Great news next manager ?

27-08-2023, 12:07 PM
Sacked

27-08-2023, 12:08 PM
Nice guy but not good enough for Hibs.

Who's next for the poisoned chalice?

David Gray’s had a few whopping poisoned chalices given to him now.

How many times is it now he’s had to pick up the pieces?

Villa and Aberdeen away, good luck.

Not really any other option, after latest debacles, let's hope that this time those in charge appoint more wisely, I won't hold my breath, the curremt stewardship of the club is a mess.

I want every member of that back room staff gone too. None of them are good enough to stay.

Sad today. Not happy tbh.

-Jonesy-
27-08-2023, 12:09 PM
Our football club has been a a shambles for a good 2 or 3 years

LewysGot2
27-08-2023, 12:10 PM

To be supported by the goalie coach...

27-08-2023, 12:11 PM
Only choice. Whatever qualities he’s had in previous jobs he hasn’t shown here.

Hopefully SDG and Daz bring their fighting qualities and some defensive organization to the team.

27-08-2023, 12:12 PM
Brilliant, hopefully get someone who actually moves us forward.

27-08-2023, 12:12 PM
Gutted it didn't work out. Wish him well.

27-08-2023, 12:13 PM
Said it after the last two or three managers left, but the players need to take a long, hard look at themselves, too.

Hope Hibs get someone in quickly - with the international break coming, a couple of weeks of hard training at EM wouldn't go amiss, trying to get some semblance of organisation and shape into the team.

raeburnhibs

Hero or not, time for a complete clear out in due course

I have a feeling we’ll have a replacement in very quick

Good! I won’t pretend that I liked him even a bit.

27-08-2023, 12:14 PM

Sorry but he’s not a nice guy at all. He’s a jumped up little rat who’d eat himself if he was made of chocolate.

DIXIHIBS
27-08-2023, 12:15 PM
Very decisive after a poor start. Best time to do it with International break coming soon then really tough run of games. Big decision for board again on who to bring in. Cant afford to to mess up....again.

27-08-2023, 12:15 PM
I want every member of that back room staff gone too. None of them are good enough to stay.

LJs team has all been sacked, McAllister and Owen. David Gray and Stuart Garden are in place now

27-08-2023, 12:16 PM
Sorry but he’s not a nice guy at all. He’s a jumped up little rat who’d eat himself if he was made of chocolate.

Deary me

Alfiembra
Can only hope Kensall follows him soon.

At least we'll always have Lucerne.

Donegal Hibby

bordergreen
27-08-2023, 12:18 PM
Never nice when anyone loses their job, so wish him all the best. He was never good enough though and should have been gone sometime ago.

27-08-2023, 12:18 PM
To be supported by the goalie coach...

Maybe he’s been retained to be on the bench on Thursday!

27-08-2023, 12:19 PM
Although I have long advocated for him to go, I take no pleasure that it has come to this.

Sadly our problems are a lot deeper than a change of manager will immediately resolve.

I am staggered when I read numerous folk say we have a good squad we have anything but bar a very few decent and no more players

Donegal Hibby
27-08-2023, 12:19 PM
Can only hope Kensall follows him soon.

I think he should go too. He's been totally unprofessional and his conducts been really poor going by what folk are saying

27-08-2023, 12:20 PM
Nae loss but I think our problems have run a bit deeper than just the manager for a while now. Chiefly the who decides, and the how the manager is selected.

27-08-2023, 12:20 PM
Delighted

Well done hibs.

Mcinnes time!

Doh Rae Me
27-08-2023, 12:21 PM
Hallelujah

27-08-2023, 12:21 PM
A strange, Brent-ish character, but tried his best. Correct decision and wish him well.

hhibs
27-08-2023, 12:22 PM

The rot runs deep,agree a cull is absolutely needed.

Cardinal G
27-08-2023, 12:23 PM
At least we'll always have Lucerne.

Aye the away game trip is right up there for me watching Hibs, nothing will ever take that away. Yesterday's team selection and game management for me confirmed he had to go.

