View Full Version : Plz

LewysGot2
28-08-2023, 06:39 PM
Pushing the Lenny back line - with NL in the studio.

Auld pals act to the fore...

28-08-2023, 06:42 PM
It was so embarrassing, took a completely uncritical look at his previous spells in Scotland and Alan Rough flat out said he’s the only candidate worth considering. Jesus Christ, do they actually know how his Hibs career ended, or is it a willing ignorance? Total sycophants.

Neil Lennon was the only one I could actually stand listening to, funnily enough.

LewysGot2
28-08-2023, 06:43 PM
Me too. Rough is a joke re Hibs. Revisionist nonsense. Kamberigate and a poor run of form at the end erased

28-08-2023, 06:48 PM
I’m on the fence where Lennon is concerned but he spoke sense there. Good attacking players but we don’t work hard enough defensively. It’s very simple and apparent to most folk but as we’ve just seen, not every manager will see it.

28-08-2023, 06:48 PM
Exactly as his time with us was.

Doing well, pals in the media fawning over him. Going badly, making excuses for him.

Let’s not go back to that.

28-08-2023, 06:50 PM
Rather have Lemmy than Lenny. Urgh we can't go back there given how much of a car crash that turned into. Not a positive forward step.

28-08-2023, 06:53 PM
Pushing the Lenny back line - with NL in the studio.

Auld pals act to the fore...

If he wasn’t interested in the job they wouldn’t have done it

28-08-2023, 07:01 PM
Rather have Lemmy than Lenny. Urgh we can't go back there given how much of a car crash that turned into. Not a positive forward step.

Too Late Too Late for the first, and my advice to Hibs is Please Don't Touch the second guy.

HarpOnHibee
28-08-2023, 07:01 PM
I wouldn't mind Lennon coming back in on a 1 year contract with the option of extending if things go well. The statistics don't lie. He had us winning games we'd usually draw and drawing games we'd typically lose. Lennon's downside is his own mental instability. When he's in a good place mentally, he's a cracking manager. When his mental health takes a turn, things go awry very quickly. If he were to come back in, he would have to show that he's better equipped for dealing with his own personal health issues to prevent them from having a negative impact on his managerial responsibilities.

28-08-2023, 07:06 PM
Lennon shouldn’t be anywhere near Hibs again, in my opinion he engineered a very nice pay off to then go and slot into the upcoming Celtic vacancy

28-08-2023, 07:09 PM
"Good up top but don't work hard enough in midfield or defence"

In a nutshell

28-08-2023, 07:18 PM
I wouldn't mind Lennon coming back in on a 1 year contract with the option of extending if things go well. The statistics don't lie. He had us winning games we'd usually draw and drawing games we'd typically lose. Lennon's downside is his own mental instability. When he's in a good place mentally, he's a cracking manager. When his mental health takes a turn, things go awry very quickly. If he were to come back in, he would have to show that he's better equipped for dealing with his own personal health issues to prevent them from having a negative impact on his managerial responsibilities.Ideally whoever comes in will be on a short contract , not just if it`s Lennon . Get McInnes for example woul mean big compensation to Killie, a big salary for McInnes with a long contract which will mean even more compensation when he`s sacked cause fans are fed up with football being played and season tickets aren`t being renewed next summer .

28-08-2023, 07:21 PM
Old pals act? He's the outstanding candidate out of all the realistic ones. 2017/18 under him was our best league campaign in a long time. Not at that level the following season but we were still trying to replace our entire Scottish Cup winning midfield at that point. Arguably none of Lennon's successors have managed to do that since. The irony is that we are now chucking money at the team that Lennon was demanding we should before it all blew up.

28-08-2023, 07:32 PM
The players will be relieved that they have got rid of a manager who regularly threw them under the bus.

They won't want one back who also did the same

28-08-2023, 07:35 PM
The players will be relieved that they have got rid of a manager who regularly threw them under the bus.

They won't want one back who also did the same

Lennon had a go at the players when they deserved it and normally got a positive reaction. He was also pretty lavish in his praise when they won. I'd rather have a manager who give a honest appraisal of performance.

28-08-2023, 07:37 PM

If you like to gamble
I tell you, I'm your man
You win some, lose some
It's all the same to me

Could have been written for Lee Johnson actually

28-08-2023, 07:37 PM
If only he was as interested in being the Hibernian manager in Jan 2019

28-08-2023, 07:39 PM
If only he was as interested in being the Hibernian manager in Jan 2019

And that is the crux of the matter.

hibeerealist
28-08-2023, 07:43 PM
I wouldn't mind Lennon coming back in on a 1 year contract with the option of extending if things go well. The statistics don't lie. He had us winning games we'd usually draw and drawing games we'd typically lose. Lennon's downside is his own mental instability. When he's in a good place mentally, he's a cracking manager. When his mental health takes a turn, things go awry very quickly. If he were to come back in, he would have to show that he's better equipped for dealing with his own personal health issues to prevent them from having a negative impact on his managerial responsibilities.

Managing Kamberi would send most folk over the edge, a weasel

28-08-2023, 07:45 PM
That’s a similar deal to his second time round at Celtic, and it led to Sevco’s only league title in over a decade, as it stands now.

No thanks.

HarpOnHibee
28-08-2023, 07:51 PM
That’s a similar deal to his second time round at Celtic, and it led to Sevco’s only league title in over a decade, as it stands now.

No thanks.

Well I don't think we're going to be battling either of them for the title. Lennon would certainly be a risky pick for us, but I don't think he's the certain disaster that some make him out to be.

Fergos
28-08-2023, 07:56 PM
Would be death or glory with NL. No steady inbetween. Stability is what we need. Would NL provide that? Or just a albeit much needed short term positive fix / shot in the arm?

I enjoyed, for the most part his time at ER but it ended in a bizarre and negative way.

PHeffernan
28-08-2023, 08:01 PM
Too Late Too Late for the first, and my advice to Hibs is Please Don't Touch the second guy.

28-08-2023, 08:01 PM
Me too. Rough is a joke re Hibs. Revisionist nonsense. Kamberigate and a poor run of form at the end erased

Not just Kamberi. For some reason he fell out with his main striker every season: Cummings, Stokes and Kamberi.

Torto7
28-08-2023, 08:07 PM
Not just Kamberi. For some reason he fell out with his main striker every season: Cummings, Stokes and Kamberi.

Stokesy is a heidcase he falls out with everyone.

For what's its worth I'd take Neil back. He's in my acceptable choice group. It was never dull with him and his greatest trait is he likes a fight something we could do with just now.

28-08-2023, 08:07 PM
Well I don't think we're going to be battling either of them for the title. Lennon would certainly be a risky pick for us, but I don't think he's the certain disaster that some make him out to be.

He finished second in a one horse race.

We can do much better.

28-08-2023, 08:13 PM
That he needs to go on air to state he wants the job is a pretty accurate depiction of where his career has ended up.

