View Full Version : How we gonna do against Villa
SJNB Hibby
17-08-2023, 10:35 PM
Wraap it up after the first leg? or all to do?
JamesHFC
17-08-2023, 10:47 PM
We will probably lose by 4 or 5 goals over the 2 legs but it's an opportunity to cause an upset and take part in the group stages.
Difficult to fault the boys if we get defeated, as long as they give it their all.
skyehibee
17-08-2023, 10:49 PM
They lost at home to Stevenage last year in FA cup anything is possible
17-08-2023, 10:52 PM
We're gonna smash them.
They lost at home to Stevenage last year in FA cup anything is possible
They'll be saying something similar about us v Falkirk and Morton in last season's League Cup.
17-08-2023, 10:55 PM
Put draw home lose away .... though to be honest that's very much on the optimistic side, in all honesty on paper they should be far too strong for us home or away. The fact that the idiots at UEFA have possibly put the kybosh on a packed out Easter Road and also ensured the game wont need floodlights, they have at a stroke taken away two of the few minor advantages being at home would have given Hibs against a club the size of Villa.
17-08-2023, 10:55 PM
It's 11 v 11... or 16 v 16 over 180 mins... or 210... Watch this space :greengrin We've come close to knocking out a top English team, but never done it. Having said that... never say never :wink:
17-08-2023, 10:56 PM
Even beaten easily over two legs would not be unexpected. The achievement is getting the opportunity.
17-08-2023, 10:59 PM
It's football so you never know. We are a few weeks ahead in the season and they don't have much recent European experience. The first leg will be hug as we really want to stay in teh tie but playing Sunday and early KO Wednesday is pretty typical that the football gods are doing everything they can to work against us. There will be VAR so no doubt it will be catch every indiscretion from us. I think we are capable of keeping the tie alive at ER. If we do that we have a small chance but really Villa shoot beat us comfortably.
Torto7
17-08-2023, 11:04 PM
We'll go close but just fall short. 1-1 at home. 3-1 away.
17-08-2023, 11:29 PM
We'll get beaten but it won't be as grim as some are expecting. And we'll be there and that's the main thing
SJNB Hibby
17-08-2023, 11:45 PM
Honestly think we can get something at home. They'll defo underestimate us, and thin margin between a draw and defeat. But if they need to win at Villa Park, it'll be bad
17-08-2023, 11:47 PM
Comfortable victory over the 2 legs.
17-08-2023, 11:49 PM
If we’re within 3 goals of them at the end of the second leg we’ll have done well. They’re English premiership ffs. They’re made of money
LunasBoots
18-08-2023, 12:00 AM
It's a glammer tie and a big pay day for the club, that was the aim, Villa have vast talent away above us, I expect we'll be well beaten.
18-08-2023, 12:18 AM
We'll be easily beaten, but it won't matter. It's an amazing tie and we should all enjoy it.
Well done to the manager and the players for giving us this experience.
Dr What If?
18-08-2023, 12:29 AM
I've gone for the rather unusual home defeat / away win. I think we will meet a near full strength Villa in the first leg and get beat well, 3-0 at best. On the evidence of that I think we will be facing their U15s or something after that and I think we will win.....just not by enough to threaten the tie sadly.
18-08-2023, 12:40 AM
I thought they had a few injuries at the moment
My Geordie mates were saying Villa were crap but we don’t have the Newcastle team at our disposal
HITSB6
18-08-2023, 01:12 AM
They lost at home to Stevenage last year in FA cup anything is possibleSorry to requote what I said about us in another thread regarding the Stevenage game...Not sure any of us Villa fans were that disappointed with this result we signed better players and had a huge winning streak. Only 3/4 of the 16 players who appeared for Villa in that game will play in the next 2 games hate to burst the bubble!
Sorry to requote what I said about us in another thread regarding the Stevenage game...Not sure any of us Villa fans were that disappointed with this result we signed better players and had a huge winning streak. Only 3/4 of the 16 players who appeared for Villa in that game will play in the next 2 games hate to burst the bubble!
So 12 players then. 🤔
HITSB6
18-08-2023, 01:40 AM
So 12 players then. 🤔12 Players from the Stevenage game probably won't appear yes in the next 2 games.
