View Full Version : Match Updates Aston Villa v Hibernian (David v Goliath) Part 2

Pages : 1 [2] 3

31-08-2023, 07:37 PM
Even that one has gone in middle of the goal. He just doesn't save anything.

fixed it for you mate

Can Marshall save anything

No

tie is out of sight now i'm afraid

Berwickhibby
Marshall should be saving that

Decent 2nd but defending not great, just shows the difference in ability again.

We're going out here eh

Marshall should be saving that

Torto7
All you can hear are the Hibees singing.:flag:

berwickhibee
31-08-2023, 07:38 PM
That goes in the middle of the goal, does he save shots?

e2los
Was enjoying our fans being very vocal.

Another soft goal.

Is it harsh to think Marshall could have done better there ?

I think Obita will be a cracking signing.

Looked good.

How come it just seems like everything they hit goes in.

Paul1642
Poor defending

From this Hibs team. I don’t believe it 😂

All you can hear are the Hibees singing.:flag:

Been different class so far. Hearing them loud and clear. Doing us all proud.

Can we no just sack Marshall as part of the sacking LJ and his team?

31-08-2023, 07:39 PM

Was thinking the same, he’s dug …..

Looked good.

Because it does [emoji2369]

Think we have been playing well tho. Makes me hopeful for the weekend

We are totally out of this class of football. I’m glad Villa are taking it easy on us.

Its not over yet .

If we'd been two down in this manner a week ago I could have taken it.

Obita has to do better, but a shot like that shouldn't be beating Marshall.

Merde. We've been much better here but Marshall is such a weak spot.

We are totally out of this class of football. I’m glad Villa are taking it easy on us.

pepe
I’d rather Marshall played CB than keeper. Hang the gloves up man, it’s over!

Donegal Hibby
31-08-2023, 07:40 PM

No , he should be saving that imo

Looked good.

Far better teams than us will get rinsed by Villa this season.

I’d rather Marshall played CB than keeper. Hang the gloves up man, it’s over!

I'd rather we played John Leslie in goals than David Marshall

31-08-2023, 07:41 PM

Astounding to think there was even a direct transfer between the two clubs a few years ago.

First big decision for SDG is to drop Marshall for Sunday.

Don't particularly care who takes his place.

Yet we’ll probably go up to Aberdeen with Marshall starting. It’s so clear he’s done.

HendoDelivered
31-08-2023, 07:42 PM
Play like this vs Aberdeen (minus Marshall in goals) and I think we can defo get a result up there. Players look free

31-08-2023, 07:42 PM
Hopefully we can score and give the travelling fans something to celebrate. Vente in the 2nd half.

yonder1875
31-08-2023, 07:43 PM
I know Villa are half arsing this but it arguably should be 0-0 if we had a competent keeper.

Please let the next manager drop marshall. Its just sad now watching him. A stick in the gound would save more.

Adam Bogdan is still a free agent.

Defensively horrible. Incapable of doing the basics. Goalie should never play again. But will.

Played all right otherwise.

31-08-2023, 07:44 PM
Joe newell just papping the ball out of play with no one near it..

Hopefully we can score and give the travelling fans something to celebrate. Vente in the 2nd half.

Villa are playing with us, not out of 1st gear. Probably under orders to chuck us a goal.

That's both Doidge and Jeggo played passes behind Youan instead of in front of him when he's been free wide on the left. That's just basic stuff.

Dmas
First big decision for SDG is to drop Marshall for Sunday.

Don't particularly care who takes his place.

no chance, his comments about marsh being given the shout on if he's fit and available for tonight's game tells me he's no.1 for him

one day maybe...

Get him in

wtf was that from newell jeezo

Get him back.

Play like this vs Aberdeen (minus Marshall in goals) and I think we can defo get a result up there. Players look free

There's a lot to like here, taking everything into consideration.

hibs4life
31-08-2023, 07:45 PM
Some improvement from Hibs tonight and look at bit more organised but final pass or cross in last 3rd should have been better. Not great defending or goalkeeping at the goals either. Could and should be able to do much better.

Sooo close. Just give us one goal Hibs

Stairway 2 7

That would do

31-08-2023, 07:46 PM
Youan should be pinging that with the left as soon as it bounced.

Don't think it was a handball, but I've seen them given.

NC1875
Looked good.

Marshall, that’s how.

OtleyHibs
This team and the travelling support really deserve a goal here

hibeerealist
31-08-2023, 07:48 PM
Get him back.

Marshall is done, let in so many soft goals

Can’t believe we’ve not scored one of these chances!

Some improvement from Hibs tonight and look at bit more organised but final pass or cross in last 3rd should have been better. Not great defending or goalkeeping at the goals either. Could and should be able to do much better.

You do realise it's 7-0 ? Villa are not even in 2st gear, this is a dead parrot. Hibs are being allowed to look good. This is no proxy for anything to come.

Very unlucky.

Would bring either le fondre or vente on at half time and get doidge off

31-08-2023, 07:49 PM
Villa TV commentator wanting a Hibs goal for the fans [emoji23]

31-08-2023, 07:49 PM
Would bring either le fondre or vente on at half time and get doidge off

Then spend tomorrow getting him off the books.

31-08-2023, 07:50 PM

Are you for real?

We've won the singing anyway. Well done to the fans that made the trip, sounding great.

NC1875
You do realise it's 7-0 ? Villa are not even in 2st gear, this is a dead parrot. Hibs are being allowed to look good. This is no proxy for anything to come.

2st gear. Is that in between 1st and 2nd ?

Get Rudi on.

2-0 down but that first half should give the lads a bit of confidence. Actually played pretty well.

For Villa, this is easier than a stroll in the park. How some folk here think we are doing well defeats me. As the commentators are saying, Villa are in total control……. we are wee boys against men.

Not sure I agree entirely. In the first leg we looked like we were ****ting ourselves and we also looked directionless. Tonight we've looked more front foot and more of a team. Amazing the the difference just the absence of Johnson makes.

:agree: Probably the most condescending thing I've heard about a Hibs team in a long time.

31-08-2023, 07:51 PM
Pretty much how I expected the game to go, a couple of half decent efforts from us. Couple easy goals for Villa.

Mon Hibs give us one goal.

31-08-2023, 07:51 PM

Aw, cute.

gazzag70
31-08-2023, 07:52 PM
The travelling fans really deserve a goal.They have been absolutely magnificent, a real credit to the club!

31-08-2023, 07:52 PM
:agree: Probably the most condescending thing I've heard about a Hibs team in a long time.

Nah, that would have been Johnson's 'I'm used to Villa Park but are the team?'

31-08-2023, 07:53 PM
Get Rudi on.

Jeez

Boruc or Johnson can’t be much worse than him
Ha. Get Lee Johnson back in goals he certainly couldn’t do worse. All seriousness he is done.

Better organised and tactics, players seem to know what they're doing, poor goalkeeping and Villa just being so much better all over, a far better showing tonight so far.

They’re on the bench tbf, it’s not like they’ve been left at home. They’ll get game time tonight.
They should be 1st picks

31-08-2023, 07:54 PM
should bring Doidge on the 2nd half

*cough*

I would call it respect for our magnificent supporters.

“Ball goes between rocky and hanlon”

Hmm, ball going between our CB’s? Fancy that

Give it a rest.

Both have been playing well but you can't resist focusing on a negative.

31-08-2023, 07:55 PM
Better organised and tactics, players seem to know what they're doing, poor goalkeeping and Villa just being so much better all over, a far better showing tonight so far.

Agree with all.

Great backing by the Hibs fans

31-08-2023, 07:55 PM
Cannot believe some of the comments on here. We've done really well. Passing the ball far better than under Johnson. Much better shape. Just get Marshall out of this team.

31-08-2023, 07:56 PM
Playing ok, no disgrace (so far) but that 1st goal is all on Marshall and is a total shocker.

He is done.

Nothing less than we deserve, I’m afraid. I hope Marshall hangs his boots up tonight.

Give Boruc the second half so he is ready for Sunday. Marshall is finished.

31-08-2023, 07:58 PM
Youan should be pinging that with the left as soon as it bounced.

Yup. Have him to score as well. Fuming.

Any prospective manager will surely see our potential watching this, if our defending can be sorted.

hibs4life
Some improvement is what I said, in comparison to the home game v Villa. But thanks for the patronising comments, stating the bleeding obvious! Also, I don't think Hibs looked 'good'.
Not sure proxy is the word you were looking for - perhaps 'indicator' might be what you meant?

31-08-2023, 07:59 PM
“Ball goes between rocky and hanlon”

Hmm, ball going between our CB’s? Fancy that

It didnae even go between our centre backs. It was a long through ball that went by Rocky. I dinnae understand why Hanlons being included in it at all. It was a very good pass from the centre half.

https://twitter.com/footballreprt/status/1697327268761088372?s=46&t=D_9KaoRnzKU_iJPtdJwUXQ

At what point in this move is Hanlon meant to have done better?

supermcginn
Marshall is every bit as bad if not worse than the likes of the awful keepers we've had in the last 25 years. Every single game he costs us it's ridiculous.

Not sure I agree entirely. In the first leg we looked like we were ****ting ourselves and we also looked directionless. Tonight we've looked more front foot and more of a team. Amazing the the difference just the absence of Johnson makes.

agreed. Never looked like we will win the game but yeah, Look a lot more organised.

Cannot believe some of the comments on here. We've done really well. Passing the ball far better than under Johnson. Much better shape. Just get Marshall out of this team.

I think Jeggo has been good.

31-08-2023, 08:00 PM
For Villa, this is easier than a stroll in the park. How some folk here think we are doing well defeats me. As the commentators are saying, Villa are in total control……. we are wee boys against men.

Well we're doing way better then I imagined. No idea what you're expecting.

31-08-2023, 08:00 PM
**** me Alan Mcnally loves the sound of his own voice

LunasBoots
31-08-2023, 08:01 PM
Far better in that first half, far more organised and players trying there best in a less complicated system. Also a mention to the fans, been magnificent

LunasBoots
I think Jeggo has been good.

Best game I've seen him play this season.

**** me Alan Mcnally loves the sound of his own voiceScottish Jimmy Hill.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

half.time.draw.
Get Makalamby on.

31-08-2023, 08:02 PM
Get Makalamby on.

Too far.

31-08-2023, 08:02 PM
It didnae even go between our centre backs. It was a long through ball that went by Rocky. I dinnae understand why Hanlons being included in it at all. It was a very good pass from the centre half.

https://twitter.com/footballreprt/status/1697327268761088372?s=46&t=D_9KaoRnzKU_iJPtdJwUXQ

At what point in this move is Hanlon meant to have done better?

It's an excellent ball that the striker has no option with other than to take it to the corner flag until Marshall turns it into a great chance for him.

I don't think either defender should be expected to do much more than they did.

31-08-2023, 08:03 PM
Must admit I'm developing quite a liking for Villa (he said in a slightly heir-to-the-throne-ish kind of way).

Daily Hibs

Says it all with how bad we are.

**** me Alan Mcnally loves the sound of his own voice

By contrast, I absolutely detest the sound of his voice.

Alan62
31-08-2023, 08:04 PM

The gulf in resources hasn't changed in a week. Villa's players are at a much higher level than ours. That's what you get for all that money. Having said that, I do think we look better prepared this week than last.

It's an excellent ball that the striker has no option with other than to take it to the corner flag until Marshall turns it into a great chance for him.

I don't think either defender should be expected to do much more than they did.

Yip if Marshall hadn't given the striker the whole goal to aim for it would have been dealt with by rocky and hanlon, absolute shambles from Marshall yet again

badabing67
FFS why they bringing him on

Well we're doing way better then I imagined. No idea what you're expecting.

I’m not expecting anything but I think we are only as good as Villa are letting us be. On another note, McInally does your head in.

badabing67
31-08-2023, 08:06 PM
Have we made any changes

31-08-2023, 08:08 PM
Have we made any changes

Nope

31-08-2023, 08:08 PM
That should’ve been a corner

31-08-2023, 08:09 PM
For a big lad, Miller is easily pushed around eh?

31-08-2023, 08:10 PM

Bring back Darren Kilfara!

Unlucky, great pass Hanlon and good skill Youan.

Some improvement is what I said, in comparison to the home game v Villa. But thanks for the patronising comments, stating the bleeding obvious! Also, I don't think Hibs looked 'good'.
Not sure proxy is the word you were looking for - perhaps 'indicator' might be what you meant?

And the two games are not comparable. First started 0-0. This is 5-0. For Villa the game is done and won, no need to try a leg, extend yourself or risk injury. It's a training match.

Youann does well to get a shot away. Easily saved though.

HendoDelivered
Good move that

31-08-2023, 08:11 PM
Obita injured. FFS.

31-08-2023, 08:11 PM
Obita off, hammy

31-08-2023, 08:12 PM
Obita holding his hamstring. Brilliant.

Le Fondre coming on

LunasBoots
Obita hamstring

badabing67
Obita will be out for a while then

Obita's going to be one of those always injured players, isn't he.

JammyDoidger
Obita hamstring, I did point his injury's out when he signed, and got pelters for being negative, another made of chocolate! Poor recruitment again.

Alan62
For a big lad, Miller is easily pushed around eh?

All of their players seem physically stronger than ours. They've generally brushed our guys aside in both games.

31-08-2023, 08:13 PM
another one for the injury list

again

Obita hamstring, I did point his injury's out when he signed, and got pelters for being negative, another made of chocolate! Poor recruitment again.

Congrats, well done you.

Villa commentator keeps getting Campbell and Doidge mixed up.

Doidge and obita off

Fish and GALF on.

Gold star

badabing67
31-08-2023, 08:14 PM
Sausage Rolls for ALF

Obita's going to be one of those always injured players, isn't he.

Yup. Sick to death of players picking up injury after injury.

We have deserved a goal tonight. Played well I think.

He’s played over 80 games the last two seasons combined. How’s that made of chocolate?

JammyDoidger
Congrats, well done you.

Point is the happy clappers at the time were criticising me and I've been proven right, Brian McDermott's signing that.

JammyDoidger
He’s played over 80 games the last two seasons combined. How’s that made of chocolate?

Look at his whole career.

31-08-2023, 08:15 PM
The boy Duran has had about 3 kicks at rocky there.

Tool.

Gies peace FFS. If you look at the number of EPL based players that are already hurt this season it's no different. Or do they share our medical team? Injuries happen.

For all those moaning about Marshall, remember it is only 2 weeks ago that he was outstanding (imo) in Switzerland to help give us these games v Villa.

Well done on teeing up the "I told you so".

Not a bad save there from Marshall

Point is the happy clappers at the time were criticising me and I've been proven right, Brian McDermott's signing that.

Stop being a drama queen you don't even know how bad he is injured for!

JammyDoidger
31-08-2023, 08:16 PM
Gies peace FFS. If you look at the number of EPL based players that are already hurt this season it's no different. Or do they share our medical team? Injuries happen.

Aye they do happen, but when you're signing someone that was about to retire at one stage due to injury's you deserve all you get..

He's fine if it's a decent height. Anything low and it's a goal.

Look at his whole career.

Why? Is recent history not more relevant to his injury prone-ness?

JammyDoidger
Stop being a drama queen you don't even know how bad he is injured for!

He's already missed pre season injured.

You must be so proud.

Imagine being happy we got an injury, brilliant hibs supporter.

So thsts his second hammy injury this season for us Unlucky as doesn’t seem to have been an issue before
But not ideal

31-08-2023, 08:17 PM

Did you aye

badabing67

It was straight at him

tonyrougier123
Obita again that’s radical! Punt him now ffs

JammyDoidger
31-08-2023, 08:18 PM
Imagine being happy we got an injury, brilliant hibs supporter.

Happy? Not atall the boys played well for us, opposite, but it's the same every pre season the club can do no wrong, then the season starts and reality hits.

badabing67
31-08-2023, 08:18 PM
FFS not Jeggo as well

31-08-2023, 08:19 PM
He's already missed pre season injured.

Played some part in last 9 though. Anyone can get injured.

31-08-2023, 08:20 PM
David Marshall is beyond done, it’s actually just sad.

Get Marshall to **** man. I'm sick of this.

badabing67
Bin Marshall FFS

He can never ever play for us or anyone again

JammyDoidger
This has to be Marshall's last game. Wow man.

Ffs Marshall man

3 goals the keeper has made a **** of tonight

Marshal total liability

USA_Hibee
He needs dropped. That's just not good enough.

Deary me Marshall

Marshall ffs. Again.

So, so bad.

7Hero
Don't think I've ever been less fond of a goalie since goltskaltson (sp.)

marshall has to save that no?

e2los
31-08-2023, 08:21 PM
Not good...

Way too easy.

Berwickhibby
GTF Marshall

Sgt. Hartman
Get him so far to ****

Poor by Marshall again, straight at him and he knocks it right in front of himself instead of out sideways, gifted.

Please, for the love of God retire, Marshall!

I ****ing hope Wollacot is due back soon

The Captain....
Please retire Marshall...surely he must know he can't do it anymore. Its painful how poor he is now.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

Think this will likely be Marshall last game. Leaving night out incoming.

David_D
That’s a shocker

LunasBoots
Marshall again, sorry but he's finished

Dmas
we needing to look at marshalls betting accounts? wtf has happened to this guy dropped off a cliff

Yes, the "YOU ALL MOCKED ME BUT WHO'S LAUGHING NOW?!" line, that's on my bingo card! Cheers mate.

He's done.

berwickhibee
Needs taken out of the firing line.

Was pleased when we signed him but he has been shocking.

fgs Mr gray take marshall off now and try keep the score down

Marshall would be as well retiring

hfc-1875
**** me marshall must never be seen in a hibs top again, he will cost us goals this season

Marshall is just so so poor. He should do the respectable thing and hang up his boots

Boruc has looked good since he’s signed, he needs to start Sunday.

Get Marshall so far to **** honestly

🤣 It’s becoming comical now with Marshall.

He's up there with Zibi and Simon Brown now. Embarrassing. Just retire man.

31-08-2023, 08:22 PM
Needs taken out of the firing line.

Was pleased when we signed him but he has been shocking.

Agree. It's becoming hard to watch now. Just so done.

**** me marshall must never be seen in a hibs top again, he will cost us goals this season

As he did last season

MCDermott your new target aye? I’ve noticed a few digs already and he’s only just in the door.

****ing Marshall is pathetic

gazzag70
Marshall should never play for us again.

Fuzzywuzzy
If we have the cash, get Bogdan back till the end of the season

Be as well just taking him off now and giving boruc the experience

He needs dropped. That's just not good enough.

He needs retired.

haggisbaws
Sorry Marshall is done

Give Marshall the managers job so we never have to see him play for us again.

He's fine if it's a decent height. Anything low and it's a goal.

That aged well!

Its like permanently playing with a man down.

Yup. Hate to say it but it's true. He's done. He needs to go.

Can bet Marshall will start on Sunday!

31-08-2023, 08:23 PM
3 avoidable goals, keeper has to do better for each of them.

Suburban Hibby
Man down with Marshall ingoals. Just indefensible.

EVENTUALLY
Utterly woeful goalkeeping. The boy Garden needs to Have a look at his role in this complete fiasco between the sticks too.

Alan62
We urgently need a goalkeeper.

Stairway 2 7
Looks like he doesn't want to be there. Shame but he just isn't the keeper he was. Managers responsibility to drop him ultimately though

I ****ing hope Wollacot is due back soon
We were told end of September at earliest

Donegal Hibby
Surely we will Boruc now against the dons ?

He should be subbed off now. If an outfield player was so poor he’d be hooked off.

We were told end of September at earliest

Wake me up when September Ends

Go now Marsh

Do us all a favour

Aw naw Watkins on now

31-08-2023, 08:24 PM
It's just comedy stuff from Marshall now. He's making an arse of himself and his team mates and simply has to be dropped.

He must know he doesn’t have it any more. If the management aren’t willing to drop him, he needs to do the right thing.

Boyler and delf on for newell and youann.

He’s much worse than Zibi.

Zibi had a couple of high profile errors against Hearts but most games was absolutely fine and put in some excellent performances. Marshall is shocking every week and constantly costing us goals.

31-08-2023, 08:25 PM
It’s a real shame because with a competent keeper, this leg really wasn’t that far beyond us. Could have recovered some pride.

🤣 It’s becoming comical now with Marshall.

Its actually a shame whats happening to him.

Is Vente actually there?

That's a shame, as the rest of the team had been doing pretty well.

I wonder what the score would be just now if we had a half decent goalie.

Delf and Boyle on.

Surprised no Vente?

Marsh simply shouldn’t play for us again.

Wake me up when September Ends
Great Green Day Track

JammyDoidger
He must know he doesn’t have it any more. If the management aren’t willing to drop him, he needs to do the right thing.

This, the fans would have so much more respect for him. Just admit yer crap, he can't be needing the money Christ.

31-08-2023, 08:26 PM
Take Marshall out of it and this has been a good, structured defensive performance that would be a good platform to build on away to Celtic and rangers etc.

I don’t get why we haven’t subbed marsh.

And just like that he makes an amazing save.

That’s an unreal save from the big guy hahaha

Brilliant save Marshall. What a keeper.

Swear to **** if this new manager comes in and gives marshall a “clean slate”.

He’s absolute rotten

What a player marshall is btw

MelbourneHibees
Amazing from Marshall 🤣

Good save from Marshall.

Fuzzywuzzy
I think we all had high expectations when he came in. He's not lived up to it

You wonder how he managed to keep dabrowski out

Marshall actually made a save.

Almost scored an own goal with it mind.

HendoDelivered
31-08-2023, 08:27 PM
I will give him that one btw hahahaha

And then he makes a save like that :greengrin

e2los
Put Fish in Goals..

Some save from Marshall lol.

I will give him that one btw hahahaha

class save :greengrin

That was a fantastic save. Strange game is football.

Please just make it stop.

ElginHibbie
Swear to **** if this new manager comes in and gives marshall a “clean slate”.

He’s absolute rotten

What a player marshall is btw

Post of the season

31-08-2023, 08:28 PM
I don’t get why we haven’t subbed marsh.

Misplaced loyalty?

Donegal Hibby
31-08-2023, 08:28 PM
That was some save by Marshall in fairness .

HarpOnHibee
31-08-2023, 08:29 PM
He does just enough to keep being picked. And no more.

31-08-2023, 08:30 PM
He does just enough to keep being picked. And no more.

He shouldn’t though.

Cost us points last season and chucked them in this season already

Pleasingly we’ve looked far better at defending down our right hand side.

Josh Campbell try and pass to a hibs player challenge (impossible)

31-08-2023, 08:31 PM
That was some save by Marshall in fairness .

True, but it doesn't exactly balance out the three goals he's given away

that's a bloody shocking attempt at a pass josh, absolutely shocking

That pass from Campbell sums up his season

We've been done out of a corner there.

Left back played Boyle on.