Trinity Hibee
28-08-2023, 08:14 PM
That he needs to go on air to state he wants the job is a pretty accurate depiction of where his career has ended up.

The guy works on the podcast and was asked the question. Hardly smacks of him desperately needing to declare his interest.

LewysGot2
28-08-2023, 08:14 PM

Like Jim White and Laudrup…Peter Martin, his long time pal, might as well have asked “Neil, just why are you so good?” :wink:

28-08-2023, 08:22 PM
Neil Lennon's Hibs before he got sacked/mutually consented/whatever it was

LLDDDWWDLDLLDL

I remember why many wanted rid of him now. Not the answer. For further context, after he left;

WLLWWWDWWDLLL

28-08-2023, 08:32 PM
Neil Lennon's Hibs before he got sacked/mutually consented/whatever it was

LLDDDWWDLDLLDL

I remember why many wanted rid of him now. Not the answer. For further context, after he left;

WLLWWWDWWDLLLWin against Celtic and 2 draws against Rangers . Struggling to score goals but not letting many in except 4 in 4 v 2 defeat at Parkhead and an off day at Killie . With attacking options we now have , NL might be man to turn defeats into draws and draws into wins . And that was his bad run .

28-08-2023, 08:54 PM
He finished second in a one horse race.

We can do much better.

If you talking about his 2nd Celtic stint then Rangers literally went UNBEATEN so they were clearly a decent side just as much as Celtic underperformed. Your take is a wee bit out

28-08-2023, 08:58 PM
Win against Celtic and 2 draws against Rangers . Struggling to score goals but not letting many in except 4 in 4 v 2 defeat at Parkhead and an off day at Killie . With attacking options we now have , NL might be man to turn defeats into draws and draws into wins . And that was his bad run .

2 wins out of 14 games is good enough for you?

28-08-2023, 09:06 PM
I’m on the fence where Lennon is concerned but he spoke sense there. Good attacking players but we don’t work hard enough defensively. It’s very simple and apparent to most folk but as we’ve just seen, not every manager will see it.

Problem is if he was hibs manger, he’d just scream that at the defenders, not coach them to be better.

28-08-2023, 09:08 PM
Blows my mind how readily folk forget how badly it ended with Lennon. The football was honking by the end. 7 defenders in the starting 11 at Rugby Park, going AWOL, bottling it at Tiny with his team selection then hanging the players out to dry and then, if that’s not enough, very conveniently making himself available for the Celtic job that just so happened to come up after he left.

Lennon was absolutely brilliant for some of his time at Hibs but the lead up to his exit was horrendous and that’s why i wouldn’t want him back.

28-08-2023, 09:11 PM
I wouldn't have him back. One thing I would say is he would be one of a number of previous Hibs managers that would have been desperate for the budget we have just went through with LJ.

28-08-2023, 09:17 PM
Problem is if he was hibs manger, he’d just scream that at the defenders, not coach them to be better.

The alternative view would be that he could motivate them to do better (Stevenson has spoken about how good he was at that) and, in time, he could bring in better players in that area like he did with Marciano and Ambrose.

I’m no terribly convinced that bringing Lennon back would be a good idea but I do think there is a bit more to him than just shouting at players.

28-08-2023, 09:21 PM
2 wins out of 14 games is good enough for you?Obviously not but 2 wins and 6 draws from 14 matches which included both OF home and away as a bad run is probably much better than we`ll get after 14 games this season whoever is new manager . Point was that we weren`t scoring many but also weren`t letting many in despite being on a bad run . In present situation that might mean a quick improvement to our defensive record and success in goalscoring .

28-08-2023, 09:22 PM
The alternative view would be that he could motivate them to do better (Stevenson has spoken about how good he was at that) and, in time, he could bring in better players in that area like he did with Marciano and Ambrose.

I’m no terribly convinced that bringing Lennon back would be a good idea but I do think there is a bit more to him than just shouting at players.

We would just have to hope he never got wind of the Celtic job coming up again.

HarpOnHibee
28-08-2023, 09:25 PM
We would just have to hope he never got wind of the Celtic job coming up again.

That's what happens. A larger club with more money swoops in. We can begrudge him for moving all we like. But that's the modern game.

28-08-2023, 09:26 PM
That's what happens. A larger club with more money swoops in. We can begrudge him for moving all we like. But that's the modern game.

Wouldn’t begrudge any manager moving on. Working their ticket to do it is another story though, especially when it’s at our expense.

HarpOnHibee
28-08-2023, 09:31 PM
Wouldn’t begrudge any manager moving on. Working their ticket to do it is another story though, especially when it’s at our expense.

Sometimes working their ticket is the only way. It seems unfair, but that's the reality of it. If Lennon were to come back and do really well in the immediate term, I wouldn't expect him to be around for very long. But at the very least we would get some much needed results and would hopefully put us in good stead for whomever replaces him further down the line.

28-08-2023, 09:34 PM
Record points total. As in, we've never done better than that season.

I'll have a bit of that again :)

28-08-2023, 09:36 PM
The temper tantrum at Hampden blaming the players for not following his instructions, yet matters improved immediately Lennon changed formation after half an hour. If only he'd got his tactics and selection right at the start then we wouldn't have been 2-0 down.

28-08-2023, 09:41 PM
If you like to gamble
I tell you, I'm your man
You win some, lose some
It's all the same to me

Could have been written for Lee Johnson actually

That's overkill mate :greengrin

28-08-2023, 09:43 PM
Sometimes working their ticket is the only way. It seems unfair, but that's the reality of it. If Lennon were to come back and do really well in the immediate term, I wouldn't expect him to be around for very long. But at the very least we would get some much needed results and would hopefully put us in good stead for whomever replaces him further down the line.

How many examples can you give of managers doing what Lennon did?

Brendan Rodgers didn’t do it to get to Leicester. Gerrard didn’t to get to Villa. Ange didn’t to get to Spurs, Pep didn’t to Man City or Klopp to Liverpool.

Neilson didn’t to get to Hearts from Dundee United.

What Lennon did was inexcusable, worse than Thomson engineering his move to Rangers which folk still hold against him to this day.

If Lennon was to do well and then fancied a better job, then going by his previous here we can look forward to erratic behaviour, erratic team selections and awful results, maybe a threat of a fight in the training centre before agreeing an exit. Yay.

28-08-2023, 09:48 PM

Sensible comments that i agree with.
The chat on plz would suggest that no bridges were burnt when Neil left ,otherwise why would he be listed or even personally discuss the job on that podcast ?
And he did stop Peter the interviewer in his tracks on going further on the possibility of being a genuine candidate.
.For good reason ? :dunno:

Am not a betting man
But would not be surprised if he got an interview to promote himself as a candidate for head coach/manager.
I guess firstly that our senior players who were around when Lenny was here, will be asked by the new regime about a possible return of the Airplane Pilot !!

