View Full Version : The next manager poll
28-08-2023, 10:25 AM
It's that time again. These are the top 22 odds as things stand.
Paulie Walnuts
28-08-2023, 10:31 AM
McInnes although one that stands out from that list is Marti Cifuentes. On paper he looks very interesting as does Knutsen.
28-08-2023, 10:32 AM
I want him out, whoever gets it.
28-08-2023, 10:36 AM
I’ve gone Robinson on the basis McInnes has too much of a good thing going close to home to consider us. On the young manager front it’s looking like Rhys McCabe might have it but it’s far too early in his career for us to consider him. We can’t afford the gamble right now.
Donegal Hibby
28-08-2023, 10:36 AM
Voted " Others" . My preferred choice being Graham Arnold or Liam Manning. Only 3 that would really bother me getting it are Robinson , Mackay or Martindale tbh .
28-08-2023, 10:38 AM
Where can we see the odds?
Some decent names there and some not so decent.
28-08-2023, 10:39 AM
I didn't want him before this poll was created.
hibsforeurope
28-08-2023, 10:39 AM
Absolutely wouldn’t want Steve evans, not that fussed about the rest but we can’t go for Evans.
28-08-2023, 10:41 AM
I’ve gone Robinson on the basis McInnes has too much of a good thing going close to home to consider us. On the young manager front it’s looking like Rhys McCabe might have it but it’s far too early in his career for us to consider him. We can’t afford the gamble right now.
I'm not sure why Robinson is such a favourite. He's had a few good results but his overall record is poor.
Do we write that off as him cutting his teeth and he's arrived now. Or are we expecting his percentages will improve just because we're hibs and our budget so incredibly dwarves all others?
Perhaps maybe its that the players will love him and not down tools...
28-08-2023, 10:44 AM
I'm not sure why Robinson is such a favourite. He's had a few good results but his overall record is poor.
Do we write that off as him cutting his teeth and he's arrived now. Or are we expecting his percentages will improve just because we're hibs and our budget so incredibly dwarves all others?
Perhaps maybe its that the players will love him and not down tools...
He has organised teams well everywhere he’s been. I might be in a minority here but I think our squad is easily good enough fir third. I think he has the tools to get us there. I’m sure that’s where we all want to be short/medium term. He has the personality and nous to do it.
28-08-2023, 10:44 AM
Absolutely wouldn’t want Steve evans, not that fussed about the rest but we can’t go for Evans.
Steve Evans....oh dear. I think The Badger would come if we showed interest. He has a 50% win ratio throughout his career. I think Martindale would be a shoe-in if his background was different.
28-08-2023, 10:48 AM
The bit in bold is exactly the reason we should be trying to get McInnes in my opinion.
Loads of names being thrown about who would be a risk, you just dinnae know how someone who has never managed in the SPL will do. Scottish football is different. It's manic, it quick paced, it's physical. The general quality of the football really isn't great, and at times can be brutal. Getting some manager coming in from another league where he's made a good name for himself playing attractive football sounds great, but it doesn't necessarily translate to the SPL. Can they adapt how their philosophy, and their "style" to a system that works for Hibs? Get the best out of what we have, not try to force a system that we can't get to work.
McInnes has a track record of improving teams in this league. "Oh, but his teams are boring"...except they're not, they win games and score goals, which is what we want to see.
We'd all love to see Hibs have a Latapy or Scott Allan in the midfield pulling the strings, but those players are a rarity in the SPL outside Celtc and Rangers.
He's here!
28-08-2023, 11:01 AM
Why would Tam McManus even be quoted?
We honestly don't have far to look if we want a boss with plenty of Scottish top flight experience who would bring some consistency to the way we play - and hopefully cut down on the absurd number of hapless defeats to smaller clubs. Any one of these four would be a solid appointment:
McInnes
Mackay
Martindale
Robinson
I'm Spartacus
28-08-2023, 11:09 AM
Will the 'Never should have sacked Ross' Brigade now become the 'Never should have sacked Johnson' Brigade?
Graham Arnold is under contract until 2026, so that name can be removed (I know he's not on the poll but being named elsewhere).
Alex Neil from Stoke?
The safe pair of hands has to be McInnes.
I wouldn't hate Stephen Robinson, St Mirren have been everything we haven't been for years, the players would hate it as they would have to work hard. If he can develop the likes of Gocic to be the player he is then we could do far worse.
