View Full Version : Merchandise

23-08-2023, 02:30 PM
Anybody buying a half and half scarf that the club shop are selling should get a lifetime ban from ER

23-08-2023, 02:36 PM
Agreed

23-08-2023, 02:38 PM
Anyone over the age of 12, to be fair.

Or under

Bridge hibs
Anybody buying a half and half scarf that the club shop are selling should get a lifetime ban from ER

Yesss, a lifetime ban ? Im going to buy one for my Wife 😃

Plenty will buy it as a souvenir but for me it epitomises all that’s wrong with modern football. Save it for the final.

23-08-2023, 02:39 PM
Especially as claret is very similar to maroon.

23-08-2023, 02:40 PM
If SoL gets played and they hold it up, string 'em up and throw away the key.

McSwanky
23-08-2023, 02:46 PM
That's horrid. Can't believe the club are selling those.

23-08-2023, 02:48 PM
That's horrid. Can't believe the club are selling those.

Heaven forbid that the club try to make money

Trinity Hibee
23-08-2023, 02:48 PM

😂 agreed

23-08-2023, 03:22 PM
Yesss, a lifetime ban ? Im going to buy one for my Wife 😃

Someone get them for all the BBC Sportsound crowd 😁

23-08-2023, 04:10 PM
Just saw two blokes wearing them, those scarves are minging

Fuzzywuzzy
23-08-2023, 04:30 PM
My kid bought one. Get it roon' ye's

23-08-2023, 04:33 PM
Just saw two blokes wearing them, those scarves are minging

Both of those should be banned for life.

23-08-2023, 04:35 PM
I despise half and half scarves with a passion.

Cat Stanton
23-08-2023, 07:48 PM
If SoL gets played and they hold it up, string 'em up and throw away the key.

What key? To the string?

23-08-2023, 07:56 PM
Saw about half a dozen adults in the East with them. Bizarre.

23-08-2023, 09:06 PM
I find it a hard thing to get offended by I must admit.

A souvenir to mark a competitive match against English opposition, which doesn’t happen very often.

I really don’t get the outrage.

23-08-2023, 09:13 PM

A souvenir to mark a competitive match against English opposition, which doesn’t happen very often.

me neither to be honest.

if people don’t want them they won’t buy them. I wouldn’t be seen dead with one. As a 41 year old man I wouldnt be seen dead wearing a replica shirt either but each to their own.

*I draw the line at half and half scarves when the two teams are rivals. I’ve never yet seen a Hibs/hearts half n half and I hope I never will. But you certainly do see the like of that in england

McSwanky
23-08-2023, 09:14 PM

Wee lad beside me had one on tonight, fair play - a wee souvenir for him and a bit of money for the club. I'll retract my earlier statement, each to their own and all that. And if there's a market for that kind of thing, well done to the club for embracing it.

I stilll hate the things though :thumbsup:

23-08-2023, 09:29 PM
Might be useful for the Hibbies whose Villa Park home end tickets haven't been cancelled...

JammyDoidger
23-08-2023, 09:31 PM
A top European side maybe aye, but Aston Villa of the English premier league, not a chance, brutal man.

23-08-2023, 09:32 PM
Half and half scarves over here are the material equivalent of the Mexican wave.

Different story in Germany, I think? They've got the "football friends" thing.

23-08-2023, 09:40 PM

Nah, sorry mate. I'm all for the club making money in 'practically' any way they can. But half and half scarves .... IN THE CLUB SHOP .... not now ... not EVER. That's the sort of boak inducing ***** you buy from some shyster looking to make a quick buck a hundred yards from the stadium, not in the bloody clubs own shop. It's the sort of ***** that started and belongs in the tourist league tonight's opposition came from and that's where it should bloody well stay !!

What's next? .. half and half scarves when we play Hearts.

Helensburghhibs
23-08-2023, 09:46 PM
Nah, sorry mate. I'm all for the club making money in 'practically' any way they can. But half and half scarves .... IN THE CLUB SHOP .... not now ... not EVER. That's the sort of boak inducing ***** you buy from some shyster looking to make a quick buck a hundred yards from the stadium, not in the bloody clubs own shop. It's the sort of ***** that started and belongs in the tourist league tonight's opposition came from and that's where it should bloody well stay !!

Looked like they sold quite well to me. My boy was glad of one as a souvenir. No one forced you to buy one so probably not worth getting worked up about. He has a villa top as well with mginn on it. Maybe i should disown him now 😂

McSwanky
23-08-2023, 09:47 PM

Can't see there being much of a market for that to be fair! :tee hee:

lugz
23-08-2023, 10:00 PM
If anyone has a spare programme for tonight get in touch, I'm looking for 2. Went to club shop after match and apparently they sold out, surprisingly they said only 150 were sold.....

23-08-2023, 10:01 PM
A lifetime ban might tempt me into buying one at the moment!

23-08-2023, 10:02 PM
If anyone has a spare programme for tonight get in touch, I'm looking for 2. Went to club shop after match and apparently they sold out, surprisingly they said only 150 were sold.....

They were selling them for £4 in the club shop, apparently.... cash only.

At the programme shop along the road, they were £2. You might be luckier there.

gaz1875
23-08-2023, 10:06 PM
FFS our team are utter garbage and you are complaining about someone buying a souvenir of the match. What if some also support AV as their English team, should they be banned as well? :rolleyes:

23-08-2023, 10:06 PM
FFS our team are utter garbage and you are complaining about someone buying a souvenir of the match. What if some also support AV as their English team, should they be banned as well? :rolleyes:

Yes

23-08-2023, 10:07 PM
Here's a thing - what about those half and half hats that were all the rage mid-80s? Is it too long ago to reopen the files?

ErinGoBraghHFC
23-08-2023, 10:09 PM
Here's a thing - what about those half and half hats that were all the rage mid-80s? Is it too long ago to reopen the files?

Someone should start making those again, I’d have one. Don’t like half an half scarfs though, touristy imo

McHibby
23-08-2023, 11:03 PM
I also dislike them. However, I did wake up hangy as hell after Scotland v Brazil at the Emirates with one tied around my leg 🤣

I have no idea how I ended up with it, but I kept it. So I'm a closet half & half owner.

Hibs3-2
23-08-2023, 11:12 PM
Seen the half/half scarf nonsense earlier and i thought it was embarrassing.

He's here!
23-08-2023, 11:31 PM
Still got my half and half Hibs/Essen scarf from the 50th anniversary European Cup friendly in Germany.

23-08-2023, 11:40 PM

I don’t get them, I confess

24-08-2023, 09:49 AM

Not a fan of half & half scarves but anyone getting this worked about them needs to go see the doctor.

24-08-2023, 09:52 AM
Not a fan of half & half scarves but anyone getting this worked about them needs to go see the doctor.

Or have some nookie. 🤔

northgreen24
24-08-2023, 09:57 AM
Looked like they sold quite well to me. My boy was glad of one as a souvenir. No one forced you to buy one so probably not worth getting worked up about. He has a villa top as well with mginn on it. Maybe i should disown him now 😂

My boy is the same, started supporting them as his english team becasue of mcginn absolute top night for him

The scarf is going on his wall but i'll disone him, cut up his hibs season ticket due to the opinion of the original poster

Fuzzywuzzy
24-08-2023, 09:58 AM
"Celtic? What the **** have we got to do with Scotland son?"

A line (or there abouts) that always stuck with me from the firm

24-08-2023, 10:16 AM

Every where I've been in Europe with Hibs I've taken a Hibs scarf to swap with an opposing fan. The only places I never got one was Dinaburg and Asteras because in Latvia Dinaburg didn't have club merchandise and in Greece we couldn't get near their fans, I even got a swap no bother in Lucerne last week. I'll give them all to my laddie when he's old enough.

I would never, repeat NEVER buy a half and half though. Ridiculous things.

EDIT

Just looked them all out. Got swaps/scarfs at....

Dnipro (Uefa cup)
Union Berlin (friendly)
Glentoran (friendly)
Shamrock Rovers (friendly)
Malmo (Uefa cup)
Elfsborg (Intertoto cup)
BK Hacken (attended their game when we were staying in Stockholm for the Elfsborg game)
Maribor (Uefa cup)
Got an Odense players strip in Denmark. (intertoto)
Got a Skonto Riga scarf somewhere too. They were playing Bristol City when were based in Riga for the Dinaburg game.

Not done too badly actually.

24-08-2023, 10:26 AM
I’m not keen on them myself but if folk want to buy them as a souvenir of the game then that’s up to them.

OtleyHibs
24-08-2023, 12:53 PM
"Celtic? What the **** have we got to do with Scotland son?"

A line (or there abouts) that always stuck with me from the firm

Was it Jim McDonald from corrie that said that or am I going mad??

24-08-2023, 02:56 PM
Was it Jim McDonald from corrie that said that or am I going mad??

It was Jim.

24-08-2023, 03:03 PM
Every where I've been in Europe with Hibs I've taken a Hibs scarf to swap with an opposing fan. The only places I never got one was Dinaburg and Asteras because in Latvia Dinaburg didn't have club merchandise and in Greece we couldn't get near their fans, I even got a swap no bother in Lucerne last week. I'll give them all to my laddie when he's old enough.

I would never, repeat NEVER buy a half and half though. Ridiculous things.

EDIT

Just looked them all out. Got swaps/scarfs at....

Dnipro (Uefa cup)
Union Berlin (friendly)
Glentoran (friendly)
Shamrock Rovers (friendly)
Malmo (Uefa cup)
Elfsborg (Intertoto cup)
BK Hacken (attended their game when we were staying in Stockholm for the Elfsborg game)
Maribor (Uefa cup)
Got an Odense players strip in Denmark. (intertoto)
Got a Skonto Riga scarf somewhere too. They were playing Bristol City when were based in Riga for the Dinaburg game.

Not done too badly actually.

Nice idea HC. Might take that up myself.

All I have is a Villarreal scarf as I was in their end with some Celtic supporting mates at Anfield.

24-08-2023, 03:28 PM

Whose worked up? They just get on my tits and it appears I'm not the only one. Said it before and I stand by it, to sell them in the club shop was bloody embarrassing .... what was the phrase another poster used on another thread .. 'starstruck' ... and that's what that says to me, Hibs fawning over the very prospect of a club from the mighty EPL deigning to let us play them.

If anybody on this forum going to Aston Villa can pop into the Villa club shop next week and buy a half and half scarf there with Hibs and Villa on it I'll give them a hundred quid for it and that's the difference.

Helensburghhibs
24-08-2023, 03:52 PM
Whose worked up? They just get on my tits and it appears I'm not the only one. Said it before and I stand by it, to sell them in the club shop was bloody embarrassing .... what was the phrase another poster used on another thread .. 'starstruck' ... and that's what that says to me, Hibs fawning over the very prospect of a club from the mighty EPL deigning to let us play them.

If anybody on this forum going to Aston Villa can pop into the Villa club shop next week and buy a half and half scarf there with Hibs and Villa on it I'll give them a hundred quid for it and that's the difference.

The difference is millions in sky money 😂

Anyway save this post... As the scarf has the officoal villa badge on im guessing its a joint venture and the same ones will be for sale next week

24-08-2023, 03:55 PM
Whose worked up? They just get on my tits