View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Raith
e2los
20-08-2023, 02:16 PM
Youan you greedy *******, pick the passing option ffs, so wasteful at times.
And then plays a great ball to Boyle.
Guessing Hanlon is going to get the first goal.
20-08-2023, 02:17 PM
Yay
Finally.
Finally.
We’re now showing us how it should be done
That’s better ffs
Sleepy Elie!
Yaaaas
what a team ;)
Youan scores
1-0
Hibs4185
Super Joe on
Better with super Joe tortolano
Elly Yoohan to the rescue.
Much better this half.
20-08-2023, 02:18 PM
Yass
That was coming to be fair
e2los
Thank goodness!
1-0 for the good guys. :flag:
He's here!
I don’t think 2 games in a week should be a huge ask but the problem is our depth of squad. We’ve got injured players, players carrying knocks, new signings who are adapting and a much lauded youth set up that provides players who aren’t up to playing first team football.
Fit players who have played the full pre season will be fine to play twice a week - you can’t expect crocks, semi crocks and folk what haven’t played for us much or at all to play twice a week.
The close season is also next to non-existent these days so players would really have to go some to return to training hopelessly unfit. Even match sharpness shouldn't take weeks to achieve. I can't buy into this two games a week is too demanding claim by Beale, Naismith and LJ.
Good purposeful play from Doidge there to win a corner
20-08-2023, 02:19 PM
Couldn't manage another expense this month so a rare visit to matchday thread.
It's exactly what I thought it would be featuring who I thought. Trigger fingers on the johnson out thread in case they score 😄
Getting through is all that matters today then enormous game on Wed.
Sounds like we have been poor and still only a draw. A good second half wins it. Mon the Hibs!!
EDIT - There you go!
we want two
we want two
Donegal Hibby
Yass :flag:
20-08-2023, 02:20 PM
Stevenson and Miller on
Paul1642
20-08-2023, 02:21 PM
Clean sheet wins it
Better score a second then…
20-08-2023, 02:21 PM
😄
20-08-2023, 02:22 PM
Joe Newell again proving why he is our best player by a distance. Different team since he came on.
The Captain....
Newell's going to have to play every minute of the season I think. That midfield is absolutely ***** without him. We desperately need better than we currently have in there
Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk
Why do 4th officials still check the studs of subs, what do they expect to see, nails, tacks?
Clean sheet wins it
As long as we get more goals
Joe has made a huge difference
Won’t hear me complaining
20-08-2023, 02:24 PM
Another superb run by Newell. Just a shame ALF has the pass bounce off him
Bridge hibs
20-08-2023, 02:24 PM
Why do 4th officials still check the studs of subs, what do they expect to see, nails, tacks?
Making sure the cleats arent ragged
20-08-2023, 02:25 PM
If the Joe Newell we have now was playing for a side in England, we wouldn’t be able to afford him.
Ticker tape
Joe Newell again proving why he is our best player by a distance. Different team since he came on.
He seems to have added an extra dimension to his game this season, he's taking on more players and going for a run more, it's great to see
20-08-2023, 02:27 PM
Ewan Henderson coming on i think
HendoDelivered
If the Joe Newell we have now was playing for a side in England, we wouldn’t be able to afford him.
I’d be looking to extend his stay beyond 2025 asap.
HarpOnHibee
Just get the job done Hibs, doesn't need to be pretty.
20-08-2023, 02:28 PM
1-1
That came from a slack pass from Newell
****ing Jeggo.
Weaker than a Skol shandy.
Jeggo really poor there.
Oh dear
Pain.
wan-wan oh well
Lewis Stevenson's kids just popped down the stairs there before that goal, at least they didn't see it!
Jeggo poor there and then Stevenson a bit weak in the tackle
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Berwickhibby
20-08-2023, 02:29 PM
Jeggo at fault ..
FFS what the hell is wrong with this team?!!
Deary me Hibs. 1-1
Goal. Vente.
HendoDelivered
Jeggo is absolutely awful. As is our defending.
FFS all we needed to do was not Concede.
Pretty funny actually. Still a soft touch at times
And there it is, build you up to knock you down.
Stevenson deary me what was that?
Poor poor goal.
Stevenson and Jeggo need to be stronger
Lmao
Great sub Lee
That's a sore one for Dabrowski.
FFS what the hell is wrong with this team?!!2-1 hibs
Vente
An immediate response from Hibs.
****ing Jeggo.
Weaker than a Skol shandy.
More like a bass shandy
2-1
Vente
What a team
Ewan Henderson coming on i think
Needs to show what he can do against lower league opposition if he has to have any future at hibs
Newell will need a lot more time in the gym to carry dross like Jeggo.