27-08-2023, 12:25 PM
Can’t take any real pleasure in Lee Johnson being sacked. I’m sure he knows the score though and that’s what kind of environment you have to put yourself into if football management is something you wish to do.

A sad day as the club has to admit failure. Failure by the management team to gel a regular winning side and failure by the club in getting a manager in that has longer term prospects than the short lived appointments we’ve unfortunately become accustomed to.

Lee Johnson wasn’t a total disaster, but confidence in him being able to improve and prosper was so thin on the ground it’s the sensible decision all round.

27-08-2023, 12:25 PM
With his team choices and management it seems he was angling to be sacked. Mibbe got a job lined up in Saudi

27-08-2023, 12:27 PM
:hyper

Fuzzywuzzy
27-08-2023, 12:31 PM
It will be interesting to see what happens with McAllister's kid since we were meant to have paid a decent fee for him

Wonder if MacAllisters departure will have any impact on Reuben

jamie_1875
I would probably take McInnes even although he would not excite me in a football sense. At this stage we need stability and not some lower English lower league manager.

27-08-2023, 12:32 PM
It will be interesting to see what happens with McAllister's kid since we were meant to have paid a decent fee for him

I’d hope not.

HarpOnHibee
27-08-2023, 12:32 PM
Never nice when anyone loses their job, so wish him all the best. He was never good enough though and should have been gone sometime ago.

He'll have a sweat redundancy package. I'm sure he'll be ok.

27-08-2023, 12:35 PM
He'll have a sweat redundancy package. I'm sure he'll be ok.

Think Hibs standard is three months salary right?

He'll no doubt talk his way into a league one job soon.

USA_Hibee
27-08-2023, 12:35 PM
Didn't work out. Wish him well at his next role!

Percy Vere
27-08-2023, 12:38 PM

Me too. Reckon they must have been looking at possibilities.
Mr N Lennon?
Available
Knows the league
Knows the club
Steady hand who will hold mirrors up to those who need it.

27-08-2023, 12:39 PM
Right call, yesterday was must win for him.

If nothing else I would hope this change will enable the divisions in the support to heal and we can all get behind new manager, at least for a little while!

Percy Vere
Wonder if MacAllisters departure will have any impact on Reuben

Obviously it shouldn't

Groathillgrump
27-08-2023, 12:40 PM
Good riddance! :bye:

Turns out the Sunderland fans' criticism of his David Brent-esque managerial style and baffling team selections/tactics were spot on.

Despite his so-called vast managerial experience it was quickly apparent to anyone with eyes that he was clueless.

27-08-2023, 12:42 PM
Hes gone!

Next through the revolving door?!

Who would take this mess on? Would need a big reforming character but are there any that would take it

27-08-2023, 12:46 PM
Next through the revolving door?!

Who would take this mess on? Would need a big reforming character but are there any that would take it

Neil Lennon or Roy Kean, lets go for it Hibs.
They would sort the rubbish out.
:cb

Chorley Hibee
27-08-2023, 12:50 PM
Although I have long advocated for him to go, I take no pleasure that it has come to this.

Sadly our problems are a lot deeper than a change of manager will immediately resolve.

I am staggered when I read numerous folk say we have a good squad we have anything but bar a very few decent and no more players

There's a huge amount of work required, on countless positions, before we're anywhere near what is required.

And despite what must be 20-30 new signings over the last 2 years, we're still not much further on than when we started.

It's ridiculous the amount of sub-standard players that we've wasted money on.

At least 5/6 starters required before the window closes, and there's little chance of that happening now.

Which leaves the new manager stumbling to January with what we have, and another season wrote off with either Aberdeen or Hearts securing third (and European group football) once again.

There's more than Johnson who should be walking today.

27-08-2023, 12:53 PM

Yup, fair dos. Good luck Lee, we’re rolling the dice again.

Presumably Brian McDermott has a big say in the next appointment.

27-08-2023, 12:57 PM
The right call for me, talked a good game but failed to deliver.

27-08-2023, 12:57 PM
Our football club has been a a shambles for a good 2 or 3 years

Correct. This is and never was Lee Johnson's "fault". He did his best, which was just never good enough for a club like Hibs. Time and again, it is the Hibs Board / Owners who have let the club down by FAILING to find and recruit a decent quality manager. The acid test for a successful Hibs manager is being coveted by other clubs, and that hasn't happened in a long time.

