Never seen them so subdued.

Were they there?

LewysGot2
20-08-2023, 05:19 PM
Were they there?

In much smaller numbers

20-08-2023, 05:21 PM
Back in their usual place in the east. The difference is blatantly obvious now.

20-08-2023, 05:21 PM
In much smaller numbers

OK, cheers :aok:

Unfortunately I was stuck with audio commentary only.

20-08-2023, 05:23 PM
In much smaller numbers

Everywhere was much smaller numbers!

Bit of a shame given the heroics of Thursday. On the other hand fewer to witness a poor game.

20-08-2023, 05:24 PM
They're mostly all youngsters so I'd imagine with all these 'bigger' games happening cash flow will hit them harder than some of us.

20-08-2023, 05:36 PM
At least most of them went. A lot of the usual support didn't bother

20-08-2023, 10:53 PM
Back in their usual place in the east. The difference is blatantly obvious now.

I don't think their levels of enthusiasm today were anything to do with where they were situated. They'd have been just as quiet anywhere in the ground.

green.oracle
20-08-2023, 11:10 PM
I don't think their levels of enthusiasm today were anything to do with where they were situated. They'd have been just as quiet anywhere in the ground.

Correct Matty, I find it amazing how the majority in favour of moving them permanently behind the goals seem to think it becomes the yellow wall of Dortmund.
The previous 2 european games proved it didn't.

21-08-2023, 12:03 AM
Correct Matty, I find it amazing how the majority in favour of moving them permanently behind the goals seem to think it becomes the yellow wall of Dortmund.

You don't think there was an improved atmosphere in those 2 games? Like really?

The reason that they were subdued today was probably more to do with loads of them feeling the after effects of 3 heavy days in Switzerland.

21-08-2023, 12:24 AM

Well firstly their numbers were commensurate with the actual crowd size, only the presence of around 1500 Raith Rovers fans stopped it being under 7000. I agree with the other poster who pointed out that given their comparative age demographic the cost of so many games in a row not on season tickets has to be taking it's toll.

What I simply can't agree with is the suggestion that having them behind the goals for the European games didn't make a difference, it absolutely did, you must have been at different European games than the ones I was at, especially the Luzern one, where IMO having them behind the goals made the east more engaged because the whole stand could see and hear them.

As for the 'Yellow wall' comment, geeza break mate. Nobody is suggesting what we are going to end up with is the Anfield Kop or the aforementioned Yellow wall. The idea is a steady growth in numbers until you get around 13 to 16 hundred in the FF lower for most games and fill it for the bigger ones.
For bloody years now Easter Road has been a stadium lacking in atmosphere even with crowds of 16,000 and more at league games, with the large gaps and lack of animation in the FF lower undoubtedly contributing to that. Yet the second a serious attempt is made to do something about it all some folk seem to want to do is pick fault with and deride something that is in its infancy. A mere two games into it FFS.

None of this is a defence of breaking seats, smoke bombs or any other unacceptable behaviour, either at Easter Road or any other stadium. As I said in another thread whoever is organising Block 7, or any other 'ultras' group, that want to make the FF lower what most of us would like to see it become needs to nip that pish in the bud PDQ or they will lose the support of many of us who are sympathetic to their cause. If that happens the FF lower singing section is not going to happen and they had better understand that before its too late.

But that being said ... IMO its far far too soon to negatively judge what the FF lower's potential might be, especially considering what in many folks opinion ( not yours obviously ) has been a pretty successful trial period.

Torto7
21-08-2023, 01:17 AM
Well firstly their numbers were commensurate with the actual crowd size, only the presence of around 1500 Raith Rovers fans stopped it being under 7000. I agree with the other poster who pointed out that given their comparative age demographic the cost of so many games in a row not on season tickets has to be taking it's toll.

What I simply can't agree with is the suggestion that having them behind the goals for the European games didn't make a difference, it absolutely did, you must have been at different European games than the ones I was at, especially the Luzern one, where IMO having them behind the goals made the east more engaged because the whole stand could see and hear them.

As for the 'Yellow wall' comment, geeza break mate. Nobody is suggesting what we are going to end up with is the Anfield Kop or the aforementioned Yellow wall. The idea is a steady growth in numbers until you get around 13 to 16 hundred in the FF lower for most games and fill it for the bigger ones.
For bloody years now Easter Road has been a stadium lacking in atmosphere even with crowds of 16,000 and more at league games, with the large gaps and lack of animation in the FF lower undoubtedly contributing to that. Yet the second a serious attempt is made to do something about it all some folk seem to want to do is pick fault with and deride something that is in its infancy. A mere two games into it FFS.