Defensive genius lynchpin Jimmy Jeggo shoring things up in the midfield :rolleyes:
20-08-2023, 02:30 PM
what a team ;) 2-1
Slack pass from Newell. Jeggo bullied. Very weak goal to be conceding
one day maybe...
Great response to their goal :greengrin
Vente
Vente’s a player
brutal at the back yet again, stevenson far too soft in the tackle there
Silversand
Thank gawd, Vente
Sent from my SM-S911B using Tapatalk
Torto7
Yah-boo-yah
Berwickhibby
Thank ****
Vente 🤣
We are the most Bipolar club in world football
We really need to address the defence before the windows shut
Think some people haven't caught up yet.
20-08-2023, 02:31 PM
Good subs from the manager. :greengrin
Didn't see that response, Vente good goal.
e2los
Urgh, so typical of our form against teams we should beat comfortably.
And before hitting enter 2-1.. lol..
Vente!
Vente's goal all comes from a great run by youan
OstKurve Hibs
Good to be back in front obviously but that's yet another goal gited to the opposition wi a bow on top !
Oft. 2-1 just as I posted we were pish there [emoji1787]
Think some people haven't caught up yet.
Always delays depending what stream it is.
20-08-2023, 02:32 PM
Good subs from the manager. :greengrin
:agree: Credit where its due
tonyrougier123
20-08-2023, 02:32 PM
We better or we are in soapy! Canny buy a clean sheet.
20-08-2023, 02:33 PM
It still could age well, unfortunately
Game on tv?
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
We are 😂😂
a defence
a defence
my kingdom for a defence
And the midfield.
The close season is also next to non-existent these days so players would really have to go some to return to training hopelessly unfit. Even match sharpness shouldn't take weeks to achieve. I can't buy into this two games a week is too demanding claim by Beale, Naismith and LJ.
We’ve got players capable of it and players who might be expected to struggle.
Boyle, Rocky, Levitt - missed large parts of the second half of last season and are returning to fitness.
ALF, Stevenson - in their late thirties.
Campbell - taken a few heavy knocks throughout the early season games.
Was Newell not also being nursed back to fitness after pre season injury?
Miller hasn’t got much of a track record of playing 90 minutes twice a week for us.
Vente’s new, his fitness levels may be unknown.
There will be a core of players who you should expect to be able to play twice a week. There will be others for whom it will be a big ask.
It still could age well, unfortunately
Yeah it probably could
20-08-2023, 02:34 PM
Get ****ing out for that Marshall.
20-08-2023, 02:35 PM
Marshall has to come and take that
20-08-2023, 02:35 PM
Get ****ing out for that Marshall.
Hanlon telling him to come for it and him not doing so nearby had us in trouble again.
20-08-2023, 02:36 PM
Doesn't mean that you were wrong.........
20-08-2023, 02:37 PM
Hanlon was shouting. An experienced keeper should know better.
20-08-2023, 02:37 PM
He is only bringing on players that would have started under normal circumstances. We have no depth in our squad.
20-08-2023, 02:40 PM
Get a third hibs I need that for prediction league Changed it from 2 to 3 when saw the team lol
You csn do this
Torto7
20-08-2023, 02:42 PM
Hopefully we do better than Everton. Villa very impressive, class all over the pitch. McGinn MOTM.
cameronw-hfc
20-08-2023, 02:43 PM
Nah, 0 credit due. We should be beating Raith 4/5-0. You don't get credit for scraping past a lower league team.
I was LJ in for god knows how long, but I've found myself actively disliking him. I can't remember the last time I genuinely disliked a Hibs manager. It's not just a case of not rating him. We have a pretty decent squad now, he's just clueless. Baffling team selections, baffling tactics, baffling subs, but because we sometime put in the odd performance in a big game we persist.
NC1875
20-08-2023, 02:44 PM
Hopefully we do better than Everton. Villa very impressive, class all over the pitch. McGinn MOTM.
It will be a cricket score on Wednesday. We can’t keep a clean sheet against Andorran part timers and now Raith rovers.
20-08-2023, 02:45 PM
Nah, 0 credit due. We should be beating Raith 4/5-0. You don't get credit for scraping past a lower league team.
I was LJ in for god knows how long, but I've found myself actively disliking him. I can't remember the last time I genuinely disliked a Hibs manager. It's not just a case of not rating him. We have a pretty decent squad now, he's just clueless. Baffling team selections, baffling tactics, baffling subs, but because we sometime put in the odd performance in a big game we persist.