The question remains ... what will be done differently this time ?

27-08-2023, 12:59 PM

Yup, total fraud.

Let's see what he has to say about us in future. It will be our fault he didn't succeed.

Up there with Maloney, Butcher, Calderwood and Duffy as our worst ever.

27-08-2023, 01:01 PM
Neil Lennon or Roy Kean, lets go for it Hibs.
They would sort the rubbish out.
:cb

With you all the way on this :not worth

Glad he's gone but I'm not happy we are in this position yet again. Please get someone who knows Scottish Football!

Yup, total fraud.

Let's see what he has to say about us in future. It will be our fault he didn't succeed.

I pity the next club he suckers into appointing him.

Crutch
27-08-2023, 01:03 PM
I can look forward to going to Birmingham now!

27-08-2023, 01:04 PM

Too many and being honest has never really impressed me in any of his interim managerial stints.

Yup, total fraud.

Johnson will have a 5th place finish and the win over Luzern to look back on.

Maloney went weeks without registering a shot on goal, Butcher and Duffy got Hibs relegated and we all lost the will to live under Calderwood.

History will be much kinder to Johnson than that bunch.

Apparently disliked by the players (who carry a big amount of blame) a mate was at corporate at villa game and was talking to a player he asked him does anyone like him his answer was “his dad “

27-08-2023, 01:05 PM
With you all the way on this :not worthWhy didn't Lennon"sort out the rubbish" the last time he was here?

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

27-08-2023, 01:07 PM
Apparently disliked by the players (who carry a big amount of blame) a mate was at corporate at villa game and was talking to a player he asked him does anyone like him his answer was “his dad “

That’s the killer for me tbh.

If he lost the players, he had to go. There were a few noises coming from posters close to players and that was the sign for me that his time had come.

LewysGot2
27-08-2023, 01:07 PM
I pity the next club he suckers into appointing him.

Oldham Athletic fans wanting him already! They've not been paying attention...

27-08-2023, 01:09 PM
Oldham Athletic fans wanting him already! They've not been paying attention...

My sympathies with them if that happens.

27-08-2023, 01:10 PM
Roy Keane at Hibs, get real:greengrin

LewysGot2
27-08-2023, 01:11 PM
My sympathies with them if that happens.

Actually, given the truth is out there, they'd only themselves to blame 😉

27-08-2023, 01:12 PM
Actually, given the truth is out there, they'd only themselves to blame 😉

That’s true.

Wakeyhibee
27-08-2023, 01:12 PM
Pleased they made a quick decision, but pissed off it means back to square one yet again after spending a lot of money.

27-08-2023, 01:13 PM
Pleased they made a quick decision, but pissed off it means back to square one yet again after spending a lot of money.I don't think it means square 1 at all

The signing will still be made and will be players long since identified

27-08-2023, 01:13 PM
Why didn't Lennon"sort out the rubbish" the last time he was here?

I'm not dwelling on the past, rather I'm now looking forwards to a brighter future ahead :thumbsup:

Dmas
27-08-2023, 01:14 PM
Too many and being honest has never really impressed me in any of his interim managerial stints.

Although an unpopular opinion he’s as much to blame as the coaches that have gone over the last 3 managers it’s maybe time SDG cut his coaching teeth elsewhere

Pleased they made a quick decision, but pissed off it means back to square one yet again after spending a lot of money.

Not really, that's the point of a DoF

Right decision. When you lose the crowd like yesterday, there's only ever one outcome.

Too inconsistent this season, and a defence that's been woeful all season was going to do for him.

27-08-2023, 01:22 PM
Although an unpopular opinion he’s as much to blame as the coaches that have gone over the last 3 managers it’s maybe time SDG cut his coaching teeth elsewhere
Totally agree, it's been too comfortable for SDG at Hibs, he's been coaching for sometime now so must accept some responsibility for current 1st team shambles.