We've spent some money with LJ, Vente looks everything he shouldn't be :(
I've seen enough from Stephen Robinson to say he would be a good appointment.
thebausburst
28-08-2023, 11:10 AM
With the dons McInness won the Scottish League Cup in 2014, finished Scottish Premiership runners-up on four occasions and reached three other cup finals during his spell in charge. If that’s not good enough for us then I give up!!
28-08-2023, 11:12 AM
Steve Evans....oh dear. I think The Badger would come if we showed interest. He has a 50% win ratio throughout his career. I think Martindale would be a shoe-in if his background was different.
Is 50% bad?
28-08-2023, 11:13 AM
With the dons McInness won the Scottish League Cup in 2014, finished Scottish Premiership runners-up on four occasions and reached three other cup finals during his spell in charge. If that’s not good enough for us then I give up!!
It's not good enough for Aberdeen - they gave up!
28-08-2023, 11:13 AM
Will the 'Never should have sacked Ross' Brigade now become the 'Never should have sacked Johnson' Brigade?
Graham Arnold is under contract until 2026, so that name can be removed (I know he's not on the poll but being named elsewhere).
Alex Neil from Stoke?
I wouldn't hate Stephen Robinson, St Mirren have been everything we haven't been for years, the players would hate it as they would have to work hard. If he can develop the likes of Gocic to be the player he is then we could do far worse.
I was very impressed by St Mirren the other week and also Robinson's comments after the game.
It's easy to focus on our own team's failings on the day but we are a side who have talented individuals and take a bit of beating. His side that day were well drilled, well organised and when he talked about the game afterwards you could see exactly what their plan was and how they went about carrying it out.
Did they not have a few excellent results against a good Celtic side last season too?
I'd never really have thought about him before (I know it didn't end that well for him at Motherwell) but I'd be giving him fairly serious consideration here.
HarpOnHibee
28-08-2023, 11:15 AM
No Yogi? He'll be going radge. :greengrin
Roy Keane would be immense. If every player in the squad had a beard like that, we'd never lose a game again.
Alvin
28-08-2023, 11:17 AM
Darren Moore doesn't have the worst record and seemed to handle the Sheffield Wednesday job well:
Darren Moore - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Darren_Moore)
He's here!
28-08-2023, 11:41 AM
Alex Neil from Stoke?
What do you mean with that Vente comment? Two crucial goals since arriving just 3 weeks ago and you're writing him off?
shetlandhibee
28-08-2023, 11:43 AM
Lennon with Scot brown as a number 2 👌👍✔️
28-08-2023, 11:44 AM
Darren Moore doesn't have the worst record and seemed to handle the Sheffield Wednesday job well:
Darren Moore - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Darren_Moore)
That’s who I’ve voted for. My only hesitation is the same one I’d have with any English manager: it would need to be drummed into them from the start how important cup games are for us. LJ and Heckingbottom didn’t seem to understand that.
28-08-2023, 11:45 AM
I voted 'other', so I can immediately put the boot in if anybody from the list is actually appointed.
28-08-2023, 11:46 AM
If Johnson had got us to Hampden 6 times in 2 years and got us finishing 3rd in the league then probably. But of course he didn't come close to that, so its very unlikely.
28-08-2023, 11:47 AM
Get them all out.
28-08-2023, 11:49 AM
No. Ross's record was excellent. The two aren't even close. Multiple Hampden trips and 3rd place.
Hail-Hail
28-08-2023, 11:53 AM
Lennon but just until season ends.
28-08-2023, 11:57 AM
Lennon but just until season ends.
You could have just said Lennon. Lennon would have handled the rest.
28-08-2023, 11:59 AM
You could have just said Lennon. Lennon would have handled the rest.
Then we can go full retro and get Stubbs back for the Championship.
USA_Hibee
28-08-2023, 12:00 PM
Alex Neil from Stoke?
New player, new team, new culture and already mentioning Vente is not good enough. Mental. We need to give these people time to adjust before getting on their back.
28-08-2023, 12:01 PM
Went for McInnes. I don't think he's an exciting prospect and it's not gonna get folk to rush back to ER short term.
But he is everything our last few appointments haven't been. Vastly experienced in this league, puts teams on the park that are usually hard to beat and doesn't think the dark arts should be ignored. His teams do score goals in spite of his reputation for boring football, IMO the guys a pragmatist and he wee wees with the appendage he has. Perhaps that's just what we need at this point.
He isn't in the poll, but somebody mentioned Alex Neil .... nae chance we could get him, but I'd bite yer bloody hand off.
scuttle
28-08-2023, 12:12 PM
Since Kennedy is so highly thought of at Celtic I'd go for him. But does he want to be a manager in his own right?
