View Full Version : Cyprus v Scotland

05-09-2023, 03:44 PM
Big, big game for us this Friday.

If we win and results go our way on Tuesday we could qualify even though we are not playing.

Anyone going?

Franck Le God
05-09-2023, 03:55 PM

If we win and results go our way on Tuesday we could qualify even though we are not playing.

Anyone going?

I’m heading over tomorrow morning, really looking forward to it - 33 degrees plus all week!

Not looking forward to the 3:30am alarm as much mind you!

05-09-2023, 03:58 PM

Anyone going?

I think a draw puts us in a very strong position, no?

05-09-2023, 04:01 PM
I was in Paphos in March. The front and streets around about were a building site akin to Leith Walk at its worst. Just making folk aware.

05-09-2023, 04:02 PM
We still have to play Spain away and Norway with Harland who would need to win to stand a chance.

A win on Friday would make it so much easier.

05-09-2023, 04:05 PM
I was in Paphos in March. The front and streets around about were a building site akin to Leith Walk at its worst. Just making folk aware.

Went in June and the harbour/front was great. Looked all new with plenty of bars.

Was disappointed in the old town though. Didn't seem that old!

05-09-2023, 05:09 PM
Went to the 2-1 friendly win about 12 years ago, great trip.

Paul1642
05-09-2023, 05:15 PM
Win should hopefully be job done if some other results go out way. Then we can go all out for the group win without any fear which would be great.

I’m going to a Georgia in November and would much rather we had 2nd wrapped up by then despite the game being a bit of a nothing match potentially.

Stairway 2 7
05-09-2023, 05:27 PM
Win and we're all but through, a draw and we would still be favourites. Massive game hopefully not too hot at kick off. Wonder if the boys are there acclimatising

Brummie_Hibs
05-09-2023, 05:30 PM
Fly out on Thurs evening.

Been to Paphos a thousand times, so doing Larnaca for a change.

martin1959
05-09-2023, 05:37 PM
6 of us flying out tomorrow afternoon from Edinburgh for a week,,staying in Ayia Napa 4 of us in our 60s and two 28 year olds, bet us auldys will be last to get to our beds every night[emoji23], getting picked up by supporters bus on Friday think there is about 30 odd supporters buses running from all over cyprus to larnaca run by a guy Davie Proven who lives there and is raising over £100 per bus for the tartan army sunshine charity so a great job done by Davie. Hopefully by the time we're back it's a win for scotland and we have a new manager in place and we're all full of optimism [emoji4]

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

NthCarolinaHibs
05-09-2023, 05:47 PM
Fly out on Thurs evening.

Been to Paphos a thousand times, so doing Larnaca for a change.

We just arrived..toasty toasty in Larnaca.. 🇨🇾🍺🇨🇾

05-09-2023, 06:52 PM
Went in June and the harbour/front was great. Looked all new with plenty of bars.

Was disappointed in the old town though. Didn't seem that old!

That's good to hear. The locals I spoke to were talking of a year plus. The fact everything had been held up because they unsurprisingly uncovered archaeological artifacts under the roads didn't instill confidence it would ever be finished!

05-09-2023, 07:41 PM
Heading to Sevilla for the Spain game, hopefully we're pretty much qualified by then.....

05-09-2023, 07:49 PM
Flying out tomorrow, canny wait. Larnaca was barrie last time.

05-09-2023, 08:02 PM
6 of us flying out tomorrow afternoon from Edinburgh for a week,,staying in Ayia Napa 4 of us in our 60s and two 28 year olds, bet us auldys will be last to get to our beds every night[emoji23], getting picked up by supporters bus on Friday think there is about 30 odd supporters buses running from all over cyprus to larnaca run by a guy Davie Proven who lives there and is raising over £100 per bus for the tartan army sunshine charity so a great job done by Davie. Hopefully by the time we're back it's a win for scotland and we have a new manager in place and we're all full of optimism [emoji4]

Head to Craig's Bar at the end of the strip in Ayia Napa and get yourself a Hibs t-shirt. It's a Scottish sports bar that was class when I was in Napa 10 years ago and looks like it's still going strong

martin1959
05-09-2023, 08:19 PM
Head to Craig's Bar at the end of the strip in Ayia Napa and get yourself a Hibs t-shirt. It's a Scottish sports bar that was class when I was in Napa 10 years ago and looks like it's still going strongThanks SChibs well definitely go there and get the t shirt, we're there till next Wednesday so might watch the Scotland England game there, it was about 25 years ago when I was last there, done a bungee swing where you get winched up and dropped from a height with a guy called davie Lorimer who played for hamilton accies he later moved to Raith Rovers and played against hibs at easter road

05-09-2023, 08:47 PM
Heading to Sevilla for the Spain game, hopefully we're pretty much qualified by then.....

Wrong thread then :greengrin

05-09-2023, 08:48 PM

Anyone going?

Fly out Wednesday ,we’ll be comin

05-09-2023, 08:59 PM
Flying out Thursday night.

Huge game. Squeaky bum time if we don't win.

05-09-2023, 09:34 PM
Elliot Anderson pulls out of both upcoming games, due to injury

i see he got the last 32 mins v Brighton was he injured then ?

05-09-2023, 09:49 PM
Elliot Anderson pulls out of both upcoming games, due to injury

i see he got the last 32 mins v Brighton was he injured then ?

He'll be holding out for an England cap. Don't really blame him, he is English.