Never mind the Dambusters ...We need a Hunbuster !!:greengrin
:nlgwa

28-08-2023, 09:49 PM
The temper tantrum at Hampden blaming the players for not following his instructions, yet matters improved immediately Lennon changed formation after half an hour. If only he'd got his tactics and selection right at the start then we wouldn't have been 2-0 down.

Have you watched those 2 goals that we conceded? Nothing to do with tactics, poor individual errors from normally reliable players. I'd have been raging at the players too.

28-08-2023, 09:50 PM

Not sure the 2 goals were down to the formation. We gifted them 1 straight from the kick-off and the 2nd was from a free kick from a tight angle due to the 2 man wall splitting (and arguably Marciano still shouldn't have been beaten at his near post).

28-08-2023, 10:22 PM
Sensible comments that i agree with.
The chat on plz would suggest that no bridges were burnt when Neil left ,otherwise why would he be listed or even personally discuss the job on that podcast ?
And he did stop Peter the interviewer in his tracks on going further on the possibility of being a genuine candidate.
.For good reason ? :dunno:

Am not a betting man
But would not be surprised if he got an interview to promote himself as a candidate for head coach/manager.
I guess firstly that our senior players who were around when Lenny was here, will be asked by the new regime about a possible return of the Airplane Pilot !!

Never mind the Dambusters ...We need a Hunbuster !!:greengrin
:nlgwa

I thought he came across really well.

Talked about needing stability and a settled coaching team, he could be the man for that.

He's an older head now with more experience. I hope we at least talk to him, and it sounds like he'd jump at the chance of coming back.

Also wouldn't cost as much as getting someone in a job currently. Exciting time ahead.

28-08-2023, 10:28 PM
I dont think the next gaffer will be an existing SPL manager .like the favourite on the poll here.
It would be a big decision financially and personally for him to take.
If we get on his back early and some will. believing his Govan love.
Also considering leaving Killie a few games into a new season would play on his mind ,i would think.
May not bode well for future gigs, if Hibs job didnt work out .

28-08-2023, 10:28 PM
I thought he came across really well.

Talked about needing stability and a settled coaching team, he could be the man for that.

He's an older head now with more experience. I hope we at least talk to him, and it sounds like he'd jump at the chance of coming back.

Also wouldn't cost as much as getting someone in a job currently. Exciting time ahead.

Still managed to get himself sent off in the Cypriot cup final after a meltdown on the touchline. OK any manager is capable of that, but it hardly gives credence to the idea that he is older and wiser.

EH54
28-08-2023, 10:32 PM
Since around December when LJ job was first on the line or somewhere there abouts and NL name has been getting bashed around I have been massively apposed to it. Another poster did it above but his run of games wards the back end of his management was brutal. Almost sackable in itself.

That being said the state of the team right now it’s getting harder to be apposed to a man who ultimately carries the personality I believe some of these players need to get their finger out.

He’s not my first choice but I don’t think now I will have many complaints if he is and would be shocked if Hibs didn’t at least talk further with NL about the possibility.

I think it was mentioned on PLZ, and probably agree. I don’t want Hibs to over think this appointment while I hope they take their time I’m at the point where I want someone who knows our league inside and out. Time will tell.

28-08-2023, 10:37 PM
Lennon shouldn’t be anywhere near Hibs again, in my opinion he engineered a very nice pay off to then go and slot into the upcoming Celtic vacancy

Leanne Dempster backed that muppet Kamberi over Lennon and the rest is history. I'd have thrown more than a chair at him.

Lennon would improve our fortunes overnight. Nail on the head in that short interview.

28-08-2023, 11:15 PM

Lee said he coached them well though.
They didnt pay attention, it seems,according to Lee.
Maybe he should have screamed at them a bit more !

I have only twice boo'd a hibs gaffer
Well not really Fenlon, if truth be said, I didnt really mind him.
I wont mention that game at hampden
I just walked out of the lower west before half time v Malmo with a 75yr old man who had not seen Hibs live for 20 years.
Sad i took him. So red faced i was
He said lets FO fae here ! I agreed !
So we sat in Middletons with another clerry pensioner talking bout the great Hibs teams, got drunk ,stayed till closing time and got a taxi back to Clerry... so drunk we forgot the result the next morning.
OOh to be eh ? !
Strange it was that pub i sat in the night the Arabs put us down .

The others i was wary of and never liked were Butcher an A. Miller
Not only because the were huns,but it didnt help .
Just a feeling in my water that wasn't incontinent back then ":greengrin
Miller stayed 10 yrs to long. I know others feel different/

This old guy with Hibernian Football Club and our social history in my blood and a parishioner of our roots does not want a hun in charge at the Holy Ground .
Ever !!
Sorry if that upsets others ,but our club has mostly been successful with "Hibs Minded" people influencing the club.

I like the Gordons as our guardians and we all miss Ron a lot to this day.
Hibernian FC ,whatever some think is more than a football team for many.
When i was growing up, it was second to immediate family in many areas of the old town and Leith.
There was nothing else. Family ,chapel and HFC. It is still relevant to many
Our badge symbolises such

That is our identity if Mickey Stewart and others ask .... imo

We may not be a top football club, but we are a unique club in many way and so s different from others.
We must cherish that,even though football has changed so much in my lifetime in so many ways

We are still...

Hibernian Football Club

Pride of Edinburgh and Leith

Greenio
28-08-2023, 11:16 PM
Man acted like a complete muppet. No way should he come back. He'd do it again as soon as he feels like it.

BobMilne
29-08-2023, 12:25 AM

Perfectly said. Exactly how I feel.

BobMilne
29-08-2023, 12:30 AM

I just walked out of the lower west before half time v Malmo with a 75yr old man who had not seen Hibs live for 20 years.
So we sat in Middletons with another clerry pensioner talking bout the great Hibs teams, got drunk ,stayed till closing time and got a taxi back to Clerry... so drunk we forgot the result the next morning.
OOh to be eh ? !

This old guy with Hibernian Football Club and our social history in my blood and a parishioner of our roots does not want a hun in charge at the Holy Ground .
Ever !!
Sorry if that upsets others ,but our club has mostly been successful with "Hibs Minded" people influencing the club.

When i was growing up, it was second to immediate family in many areas of the old town and Leith.

We may not be a top football club, but we are a unique club in many way and so s different from others.
We must cherish that,even though football has changed so much in my lifetime in so many ways

We are still...

Hibernian Football Club

In the spirit of father jack! Yaaaaaaaaaas!!!! Minus the chapel stuff

29-08-2023, 12:33 AM
Man acted like a complete muppet. No way should he come back. He'd do it again as soon as he feels like it.

He wont do it as soon as he feels like it !
Its not the personal issue Neil has.
Personally, i would not call anyone whatever profession or job that he or she was in a muppet.
Are you superb at your job ?