28-08-2023, 12:49 PM
Should we maybe have a poll on how long we think the next manager will last?
28-08-2023, 12:52 PM
Should we maybe have a poll on how long we think the next manager will last?
Is the current school of thought not 'will he outlast Lewis Stevenson' :greengrin
28-08-2023, 12:55 PM
Since Kennedy is so highly thought of at Celtic I'd go for him. But does he want to be a manager in his own right?
No thanks. He seems to be touted for most manager roles yet, other than a handful of caretaker games, he’s never managed a team at any level. That experiment went very wrong with Maloney, a good technical coach does not always equate to successful management. If Kennedy had the hunger for a management role I’m pretty sure he’d have left the comfort zone of his Celtic role.
Scott Brown is an interesting suggestion.
Right attitude but is he ready?
Roy Keane with Vrown assisting?! (We’d have no chance of landing that).
MelbourneHibees
28-08-2023, 01:03 PM
How much would McInnes cost in comp? 3 years still left?
28-08-2023, 01:06 PM
No. Ross's record was excellent. The two aren't even close. Multiple Hampden trips and 3rd place.
How did the Hampden trips go?
Sorry not a Jack fan. The team matched his personality.
Doesnt matter he's yesterday and wont be coming back as neither will Stubbs Or Lennon.
Time to move forward. No way will we go back to an ex Manager.
28-08-2023, 01:07 PM
No thanks. He seems to be touted for most manager roles yet, other than a handful of caretaker games, he’s never managed a team at any level. That experiment went very wrong with Maloney, a good technical coach does not always equate to successful management. If Kennedy had the hunger for a management role I’m pretty sure he’d have left the comfort zone of his Celtic role.
28-08-2023, 01:09 PM
F me. I want the players to respect or management team, not be absolutely bloody terrified of them :faf:
28-08-2023, 01:11 PM
That's Lee Johnson's ultimate legacy mate, he got us just far enough in Europe to make enough money that we can afford to pay compo for his successor :greengrin
Cat Stanton
28-08-2023, 01:20 PM
Yay! A poll!
Who voted for Tam McManus? Tam McManus?
Cat Stanton
28-08-2023, 01:22 PM
Lost last four games, has no wins from five, his team are (joint) bottom of the league, and he's getting flak from supporters. So, yes, it would pretty much be a seamless transition.
28-08-2023, 01:23 PM
Might cost nothing if McInnes had a release clause written in to his contract. No one knows the answer unless they've seen the contract.
28-08-2023, 01:43 PM
Despite our previous few years, I do still think Hibs would be an attractive club for someone.
McInnes and Robinson seem to be the front runners with most of the fans, either I would take. Both know the Scottish game and Hibs.
Just play with no manger could be the cheaper option 😁
28-08-2023, 01:54 PM
Yay! A poll!
Who voted for Tam McManus? Tam McManus?
Rather Michelle
Trinity Hibee
28-08-2023, 01:56 PM
Better to pay money to get someone we really think could do the job than to cheap out and have to pay more severance money in 6-12 months
FWIW the fact Lennon is a free agent might work in his favour. He’s on PLZ soccer podcast at 4pm. Can watch live on YouTube
28-08-2023, 01:57 PM
What's this comment all about??? He's already scored a couple of important goals. What more did you expect man? Bizarre comment.
New player, new team, new culture and already mentioning Vente is not good enough. Mental. We need to give these people time to adjust before getting on their back.
28-08-2023, 02:12 PM
what's Robbie Neilson doing nowadays :whistle:
28-08-2023, 02:13 PM
He doesn’t even need time, he’s come straight in and scored goals.
28-08-2023, 02:15 PM
What is Kjetil Knutsen doing in there? Turned down Ajax but fancies Easter Road? :faf:
28-08-2023, 02:17 PM
What is Kjetil Knutsen doing in there? Turned down Ajax but fancies Easter Road? :faf:
I seen it mentioned on another thread and thought it was bonkers too.
Daily Hibs
28-08-2023, 04:16 PM
Interesting that on HB their poll is
Lennon
McInnes
Robinson
In that order and streets ahead of others.
28-08-2023, 04:24 PM
Where's the Management Team option? It's what all BIG teams do nowadays :agree:
28-08-2023, 04:30 PM
No! IMO Jack Ross didn't deserve to be sacked as I don't believe he was adequately supported in plugging the pretty obvious gaps in central defence, central midfield and with Doidge out injured. Nathan Wood and James Scott were bad last-minute recruitment decisions.
