View Full Version : Last time we played Villa at Easter Road

21-08-2023, 05:21 PM
The old grey cells may be playing tricks but I remember a game at Easter Road, late 1960's we played them in a friendly and we had a good team at that time seem to remember them giving us a bit of a lesson and we had Peter Cormack going into goals as the goalie at the time had to go off. Think we got cuffed 1-4.
We may have played them at a later time but I dont remember.

Potty78
21-08-2023, 05:25 PM
Alan Sneddon testimonial, won 4-2

gringojoe
21-08-2023, 05:26 PM
Played Villa is Alan Sneddon's testimonial

21-08-2023, 05:30 PM
Alan Sneddon testimonial, won 4-2

Was long gone from Scotland by that time, just remember the game in the late 1960s

21-08-2023, 06:11 PM
Kenny Dalglish and Keith Wright were tremendous in that game.

21-08-2023, 06:13 PM
King Kenny pulling the strings from the centre circle setting up four goals for Keef! Keef! Keef! all for a white pudding supper and a bottle of American Cream
Soda

https://i.ibb.co/hsdVZ37/IMG-1953.png (https://ibb.co/R26cBRv)

Lee
21-08-2023, 06:14 PM
Kenny Dalglish and Keith Wright were tremendous in that game.

Wright got all 4 goals, from memory (and Kenny barely had to move from the centre of the pitch all night 😆)

21-08-2023, 06:28 PM
Wright got all 4 goals, from memory (and Kenny barely had to move from the centre of the pitch all night 😆)

Exactly how I recall it as well.

21-08-2023, 06:41 PM
My recall is somewhat awry but I've still got the programme....

21-08-2023, 07:10 PM

Yip. 👍

Chorley Hibee
21-08-2023, 07:11 PM
Was a few weeks before the League Cup final against Dunfermline.

Chorley Hibee
21-08-2023, 07:12 PM
King Kenny pulling the strings from the centre circle setting up four goals for Keef! Keef! Keef! all for a white pudding supper and a bottle of American Cream
Soda

https://i.ibb.co/hsdVZ37/IMG-1953.png (https://ibb.co/R26cBRv)

What a strip!

Was there as a young lad, with my Hibs and Liverpool supporting father who thought all his dreams had come true with Kenny in a Hibs kit.

21-08-2023, 07:12 PM
Was a few weeks before the League Cup final against Dunfermline.

15/10/91.

seanshow
21-08-2023, 07:24 PM
I know it was a friendly but If TV coverage of the testimonial game was ever to appear.
The youngsters would get to see what one semi retired world class player can do to an opposition, it was astonishing.

Keithy boy couldn't believe his luck with the service, as others have said,Kenny from the centre circle dropping defence splitting passes on a sixpence. :not worth

21-08-2023, 07:26 PM
I know it was a friendly but If TV coverage of the testimonial game was ever to appear.
The youngsters would get to see what one semi retired world class player can do to an opposition, it was astonishing.

Keithy boy couldn't believe his luck with the service, as others have said,Kenny from the centre circle dropping defence splitting passes on a sixpence. :not worth

Surely must be in the archives at Hibs

21-08-2023, 07:45 PM
my memory is very sketchy and i really can't remember if it was one of the first games my auld man took me to but for some reason i just remember a 1-4 against villa, but not the last one, it was before that, it certainly wasn't the Alan Sneddon one, hammered 4-1

stood just outside the coo shed with auld man and his mates :)

i think

Chorley Hibee
21-08-2023, 07:46 PM
my memory is very sketchy and i really can't remember if it was one of the first games my auld man took me to but for some reason i just remember a 1-4 against villa, but not the last one, it was before that, it certainly wasn't the Alan Sneddon one, hammered 4-1

i think

I remember we played them in the late 80's at Villa Park too.

21-08-2023, 07:52 PM
I remember we played them in the late 80's at Villa Park too.

5/8/1989 0-1

Soldiersteve
21-08-2023, 07:52 PM

stood just outside the coo shed with auld man and his mates :)

i think
I was there as a youngster too. Although I rrmember the scoreline, I don't recall any details and certainly dont remember Peter Cormack going in goal (Although I did see him in goal on other occasions) :flag:

Bobo
21-08-2023, 08:30 PM
The old grey cells may be playing tricks but I remember a game at Easter Road, late 1960's we played them in a friendly and we had a good team at that time seem to remember them giving us a bit of a lesson and we had Peter Cormack going into goals as the goalie at the time had to go off. Think we got cuffed 1-4.

You're right it was a 4-1 defeat.

As mentioned we also played them in 1991-92 (Sneddon Testimonial) - won 4-2 and I have programmes for 2 other games:

1989-90 - lost 1-0

1949-50 - lost 5-2.

CB Hibs 68
21-08-2023, 08:35 PM
Well done sir I remembered a game back in the late sixties and it was the one you are talking about.Remember we got skellped plus Villa we’re 3rd Division at the time if my failing memory serves me right

21-08-2023, 08:55 PM

Yeah, it was 1969, Villa were a third division team at the time, being managed by the future Scotland boss, Tommy Docherty, as you said, "The Doc's" team [which included future Scotland captain, Bruce Rioch] won 4-1.

Hibs took to playing friendlies that early part of the season as our poor league performances 1968/9, left us in what was an unusual position, for then, with us not having qualified for Europe, we also played Gornick, who had the majestical Włodzimierz Lubański, just after they had just put Rangers out of the cup winners cup, with the Polish side winning both legs [3-1]. Willie Mac gave a debut to the player he brought from Stirling Albion with him and Shades made sure it was a debut to remember, by following through a tackle on a Polish player and clattering straight into Peter Cormack, who he then watched being carried of the pitch! [Gornick won 2-1]. No wonder Mr Cormack had departed the club before that season ended, the fear of playing in anymore friendlies for us!

StevieT
21-08-2023, 09:03 PM
What a strip!

Was there as a young lad, with my Hibs and Liverpool supporting father who thought all his dreams had come true with Kenny in a Hibs kit.

I've got one of those tops in my loft. Should really look at moving it on

21-08-2023, 09:34 PM
I was there as a youngster too. Although I rrmember the scoreline, I don't recall any details and certainly dont remember Peter Cormack going in goal (Although I did see him in goal on other occasions) :flag:

i was far too busy Marvelling at the huge East Terracing and swinging on the crash barrier with my mate :greengrin

cad
22-08-2023, 02:04 AM
i was far too busy Marvelling at the huge East Terracing and swinging on the crash barrier with my mate :greengrin

I saw ye , I was up a bit doing the exact same thing ,swinging on the crash barriers jeez that takes me back, all the barriers were painted red so the blood of all the kids who bumped their heid d running aboot didn't show, the place was enormous, if you stood at the very top you`d better have yer parka on it was awfi cauld, even in the summer, it would be a brave kid to go that far up wi shorts on freeze yer doodahs off ,
ah, the grey gravel, great view mind ..

I was at this game , seeing the floodlights on made it extra special, the buzz of the crowd the smell of Bovril , everyone thinking we were going to absolutely skoosh it ,
the anticipation, the roar when the Hi Hi`s came running out in the famous green and white , it was magical, it my very first night game, I`d be 9/10 the excitement the tension, up to high doh ,then ,then , , we got absolutely blitzed.��
I cant remember Cormack in goal , 1-4 sort of rings a bell, jeez the old grey matters just kicked in , another reason that I remember this game was because a girl in my class at school`s older brother was the Villa goalie, guy named Knowles , god knows where I pulled that from.
Who managed Hibs for that game ,jeez it was that long ago . ??