None of this is a defence of breaking seats, smoke bombs or any other unacceptable behaviour, either at Easter Road or any other stadium. As I said in another thread whoever is organising Block 7, or any other 'ultras' group, that want to make the FF lower what most of us would like to see it become needs to nip that pish in the bud PDQ or they will lose the support of many of us who are sympathetic to their cause. If that happens the FF lower singing section is not going to happen and they had better understand that before its too late.

But that being said ... IMO its far far too soon to negatively judge what the FF lower's potential might be, especially considering what in many folks opinion ( not yours obviously ) has been a pretty successful trial period.

Hear Hear. I'm in favour of them having the area behind the goals. The kids all seem to love it and they can grow their own culture provided they don't go over the top. Mine are a wee bit too young atm to join them but they adore all the noise/displays etc.

21-08-2023, 01:37 AM
Hear Hear. I'm in favour of them having the area behind the goals. The kids all seem to love it and they can grow their own culture provided they don't go over the top. Mine are a wee bit too young atm to join them but they adore all the noise/displays etc.

Which is one of the things I've mentioned as being a benefit of this. Having this section behind the goals will not only enthuse the young kids who already go to Easter Road, IMO it will encourage kids who have yet to pick a team to pick Hibs if they see a colourful and noisy support either on the telly, or the first time a friend or relative takes them along to ER.

21-08-2023, 05:35 AM
You don't think there was an improved atmosphere in those 2 games? Like really?

The reason that they were subdued today was probably more to do with loads of them feeling the after effects of 3 heavy days in Switzerland.

How many Block 7 do you think were in Switzerland?

21-08-2023, 06:22 AM
How many actual members of Block 7 are there?

21-08-2023, 08:32 AM

Maybe some more smoke bombs and flares would make it closer to the Yellow Wall. Oh wait folk would moan about that too.

21-08-2023, 08:41 AM
Less a Block 7 thing, but I'm struggling to see how a headcount of the Hibs support reaches well over 6,000...

21-08-2023, 08:47 AM
Block 7 had 6 guys in Switzerland and maybe 15 in Andorra. How many tickets will they miraculously get for Villa Park?

21-08-2023, 08:56 AM
Block 7 had 6 guys in Switzerland and maybe 15 in Andorra. How many tickets will they miraculously get for Villa Park?

Strange so few how would you know who was and who wasn't :greengrin

the_ginger_hibee
21-08-2023, 09:11 AM
Strange so few how would you know who was and who wasn't :greengrin

They all wear B7/UH t-shirts, have UH tattoos & stand together.

DIXIHIBS
21-08-2023, 09:17 AM

Why does that matter. They are mainly teens so highly unlikely to afford to go. Made a huge difference at Luzern game and maybe just helped the team with that 2nd half performance.

21-08-2023, 09:19 AM

The trial period was excellent, my point initially was that it didn’t matter yesterday where they were.

I do think also that we need to consider that they want to have that area behind the goals, so there’s an incentive for them to make that trial work. To that end, I fully expect we’d be having the same discussion about the trial being a success if they’d wanted the section they’re in now to work.

That is no sleight on Block 7, by the way. I’m all for what they do (the good bits, not so keen on them moving other fans out their seats etc).

21-08-2023, 09:30 AM
I'll be surprised if we ever get to a point where we have a >2K section of fans bouncing up and down behind the goals for 90 mins at the prospect of playing Raith Rovers in a last 16 tie. Most just want to get behind the team and watch such a game in a decent atmosphere but cant really be arsed going overboard vs what we are watching.

Not a game to judge this on, after what has been a successful trial of them behind the goals.

21-08-2023, 09:43 AM
Why does that matter. They are mainly teens so highly unlikely to afford to go. Made a huge difference at Luzern game and maybe just helped the team with that 2nd half performance.

My point is that they will get 100 tickets or so for Villa Park without having to go through the same channels as the rest of us.

21-08-2023, 09:52 AM
If they were there in smaller numbers that is more than usually turn up for early round League Cup matches. I wasn't their yesterday due to work but that would have been a real test if they were asked to create an atmosphere in a lesser attended low profile game. Plenty Ultras in the Championship manage that in far smaller crowds week in week out

21-08-2023, 09:52 AM
My point is that they will get 100 tickets or so for Villa Park without having to go through the same channels as the rest of us.

Most of them will be season ticket holders and most of them will have each others references etc...

So surely it wouldn't be that big a surprise if they are there in bigger numbers?

