View Full Version : Flares and idiots and police being harassed

Percy Vere
11-08-2023, 01:28 PM
Was at the game last night and beggars belief why you would throw flares (anytime) but especially after we just scored.
Leaving the ground there was three people and a woman lit a flare walking past the shop.
Police officer tried to either speak or arrest her.
Two “Hibs fans” with her got between her and the officer, facing up to them in a very threatening and aggressive manner. The officer was isolated (despite security looking in and laughing).
Police backed down but I felt totally ashamed of being a Hibs fan in that moment. What is wrong with people.

Trinity Hibee
11-08-2023, 01:36 PM
Was at the game last night and beggars belief why you would throw flares (anytime) but especially after we just scored.
Leaving the ground there was three people and a woman lit a flare walking past the shop.
Two “Hibs fans” with her got between her and the officer, facing up to them in a very threatening and aggressive manner. The officer was isolated (despite security looking in and laughing).
Police backed down but I felt totally ashamed of being a Hibs fan in that moment. What is wrong with people.

Never seen the appeal with flares and just shows a lack of respect to anyone around them. I’d like to think the only reason policeman backed down was to not put anyone else in the area at risk by using force.

Boy squaring up to him should have been lamped.

seanshow
11-08-2023, 01:37 PM

Spend money on a fancy pitch, for some idiot to burn a hole in it.
....and do Uefa hand out fines?

11-08-2023, 01:54 PM

Whatever you do, don't go to Tynecastle. All those pesky fans drinking beer, swearing, singing questionable songs and throwing flares. I think you're overreacting a little bit.

11-08-2023, 01:58 PM
There were no flares thrown, a smoke cannister was thrown by one idiot who was loudly condemned by all those around. As to anything outside assuming similar smoke devices, I very much doubt any laws were broken by setting them off.

11-08-2023, 02:10 PM
There were no flares thrown, a smoke cannister was thrown by one idiot who was loudly condemned by all those around. As to anything outside assuming similar smoke devices, I very much doubt any laws were broken by setting them off.

Sorry but you are just wrong in your thinking

https://www.gov.scot/publications/fireworks-the-law/#:~:text=It%20is%20already%20a%20criminal,a%20pyro technic%20into%20football%20matches.&text=All%20fireworks%20are%20given%20a,which%20are %20mainly%20used%20indoors.

Godsahibby
11-08-2023, 02:20 PM

Saw this happening as well, unbelievable how the idiot reacted to it as well. The father of the group nearly squaring up to the police man. It was the daughter who was trying to pull the father away to stop him being lifted. Note sure if he did or not as went down St Clair but embarrassed to see idiots like that in our support getting that aggressive to someone doing their job.

11-08-2023, 02:21 PM
The police caused as much bother as anyone last night. 200 away fans and they put the iron curtains out and held Hibs fans back for 30 minutes or so after the end of the game. Utterly moronic policing but absolutely what is expected and the only conclusion is they are looking to generate revenue and Overtime and also create the opportunity for a couple of easy arrests. more than 20 minutes passed before a single away fan appeared and a wee lad with a Hibs strip was playing outside the fenced in fans and in the spot the away end empties out to. They had at least 6 mounted officers for a couple of hundred very well behaved Swiss fans and then they had 2 or three vans and officers walking them away from the ground all the way to the Royal Mile. We can moan about teh fine and damage to the pitch but we should also moan about the ludicrous over policing of last night's game and I bet that cost far more than a couple of idiotic fans.

I go to big Rugby games and to be honest there isn't much difference between the fan groups. They are policed completely differently though and teh Policing of football seems to be designed to cause bother not to avoid it. Mind you that doesn't apply to all clubs of course and at least one or two are basically left to do as they wish

richard_pitts
11-08-2023, 02:25 PM
The police caused as much bother as anyone last night. 200 away fans and they put the iron curtains out and held Hibs fans back for 30 minutes or so after the end of the game. Utterly moronic policing but absolutely what is expected and the only conclusion is they are looking to generate revenue and Overtime and also create the opportunity for a couple of easy arrests. more than 20 minutes passed before a single away fan appeared and a wee lad with a Hibs strip was playing outside the fenced in fans and in the spot the away end empties out to. They had at least 6 mounted officers for a couple of hundred very well behaved Swiss fans and then they had 2 or three vans and officers walking them away from the ground all the way to the Royal Mile. We can moan about teh fine and damage to the pitch but we should also moan about the ludicrous over policing of last night's game and I bet that cost far more than a couple of idiotic fans.