What if we scrape through today and have our first choice team fit and raring to go on Wednesday, because he’s actually managed the squad’s workload quite well?
We have no divine right to be beating anyone 4 or 5-0.
We absolutely must be winning these matches though.
20-08-2023, 02:47 PM
It will be a cricket score on Wednesday. We can’t keep a clean sheet against Andorran part timers and now Raith rovers.
Not that we need the deficiencies in our defence highlighted, but by f*** I’ve got the fear
Torto7
20-08-2023, 02:48 PM
I'm hoping we can get an up on the LJ bat**** bipolar wibblefest that Hibs currently are.
Rangers only beat Morton 2-1 yesterday.
If you were only gonnae be happy with a 4-0 or 5-0 then it was always pretty likely you’d be unhappy today.
Elie mom
Trinity Hibee
All that really matters here (and in cups in general) is getting to the next round. Rangers struggled v Morton yesterday.
We’ve got through in Europe midweek and got through in the cup. All we can ask.
20-08-2023, 02:49 PM
All that really matters here (and is cups in general) is getting to the next round. Rangers struggled v Morton yesterday.
We’ve got through in Europe midweek and got through in the cup. All we can ask.
We aren’t through yet.
Are the fans not allowed to ask for a better performance and comfortable win against a championship side?
Rangers only beat Morton 2-1 yesterday.
If you were only gonnae be happy with a 4-0 or 5-0 then it was always pretty likely you’d be unhappy today.
Dons 2-1 against Stirling
Trinity Hibee
20-08-2023, 02:50 PM
We aren’t through yet.
Are the fans not allowed to ask for a better performance and comfortable win against a championship side?
They can ask absolutely. Just think after a hard shift midweek the main thing was getting through today and we are virtually there now.
20-08-2023, 02:50 PM
The only team in Scotland capable of giving Villa a run is Celtic. That's a reflection of our league, not of LJ.
20-08-2023, 02:51 PM
5 mins added
pretty decent squad? we have a decent 13/14 players the squad is dire which is why we're enduring games like this when he has to attempt rotation
20-08-2023, 02:52 PM
The only team in Scotland capable of giving Villa a run is Celtic. That's a reflection of our league, not of LJ.
Villa would be favourites in that game tae.
Paul1642
20-08-2023, 02:53 PM
I’m not so sure to be honest. I would fancy Celtic’s chances
NC1875
I never mentioned LJ.
They can ask absolutely. Just think after a hard shift midweek the main thing was getting through today and we are virtually there now.
That’s fair. I was just wondering if we were allowed to ask/expect a better performance
I’ll take the progression at this point after how poor we were for the first 45mins
Torto7
Celtic wouldn't get near them either. Villas reserves would be Celtics best player. It's mental the money down there.
Rovers making subs in injury time haha
20-08-2023, 02:54 PM
very small crowd unfortunately
20-08-2023, 02:55 PM
Raith red card?
supermcginn
They are streets ahead of Celtic in every position. Villa are a top class team.
Celtic wouldn't get near them either. Villas reserves would be Celtics best player. It's mental the money down there.
I'm not sure they would in Europe, they've got better players but Celtic Park is a tough place to go on European Nights, add in the Scotland v England angle and I think a two legged tie between them would be fairly tight.
e2los
Bit sad having to go revert to time wasting against Raith though regardless of it not being as easy as it should be.
20-08-2023, 02:56 PM
Dull one but in now way should that be a red. Straight? Missed it somewhat.
Hope Vente ok here
Raith red card?Yep
Bit harsh IMO but he did banjo Vente in the face
Is that a straight red.
Raith player knocked Vente out cold.
Dull one but in now way should that be a red. Straight? Missed it somewhat.
Didn’t think it was a red either tbh
I don’t think any the Celtc players get a start in this Villa team.
Raith red card?
Booted Vente right in the puss
Raith player knocked Vente out cold.No he didn't
Unless I missed that bit
Dangerous play, I'd say its a clear red no matter the intention.
Knowing our luck vente will miss villa game cause of concussion protocol
20-08-2023, 02:57 PM
An Everton friend saying Villa destroying them. It gives me only three days to get utterly delusional. It’s not enough.
Raith player knocked Vente out cold.
Hope he's ok for Wednesday
I agree but if we get a doing from Villa the usual suspects will lining up to tell us it's LJ's fault.
Could easily be a broken nose
An Everton friend saying Villa destroying them. It gives me only three days to get utterly delusional. It’s not enough.
20-08-2023, 02:58 PM
I'm watching it and they are. Villa are light years ahead of all Scottish teams other than maybe Celtic.
