View Full Version : Dressing Room Unrest.

Pytheas
28-08-2023, 10:31 AM
https://twitter.com/GrahamSpiers/status/1695888305722646905?s=20

Seems to be lots of rumours that Johnson was really disliked by the players. Anyone heard any stories?

Someone told me McKirdy was complaining about the lack of support he received after his operation.

Need to hire a player's manager next. Rules out Lennon.

28-08-2023, 10:32 AM
Oh if it’s stories you want….

😁

28-08-2023, 10:34 AM
Have heard lots of rumours of the players being disliked by the fans. Been doing the rounds that they regularly down tools when they don't like the manager and the fans are incensed by this. Worrying if true.

28-08-2023, 10:36 AM
Posted this already.

BK was telling fans in Luzern that Johnson’s comments re Fish had caused a rift. Also said that a few senior players hated him. Some of them weren’t impressed with his treatment of Bojang.

From what I’ve heard they are delighted he’s away.

Be interested in what comes out on the podcast.

The Sundance Kid
28-08-2023, 10:39 AM

Seems to be lots of rumours that Johnson was really disliked by the players. Anyone heard any stories?

Someone told me McKirdy was complaining about the lack of support he received after his operation.

Think it’s definitely fair to say that McKirdy wasn’t a fan given he liked the Hibs Instagram post confirming Johnson had been sacked

28-08-2023, 10:41 AM
Posted this already.

BK was telling fans in Luzern that Johnson’s comments re Fish had caused a rift. Also said that a few senior players hated him. Some of them weren’t impressed with his treatment of Bojang.

Kensell needs to learn to keep his trap shut and stop trying so hard to be one of the boys. It’s verging on embarrassing

28-08-2023, 10:41 AM
Have heard lots of rumours of the players being disliked by the fans. Been doing the rounds that they regularly down tools when they don't like the manager and the fans are incensed by this. Worrying if true.

This. I’m sick of hearing about managers losing the dressing room, players downing tools etc. Funnily enough you don’t hear about this when a team is playing well and on a good run. The players need to shoulder some responsibility here, irrespective of their feelings/relationship with the man in charge. I’ve had plenty ‘managers’ over the years where we might not see eye to eye but I respected his role and it didn’t impact on my performance. Or is it only footballers this applies to🤷🏼 Appreciate that in extreme circumstances - bullying etc a manager can influence how an individual may perform but I get the sense that players dine out on the ‘losing the dressing room’ as the same old excuse for their individual and collective underperformance.

28-08-2023, 10:43 AM
Posted this already.

Kensell actually said that?

Not doubting you as such, just find it hard to believe someone in his position would go about saying that - just stupid if true.

I always think he’d answer question like that similar to a politician and dodge it etc

28-08-2023, 10:45 AM
There’s been posters on here, who are probably more likely to know than Spiers, saying this for long enough.

28-08-2023, 10:48 AM
This. I’m sick of hearing about managers losing the dressing room, players downing tools etc. Funnily enough you don’t hear about this when a team is playing well and on a good run. The players need to shoulder some responsibility here, irrespective of their feelings/relationship with the man in charge. I’ve had plenty ‘managers’ over the years where we might not see eye to eye but I respected his role and it didn’t impact on my performance. Or is it only footballers this applies to🤷🏼 Appreciate that in extreme circumstances - bullying etc a manager can influence how an individual may perform but I get the sense that players dine out on the ‘losing the dressing room’ as the same old excuse for their individual and collective underperformance.

Criticism for their performances is justified but I’ve not seen anything in our games to suggest the players had downed tools. Looked more to me like a group who didn’t know what they were being set up to do.

The chat about him being unpopular is not something new that’s only coming out now though.

CentreForward
28-08-2023, 10:50 AM

Couldn’t agree more! Well said!

He's here!
28-08-2023, 10:51 AM

No stories. Just various attempts by posters to stir things.

28-08-2023, 10:51 AM

this :agree:

28-08-2023, 10:52 AM

Not doubting you as such, just find it hard to believe someone in his position would go about saying that - just stupid if true.

I always think he’d answer question like that similar to a politician and dodge it etc

From one of my mates who was in Luzern. Both him and IG came over and spoke to my mate and the group he was with. He went as far as naming two senior players who couldn’t stand Johnson.

He said IG was a lovely guy, who admitted he’d made mistakes.

Stanton Spence
28-08-2023, 10:54 AM

It wouldn’t be the first time he’s said stuff to fans that he shouldn’t if the rumours are true

28-08-2023, 10:55 AM

On the other hand, if you had a boss you couldn’t stand and you knew if you half assed your job for a couple weeks, he’d be gone and you’d be safe…

Not saying I condone it, but that’s the reality for footballers.

28-08-2023, 11:01 AM
I'd not heard much recently, but that's possibly down to me lately not seeing much of the people who would know about this sort of thing.

What I would say - I was hearing plenty during our bad spell in the run up to the World Cup last year. It wouldn't have been a surprise to me if Johnson had gone much sooner than this.

It all seemed to settle with a few departures and a few arrivals changing some of the dynamics that existed.

From what I'd heard the players were really bought into Jack Ross and they had a fantastic relationship with his assistant, Potter. Their departure hit the squad hard and players who were happy under them haven't been as happy since, albeit they know they need to get on with their jobs.

I have stories and names of players but whilst I might blether and gossip to folk face to face, I don't think sticking stuff up on internet message boards about current players that might make life difficult for them is any sort of way to go, so I won't.

Fresh start now though, hopefully.

HarpOnHibee
28-08-2023, 11:02 AM
Who's managing the manager?

Chorley Hibee
28-08-2023, 11:06 AM
Kensell needs to learn to keep his trap shut and stop trying so hard to be one of the boys. It’s verging on embarrassing

It is embarrassing, and the owners should start asking questions about both his professionalism and his performance.

28-08-2023, 11:08 AM
Who's managing the manager?

The East Stand.

28-08-2023, 11:12 AM

Some people seem to revel in this kind of thing. I gets a bit annoying after a while.

snedzuk
28-08-2023, 11:12 AM
Posted this already.

Shame some of them didn't feel strongly enough to set fire to their own head in a show of solidarity.

28-08-2023, 11:15 AM

😁

Well I can't hear a thing.