I go to big Rugby games and to be honest there isn't much difference between the fan groups. They are policed completely differently though and teh Policing of football seems to be designed to cause bother not to avoid it. Mind you that doesn't apply to all clubs of course and at least one or two are basically left to do as they wish

With respect there is a world of difference. At a Scottish Schools Cup game between Watsons and Merchiston a few years ago Watsons went 3 scores up. The Crowd started singing "Can we play you every week". The ref stopped the game and gave the crowd a finger wagging about sporting behaviour :greengrin

11-08-2023, 02:30 PM
Sorry but you are just wrong in your thinking

https://www.gov.scot/publications/fireworks-the-law/#:~:text=It%20is%20already%20a%20criminal,a%20pyro technic%20into%20football%20matches.&text=All%20fireworks%20are%20given%20a,which%20are %20mainly%20used%20indoors.

Are there many examples of where the fiscal has been able to prove lack of 'reasonable excuse’? Even within stadiums where the law is more coherent, prosecutions are very rare. When it would obviously be very simple to identify those standing holding these things, e.g. St Mirren fans on Sun, Luzern last night. Generally a common sense approach (admittedly rare) is taken unless there are aggravated circumstances, thrown etc.

11-08-2023, 02:33 PM

Will cost the club £20,000 in a fine not including damage to the pitch. The club should make that known so fans know it’s costing the club valuable funds.

11-08-2023, 02:36 PM
Will cost the club £20,000 in a fine not including damage to the pitch. The club should make that known so fans know it’s costing the club valuable funds.

Hibs won’t receive any fine for the device set off outside the stadium which is what is being discussed.

11-08-2023, 02:36 PM
With respect there is a world of difference. At a Scottish Schools Cup game between Watsons and Merchiston a few years ago Watsons went 3 scores up. The Crowd started singing "Can we play you every week". The ref stopped the game and gave the crowd a finger wagging about sporting behaviour :greengrin

lol, Plenty professionalism creeping into Rugby now with the odd bit of simulation too. On the field it is still miles ahead of football but off it I'm not convinced, for 99% of supporters, there is any difference. The exception being Ibrox where the Police are likely to be cheering on bad behaviour as long as it is coming from the blue/orange side.

Meanwhile at Murrayfield livestock is running around the pitch when we play France and the Welsh fans can often not stand up straight and are an absolute pain if you are unlucky enough to work in a pub they visit. The two games are policed very differently and I think that policing is more likely to create bother than the difference between attendees.

11-08-2023, 02:39 PM

That is horrendous and probably swallows up the entire gate receipt for that part of the ground and will be more than whoever threw it will ever likely contribute to teh club. It may not be official B7 members but it is always that area. It should be easy enough to get the boy and make sure it is a very long time before they are allowed back.

11-08-2023, 02:41 PM

As well as mounted police and dogs, were given a helicopter escort in Maribor. That was more about protecting us than the Maribor fans.

11-08-2023, 02:43 PM
Hibs won’t receive any fine for the device set off outside the stadium which is what is being discussed.

Read the OP post in full (particularly first lines) . And yes, we will be fined. Any item thrown onto the pitch causing game delay and potential injury to a player is a fine.

archie
11-08-2023, 02:43 PM

I agree about the barriers. It just seemed to be a totally OTT reaction that had more potential to cause bother than prevent it. When the barrier was open the crowd was forced through a small gap, with old guys being pushed along by the crowd. Behind the barrier there were locals not at the game, including babies, who couldn't get home. Who exactly did this serve?

mcohibs
11-08-2023, 02:48 PM

Think you’re being harsh on the police if I’m honest. These away fans for European ties are a bit of an unknown entity. Whilst they seemed to be fairly civil, there’s more than enough evidence in recent times of violence when European teams travel here. Stabbings in Glasgow a couple of seasons ago from what I remember.