18-08-2023, 02:29 AM
We'll beat them over two legs and win the lot in Athens with Leigh Griffiths scoring the ****ing winner. :hyper
Wraap it up after the first leg? or all to do?
We’re gonna get humped I fear!
18-08-2023, 05:10 AM
Absolutely pumped. If we don't then Villa need to ask themselves why. Sky billions should make it easy for them. Zero pressure on us.
18-08-2023, 05:21 AM
Really can't see how we beat them, especially over 2 legs. If it had been a one off then maybe had a chance but just can't see it unfortunately
18-08-2023, 05:29 AM
Real shame we didn't have an easier playoff. Is what it is though. Hopefully they're all of the opinion their nan could score against us etc
18-08-2023, 05:49 AM
They have bought one player for £over £50m this summer and are managed by a guy that has coached the likes of PSG, Arsenal and Sevilla.
We have no chance.
If it was a one off game our only tiny, tiny hope would be that they put out a second rate team as their focus will be on the league.
But over 2 legs, even if we somehow manage a result at ER, they will put the big guns in for leg 2 and destroy us. See us against Inter.
18-08-2023, 06:14 AM
If Villa played their strongest 11 in both legs we'd be lucky to keep it below double figures - such is the gulf between the two teams.
We've been incredibly unlucky to draw a team like Villa at this stage in this competition. They've no right being in the Conf League, good enough to win the Europa League.
18-08-2023, 06:16 AM
I think you have to be realistic. We are playing a side a fair few steps up the ladder from Celtic financially. If they are taking the Conference League seriously then they will have aspirations of winning the entire thing. They finished above teams like Spurs and Chelsea last season.
I'd be quite happy if we go into the 2nd leg still feeling we are almost in the tie rather than what happened to Hearts v Spurs a few years back.
He's here!
18-08-2023, 06:23 AM
Put draw home lose away .... though to be honest that's very much on the optimistic side, in all honesty on paper they should be far too strong for us home or away. The fact that the idiots at UEFA have possibly put the kybosh on a packed out Easter Road and also ensured the game wont need floodlights, they have at a stroke taken away two of the few minor advantages being at home would have given Hibs against a club the size of Villa.
I don't think there will be anything less than a packed ER despite the absurd KO time but I imagine we'll lose both legs, tho I'm hopeful it won't be an embarrassing aggregate.
He's here!
18-08-2023, 06:25 AM
I think you have to be realistic. We are playing a side a fair few steps up the ladder from Celtic financially. If they are taking the Conference League seriously then they will have aspirations of winning the entire thing. They finished above teams like Spurs and Chelsea last season.
I'd be quite happy if we go into the 2nd leg still feeling we are almost in the tie rather than what happened to Hearts v Spurs a few years back.
0-5 at Tynecastle IIRC?
18-08-2023, 06:29 AM
If they play the first team it’ll most likely be very messy. 5/6 goals (maybe more) over the two legs. We aren’t good enough defensively to deal with them.
18-08-2023, 06:40 AM
Draw at home and lose away will probably be the best we can hope for. Just got to try and enjoy it.
Clarence
18-08-2023, 06:58 AM
Time for Heroes part II.
18-08-2023, 07:00 AM
0-5 at Tynecastle IIRC?
Yep.
Think it was 3-0 after about half an hour. I just remember 5'0" Jermaine Defoe absolutely ragdolling Webster and Zaliukas. The difference in physique and strength between the teams was ridiculous.
18-08-2023, 07:03 AM
In financial terms, we are now Connahs Quay Nomads, Birkarakara, Inter Descales, Lincoln Red Imps. Anything other than a hammering is good-going. Would take a genuine miracle to go through, but they do happen.
Whatever happens, delighted we are playing this tie - it’s why we slog all season to get into Europe so we can play games like this. As long as the players turn up and give it their very all, that’s enough for me.
18-08-2023, 07:05 AM
Reckon we’ll lose both games. Nae shame in that thought, Villa right now are a very good side. Much better side than Celtc or Rangers.