28-08-2023, 11:16 AM
Would have been better kidding on he was mr wonderful. Turning a blind eye makes nothing disappear.

28-08-2023, 11:24 AM
Well I can't hear a thing.

Don’t you swear at my admins.

IvanSproule
28-08-2023, 11:34 AM
I'd not heard much recently, but that's possibly down to me lately not seeing much of the people who would know about this sort of thing.

What I would say - I was hearing plenty during our bad spell in the run up to the World Cup last year. It wouldn't have been a surprise to me if Johnson had gone much sooner than this.

It all seemed to settle with a few departures and a few arrivals changing some of the dynamics that existed.

From what I'd heard the players were really bought into Jack Ross and they had a fantastic relationship with his assistant, Potter. Their departure hit the squad hard and players who were happy under them haven't been as happy since, albeit they know they need to get on with their jobs.

I have stories and names of players but whilst I might blether and gossip to folk face to face, I don't think sticking stuff up on internet message boards about current players that might make life difficult for them is any sort of way to go, so I won't.

Fresh start now though, hopefully.Hate hearing this sort of thing. I get that players need to get on with the job regardless and you're never going to keep every player happy but it seems so basic to hire someone that is going to unite people and have players pulling for them.

Ross got this bang on and despite his tactics and signings not being the best, it got us 3rd and a cup final.

Need to hire a guy that players will lie down in the road for. Fact is that in Scotland effort and basic organisation comes before talent and tactics.

Donegal Hibby
28-08-2023, 11:38 AM
It is embarrassing, and the owners should start asking questions about both his professionalism and his performance.

Absolutely, Johnson's gone now so that's one problem solved though we are still left with a CEO at our club that's totally unprofessional and can't seem to hold his own P**H . The leaking of the document is just another example of how badly things are getting run at Hibs.

28-08-2023, 11:49 AM

Brilliant :greengrin

28-08-2023, 11:51 AM

Agree. Totally out of order.

28-08-2023, 11:53 AM

Correct. Boo ****ing hoo. Bunch of babies need to get their fingers out and start winning games. The manager doesn't kick the ball.

28-08-2023, 12:08 PM
On the other hand, if you had a boss you couldn’t stand and you knew if you half assed your job for a couple weeks, he’d be gone and you’d be safe…

It might not even be at a conscious level. Players may well genuinely believe they are giving everything, but a lack of trust in the manager means they are holding back a little… and that has a negative impact on team performance.

A manager’s job is to make the team more than the sum of its parts, and push the players beyond what they think they are capable of. This clearly hasn’t been happening, except perhaps in certain key games where the adrenaline has kicked in.

Pytheas
28-08-2023, 12:12 PM
Correct. Boo ****ing hoo. Bunch of babies need to get their fingers out and start winning games. The manager doesn't kick the ball.

But he does pick the team.
How has Will Fish played since Johnson called him out in an arrogant and condescending way in the press?

Singled Rocky out again after the Livi game.

Has repeatedly battered Lewis Miller in the press and now all our defensive problems are coming down the right side.

If he's doing that publicly how has he been speaking to them in private.

I get that the players need to get on with it regardless but we have come up against 3 managers in the league that seem to have their squad behind them and motivated, 3 defeats.

Need to hire a guy that can build a collective spirit cos footballers being moody *******s isn't a new thing and its not unique to hibs.

28-08-2023, 12:19 PM
From one of my mates who was in Luzern. Both him and IG came over and spoke to my mate and the group he was with. He went as far as naming two senior players who couldn’t stand Johnson.

He said IG was a lovely guy, who admitted he’d made mistakes.

I know you won't name the 2 but I'd class Marshall, Hanlon, Stevenson, Newell, Doidge, Boyle & Cadden as the senior players. I heard Newell got on ok with LJ and Cadden didn't like him.

Hopefully we'll see a drastic improvement in at least one player's form now he's gone!

28-08-2023, 12:19 PM

I spoke to him in Andorra, and he was surprisingly candid let's say.

ErinGoBraghHFC
28-08-2023, 12:20 PM

[emoji16]

Go on…

28-08-2023, 12:24 PM
I know you won't name the 2 but I'd class Marshall, Hanlon, Stevenson, Newell, Doidge, Boyle & Cadden as the senior players. I heard Newell got on ok with LJ and Cadden didn't like him.

Hopefully we'll see a drastic improvement in at least one player's form now he's gone!

Part of me thinks well if BK was naming the players to a group of fans does my posting it on here make much difference. On balance I don’t see what it achieves. I’m not giving anything away though by saying the two who were mentioned are in your list.

28-08-2023, 12:25 PM
Part of me thinks well if BK was naming the players to a group of fans does my posting it on here make much difference. On balance I don’t see what it achieves. I’m not giving anything away though by saying the two who were mentioned are in your list.

sean04
28-08-2023, 12:26 PM
Interesting the Ethan Laidlaw and mckirdy liked the post about johnson sacking

28-08-2023, 12:28 PM

Don’t think it was any secret that Laidlaw couldn’t stand him. I wonder if he’s regretting not signing a new deal with us.

28-08-2023, 12:28 PM

Laidlaw doesn't surprise me in the slightest. Banging on the door for first team action for over a year and what did he get? Token inclusion in a couple of squads and meaningless minutes at the end of last season.

28-08-2023, 12:34 PM

Looks like Barrie Wilkins liked it also. Are they liking it because they are glad he's gone or is it just an acknowledgement?

BobMilne
28-08-2023, 12:35 PM
That’s just pure bollocks about Ross

28-08-2023, 12:36 PM
Looks like Barrie Wilkins liked it also. Are they liking it because they are glad he's gone or is it just an acknowledgement?

I can't imagine anyone in this day and age thinks that "liking" something is just an acknowledgement.

28-08-2023, 12:36 PM
That’s just pure bollocks about Ross

It’s not. You won’t hear a bad word from any hibs staff

28-08-2023, 12:37 PM

Alex Neil said that it was obvious that the players weren't playing for JR after that dismal defeat at Livi.

I thought it would be clear to someone of his experience.

HendoDelivered
28-08-2023, 12:38 PM
I’ve a feeling Boyle didn’t like LJ much.

Pytheas
28-08-2023, 12:39 PM

There's 2 sides to every story and everything, and from what i've heard of Laidlaw the laddie could be a bit hot-headed, McKirdy is a .... character.