I’d much rather an over cautious police presence than a thin one for these games and if it was the other way round and there was trouble, I’m sure the police would be the first to be condemned for not doing their job.

As for the barricade, it’s a bit nippy but it’s hardly holding you back for 30 mins, you can walk round it in 10.

11-08-2023, 02:58 PM

Aye? clubs like Galatasaray and the like must be skint through fines then. Last week in Lucerne there was a whole pyro show set off by both sets of support. I highly doubt fines are handed out willy nilly.

11-08-2023, 03:00 PM
Think you’re being harsh on the police if I’m honest. These away fans for European ties are a bit of an unknown entity. Whilst they seemed to be fairly civil, there’s more than enough evidence in recent times of violence when European teams travel here. Stabbings in Glasgow a couple of seasons ago from what I remember.

I’d much rather an over cautious police presence than a thin one for these games and if it was the other way round and there was trouble, I’m sure the police would be the first to be condemned for not doing their job.

As for the barricade, it’s a bit nippy but it’s hardly holding you back for 30 mins, you can walk round it in 10.

You must be a quick walker if you can get from the back of the West to Sainsburys in ten minutes via Easter Road. I doubt any of us expected to be there for half an hour when we were first stopped from being allowed to walk on near deserted public streets.
You could have walked back along over the bridge and past the fans that were being held back such is is stupidity of the policing.

If there was "intelligence" of a problem then hold their fans back. Instead not one of their fans left in the first 20 minutes after the game by which time we would have already been on buses and in cars. If safety was a concern then allowing bairns with Hibs tops to play in the street they were stopping us entering doesn't exactly seem like the collective Police brain was engaged. For me this is a way of officers to top up pay on the back of football fans. There are far cheaper and more effective ways to deal with what was essentially a crowd that Alloa or Stirling Albion would have brought through.

11-08-2023, 03:06 PM
Aye? clubs like Galatasaray and the like must be skint through fines then. Last week in Lucerne there was a whole pyro show set off by both sets of support. I highly doubt fines are handed out willy nilly.

On the pitch?

11-08-2023, 03:16 PM
lol, Plenty professionalism creeping into Rugby now with the odd bit of simulation too. On the field it is still miles ahead of football but off it I'm not convinced, for 99% of supporters, there is any difference. The exception being Ibrox where the Police are likely to be cheering on bad behaviour as long as it is coming from the blue/orange side.

Meanwhile at Murrayfield livestock is running around the pitch when we play France and the Welsh fans can often not stand up straight and are an absolute pain if you are unlucky enough to work in a pub they visit. The two games are policed very differently and I think that policing is more likely to create bother than the difference between attendees.Reluctant to pitch into this one but as someone who has been to many football grounds around the country as well as a few rugby events I can honestly say that the worst drinkers (as in remaining halfway civil and holding their beer) loud, bigots and outright racist remarks I've encountered were in the dear seats at Twickenham. Never encountered so many bellends on one place outside Ibrox.

11-08-2023, 03:19 PM

Please feel free HC to email the Stadium Manager or Garry O’Hagan who may provide the accurate response (and level of fine) for items thrown onto the pitch which causes the game to be delayed. It’s the figure I was told last night. The stand managers may post on here too and may (or may not) wish to confirm too (club receiving a fine). UEFA are strict on the subject.

11-08-2023, 03:24 PM
Reluctant to pitch into this one but as someone who has been to many football grounds around the country as well as a few rugby events I can honestly say that the worst drinkers (as in remaining halfway civil and holding their beer) loud, bigots and outright racist remarks I've encountered were in the dear seats at Twickenham. Never encountered so many bellends on one place outside Ibrox.

The difference is that, as obnoxious as they may be, they don't usually have running battles in the street with opposing fans, or trash pubs and tan in shop windows.