18-08-2023, 07:22 AM
No matter what team Villa put out, if we defend like we have done in the last 2 games we'll get gubbed in both games.
18-08-2023, 07:49 AM
We toiled badly against Bournemouth in pre season. I know it was a friendly but if that's an indicator then it'll be a long two legs. So it should be though. Like i said though, no pressure on Hibs at all.
18-08-2023, 07:52 AM
You’d imagine Villa are likely to still be in the competition later on, if not a team with the potential to reach the final so hopefully avoid a tanking and enjoy the occasion.
Key West
18-08-2023, 07:58 AM
We'll lose and some will call for Lee Johnson to get the sack.
hfc-1875
18-08-2023, 08:13 AM
I expect us to lose by at least 7/8 on agg.
If we come away from the 2 legs within 5 goals I'd be surprised, we're talking about a team competing at the top of the Premier league who are paying 10s of millions for players.
Yes it was a freak result but this is also a team who put 7 past Liverpool.
18-08-2023, 08:22 AM
I expect us to lose by at least 7/8 on agg.Same here, I'd genuinely be shocked if it wasn't as big a margin as this. I'd love to see us nick a couple of goals.
18-08-2023, 08:29 AM
I’d settle for some respectability, narrow defeat at home (1 or 2 goals) but fear the Villa trip…….I’ll probably not remember it so it won’t matter😂
18-08-2023, 09:06 AM
I have a feeling they might play a weakened team out of disrespect for the Scottish game and that may backfire on them, here's hoping 🤞💚
18-08-2023, 09:20 AM
I've got to admit to being a bit jealous when Hearts had their games against Spurs and Liverpool. Always fancied a battle of Britain game. Our turn now.
18-08-2023, 09:22 AM
How Hearts done against Liverpool always gives us hope
18-08-2023, 09:23 AM
We'll lose and some will call for Lee Johnson to get the sack."IF" we somehow pull off a shock, even only at Easter Road, then he'll firmly put himself in the shop window and those calling for him to be sacked might not have to wait too long for him to leave.
18-08-2023, 09:23 AM
Realistically it's two defeats. They're quality and strength in depth was shown at the weekend where they were able to bring on Philippe Coutinho, Pau Torres and Youri Tielemans off the bench against Newcastle. I just hope we give a good account of ourselves, especially at ER on Wednesday.
18-08-2023, 09:31 AM
I had a wee look at fairly recent (about 10 years) Scottish teams results v English clubs:
Hearts 0 - 1 Liverpool
Liverpool 1 - 1 Hearts
Celtic 3 - 3 Man City
Celtic 1 - 1 Man City
Aberdeen 1 - 1 Burnley
Burnley 3 -1 Aberdeen
Liverpool 2 -0 Rangers
Rangers 1 - 7 Liverpool
No victories but then there is only one real hammering as well. We are well up against it but if we could do something comparable to Aberdeen v Burnley then I think we could hold our heads up high.
18-08-2023, 09:46 AM
Let's face it, we're getting humped. I'll just try and enjoy the occasion.
This'll be my last Hibs game before the wee one is due (we're semi-rural and my partner is at term at the end of next week, so staying with her until she gives birth) so will hope it's a good send off.
18-08-2023, 09:50 AM
I had a wee look at fairly recent (about 10 years) Scottish teams results v English clubs:
Hearts 0 - 1 Liverpool
Liverpool 1 - 1 Hearts
Celtic 3 - 3 Man City
Celtic 1 - 1 Man City
Aberdeen 1 - 1 Burnley
Burnley 3 -1 Aberdeen
Liverpool 2 -0 Rangers
Rangers 1 - 7 Liverpool
No victories but then there is only one real hammering as well. We are well up against it but if we could do something comparable to Aberdeen v Burnley then I think we could hold our heads up high.
If there's one thing I don't really trust this Hibs team to do, it's to be hard to break down and make it difficult for vastly superior teams. I'd be pleasantly surprised if we keep it as tight as some of those results, but that should be the aim.
That list reminds me how terrifying that Hearts game was at Anfield. Don't think the colour has ever drained away from me quite like it did when they went 1-0 up...
18-08-2023, 10:20 AM
Our best hope I think is they treat us as we did the Andorrans and we can go out and get something from the first leg. Fully expect us to get humped down there though. Draw - Lose.
K-Zazu
18-08-2023, 10:23 AM
0-3 and 1-4.. something along those lines. I’m just happy we are playing Villa in a competitive fixture.
jakedance
18-08-2023, 10:26 AM
It’s almost impossible to imagine we could win the tie but in a one off game we could get something from the first game. I’ll be happy if we can at least score the first goal.
18-08-2023, 10:39 PM
Time for Heroes part II.
18-08-2023, 11:59 PM
Think we'll score first and it will be carnage in the stands. From then on we'll get horsed.
19-08-2023, 01:04 AM
Depends on the team they play. Will they rest players? Will they underestimate us? Probably. If they do, they will get a wake up call at Easter Road at least.
Then again, they would play their strongest team in the 2nd leg and recover.
We're out regardless, but it will be closer than many think.
19-08-2023, 04:17 PM
First leg 2 - 2 is my guess.
Villa .... McGinn .... 32 mins, 56mins
Hibs .... McGinn 58 mins ( og ) 90+ 2 ( og )
19-08-2023, 10:20 PM
Let's face it, we're getting humped. I'll just try and enjoy the occasion.
This'll be my last Hibs game before the wee one is due (we're semi-rural and my partner is at term at the end of next week, so staying with her until she gives birth) so will hope it's a good send off.
congratulations mate. Hope Hibs do you proud.
19-08-2023, 10:22 PM
I suppose if Inter Club D’Escaldes can shock Hibs over 90 minutes then it’s always possible villa could slip up at Easter Road. They would need to play appallingly and we’d still need a huge performance and a lot of luck.
over the two legs, it’s hard to see anything other than a hammering.
19-08-2023, 11:00 PM
I think we’ll do all right on Wednesday. These games take care of themselves. The players will be well up for it and, basically, will put in more effort than they normally do.
19-08-2023, 11:09 PM
7-0 Hibs on aggregate after Villa park the bus in a face-saving goal-less draw in the second leg
19-08-2023, 11:15 PM
Pumped home and away. Quite possibly double figures.
20-08-2023, 06:56 AM
My nan could beat a Scotch team herself. Scotland get battered everywhere they go. The sweaty socks don't stand a chance.
ErinGoBraghHFC
20-08-2023, 07:47 AM
My nan could beat a Scotch team herself. Scotland get battered everywhere they go. The sweaty socks don't stand a chance.
And that’s the way we like it. Talk is cheap, Scottish teams are rarely turned over by English opponents. Quietly confident of giving them a big fright in the first leg at ER (which I can’t make because of the shanner of a kick off time, gutted).
20-08-2023, 07:56 AM
And that’s the way we like it. Talk is cheap, Scottish teams are rarely turned over by English opponents. Quietly confident of giving them a big fright in the first leg at ER (which I can’t make because of the shanner of a kick off time, gutted).
Aye because that Liverpool mob barely escaped from Ibrox with a win. :greengrin
20-08-2023, 08:11 AM
They should consider themselves fortunate to have taken five of Hearts at Tynecastle
20-08-2023, 08:19 AM
Probably yes, and be much the same result Villa had at Newcastle. But sorry to burst your Nazi Innate superiority delusion but the culprit is once again, financial discrepancies.
ErinGoBraghHFC
20-08-2023, 08:38 AM
Key word being rarely HC, wakey wakey [emoji16]
I think all we can expect is the team to compete as best as they can, make it hard for what will be a superior team, I expect to get beat both legs but hope we can try and get a wee draw at home, what I don't want to see it the team capitulating in both legs to make it an embarrassment.
ErinGoBraghHFC
20-08-2023, 09:08 AM
I think all we can expect is the team to compete as best as they can, make it hard for what will be a superior team, I expect to get beat both legs but hope we can try and get a wee draw at home, what I don't want to see it the team capitulating in both legs to make it an embarrassment.
