View Full Version : Tam McManus
hibee1875
16-08-2023, 08:13 AM
What’s up with Tam constantly slagging off the club in the press? Is he pissed off his crap commentary is no longer on Hibs TV? Or was he chucked off Hibs TV off the back of his recent tirade against the club.
He’s becoming insufferable
16-08-2023, 08:23 AM
What’s up with Tam constantly slagging off the club in the press? Is he pissed off his crap commentary is no longer on Hibs TV? Or was he chucked off Hibs TV off the back of his recent tirade against the club.
Problem he’s got is that to stay relevant he needs to say controversial things that create headlines. Same sort of nonsense you hear on talk radio. I don’t think for a second they believe what they’re saying more than half the time, they’ve just got to get clicks or listeners.
If they provided fair, balanced pieces nobody would react and they’d be out a job.
I’ve no axe to grind with McManus but he’s best ignored in all honesty.
hibsforeurope
16-08-2023, 09:00 AM
Not sure what his platform is now so not sure what he's saying.
Is it points that folk are making here or even more OTT?
Bridge hibs
16-08-2023, 09:03 AM
He’s becoming insufferableHas he said anything differently to whats said about hibs from hibs fans on this platform on a near daily basis ?
16-08-2023, 09:07 AM
Slagging Hibs off?He’s saying what the rest of us have been saying for months and months
16-08-2023, 09:10 AM
Has he said anything differently to whats said about hibs from hibs fans on this platform on a near daily basis ?Indeed
16-08-2023, 09:15 AM
Haven’t heard or seen him say anything of late so can’t comment specifically, but I’ve got no problem with Tam.
16-08-2023, 09:15 AM
He is our equivalent of Ryan Stevenson who will say anything for a,fast buck.
Not for me thanks.
16-08-2023, 09:22 AM
I liked him when he was on Hibs TV, but do find it a bit strange he’s seen as the go to former player when we are looking for comments on the club. He was hardly a star in his time with us or a major influence.
And maybe coming from me it’s a bit rich but he rarely seems to say positive things.
16-08-2023, 09:24 AM
Problem he’s got is that to stay relevant he needs to say controversial things that create headlines. Same sort of nonsense you hear on talk radio. I don’t think for a second they believe what they’re saying more than half the time, they’ve just got to get clicks or listeners.
If they provided fair, balanced pieces nobody would react and they’d be out a job.
I’ve no axe to grind with McManus but he’s best ignored in all honesty.
I'd agree with that
By the way i can't highlight part of people's post anymore or use the smiley face function ?
16-08-2023, 09:58 AM
I'm not also certain why any criticism of the club in the media is treated as a huge, unwarranted attack when quite often there are fair amounts of truth within them.Some people would have you think that the entire point of the BBC is to slag off Hibs and each person who gets a job there has to pledge an allegiance to Heart of Midlothian FC, whereas in fact it's just Michael Stewart saying he's not sure what our strategy is or our identity in terms of playing style. As it is, he's correct.In his latest column, he's mentioning the "Johnsonisms" and how bad we were against Motherwell. Again, is he wrong?We're getting as bad as Celtic and Sevco in terms of being completely precious about criticism in the press.
He's here!
16-08-2023, 10:02 AM
I'd agree with that By the way i can't highlight part of people's post anymore or use the smiley face function ?There's a thread about the problem you mention. It's not just highlighting and smiley faces, it's not being able to break text up into paragraphs.
MagicSwirlingShip
16-08-2023, 10:04 AM
Just calling it as he see’s it. Same as most of us on here. He would be singing the teams praises if we were any good
hibee1875
16-08-2023, 10:05 AM
His latest one comparing LJ to David Brent is just unprofessional IMO
16-08-2023, 10:08 AM
I'm not also certain why any criticism of the club in the media is treated as a huge, unwarranted attack when quite often there are fair amounts of truth within them.Some people would have you think that the entire point of the BBC is to slag off Hibs and each person who gets a job there has to pledge an allegiance to Heart of Midlothian FC, whereas in fact it's just Michael Stewart saying he's not sure what our strategy is or our identity in terms of playing style. As it is, he's correct.In his latest column, he's mentioning the "Johnsonisms" and how bad we were against Motherwell. Again, is he wrong?We're getting as bad as Celtic and Sevco in terms of being completely precious about criticism in the press.
Unless of course it’s Neil Lennon - whose criticism of the club is enough to get folk demanding him back as manager 😁
16-08-2023, 10:21 AM
His latest one comparing LJ to David Brent is just unprofessional IMOIts the most tired, over-used, un-imaginative attempt at a hilarious insult.
16-08-2023, 10:55 AM
We are crap at the moment, so he's probably just saying it how he sees it.
16-08-2023, 11:13 AM
Its just a boring article - like everything he "writes"
16-08-2023, 11:17 AM
Its the most tired, over-used, un-imaginative attempt at a hilarious insult.