The polis just won't take any chances because if they did, and it kicked off, they'd be blamed.

11-08-2023, 03:29 PM
The difference is that, as obnoxious as they may be, they don't usually have running battles in the street with opposing fans, or trash pubs and tan in shop windows.

The polis just won't take any chances because if they did, and it kicked off, they'd be blamed.

Very true but I've seen, and know, football fans who have been instantly lifted for uttering similar language. I tend to back the polis in the street after a game as they've often got their hands full, too often they seem to opt out of arrests or any action at all, but that's probably another subject

The stuff alluded to in the streets etc I agree with entirely though it's not unheard of to see rugger types pissing in the streets after a big game in my experience.

11-08-2023, 03:38 PM
Please feel free HC to email the Stadium Manager or Garry O’Hagan who may provide the accurate response (and level of fine) for items thrown onto the pitch which causes the game to be delayed. It’s the figure I was told last night. The stand managers may post on here too and may (or may not) wish to confirm too (club receiving a fine). UEFA are strict on the subject.

Maybe HC just looking at previous fine handed out by UEFA to Scottish teams. The sticky’s are the prime culprits (surprise surprise!). They got fined under €17k for a small pitch invasion and items thrown onto the pitch. Hibs will probably inflate the actual fines to prevent fans from offending. They are strict and we will get fined but it will be more likely a couple of thousand than €20k.

11-08-2023, 03:47 PM

Or the difference between catching a bus home and missing it. The barrier was over the top and completely unnecessary.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

11-08-2023, 03:48 PM
I have a feeling that the way the police dealt with the Luzern fans last night was a reaction to what went on after the game against Groningen.

In retrospect it may have been overkill but they wouldn't have known that in advance.

---

FYI: This is the route I normally use to get back to Sainsbury's Car Park from the East Stand when the gate between the East and Albion Rd is closed. It's a bit longer than usual but not too drastic

https://www.google.com/maps/dir/55.9625233,-3.1645292/55.9583855,-3.1636281/@55.9599158,-3.1658924,17z/data=!4m9!4m8!1m5!3m4!1m2!1d-3.162305!2d55.9618817!3s0x4887b86d35fc0d17:0x6cbad cadede7837e!1m0!3e2?entry=ttu

Somebody on here pointed it out to me previously, as I hadn't known you could go that way, and it really helps when we play Hearts or the OF

11-08-2023, 03:48 PM
Very true but I've seen, and know, football fans who have been instantly lifted for uttering similar language. I tend to back the polis in the street after a game as they've often got their hands full, too often they seem to opt out of arrests or any action at all, but that's probably another subject

The stuff alluded to in the streets etc I agree with entirely though it's not unheard of to see rugger types pissing in the streets after a big game in my experience.

I understand your point, but I've seen loads of football fans pishing in the street and in folk's stairs etc.

I agree there is more tolerance shown to rugby fans, but I do think it's the possibility of violence that puts the polis on edge when it comes to football fans.

11-08-2023, 03:50 PM
I understand your point, but I've seen loads of football fans pishing in the street and in folk's stairs etc.

I agree there is more tolerance shown to rugby fans, but I do think it's the possibility of violence that puts the polis on edge when it comes to football fans.[emoji106]We are as one.

11-08-2023, 03:54 PM

I agree there is more tolerance shown to rugby fans, but I do think it's the possibility of violence that puts the polis on edge when it comes to football fans.

Saint Hibee
11-08-2023, 04:27 PM
Police by the barrier being aggressive morons last night. I politely and genuinely asked why they had the barrier up for such a small number of away fans, and got a right mouthful of sarcastic drivel.

Saint Hibee
11-08-2023, 04:37 PM
Police by the barrier being aggressive morons last night. I politely and genuinely asked why they had the barrier up for such a small number of away fans, and got a right mouthful of sarcastic drivel.

11-08-2023, 04:41 PM
Whatever you do, don't go to Tynecastle. All those pesky fans drinking beer, swearing, singing questionable songs and throwing flares. I think you're overreacting a little bit.
No he's not, spot on flares have no place in the grounds.