IMO Johnson deserved to be sacked as his team selections and tactical deployment of his team were baffling.
28-08-2023, 08:35 PM
Absolutely not, we will await the second coming of Ross. The time is now, arise!
28-08-2023, 09:03 PM
How much would McInnes cost in comp? 3 years still left?Plus comp after sacking him next summer when season ticket sales plunge cause of boring football .
28-08-2023, 09:08 PM
With the dons McInness won the Scottish League Cup in 2014, finished Scottish Premiership runners-up on four occasions and reached three other cup finals during his spell in charge. If that’s not good enough for us then I give up!!Pat Fenlon was with us for less than 2 years and got us to two SC finals , yet many here mention him as a bad Hibs manager . Everyone knows Aberdeen`s 2nd places were in a league with no Rangers and their cup record was poor , losing to several teams from lower divisions .
Silky
28-08-2023, 09:28 PM
Better to pay money to get someone we really think could do the job than to cheap out and have to pay more severance money in 6-12 months
We'll be paying a severance in 6-12 months anyway. I'd rather the club weren't frittering money away paying compensation to get someone who'll then be paid off when the inevitable bad run kicks in.
Surprised Stuart Kettlewell is barely getting a mention and isn't in the list as an option (which was presumably taken from somewhere listing the bookies' odds). Took over Motherwell when they were joint bottom on 20 points after 24 games then got them to 7th on 50 points. Seems to have picked up this season where he left of last season. His record since taking over is 14 wins 5 draws 3 defeats.
https://i.ibb.co/p15hKnT/Screenshot-20230828-221852.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)
https://i.ibb.co/pWQz8zz/Screenshot-20230828-222036.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)
Septimus
29-08-2023, 10:10 AM
After listening to Kevin Thompson on bbc I think I would give him a try.
Septimus
29-08-2023, 10:17 AM
Apologies for misspelling Thomson
Paulie Walnuts
29-08-2023, 10:28 AM
Surprised Stuart Kettlewell is barely getting a mention and isn't in the list as an option (which was presumably taken from somewhere listing the bookies' odds). Took over Motherwell when they were joint bottom on 20 points after 24 games then got them to 7th on 50 points. Seems to have picked up this season where he left of last season. His record since taking over is 14 wins 5 draws 3 defeats.
That is an unbelievable record.
He just has a feel to me though of someone who would do well at a smaller club and then fail here. Nothing to base that on obviously as he’s never really been at a bigger club but I just don’t think it would work.
29-08-2023, 10:43 AM
If Johnson had got us to Hampden 6 times in 2 years and got us finishing 3rd in the league then probably. But of course he didn't come close to that, so its very unlikely.
Yeah, I'd be surprised as well.
29-08-2023, 10:52 AM
Exactly. :top marks
29-08-2023, 11:05 AM
Is 50% bad?
Lot better than L J when he was here
PiemanP
29-08-2023, 11:07 AM
John Collins.
He gets Hibs. Always very insightful when commentating on the radio. Would instil a strong work ethic and style of football as well as promoting our youngsters.
It didn’t end well for him last time, but that was over 15 years ago now and I’d expect him to have matured and learnt from his previous errors.
However, I’m not sure he’d want to work under our management structure. I also think McInnes would have the same views.
I’d really rather not go down the Lennon route again.
29-08-2023, 11:08 AM
After listening to Kevin Thompson on bbc I think I would give him a try.
No from me
29-08-2023, 11:11 AM
That is an unbelievable record.
He just has a feel to me though of someone who would do well at a smaller club and then fail here. Nothing to base that on obviously as he’s never really been at a bigger club but I just don’t think it would work.
I think he’d be a great option. He was instrumental in Ross County rising to the Spl. He comes across really well in interviews and he took a useless Motherwell team destined for relegation and with very little transfers (?) nearly got them top 6
29-08-2023, 11:11 AM
John Collins.
He gets Hibs. Always very insightful when commentating on the radio. Would instil a strong work ethic and style of football as well as promoting our youngsters.
It didn’t end well for him last time, but that was over 15 years ago now and I’d expect him to have matured and learnt from his previous errors.
However, I’m not sure he’d want to work under our management structure. I also think McInnes would have the same views.
I’d really rather not go down the Lennon route again.
When was the last time Collins managed a club and did well
The consensus as I remember it was he inherited Mowbrys Team and they were destined to win the league cup as they were a good side
Superfurry72
29-08-2023, 11:50 AM
Billy Reid would be my choice, but not sure we could afford him.