05-09-2023, 09:55 PM

my first thoughts were he had done another about turn, obvs no idea if he is injured or not

06-09-2023, 06:54 AM

Fair enough but would be pretty poor if he done us over then joined England squad. Assume he told Clarke he was happy to join up. Shame as would have been an excellent addition.

06-09-2023, 07:24 AM
Wrong thread then :greengrin

Haha true, wish I could get to both

Leighonel
06-09-2023, 07:35 AM

Or maybe he is injured?

06-09-2023, 07:46 AM
Or maybe he is injured?

Nah, doubt it.

06-09-2023, 08:26 AM
Sounds suspicious. If I was called up for my first cap I would be desperate to go even if I was carrying an injury.

06-09-2023, 08:29 AM
He wouldn't have agreed to a call up at all if he didn't want to play for Scotland. It'll be an injury.

JammyDoidger
06-09-2023, 09:17 AM
Been hearing from a strong source, Elliot Anderson has Infact left the camp to focus on England. Apparently took one look at how Mcginn, Mctominay, Gilmour, McGregor were in training and thought he would have a better chance of game time for them down the road.

06-09-2023, 02:14 PM
Sounds suspicious. If I was called up for my first cap I would be desperate to go even if I was carrying an injury.

What if that cap isn't for your country though?

06-09-2023, 04:23 PM
What if that cap isn't for your country though?

Would never have signed up for a foreign country in the first place.

06-09-2023, 04:46 PM
Would never have signed up for a foreign country in the first place.

Then why does it matter what you would do if this situation isn't one you would be in

07-09-2023, 12:23 AM
the three on the right look rank :agree:

https://i2-prod.glasgowlive.co.uk/incoming/article27655674.ece/ALTERNATES/s1200/0_JS309950282.jpg

:clapper::not worth:flag:

07-09-2023, 06:02 AM
the three on the right look rank :agree:

https://i2-prod.glasgowlive.co.uk/incoming/article27655674.ece/ALTERNATES/s1200/0_JS309950282.jpg

:clapper::not worth:flag:

John is thinking I thought I had got away from Portos crap patter :greengrin

07-09-2023, 08:51 AM
Not long arrived on Larnaca, it’s ****ing roasting!

whereswallace?
07-09-2023, 09:07 AM
Currently in Puerto De La Cruz, Tenerife. Anybody any ideas where I could possibly get the game here? Fair old trek from Adeje or Las Americas

NthCarolinaHibs
07-09-2023, 02:33 PM
Not long arrived on Larnaca, it’s ****ing roasting!

Certainly is..☀️..match officials staying at our hotel..😎

07-09-2023, 02:39 PM
Anyone know of any bars in Puerto del carmen, Lanzarote for the game?

07-09-2023, 02:50 PM
Anyone know of any bars in Puerto del carmen, Lanzarote for the game?

I’d be surprised if most pubs didn’t have it on
Just stay away from the Rangers pub, The bluebells

07-09-2023, 03:11 PM
I’d be surprised if most pubs didn’t have it on
Just stay away from the Rangers pub, The bluebells

Just wondered with the rugby etc… and yes, I’ll be nowhere near any bluebells 😂

MartinfaePorty
07-09-2023, 03:12 PM
Any bars in Edinburgh city centre (or nearby) showing it. Platform 5 don't seem to be.

07-09-2023, 03:15 PM
Just wondered with the rugby etc… and yes, I’ll be nowhere near any bluebells 😂

Where are you stopping?
The area towards the airport end of PDC, just past the Barcelo Apartmententos, lots of strips with bars
Once we use frequently is called the Sports Bar, it’s right next to the chippy

PS wish I was in PDC

07-09-2023, 03:17 PM
Where are you stopping?
The area towards the airport end of PDC, just past the Barcelo Apartmententos, lots of strips with bars
Once we use frequently is called the Sports Bar, it’s right next to the chippy

PS wish I was in PDC

I’m in secrets mate, Calero marina basically. Aye, it’s not too shabby! I’ve convinced her it’s a good idea to have ‘dinner’ in PDC tomorrow……..

Appreciate the tip!

08-09-2023, 01:22 AM
Any bars in Edinburgh city centre (or nearby) showing it. Platform 5 don't seem to be.

The Globe, Belushi's, Footlights and Kitty O'Shea's tend to show football.

No idea if there is a clash with another game which would prevent them showing it.

08-09-2023, 05:10 AM
The Globe, Belushi's, Footlights and Kitty O'Shea's tend to show football.

No idea if there is a clash with another game which would prevent them showing it.

France v New Zealand in the opening game of The RWC clashes but, I would imagine the Scotland game will take precedence in most places.

08-09-2023, 05:11 AM

Shandwicks are showing it but, without volume. DJ starts at 2000.

JammyDoidger
08-09-2023, 05:16 AM
Bar50 up the cowgate will be showing it.

08-09-2023, 09:29 AM
What time is kick off? I had it in my head it was early as sure I heard somewhere game was tea time in Cyprus and that we were worried about the heat. Brother just said its a 7.45pm kick off which would be 9.45pm in Cyprus.

7Hero
08-09-2023, 09:39 AM

Marco's Pool Hall up the road on grove Street

08-09-2023, 09:48 AM
What time is kick off? I had it in my head it was early as sure I heard somewhere game was tea time in Cyprus and that we were worried about the heat. Brother just said its a 7.45pm kick off which would be 9.45pm in Cyprus.