20-08-2023, 02:58 PM
FT
no dancing in the streets of Raith tonight
Trinity Hibee
20-08-2023, 02:59 PM
Vente okay?
Everton giving themselves a doing
Meh
A win in the cup, through to the next round!!!
That is all you need to do, performance should come given time and games!!!
20-08-2023, 03:00 PM
That'll do. Banana skin avoided. Job done.
The Captain....
Tricky tie negotiated but again highlights the paper thin quality of the squad. Midfield and defence still need major work...how long have we been saying that?
Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk
tonyrougier123
FT
Is it not whoever puts them out normally wins a cup? 😏
hibbie02
20-08-2023, 03:01 PM
I'm watching it and they are. Villa are light years ahead of all Scottish teams other than maybe Celtic.
I’ve got the fear of what they will do down the flanks against us. With their strikers we will ship a boatload of goals. SJM will run riot too.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
FT
……. not a great deal of cause for celebration in Leith either. :greengrin
MagicSwirlingShip
Our time in the championship taught me that a lot of the teams in that league are decent. They will have been up for it today. 2-1 a good result for us
through we go, progress on last season already :tin hat:
20-08-2023, 03:02 PM
Harbottle wok everything in the fair, made several interceptions and played out from the back really well.
Will have done himself no harm for starting games with that performance, especially with how bad we’ve been
Wasn't the best performance but some players who haven't played much got game time and we got through and that's all that matters
Donegal Hibby
All about getting thru to the next round .
Job done :flag:
tonyrougier123
Our time in the championship taught me that a lot of the teams in that league are decent. They will have been up for it today. 2-1 a good result for us
Totally agree.
He's here!
Any type of win was all that mattered today - as is the case in any cup tie.
Is it not whoever puts them out normally wins a cup? 😏
saying nowt :greengrin
cameronw-hfc
20-08-2023, 03:03 PM
What if we scrape through today and have our first choice team fit and raring to go on Wednesday, because he’s actually managed the squad’s workload quite well?
We have no divine right to be beating anyone 4 or 5-0.
We absolutely must be winning these matches though.
Won't matter, we will either carry on being rubbish in the league or go on a run of 3/4 wins followed by 3/4 losses. Its too predictable at this point and the football isn't even good enough to let it slide.
Love him to prove me wrong, but I've never been so frustrated watching a Hibs team.
We don't have a right to be beating anyone, but that doesn't mean a top SPL team shouldn't comfortably get past lower league teams. If it was a one off, fine, but thr first 2 league games show it's not
20-08-2023, 03:03 PM
so, no lower league sides through to the next round, not great for the neutral viewer really
HendoDelivered
20-08-2023, 03:05 PM
That was ass but i’ll take being in the next round. Hopefully Vente ok
20-08-2023, 03:07 PM
Deserved winners in the end
20-08-2023, 03:07 PM
Next round. Job done.
Won't matter, we will either carry on being rubbish in the league or go on a run of 3/4 wins followed by 3/4 losses. Its too predictable at this point and the football isn't even good enough to let it slide.
Love him to prove me wrong, but I've never been so frustrated watching a Hibs team.
We don't have a right to be beating anyone, but that doesn't mean a top SPL team shouldn't comfortably get past lower league teams. If it was a one off, fine, but thr first 2 league games show it's not
You were at the game today ?
cameronw-hfc
20-08-2023, 03:10 PM
I'm not saying they're not, but we were horrendous last season vs lower league teams, horrendous in the league so far this season, and not very good today either. Its a worrying trend.
As I said, it's easier to let things go when the football is decent, but even that's terrible for the most part. He also never, ever takes ant accountability and throws players under the bus at the drop of a hat.
20-08-2023, 03:11 PM
I'm not saying they're not, but we were horrendous last season vs lower league teams, horrendous in the league so far this season, and not very good today either. Its a worrying trend.
As I said, it's easier to let things go when the football is decent, but even that's terrible for the most part. He also never, ever takes ant accountability and throws players under the bus at the drop of a hat.The last sentence is nonsense btw
It's a new £150k hibs.net fact
cameronw-hfc
20-08-2023, 03:12 PM
No I had a game with the kids team I coach at 12.30 and didn't get back until 2. What does it matter? I've been to games home and away religiously until a year or two ago, when things got tough financially. Not sure how that disqualifies my opinion.
cameronw-hfc
20-08-2023, 03:12 PM
The last sentence is nonsense btw
It's a new £150k hibs.net fact
Nah its not.