Paulie Walnuts
29-08-2023, 11:52 AM
I think he’d be a great option. He was instrumental in Ross County rising to the Spl. He comes across really well in interviews and he took a useless Motherwell team destined for relegation and with very little transfers (?) nearly got them top 6
It’s all unarguable. Like I said though, despite the fact there’s absolutely no logical basis for it, I just think it would be destined to fail, based on absolutely nothing :greengrin
29-08-2023, 12:01 PM
He looks like The Count so it’s a hard no from me.
29-08-2023, 12:05 PM
Is 50% bad?
Very good I would have thought
29-08-2023, 12:16 PM
His arrival there came just after the start of Van Veens form picking up.
Did Motherwell do well because van Veen started scoring loads, or did van Veen keep scoring because of Kettlewells management?
In the 14 games Kettlewell was in charge last season, van Veen scored in 12 of them. 15 goals.
29-08-2023, 04:32 PM
I didn't want him before this poll was created.
Oh lay off, he hasn’t started yet.
29-08-2023, 05:11 PM
Surely the main man responsible for appointing the new manager will be Brian McDermott?
Yet he appears to be incommunicado..... Or hiding?
29-08-2023, 05:14 PM
Surely the main man responsible for appointing the new manager will be Brian McDermott?
What's he meant to say this early on other than we are looking at various candidates and a decision will be made in due course?
29-08-2023, 05:14 PM
Or ringing round agents? Or interviewing?
29-08-2023, 05:16 PM
I think he's busy doing his job rather than hiding
29-08-2023, 05:40 PM
Yet he appears to be incommunicado..... Or hiding?Can't believe he isn't on FB live giving us minute by minute updates
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
29-08-2023, 05:42 PM
No chance we'll have a new manager in before Friday, so I hope his main focus is on getting players in before the deadline. Then focus shifts to manager appointment.
29-08-2023, 05:47 PM
Billy Reid would be my choice, but not sure we could afford him.
What? another wee hun, no bloody thanks.
29-08-2023, 05:48 PM
What's he meant to say this early on other than we are looking at various candidates and a decision will be made in due course?
He could always tell the real nosey ones just to F--- off.
29-08-2023, 06:28 PM
Mcinnes and lennon the top 2 choices . I'd be happy with either
The Green Sea
29-08-2023, 06:44 PM
Lennon, FFS no. He left Hibs because he couldn’t handle the pressure and then managed to lose Celtic 10 in a row.
Good for winding up the Huns but that’s about it.
Victor
29-08-2023, 07:05 PM
AOBMLAM. (Anyone but McInnes, Lennon and McKay)
29-08-2023, 08:12 PM
This is some double bluff, Brian Mc.
30-08-2023, 06:31 AM
This is some double bluff, Brian Mc.
Hahaha, when the cosmos align 😂
30-08-2023, 02:21 PM
https://i.ibb.co/pWQz8zz/Screenshot-20230828-222036.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)wouldn’t be upset with this appointment to be honest
30-08-2023, 03:37 PM
C'mon..own up...who voted for Steve Evans 😂
30-08-2023, 03:45 PM
That's a brilliant table that highlights the Motherwell ascent under Kettlewell. It also shows just how poor Hearts were and how mediocre Hibs were from that point. Also serves to show the pick up in Aberdeen that Robson achieved.
30-08-2023, 04:11 PM
:nlgwa
Daily Hibs
30-08-2023, 05:30 PM
Can the poll not be sorted in descending order by % of votes or number of votes?
30-08-2023, 05:33 PM
Can the poll not be sorted in descending order by % of votes or number of votes?
Copy and paste it into a spreadsheet if you really need to see it that way.
Daily Hibs
30-08-2023, 05:40 PM
Copy and paste it into a spreadsheet if you really need to see it that way.
Basildon Hibs
30-08-2023, 05:51 PM
Oops. Another one falling for the 'comes across really well' horse ****. 🤣
30-08-2023, 06:31 PM
Can produce it on the park. That’s what matters. He would get respect from the get go. Wouldn’t be disappointed with him. I don’t think it will be as I think we need a proven big name right now short term then appoint an up and coming alongside in a progression management scenario. Then repeat.
30-08-2023, 07:23 PM
He has a 44.7% win rate in his career Vs Lennon on 47.97% at Hibs. So not exactly "falling for it" as you say. For context The Badger was 53.4% SPL win rate at Aberdeen !!