View Full Version : Todd Cantwell
22-08-2023, 09:14 PM
Opposition fans will really need to pressurise refs and pundits about this lad. He’s a godsend for Beaton ,Walsh and Co - buys fouls, dives, nasty wee player, looks for bookings, pundits fawning over him. Pundits are already not seeing through him and that’s setting a dangerous tone.
22-08-2023, 09:17 PM
I’m assuming this guy plays for Rangers?
22-08-2023, 09:17 PM
Obv.
Trinity Hibee
22-08-2023, 09:18 PM
What gave it away?
22-08-2023, 09:18 PM
Yes - every game I’ve watched he’s as described above yet pundits are lauding him. Yes, good player, but a wee cheat. Our refs won’t see through that sadly.
Green Man
22-08-2023, 09:20 PM
Dived to get a penalty in a pre season friendly, sums him up.
22-08-2023, 09:21 PM
Opposition fans will really need to pressurise refs and pundits about this lad. He’s a godsend for Beaton ,Walsh and Co - buys fouls, dives, nasty wee player, looks for bookings, pundits fawning over him. Pundits are already not seeing through him and that’s setting a dangerous tone.
To be fair Chris Sutton has called him out a good few times.
Sutton is the only pundit I like, Celtic daft but I like a bit personality
Used to like Stewart but he’s went downhill the last 6 months, ever since we punted Ross he went anti hibs
Argylehibby
22-08-2023, 09:23 PM
Yes - every game I’ve watched he’s as described above yet pundits are lauding him. Yes, good player, but a wee cheat. Our refs won’t see through that sadly.
They will but will turn a blind eye to it.
22-08-2023, 09:27 PM
Used to like Stewart but he’s went downhill the last 6 months, ever since we punted Ross he went anti hibs
That’s true Nicho, but already tonight the likes of Thompson, McCann and Co were lauding his performance yet the commentator (and said McCann and Thommo) immediately thought he should be sent off. Yet post game Cantwell is a man of the match.
Willis1875
22-08-2023, 09:45 PM
Todd Cant-Stayup
Stokesy's on fire
22-08-2023, 10:01 PM
Todd Cantwell is of the Neil Lennon and Barry Ferguson mould but a much better player. He's quality and clever shame he is a hun *******.
Todd Cant-Stayup
But ref, the Cantfell.
22-08-2023, 10:04 PM
Is it pronounced "Cant"?
I've been saying it wrong, oops
22-08-2023, 10:26 PM
I take it the "highly punchable faces" thread in the dugout was just closed down and merged with this one?
scm70nyd1973
22-08-2023, 10:33 PM
Is it pronounced "Cant"?
I've been saying it wrong, oops
As George McNeill once (in fact many times) said - they couldnae even spell cant correctly 😂
hibee1875
23-08-2023, 06:01 AM
Todd Cantwell is of the Neil Lennon and Barry Ferguson mould but a much better player. He's quality and clever shame he is a hun *******.
Hi Todd, wrong forum 🙃
Couldn’t think of two players he’s less like.
23-08-2023, 06:02 AM
Don't think he is anywhere near being a better player than Ferguson or Lennon for that matter.
23-08-2023, 06:10 AM
Looks like I'll be swimming against the tide here but I think the guy is a great player. He's skilful with the ball at his feet, quick , tenacious and has a great engine on him.
Fuzzywuzzy
23-08-2023, 06:35 AM
Seems to be ever since he apologised to the rangers. Probably told that for a future as a pundit he has to toe the party line. Probably in a team meeting he was hauled up and they got
"What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it. I don't like it any more than you men."
Fuzzywuzzy
23-08-2023, 06:39 AM
Looks like I'll be swimming against the tide here but I think the guy is a great player. He's skilful with the ball at his feet, quick , tenacious and has a great engine on him.
https://twitter.com/AidanCMacdonald/status/1652719929114624001?s=19
Bit of a roaster tbf - the diving could be considered a bit of gamesmanship but it's constant
Crunchie
23-08-2023, 06:41 AM
:agree: We'd be raving about him if he was in our team.
That’s true Nicho, but already tonight the likes of Thompson, McCann and Co were lauding his performance yet the commentator (and said McCann and Thommo) immediately thought he should be sent off. Yet post game Cantwell is a man of the match.
I commentator was Ally McCoist and he was of the opinion he was lucky and should have walked.
On a side note ima so glad TNT have McCoist as I think he’s a really good pundit.
Cantwell is a cant (he doesn’t really need to dive about tbh) but is a pretty decent player
bordergreen
23-08-2023, 06:57 AM
Yep, that’s what I see. We would love him if he was at Hibs.
23-08-2023, 07:44 AM
As Elvis Costello once sang “Toddcsnt stand up for fallin down”. Takes over the mantle of Mr Tumble from McGeady…
tonyrougier123
23-08-2023, 08:08 AM
Rolls Royce or Roy’s rolls type player?
Got to be honest here he’s a player I really like. And he will be integral to sevco.
Rumble de Thump
23-08-2023, 08:44 AM
I think it's his cheating that people object to.
23-08-2023, 08:45 AM
Rolls Royce or Roy’s rolls type player?
Got to be honest here he’s a player I really like. And he will be integral to sevco.
He's a superb player.
The fact that he's a niggly, diving, cheating, unpleasant sod who plies his trade somewhere where he's likely to get away with it will only endear him further to his own team's supporters.
There were threads and posts discussing what Hibs lacked a while back, and not necessarily a tough tackler or ball winner but a thoroughly unpleasant chap of any description or position did seem to be something we lacked.
Cantwell is exactly that type.
23-08-2023, 09:09 AM
Hate him but only because he plays for another team. I think he's exactly what our team is missing. A skillful midfielder who's gets himself about, creates and scores goals. Should have been sent off last night though
Donegal Hibby
23-08-2023, 09:27 AM
He's a good player though just a nasty piece of work . Trying to stop Hatate from having a drink of water summed his character up perfectly imo .
This - would love to have a player like that in the side
23-08-2023, 10:17 AM
They sell flags outside their games with his face on them and the text “Todd the Prod” so that alone is enough for me to absolutely detest everything they do together.
Rumble de Thump
23-08-2023, 10:20 AM
Hibs will never be able to have a player that can dive and foul with impunity.
23-08-2023, 11:03 AM
He's a superb player.
The fact that he's a niggly, diving, cheating, unpleasant sod who plies his trade somewhere where he's likely to get away with it will only endear him further to his own team's supporters.
There were threads and posts discussing what Hibs lacked a while back, and not necessarily a tough tackler or ball winner but a thoroughly unpleasant chap of any description or position did seem to be something we lacked.
Cantwell is exactly that type.
By all accounts he was all of the above plus a bit of a Billy big boots with an attitude problem down South. I mean for all his ability he's currently marked out as a failure in England for that reason. Sadly that makes him a pretty much perfect fit in Hunsville.
23-08-2023, 03:15 PM
Not a chance he’s better than Barry Ferguson was.