20-08-2023, 03:14 PM
Nah its not.Yeah it is
There's been quote after quote after quote posted on this very forum showing it just isnt true
Anyway, your minds made up so zero point even discussing this is guess
20-08-2023, 03:15 PM
It was always going to be tougher than many people hoped.
Getting up for that game today was difficult enough for the support, half of whom didn't even go. For the players who must have used a whole load of physical and emotional energy on Thursday not to mention playing in that heat and the travelling, it must have been just as difficult.
However, they achieved what they set out to do. Now let's enjoy a huge glamour tie on Wednesday which is what everyone wants.
20-08-2023, 03:17 PM
Job done, but the wait for a good domestic performance continues. We really need to improve when the Villa games are out of the way.
20-08-2023, 03:18 PM
Hasn't been to a game in years yet constantly on here saying how bad the team or players are!!
cameronw-hfc
Yeah it is
There's been quote after quote after quote posted on this very forum showing it just isnt true
I defended Lee consistently last season, the performances bar Euro games which the players should have no issue getting themselves up for anyway have been terrible.
This is all my opinion right enough. Not saying I'm right and everyone is wrong, I'm just down on Hibs atm. Euro is making is more tolerable, but im certinally not alone in thinking this either.
Nah its not.
It's nonsense.
Several times I've posted articles in which LJ says he made mistakes or got it wrong but this myth continues regardless.
Also the "throwing players under buses" stuff is hyperbolic tosh as well.
I understand that people are frustrated with recent performances so there must be enough real things to critique without resorting to fiction.
No I had a game with the kids team I coach at 12.30 and didn't get back until 2. What does it matter? I've been to games home and away religiously until a year or two ago, when things got tough financially. Not sure how that disqualifies my opinion.
Depends what your basing your opinion on.
20-08-2023, 03:20 PM
We won, what's not to like?
cameronw-hfc
20-08-2023, 03:20 PM
Hasn't been to a game in years yet constantly on here saying how bad the team or players are!!
Again, wtf does my financial situation stopping me again the moment have anything to do with me having an opinion? I went every week between the ages of 4- till the covid year.
I got hit hard and lost a place to stay, so aye, sorry I'm not spending the only money I have on going to Hibs games at the moment, doesn't mean I'm not allowed an opinion.
20-08-2023, 03:22 PM
Again, wtf does my financial situation stopping me again the moment have anything to do with me having an opinion? I went every week between the ages of 4- till the covid year.
I got hit hard and lost a place to stay, so aye, sorry I'm not spending the only money I have on going to Hibs games at the moment, doesn't mean I'm not allowed an opinion.
I never once mentioned your financial position
HarpOnHibee
20-08-2023, 03:23 PM
Credit where it's due, we did what needed to be done without overdoing it. Nobody should be sticking the boot into LJ or any of the players for today's performance. It was enough and we should be in good stead going into next weeks game.
We won the game. Cup football is about getting through. Pretty it was not but we got the job done.
Didn't expect us to have an easy ride against an unbeaten team with many ex-Hibees with a point to prove, less than 3 days after a tough game in Switzerland. 3 days before our biggest European game in many years. Yet folk are still moaning 😴
Those saying we should be winning by 4/5 are living in cloud cuckoo land.
20-08-2023, 03:24 PM
We won, what's not to like?
Hearts.
cameronw-hfc
20-08-2023, 03:26 PM
Depends what your basing your opinion on.
The fact whether I'm at the games or not I watch the vast majority of games, the last year especially as its become easier to stream.
I've never once come on here slating a performance I haven't seen.
Disagree all you want but go and do one if you're going to act like i cant have an opinion cause I can't get to games. Doesn't make you a better fan because you can afford it and I can't.
Debate my opinion all you want, I'll debate back and we can agree to disagree, but don't act like I'm not allowed an opinion because of a situation outwith my control. You're no a better fan than I am, and I'm no a better fan than you. If it was physically possible to get to games, I'd be there in a heartbeat.
20-08-2023, 03:26 PM
Hearts.
20-08-2023, 03:27 PM
Livi at home in the next round please
20-08-2023, 03:27 PM
Hearts.
That's a given. :)
20-08-2023, 03:28 PM
Hearts.
That's a given. :greengrin
cameronw-hfc
I never once mentioned your financial position
No you had a dig at me not making games in 'years' when it literally isn't relevant in the slightest. I mentioned it because it's not like I'm chosing not to go. I can't. Doesn't mean I can't have an opinion. As I said, debate my opinion, sound, but snide comments about not going to games is a load of rubbish and doesn't mean a single thing. My opinion is my opinion and would be the exact same whether I was at the games or not.