Unless you're saying that they get preference before ordinary st holders?

21-08-2023, 09:53 AM
My point is that they will get 100 tickets or so for Villa Park without having to go through the same channels as the rest of us. Is that a fact. I presume some of them will be in teh membership scheme and will deserve their tickets as much as anyone in that scheme. They don't deserve a ticket next to each other any more than anyone else and they should be treated exactly the same as other supporters away from home

21-08-2023, 10:21 AM

Is this a fact that they get a direct allocation from the club for away games or just the latest burgeoning .net myth that's in danger of becoming an accepted truth if enough folk repeat it?

Arch Stanton
21-08-2023, 10:22 AM
especially the Luzern one, where IMO having them behind the goals made the east more engaged because the whole stand could see and hear them.

I doubt the East could hear them - I certainly couldn't in the West. It seemed to me that the East came alive in response to the away support who were totally dominating the stadium.

Also, Block 7 don't do chants that anyone else joins in with which makes it a bit pointless in my view.

21-08-2023, 10:29 AM
Is this a fact that they get a direct allocation from the club for away games or just the latest burgeoning .net myth that's in danger of becoming an accepted truth if enough folk repeat it?

From KP

"The Ticket Office team confirmed at the Hibs First launch event earlier in the year that Block 7 don't receive priority tickets. Away teams do request we place our singing section/"ultras" in a specific designated part of their ground to support the policing. These seats are allocated after our priority groups."

Take that as you will. I take it as Hibs First, first, then Block 7. I might be wrong.

21-08-2023, 10:34 AM
From KP

"The Ticket Office team confirmed at the Hibs First launch event earlier in the year that Block 7 don't receive priority tickets. Away teams do request we place our singing section/"ultras" in a specific designated part of their ground to support the policing. These seats are allocated after our priority groups."

Take that as you will. I take it as Hibs First, first, then Block 7. I might be wrong.

Pretty poor if that's the case. Should have the same chance as every other season ticket holder after Hibs First members.

21-08-2023, 10:35 AM
Pretty poor if that's the case. Should have the same chance as every other season ticket holder after Hibs First members.

Q1 & Q2 are sold out for Villa away, so if they are sat in those areas (lower sections if you're watching on TV) then we know they were given access prior to season ticket holders.

hibstag
21-08-2023, 10:36 AM
Never seen them so subdued.

I was quite enjoying them bantering with the opposite stand, ginger lad did a great job 👍

21-08-2023, 11:05 AM

To suggest they were quieter because they were sitting somewhere else is absolute nonsense.

21-08-2023, 11:20 AM
I doubt the East could hear them - I certainly couldn't in the West. It seemed to me that the East came alive in response to the away support who were totally dominating the stadium.

Also, Block 7 don't do chants that anyone else joins in with which makes it a bit pointless in my view.

Mate, I was practically in the center of the east at the Luzern game and that simply wasn't my experience. The away support were certainly not dominating the stadium and they were on the same side as my telephone ear which gave them the advantage :greengrin

Whatever the case one thing cant be argued with. At both the Luzern game and the Inter game the FF lower with Block 7 in it contributed far more to the atmosphere and matchday experience than the FF lower normally does and whatever the reason was for the east coming alive during the Luzern game, surely its better to have two sides of the stadium singing and chanting than just one. The Luzern game was the best atmosphere ER has had from the home stands for a long time outside of derbies or games against the Sticky Buns.

I agree that some of the Block 7 songs and chants are a mystery to me as well ... but how that makes them pointless is beyond me.

21-08-2023, 11:21 AM
Most of them will be season ticket holders and most of them will have each others references etc...

So surely it wouldn't be that big a surprise if they are there in bigger numbers?

Unless you're saying that they get preference before ordinary st holders?

If they are all seated together at Villa park you will know the club have skirted round the their own system. This will be especially apparent if they are in the lower tier because that is virtually sold out. Q1 still has a handful of tickets, Q2 is sold out and Q3 is not on sale and unlikely to be as its directly below Villa fans in the upper section.

21-08-2023, 11:24 AM
From KP

Would be easy for KP to directly clarify this so I’ll ask again. Do Block 7 get tickets set aside
for them to avoid them going in the scramble with the rest of the season ticket holders?

DIXIHIBS
21-08-2023, 12:11 PM
Would be easy for KP to directly clarify this so I’ll ask again. Do Block 7 get tickets set aside
for them to avoid them going in the scramble with the rest of the season ticket holders?