There are managers that can manipulate players like that into running through walls for them, Johnson clearly not one of them. Lennon also.

WestStandWillie
28-08-2023, 12:40 PM
Player power can become a disease in a dressing room but from what's been posted here, LJ hasn't helped himself in the slightest.

Very interested to see how we play against Aberdeen.

28-08-2023, 12:41 PM

Maybe they've got a no swearing clause in their contracts. 😁

28-08-2023, 12:42 PM
Agree. Totally out of order.
All I'd add is if Ian Gordon was in his company when he was spouting off that's also disappointing, he should told him to shut it.

28-08-2023, 12:44 PM
And some on that list haven't exactly covered themselves in glory.

28-08-2023, 12:44 PM

That may well be true but it kinda disproves the point that a manager who is liked by all is a requirement for a successful manager, he lost how many of his last few games at Hibs! No doubt the players at ER were complaining that he was too friendly. It would be great if we sign players on that, irrespective of manager, bust a gut for the club and the fans that pay their wages. Off late, other than Newell, I’m not seeing that level of desire and commitment from any of the them! Maybe that’s just your typical modern footballer thought🙄

h1bs4life
28-08-2023, 12:45 PM
If he speaks to the players the way he utters garbage to the press then not surprised they have switched off but they have a responsibility to the club / fans to give there all , how many can look themselves in the mirror and say they have.
Dressing room unrest ? Heard these stories before , of the senior players mentioned Marshall, Hanlon, Stevenson, Newell, Doidge and Boyle all bar Boyle can go for me.
Maybe explains why some of the new signings aren’t getting game time 2 different factions in the dressing room.
Strong manager required to clear out the dressing room.

28-08-2023, 12:46 PM
I've been to every home game this season and not once could I say the players weren't trying or giving full effort. But if you have a manager who inspires you maybe you find that wee bit extra and perhaps that was lacking under LJ. Look at McLean or Ferguson, neither had a reputation as an arm round the shoulder kind of manager, but their players would run through the proverbial brick wall for them, maybe it was fear :greengrin

If reports are true that LJ had a habit of commenting that the players weren't implementing the tactics he was giving them perhaps he had a problem communicating them and the bloomin' players took to the park unsure of what they were supposed to be doing. Basically the manager was saying the players were too stupid to understand what he was asking them to do. It was clear, certainly against Luzern away, that he had told them to give up the wings. If you then have a go at them for losing goals from crosses you could see why they might get a bit pissed off.

Maybe the guy really was a slaver and after 10 minutes in the film room or 5 minutes into his pre match team talk all the players could hear was :blah::blah::blah: ... Who knows.

28-08-2023, 01:00 PM

:agree: The main board has become a cesspit.

If I was a lazy fat journo then I'd join Hibs Net, throw in a few unsubstantiated rumours and then sit back and watch Hibs fans tear themselves and the club to threads. The headlines would write themselves.

28-08-2023, 01:04 PM
:agree: The main board has become a cesspit.

If I was a lazy fat journo then I'd join Hibs Net, throw in a few unsubstantiated rumours and then sit back and watch Hibs fans tear themselves and the club to threads. The headlines would write themselves.

Could probably level the same accusation at any fans forum anywhere to be fair :greengrin

Not So Young
28-08-2023, 01:04 PM
Posted this already.

If this is the case, and I'm not questioning your post, then we should see a clear reaction and improvement over the next two league games

28-08-2023, 01:24 PM
The players have a duty to give everything on the park for the fans who pay good money to come and watch them. If any of them have downed tools or given less than 100% because they didn't like the manager they need emptied at the first opportunity. Shouldn't be hard to spot with all the fancy sports science technology we have now. I hope it really isn't the case.

28-08-2023, 01:28 PM
The players have a duty to give everything on the park for the fans who pay good money to come and watch them. If any of them have downed tools or given less than 100% because they didn't like the manager they need emptied at the first opportunity. Shouldn't be hard to spot with all the fancy sports science technology we have now. I hope it really isn't the case.

Whether it’s conscious or sub conscious on their part, you can almost guarantee the effort levels will improve when the new manager comes in.

Whether it’s tactical, not liking someone, confidence or whatever you see it pretty much every time a manager is coming towards the end. It happens at every level and it’s not as straightforward as just saying they should be giving everything IMO.

28-08-2023, 01:29 PM
Need a new announcer too. Hibernian Fccccccccc

28-08-2023, 01:33 PM
Let’s see what stories come out before we judge anyone. I don’t think anyone would begrudge a player feeling totally dejected under someone like Terry Butcher or Colin Calderwood..

Similarly an exaggeration is halfway around the world before the truth has had a chance to get its shoes on.

Let’s see what reaction we get from the team.

28-08-2023, 01:37 PM

Christ that does my head in.

28-08-2023, 01:41 PM

Needs to turn it down a notch

Cannae hear yourself think as you try to work out this week’s lineup

28-08-2023, 01:47 PM
Lewis will have a good few stories to talk about when he writes his autobiography.

WeAreHibs
28-08-2023, 01:49 PM

I like it tbf!

WestStandWillie
28-08-2023, 01:50 PM

Nippy eh. Terrible stadium announcer.

28-08-2023, 01:55 PM

Not at all.

28-08-2023, 01:58 PM
Lewis will have a good few stories to talk about when he writes his autobiography.

He’s too nice to dish the dirt I think.

Although it would be funny if retired football player Lewis Stevenson turns into a really bitchy, gossipy pundit as a second career. :greengrin

28-08-2023, 01:59 PM

Although it would be funny if retired football player Lewis Stevenson turns into a really bitchy, gossipy pundit as a second career. :greengrin

Would like him to refer to himself entirely in the third person for the last year of his career.

28-08-2023, 02:10 PM
Would like him to refer to himself entirely in the third person for the last year of his career.

That would be brilliant.

Hibees1973
28-08-2023, 02:10 PM
I know a friend of a friend, etc, who works at East Mains.

When we went on that bad run just after the World Cup word is there was a fall out between Kensall & Johnson regarding a couple of signings. Suppose that's not rare between a CE and a manager. It's been kind of ropey since then and this filtered through to the squad. Johnson was almost sacked after the SC loss to the Yam, but IG decided to keep things as they were. Maybe it was cos of Ron Gordon being unwell, but anyway nothing changed.