Neil had mental health problems he was deaing with that some Hibs fans were not aware about when he was here.
The club were aware of that and i commend them.
Some fans think he was to blame for the Kamberi/Leeann saga rumour or whatever that was .I dont know !
]
Am sad though that hibs fans now call Neil a muppet.
Such a childish comment.

Neil imo would do a better job this time round than the other main candidates being touted.

Wait and see !!

29-08-2023, 01:10 AM
In the spirit of father jack! Yaaaaaaaaaas!!!! Minus the chapel stuff

Yes,but that is the roots of our Club.
Whether you are religious or not and i am a lapsed Catholic.
Sometimes known in my youth as a lapsed Hibby and Marxist !!
I eventually joined the Labour Party !!My local branch was full of Jambos.

But i teamed up with John Mulvey and Socialist Hibs members in the Strathmore pub ,Iona Street. 1980s./
The fact is many Hibernian supporters trace their roots to the Cowgate/Grassmarket/Canongagte/West Port area and the majority would have went to chapel back then.
I was an alter boy at the Sacred Heart in Lauriston, like my brothers and cousins and we told the Jesuits if they dont follow Hibs were no gone back tae church ⛪"!":greengrin

Summary
It is what it was back then and this old Hibernian and Socialist of near 72 years will not forget or deny it .
Wish it had been better .Such is life.
Great days for the Hibeesthough at times! win or lose.
The Cave had some great Irish dittys, or rebel songs. (before the Troubles)
And that came from guys like me having endured anti Catholic bullying and often assault on home from school.
Was never ending for the O'Rourke brothers in Clermiston till we got a bit bigger "!! and did not forget the bullies.
We got our own back later .Big Time
Nice one,Billy O'Rourke. God Bless you,Son!!
So Saturday at the Holy Ground was a relief and a common get together.
We mostly then sang from the same tune and felt a comradeship.

Why ?

Because even im my youth we were treated and experienced worse sectarian abuse from fascists and bigots that you younger fans may think you endure now.
I was refused jobs more than once when i was most certainly quailified.

Maybe should have changed ny name to William Mason.
Scotlands Jim Crow
But we are all the same colour.
Or are we ?

Ok thanks for reading ,if you did .and apologies to mods if i digressed.
I think my comments do in a way explain my experience 50/60 yrs ago .
And on reflection the behaviour of the zombies at Ron's memorial SOL sums up that nothing has changed in the sectarian/anti catholic hatred from that govan club too Hibernian.

Those two, and i mean Celtic too ,have been detrimentaito Scottish football for all those years since the Dons and the Arabs had a dash many years ago..
and they just got humpty and upped the anti with dodgy owners and ready flow of cash.

They wirnae gonna let a United and Dons success happen again.
They dont give a fk about Scottish Footsall
They are so frustrated no other league will have them

PS
My brother played at Celtic Park in the 60s and at Ibrox when attendance was less than we got on Saturday.
Glory hunters all their days.

SOL
HGSP

Greenio
29-08-2023, 02:30 AM
Personally, i would not call anyone whatever profession or job that he or she was in a muppet.

Neil had mental health problems he was deaing with that some Hibs fans were not aware about when he was here.
Some fans think he was to blame for the Kamberi/Leeann saga rumour or whatever that was .I dont know !
]
Such a childish comment.

Neil imo would do a better job this time round than the other main candidates being touted.

Wait and see !!

I think what happened towards the end of his reign shows that he let his ego and his emotions get the better of hi.

Could have been impacted by mental health. I don't know. Doesn't mean it gets ignored though

I, for one, feel he did his dash with us and, yes, based on him losing self control once, could quote easily do it again when things aren't going his way/he thinks the grass is greener

May21/05/216
29-08-2023, 04:41 AM

OOh to be eh ? !

Ever !!

We are still...

Hibernian Football Club

Pride of Edinburgh and LeithWell said sir

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

29-08-2023, 05:15 AM
Give it to Lennon for the rest of the season.
Hopefully him and the players would work together.
I cant see many other options especiallly as we have only just started the season.

Broxburn Greens
29-08-2023, 05:23 AM

Yep, agree with this.

When he made a subtle comment last time that he wouldn’t be averse to taking the Hibs job I remember the genuine excitement it generated and our desire as fans to have him appointed. Also the swiftness with which the club then went out an got “their man” was superb.

Then it was all aboard the Lenny rollercoaster and it was great while it lasted but the end was a real crash.

He clearly has MH issues that need managed and I know the club went out it’s way to help him and be flexible last time.

That’s my worry is his own personal issues rather than his management abilities.

From the management side it would be a big yes but the personal side makes me nervous.

I would still take him but not sure he should be our first choice.

Donegal Hibby
29-08-2023, 09:34 AM
Blows my mind how readily folk forget how badly it ended with Lennon. The football was honking by the end. 7 defenders in the starting 11 at Rugby Park, going AWOL, bottling it at Tiny with his team selection then hanging the players out to dry and then, if that’s not enough, very conveniently making himself available for the Celtic job that just so happened to come up after he left.

Lennon was absolutely brilliant for some of his time at Hibs but the lead up to his exit was horrendous and that’s why i wouldn’t want him back.

I'd imagine even though there's new people at our club now that they will be well aware of the horrible build up to Lennon's exit and this will go against him now in our pursuit for a new manager . Personally I can't see him and McDermott getting along either .

29-08-2023, 09:38 AM

]
Such a childish comment.

Wait and see !!

Wouldn't call him a muppet. A complete embarrassment yes.

29-08-2023, 10:06 AM
Give it to Lennon for the rest of the season.
Hopefully him and the players would work together.
I cant see many other options especiallly as we have only just started the season.

Hibs fans seem split on Lennon returning so I think a contract to the end of the season would be a good compromise. Would give both parties an opportunity to see if it works.

I actually think he would get much more out of the players and turn around our fortunes fairly quickly.

29-08-2023, 10:41 AM
Hibs fans seem split on Lennon returning so I think a contract to the end of the season would be a good compromise. Would give both parties an opportunity to see if it works.

I actually think he would get much more out of the players and turn around our fortunes fairly quickly.

I'm genuinely surprised at how popular an option he is. He always looked like he was doing us a favour by being here, was on a ruinous run of form when he eventually left, and shafted us to go to Celtic.

We hung one of our own in Kevin Thomson out to dry for less.

29-08-2023, 10:56 AM
I'm genuinely surprised at how popular an option he is. He always looked like he was doing us a favour by being here, was on a ruinous run of form when he eventually left, and shafted us to go to Celtic.

I think Lennon's record as a Manager speaks for itself. There's been a few blips but he's on the whole he's been successful.

If someone with his stature in the game is keen on the job Hibs would be mental not to consider it.

The question for me is whether the Hibs Board's ambition for the club would be as high as Lennon's. I think that's when things started to go off the rails in his last spell.