If Villa play their best team we can expect to be well and truly humbled but I’m alright with that so long as the Hibs team do not fold and let their heads go down. If it’s not going our way then they absolutely must show some professional pride and fight for the jersey and the fans imo. That’s not something I can criticise them for recently to be fair, they’ve dug deep when it’s been tough against good opposition. I don’t expect to progress past this round so manner of performance is a priority for me in these games.
20-08-2023, 09:17 AM
I'll be happy if the tie is still alive after the game at ER.
A narrow defeat wouldn't be the end of the world, but the away game would be a right downer if we get cuffed on Wednesday.
20-08-2023, 09:19 AM
I'll be happy if the tie is still alive after the game at ER.
A narrow defeat wouldn't be the end of the world, but the away game would be a right downer if we get cuffed on Wednesday.
That’s my thinking as well. If we suffer a bad defeat at home the trip down there becomes a little less attractive.
20-08-2023, 09:20 AM
He said Scottish teams to be fair 😉
20-08-2023, 10:03 AM
They should consider themselves fortunate to have taken five of Hearts at Tynecastle
They didn’t. Spurs on the other hand……..
Hearts 0-1 Liverpool
Liverpool 1-1 Hearts (Hearts scored with 5 mins to go, Liverpool equalised 3 mins later)
20-08-2023, 11:07 AM
They didn’t. Spurs on the other hand……..
Hearts 0-1 Liverpool
Liverpool 1-1 Hearts (Hearts scored with 5 mins to go, Liverpool equalised 3 mins later)
Whoops - yes. They did well against Liverpool
Hibees1973
20-08-2023, 01:29 PM
Without any bravado and a prediction with logic.
Lose 3-0 at ER and lose 4-1 at Villa Park.
hibbie02
20-08-2023, 01:40 PM
Villa will crucify us. That look unplayable against Everton so far. Diaby looks special and SJM on form.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
20-08-2023, 01:52 PM
Villa will crucify us. That look unplayable against Everton so far. Diaby looks special and SJM on form.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
They’ve looked good. The speed of their play up front will cause us problems, I’m massively worried about us on both sides at full back.
I’d fancy us against this Everton side though to be fair. They’ve got to be one of the worst teams in the league. The way they set up is brutal, there’s barely a footballer in the team. Slow as anything. The worst parts of how Dyche had Burnley set up, brought to Everton. He needs to go.
20-08-2023, 01:57 PM
Stranger things have happened, hibs vs the great Leeds utd....pumped them both games, just couldn't score.
Admittedly the hibs team in those days was a great team, but then again so were Leeds utd.
It's 11 vs 11, show some heart hibs and let's see where it takes us.
20-08-2023, 02:00 PM
I voted with my head, we lose both games!
If with my heart, we win both games!
The truth always hurts, but its worth dreaming!!!!
20-08-2023, 02:15 PM
As our midfield is so poor I can't see anything other than a couple of heavy defeats.
He's here!
20-08-2023, 02:29 PM
Pumped home and away. Quite possibly double figures.
If Villa set out to kill the tie stone dead on Wednesday there's no question we could ship five or six goals, hopefully not more. My hope then would be that they'd field a shadow line-up at Villa Park, otherwise yes a double figure aggregate is certainly possible.
He's here!
20-08-2023, 02:32 PM
Stranger things have happened, hibs vs the great Leeds utd....pumped them both games, just couldn't score.
Admittedly the hibs team in those days was a great team, but then again so were Leeds utd.
It's 11 vs 11, show some heart hibs and let's see where it takes us.
The gap in quality between the likes of Hibs and Villa in those days was nothing like it is now. If the Tornadoes had played Villa back then they might well have been favourites.
20-08-2023, 02:33 PM
We'll get humped.
HendoDelivered
20-08-2023, 02:37 PM
I expect us to lose by at least 7/8 on agg.
20-08-2023, 02:44 PM
Villa will look to have the tie wrapped up in the first game so they can rest players.
20-08-2023, 02:51 PM
Villa will look to have the tie wrapped up in the first game so they can rest players.
They got the game wrapped up early today, then were able to take off key players to bring on the back ups…
The back ups were Tielemans, Diego Carlos and Coutinho!
one day maybe...
20-08-2023, 03:11 PM
What formation gives us the best opportunity for the home leg?