Is 7.45

08-09-2023, 12:15 PM
Cyprus v Scotland

7.45 pm kick off

Via Play UK

Apologies if already posted

08-09-2023, 12:46 PM
Win and we’ve qualified.

Paulie Walnuts
08-09-2023, 12:48 PM
Win and we’ve qualified.

Whilst not mathematical there’s no way we won’t qualify if we win tonight.

scm70nyd1973
08-09-2023, 01:00 PM

Nah - it’s Scotland remember - masters of the F ups - second only to HOMFC when visiting Tayside of an afternoon 🤭

Paulie Walnuts
08-09-2023, 01:06 PM
Nah - it’s Scotland remember - masters of the F ups - second only to HOMFC when visiting Tayside of an afternoon 🤭

I’m not sure what the permutation would be to stop us qualifying if we win tonight but it would probably be verging on every single result in the group going against us for the rest of the campaign.

scm70nyd1973
08-09-2023, 01:10 PM
I’m not sure what the permutation would be to stop us qualifying if we win tonight but it would probably be verging on every single result in the group going against us for the rest of the campaign.

I’m quietly confident and agree but I’ve been in this movie too often and I can’t deny that I will be pooing my pants (well nearly) before KO and during the game - if we win then I’ll start to believe we might well be “…coming down the road” 🙏

08-09-2023, 01:10 PM

Like that would be a unlikely for us! :-)

08-09-2023, 01:15 PM
Georgia v Spain starts at 17.00 today so hope for a draw in that game.

08-09-2023, 01:24 PM
Georgia v Spain starts at 17.00 today so hope for a draw in that game.

Or do we want Spain to win and then if we beat Cyprus and Norway Georgia draw on Tuesday we qualify.

08-09-2023, 01:25 PM

Pretty much I think. Tough game though watched Cyprus Georgia and Cyprus unlucky not to win. Very hot conditions also

08-09-2023, 01:25 PM

The Albion Bar in the stadium is showing it. fiver a ticket and you get a pie and pint.

08-09-2023, 01:26 PM
The Albion Bar in the stadium is showing it. fiver a ticket and you get a pie and pint.

Sounds good

scm70nyd1973
08-09-2023, 01:32 PM
[QUOTE=JimBHibees;7463849]Or do we want Spain to win and then if we beat Cyprus and Norway Georgia draw on Tuesday we qualify.[/QUOTE

I think that sounds about right - it’s a decent possibility and mind blowing if it materialised - please oh please make it happen 🙏🤞

08-09-2023, 01:57 PM

Was good in there for the Norway game

08-09-2023, 02:18 PM
Are kids allowed in the Albion bar for Scotland games? Probably too late for tonight's, but future ones would be good

08-09-2023, 05:33 PM
Gunn

Robertson, Tierney, Hendry, Porteous, Hickey

McGinn, McTominay, McGregor, Gilmour

Adams

1875Sean
08-09-2023, 05:44 PM
Shankland doesn’t make the squad, love it

08-09-2023, 05:47 PM

Some seething comments on social media.

08-09-2023, 05:51 PM
Shankland doesn’t make the squad, love it...oh dear, I hope he hasn't picked up an injury...

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

08-09-2023, 06:04 PM
Gunn

Robertson, Tierney, Hendry, Porteous, Hickey

McGinn, McTominay, McGregor, Gilmour

Adams

Robertson at right back? 😱

08-09-2023, 06:04 PM
Gogic benched

Gordy M
08-09-2023, 06:09 PM
Robertson at right back? 😱

Id imagine Hickey will be right and Robertson left.

08-09-2023, 06:11 PM

Presumably we aren't expecting a penalty tonight then.

08-09-2023, 06:18 PM
Georgia 1 Spain 7, twas a hammering

08-09-2023, 06:32 PM
Presumably we aren't expecting a penalty tonight then.

Think it’s more to be within the new UEFA guidelines as to how much forehead you’re allowed in a team. Threw the average way off.

08-09-2023, 06:41 PM
Could swear I just spotted Nanny McPhee 😂

08-09-2023, 06:43 PM
Why can't Scotland football fans ever sing FoS in time with the music? Pished? Haha

Bridge hibs
08-09-2023, 06:43 PM
Could swear I just spotted Nanny McPhee 😂

Set piece coach with Scotland

08-09-2023, 06:47 PM
Porteous puts the ball out twice in the first minute?

08-09-2023, 06:51 PM
Yaaaaas

Off the bar
Yes!!!

get in :saltireflag goal machine McTominay

Yasss

08-09-2023, 06:53 PM
0-1!!

This on TV anywhere (for free)?

get in :saltireflag goal machine McTominay
Love the boy so under rated at Man Utd

There are 12 on the bench, can't be many not even making the bench.

08-09-2023, 06:54 PM
Get in there

08-09-2023, 06:56 PM

only played 5 mins for them so far, not even in the squad for the game at Arsenal so i presume injured

08-09-2023, 06:56 PM
0-1!!

This on TV anywhere (for free)?

Could not find a free live 'video' stream.

i am in Starbucks in Nashville just listening to the Scottish commentary on Youtube. Live Football Streams.

Better than nothing although the first Yassss on Hibs.net was a few seconds ahead.

SJNB Hibby
08-09-2023, 06:59 PM
Theyre getting far too many chances, we need a 2nd to calm things down

08-09-2023, 06:59 PM
Cyprus hit the bar and then just had a good effort just inches wide.