When talking nonsense about his app last week, I'm pretty certain that Johnson compared himself to David Brent. Brings it on himself.
16-08-2023, 11:32 AM
When talking nonsense about his app last week, I'm pretty certain that Johnson compared himself to David Brent. Brings it on himself.
He 100% does. I've no issue with people calling him David Brent....just no idea why its taken Tam so long to come up with it.
ErinGoBraghHFC
16-08-2023, 11:50 AM
McManus talks a lot of ***** but he’s not the only Scottish football pundit that does. I know this isn’t a popular opinion at the minute but Michael Stewart is one of the few that rarely slavers utter pish and seems to have a pretty objective view of things, yes he’s been less complimentary towards Hibs since JR was sacked but have we deserved complimentary comments since then? Not really, we’ve been a bit of a shambles both on and off the pitch. I also really like Fat Sally, as much as he’s a sticky and makes no attempt to hide it, I get the feeling he doesn’t genuinely HATE any other club in Scotland and generally wants us all to succeed to some extent for the good of Scottish football. I get the feeling McManus is a bit pissed off that he’s not remembered so much as being part of the golden generation despite coming through at the same time as Deek, GOC, Broon et al. This is because he wasn’t anywhere near as good, or good enough for us at the time. Seems to have a chip on his shoulder imo.
16-08-2023, 12:45 PM
He is our equivalent of Ryan Stevenson who will say anything for a,fast buck.
Not for me thanks.
He's not even close to that tattooed irrelevant ****wit.
ErinGoBraghHFC
16-08-2023, 12:49 PM
True, he can be a fud and talk some drivelbut he’s yet to draw on his own face
16-08-2023, 10:21 PM
Can’t be arsed with McManus, boring wee guy trying to stay relevant.
Donegal Hibby
16-08-2023, 10:30 PM
Can’t be arsed with McManus, boring wee guy trying to stay relevant.Agreed
cameronw-hfc
16-08-2023, 10:45 PM
Lost all respect for him when he relentlessly pushed Malky for the Hibs job then blocked anyone trying to voice concerns about it as if hes an authority on why we should accept a racist, xenophobic homophobe as manager. An angry wee man bitter the club let him go and didn't hire his pal desperate for some sort of relevancy so slags us off at every opportunity now.
17-08-2023, 01:36 AM
Not enough tattoos?
17-08-2023, 04:16 AM
Only **** journos need to be controversial for clicks. The good ones like Henry winter, Graham Spiers, Oli Kay manage just fine by doing proper work. Tam is a better footballer than pundit, and that's saying something.
17-08-2023, 06:58 AM
His latest one comparing LJ to David Brent is just unprofessional IMOIt's also lazy and pretty much nonsense
It's stuck from a fans forum years ago that some hibs fans found and carried it forward
He's nothing like David Brent
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
17-08-2023, 07:09 AM
I'm not also certain why any criticism of the club in the media is treated as a huge, unwarranted attack when quite often there are fair amounts of truth within them.Some people would have you think that the entire point of the BBC is to slag off Hibs and each person who gets a job there has to pledge an allegiance to Heart of Midlothian FC, whereas in fact it's just Michael Stewart saying he's not sure what our strategy is or our identity in terms of playing style. As it is, he's correct.In his latest column, he's mentioning the "Johnsonisms" and how bad we were against Motherwell. Again, is he wrong?We're getting as bad as Celtic and Sevco in terms of being completely precious about criticism in the press.Define "fair amounts"? Not only on Sportscene, but more so BBC online, in my eyes, with green tinted specs off, there definitely is an anti-Hibs slant on reporting, comments and headlines more often than justified.
bordergreen
17-08-2023, 07:12 AM
I'm not also certain why any criticism of the club in the media is treated as a huge, unwarranted attack when quite often there are fair amounts of truth within them.Some people would have you think that the entire point of the BBC is to slag off Hibs and each person who gets a job there has to pledge an allegiance to Heart of Midlothian FC, whereas in fact it's just Michael Stewart saying he's not sure what our strategy is or our identity in terms of playing style. As it is, he's correct.In his latest column, he's mentioning the "Johnsonisms" and how bad we were against Motherwell. Again, is he wrong?We're getting as bad as Celtic and Sevco in terms of being completely precious about criticism in the press.https://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/agree.gif
17-08-2023, 07:15 AM
Really like Tam and I have to admit I thought he was good on Hibs TV his analysis from an ex pros point of view was usually spot on Kevin Harper is very good as well He is not what I would call a Hibs great but scored a few cracking goals in his time against the OF usually in the Weege and obviously loves our club What’s not to like ? I follow #10 on Twitter and I have noticed he is getting more outspoken and controversial I suppose he is trying to be relevant but he is only really saying what everyone else is thinking
17-08-2023, 07:15 AM
McManus talks a lot of ***** but he’s not the only Scottish football pundit that does. I know this isn’t a popular opinion at the minute but Michael Stewart is one of the few that rarely slavers utter pish and seems to have a pretty objective view of things, yes he’s been less complimentary towards Hibs since JR was sacked but have we deserved complimentary comments since then? Not really, we’ve been a bit of a shambles both on and off the pitch. I also really like Fat Sally, as much as he’s a sticky and makes no attempt to hide it, I get the feeling he doesn’t genuinely HATE any other club in Scotland and generally wants us all to succeed to some extent for the good of Scottish football. I get the feeling McManus is a bit pissed off that he’s not remembered so much as being part of the golden generation despite coming through at the same time as Deek, GOC, Broon et al. This is because he wasn’t anywhere near as good, or good enough for us at the time. Seems to have a chip on his shoulder imo. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk"Michael Stewart is one of the few that rarely slavers utter pish and seems to have a pretty objective view of things" Really? From what I see, MS has a "single-minded-I-am-always-right-and-you-are-wrong" view of most things. I suspect Tam is trying to follow in his dog-turd-trodden shoes in the hope of getting on the telly more.Leanne Crichton is the most objective pundit on Sportscene.