4-5-1
3-5-2
4-4-2
4-4-1-1
Team for me would be
Marshall
Miller
Fish
Rocky
Obita
Boyle
Newell
Jeggo
Youan
Doidge
Vente
Huge task and every player will have to work their pants off. Diaby is obviously a huge danger down their right and its why I'd leave Lewis out.
Doidge has the ability to win flicks on for Vente.
Tough night but think we can go to Villa with something to play for.
20-08-2023, 03:13 PM
They got the game wrapped up early today, then were able to take off key players to bring on the back ups…
The back ups were Tielemans, Diego Costa and Coutinho!
And we think our squad is light....
AL-Qaholik
20-08-2023, 03:16 PM
Might as well just play Newell in midfield by himself and go with a front five.
20-08-2023, 03:38 PM
Villa -1 is evens, seems generous.
20-08-2023, 06:32 PM
I just don't know man, glad we're at home first leg though. Going to need a big performance from the players who will no doubt be up for it.
Keep it nice and tight early and fight for every ball.
Wonder what Johnson's got up his sleeve for Villa.
20-08-2023, 07:27 PM
What formation gives us the best opportunity for the home leg?
4-5-1
3-5-2
4-4-2
4-4-1-1
Team for me would be
Marshall
Miller
Fish
Rocky
Obita
Boyle
Newell
Jeggo
Youan
Doidge
Vente
Huge task and every player will have to work their pants off. Diaby is obviously a huge danger down their right and its why I'd leave Lewis out.
Doidge has the ability to win flicks on for Vente.
Tough night but think we can go to Villa with something to play for.
10-0-0
20-08-2023, 07:29 PM
lol, they’re gonna pump us
20-08-2023, 07:30 PM
10-0-0Jeezo ... you're exaggerating a bit!
1 - 9 - 0
20-08-2023, 07:35 PM
Now that we're through the Raith tie I have to admit, I'm already absolutely buzzing for Wednesday. Can't stop thinking about it!
Probably the biggest European game in my lifetime, still a young 35 😎. The McGinn factor absolutely adds to it.
I honestly cannot ****ing wait. Easter Road will be rocking on Wednesday.
Let's do it, Hibs!
20-08-2023, 07:37 PM
Now that we're through the Raith tie I have to admit, I'm already absolutely buzzing for Wednesday. Can't stop thinking about it!
Probably the biggest European game in my lifetime, still a young 35 😎. The McGinn factor absolutely adds to it.
I honestly cannot ****ing wait. Easter Road will be rocking on Wednesday.
Let's do it, Hibs!
Agree. Take away cup finals and maybe the relegation playoffs it's probably the biggest game in my lifetime
20-08-2023, 11:29 PM
lol, they’re gonna pump us
Man, just not long finished watching them on MOTD and it gave me the bloody fear. The pace and athleticism in their team was frightening. Never mind simple football talent, I just can't see how we will live with them physically. The closer it gets to this game the more I fear for us, somebody said "time for heroes II" .... So far as I can see that's exactly what we are talking about here, it's going to take absolutely everything our players have in them just to keep things respectable and by that I mean 100% commitment and concentration for the whole 90 minutes from absolutely every player.
I'm not being down on Hibs here, we have the players we have and the likes of Villa can afford considerably better, including a manager who is massively experienced at winning in Europe. I watched us toil for most of the first half in the Raith Rovers game today with quite a few of the players who will be in the team on Wednesday, until Newell came on we had absolutely nothing in midfield ... never mind Wednesday, with Levitt out for some time we simply must add at least two midfield players for the league campaign, if anything happens to Newell we are screwed.
20-08-2023, 11:44 PM
Still think we’ll do all right on Wednesday. The players will raise their effort levels considerably.
Can’t see us doing much but I think our effort will keep things respectable.
And, at the end of the day, you always have a chance. Maybe a tiny chance, but a chance.
We've got a puncher's chance.
Get this playing on a loop at East Mains between now and Wednesday.
https://youtu.be/MR6FXpaECY8?t=11
Lee Johnson telling the team they'll be able to spit nails and they're gonna eat lightning and they're gonna crap thunder. That should do it.