Paul1642
08-09-2023, 07:00 PM

Feel like he’s never going to break into their first team but his performances for Scotland will be giving him a fighting chance. He should move to somewhere where he would get first team football IMO. Could be a great player for a lot of premiership clubs.

Off the bar
Porto!!!!!!!

porto 2-0 :thumbsup:

SJNB Hibby
08-09-2023, 07:01 PM
Porto!!!!!!

Amazed that was given

:saltireflag:saltireflag

Commentator saying might be overturned by VAR

Paul1642
08-09-2023, 07:03 PM
First Scotland goal?

Well done Porto!

HendoDelivered
Germanyyyyyy

Could not find a free live 'video' stream.

i am in Starbucks in Nashville just listening to the Scottish commentary on Youtube. Live Football Streams.

Better than nothing although the first Yassss on Hibs.net was a few seconds ahead.

We're watching on ViX - free trial via Prime. In Spanish, mind.

08-09-2023, 07:07 PM
We're watching on ViX - free trial via Prime. In Spanish, mind.

Paul1642
08-09-2023, 07:08 PM
Right, so without assuming tonight is a done deal if it stays the same we would be:

11 points ahead of Norway and Georgia with 12 points to play for from each of them. Both play each other on Tuesday and both need to play Scotland and Spain. Surely it’s now almost impossible for us to throw away.

Winning the group isn’t entirely impossible either.

08-09-2023, 07:11 PM
Right, so without assuming tonight is a done deal if it stays the same we would be:

11 points ahead of Norway and Georgia with 12 points to play for from each of them. Both play each other on Tuesday and both need to play Scotland and Spain. Surely it’s now almost impossible for us to throw away.

Winning the group isn’t entirely impossible either.
Spain away may be only game we will loose It’s defo we are going through now Everyone will be making plans if they hadn’t done do already

08-09-2023, 07:11 PM
Not sure what's worse.
That lone piper or the drummer at ER

08-09-2023, 07:14 PM
sjm :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Off the bar
08-09-2023, 07:14 PM
Easy easy easy

08-09-2023, 07:15 PM
What a goal. We have been brilliant the last 10 minutes

08-09-2023, 07:15 PM
Germany here we come.

Off the bar
08-09-2023, 07:16 PM
Just need Nisbet to come off the bench and score for the ex hibbies hat trick!

This is a serious Scotland side btw.

How many times have we seen Scotland huff and puff in games like this? Tonight, it's in, out and job done inside half an hour.

Benny Brazil
We've not even played that well! What a goal SJM!

We can forever be thankful that SJM played in second gear for Villa the other week.
He is magnificent.

SJM one goal behind Kenny miller and two behind McCoist

08-09-2023, 07:17 PM
ooft just past from McTominay

08-09-2023, 07:17 PM
SJM one goal behind Kenny miller and two behind McCoist

And the commentators said, 'He will get them. Many campaigns to come'.

Maybe tonight :greengrin

08-09-2023, 07:18 PM
McTominey has been superb so far

08-09-2023, 07:18 PM
sjm tries a lob from 50 yards :greengrin

08-09-2023, 07:22 PM
And the commentators said, 'He will get them. Many campaigns to come'.

Maybe tonight :greengrin

i never realised just how many goals Lawrie Reilly scored for Scotland

08-09-2023, 07:28 PM
Ferguson and Nisbet on in the 2nd half please.

08-09-2023, 07:32 PM
HT 3-0 not too shabby :)

Walter
08-09-2023, 07:32 PM
Just logged in on my mates viaplay and can't for the life of me work out how to get the commentary on

Hillsidehibby
08-09-2023, 07:34 PM
Just logged in on my mates viaplay and can't for the life of me work out how to get the commentary on

How old are you?

Walter
08-09-2023, 07:35 PM
How old are you?

40 🤣

40 🤣

Rookie

Doesn't score or that but I think Gilmour is the man. 😁

Walter
08-09-2023, 07:36 PM
Any help ?!

I used my genius and turned it on and off. It works now. Folk should try that

08-09-2023, 07:38 PM
Any help ?!

Have you turned the sound up
What device are you watching it on

08-09-2023, 07:39 PM
Any help ?!

Not much, other than try restarting/relogging in?

08-09-2023, 07:39 PM
why is the plukester there

08-09-2023, 07:40 PM
Minutes 20-30 we were outstanding. Never seen a Scotland team move so well and pass it at such pace. Brilliant.

Hillsidehibby
08-09-2023, 07:43 PM
40 🤣

There’s nae hope mate 😂

Paul1642
08-09-2023, 07:44 PM
Such a young team. Almost none of the starting 11 or bench will be past their peaks by the next World Cup or even the next euros with hopeful even more talent coming though.

A rare, exciting time to be a Scotland fan right now. I’m also confident that Steve Clarke is going nowhere any time soon.

08-09-2023, 07:58 PM
Anyone else finding Michael Stewart a boring fart? He sounds as if he’s commentating at a funeral. The other geezer is just as bad.

08-09-2023, 08:01 PM
mon Scotland gies a goal man

Dmas
08-09-2023, 08:13 PM
Maybe being a bit of a grump here in what’s been a cracking away performance but…dykes and McLean on we’re 3 up and coasting would it not be the ideal chance to give Nizzy and Ferguson a run out here see what they can bring to the table in a competitive game, we know we can call on the other 2

08-09-2023, 08:15 PM
Maybe being a bit of a grump here in what’s been a cracking away performance but…dykes and McLean on we’re 3 up and coasting would it not be the ideal chance to give Nizzy and Ferguson a run out here see what they can bring to the table in a competitive game, we know we can call on the other 2

He shows loyalty to the players who have performed for him.
Loads of opportunities on Tuesday v England
15 out 15, you are a grump

08-09-2023, 08:17 PM
This is now like a training game.

08-09-2023, 08:19 PM
20 pass build up ends with McTominay curling one round the keeper, but off the post.

08-09-2023, 08:21 PM
This is now like a training game.

Yep. It’s very hot. Would imagine the players are quite happy to coast the rest of the game. Job done.

08-09-2023, 08:23 PM
Gogic on

Dmas
08-09-2023, 08:34 PM

08-09-2023, 08:36 PM
FT 0-3

Cyprus draw the 2nd half :)

08-09-2023, 08:37 PM
Yep that’s us going to Germany. Can’t see us mucking this up now.

08-09-2023, 08:39 PM
It looked a cracking support there tonight

08-09-2023, 08:43 PM

If Norway and Georgia draw on Tuesday we've qualified no?

08-09-2023, 08:43 PM
It looked a cracking support there tonight

Atmosphere wasn't the best.

Stairway 2 7
08-09-2023, 08:45 PM
Glad I booked flights last month 🍺 🇩🇪

08-09-2023, 08:45 PM
Bulls and whales everywhere hope Georgia or Cyprus get the diddy team second place.

08-09-2023, 08:49 PM
WTF is going on. Scotland just keep winning and 20+ degrees in September. This must be what ut feels like to be Brazilian

08-09-2023, 08:49 PM
McTominay was outstanding this evening.

08-09-2023, 08:53 PM
Place is buzzin' !!

08-09-2023, 08:53 PM
Scotland are rubbish and will soon be humiliated. If I keep posting this it won’t happen.

08-09-2023, 08:54 PM
Brilliant after match interview with SJM. A natural in front of the camera

08-09-2023, 08:57 PM
Scotland are rubbish and will soon be humiliated. If I keep posting this it won’t happen.Saved me posting similar... thank you :-)

ErinGoBraghHFC
08-09-2023, 09:04 PM

I’ll keep quiet until it’s guaranteed. I will be holidaying in Gelsenkirchen next summer however.

08-09-2023, 09:09 PM
I’ll keep quiet until it’s guaranteed. I will be holidaying in Gelsenkirchen next summer however.

Just being a bit too positive this evening. :greengrin

08-09-2023, 09:09 PM
What is our sell on % for Porteous?

Mental how little he left for!!

08-09-2023, 09:11 PM

Realising the potential mate. Hes twice the player we had.

08-09-2023, 09:11 PM

How's he playing for Watford? Is he a regular down there?

08-09-2023, 09:12 PM

Plays every week.

08-09-2023, 09:21 PM
I know I know but looking at flights. Don’t know where we would be playing and draw in December but looking at Edinburgh to cologne flights.

Any advice on best place to base ourselves for a few nights accepting we are likely going to need to trave?

Germany guaranteed to be in Munich.

NC1875
08-09-2023, 09:21 PM

That grumpy you said it twice! See your point but can’t really argue with anything Clarkes done as Scotland manager.

08-09-2023, 09:24 PM
I know I know but looking at flights. Don’t know where we would be playing and draw in December but looking at Edinburgh to cologne flights.

Any advice on best place to base ourselves for a few nights accepting we are likely going to need to trave?

Dusseldorf is where we’re going for 5 nights. In easy reach of 5 of the grounds that will be in use.

08-09-2023, 09:31 PM
Realising the potential mate. Hes twice the player we had.

I think he more than had it with us, but he really needed a fresh challenge to make him focus imo.

It looked to me like he almost thought he was better than the level/felt ready to move on to a better club.

Happy he’s got that chance at Watford and Scotland now and doing well.

ErinGoBraghHFC
08-09-2023, 09:33 PM
Just being a bit too positive this evening. :greengrin

All this positivity is going to give me a nosebleed. Anyone know anything to do in Gelsenkirchen/Dortmund/Essen/Düsseldorf area next June?

08-09-2023, 09:37 PM
I think he more than had it with us, but he really needed a fresh challenge to make him focus imo.

It looked to me like he almost thought he was better than the level/felt ready to move on to a better club.

Happy he’s got that chance at Watford and Scotland now and doing well.

Probably benefitting from being out of the Scottish football goldfish bowl.

08-09-2023, 09:40 PM
Probably benefitting from being out of the Scottish football goldfish bowl. :agree:... getting to the point he was guaranteed a booking just for being on the pitch

DIXIHIBS
08-09-2023, 09:42 PM
Does it matter if we finish 1st or 2nd IF we qualify? Are group winner seeded etc?

08-09-2023, 09:43 PM
Scotland did what they always do (but haven’t for thirty years) and run over teams like Cyprus. You have to hand it to Clarke buy laugh at the bollock-less pant ****ting clowns we’ve been stuck with in the past.

08-09-2023, 09:44 PM
:agree:... getting to the point he was guaranteed a booking just for being on the pitch

Indeed and the Lanarkshire refereeing mafia still think they are doing Scottish football a service.

Mark05
08-09-2023, 09:45 PM
Call me crazy,I booked my hotel in Berlin three weeks ago I got a good deal.Just waiting for the flights to become available so I can book them.The way I look at it I prefer to base myself somewhere then travel if I have to happy days

Mctominay makes Messi look like a jobber ffs.

We’ve just got some very good players now. Right through the whole team.

08-09-2023, 09:51 PM

Booked for Frankfurt for the entirety of the 1st round of group games. Will travel to wherever Scotland play our opening game and work out logistics as and when.

08-09-2023, 09:53 PM
Does it matter if we finish 1st or 2nd IF we qualify? Are group winner seeded etc?

Teams with the top 5 points in the qualifiers will be a top seed alongside Germany. Next 6 will be second seeds, and so on and so on.

08-09-2023, 09:56 PM
We are going through top and then we're going to go beyond the group stages.

08-09-2023, 10:03 PM
Teams with the top 5 points in the qualifiers will be a top seed alongside Germany. Next 6 will be second seeds, and so on and so on.

At the moment, with 3 to play, only France and Portugal match our points total, with England 3 behind with a game in hand... getting giddy :greengrin

08-09-2023, 10:12 PM
Scotland have not lost a game when Ryan Porteous has been in the team
Read that at the moment Scotland would be No 1 seeds at the Euros.

08-09-2023, 10:12 PM

Plays every week.

5 clean sheets in his 6 Scotland caps.

Looking like the very good player he is. Will go on from Watford at some point.

08-09-2023, 10:17 PM
We deserve this.

08-09-2023, 10:19 PM
We deserve this.

We've earned this

08-09-2023, 10:20 PM
We've earned this

We so have.

08-09-2023, 10:26 PM
We've earned this

Undoubtedly!!

Five wins from five in a qualification campaign, from Scotland?!

We could have been in a group of San Marino, Sri Lanka, Sainsbury's and Scotmid before and not managed that.

Some real quality and determination on show from this current squad. What a team!

08-09-2023, 10:30 PM
Missed the game tonight as was at the rugby.

How many more points do they need to guarantee qualification?

08-09-2023, 10:31 PM
Scotland have not lost a game when Ryan Porteous has been in the team
Read that at the moment Scotland would be No 1 seeds at the Euros.

Only conceded 1 goal and that was a dubious penalty, scored by Haaland.🤖

scm70nyd1973
08-09-2023, 10:34 PM

Twa

CB Hibs 68
08-09-2023, 10:34 PM
Well played.Thought the game would be tighter than it was but the fact it wasn’t is down to the squad .Brilliant time to be a Scotland fan

scm70nyd1973
08-09-2023, 10:37 PM
With Monty at the wheel - who knows HIBS could be Champions next year and Scotland are Euro champs - never forget Leicester 🤭😂

We'll get pumped by England on Tuesday but celebate like mad at Hampden when Norway and Georgia draw.

Twa

Ta, been a long night and looked at table but couldn't work it out 😁

08-09-2023, 10:45 PM
Plays every week.

5 clean sheets in his 6 Scotland caps.

Looking like the very good player he is. Will go on from Watford at some point.

Yep he was criminally underrated by some hibs fans. Boy is a class act. Apparently he wouldn't get a game for Watford and wasn't good enough for Scotland

08-09-2023, 10:52 PM
Undoubtedly!!

Five wins from five in a qualification campaign, from Scotland?!

We could have been in a group of San Marino, Sri Lanka, Sainsbury's and Scotmid before and not managed that.

Some real quality and determination on show from this current squad. What a team!

I think the biggest plaudit has to go to Steve Clarke. He’s worked wonders and really moulded that squad into a great team. The guy has a real midas touch about him - especially after his Killie miracle.

08-09-2023, 10:55 PM
I think the biggest plaudit has to go to Steve Clarke. He’s worked wonders and really moulded that squad into a great team. The guy has a real midas touch about him - especially after his Killie miracle.

Without a doubt. Even tonight the group chat was full of folk questioning the lineup. Too defensive etc etc. But yet again we get a result.

Wasn't the biggest Clarke fan at first, probably couldn't hand pick a better manager for us and this squad of players.

08-09-2023, 10:56 PM

If Norway and Georgia draw on Tuesday we've qualified.

08-09-2023, 10:58 PM
Let's just dump Spain and coast on in. Oh, what a time to support our national team.

08-09-2023, 11:06 PM
Am I right in saying our next game is v Spain and if we win not only do we qualify but we guarantee we top group as we would be on 18 pts, the max Spain could get but we have head to head record?

Brummie_Hibs
08-09-2023, 11:47 PM
For all those who wouldnae open their curtains if Scotland were playing in their back garden.

Get it right up ya!! Larnaca is rocking. Scotland is rocking. And you'll all be pissed off when you cannae get tickets for Germany.

ErinGoBraghHFC
09-09-2023, 01:55 AM
For all those who wouldnae open their curtains if Scotland were playing in their back garden.

Get it right up ya!! Larnaca is rocking. Scotland is rocking. And you'll all be pissed off when you cannae get tickets for Germany.

I got my Germany tickets as a package with my Conference League final tickets and my Scottish cup final tickets for this year, did you miss out on that deal?

09-09-2023, 04:05 AM

Atmosphere at the game was £h1t3. Maybe the boozers are rocking.

Why would they be pissed of if they couldn't get tix for Germany if they wouldn't watch Scotland in their own back garden.

Also that lone piper was £uck3n nippy. Like walking along Princes Street on a Saturday afternoon.

norhfc
09-09-2023, 06:00 AM

Why would they be pissed of if they couldn't get tix for Germany if they wouldn't watch Scotland in their own back garden.