27-08-2023, 01:25 PM
Totally agree, it's been too comfortable for SDG at Hibs, he's been coaching for sometime now so must accept some responsibility for current 1st team shambles.

I'm not even sure what his job is, but i'd guess he has no input in who we sign or how the team is set up.

I dont even know how good he is at what he does, whatever that is?

Basically is any of this down to him, i doubt it?

HerbDailly
27-08-2023, 01:28 PM
I really tried not to turn on him, but the relief I'm feeling now says it all!

27-08-2023, 01:35 PM
:agree: Good luck to him sorry it didn't work out for him & us.

King conrad
27-08-2023, 01:37 PM
If mcallister is away good chance his laddie will follow

Dmas
27-08-2023, 01:39 PM
I'm not even sure what his job is, but i'd guess he has no input in who we sign or how the team is set up.

I dont even know how good he is at what he does, whatever that is?

Basically is any of this down to him, i doubt it?

Your right BH and I’ve no idea either, but a manager is supposed to have a coaching team we’ve pre selected one of them for 2 managers now and he still remains in place for the next one be as well giving the next guy a clean slate to get his own men in for the roles he wants them to do during the week instead of shoehorning one guy in he knows nothing about.

Should be clearing that recruitment team as well, there’s people to cushty in those roles as well, played a shocker in recent times some fresh new blood in there could help massively

27-08-2023, 01:40 PM

Why? He's a professional footballer not a kid. He's not going to follow his dad around football clubs.

The Captain....
27-08-2023, 01:43 PM

I am staggered when I read numerous folk say we have a good squad we have anything but bar a very few decent and no more playersI agree with you..very much quantity over quality.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

Wakeyhibee
27-08-2023, 02:09 PM
I don't think it means square 1 at all

The signing will still be made and will be players long since identified

How confident are you that they'll get it right this time? Agree with the signing bit but Johnson will have been part of that even if its only selling himself and the club . Constant instability doesn't do players or the club any good. If it did we'd be breezing 3rd.

So yes in some respects we are back to square one. I don't disagree with sacking Johnson they had to.

noz
27-08-2023, 02:15 PM
Weve had 12 managers since Mowbray in 2006, and a few caretakers.

Most of these guys were sacked, what now?

badabing67
27-08-2023, 02:42 PM

Why do you think that

27-08-2023, 02:42 PM
Mr N Lennon?
Available
Knows the league
Knows the club
Steady hand who will hold mirrors up to those who need it.

Except a mirror facing himself. A man who makes struggling teams worse. No thanks.

27-08-2023, 02:49 PM

😂 there’s a shocker!

27-08-2023, 02:54 PM

Why is there a good chance of that? Will he just follow his Da round for the rest of his career? You’re not the first to mention this but it’s a silly thought to even consider.

Caversham Green
27-08-2023, 02:56 PM
Why? He's a professional footballer not a kid. He's not going to follow his dad around football clubs.

Besides which, his dad's not at a football club any more.

27-08-2023, 02:57 PM
Sad it didn't work out as he had us playing some great football at times last season and I'd hoped that would set the mold for this season. That was anything but the case though as it turned out. With the exception of the Luzerne tie, we've looked disjointed and below par in just about every game this season and the buck stops with the manager for that.
I've supported him on here in the face of some very nasty and OTT mud slinging from certain quarters, but that support needed to be backed up by positive results and performances that were not forthcoming going by Saturday's defeat - so no arguments from me in the board's actions in sacking him. Good luck to LJ going forward.

27-08-2023, 02:57 PM
Mr N Lennon?
Available
Knows the league
Knows the club
Steady hand who will hold mirrors up to those who need it.I like Lennon as a person but in what way is he a "steady hand"?

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Up-the-slope
27-08-2023, 02:58 PM
Once again we find ourselves looking for a new manager at a time when said new manager can't alter the squad .... and if we follow the previous plots we will be told to wait 2 or 3 windows until manager can bring in his 'type'....:rolleyes:

Can we not just try something new? Find a manager that can get a tune out of the orchestra he inherits :aok:

sean
27-08-2023, 02:59 PM
Correct decision after yesterday, was always going to happen after it got toxic. Thank Lee for his efforts, there was signs of progression at points but we just couldn't put any real runs together and this season bar the Luzern tie we've gone backwards. A likeable bloke who spoke highly of the fans and the club, wish him all the best.

