1875
09-09-2023, 06:50 PM
Same old rangers!

09-09-2023, 06:50 PM
Just proves, once a Hun .... :thumbsup:

CL0762
09-09-2023, 06:51 PM
Alan Hutton losing his marbles 😂😂😂

09-09-2023, 06:51 PM
Haha brilliant, great to see the old players again. Fully deserved draw.

Thought Murray MOTM 😁

09-09-2023, 06:52 PM
How we could do with a 2016 Marvin Bartley right now.

First domestic penalty given against Rangers in about 18 months.

Pitch looks awful.

2-2 full time with Hibs v Rangers.

Noticed Hibs and Celtic sitting next to each other and huns and diet huns next to each other.

Aberdeen fans probably raging they aren’t in this.

09-09-2023, 06:53 PM
How we could do with a 2016 Marvin Bartley right now.

Exactly - just goes round smashing folk.

Hibs v Hearts next.

Not ideal having 2 games back to back.

09-09-2023, 06:53 PM
For guys this age Hearts having a 20 minute break is huge.

09-09-2023, 06:54 PM
Bartley v Stevenson…could be tasty.

09-09-2023, 06:55 PM
Hahhahaha, Ross done himself trying to be the big man!

09-09-2023, 06:56 PM
Need to get the super glue out for that pitch 😁

09-09-2023, 06:56 PM
Could have atleast gave us a 10 minute break or so. Literally back to back games.

09-09-2023, 06:57 PM
Riordan doing decent job at left back

NC1875
09-09-2023, 06:57 PM
That pitch is terrible.

Davy Mac
09-09-2023, 06:58 PM
Usual currents bleating.

CL0762
09-09-2023, 07:04 PM
Stevenson acting the **** and getting bodied 🤣

Why are we playing 2 games in a row?

Stevenson acting the **** and getting bodied 🤣

Him and Black. Dirty wee throbbers

09-09-2023, 07:05 PM
go on Deano

make that 2-0

Why are we playing 2 games in a row?

Because they want an old firm final.

The carpet /!surface looks terrible. Hopefully noone gets a serious injury. What an embarrassment.

Yaaaaaas

Yessss

09-09-2023, 07:06 PM
That carpets a disgrace!

That pitch is shocking. Could cost a nasty accident.

Holt :greengrin

Jesus get some superglue out after this game.

09-09-2023, 07:07 PM
Who’s the ref in the Hibs game, I remember his face from years ago

lol@ that carpet my goodness

anyway 3-0

Mikey_1875
Easy easy

Easy easy

bringbackbenny
We want 7 🇳🇬

We want 7

09-09-2023, 07:08 PM
This is a rout. We want 7 :thumbsup:

4-0

Stanton Spence
That carpets a disgrace!
It’s certainly not state of the art artificial surface and I don’t think double sided carpet tape was a good idea on a scrim floor 🙈

make that 4

skyehibee
Grant Holt dominating this

Typical dirty Hearts bassa.

Holt still got it.

Sign him up

Exuberance1875
Good to see hibs bullying hearts here

09-09-2023, 07:09 PM
boooooooooooooooooooooooo

Cameron gets 1 back. Gonna be 6-2 then :thumbsup:

that sounded like hibs 4 hearts b****rds 1

4-2

McSwanky
09-09-2023, 07:10 PM
Cameron gets 1 back. Gonna be 6-2 then [emoji106][emoji16]

Sent from my YAL-L21 using Tapatalk

CL0762
09-09-2023, 07:10 PM
Surely no

09-09-2023, 07:11 PM
Hammering Hearts - glorious to see !

09-09-2023, 07:13 PM
Full time - Hibs 4-Hearts 2 - players switched off at 4-0 as it was so easy.

Holt has been quality.

09-09-2023, 07:14 PM
Full time - Hibs 4-Hearts 2 - players switched off at 4-0 as it was so easy.

Remember Hibs players played back to back games

09-09-2023, 07:14 PM
Combe has pulled off a few decent saves.