Also that lone piper was £uck3n nippy. Like walking along Princes Street on a Saturday afternoon.

Wouldn’t want to get stuck beside you at a party. Can you no just enjoy this team or failing that let other people enjoy it.

09-09-2023, 06:05 AM

Sounded OK on the tv

K-Zazu
09-09-2023, 06:06 AM

It was Cyprus ffs 😂.

Dmas
09-09-2023, 06:15 AM
That grumpy you said it twice! See your point but can’t really argue with anything Clarkes done as Scotland manager.

Absolutely not he’s done an incredible job my post was in no means an attempt to dig him out in anyway just merely an observation, it would be nice for the guys more on the fringes to get on in these types of games, totally understand him believing dykes to be a better option than Nizzy at this point and same for McLean Christie Armstrong getting on just think being 3 up and in no danger we could use Nizzy ferguson and give them a chance, couple of injuries we might need to call on them be good to know there ready you’d think

CowgateHarp1875
09-09-2023, 06:23 AM
This Scotland team doesn't know when it's beat. I fancy us to reach the finals next year.

09-09-2023, 06:28 AM

Outstanding record, especially considering he had to retire early from football due to injury.

09-09-2023, 06:47 AM

Remember the Clarke out shouts? Shows what a little patience can do.

09-09-2023, 07:15 AM
Yep he was criminally underrated by some hibs fans. Boy is a class act. Apparently he wouldn't get a game for Watford and wasn't good enough for Scotland

Disagree - I think porteous himself has said he was playing poorly in his last year with us, needed to leave to challenge himself

He still plays too many Hollywood passes in Chernobyl areas of the pitch - Clarke is a good man to be developing him

Glad to see Porteous improving though as he has the raw materials

09-09-2023, 07:18 AM
5/1 anytime last night - thank you Mr Porto.

09-09-2023, 07:22 AM
Outstanding from Scotland.

09-09-2023, 07:39 AM
Glad I booked up a few months ago. 5 nights in Berlin from 19 June 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

09-09-2023, 08:00 AM
Does go to show that you do need to give managers time. Some of his early stint WAS boring as hell, and even when winning there's been ropey moments like scraping home in the Faroes.

Too many people seem to think that's actually what a manager actually wants to aim for. You won't always get an improvement - as we know all too well - but Scotland with the ball last night were brilliant. They kept possession better than any Scotland team I've seen, and everything (before the second half canter) seemed to be done with a purpose, within a settled shape, and at speed. They've been coached SO well.

Mark05
09-09-2023, 08:01 AM
Glad I booked up a few months ago. 5 nights in Berlin from 19 June 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

Done the same thing blaster,going on the 16th hopefully won't have to travel too far for the games 👍

09-09-2023, 08:13 AM
Done the same thing blaster,going on the 16th hopefully won't have to travel too far for the games 👍

Hopefully the draw is kind to us location wise mate

HarpOnHibee
09-09-2023, 08:18 AM
What a time to be alive.

:saltireflag

09-09-2023, 08:28 AM
It's insane that McTominay is joint top scorer in the qualifiers but can't get a game at his club, maybe if they played him in a more attacking role he would do much better than Fernandes or Mount?

09-09-2023, 08:47 AM
It's insane that McTominay is joint top scorer in the qualifiers but can't get a game at his club, maybe if they played him in a more attacking role he would do much better than Fernandes or Mount?And the overpaid pensioner Casemiro

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

09-09-2023, 08:55 AM
It's insane that McTominay is joint top scorer in the qualifiers but can't get a game at his club, maybe if they played him in a more attacking role he would do much better than Fernandes or Mount?

It is incredible he doesn't seem to be getting any minutes. Looks way better than Mount does imo.

09-09-2023, 09:00 AM
And the overpaid pensioner Casemiro

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Yeah but he is more a deeper midfielder, and he did well last year for them. I was quietly impressed with with Ten Haag last season, he inherited a mess and seemed to be on the right path, but McTominay needs to be the one behind the strikers and he will get goals.

09-09-2023, 09:00 AM
Disagree - I think porteous himself has said he was playing poorly in his last year with us, needed to leave to challenge himself

He still plays too many Hollywood passes in Chernobyl areas of the pitch - Clarke is a good man to be developing him

Glad to see Porteous improving though as he has the raw materials

Disagree what that he wouldn't get a game for Watford and wasn't good enough for Scotland. Was always clear he was a very good player.

HarpOnHibee
09-09-2023, 09:19 AM

If they don't want to play him, that suits us just fine.

09-09-2023, 09:23 AM
We'll get pumped by England on Tuesday but celebate like mad at Hampden when Norway and Georgia draw.

I don’t see this team getting pumped by anyone.

09-09-2023, 09:25 AM
I don’t see this team getting pumped by anyone.

Agree may lose given their quality but certainly not pumped.

09-09-2023, 09:30 AM
Yeah I still can't handle this. I'm sorry. Why are Scotland good

09-09-2023, 10:01 AM
Even if Norway or Georgia win on Tuesday they would still need to win all their remaining games including games against us and Spain who they have both still to play.

09-09-2023, 10:02 AM
I’m literally waiting for the Scottish media to announce Porteous as the “next best thing” now that he doesn’t play for Hibs !

09-09-2023, 10:19 AM

Don’t often disagree with you Mr Bond but I’ll be pretty disappointed if we don’t at least draw against that England side at home.