27-08-2023, 02:59 PM
It's crap that another manager hasn't worked out. I wanted a bit stability and Johnson was an experienced appointment that should have provided that.

I'm delighted he's gone though. It would be churlish to say he didn't have any highs but he also presided over some horrible lows. I didn't take to him from early on and last season's LC campaign did little to endear him to anyone. It was all uphill from there and a situation largely of his own making.

It's fitting that the last hours of his Hibs tenure featured an ill advised run in with fans and an excruciating interview. Didn't like him, glad he's gone and really, really hope we get the next appointment right.

27-08-2023, 03:02 PM
clear message to our future manager

get beat from Livi and yer oot :devil:

27-08-2023, 03:09 PM
Not really any other option, after latest debacles, let's hope that this time those in charge appoint more wisely, I won't hold my breath, the curremt stewardship of the club is a mess.

Agreed on both points. I take no pleasure from yet another manager leaving, but things have become really bad. For me the most worrying thing was the absence of any style of play under Johnson. That was a huge failure, after being in charge so long.
As for the board’s ability to choose a good successor, well, the track record isn’t pretty. Typical of Hibs to be in a crisis before the end of August.

27-08-2023, 03:12 PM
Hibs manager merry-go-round continues. I was ambivalent about Johnson but at some point we're going to have to get a manager that can stay the distance. It's a tightrope, if he's a failure then he's out the door, if he's a success then he's off to pastures new that pay more. Those are the facts of life at Hibs and other Scottish clubs at our level. It's no coincidence that the Odd Firm dominate.

27-08-2023, 05:34 PM
clear message to our future manager

get beat from Livi and yer oot :devil:

Clear message, that all sportsmen will get

We will provide you with a £2.5m forward line to win as an elite sports organisation

If you'd rather dick about, than set up a team with a system & identity, to win these games, then livingston is welcome to you

He's here!
27-08-2023, 06:11 PM
Hibs manager merry-go-round continues. I was ambivalent about Johnson but at some point we're going to have to get a manager that can stay the distance. It's a tightrope, if he's a failure then he's out the door, if he's a success then he's off to pastures new that pay more. Those are the facts of life at Hibs and other Scottish clubs at our level. It's no coincidence that the Odd Firm dominate.

It's cut-throat stuff. I was taken aback when Neilson got sacked last season but it just reflects the pressure Hearts were under to finish third.

I'm fed up with the way we're rattling through managers (eight in 10 years now) so we really need to get this appointment right. I still feel Jack Ross had the potential to stay the distance but unless we re-appoint him we'll never know.

27-08-2023, 06:18 PM
Once again we find ourselves looking for a new manager at a time when said new manager can't alter the squad .... and if we follow the previous plots we will be told to wait 2 or 3 windows until manager can bring in his 'type'....:rolleyes:

Can we not just try something new? Find a manager that can get a tune out of the orchestra he inherits :aok:

Every desperate candidate will be more than happy to say he can work with what Hibs have, knowing full well we've a huge amount of deadwood. Those with any credibility will question the move. If Hibs had ambition, they'd have said bye bye to LJ at the end of last season, declared their intention, got someone in with vision and ability and allowed them to build their own squad. But hey ho, the Board have done the "right thing".

We wait with anticipation and baited breath at the Hibs Board's next appointment that will break the cycle of failure and mediocrity :greengrin

27-08-2023, 06:23 PM
It's cut-throat stuff. I was taken aback when Neilson got sacked last season but it just reflects the pressure Hearts were under to finish third.

I'm fed up with the way we're rattling through managers (eight in 10 years now) so we really need to get this appointment right. I still feel Jack Ross had the potential to stay the distance but unless we re-appoint him we'll never know.