11-08-2023, 04:57 PM

It was a load of bollox. I had to leave early last night to make it to work on time knowing these cordons were going to be in place, as a result I missed the last 10 minutes including the 3rd goal. A needless exercise last night. I even said to one police officer that this was a tad extreme for 200 visiting fans and he agreed. We don't even see that number of officers on derby day ffs. Overkill.

Paul1642
11-08-2023, 05:42 PM
Or the difference between catching a bus home and missing it. The barrier was over the top and completely unnecessary.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

Unfortunately police don’t have the ability to see the future and have to police for what might happen rather than what we know with hindsight did / didn’t happen.

Scraps after the Groningen game and Hearts fans scrapping before home Europe games last season don’t exactly help football fans case.

Of course they could just do the bare minimum and then when it all kicks off and someone gets hurt they can answer that they didn’t want to risk fans having to catch the later bus.

Paul1642
11-08-2023, 05:44 PM
It was a load of bollox. I had to leave early last night to make it to work on time knowing these cordons were going to be in place, as a result I missed the last 10 minutes including the 3rd goal. A needless exercise last night. I even said to one police officer that this was a tad extreme for 200 visiting fans and he agreed. We don't even see that number of officers on derby day ffs. Overkill.

The cordons are to protect the visiting fans from us, not the other way around. Having only 200 of them if anything makes them more vulnerable.

11-08-2023, 06:54 PM
Maybe HC just looking at previous fine handed out by UEFA to Scottish teams. The sticky’s are the prime culprits (surprise surprise!). They got fined under €17k for a small pitch invasion and items thrown onto the pitch. Hibs will probably inflate the actual fines to prevent fans from offending. They are strict and we will get fined but it will be more likely a couple of thousand than €20k.

Hibs have already been warned and fined v Asteris - I’m only posting what I was told last night by staff from Hibs. That’s the fine they anticipate and stadium management are quite rightly raging.

Rick Rude
11-08-2023, 07:01 PM
Unfortunately police don’t have the ability to see the future and have to police for what might happen rather than what we know with hindsight did / didn’t happen.

Scraps after the Groningen game and Hearts fans scrapping before home Europe games last season don’t exactly help football fans case.

Of course they could just do the bare minimum and then when it all kicks off and someone gets hurt they can answer that they didn’t want to risk fans having to catch the later bus.

Or just do what ever other team in Europe does. Hold the few hundred away fans back then march them back into town with a police escort.

11-08-2023, 07:20 PM
I have a feeling that the way the police dealt with the Luzern fans last night was a reaction to what went on after the game against Groningen.

In retrospect it may have been overkill but they wouldn't have known that in advance.

---

FYI: This is the route I normally use to get back to Sainsbury's Car Park from the East Stand when the gate between the East and Albion Rd is closed. It's a bit longer than usual but not too drastic

https://www.google.com/maps/dir/55.9625233,-3.1645292/55.9583855,-3.1636281/@55.9599158,-3.1658924,17z/data=!4m9!4m8!1m5!3m4!1m2!1d-3.162305!2d55.9618817!3s0x4887b86d35fc0d17:0x6cbad cadede7837e!1m0!3e2?entry=ttu

Somebody on here pointed it out to me previously, as I hadn't known you could go that way, and it really helps when we play Hearts or the OF

I'm in the west but I will bear that in mind and I could also walk to the other side of the fence holding the Hibs fans in to show the police how ludicrous their system is on the way back. Last night I could have walked to my car, walked back again and done that all again and I doubt a single away fan would have left the ground. In away games just keep teh away fans in for a few minutes after the final whistle. Most will want to give their team a cheer anyway. I can't say I am ever keen that home fans are stopped moving around the ground but I can see why they do it for the bigger games. Last night was just stupid and more importantly very costly to our club.

ionahibby
11-08-2023, 07:27 PM
“The police caused as much bother as anyone last night. 200 away fans and they put the iron curtains out and held Hibs fans back for 30 minutes or so after the end of the game. Utterly moronic policing but absolutely what is expected and the only conclusion is they are looking to generate revenue and Overtime and also create the opportunity for a couple of easy arrests”