From what I've heard it was not just a few players who disliked Johnson. More like a 70/30 split who just didn't take to Johnson.

28-08-2023, 02:14 PM

if he tells all he's a closet Jambo he would soon find himself on Sportsound

Pytheas
28-08-2023, 02:20 PM

When we went on that bad run just after the World Cup word is there was a fall out between Kensall & Johnson regarding a couple of signings. Suppose that's not rare between a CE and a manager. It's been kind of ropey since then and this filtered through to the squad. Johnson was almost sacked after the SC loss to the Yam, but IG decided to keep things as they were. Maybe it was cos of Ron Gordon being unwell, but anyway nothing changed.

From what I've heard it was not just a few players who disliked Johnson. More like a 70/30 split who just didn't take to Johnson.

Did Johnson not say something along the lines of "I've been consistently asking for what we need" in that interview on Saturday.

Weird that we've been spending so much money but the manager still not happy with signings. I can't see the likes of McInnes being happy with having little or no say in the market.

28-08-2023, 02:31 PM

When there's a new thread, I always check to see when the poster joined Hibs.Net and their post count. I'm not the most prolific of posters given the length of time I've been on here but it's definitely more than four or five per year

Hibees1973
28-08-2023, 02:41 PM
Did Johnson not say something along the lines of "I've been consistently asking for what we need" in that interview on Saturday.

Weird that we've been spending so much money but the manager still not happy with signings. I can't see the likes of McInnes being happy with having little or no say in the market.

I've not heard what Johnson said on Saturday. I stopped listening to his interviews a while ago after he spouted things like his game intelligence and red arrows stuff. Sadly I did come across the odd bit of him in the paper, which was more difficult to avoid.

I'm just delighted he is gone now and I don't need to read any more of his cr*p. I'm still concerned though regarding some of the key decision makers who are still at the club.

Just feel our next manager will have to be very flexible to fit in with who we already have in charge of things. When they see how things have been run and who is running it, most of the credible candidates will not come near us.

28-08-2023, 02:46 PM

Don't know if he is still there, but the guy at Liverpool was brilliant, even when he announced the scorer of one of their goals it sounded like he was telling you his cat had just been run over :faf:

28-08-2023, 02:46 PM

Not sure what was said on Saturday but he said a good few weeks back that he thought we had about enough to get through the European games and the first 2 or 3 league games. He was wrong then and no amount of comment after the event will change that.

Johnson or no Johnson, we've still got a lot of business to do by Thursday if we're to have any confidence we're going to achieve what we set out to this season. I was actually thrilled with the start to the window too, we've just lost our way big time.

28-08-2023, 02:50 PM
Don't know if he is still there, but the guy at Liverpool was brilliant, even when he announced the scorer of one of their goals it sounded like he was telling you his cat had just been run over :faf:

That's George Sephton - he's been doing it since Kevin Keegan's debut for Liverpool in 1971!

Barrie has a long way to go

28-08-2023, 02:58 PM

Why would Hbs fans try to stir things up on social media? You think they post made up stuff just to wind up other fans?

Seems a bit far fetched.

Much more likely is that they were posting stuff they'd heard.

Players have mates that they talk to. It's not hard for their thoughts to become known to others and then end up online.

They're not bound to secrecy and if they want to slag off a colleague or their boss, so what. Happens in all walks of life.

28-08-2023, 03:11 PM

:agree: nippy

28-08-2023, 03:20 PM

We're beating Villa 6-0 on Thursday aren't we? 🤔

28-08-2023, 03:36 PM
We're beating Villa 6-0 on Thursday aren't we? 🤔

5-0. Out on penalties. That’s the Hibs way.

28-08-2023, 03:54 PM
Why would Hbs fans try to stir things up on social media? You think they post made up stuff just to wind up other fans?

Seems a bit far fetched.

Much more likely is that they were posting stuff they'd heard.

Players have mates that they talk to. It's not hard for their thoughts to become known to others and then end up online.

They're not bound to secrecy and if they want to slag off a colleague or their boss, so what. Happens in all walks of life.

I think you will find that a lot of those “Hibs” fans on social media are not actually Hibs fans - shocking, isn’t it!

Prof. Shaggy
28-08-2023, 04:00 PM

Nah, it'll be 4-0 and Boyle will put a tap-in over the bar. 5-5 before we know it.

LunasBoots
28-08-2023, 04:28 PM

Probably not far from the truth, before last January it was the same seemingly so it doesn't surprise me others are the same now.

28-08-2023, 04:39 PM

I heard that as well but LJ has done a lot of that throughout his time at Hibs. He’s been backed to the tune of 25-30 players in the space of a year. It’s always been everyone else’s fault apart from his own. If the squad isn’t the way he wants it then that for me is down to him. We’re spending a lot of cash and did it very early this summer. We can’t keep signing player after player.

IvanSproule
28-08-2023, 04:40 PM
When there's a new thread, I always check to see when the poster joined Hibs.Net and their post count. I'm not the most prolific of posters given the length of time I've been on here but it's definitely more than four or five per yearEvery new thread?....

Anyway well done mate you caught me I'm off back to follow follow.

28-08-2023, 04:48 PM
if he tells all he's a closet Jambo he would soon find himself on Sportsound

Did someone say a (water) closet Jambo from Sportsound? 🤔
https://i.ibb.co/0jpBDtZ/Levein.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)

Skol
28-08-2023, 05:42 PM
If fish did t get on with Johnson after his comments, why did fish return to hibs and not go to Aberdeen who were also interested?

Paulie Walnuts
28-08-2023, 06:01 PM
If fish did t get on with Johnson after his comments, why did fish return to hibs and not go to Aberdeen who were also interested?

His comments were this season, no?

Fanforlife
28-08-2023, 06:03 PM

From what I've heard it was not just a few players who disliked Johnson. More like a 70/30 split who just didn't take to Johnson.heard exactly the same regarding players split opinion of him.

Skol
28-08-2023, 06:07 PM
Not sure when they were. I assumed last season

28-08-2023, 06:07 PM
His comments were this season, no?

Comments were after St Mirren defeat this season

Skol
28-08-2023, 06:11 PM

I was away on holiday so missed that game and didn’t follow anything from afar.