I was very pleased when neilson got binned,
**** the hertz
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin :greengrin:greengrin

27-08-2023, 06:39 PM
Sad it didn't work out as he had us playing some great football at times last season and I'd hoped that would set the mold for this season. That was anything but the case though as it turned out. With the exception of the Luzerne tie, we've looked disjointed and below par in just about every game this season and the buck stops with the manager for that.
I've supported him on here in the face of some very nasty and OTT mud slinging from certain quarters, but that support needed to be backed up by positive results and performances that were not forthcoming going by Saturday's defeat - so no arguments from me in the board's actions in sacking him. Good luck to LJ going forward.

Pretty much where I’m at with him. He did have a rough ride from the stands and an easy one from the boardroom last season, which is never satisfying. Let’s hope we can unite around the new guy.

27-08-2023, 06:40 PM

More than any of the previous 8 ?? :greengrin We have to hope this Board grow a pair, do their job, make an imaginative appointment and show some intent. The last 2 managers have been insipid, lazy garbage.

27-08-2023, 07:00 PM
Johnson is gone, and somewhere in the world, Jeffers will be absolutely thrashing himself into a coma right now 😂

McInnes in, please.

27-08-2023, 07:00 PM
Johnson is gone, and somewhere in the world, Jeffers will be absolutely thrashing himself into a coma right now 😂

McInnes in, please.

Just a normal night for Jeffers then...

27-08-2023, 07:01 PM

He actually just isn't good enough. And his slating of the players in public is very unprofessional

tonyrougier123
27-08-2023, 07:04 PM
Decent gaffer decent cb an assertive midfielder who can pull the pieces together,a left back and a competent goalkeeper. Not much to ask in a week eh 🤦*♂️

Hibees1973
27-08-2023, 07:07 PM
The right call for me, talked a good game but failed to deliver.

He didn't talk a good game.

Most of his interviews were a cringe. Would imagine his team talks were the same hence the abject inconsistency.

Was delighted when I found out he was sacked.

The Baldmans Comb
27-08-2023, 07:25 PM
An absolute and total wide-o who looked down on Scottish football from the minute he walked through the door and thought the League cup was all just a bit of a joke as of course that's what happens in England.

The writing was on the wall even then but even having been backed to a continual resolving door full of players and millions of pound all his legacy consisted of was an away win in Lucerene and yesterday's teamsheet of another shambolic defence and the same old tried and tested and totally failed midfield.

History won't be kind to Johnson but he won't care a jot as he never even had the decency to live here and will get his "keep his gob shut" payoff.

History won't judge Johnson well and there is a lesson to be learnt in employing English used car salesmen or English middle managers who can talk the talk but never walk the walk and don't even do the very basic in homework before they are appointed.

27-08-2023, 07:38 PM
An absolute and total wide-o who looked down on Scottish football from the minute he walked through the door and thought the League cup was all just a bit of a joke as of course that's what happens in England.

The writing was on the wall even then but even having been backed to a continual resolving door full of players and millions of pound all his legacy consisted of was an away win in Lucerene and yesterday's teamsheet of another shambolic defence and the same old tried and tested and totally failed midfield.

History won't be kind to Johnson but he won't care a jot as he never even had the decency to live here and will get his "keep his gob shut" payoff.

History won't judge Johnson well and there is a lesson to be learnt in employing English used car salesmen or English middle managers who can talk the talk but never walk the walk and don't even do the very basic in homework before they are appointed.

You have a real issue with England or folk from there eh.

I mean Johnson was a poor manager and I’m glad he’s gone, but there’s no relevance in him being English.

LewysGot2
27-08-2023, 08:46 PM

I mean Johnson was a poor manager and I’m glad he’s gone, but there’s no relevance in him being English.

Not an unfair comment. Agree it's a bit off.

Not sure how "he didn't live here" either...was he commuting from down south? He maybe didn't move his kids out of their schools but then neither did Jack Ross who DID commute from England every day.

Bizarre stuff, eh?

27-08-2023, 09:00 PM

To an extent he’s got a point. Johnson did come up here expecting to rip it up and be back down south quickly after being poached by another club. It could be levelled at him that he came up from England and totally underestimated our league.

27-08-2023, 09:03 PM
Did he seriously cup his ears to the fans when we equalised yesterday? I'm West upper and didn't see it. But my mate said he did?

That's ****ing hilarious if he did.

Trinity Hibee
27-08-2023, 09:08 PM
Did he seriously cup his ears to the fans when we equalised yesterday? I'm West upper and didn't see it. But my mate said he did?

Someone else said that. Deserved to be sacked for that alone

27-08-2023, 09:13 PM

A guy along from me was shouting at him to get his hands out of his pockets (among other things) When we scored he turned round and mouthed something and I think made a point of showing he had his hands out of his pockets.

27-08-2023, 09:15 PM
A guy along from me was shouting at him to get his hands out of his pockets (among other things) When we scored he turned round and mouthed something and I think made a point of showing he had his hands out of his pockets.

Ah! So not quite ear cupping. Makes a better story though I guess.

He was completely anonymous after we went 2-1 down though. Could see McAllister talking to the fourth official a few times, no doubt rightly slaughtering the ref. But the wee man was nowhere to be seen. Probably knew he was a goner.

27-08-2023, 09:25 PM
Ah! So not quite ear cupping. Makes a better story though I guess.

He was completely anonymous after we went 2-1 down though. Could see McAllister talking to the fourth official a few times, no doubt rightly slaughtering the ref. But the wee man was nowhere to be seen. Probably knew he was a goner.

It was one of the few times he popped out of the dugout the entire game. At one point he even disappeared down the tunnel, though tbf he was maybe at the toilet.

28-08-2023, 06:34 AM
If nothing else I would hope this change will enable the divisions in the support to heal and we can all get behind new manager, at least for a little while!

It won’t, because the support now demands the manager’s head after every bad result.

28-08-2023, 06:43 AM
Nah, not true.

The new guy will get plenty support from the fans, just as LJ did.

Hibs fans have never demanded managerial change after one bad result, I doubt we’ll start now.

28-08-2023, 09:16 AM
He was such a Bawbag, im glad hes gone.

I read on twitter something about his sacking was leaked early (could suggest the strange time yesterday news broke) by someone sharing an internal email. Is this BS??

Groathillgrump
28-08-2023, 10:12 AM

I read on twitter something about his sacking was leaked early (could suggest the strange time yesterday news broke) by someone sharing an internal email. Is this BS??

The email was definitely shared by someone because a photo of the email on a laptop screen was posted in a thread on here yesterday.

Juice-Terry
28-08-2023, 10:32 AM

I've seen a photo of that email.

Juice-Terry
28-08-2023, 10:33 AM
Someone shared a photo of their computer with BK's internal email on the screen.

Silky
28-08-2023, 11:19 AM
Nah, not true.

The new guy will get plenty support from the fans, just as LJ did.

Hibs fans have never demanded managerial change after one bad result, I doubt we’ll start now.

If he loses his first Derby knives will be out.

28-08-2023, 11:49 AM
If he loses his first Derby knives will be out.

No they won’t.

01-09-2023, 11:02 AM
Johnson statement regarding his sacking from Hibs

https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/lee-johnson-breaks-hibs-sacking-27633592

01-09-2023, 11:07 AM

https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/lee-johnson-breaks-hibs-sacking-27633592

Doesn’t appear to be any bitterness, and sort of has the air of someone who was maybe quietly quite relieved to have his time at Hibs come to an end.

I guess in the modern age nobody expects to be around one club for very long and he’ll probably class this one as a success!

01-09-2023, 11:09 AM

Fair play to him.

01-09-2023, 11:11 AM

Fair play to him. Could have thrown the toys out of the pram but didn't.

Didn't work for him at Hibs and I think both parties will be better for the parting of ways.

Wish him luck for the future.

01-09-2023, 11:16 AM
If Johnson spoke like that on a day to day basis I genuinely think alot more fans would have taken to him (to a certain degree).

01-09-2023, 11:21 AM

Respectful as always. All the best Lee.

01-09-2023, 11:24 AM
Finally, I would like to thank the supporters that really got behind me and the team. Never underestimate your ability to lift the team, especially at Easter Road.

I really like this line and wish we took it onboard a lot more often.