Going to stop replying as it's not worth arguing about, I've said my piece, disagree with me all you want, but leave out the uber fan rubbish. We're all Hibs fans here, we all have an opinion and this is literally a forum for exactly that.
The quadruple is still on...
20-08-2023, 03:29 PM
The quadruple is still on...
The fact whether I'm at the games or not I watch the vast majority of games, the last year especially as its become easier to stream.
I've never once come on here slating a performance I haven't seen.
Disagree all you want but go and do one if you're going to act like i cant have an opinion cause I can't get to games. Doesn't make you a better fan because you can afford it and I can't.
Debate my opinion all you want, I'll debate back and we can agree to disagree, but don't act like I'm not allowed an opinion because of a situation outwith my control. You're no a better fan than I am, and I'm no a better fan than you. If it was physically possible to get to games, I'd be there in a heartbeat.
I tend to take more notice of what people are saying when they make it obvious that they are reporting on the game first hand, not TV, streaming or 2nd or 3rd hand info, you are relentlessly negative and I doubt you see every game you claim to, in fact today is a perfect example, you were at a kids game.
20-08-2023, 03:32 PM
Another game that shows how dire we are in the middle of the park.
Against that type of team we should be able to control the game but we’re incapable of doing so. We desperately need to sign a midfielder before the end of the window.
Our forwards are the only thing we have going for us just now.
20-08-2023, 03:33 PM
It wasn't concussion - if it was wed have been allowed an additional substitute
20-08-2023, 03:34 PM
We've finally won two games in a row.
Does that count as a 'streak'?
20-08-2023, 03:34 PM
No you had a dig at me not making games in 'years' when it literally isn't relevant in the slightest. I mentioned it because it's not like I'm chosing not to go. I can't. Doesn't mean I can't have an opinion. As I said, debate my opinion, sound, but snide comments about not going to games is a load of rubbish and doesn't mean a single thing. My opinion is my opinion and would be the exact same whether I was at the games or not.
Going to stop replying as it's not worth arguing about, I've said my piece, disagree with me all you want, but leave out the uber fan rubbish. We're all Hibs fans here, we all have an opinion and this is literally a forum for exactly that.
Uber fan, aye ok! I'm anything but an uber fan. And not going to games is 100% relevant when giving an opinion. I'll leave it there as you seem to be closing in on the money thing which I've never once mentioned
20-08-2023, 03:35 PM
We drew on Thursday :wink:
20-08-2023, 03:35 PM
Another game that shows how dire we are in the middle of the park.
Against that type of team we should be able to control the game but we’re incapable of doing so. We desperately need to sign a midfielder before the end of the window.
Our forwards are the only thing we have going for us just now.
Yip shows we don't really have a strong squad, hopefully a couple more players in would be good
20-08-2023, 03:36 PM
Goddamit, so we did!
Johnson out!
TBF, it seemed like a win at the time ;-)
Hibees1973
20-08-2023, 03:36 PM
That wasn't an easy watch, again.
In the past some very poor Hibs sides have somehow got to the latter stages of competitions and been embarrassed ultimately.
I am looking forward to the Villa game, but I really fear for us.
All I'm hoping for is a competitive Hibs on the night, and possibly sneaking the first goal. Know this is asking a bit much but can only hope.
My fear is we will be completely torn to shreds.
20-08-2023, 03:37 PM
pretty decent squad? we have a decent 13/14 players the squad is dire which is why we're enduring games like this when he has to attempt rotation
Agree we clearly don't have a pretty decent squad.
20-08-2023, 03:39 PM
Bit sad having to go revert to time wasting against Raith though regardless of it not being as easy as it should be.
Nothing sad about it all that matters today was winning
20-08-2023, 03:40 PM
That wasn't an easy watch, again.
In the past some very poor Hibs sides have somehow got to the latter stages of competitions and been embarrassed ultimately.
I am looking forward to the Villa game, but I really fear for us.
All I'm hoping for is a competitive Hibs on the night, and possibly sneaking the first goal. Know this is asking a bit much but can only hope.
My fear is we will be completely torn to shreds.We absolutely should be torn to shreds
They are about 5 leagues of quality and budget above most of Scottish football
We can but dream
20-08-2023, 03:41 PM
We've finally not lost for two games in a row; does that count as a streak?
Hate to burst your bubble but we haven't.