28-08-2023, 06:12 PM
I've heard a few shockers but probably the best one was when he told the players they will never play for a better manager than him. He's a trumpet.

hibee316
28-08-2023, 06:15 PM
I've heard a few shockers but probably the best one was when he told the players they will never play for a better manager than him. He's a trumpet.

When did he say that?

Logie Green
28-08-2023, 06:24 PM
That's George Sephton - he's been doing it since Kevin Keegan's debut for Liverpool in 1971!

Barrie has a long way to go

George Sephton is the best stadium announcer by a mile, keeps it simple and gets the timing just right. Barrie Wilkins hasn’t got a clue in comparison.

28-08-2023, 06:28 PM

Did he ever set his hair on fire?

I feel like there's a whole banter years thread we could have had here.

leithsansiro
28-08-2023, 06:33 PM
I actually totally get the thing about players perhaps not taking to LJ. They all knew full well that he was on a shoogly peg and that they could get him gone if they didn’t go the extra mile.

I’m NOT saying that players purposely stitched him up, because they’re professionals and have sporting integrity etc. However, at the end of the day, as much as we all love the club, playing football is just a job. I know a few ex and current pros who’ve said as much.

Players didn’t go the extra mile for him because, let’s face it, he comes across as an arrogant fud. And none of us would go the extra mile to keep our boss we hated in a job

LewysGot2
28-08-2023, 06:38 PM

Harsh.

He's better than most. Although it would be good if he managed to pronounce Delferriere a) the same way twice and b) correctly 🤣🙈

badabing67
28-08-2023, 06:57 PM

Is this about the lion

HendoDelivered
28-08-2023, 07:24 PM

Outstanding stuff 🤣🤣

28-08-2023, 07:30 PM
Is Graham Spiers going to get more listeners if he says there was a rift between manager and players and there are stories to tell or if he says they all liked him and there's no juicy gossip to be had ? :hmmm:

28-08-2023, 07:30 PM

I feel really bad for the likes of Lewie, who may never again get to play for someone who’s basically a chilled out entertainer.

Fact!

Simkin911
28-08-2023, 07:50 PM
I blame the players for failing to deliver the promised ‘panache’ on Saturday versus Livingston. Maybe they didn’t understand the meaning of the word? 🤷🏼*♂️. Glad the slaver is gone but wish he’d been successful as I would have ‘persevered’ with his slavers in lieu of a successful team.

28-08-2023, 08:03 PM
I’ve a feeling Boyle didn’t like LJ much.

Snap! Think Boyle would like the Oz manager at Hibs

28-08-2023, 08:07 PM
Is Graham Spiers going to get more listeners if he says there was a rift between manager and players and there are stories to tell or if he says they all liked him and there's no juicy gossip to be had ? :hmmm:When the seagulls follow the trawler, it's because they think sardines will be thrown into the sea.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

LewysGot2
28-08-2023, 08:10 PM
When the seagulls follow the trawler, it's because they think sardines will be thrown into the sea.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

But Monday the sharks just go around being aggressive

28-08-2023, 08:38 PM
I blame the players for failing to deliver the promised ‘panache’ on Saturday versus Livingston. Maybe they didn’t understand the meaning of the word? 🤷🏼*♂️. Glad the slaver is gone but wish he’d been successful as I would have ‘persevered’ with his slavers in lieu of a successful team.

I think Mikel Arteta is a slaver too but he seems to be doing ok.

28-08-2023, 08:46 PM

Joe Newell off for an early night

Got 2 hours of football plus penalties ahead of him on thursday

Silky
28-08-2023, 08:59 PM
Is Graham Spiers going to get more listeners if he says there was a rift between manager and players and there are stories to tell or if he says they all liked him and there's no juicy gossip to be had ? :hmmm:

Graham Spiers is a slaver. If he said the sky was blue, I'd take that with a pinch of salt.

28-08-2023, 09:06 PM
How many managers is that they've managed to see off?

BobMilne
28-08-2023, 09:21 PM
Did someone say a (water) closet Jambo from Sportsound? 🤔
https://i.ibb.co/0jpBDtZ/Levein.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)

The latrine

28-08-2023, 09:22 PM
Graham Spiers is a slaver. If he said the sky was blue, I'd take that with a pinch of salt.

Always thought he was one of the better journos. At least has a backbone to call out Sevco

28-08-2023, 09:23 PM
The latrine

The Levein surely :greengrin

Just_Jimmy
28-08-2023, 11:48 PM
Kensell needs to learn to keep his trap shut and stop trying so hard to be one of the boys. It’s verging on embarrassingIt's past that. It's entirely unprofessional. He should be emptied also.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Donegal Hibby
28-08-2023, 11:55 PM
It's past that. It's entirely unprofessional. He should be emptied also.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

:agree::top marks

cameronw-hfc
29-08-2023, 05:01 AM
I posted on the PM board about hearing he had a pretty major fall out in Dec/January(not sure when the fallout was, i just got told about it around that time and posted then, could have been earlier, could have been around that time, no clue.), with Mckirdy being one of the main ones and a few players not happy at all with his treatment of Harry and a few younger players. If what I heard was true, and no reason to think otherwise as the person is pretty solid, it was bordering on bullying at times with certain players. Mckirdy one was a bit different but still shan. Basically lambasted him for not being able to step up, despite knowing about his struggles to settle in his first 6 months, and a few weren't chuffed with his calling Harry out in the media then piling pressure on him by starting him in big games after not much game time then moaning that he couldn't immediately adapt/step up and a few got sick of it. contrary to what most seem to believe, Harry is a very, very popular lad in the dressing room.

Don't know what young players he was supposedly a bit shan to, just got told Harrys name and 'a few of the younger first team players'.

Pytheas
29-08-2023, 06:54 AM
I posted on the PM board about hearing he had a pretty major fall out in Dec/January(not sure when the fallout was, i just got told about it around that time and posted then, could have been earlier, could have been around that time, no clue.), with Mckirdy being one of the main ones and a few players not happy at all with his treatment of Harry and a few younger players. If what I heard was true, and no reason to think otherwise as the person is pretty solid, it was bordering on bullying at times with certain players. Mckirdy one was a bit different but still shan. Basically lambasted him for not being able to step up, despite knowing about his struggles to settle in his first 6 months, and a few weren't chuffed with his calling Harry out in the media then piling pressure on him by starting him in big games after not much game time then moaning that he couldn't immediately adapt/step up and a few got sick of it. contrary to what most seem to believe, Harry is a very, very popular lad in the dressing room.