Nutmegged
17-08-2023, 08:13 AM
McManus has always been insufferable, can't stand him, had so much natural talent but couldn't be bothered ever getting himself fit enough to exploit it and he's just a bitter we ned, that being said I don't know what he said as I wouldn't waste my time reading or listening to his ramblings but if he's being negative about the club and the way we're performing then I couldn't exactly disagree with it.
17-08-2023, 08:47 AM
Much of his “comment” comes over as info on Hibs from a Celtic supporter written for Celtic supporters. Your average Hibs fan is better informed.
I didn’t actually mind him on Hibs tv, passing comment on what was right in front of him.
17-08-2023, 05:54 PM
Much of his “comment” comes over as info on Hibs from a Celtic supporter written for Celtic supporters. Your average Hibs fan is better informed.
I didn’t actually mind him on Hibs tv, passing comment on what was right in front of him.
I quite liked him at Hibs tv was enthusiastic and had an opinion. Also not shy of slagging off Hearts and was quite funny.
17-08-2023, 06:00 PM
"Michael Stewart is one of the few that rarely slavers utter pish and seems to have a pretty objective view of things" Really? From what I see, MS has a "single-minded-I-am-always-right-and-you-are-wrong" view of most things. I suspect Tam is trying to follow in his dog-turd-trodden shoes in the hope of getting on the telly more.Leanne Crichton is the most objective pundit on Sportscene.
Stewart last year was embarrassing with his defence of his mate Robbie
17-08-2023, 06:09 PM
Reading his Twitter he comes across as a Hibs fan commenting on Hibs
He also raises a lot for charity
On Hibs TV he was insightful knowledgeable and impartial with a strong Hibs bias 😀
17-08-2023, 06:12 PM
Reading his Twitter he comes across as a Hibs fan commenting on Hibs
He also raises a lot for charity
On Hibs TV he was insightful knowledgeable and impartial with a strong Hibs bias 😀
Maybe it’s the stuff in the Daily Record and knowing his target audience that led to me forming my opinion?
17-08-2023, 06:19 PM
Maybe it’s the stuff in the Daily Record and knowing his target audience that led to me forming my opinion?
These look like the contemporary thoughts of the current Hibs fan
https://i.ibb.co/Br4f85s/IMG-1934.png (https://ibb.co/X3yWmrJ)
https://i.ibb.co/VC5JVxR/IMG-1931.png (https://ibb.co/5jwGTkm)
https://i.ibb.co/Z8pHYpG/IMG-1933.png (https://ibb.co/58gYngG)
https://i.ibb.co/Lh4gf71/IMG-1932.png (https://ibb.co/tPy25rD)
Ignore the Record Smartie
Spudster
17-08-2023, 06:21 PM
His latest one comparing LJ to David Brent is just unprofessional IMO
To be fair it’s a comparison I hear constantly
17-08-2023, 06:24 PM
These look like the contemporary thoughts of the current Hibs fan
https://i.ibb.co/Br4f85s/IMG-1934.png (https://ibb.co/X3yWmrJ)
https://i.ibb.co/VC5JVxR/IMG-1931.png (https://ibb.co/5jwGTkm)
https://i.ibb.co/Z8pHYpG/IMG-1933.png (https://ibb.co/58gYngG)
https://i.ibb.co/Lh4gf71/IMG-1932.png (https://ibb.co/tPy25rD)
Ignore the Record Smartie
Probably up there with the best advice someone can receive tbf.
17-08-2023, 08:21 PM
https://i.ibb.co/gwzHKrC/IMG-1935.png (https://ibb.co/J250JcP)
Halmyre Hibee
17-08-2023, 09:17 PM
Tams a bit of a slaver wish he’d just shut up.