Absolutely :greengrin
LewysGot2
20-08-2023, 03:42 PM
We finally came back from Europe and won. There 🤭
Or we've gone 4 cup games in a row unbeaten 😉
20-08-2023, 03:42 PM
so, no lower league sides through to the next round, not great for the neutral viewer really
Are there many neutral viewers of the Scottish League Cup? 🤔
20-08-2023, 03:43 PM
I tend to take more notice of what people are saying when they make it obvious that they are reporting on the game first hand, not TV, streaming or 2nd or 3rd hand info, you are relentlessly negative and I doubt you see every game you claim to, in fact today is a perfect example, you were at a kids game.
Out of interest you do the same with the “positive” posters who clearly never attend games in person ? Fwiw everyone is entitled to an opinion but imo your perspective is undoubtedly different from watching games in person than it is from afar.
20-08-2023, 03:45 PM
We finally came back from Europe and won. There 🤭
Or we've gone 4 cup games in a row unbeaten 😉
Let's go with both of those :greengrin
LewysGot2
20-08-2023, 03:47 PM
It was avoid a repeat of St Mirren at all costs and had we been more gung ho and lost a second goal folk would have been decrying them not learning from 2 weeks ago.
Job done.
LewysGot2
20-08-2023, 03:47 PM
Let's go with both of those :greengrin
Sounds good to me.👍
e2los
20-08-2023, 03:48 PM
Yeah, fair play..
At the time to me it seemed like putting the game to bed would have been the better option.
Whatever works is fine though.
MagicSwirlingShip
20-08-2023, 03:50 PM
Hope you get back on your feet soon pal,
20-08-2023, 03:52 PM
All about getting through. Awful first half, slightly better second when we brought our good players on. Not the only Prem side to squeeze past a lower league opponent this weekend.
e2los
20-08-2023, 03:52 PM
It was avoid a repeat of St Mirren at all costs and had we been more gung ho and lost a second goal folk would have been decrying them not learning from 2 weeks ago.
Job done.
Agreed, job done is all that matters.
Was glad when the final whistle went.
LewysGot2
20-08-2023, 03:58 PM
Agreed, job done is all that matters.
Was glad when the final whistle went.
Yup, we're through whilst the likes of Motherwell and Celtc are not. All that matters.
20-08-2023, 03:59 PM
When's the draw?
20-08-2023, 04:02 PM
When's the draw?
Next 10 minutes. Or however long it takes Viaplay to get over Celtc's defeat.
20-08-2023, 04:04 PM
No sure if there was any concussion but could be a broken nose. Very sore one but shouldn’t stop him playing midweek. Not heard any updates on the injury but looked a bad one at the game. Flicked the ball up nicely, went to head it then gets a boot in the face.
20-08-2023, 04:07 PM
Harbottle wok everything in the fair, made several interceptions and played out from the back really well.
Will have done himself no harm for starting games with that performance, especially with how bad we’ve been
I was impressed with him. Used the ball nicely and solid defensively.
20-08-2023, 04:08 PM
Vente is totally fine. Just a bleeding nose.
LewysGot2
20-08-2023, 04:10 PM
Vente is totally fine. Just a bleeding nose.
Is that official?
20-08-2023, 04:11 PM
Yeah it is
Agreed. There’s a small group who persist with this LJ throwing players under the bus nonsense. Its simply untrue and garbage. Trumpism almost.
20-08-2023, 04:13 PM
Agreed. There’s a small group who persist with this LJ throwing players under the bus nonsense. Its simply untrue and garbage. Trumpism almost.
He absolutely does do it. Not all the time granted but enough for it be commented on.
He's here!
20-08-2023, 04:16 PM
He absolutely does do it. Not all the time granted but enough for it be commented on.
When? He had a go at their performance after the St Mirren game, which Newell acknowledged was fully deserved but if anything I find him quite protective of the players.
20-08-2023, 04:18 PM
When? He had a go at their performance after the St Mirren game, which Newell acknowledged was fully deserved but if anything I find him quite protective of the players.
Thought his comments regarding Fish were. Questioned his desire.
20-08-2023, 04:26 PM
Would be interesting to see Youan %age today.
20-08-2023, 04:26 PM
Thought his comments regarding Fish were. Questioned his desire.
He ran back at 82% of his ability. That should be questioned.
I actually thought that was a brilliant exchange between manager and player. It made the point well, and it was clearly a friendly exchange. If Klopp or Pep had said it, folk would be applauding.
On the general subject, I think players should be called out from time to time. Fish won't be dawdling back at 82% of his ability in front of the fans again. If it takes occasionally embarrassing a player to keep them focussed, it's a justified tactic.
20-08-2023, 04:28 PM
Is that official?
Official from the guy after the game. He was with his family chatting away to lots of fans post game. Totally fine we’re his words.