Time to rest the legs.

Davy Mac
09-09-2023, 07:15 PM
Remember that wee hearts shxte scored 2 against us at ER out of fxckin nowhere. Still hate him. :-)

09-09-2023, 07:15 PM
Remember Hibs players played back to back games

Hearts missing a few players though to be fair to them! Good spectacle and a good laugh.

Old firm up next though. I'm sure that'll be played in good spirits.

09-09-2023, 07:16 PM
Hearts missing a few players though to be fair to them! Good spectacle and a good laugh.

Old firm up next though. I'm sure that'll be played in good spirits.

The squads should have a few more players

09-09-2023, 07:17 PM
Rangers still crying about the penalty.

09-09-2023, 07:20 PM
Rangers still crying about the penalty.

Kickback crying about everything

Mikey_1875
09-09-2023, 07:21 PM
What a start

09-09-2023, 07:22 PM
This could be a decent event but the pitch has made it comical. Hasn't stopped big Holty mind you!

09-09-2023, 07:25 PM
That carpet pitch is a real hazard, especially when the guys playing are more susceptible to injury these days. Pretty poor from whoever is responsible.

09-09-2023, 07:28 PM
when are we next on, i'm watching the rugby now :(

09-09-2023, 07:31 PM
Hope it is us v Celtic next and not Hearts v Rangers. Could do with them being a bit tired.

Mikey_1875
09-09-2023, 07:31 PM
Amateur. Bit of a shame.

Stanton Spence
09-09-2023, 07:32 PM
Surely they would have played a few games on that surface to test it out before hand? Or is that too sensible or costly?
It really is embarrassing

09-09-2023, 07:33 PM
Bit of a shambles with the surface - surely they test these things.

09-09-2023, 07:33 PM
That pitch/carpet looks dangerous

Just a shambles. Can you imagine that in England! Totally 3rd rate and embarrassing.

09-09-2023, 07:34 PM
two great chances blown

09-09-2023, 07:37 PM
Commons hasn't half piled it on

09-09-2023, 07:38 PM
Hibs just need a draw to get to final?

Hibs and Celtic to play for the draw 😁

Celtic rangers was a good laugh.

09-09-2023, 07:39 PM
Hibs just need a draw to get to final?

Rangers could hump hearts and if we lose to Celtic both will be on 4 points so would assume GD would decide?

09-09-2023, 07:43 PM
Hearts got a rest after each game and get another one against a team that's just played.

09-09-2023, 07:45 PM
Hearts got a rest after each game and get another one against a team that's just played.

And a big rest after their last group game

09-09-2023, 07:46 PM

And so have Celtic

09-09-2023, 07:52 PM
Don't think maths is Colin Nish's strong point 😂

He also called Marv, Marvin Andrews

NC1875
09-09-2023, 07:54 PM
Just shouted yes when Hearts scored.

I’m away for a shower 😂😂

09-09-2023, 07:55 PM
Don't think maths is Colin Nish's strong point 😂

He also called Marv, Marvin Andrews

Aye he comes across a bit dim

09-09-2023, 07:56 PM
Hibs Celtic final

09-09-2023, 08:01 PM
Qualified with a game to spare.

Chorley Hibee
09-09-2023, 08:02 PM
Taping parts of the pitch down. 🤣🙈

09-09-2023, 08:02 PM
Wonder who the remaining Rangers and Hearts fans will be supporting in the final!

09-09-2023, 08:03 PM
So 2 back to back games v Celtic

09-09-2023, 08:04 PM
I wonder if we'll get a foul against us in this final for not letting them have the ball? 🤔😁

09-09-2023, 08:05 PM
So do we play celtic and then play them right after it again?

09-09-2023, 08:06 PM
So do we play celtic and then play them right after it again?

Looks like it, aye

Chorley Hibee
09-09-2023, 08:06 PM
I wonder if we'll get a foul against us in this final for not letting them have the ball? 🤔😁

Still livid about that all these years later!

09-09-2023, 08:10 PM
No commentary lol.

09-09-2023, 08:11 PM

I remember that ! Still pisses me off to this day

09-09-2023, 08:12 PM
Amatuer stuff from the BBC with bland filler interviews while the 'pitch' is taped up. And now no commentary - which is probably a blessing I suppose.

All those players will be hurting tomorrow. Be interesting to know their true feelings about the event and surface and whether they would play again.

09-09-2023, 08:14 PM
This whole tournament pretty much sums up Scottish football. Utterly, hilariously shambolic.

The surface, the tv replays, the commentary. Why put an event on if you're not going to ensure its done correctly

Anyway, fancy celtic for this game and hibs for the final

Carpet playing for Celtic

Chorley Hibee
Ivan Sproule nearly breaks his neck as the entire carpet comes up underneath his feet.

What a ****ing joke! 🤣🙈

09-09-2023, 08:16 PM
Combe has been solid in Hibs goal.

The state of the carpet is a shocker - must be a nightmare for the keepers diving on concrete.

09-09-2023, 08:18 PM
Scottish football meets It’s a Royal Knockout.

Absolutely shambolic but hugely watchable.

This whole tournament pretty much sums up Scottish football. Utterly, hilariously shambolic.

The surface, the tv replays, the commentary. Why put an event on if you're not going to ensure its done correctly

Anyway, fancy celtic for this game and hibs for the final

Luckily it’s not on Sky - but agreed amateur hour which is a shame as the concept is good.

Hopefully back next year with improved 3G surface.

What's the point of the 1 yard box?

NC1875
How they can’t put down surface suitable is ridiculous.

Typical Scottish football. Amateur at its best

09-09-2023, 08:20 PM
Cannot be that difficult to get a decent surface shambolic

Daily Hibs
This Hibs side is pretty decent. It's been a good watch.

Combe is better than Marshall.

09-09-2023, 08:21 PM
Riordan looks exactly the same now as he did 15 years ago :greengrin

CL0762
09-09-2023, 08:24 PM
Combe is better than Marshall.

Was thinking that myself 😂

What surface did they use in the tennent 6's years ago ?

Players getting swallowed up by the dodgy carpet

09-09-2023, 08:25 PM
Nish still can’t hold a baw in

09-09-2023, 08:27 PM
Nish still can’t hold a baw in

At least he’s not getting caught offside

09-09-2023, 08:27 PM
This surface might actually be marginally worse than Livingston’s

McSwanky
09-09-2023, 08:28 PM
This surface might actually be marginally worse than Livingston’sSteady on, it's not that bad

Sent from my YAL-L21 using Tapatalk

09-09-2023, 08:28 PM
This surface might actually be marginally worse than Livingston’s

It’s one big conspiracy to make the Rugby Park pitch appear acceptable by comparison.

Daily Hibs
09-09-2023, 08:29 PM
They should have put the tape down at the start.

09-09-2023, 08:30 PM
Anyone know what time the parade is tomorrow if we win?

Daily Hibs
09-09-2023, 08:31 PM
The kits are better than the kits the actual teams wear

09-09-2023, 08:31 PM
Least they won't struggle to get the surface up after the final.

Need to fix that if they have it again.

09-09-2023, 08:32 PM
Bunch of ****ing cowboys trying to tape down the carpet 😂

09-09-2023, 08:34 PM
Still livid about that all these years later!

Aye, I'm not bitter either 🤭

09-09-2023, 08:34 PM
Mental how much I can't stand Kenny Miller.

09-09-2023, 08:40 PM
Can we not get Commons on an emergency loan again?

Chorley Hibee
09-09-2023, 08:40 PM
The carpet gives Celtic an assist.

09-09-2023, 08:41 PM
Raith players unlikely to listen to many lessons about playing to the whistle next week after their gaffer chooses to piss and moan about tripping on the carpet rather than keep playing.

09-09-2023, 08:42 PM
Raith players unlikely to listen to many lessons about playing to the whistle next week after their gaffer chooses to piss and moan about tripping on the carpet rather than keep playing.

I reckon that’s a sentence that’s never been said before until now.

09-09-2023, 08:42 PM

😂 Thought the same

09-09-2023, 08:45 PM
Now the line for the box is f***ed. 😂😂

09-09-2023, 08:45 PM
Booo.

Chorley Hibee
09-09-2023, 08:46 PM
Half the penalty box missing now as it's stuck to some of the player's feet. 🤣

09-09-2023, 08:46 PM
They've chucked it.

Zero tracking back

09-09-2023, 08:47 PM
Class by Deeks there

If we win are we doing pitch invasion and stealing some carpet for our gardens

Aw man, that was genius from Deeks

Montgomery out

Chorley Hibee
09-09-2023, 08:49 PM
If we win are we doing pitch invasion and stealing some carpet for our gardens

You'll not need to do much to lift it.

NC1875
09-09-2023, 08:50 PM
Commons has been better tonight than he was for us.

09-09-2023, 08:53 PM
Masters of football 2023 Braehead runners up, you’ll never sing that

Mikey_1875
09-09-2023, 08:53 PM
A better watch than the usual crap on a Saturday night.

09-09-2023, 08:56 PM
That was brilliant. Definitely go to the next one if they do it again.

09-09-2023, 08:56 PM
The celtic players now celebrating on the duck taped pitch...

09-09-2023, 08:57 PM
Had a laugh when Ryan stevenson, who never tracked back once, had a moan at Quitongo for not giving him the ball, and the co-commentator said ‘Ryan stevenson has just told off Jose quitongo for not passing the ball, except he used a bit stronger language’ 😂

09-09-2023, 08:59 PM
Good effort by the Hibs team.

Hearts players in their beds before the final. (To be fair saw Colin cameron shaking hands at the end).

Hopefully they sort the pitch for next year !

Spent more on the trophies than the playing surface.

Embarrassing really.

Amateurish, embarrassing crap. Especially the venue ….. joking apart, that could have been dangerous for the players.

McSwanky
09-09-2023, 09:02 PM
Amateurish, embarrassing crap. Especially the venue ….. joking apart, that could have been dangerous for the players.

Good fun to watch though, chin up fella!

Stanton Spence
09-09-2023, 09:02 PM
That was brilliant. Definitely go to the next one if they do it again.

Seriously you would pay to watch players tripping over a cheap carpet?
Take nothing away from the players who turned out but that was terrible to watch and pure amateur hour

Stanton Spence
09-09-2023, 09:03 PM

I couldn’t agree more

Was the Hearts manager allowed in the technical area? Generally only big teams are not allowed their manager in the technical area.

McSwanky
Some right moaning minnies on here tonight, chill out folks the real Hibees aren't even playing :thumbsup:

09-09-2023, 09:07 PM
Would have been better had Darren Kilfara been commentating.

“The player’s having to remove the penalty box line marking from his cleats”

NC1875
09-09-2023, 09:07 PM
That was a laugh, not sure id say the same had I paid £28 for a ticket though.

Organisers must be sitting there red faced

09-09-2023, 09:09 PM
Shiels looks like he could still play

09-09-2023, 09:09 PM
Take nothing away from the players who turned out but that was terrible to watch and pure amateur hour

Happily pay to watch that. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Could it have been a better playing surface? Absolutely. Then again it's makeshift surface held at Braehead Arena, not exactly playing at Bernabeu.

If you think that was a terrible watch then I'm honestly not sure what you were expecting from a group of ex pro's.

Stanton Spence
09-09-2023, 09:13 PM
Happily pay to watch that. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Could it have been a better playing surface? Absolutely. Then again it's makeshift surface held at Braehead Arena, not exactly playing at Bernabeu.

If you think that was a terrible watch then I'm honestly not sure what you were expecting from a group of ex pro's.

I just thought that surface made a mockery of the whole event and I’m sure most of the players would feel the same
I wasn’t expecting anymore from the players and actually think they managed to show some bits of magic and entertain but they were up against it to say the least
As someone has said that surface was verging on being totally unsafe

09-09-2023, 09:23 PM

We have Killie away next week.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Chorley Hibee
09-09-2023, 09:25 PM
I just thought that surface made a mockery of the whole event and I’m sure most of the players would feel the same
I wasn’t expecting anymore from the players and actually think they managed to show some bits of magic and entertain but they were up against it to say the least
As someone has said that surface was verging on being totally unsafe

It was quite clearly unsafe.

Someone could easily have broken an ankle.

Chorley Hibee
09-09-2023, 09:26 PM
That was a laugh, not sure id say the same had I paid £28 for a ticket though.

Organisers must be sitting there red faced

They don't give a toss.

Should be folk queuing round the block for refunds.

09-09-2023, 09:28 PM
It was quite clearly unsafe.

Someone could easily have broken an ankle.

Yet didn't.

A few pulled hamstrings from older players the only injuries. That could have happened playing on any surface.

Chorley Hibee
09-09-2023, 09:30 PM
Yet didn't.

A few pulled hamstrings from older players the only injuries. That could have happened playing on any surface.

That doesn't mean it was safe though.

09-09-2023, 09:32 PM
That doesn't mean it was safe though.

I think it's being completely blown out of proportion if I'm being honest. Think it was safe and if it wasn't the players wouldn't have played.

09-09-2023, 09:43 PM
I think it's being completely blown out of proportion if I'm being honest. Think it was safe and if it wasn't the players wouldn't have played.

Says Captain Hindsight :greengrin
I think the issue was the groundsmen didnt water it thoroughly.
Wisnae damp enough tae stick tae the flair !:agree:

The players spokeperson will have most certainly had a word with the organisers as all that unfolded (no pun intended)
Whoever is responsible for and laid that surface should not be paid a penny. It took the shine off an otherwise decent nights entertainment,thanks to the players getting on with it.
Good job it was a parochial affair and not a UK wide event... Ridder !!
Shambolic seeing middle aged overweight men puffing and running about with scissors and stanleys and tape trying to patch the stupid thing up between short match breaks.

09-09-2023, 09:51 PM
Tbf the surface was a bit embarrassing. I enjoyed it but reckon it might’ve been better if the surface was better

09-09-2023, 09:56 PM
Tbf the surface was a bit embarrassing. I enjoyed it but reckon it might’ve been better if the surface was better

Hopefully it's a learning experience and the next one will be better.

It'd be a damn shame if it doesn't happen again cause the carpet came up a few times.

09-09-2023, 09:59 PM
Hopefully it's a learning experience and the next one will be better.

It'd be a damn shame if it doesn't happen again cause the carpet came up a few times.

I agree

09-09-2023, 10:30 PM
What got me was that there wasn't a height limit on passes, it was a bit weird watching the ball being lumped up an arena about a third the size of a normal pitch. It was quite enjoyable watching us beat Hearts, so that was nice.

To be honest it's pretty justified to be having a go at the state of the carpet or whatever the hell it was they were being asked to play on, maybe nobody was hurt as a result of it coming unstuck all the time, but that was more luck than judgement IMO. If that had been guys still playing professional football it wouldn't have been surprising in the slightest if they had refused to continue playing.

It would certainly be worth doing again, but next time with more teams and more players in the squads and a surface that doesn't fall apart, I'm sure Aberdeen and Dundee Utd for example could come up with teams.

09-09-2023, 10:32 PM
Yes the pitch was a shambles but I still enjoyed it. Would be good to have it with more teams like the Tennents' Sixes did.

09-09-2023, 10:35 PM

Think he hurt himself as the carpet gave way from under his feet.

09-09-2023, 10:38 PM
Just book powerleague next time :wink:...that surface was a joke...

09-09-2023, 10:41 PM
What got me was that there wasn't a height limit on passes, it was a bit weird watching the ball being lumped up an arena about a third the size of a normal pitch. It was quite enjoyable watching us beat Hearts, so that was nice.

To be honest it's pretty justified to be having a go at the state of the carpet or whatever the hell it was they were being asked to play on, maybe nobody was hurt as a result of it coming unstuck all the time, but that was more luck than judgement IMO. If that had been guys still playing professional football it wouldn't have been surprising in the slightest if they had refused to continue playing.

It would certainly be worth doing again, but next time with more teams and more players in the squads and a surface that doesn't fall apart, I'm sure Aberdeen and Dundee Utd for example could come up with teams.

Heard Martindale has been one the phone enquiring about getting it laid at the Tony Macaroni

09-09-2023, 11:06 PM
Amatuer stuff from the BBC with bland filler interviews while the 'pitch' is taped up. And now no commentary - which is probably a blessing I suppose.

All those players will be hurting tomorrow. Be interesting to know their true feelings about the event and surface and whether they would play again.

Most players complained about the surface, a few injuries to players, they even had to sign a waiver so that they could not make a claim against the arena in case of serious injury, it was all set up for the two Glasgow teams hoping one of them won, after drinks at a hotel in Port Glasgow.

Most players would love to do it again but the surface has to be better or it won’t happen again.

10-09-2023, 12:16 AM
Heard Martindale has been one the phone enquiring about getting it laid at the Tony Macaroni

Dunno about that, but I can see Killie taking a long hard look at that surface, I'm sure they have been talking about getting a better pitch :greengrin

10-09-2023, 01:38 AM
Class by Deeks there

Should sign him up.

10-09-2023, 07:15 AM

Clearly wasn’t safe. Pity about the pitch but was quite entertaining and watchable. Highlight for me was Maurice Ross being schooled by Marvin then trying a cheap shot tackle on Marv then making out he was injured to avoid a confrontation only to remarkably recover sprinting back onto the pitch couple of minutes later. :greengrin

10-09-2023, 07:18 AM
Most players complained about the surface, a few injuries to players, they even had to sign a waiver so that they could not make a claim against the arena in case of serious injury, it was all set up for the two Glasgow teams hoping one of them won, after drinks at a hotel in Port Glasgow.

Most players would love to do it again but the surface has to be better or it won’t happen again.

It was almost as if it hadn’t been tested out by people practicing on the pitch. Looked a very cheap surface. Not hard to get better i wouldn’t have thought

10-09-2023, 08:40 AM
Clearly wasn’t safe. Pity about the pitch but was quite entertaining and watchable. Highlight for me was Maurice Ross being schooled by Marvin then trying a cheap shot tackle on Marv then making out he was injured to avoid a confrontation only to remarkably recover sprinting back onto the pitch couple of minutes later. :greengrin

That challenge finished him off. He never played another game

10-09-2023, 08:51 AM
That challenge finished him off. He never played another game

He came on the same game though after it.

DIXIHIBS
10-09-2023, 08:53 AM
He came on the same game though after it.

Done his hamstring i think lunging at Marv...😀

HibbyDave
10-09-2023, 09:27 AM
The surface was a joke. Very cheap and not ft for purpose.

He's here!
10-09-2023, 09:51 AM
The surface was a joke. Very cheap and not ft for purpose.

Just watched some of this on catch-up. Hard to believe that surface got the go-ahead from a health and safety perspective.

10-09-2023, 09:58 AM

He shat the bed bigtime :agree:

Stubbsy90+2
10-09-2023, 10:37 AM
Trust Celtic and Rangers to ruin things a bit by including active football players in their teams.

10-09-2023, 10:49 AM
I really enjoyed watching that last night despite the surface issues and the final result.

I thought Murray played well through out and Combe pulled off some saves.

Just great to see the older players again have a kick about.