My understanding is that B7 do not receive priority tickets but those who do get tickets are placed together at games for easier policing etc. How the club knows who is a B7 member though i do wonder.

Chorley Hibee
21-08-2023, 12:19 PM
My understanding is that B7 do not receive priority tickets but those who do get tickets are placed together at games for easier policing etc. How the club knows who is a B7 member though i do wonder.

If that happened then surely Hibs would be notifying others that they would have to move to another area in order to accommodate Block 7 in that aforementioned area?

I've not heard of a single incident where that's happened.

That tells me they're already allocated tickets together before they're on sale to others.

21-08-2023, 12:23 PM
Again, how many actual members are there of Block 7? When you see the FFL lower bouncing with 1k they aren't all block 7 and would be in there bouncing no matter what.
The move should have been made well before Block 7 were even a thing. Block 7 are just lucky its their time that coincides whith the move to the FFL.

21-08-2023, 12:29 PM

I've been to hampden a few times with supporters clubs and thats exactly what has happened, everyone who was able to get a ticket provided their reference number to the organiser who passed it on and the ticket office made sure we were all sat together, wasn't anything nefarious or queue jumping or any guarantees, that was pre being able to log on and select a certain seat etc though

21-08-2023, 12:33 PM
What would help these discussions immensely is if one of the main movers and shakers in Block 7 would come on here and give their take on things. That might be the case already, but if it is I cant recall such a poster specifically identifying themselves as such. Even if they were to create a Block 7 profile that they posted under it would help, because there's a number of questions their fellow fans need to see them answer / address.

Q 1 ..... Do you actually have a structure or are you just a disorganised rabble who rock up to Easter Road on matchdays all wearing the same T shirt? If there is a structure, what is it?

Q 2 ..... There's a number of 'your fellow Hibs fans' complaining about being aggressively bumped from their seats at away games and blaming your group for it. What do you intend to do to fix that? Because it's totally unacceptable.

Q 3 ..... Do you have any plan of action to encourage folk to join in with the singing section even if they don't want to be part of the 'ultras' group as such?
The end game has to be a full or nearly full FF lower at most games, are you organised enough that you can come up with practical ideas to make that happen? ... Back in the day when crowds were far lower some radges managed to persuade about 300 kids to get together for a punch up every Saturday ... surely it can't be out of the question to get far bigger numbers to come along to sing and wave flags.

Q 4 ..... Someone suggested that your group contains a fair number of exiled Jambos fleeing Ann Budge's 'Ultras' pogrom .... say it ain't so :greengrin

Anyway .... The folk involved in Block 7 must be aware of the discussions surrounding them and the FF lower on here, and I have no doubt the Hibees Bounce .... Lets hear from you.

21-08-2023, 12:55 PM
I don't think B7 will come on here to comment which is fair enough and it's not their fault if they get priority, who wouldn't take the tickets. They are a good bunch of lads actually, having met a few of them abroad, very well organised.

21-08-2023, 12:57 PM
Maybe there are quite a few of them who are also Hibs First members so will get their tickets together. And then the rest join them at the game which is when the forcing other supporters out their seats comes in to play

21-08-2023, 12:58 PM

No idea, but there was a group of about 10 of them in the pub we were at in Zurich on the Wednesday. Same guys that had been sitting in the broken seated area at Fir Park. There were loads of young team in Lucerne the next day with man bags as well. Didnt ask them all if they were part of B7 though so maybe there weren't that many.

21-08-2023, 01:04 PM
Q1 & Q2 are sold out for Villa away, so if they are sat in those areas (lower sections if you're watching on TV) then we know they were given access prior to season ticket holders.

As a Hibs First Member I logged on today at 10.05 am to get our 4 tickets. Couldn't get 4 tickets together in block Q2 (only single seats left) so def something up. Having looked at the stadium plan Q2 def the best seats IMO but cant imagine that whole section had gone after a few minutes.....

21-08-2023, 01:15 PM
What would help these discussions immensely is if one of the main movers and shakers in Block 7 would come on here and give their take on things.

I'd guess for the average 20-year-old that's akin to asking them to break out their typewriter and fire off a missive to Points of View.

21-08-2023, 01:21 PM
I'd guess for the average 20-year-old that's akin to asking them to break out their typewriter and fire off a missive to Points of View.

21-08-2023, 01:21 PM
I don't think B7 will come on here to comment which is fair enough and it's not their fault if they get priority, who wouldn't take the tickets. They are a good bunch of lads actually, having met a few of them abroad, very well organised.