Don't know what young players he was supposedly a bit shan to, just got told Harrys name and 'a few of the younger first team players'.

Well rid of this clown by the sounds of it.

Honestly bordering on negligence from the people above the manager letting this sort of **** happen under their noses. Need to put a grown up in charge this time.

WestStandWillie
29-08-2023, 07:08 AM

McKirdy does look an infectious individual- maybe Johnson didn't like that and tried to peg him down a bit.

29-08-2023, 07:18 AM
McKirdy does look an infectious individual- maybe Johnson didn't like that and tried to peg him down a bit.

While my views on Johnson are well known I don’t think McKirdy was entirely blameless. Missing a training session to watch England play, his behaviour at the golf do being two examples.

Pytheas
29-08-2023, 09:09 AM
While my views on Johnson are well known I don’t think McKirdy was entirely blameless. Missing a training session to watch England play, his behaviour at the golf do being two examples.

I have no trouble believing that guys like McKirdy and Laidlaw are difficult to manage and will need disciplining. A half decent man-manager would be able to do that without destroying any relationship with the player.

29-08-2023, 09:13 AM

what was the golf club incident?

heid the baw
29-08-2023, 09:43 AM
What Johnston and Maloney both lacked was personal authority, which is crucial in managing players at a club like Hibs.
What I mean is the way that you carry yourself so everyone knows you are in charge without you having to remind them of your job title.
We've all had bosses who we worked better for because they had this character trait.
Maloney was too timid and Johnston was arrogant, wooly and all over the shop. His management style was similar to Butcher.
Instead of long interview process Gordon and Kensall should just watch reruns of interviews of potential candidates after defeats. Tells you loads about how they carry themselves

29-08-2023, 09:44 AM
What Johnston and Maloney both lacked was personal authority, which is crucial in managing players at a club like Hibs.
What I mean is the way that you carry yourself so everyone knows you are in charge without you having to remind them of your job title.
We've all had bosses who we worked better for because they had this character trait.
Maloney was too timid and Johnston was arrogant, wooly and all over the shop. His management style was similar to Butcher
Instead of long interview process Gordon and Kensall should just watch reruns of interviews of potential candidates after defeats. Tells you loads about how they carry themselves

I agree with that. Liked LJ, didn't like Maloney but neither had that aura about them.

29-08-2023, 09:45 AM
I have no trouble believing that guys like McKirdy and Laidlaw are difficult to manage and will need disciplining. A half decent man-manager would be able to do that without destroying any relationship with the player.

I don't mind a good player being difficult to manage as long as he's doing it on the park. McKirdy is hopeless.

29-08-2023, 09:46 AM
Always thought he was one of the better journos. At least has a backbone to call out Sevco

He's a top class journo.

29-08-2023, 09:50 AM

Don’t know the specifics, just that they were not happy with his behaviour. Think it was a club organised thing at either Renaissance or Archerfield.

GreenGray
29-08-2023, 09:59 AM

Frustrating to think that Johnson may have been the reason we lost top youth talent like Laidlaw or stunted others' development.

29-08-2023, 10:28 AM
Was this podcast not meant to have been released yesterday?

29-08-2023, 10:32 AM

It is released. I saw it on twitter this morning.

29-08-2023, 10:37 AM

Plays golf. He's obviously a **** :greengrin

Juice-Terry
29-08-2023, 11:14 AM
Does anyone know what Spiers had to say then?

badabing67
29-08-2023, 12:48 PM

Are you talking about the Graham Spiers podcast

29-08-2023, 12:54 PM
Plays golf. He's obviously a **** :greengrin

29-08-2023, 12:59 PM

He interviewed Tam McManus. That immediately put me off it.

29-08-2023, 01:01 PM
Are you talking about the Graham Spiers podcast

Yeah, sorry, wasn’t sure there was another podcast folk were on about.

29-08-2023, 01:04 PM

Hearing stories of players downing tools, any team, makes me angry.
These guys are well paid, there to entertain the fans, how dare they not give 100% every time.

29-08-2023, 01:12 PM
Maloney was too timid and Johnston was arrogant, wooly and all over the shop. His management style was similar to Butcher.

In education many management set ups require you to teach a lesson as part of the process. Means you can gauge how the kids respond, early signs of good relationships.

Why not ask prospective managers to teach a session, it would be good to then get feedback from players afterwards. Similarly get youth players to walk the prospective manager round the training ground, they would give first hand info on that person's personality. the young folk wont lie.

Maybe we do this but it means you avoid wallopers like LJ.

Pytheas
29-08-2023, 01:38 PM
Hearing stories of players downing tools, any team, makes me angry.
These guys are well paid, there to entertain the fans, how dare they not give 100% every time.

Who's downed tools at hibs?

The opposite seems more likely to me after hearing some of Johnson's behaviour.

I'd suggest that having a half decent finish to last season, winning a derby, beating celtic and getting through a good European tie all while having a tactically inept little Napoleon as the gaffer might mean we have some decent characters in the squad that have kept him in a job this long with their professionalism.

29-08-2023, 01:43 PM
Who's downed tools at hibs?

The opposite seems more likely to me after hearing some of Johnson's behaviour.

I'd suggest that having a half decent finish to last season, winning a derby, beating celtic and getting through a good European tie all while having a tactically inept little Napoleon as the gaffer might mean we have some decent characters in the squad that have kept him in a job this long with their professionalism.

:agree: I’ve seen nothing to suggest they downed tools. They looked like a group of players who didn’t seem clear on how they were supposed to be playing and that lies with Johnson.

29-08-2023, 01:57 PM

He had Tam McManus and Pat McPartlin on. Asked them their thoughts on LJ being sacked, and spent a bit of time discussing that. Neither were positive, and both said that losing the fans is a death knell (I’m paraphrasing). One made the point that he was well backed in terms of money and volume of signings, yet most weeks the team was filled with players that pre-dated LJ jointing the club. Another point one of them made was that Hanlon and Stevenson being dropped could have been LJ basically saying to the fans ‘see, you wanted them out, so it’s your fault’ (again paraphrasing).

Spiers then said he had had a lengthy discussion with a prominent Hibs player (unnamed), who had little positive to say about LJ. The gist appears to be that he wasn’t particularly interested in coaching sessions or match prep, and that a lot of the persona he presented to the media about himself (good coach, good tactical guy) were a total sham. Given the comments on this thread and going back over several months, it’s probably fair to say this is consistent with what some posters have heard. Spiers didn’t go near naming the player, but said a few times that they were prominent. I think that probably means someone who’s not only well known but also likely to have been either with Hibs a long time or involved in Scottish football a long time, so that’s so short list in my book.

There was also a broad chat about potential candidates for the job, with McInnes and Scott Brown being the main names discussed.

29-08-2023, 02:41 PM
He had Tam McManus and Pat McPartlin on. Asked them their thoughts on LJ being sacked, and spent a bit of time discussing that. Neither were positive, and both said that losing the fans is a death knell (I’m paraphrasing). One made the point that he was well backed in terms of money and volume of signings, yet most weeks the team was filled with players that pre-dated LJ jointing the club. Another point one of them made was that Hanlon and Stevenson being dropped could have been LJ basically saying to the fans ‘see, you wanted them out, so it’s your fault’ (again paraphrasing).

Spiers then said he had had a lengthy discussion with a prominent Hibs player (unnamed), who had little positive to say about LJ. The gist appears to be that he wasn’t particularly interested in coaching sessions or match prep, and that a lot of the persona he presented to the media about himself (good coach, good tactical guy) were a total sham. Given the comments on this thread and going back over several months, it’s probably fair to say this is consistent with what some posters have heard. Spiers didn’t go near naming the player, but said a few times that they were prominent. I think that probably means someone who’s not only well known but also likely to have been either with Hibs a long time or involved in Scottish football a long time, so that’s so short list in my book.

There was also a broad chat about potential candidates for the job, with McInnes and Scott Brown being the main names discussed.

I know we did almost nothing on defensive shapes. It was just attacking and then get the ball back quickly. Harbottle had a 30 min session playing RB before the Livi game.

IvanSproule
29-08-2023, 02:47 PM
I know we did almost nothing on defensive shapes. It was just attacking and then get the ball back quickly. Harbottle had a 30 min session playing RB before the Livi game.That's unbelievable [emoji23] welcome to Hibs Riley.
I watched him as he walked round the pitch after finally being taken off, genuinely looked close to tears he was raging.

29-08-2023, 02:56 PM
I know we did almost nothing on defensive shapes. It was just attacking and then get the ball back quickly. Harbottle had a 30 min session playing RB before the Livi game.

Be fair, we were incredibly good at winning the ball back, so that training ground work paid off.

No, wait...

And a right back only needs 30 minutes of work. They'll either chip one into the channel, or more common give it wide to Boyle, get it back, give it to a centre half. Probably do it again within half a minute or so.

29-08-2023, 03:04 PM

Not much of interest, tbh.

leithsansiro
29-08-2023, 03:06 PM

Really? If so, there's beyond negligent. Did Lee imagine that our attacking prowess would simply keep the ball off the opposition for 90 minutes? If that is true, and it pretty much looks that way on the pitch, it's a wonder that players haven't called him out before now. Junior sides would do more.

"Eh gaffer, are we gonna be practicing any defen...."
"No, shut up and pass the ball to Boyle or Youan and hope for the best. And get my app downloaded while you're at it."

Hannah_hfc
29-08-2023, 03:08 PM
Some of what has been mentioned in this thread aligns with my thoughts on a Joe Newell article by Patrick McPartlin just last week.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/what-joe-newell-had-to-say-about-his-new-role-in-the-hibs-midfield-4265704

Opening the article, I was fully expecting a Newell to go into some detail of how Johnson has instructed all the midfielders to play depending on who is midfield in any particular line up and that his role had changed with the arrival of Levitt. The first sentence in the Joe Newell quote below took me by surprise at the time and on hindsight seems very telling.

Maybe out midfield woes are partly down to lack of any individual instruction.

The manager’s not really asked me to do anything different, but I can see why you might think that. I think there are certain situations, as you get older, when you recognise that certain games ask for more. When we went to Luzern away, I knew that I wouldn't be dropping deep to get on the ball, and I knew that I wouldn't get more than a few passes in the game. I know that different games ask for different types of things and I try to recognise that before and during games. I have been enjoying my performances and enjoying playing, definitely.

29-08-2023, 03:08 PM

How do you know that?

I didn't think you were ITK.

Juice-Terry
29-08-2023, 03:51 PM

Thanks. Much appreciated.

29-08-2023, 04:01 PM

Its blatantly obvious our defence didn't know what they were doing and this just proves it. Jeez, the more I hear about this clown the more angry I get.

29-08-2023, 04:09 PM

Doesn’t surprise. His thoughts v Raith were that our attackers would blow them away and that would be enough.

Now I know I can’t stand the guy, but even then when I see and hear the things that went on while he was our manager I’m staggered he’s managed over 500 games and been with so many different clubs.

29-08-2023, 04:14 PM
Will find out in next few matches hopefully the players get confidence back after livi performance suspected not a happy camp

MikeyS
29-08-2023, 04:37 PM
Doesn’t surprise. His thoughts v Raith were that our attackers would blow them away and that would be enough.

Now I know I can’t stand the guy, but even then when I see and hear the things that went on while he was our manager I’m staggered he’s managed over 500 games and been with so many different clubs.

It's mad to think that there are a whole host of guys just like him going round and round clubs in England racking up huge amounts of games in between massive pay offs from clubs!

We are all in the wrong game!

29-08-2023, 05:07 PM
How do you know that?I didn't think you were ITK.Everyone on the planet is apart from me. Well it seems like that some days.....

JammyDoidger
29-08-2023, 05:15 PM
Aiden McGeady giving a wee bit away about Johnson on PLZ soccer.

29-08-2023, 05:17 PM
Auden McGeady giving a wee bit away about Johnson on PLZ soccer.

Not him again

JammyDoidger
29-08-2023, 05:18 PM
Not him again

Speaking highly of SDG.

29-08-2023, 05:18 PM
Not him again

Bumping his gums about his time with us, and is now out for five months with a gum injury.

Torto7
29-08-2023, 05:26 PM
Bumping his gums about his time with us, and is now out for five months with a gum injury.

There's something funny about Aiden. He's been an old grump since his teens. I had a night out with him years ago as Graham Smith ex Hibs goalie is my mate and good mates with Scott McDonald who's pals with Aiden. He spent the entire night moaning and this was him loaded and with every bird in the place gawping at him. He's a bit like Karl Pilkington. I genuinely reckon he should try his arm at comedy.

29-08-2023, 05:27 PM
Thanks. Much appreciated.

Happy to help mate 😊

29-08-2023, 05:33 PM

leith lynx
29-08-2023, 07:07 PM
There's something funny about Aiden. He's been an old grump since his teens. I had a night out with him years ago as Graham Smith ex Hibs goalie is my mate and good mates with Scott McDonald who's pals with Aiden. He spent the entire night moaning and this was him loaded and with every bird in the place gawping at him. He's a bit like Karl Pilkington. I genuinely reckon he should try his arm at comedy.

McGeady is a genuine inspiration for the misreablist movement, a bona fide despond.

29-08-2023, 07:08 PM
How do you know that?

I didn't think you were ITK.

I thought everyone knew Brightside is actually Paul Hanlon :na na:

The Captain....
29-08-2023, 07:15 PM
I thought everyone knew Brightside is actually Paul Hanlon :na na:Should change his username to "wrongside" then.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

29-08-2023, 07:18 PM
Not him again

Scared to hear some home truths about Johnson are we?? 😀

29-08-2023, 07:21 PM
I thought everyone knew Brightside is actually Paul Hanlon :na na:

29-08-2023, 07:24 PM
To be fair fellas this is a bit of a tittle tattle thread isnt it?

29-08-2023, 07:25 PM
Aiden McGeady giving a wee bit away about Johnson on PLZ soccer.

What did he give away? What was he saying?

29-08-2023, 07:36 PM
What did he give away? What was he saying?

Tune in tomorrow.
https://youtu.be/6Ht9HUIHjdc?si=CIe3hApgyDa6tjK-

29-08-2023, 08:15 PM
Should change his username to "wrongside" then.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

Surely "Offside"??

HIBS NUTS
29-08-2023, 08:43 PM
LJ wasent popular with the players or staff.
We have done the right thing to get rid.

IvanSproule
29-08-2023, 09:39 PM
We have done the right thing to get rid.The people that hired him should be nowhere near the next appointment.

I really like the Gordons but the 1st time Ian Gordon meets the new manager should be when McDermott introduces him after signing the contract.

29-08-2023, 09:47 PM
We have done the right thing to get rid.

We have done the right thing by giving him the sack, but the reason wasn't because he wasn't popular

29-08-2023, 10:06 PM
The people that hired him should be nowhere near the next appointment.

I really like the Gordons but the 1st time Ian Gordon meets the new manager should be when McDermott introduces him after signing the contract.

McDermott should lead the process but I disagree that it should solely be his decision (presumably that's what you are saying). As owner, I don't see why Ian shouldn't meet the final candidates, if he wants, to be comfortable with who McDermott recommends.

29-08-2023, 10:10 PM

I subscribed to listen to it and immediately unsubscribed right after. Total wishy washy stuff from Spiers. McManus championing Brown for the job and shouting absolutely constantly. McPartlin was choosing his words very carefully.

Was a pretty poor listen I thought. I expect more juicy gossip for £2.

29-08-2023, 10:27 PM
I subscribed to listen to it and immediately unsubscribed right after. Total wishy washy stuff from Spiers. McManus championing Brown for the job and shouting absolutely constantly. McPartlin was choosing his words very carefully.

Was a pretty poor listen I thought. I expect more juicy gossip for £2.

I did exactly the same.

I did download a few Hibs related episodes first though.

We do have a month before we lose access, but you have to download them you can keep them, I think.

aberhibsfc
29-08-2023, 10:33 PM
An OF stalwart with former Hibs playing connections, Scott Brown is far too inexperienced to be anywhere near consideration for the Hibs management post.

I don't need the Glasgow press gang telling me who should be favourite for our top job.

The only time they lower themselves to talk about non OF teams is when they are trying to foist one of their darlings onto us.

And they can quit throwing other no marks our way!

Get stuffed Speirs!

29-08-2023, 10:45 PM
Next manager poll on here is fair enough but a bit academic. A more interesting poll, however, would be one for all players to choose who they would prefer. It would be strictly anonymous, of-course. I bet it would throw up some juicy talking points.

30-08-2023, 11:16 AM
Next manager poll on here is fair enough but a bit academic. A more interesting poll, however, would be one for all players to choose who they would prefer. It would be strictly anonymous, of-course. I bet it would throw up some juicy talking points.

I think we should let Harry McKirdy decide. I'd be willing to bet he'd come up with some interesting candidates. :)

Saint Hibee
30-08-2023, 11:20 AM
I think we should let Harry McKirdy decide. I'd be willing to bet he'd come up with some interesting candidates. :)

Harry McKirdy player/manager is clearly the way forward.

30-08-2023, 07:32 PM
I'm so fed up with Mckirdy and he's not even in the team. I hope Chelsea get pumped every week.

30-08-2023, 08:10 PM
I'm so fed up with Mckirdy and he's not even in the team. I hope Chelsea get pumped every week.That seems totally unnecessary

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Silky
30-08-2023, 08:17 PM
He interviewed Tam McManus. That immediately put me off it.

Two slavers slavering. Sounds a great listen!!

30-08-2023, 08:48 PM
I'm so fed up with Mckirdy and he's not even in the team. I hope Chelsea get pumped every week.

Easy mate, the guy is recovering from heart surgery, give him a wee bit of a break

30-08-2023, 08:55 PM
I did exactly the same.

I did download a few Hibs related episodes first though.

We do have a month before we lose access, but you have to download them you can keep them, I think.

I’ll try a couple more but it wasn’t quite the exposé that he made it out to be.

Didn’t like that I couldn’t listen to it on Spotify where all my other podcasts are. I’m getting too old and just want things to be easy [emoji23]

30-08-2023, 08:58 PM

Really :greengrin

Up-the-slope
30-08-2023, 09:20 PM
To be fair fellas this is a bit of a tittle tattle thread isnt it?

:rotflmao:the winner of the Understatement Awards