But you’re right in the sense that the qualification confirmation is the most important 👍

09-09-2023, 10:24 AM
5/1 anytime last night - thank you Mr Porto.

He can GTF. I had him to score with a header and also Scotland to win and BTTS.

A goal with his foot and that block near the end are no good to me.

09-09-2023, 10:38 AM
Anyone else think the young boy Gogic could be the missing link in our midfield the way he got up and down that park ?

I can see it now Gogic and Rogic

Renfrew_Hibby
09-09-2023, 10:43 AM
I’m literally waiting for the Scottish media to announce Porteous as the “next best thing” now that he doesn’t play for Hibs !

Thankfully he's probably out of the price range of the infirm.

09-09-2023, 11:15 AM
Said this a few times that I only cheer for Hibs and not to bothered about internationals, I did cheer on England as a child tho.

Glad to see Scotland doing so well recently with a good squad of players, a few decent youth players coming through also.

Sorry to offend any of my fellow English Hibees on here but I hope Scotland win on Tuesday 😁

09-09-2023, 11:16 AM

Or for them to start finding excuses for one of his rash, reckless tackles - they'll be reclassified as "robust", "vigorous, "hard but fair", "muscular", "rugged" or some such.

darwenhibby
09-09-2023, 10:06 PM
We are good
I have a cousin who lives in Berlin and can put us up
Cheap flights on Easy Jet
He doesn’t know yet
We want to surprise him
I wonder if he posts on here😆??

Donegal Hibby
09-09-2023, 10:46 PM
Seen this article . Get him to switch to Scotland and you will have a very good player imo .
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/international/premier-league-star-at-centre-of-ps38m-summer-transfer-considering-swapping-england-for-scotland-4286985

09-09-2023, 11:15 PM
Remember the Clarke out shouts? Shows what a little patience can do.

Yeah, hard to believe some folk would show no patience and think a manager should be slaughtered if they don't win their first match when it's a tricky away game.

09-09-2023, 11:21 PM
Seen this article . Get him to switch to Scotland and you will have a very good player imo .
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/international/premier-league-star-at-centre-of-ps38m-summer-transfer-considering-swapping-england-for-scotland-4286985

And the fact we're about 99% certain of qualifying for the Euro Championships is purely co-incidental. 😀

09-09-2023, 11:29 PM
And the fact we're about 99% certain of qualifying for the Euro Championships is purely co-incidental. 😀

10-09-2023, 07:31 AM

Very talented. Scored a fair amount of goals. Would be a major addition to the squad considering it’s the only area we remain light on.

10-09-2023, 08:01 AM
We are good
I have a cousin who lives in Berlin and can put us up
Cheap flights on Easy Jet
He doesn’t know yet
We want to surprise him
I wonder if he posts on here😆??

I've heard he's moved without any forwarding address. :duck:

18Craig75
10-09-2023, 08:09 AM

Surprised at that. Not least because Richard Gordon was waxing lyrical about Law’s scoring rate per cap, as well as Super Ally’s. No mention of the great Laurie Reilly though 🫤

Donegal Hibby
10-09-2023, 08:23 AM
Very talented. Scored a fair amount of goals. Would be a major addition to the squad considering it’s the only area we remain light on.
With Scotland doing so well and on the verge of qualification for the European championship I think there will be a few players that might switch allegiance to Scotland like Harvey Barnes and Anderson and why wouldn't Clarke recruit them when it will only make Scotland's national team stronger. Good players imo .

10-09-2023, 08:32 AM
Only France and Portugal have the same perfect record as Scotland in these qualifiers.

I’m assuming they’d also have been in the first pot for the draw too which makes what we’re doing all the more remarkable.

Manxhibs
10-09-2023, 08:33 AM
With Scotland doing so well and on the verge of qualification for the European championship I think there will be a few players that might switch allegiance to Scotland like Harvey Barnes and Anderson and why wouldn't Clarke recruit them when it will only make Scotland's national team stronger. Good players imo .

I agree, will only raise the quality of the squad. Ideally him and Anderson will play in October against Spain.

10-09-2023, 08:54 AM
I agree, will only raise the quality of the squad. Ideally him and Anderson will play in October against Spain.

A bit more of an attacking threat could really take us to another level.

10-09-2023, 08:57 AM
Only France and Portugal have the same perfect record as Scotland in these qualifiers.

I’m assuming they’d also have been in the first pot for the draw too which makes what we’re doing all the more remarkable.

5 Top qualifying team plus Germany as hosts become group top seeds. We are currently in this position. But we do have Spain to play away.

10-09-2023, 09:29 AM
5 Top qualifying team plus Germany as hosts become group top seeds. We are currently in this position. But we do have Spain to play away.

Getting 2nd place and then landing in Germany's group would be a blessing. The Germans have been ***** ever since I became one.

10-09-2023, 10:50 AM
Surprised at that. Not least because Richard Gordon was waxing lyrical about Law’s scoring rate per cap, as well as Super Ally’s. No mention of the great Laurie Reilly though 🫤

Aye, and easy to forget that he had to give the game up due to injury when he was only 29 years old.

11-09-2023, 01:10 AM
Southgate trying to convince Elliot Anderson to hold out for an England cap.

Oh no. What a shock.

11-09-2023, 06:12 AM
Southgate trying to convince Elliot Anderson so hold out for an England cap.

Oh no. What a shock.

Guess the boy Anderson has got the reaction he wanted then.