20-08-2023, 04:28 PM
Glad we're through but that was hard work. Raith will be leaving ER kicking themselves they didn't cause an upset imo.
I'm surprised Boyle and Youan played, they both looked knackered. The only reasoning I can think of is that LJ was hoping to go ahead early and clmake early changes. But we were awful and it didn't work.
The bright spark for me today was Harbottle who I think looks like could be a player.
20-08-2023, 04:29 PM
Would be interesting to see Youan %age today.
Thought he was fine second half but was well off it first half. As were the majority of the team.
20-08-2023, 04:29 PM
I actually thought that was a brilliant exchange between manager and player. It made the point well, and it was clearly a friendly exchange. If Klopp or Pep had said it, folk would be applauding.
On the general subject, I think players should be called out from time to time. Fish won't be dawdling back at 82% of his ability in front of the fans again. If it takes occasionally embarrassing a player to keep them focussed, it's a justified tactic.
Can we get jeggo %age too. 😂. We all know players don’t put it all in all the time. But don’t blame defenders when tactics make them run box to box.
20-08-2023, 04:31 PM
We’ll need to agree to disagree regarding that:
“but on that occasion he’s either underestimated the opponent’s opportunity and thought he could amble in or fatigue’s stopped him going as fast as he can. It’s about motivation and how much you want to get there.”
He’s had a go at him then admitted it could have been fatigue, but still goes on to question his desire.
20-08-2023, 04:37 PM
It was always going to be tougher than many people hoped.
Getting up for that game today was difficult enough for the support, half of whom didn't even go. For the players who must have used a whole load of physical and emotional energy on Thursday not to mention playing in that heat and the travelling, it must have been just as difficult.
However, they achieved what they set out to do. Now let's enjoy a huge glamour
tie on Wednesday which is what everyone wants.
This. The performance was it great but neither was it terrible. Job done. Now to get roasted by Villa and then get on with the season.
20-08-2023, 04:37 PM
Can we get jeggo %age too. 😂. We all know players don’t put it all in all the time. But don’t blame defenders when tactics make them run box to box.
I'll always blame defenders for not bursting a gut to defend our goal regardless of tactics.
20-08-2023, 04:38 PM
Didn't sound convincing but into the QF is all that matters with a decent chance at a trip to Hampden.
20-08-2023, 04:38 PM
We’ll need to agree to disagree regarding that:
“but on that occasion he’s either underestimated the opponent’s opportunity and thought he could amble in or fatigue’s stopped him going as fast as he can. It’s about motivation and how much you want to get there.”
He’s had a go at him then admitted it could have been fatigue, but still goes on to question his desire.
Yes, his desire should have been questioned.
20-08-2023, 04:40 PM
Uber fan, aye ok! I'm anything but an uber fan. And not going to games is 100% relevant when giving an opinion. I'll leave it there as you seem to be closing in on the money thing which I've never once mentioned
There’s a thread on the women’s World Cup final full of people giving their opinion on the game. I wonder how many were there?
Same for every Champs League or EPL games that get discussed on here. Nobody complains about posters not being at these matches.
You guys are picking on him because you disagree. You wouldn’t have said a peep if he’d come on saying it was a fantastic performance.
20-08-2023, 04:41 PM
Yes, his desire should have been questioned.
Behind closed doors not out in public.
Keepthefaith
20-08-2023, 04:41 PM
Agree with this and the stats backed him. He'd previously lauded Fish so the lad knows how valued he is, he didn't say he WAS lazy just asked Fish himself to reflect on his performance and if he could have done more. It'll make him a better player in the long run IMO
20-08-2023, 04:43 PM
Agree with this and the stats backed him. He'd previously lauded Fish so the lad knows how valued he is, he didn't say he WAS lazy just asked Fish himself to reflect on his performance and if he could have done more. It'll make him a better player in the long run IMO
He also lauded Fish in the same interview.
20-08-2023, 04:44 PM
Right now I’m more concerned with Boyle than Johnson. I know he’s just back from serious injury(again) but he looks a shadow of himself. He certainly wasn’t running freely today and his decision making wasn’t great either. P
20-08-2023, 04:47 PM
Right now I’m more concerned with Boyle than Johnson. I know he’s just back from serious injury(again) but he looks a shadow of himself. He certainly wasn’t running freely today and his decision making wasn’t great either. P
He’s still got fitness and sharpness to find but I wouldn’t go as far as to say he’s a shadow of himself. He’s just made a big contribution in Europe and really should have put us 1 up today, but there wasn’t any lack of pace or sharpness to get in there.