Probably the correct thing to do, there’s plenty YouTube videos of Luzern fans going toe to toe with st gallen fans and they’ve got a bit of a reputation for being troublemakers although they seemed well behaved yesterday. I would be surprised if next week passes without incident in Switzerland.

malcolm
11-08-2023, 08:08 PM

Given that that your supposition on overtime, arrests and revenue generation at football matches is simply idiotic, I assume it was not really your conclusion but more an expression reflecting a broader view of society. It is more likely that clashes in the previous round led to the over reaction in the face of expected attendance of Lucerne ‘Ultra’ fans. I expect that the ill advised advent of ‘police scotland’ has led to a more remote than local control and decision making around large sporting events.

Yes the average fan attending Scotland international Rugby matches for example, will have a great deal in common with the average fan attending a premier league football match. But it is not in mitigation of the actions of average fans that such over reaction by police was carried out at the Lucerne game. Perhaps it it is more about the type of fans in our own support that average Hibs supporters have come on .net to complain about their behaviour at say away games 😉. That Police response at the Lucerne game was a bit ‘OTT belt and braces’ and it certainly inconvenienced more people that it needed to but there is was some reasoning behind it. You do have a point in that some groups of fans are treated differently - in some ways that is an approach that seeks a quiet life and to avoid poking the bear :wink:. I personally think the bear needs to be more than poked and to be properly chastised and disciplined 😉

Lendo
11-08-2023, 08:18 PM
I’m confused, we’re Hibs fans physically held back from leaving or were they mildly inconvenienced because they couldn’t go the way they wanted?

11-08-2023, 08:51 PM

do rugby fans let off flares / smoke bombs these days or square up to Polis? I guess therin the part of the counter argument lies…

11-08-2023, 08:55 PM

they should pass any fine onto the clown who threw it.
That would stop folk doing it

11-08-2023, 08:55 PM
I’ve not read any of the posts on this thread but I love the title

11-08-2023, 09:29 PM
Hibs have already been warned and fined v Asteris - I’m only posting what I was told last night by staff from Hibs. That’s the fine they anticipate and stadium management are quite rightly raging.

Nearly always comes from block 7 members eh. Maybe they should pay the fine then.

11-08-2023, 10:04 PM
It was a pain in the arse but there's no danger it was half an hour. Game finished just before half 9 and I was comfortably on 10.10 train.

Well, not comfortable because it was all standing and bloody hot.

As others have said, it may have been fine between us all but not really worth the risk should it not have been. As already mentioned in this thread, sadly there's no lacking in the odd fud who may have caused an issue.

Another moan about the smoke bomb is that it slows our momentum having just come out the traps flying.

11-08-2023, 10:38 PM
they should pass any fine onto the clown who threw it.
That would stop folk doing it

Chat is he was 14. Can Hibs sue the parents?

11-08-2023, 10:40 PM
Nearly always comes from block 7 members eh. Maybe they should pay the fine then.

I think the club should be forthcoming with a statement (and dialogue with fans) that this is what it costs the club when we are in Europe. I’m unsure of the sanction domestically but it was straight from the horses mouth last night that the fine was going to be in that region. They even had to pass messages to the Luzern dugout to stop their keeper going near the flare/smoke bomb when he went to kick it off the pitch. It all gets passed on to the UEFA delegate anyway.

And it did come from Block 7 👍 they created terrific atmosphere all night but they’ve cost the club financially (one idiot).

11-08-2023, 10:51 PM
It makes me kind of livid to think that the financial contribution I thought I made to Hibs yesterday will pay for a fine incurred by a moron.

12-08-2023, 06:24 AM
I’ve not read any of the posts on this thread but I love the title

Sounds like a song by The Clash or similar

12-08-2023, 07:15 AM

If this is the case then they need to find and ban the individual responsible. The fine is £20k plus the time and material required to repair the damage to the pitch.