29-08-2023, 11:10 AM
My only issue with Lennon coming back, to me it seemed the last time he was just using us as a stepping stone and never intended the long term, and I’m just wary of that again. He comes to us, does quite well then ******s off to somewhere else when the first better offer comes in

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Trinity Hibee
29-08-2023, 11:13 AM
My only issue with Lennon coming back, to me it seemed the last time he was just using us as a stepping stone and never intended the long term, and I’m just wary of that again. He comes to us, does quite well then ******s off to somewhere else when the first better offer comes in

Is that not Hibs in a nutshell? whether manager or player we are a stepping stone to bigger clubs.

29-08-2023, 11:16 AM
He was dodging media interviews, putting out bizarre team selections and had us on a terrible run of form before his sacking. He was also a master at blaming the players for everything but never taking responsibility himself.

It’s like folk have totally forgotten how bad it got with him in charge.

29-08-2023, 11:21 AM
Is that not Hibs in a nutshell? whether manager or player we are a stepping stone to bigger clubs.

Maybe so, but it shouldn’t be. If that’s the general consensus , we will never get anywhere

Donegal Hibby
29-08-2023, 11:26 AM

Maybe it's just me but I stopped believing Kevin Thomson was one of our own a long time ago with all the praise and love he has for sevco even against us he's referred on numerous occasions to Sevco as " WE " . He seems to be like a chameleon changing colours when it suits him though he normally sticks to blue most of the time imo .

29-08-2023, 11:48 AM
Wouldn't call him a muppet. A complete embarrassment yes.

I know what you are saying, A few past managers have been embarrassing.
But with Neil ,there was a darker side going on with him, unfortunately

If you lived with some one with a mental health problem,you may endure frustration, sometimes tiredness/fatigue and a feeling of hopelessness as well . Embarrassed ! i certainly wasn't .Sad would be more the word.

I dont know about Neil at present,but am sure football and health professionals in the game who know him, will attest to his ability to get back in the dugoot :greengrin
If so, i would welcome him back in the knowledge(or not) of the in-house mess that led to his departure.

29-08-2023, 11:48 AM
Maybe it's just me but I stopped believing Kevin Thomson was one of our own a long time ago with all the praise and love he has for sevco even against us he's referred on numerous occasions to Sevco as " WE " . He seems to be like a chameleon changing colours when it suits him though he normally sticks to blue most of the time imo .

Yeah, I agree - imagine if Lennon had left like he did and went to Rangers, would folk be desperate to get him back? I have my doubts.

paddy1875
29-08-2023, 11:49 AM

There was a interview a couple days back with Kevin Thomson talking about our situation. He spoke very well and never gave a name for the new managers job but a philosophy on how a club like hibs should be run. Promoting youth through the academy and still bringing in new signings the support want to see. He was bang on the money. I’m sure he even mentioned we were his team and he was a supporter.

It’s a strange one tho because every time he’s on the panel for the huns games he makes out they’re his team.

Im not a fan of him for his behaviour when leaving us but everything he said was bang on the money, still tho even on his returns back playing for us after his first departure I just couldn’t take to him again.

29-08-2023, 11:50 AM
I think Lennon's record as a Manager speaks for itself. There's been a few blips but he's on the whole he's been successful.

If someone with his stature in the game is keen on the job Hibs would be mental not to consider it.

The question for me is whether the Hibs Board's ambition for the club would be as high as Lennon's. I think that's when things started to go off the rails in his last spell.

I would say we're mental to consider because we've seen first hand how it went here with him.

29-08-2023, 11:54 AM

All of this. I can’t believe some are so willing to give him another go at it.

It was a shambles at the end, and he completely and utterly Judas’d us while working his ticket back to Celtic. He completely lost the plot at the end of his time here, probably as his mind was always elsewhere, the pub or Celtic

29-08-2023, 12:14 PM

My great grandson plays on Sundays for a boys cub in the South of Edinburgh.
Kevin watched them playing a few times last season or two at various parks, maybe looking for recruits to his academy.
My grandson got a rapport with Kevin during these days and he swears blind that he is a Hibs man.
My grandson winds him up though about working for the stickies.
He must get sick of it ! but his wallet won't !
The hun tv stuff will pay the gas bill i suppose .Not to be sniffed at .

No !! not the gas :dizzy:

29-08-2023, 12:26 PM

Yeah. Me too.
When it was going well, he was tremendous. When it wasn't going well it looked like he had no idea what to do, and towards the end it looked like he'd given up and was drawing the team out of a hat.
And all of the stuff above.
I think Lennon has a lot to offer football, but I don't think he has the temperament* to manage a team when it's not going his way. As a manager, I don't think he's a 'team player'.

* Just for the sake of being clear, I'm not talking about his well-known mental health issues here. Only he'll know where he is or isn't on that front, and what he's capable of handling.

badabing67
29-08-2023, 12:53 PM
Yeah, I agree - imagine if Lennon had left like he did and went to Rangers, would folk be desperate to get him back? I have my doubts.

I think there would be a better chance of Zelensky turning Z than that ever happening.

29-08-2023, 01:13 PM
Still managed to get himself sent off in the Cypriot cup final after a meltdown on the touchline. OK any manager is capable of that, but it hardly gives credence to the idea that he is older and wiser.

I’d counter that by saying he’s lost none of his passion for the game!

It’s gonna be fun times when he’s back!

29-08-2023, 01:17 PM
He was dodging media interviews, putting out bizarre team selections and had us on a terrible run of form before his sacking. He was also a master at blaming the players for everything but never taking responsibility himself.

Or we don’t think these things are as big issues as you do and we fondly remember going to ER and enjoying it.

29-08-2023, 01:24 PM
Or we don’t think these things are as big issues as you do and we fondly remember going to ER and enjoying it.

That season we finished 4th, more so from the period when Scott Allan returned were my favourite times I can remember as a Hibs fan in a long time (Cup Final excepted) but I absolutely do not want him back. It might start well, but it would be only a matter of time before he implodes.

29-08-2023, 01:28 PM

Oh I enjoyed some of it, we were great at times. The wheels came off and wee Lenny imploded in a big way. Wouldn’t risk taking him back.

29-08-2023, 01:30 PM
That season we finished 4th, more so from the period when Scott Allan returned were my favourite times I can remember as a Hibs fan in a long time (Cup Final excepted) but I absolutely do not want him back. It might start well, but it would be only a matter of time before he implodes.

When was the last time a manager left us that ended well?

29-08-2023, 01:32 PM

Alan Stubbs.

29-08-2023, 01:35 PM

As in who left us on a high or weren’t sacked ‘cos of poor results ?

29-08-2023, 02:22 PM

We need more of our managers to leave us and head off to better things, not less, as that means they’ll have been successful.

29-08-2023, 02:27 PM
One of the things I liked best about Lennon was Garry Parker.

He was a fantastic player in his day and seemed to be a decent antidote to Lennon’s bonkersness.