10-09-2023, 10:53 AM
Trust Celtic and Rangers to ruin things a bit by including active football players in their teams.

Think Hooper could still do a good job for a lower level side. He mentioned he is looking for a team.
Big Holt looked good as well, could play between his wrestling gigs.

LewysGot2
10-09-2023, 12:11 PM
I really enjoyed watching that last night despite the surface issues and the final result.

Agreed. Pity, as always, everything is/was so Weegie centric and the pitch was poor - heard someone say at the event they’d not dried the ice rink out properly or something meaning the surface didn’t stick down properly.?

Crazy Legs Sproule, Marv the Enforcer, Murray’s reading of the game and Holty,s hold up play and football IQ…Hearts looked to poor relations in the event with the likes of the Tattooed Freak and The Painter looking exactly what they were/are by comparison. But then after years of financial doping and investing in foreign imports they were always going to find it harder to put a team together.

Hopefully the organisers learned something

leith lynx
10-09-2023, 03:50 PM

Think Ian Murray was the only outfield player for Hibs that played every minute, hope he does well at Raith then succeeds Monty when he flies south!

10-09-2023, 03:54 PM

It didn't help Rangers & Celtic best player was the fattest in their team.

10-09-2023, 05:34 PM
any highlights available anywhere ?

10-09-2023, 05:35 PM

Possibly Comedy Gold

10-09-2023, 05:36 PM

Don’t know about highlights, but the full
Programme is on the Iplayer

10-09-2023, 05:38 PM
Don’t know about highlights, but the full
Programme is on the Iplayer

so it is..cheers :aok:

10-09-2023, 07:03 PM
It didn't help Rangers & Celtic best player was the fattest in their team.

I was shocked at the state Commons has got himself in. He looks on a par with me weight wise and I’m a fat mess. I also wasn’t a professional athlete until relatively recently, however.

10-09-2023, 07:08 PM
Think Ian Murray was the only outfield player for Hibs that played every minute, hope he does well at Raith then succeeds Monty when he flies south!

Spoke to Ian Murray today at my sons game he was very sore playing on that surface

11-09-2023, 08:59 AM
Grant Holt showing his quality

11-09-2023, 09:06 AM
I was shocked at the state Commons has got himself in. He looks on a par with me weight wise and I’m a fat mess. I also wasn’t a professional athlete until relatively recently, however.

I think to be fair to Commons he's had some back issues at the end of his career which has maybe impacted him exercising after retirement. I remember reading/hearing he was on painkillers the last couple of seasons

He always struck me as being a bit on the rounder chested looking side as a player compared to his teammates as well so not massively surprising to see that's continued into retirement.

patlowe
11-09-2023, 10:33 AM
That pitch with a bad back 😬 bet there were some sore boys in the morning

Helensburghhibs
11-09-2023, 12:19 PM
Agreed. Pity, as always, everything is/was so Weegie centric and the pitch was poor - heard someone say at the event they’d not dried the ice rink out properly or something meaning the surface didn’t stick down properly.?

Crazy Legs Sproule, Marv the Enforcer, Murray’s reading of the game and Holty,s hold up play and football IQ…Hearts looked to poor relations in the event with the likes of the Tattooed Freak and The Painter looking exactly what they were/are by comparison. But then after years of financial doping and investing in foreign imports they were always going to find it harder to put a team together.

Hopefully the organisers learned something

Find the ice thing hard to believe as i was at the boxing there last week and there hasnt been ice in between i wouldnt have thought. Just a shoddy job imo

11-09-2023, 12:29 PM
Find the ice thing hard to believe as i was at the boxing there last week and there hasnt been ice in between i wouldnt have thought. Just a shoddy job imo

By all accounts it was very very hot in there so imagine the glue/tape was failing.

Rumble de Thump
11-09-2023, 12:32 PM
Why don't they just play on ice next year?

11-09-2023, 12:47 PM
By all accounts it was very very hot in there so imagine the glue/tape was failing.

You do get industrial glue for high temperature rooms.