It’s got to be zero tolerance to this kind of thing.

12-08-2023, 07:19 AM
Sounds like a song by The Clash or similarFits rather nicely with sex & drugs & rock & roll by Ian Dury and the Blockheads?

Percy Vere
12-08-2023, 08:10 AM

But it’s ok to stick your face into police?

Percy Vere
12-08-2023, 08:16 AM

This is the kind of response that just legitimises that sort of behaviour.
I’ve been going to Hibs games for a lot of years and don’t need you to tell me what occurs at every match not just Hearts matches.
The bit that rankled most was the potential for a policeman to get a kicking and tgat he had to back down as he was outnumbered. Absolute pathetic.
That ok in your world?

12-08-2023, 08:32 AM
“The police caused as much bother as anyone last night. 200 away fans and they put the iron curtains out and held Hibs fans back for 30 minutes or so after the end of the game. Utterly moronic policing but absolutely what is expected and the only conclusion is they are looking to generate revenue and Overtime and also create the opportunity for a couple of easy arrests”

Probably the correct thing to do, there’s plenty YouTube videos of Luzern fans going toe to toe with st gallen fans and they’ve got a bit of a reputation for being troublemakers although they seemed well behaved yesterday. I would be surprised if next week passes without incident in Switzerland.

The right thing to do?

There were about 200 of them at most, and they stayed at the end to clap their team off. I have a dodgy hip and had to hirple round the whole stadium to get to the car at Meadowbank.

I can almost accept this at a Rangers/Celtic/Hearts match, but its totally over the top for this level of away crowd.

The police must have known from Hibs how many tickets were sold for the away end, and the sensible thing for them to do was to hold back the 200 swiss for 15 minutes and let them leave when it was quiet.

To treat this as a Cat A match with the barriers etc was utterly stupid and confirms to all of us just how clueless Police Scotland really are when they have to deal with football.

12-08-2023, 08:37 AM
Sounds like a song by The Clash or similar

Not dissimilar to a Fall LP track listing and could compile one that wouldn’t look out of place from front page.

Flares and idiots and police being harassed
Luzern TV Beam Back
Give him his dues
Error Code 520
Zürich airport on Thursday night
Seat Repairs
Seagulls
Just Sold My Car
Boyle = Radge

12-08-2023, 08:45 AM

Are you in the habit of frequenting common stairs when you go to a football match to witness this public urinating ? :greengrin

"Polis on edge"? Like they ever needed an excuse !
Would like them to be more on edge and properly police the Dunbar End when the zombies are in there breaking the law for 90 minutes and more .
But no, it appears easier to huckle schoolbairns and throw them out the ground.

12-08-2023, 08:53 AM
Not dissimilar to a Fall LP track listing and could compile one that wouldn’t look out of place from front page.

Luzern TV Beam Back
Give him his dues
Error Code 520
Seat Repairs
Seagulls
Just Sold My Car
Boyle = Radge

I prefer side 1.

12-08-2023, 09:06 AM
Are you in the habit of frequenting common stairs when you go to a football match to witness this public urinating ? :greengrin

Only when I'm bursting for a pee. :wink:

I used to live just off Easter Road and our stair was sometimes used as a lavatory, usually when Rantic were in town. I remember trying to get the other flat owners to pay for an entry system but not everyone was willing to pay so it didn't happen while I was there.

My mate lived in Albion Place and it was initially much worse for him but his stair agreed to the entry system.

12-08-2023, 09:46 AM
Only when I'm bursting for a pee. :wink:

I used to live just off Easter Road and our stair was sometimes used as a lavatory, usually when Rantic were in town. I remember trying to get the other flat owners to pay for an entry system but not everyone was willing to pay so it didn't happen while I was there.

My mate lived in Albion Place and it was initially much worse for him but his stair agreed to the entry system.