I’m as big a believer in the back room staff as I am the man at the top. Lennon having Parker, Ross having Potter, Stubbs having Doolan and Taff, Mowbray having Venus - all good. Collins made a poor choice in Tommy Craig and then we had the weird spell where we appointed Derek Adams to work with Calderwood.

Paul1642
29-08-2023, 02:38 PM
Alan Stubbs.

It ended in glory but if he hadn’t worn the cup final he too was verging on the sack. Fine margins in football sometimes.

29-08-2023, 03:08 PM
As in who left us on a high or weren’t sacked ‘cos of poor results ?

Yes

29-08-2023, 03:25 PM
It ended in glory but if he hadn’t worn the cup final he too was verging on the sack. Fine margins in football sometimes.

Absolutely. I think he'd have been sacked if we hadn't won the cup. We did so it doesn't matter :gwa:

29-08-2023, 03:29 PM
Yes

Mogga and Stubbs, which just shows we should be getting John Kennedy as ex-Celtic central defenders seem to do well at Hibs. Well apart from Yogi maybe 🤣

29-08-2023, 03:45 PM

You like to hold a grudge eh!!

Why only focus on Lennons bad points? If we did that with every manager we’ve ever had he’d still be popular in comparison.

Don’t you think it’s possible that he’s learnt from the past and would be albetter manager now? He came across like that on PLZ anyways.

I remember listening to some of his interviews where he said he was in a great place with Hibs and couldn’t be happier.

I like to focus on the positives looking forward instead of dwelling on past mistakes.

29-08-2023, 03:48 PM
Yes

Very few, but my response to that is their lack of success elsewhere is a decent indicator we weren’t wrong to get rid of them in the first place. And none of them imploded like Lennon did.

18Craig75
29-08-2023, 03:51 PM

I’m not being smart here just genuinely curious - do you have some info about Lennon working his ticket? Because you’ve mentioned it a few times? Genuinely curious as thinking back to that time, when he left Hibs - wasn’t Brendan Rodgers still manager of Celtic and Leicester City also still had a manager? Correct me if I’m wrong but I can’t see how Lennon could’ve foreseen all that falling into place? Also, as it transpired with Rodgers leaving, what would stop Celtic just taking him anyway? The compo would’ve been peanuts and not a barrier to bringing Lennon back who I’m sure would’ve made it clear he’d want to go back.

29-08-2023, 03:54 PM

Why only focus on Lennons bad points? If we did that with every manager we’ve ever had he’d still be popular in comparison.

Don’t you think it’s possible that he’s learnt from the past and would be albetter manager now? He came across like that on PLZ anyways.

I remember listening to some of his interviews where he said he was in a great place with Hibs and couldn’t be happier.

I like to focus on the positives looking forward instead of dwelling on past mistakes.

Would you apply this to every Hibs manager ever? Or is it just Lennon that gets this special treatment?

18Craig75
29-08-2023, 03:56 PM
I’m 100% with WhileTheChief. Think of the good times. It all got a bit mental at the end, just think if Lewy didn’t wear moulded studs that night at Tynecastle then Lennon might still be here now. Okay I’m joking, he made mistakes - but as others have alluded to that 2nd half of the season should be the blueprint for Hibs fans. Entertaining football, bit of a rollercoaster and results. Record season ticket sales and fans in the south stand every week.

Bring him back until the end of the season and see how it goes.

29-08-2023, 04:11 PM
I’m not being smart here just genuinely curious - do you have some info about Lennon working his ticket? Because you’ve mentioned it a few times? Genuinely curious as thinking back to that time, when he left Hibs - wasn’t Brendan Rodgers still manager of Celtic and Leicester City also still had a manager? Correct me if I’m wrong but I can’t see how Lennon could’ve foreseen all that falling into place? Also, as it transpired with Rodgers leaving, what would stop Celtic just taking him anyway? The compo would’ve been peanuts and not a barrier to bringing Lennon back who I’m sure would’ve made it clear he’d want to go back.

I did at the time which I didn't really give much credence to until it happened.

Lennon wasn't able to walk out of the Hibs job straight into another one due to the terms of his severance agreement with Hibs.

At the time I dismissed most of it as fantasy stuff, but what I was told was going to happen, happened. That could have been a massive coincidence, happy to go with that theory as well, but I had a few "told you so" messages from folk afterwards.

Rogers was making moves to leave Celtic long before Leicester came up, again if you go looking you can find plenty chat about it.

None of the info I got was first or second hand, so I could never vouch for us credibility. The only thing I go on is what are the chances of those people, independent of each other, being able to give very similar info down to the small details in some cases.

They didn't tell me that he'd go on the back of a bust up, for example, but they did say he wanted to go and Hibs knew he wanted to go, but he wouldn't resign and they wouldn't sack him.

I will try to find them but I remember seeing it mentioned on here before he left and I probably dismissed it then as well.

HendoDelivered
29-08-2023, 04:14 PM
Mcgeady on PLZ today I think. Sounds like he may have a couple of interesting things to say about LJ. https://x.com/plzsoccer/status/1696555908141142296?s=46&t=U3pADl1ON1Em2jgBrQBI8w

29-08-2023, 04:18 PM
Would you apply this to every Hibs manager ever? Or is it just Lennon that gets this special treatment?

If we were discussing Stubbs or Ross then yeah I would. Not so much if it was Maloney or LJ.

Are you just trying to get a rise out of me for reasons?

There's loads of posters on here would like to see Lennon back. Are you going to question them all as much as you do me?

You were the same with me when I was discussing LJ. You don't need to comment on all my posts, you could just think "what a p**** WTC is" and move on instead!

Trinity Hibee
29-08-2023, 04:26 PM
Mcgeady on PLZ today I think. Sounds like he may have a couple of interesting things to say about LJ. https://x.com/plzsoccer/status/1696555908141142296?s=46&t=U3pADl1ON1Em2jgBrQBI8w

That boy spouts some ****. His opinion on Hibs is worth less than nout

29-08-2023, 04:30 PM
Appoint Lennon, let’s get our swagger back.

29-08-2023, 04:30 PM
I’m 100% with WhileTheChief. Think of the good times. It all got a bit mental at the end, just think if Lewy didn’t wear moulded studs that night at Tynecastle then Lennon might still be here now. Okay I’m joking, he made mistakes - but as others have alluded to that 2nd half of the season should be the blueprint for Hibs fans. Entertaining football, bit of a rollercoaster and results. Record season ticket sales and fans in the south stand every week.

Bring him back until the end of the season and see how it goes.

That's a whole season minus 3 league games, not just a couple of months.

29-08-2023, 04:35 PM
Why don’t we just forget the negatives and reappoint Johnson or Butcher.

29-08-2023, 04:36 PM
Very few, but my response to that is their lack of success elsewhere is a decent indicator we weren’t wrong to get rid of them in the first place. And none of them imploded like Lennon did.

Well most people live and learn and improve for their mistakes.
Lennon would be worth a shot till the end of the season under the circumstances imo.

29-08-2023, 04:37 PM
Lennon wasn't able to walk out of the Hibs job straight into another one due to the terms of his severance agreement with Hibs.

That must have been the only contract that's ever been written with such a clause. We must have loved paying him if we put a clause in his contract letting us keep doing it even if he'd resigned.

I'm pretty sure that it would be illegal too.

29-08-2023, 04:44 PM

Oddball.

CL0762
29-08-2023, 04:45 PM
PLZ is the worst of the worst.

Alan Rough said yesterday “ask any Hibs fan they loved every single minute of Lennon’s tenure”.

29-08-2023, 04:49 PM
Mogga and Stubbs, which just shows we should be getting John Kennedy as ex-Celtic central defenders seem to do well at Hibs. Well apart from Yogi maybe 🤣

Mogga and Stubbs had presence, what we need in the new manager

29-08-2023, 04:49 PM
That boy spouts some ****. His opinion on Hibs is worth less than nout

Why? He was here for a season and will have some insight. Obviously impressed by Sir David

Trinity Hibee
29-08-2023, 04:55 PM
Why? He was here for a season and will have some insight. Obviously impressed by Sir David

Guy loves the sound of his own voice and was having a go at LJ for not using him when he was fit. He was never fit at us bar 2 or 3 games and he got injured in 2 of them which put him out for months.

Waste of space

badabing67
29-08-2023, 04:56 PM

Lennon has positives to fall back on they don't

29-08-2023, 05:00 PM
Biggles Lennon V Stevie Naebadges coming to a stadium near you soon:greengrin

Lenny also has to return to finish his pilots licence for der hun luftwaffe raid ��

29-08-2023, 05:05 PM
Guy loves the sound of his own voice and was having a go at LJ for not using him when he was fit. He was never fit at us bar 2 or 3 games and he got injured in 2 of them which put him out for months.

Waste of space

Still entitled to an opinion

29-08-2023, 05:10 PM

Get Jack Ross or Sean Maloney back then, why just focus on their negatives. Could pull in Collins or Yogi as well.

Nothing about a grudge!

29-08-2023, 05:11 PM
That must have been the only contract that's ever been written with such a clause. We must have loved paying him if we put a clause in his contract letting us keep doing it even if he'd resigned.

He didn't resign.

29-08-2023, 05:13 PM
Oddball.

He was having another pop at me.

29-08-2023, 05:25 PM

Resigned? That's like saying Rangers were relagated! He was shown the door, got the Spanish archer, had his chips, fired like the one o'clock gun! Resigned 🤣

29-08-2023, 05:39 PM
Sure that I heard Leeanne Dempster kept a picture of Neil Lennon on her desk, not the actions of someone falling out?

Saint Hibee
29-08-2023, 06:16 PM
Sure that I heard Leeanne Dempster kept a picture of Neil Lennon on her desk, not the actions of someone falling out?

Is this a joke that I haven’t got?

HendoDelivered
29-08-2023, 06:18 PM

Yeah she defo said that in an interview somewhere and that was after he left

29-08-2023, 06:26 PM
Is there much evidence for Lennon inheriting a mess and turning it round? Or laying foundations the next man can use and improve upon in the way he did with what Stubbs left him?

A limited manager with a better reputation than the reality IMO, and another marmite character.

29-08-2023, 06:39 PM
Is there much evidence for Lennon inheriting a mess and turning it round? Or laying foundations the next man can use and improve upon in the way he did with what Stubbs left him?

A limited manager with a better reputation than the reality IMO, and another marmite character.

That's never been a criteria we've considered before.

Players liked playing for him which appears to be a welcome change to their feelings on LJ.

I think we'll see an immediate improvement in our squad simply by LJ not being there.

29-08-2023, 06:44 PM
That's never been a criteria we've considered before.

Players liked playing for him which appears to be a welcome change to their feelings on LJ.

I think we'll see an immediate improvement in our squad simply by LJ not being there.

Did Dylan McGeouch and Fraser Fyvie like playing for him?

29-08-2023, 06:55 PM
Did Dylan McGeouch and Fraser Fyvie like playing for him?

Or Kamberi. I know he’s not a popular figure with the support, and some of Lennon’s criticism was merited. However the sheer relentlessness of it looked more like bullying than anything IMO. Particularly when Lennon simply stopped doing post match interviews, or went on a rant about Hibs not being able to match his ambitions after Levein had his number once more at Tynecastle, rather than admit any of his own failings.

29-08-2023, 06:57 PM
Or Kamberi. I know he’s not a popular figure with the support, and some of Lennon’s criticism was merited. However the sheer relentlessness of it looked more like bullying than anything IMO. Particularly when Lennon simply stopped doing post match interviews, or went on a rant about Hibs not being able to match his ambitions after Levein had his number once more at Tynecastle, rather than admit any of his own failings.

I long for the day when we need a new manager and the call that comes up isn't for Neil ****ing Lennon.

It's as tiresome as the Leigh Griffiths stuff.

badabing67
29-08-2023, 07:05 PM

I think he left Celtic ship shape for Brenda to walk in and pick up where he left off

29-08-2023, 07:09 PM

A limited manager with a better reputation than the reality IMO, and another marmite character.His team in Cyprus won the cup and got some good results in Europe . Not sure how bad they were before he took over .

high bee
29-08-2023, 07:12 PM
Every manager will eventually get sacked, after a period of awful results so NL is no different there.

It’s what he could do in the period in between that matters and I loved having him here. Loved the football, the post match interviews and the character and this is despite never being able to take to him before he joined us.

Would take him over another JR, SM, LJ any day.

StirlingHibee
29-08-2023, 07:18 PM
I can understand those who have reservations about Lennon - they are all well founded. However, it was never ever dull and it was during his tenure that I genuinely last felt any kind of enthusiasm or excitement when going to ER.

29-08-2023, 07:27 PM
Every manager will eventually get sacked, after a period of awful results so NL is no different there.

It’s what he could do in the period in between that matters and I loved having him here. Loved the football, the post match interviews and the character and this is despite never being able to take to him before he joined us.

Would take him over another JR, SM, LJ any day.

Highest average attendances in the modern era

29-08-2023, 07:31 PM
Highest average attendances in the modern eraThat was off the back of a Scottish cup win which definitely would have played a part in that

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

29-08-2023, 07:35 PM

Would take him over another JR, SM, LJ any day.Exactly . Whover is our new manager is unlikely to be with us for more than a couple of years in fact next summer is maybe being optimistic so if we get a manager who gives us even half the entertainment we got in 2018 with NL then fantastic . Interesting point about not taking to him before . All new managers get a mixed welcome from fans and with someone with a character like NL`s more so . There were quite a few fans who felt the same in 2017 who soon changed their minds when they saw the team and atmosphere in stadium . There are still a few fans who didn`t want him in 2017 for whatever reason who are the same now but that will always be the case with any manager . I`d prefer NL before McInnes , Martindale , Robinson and others on usual list but hope we`re looking at other options and not just lower leagues in England .