I don't see why not mate. It's not as if they are devoid of support on here, there's plenty of folk sympathetic to any group trying to improve the atmosphere at Easter Road, including auld farts like me. But there's also a need for some issues and questions surrounding the group to be addressed and simply just a few things some of us are curious about.

Its not as if posting under a profile name on here will stop them being all mysterious and interesting :greengrin

21-08-2023, 01:29 PM
I don't see why not mate. It's not as if they are devoid of support on here, there's plenty of folk sympathetic to any group trying to improve the atmosphere at Easter Road, including auld farts like me. But there's also a need for some issues and questions surrounding the group to be addressed and simply just a few things some of us are curious about.

Its not as if posting under a profile name on here will stop them being all mysterious and interesting :greengrin

The illustrious leader can put a balaclava on at his computer.

21-08-2023, 01:36 PM
I've been to hampden a few times with supporters clubs and thats exactly what has happened, everyone who was able to get a ticket provided their reference number to the organiser who passed it on and the ticket office made sure we were all sat together, wasn't anything nefarious or queue jumping or any guarantees, that was pre being able to log on and select a certain seat etc though

And does everyone get a ticket when there more fans wanting one than we have available. This was discussed during the loyalty point debates. Without giving priority to B7 or supporters clubs I'm not sure how they could be sat together. The only way I can think is if there are 12k season tickets and 1200 tickets available for Villa Park. That means you have a 1 in 10 chance of a ticket as a ST holder. B7 presumably have some form of membership list and I would give them 10% of the number of members they had at the start of the season and they can sit together. There would be a cross reference to make sure they were all ST holders.

Far too much work so they should take their chances with other fans and the club should do what any club with more regularly fans wanting to go than tickets available. If we are to grow and be more successful then that will happen more often so it is a no brainer.

22-08-2023, 04:50 PM
B7 will be getting tickets put aside for them, there's nothing surer.

22-08-2023, 05:34 PM
What would help these discussions immensely is if one of the main movers and shakers in Block 7 would come on here and give their take on things. That might be the case already, but if it is I cant recall such a poster specifically identifying themselves as such. Even if they were to create a Block 7 profile that they posted under it would help, because there's a number of questions their fellow fans need to see them answer / address.

Q 1 ..... Do you actually have a structure or are you just a disorganised rabble who rock up to Easter Road on matchdays all wearing the same T shirt? If there is a structure, what is it?

Q 2 ..... There's a number of 'your fellow Hibs fans' complaining about being aggressively bumped from their seats at away games and blaming your group for it. What do you intend to do to fix that? Because it's totally unacceptable.

Q 3 ..... Do you have any plan of action to encourage folk to join in with the singing section even if they don't want to be part of the 'ultras' group as such?
The end game has to be a full or nearly full FF lower at most games, are you organised enough that you can come up with practical ideas to make that happen? ... Back in the day when crowds were far lower some radges managed to persuade about 300 kids to get together for a punch up every Saturday ... surely it can't be out of the question to get far bigger numbers to come along to sing and wave flags.

Q 4 ..... Someone suggested that your group contains a fair number of exiled Jambos fleeing Ann Budge's 'Ultras' pogrom .... say it ain't so :greengrin

Anyway .... The folk involved in Block 7 must be aware of the discussions surrounding them and the FF lower on here, and I have no doubt the Hibees Bounce .... Lets hear from you.

That makes complete sense.

Unfortunately, it seems Block 7 are above answering questions from mere Hibs supporters.

22-08-2023, 05:42 PM
Won’t someone think of the seats?

22-08-2023, 07:07 PM
Did someone not pretty much confirm that Block 7 get priority on another thread. Said they weren't a season ticket holder but got tickets for game at Easter Rd before tickets were on sale to season ticket holders.

22-08-2023, 07:09 PM
They have a big part to play tomorrow. Hope they terrify that Argie melt in goals.

22-08-2023, 08:52 PM
They have a big part to play tomorrow. Hope they terrify that Argie melt in goals.

I'd be content if they don't cause the club to have to pay a fine. I doubt I'll hear them anyways at the other end of the west upper.

fife hfc
23-08-2023, 09:25 AM
Did someone not pretty much confirm that Block 7 get priority on another thread. Said they weren't a season ticket holder but got tickets for game at Easter Rd before tickets were on sale to season ticket holders.You have read the thread about the ticket shambles. That is how I got a ticket through my season ticket holder son and Hibs first member but don't let facts twist your story. I for one think it is pretty pathetic how Hibs fans are turning on other Hibs fans. Actually glad I am in beside them tonight as they look like they will support their team rather than sit and moan about others.

Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk