View Full Version : A very good defensive performance

03-09-2023, 04:06 PM
A big thumbs up to the keeper, the defence and the midfield.

They limited Aberdeen to a few speculative shots despite them having the majority of the ball and putting us under fairly sustained pressure at times.

Marshall did well with one outstanding save in particular but he dealt with cross balls confidently.

Jeggo, I thought, was excellent and apart from one stray pass his distribution was very good.

A win, a clean sheet and 3 points.

Top marks to them all.

03-09-2023, 04:07 PM

Juice-Terry
03-09-2023, 04:07 PM
Miller was excellent. The whole defence was.

03-09-2023, 04:08 PM
It was excellent.

Fair play to Marshall - he's come in for a lot of criticism but had a good game today. Lots of safe handling towards the end of the game.

I like Jeggo in front of a back 4. He had another good game there.

As a defensive unit, all of them were superb.

03-09-2023, 04:09 PM
Thought Miller dealt with Duk well for 90 mins and the centre backs clearing the lines, getting the head on everything. Great save from Marshall also.

03-09-2023, 04:10 PM
Yup, not a single poor performance from the defence. Or anyone actually.

Was worried about their pace and movement up top, but we were comfortable throughout. Great save from Marshall as well.

Chuffed for all involved.

Donegal Hibby
03-09-2023, 04:15 PM
Stevenson outstanding . What a shift he put in today :not worth

03-09-2023, 04:17 PM
Miller was Hibs TV Man of the Match

He takes some knocks the laddie, but gets up and gets stuck in.

03-09-2023, 04:18 PM
Fish back to what he was last season. Him and Hanlon headered everything today.

Was a back to basics performance, full backs being defenders first and foremost.

03-09-2023, 04:18 PM
**** the Hearts.

03-09-2023, 04:21 PM
Hanlon.

03-09-2023, 04:22 PM
All superb. Baffling that Lewis Miller supposedly wasn’t trusted…

03-09-2023, 04:25 PM
Hanlon.

Stevenson.

LunasBoots
03-09-2023, 04:26 PM
Solid

HendoDelivered
03-09-2023, 04:27 PM
Fish back to last seasons version 👌🏼

Fish looked far more solid and confident. Perhaps playing for a manager not belittling him in public has helped regain some confidence 🤔

Stevenson.

Same person - 'Hanlon and Stevenson'

03-09-2023, 04:28 PM

I was going to.say the same , Lewis was excellent . he was motoring up and down that wing at a fair old pace . Put some good balls into the box too . He was MOTM for me

03-09-2023, 04:31 PM
Stevenson was outstanding by the way , The notion that he is finished is nonsense , Hanlon was superb too along with Fish and MOTM for me was Lewis Miller

147lothian
03-09-2023, 04:33 PM
Defense - no nonsense put your heid in there. Clear your lines. This is what we want from defenders.

03-09-2023, 04:44 PM
Agree, Miller and Jeggo both really good imo.

Think it’s somewhat unnoticed just how much Jeggo wins it back.

Have the right players around him and he’s very effective

03-09-2023, 04:48 PM
Defense - no nonsense put your heid in there. Clear your lines. This is what we want from defenders.

Particularly if you actually have midfielders and attackers who fight for the second ball, so it doesn't just come back at you !

03-09-2023, 04:53 PM
Fish back to last seasons version 👌🏼

That for me was the biggest difference. Let's be honest, if Fish was called Hanlon or Stevenson he would have been getting dogs' abuse on here this season. Great to see him back on form.

03-09-2023, 06:08 PM
The real Paul Hanlon has returned in place of Paul Hanlawn

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

03-09-2023, 06:12 PM
Miller was Hibs TV Man of the Match

He takes some knocks the laddie, but gets up and gets stuck in.
He does but what an example of get up and get on with it.

03-09-2023, 06:15 PM
How we needed a clean sheet. Well done Hibs, upwards and onwards

hibeejeebies
03-09-2023, 06:19 PM
All superb. Baffling that Lewis Miller supposedly wasn’t trusted…

Absolutely. Very capable.

03-09-2023, 06:27 PM
Credit where it’s due

03-09-2023, 06:31 PM
A complete mystery that the pesky problem we had with the right hand side of the team defensively has suddenly fixed itself.

03-09-2023, 07:24 PM
A complete mystery that the pesky problem we had with the right hand side of the team defensively has suddenly fixed itself.

Who knew playing an actual RB at RB instead of a midfielder or a centre half would fix said issue - is someone gonna phone LJ and let him know??

03-09-2023, 07:29 PM
Who knew playing an actual RB at RB instead of a midfielder or a centre half would fix said issue - is someone gonna phone LJ and let him know??

Exactly. Play your players in their best positions. It's quite simple.

03-09-2023, 08:43 PM
Something worth a mention. The wee drag back Fish did inside his own 6 yard box in the first half. Whoever aimlessly booted the ball away after he did it obviously got as much a fright as me but what a bit of play!

03-09-2023, 08:46 PM
Something worth a mention. The wee drag back Fish did inside his own 6 yard box in the first half. Whoever aimlessly booted the ball away after he did it obviously got as much a fright as me but what a bit of play!

I think it was Campbell with the drag back?

03-09-2023, 08:46 PM

Was it Fish that did that? Some set of stones to be doing that in a situation like that!! Worked a treat

LewysGot2
03-09-2023, 08:47 PM

Yogi on the radio had a go at folk who claim Stevenson and Hanlon are done. Said it was complete nonsense and hailed their performances today. Fitba folk Ken, eh? :wink:

03-09-2023, 08:47 PM
I think it was Campbell with the drag back?

Was it? I was 80 yards away but whoever it was it was superb. As was the block from Hanlon just before it.

03-09-2023, 08:53 PM
A big thumbs up to the keeper, the defence and the midfield.

They limited Aberdeen to a few speculative shots despite them having the majority of the ball and putting us under fairly sustained pressure at times.

Marshall did well with one outstanding save in particular but he dealt with cross balls confidently.

Jeggo, I thought, was excellent and apart from one stray pass his distribution was very good.

A win, a clean sheet and 3 points.

Top marks to them all.

Keep it simple and play the players in their best positions NOT the ones you think should be their best positions. I honestly think it's that simple. And it's not just the defence; I have always felt the Doidge plays best as part of a front 2. Whilst it worked today it also worked after Heckingbottom was fired and Eddie May changed the formation away to St Johnstone that suited CD and he scored a hatrick. Play to your strengths and minimise your weakness (as my dad would say 🙂)

03-09-2023, 08:54 PM
Something worth a mention. The wee drag back Fish did inside his own 6 yard box in the first half. Whoever aimlessly booted the ball away after he did it obviously got as much a fright as me but what a bit of play!Brilliant

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

03-09-2023, 09:07 PM
Amazing that just defending and keeping a clean sheet gives you a foundation to go and win a football match, LJ complete and utter downfall.

Gray clearly knew the clean sheet was pivotal as he said himself we will create chances, we have good options with Boyle, Youan, Vente, Doidge & Alf. 3rd best in league I truly believe that.

Keeping the back door even just a bit tighter at the back gives this squad a great chance to win more games of football.

Great start David gray!

03-09-2023, 09:20 PM
Amazing that just defending and keeping a clean sheet gives you a foundation to go and win a football match, LJ complete and utter downfall.

Gray clearly knew the clean sheet was pivotal as he said himself we will create chances, we have good options with Boyle, Youan, Vente, Doidge & Alf. 3rd best in league I truly believe that.

Keeping the back door even just a bit tighter at the back gives this squad a great chance to win more games of football.

Great start David gray!

Said at the game that I reckon everything Gray spoke to them about would be keeping a clean sheet. We’ll win pretty much every game where we manage to do that because it’ll be pretty rare that we don’t score.

Players need to take some responsibility as well though because there was definitely a determination to keep the ball out that hasn’t been there in previous games.

03-09-2023, 09:34 PM
Was it Fish that did that? Some set of stones to be doing that in a situation like that!! Worked a treat

Thought Campbell

Up-the-slope
03-09-2023, 10:27 PM
Thought Campbell

:agree: it was