HFC93
29-08-2023, 07:40 PM
The worst thing about PLZ is the cheap looking PLZ branded clothing they all wear.

29-08-2023, 07:53 PM

All of this. I can’t believe some are so willing to give him another go at it.

It was a shambles at the end, and he completely and utterly Judas’d us while working his ticket back to Celtic. He completely lost the plot at the end of his time here, probably as his mind was always elsewhere, the pub or Celtic

Agree with all of this, and would add, have we forgotten how often he was off doing jaunts to Celtic supporters club do’s, he was even late going to a training camp so he could go to one!

29-08-2023, 07:55 PM
Resigned? That's like saying Rangers were relagated! He was shown the door, got the Spanish archer, had his chips, fired like the one o'clock gun! Resigned 🤣

I didn't say he had.

Matty said "Lennon wasn't able to walk out of the Hibs job straight into another one due to the terms of his severance agreement with Hibs".

I was doubting such a clause existed or would have even been legal, even if he had resigned.

I know he didn't resign. And I know he wasn't sacked.

29-08-2023, 07:56 PM
He didn't resign.

I know.

But to walk into another job, he would have had to, but you said that his contract didn't allow that.

29-08-2023, 08:04 PM
I know.

But to walk into another job, he would have had to, but you said that his contract didn't allow that.

His severance.

When I left a job (resigned) a few years ago, I was allowed to leave immediately, but could not work elsewhere until my notice period was up. That's standard at a lot of places. Folk get put on garden leave, it protects the club from a manager resigning and going straight to a competitor without compensation.

Nothing illegal, and really, really common.

29-08-2023, 08:05 PM
His severance.

When I left a job (resigned) a few years ago, I was allowed to leave immediately, but could not work elsewhere until my notice period was up. That's standard at a lot of places. Folk get put on garden leave, it protects the club from a manager resigning and going straight to a competitor without compensation.

Yes, the key word there is compensation.

29-08-2023, 08:07 PM
Lennon had a go at the players when they deserved it and normally got a positive reaction. He was also pretty lavish in his praise when they won. I'd rather have a manager who give a honest appraisal of performance.

And he had a go at the players when he got it wrong.

29-08-2023, 08:11 PM
All the names being mentioned have their attributes and they all come with risks.

I just can't wait for the decision to be announced so we can get back to discussing actual football. Remember when we used to do that?

29-08-2023, 08:28 PM
If we were discussing Stubbs or Ross then yeah I would. Not so much if it was Maloney or LJ.

Are you just trying to get a rise out of me for reasons?

There's loads of posters on here would like to see Lennon back. Are you going to question them all as much as you do me?

You were the same with me when I was discussing LJ. You don't need to comment on all my posts, you could just think "what a p**** WTC is" and move on instead!

I just asked a question 😂

Which posts about Johnson? Actually never mind, what a waste of bandwidth. Just put me on ignore and I’ll never bother you again.

29-08-2023, 08:30 PM
His severance.

Yup, there are rules about how long the gardening leave can last, I think court cases in F1 decided 12 months was the limit, otherwise it could be damaging to the persons career, but it’s entirely legit.

Lennon leaving us wasn’t a normal ‘mutual’ anyway, given the alternative was him being fired his conduct, I’m assuming he gave up more that he’d have normally got for everyone signing NDAs…

29-08-2023, 08:36 PM
All the names being mentioned have their attributes and they all come with risks.

I just can't wait for the decision to be announced so we can get back to discussing actual football. Remember when we used to do that?Attributes and risks definitely . managerial changes are expensive with compensation , managers expecting new signings etc but sometimes wonder if clubs also think that getting club in news justifies changes too .

29-08-2023, 08:47 PM
I can understand those who have reservations about Lennon - they are all well founded. However, it was never ever dull and it was during his tenure that I genuinely last felt any kind of enthusiasm or excitement when going to ER.

The Cup win, followed by Lennon's appointment marked a reconnect between fans and team., resulting in amazing ST sales. He was the perfect man to take us forward at that point but I sensed he saw the wave and that's what attracted him to Hibs. The most impressive part of his tenure was the resilience from his team.They played for the full 90 and didn't know when they were beat. Great to see from a Hibs team. However after we started losing decent players, and results fell away, he was less interested and in the end couldn't give a toss about Hibs.

Does he deserve another crack ? Probably not. Can he do a job, maybe in the short term. But we should be on the look for his successor before the link dries.

29-08-2023, 08:48 PM
Yup, there are rules about how long the gardening leave can last, I think court cases in F1 decided 12 months was the limit, otherwise it could be damaging to the persons career, but it’s entirely legit.

Lennon leaving us wasn’t a normal ‘mutual’ anyway, given the alternative was him being fired his conduct, I’m assuming he gave up more that he’d have normally got for everyone signing NDAs…

I don't know the ins and outs but I strongly suspect that you're right and that s fair bit of negotiating went on to agree his exit terms.

It wouldn't have been the case that they'd just shake hands and he'd be free to do whatever he wanted immediately.

29-08-2023, 08:51 PM
Yes, the key word there is compensation.

I really don't follow your point.

You suggested it would be illegal to have a condition on someone's terms of exit that prohibited them working for another business for a period of time. That's demonstrably not the case, compensation is neither here nor there .

If a prospective employer had wanted Lennon before the "notice" period was up then they'd have needed Hibs' permission and likely been due Hibs some money.

30-08-2023, 09:02 PM

OOh to be eh ? !

Ever !!

We are still...

Hibernian Football Club

I rarely post here these days but I look in daily and maintain my PM account as I’ll always give more than just a passing toss.

While there are a couple of things you say I disagree with, this kinda nails what being a Hibby is all about (for me at least).
A more beautifully impassioned yet articulate post you’ll never see. Really hits the spot. Nice one sir…

1875Sean
30-08-2023, 11:34 PM
The worst thing about PLZ is the cheap looking PLZ branded clothing they all wear.

It’s up there with the host Peter Martin, can’t believe he is hosting Sir David’s testimonial night, thought they could have got a hibs fan like Gordon Smart to do it

31-08-2023, 05:32 AM
It’s up there with the host Peter Martin, can’t believe he is hosting Sir David’s testimonial night, thought they could have got a hibs fan like Gordon Smart to do it

That's odd. Did he not Tweet something like "the wait goes on for Hibs" when we were 2-0 down at Tynie in the Scottish Cup? Ironic to say the least.

LewysGot2
31-08-2023, 05:43 AM
That's odd. Did he not Tweet something like "the wait goes on for Hibs" when we were 2-0 down at Tynie in the Scottish Cup? Ironic to say the least.

Pals with wee fat Robbo too :rolleyes:

31-08-2023, 07:22 AM

It's what a lot of us were thinking at the time too