I know... was making fun o ye :greengrin

I once worked with a mechy fitter from Cambuslang.
He mentioned that a lot of tenements on the route to Hampden could be used as toilets .
Some would have a few of the tenants/residents standing at the stair head ,stopping drunk and incontinent strangers fouling their entries. The stair entries,that is:greengrin

Celtic would be....... The Buckfast Brigage
Newco ...... The Lanliq Loyal
http://billysinclair.blogspot.com/2013/07/lanliq-wine.html

Back in the days before all seater, the zombies would bring many thousands more than they do now and Regent Road from Abbeyhill all the way to Waterloo Place would be packed with coaches.
Plus the many special trains back then. Hordes o them descending on our patch
So between there ,Carlton Terrace and London Rd Gardens, the mess they left kept council scaffies in holiday money.
Animals then, animals now.
Some say its policy to keep them sweet till they leave.
Naw ,its turning a blind eye to disorder vandalism and general criminality.
In those days many parents would ban their younger family members going to these games at home because of these animals

Us through in Glasgow at Hampden,would not get away with what they get up to here.

At the Hibs v Livi LC final, i got a tug for opening a can of beer in the street near Hampden.
"Wee Hibby" ,God bless him, from The Oak in Corrie was with us.
He hid his when he saw the copper,:greengrin
The cop poured my can down the siever and issued me with a caution.
All this palaver going on at the same time as a busload of Hibs fans were sat on a wall across the road .
You guessed it .All drinking from beer cans! .
This cop took the easy collar
When he was gleefully writing down my Irish surname, i just knew he was a zombie !

12-08-2023, 10:03 AM
This is the kind of response that just legitimises that sort of behaviour.
I’ve been going to Hibs games for a lot of years and don’t need you to tell me what occurs at every match not just Hearts matches.
The bit that rankled most was the potential for a policeman to get a kicking and tgat he had to back down as he was outnumbered. Absolute pathetic.
That ok in your world?

these are the situations that lead to the police being mob handed and zero tolerance around football matches, we all complain about it, so we absolutely should not be condoning this.

it’s also these kinds of situations that lead to football fans being treated far more firmly than rugby fans. I’ve never seen rugby fans squaring up to police (or even each other). Can’t complain about being treated differently when there’s that kind of behaviour.

12-08-2023, 10:06 AM

I once worked with a mechy fitter from Cambuslang
He mentioned that a lot of tenements on the route to Hampden could be used as toilets .
Some would have a few of the tenants/residents standing at the stair head ,stopping drunk and incontinent strangers fouling their entries.

Back in the days before all seater, the zombies would bring many thousands more than they do now and Regent Road from Abbeyhill all the way to Waterloo Place would be packed with coaches.
Plus the many special trains back then. Hordes o them.
So between there ,Carlton Terrace and London Rd Gardens, the mess they left kept council scaffies in holiday money.
Naw its turning a blind eye to disorder vandalism and general criminality.

Us through in Glasgow at Hampden,would not get away with what they get up to here.

At the Hibs v Livi LC final, i got a tug for opening a can of beer in the street near Hampden.
All this palaver going on at the same time as a busload of Hibs fans were sat on a wall across the road .
This cop took the easy collar ��
When he was gleefully writing down my Irish surname, i just knew he was a zombie !

I remember all that. I was also at Hibby's funeral in St John's. Funny wee guy but wouldn't harm a soul. Love it that he hid from the polis! 😃

12-08-2023, 10:08 AM

I once worked with a mechy fitter from Cambuslang
Some would have a few of the tenants/residents standing at the stair head ,stopping drunk and incontinent strangers fouling their entries.

Plus the many special trains back then. Hordes o them.
Naw its turning a blind eye to disorder vandalism and general criminality.

This cop took the easy collar ��

my dad was brought up in Abbeyhill, has said many times that rangers (and Celtic tbf) would come down the street in hordes, and especially if they’d lost, cars would get windows smashed, wing mirrors ripped off, aerials snapped, tyres slashed, anything to just be ********s really

12-08-2023, 11:10 AM
My dad grew up just off Easter Road in the 50s and the behaviour of visiting fans put him off football for life. Add in the casuals in the 80s and it was no wonder I never attended a game until I was an adult.

I'm a football fan. I just want to go to Easter Road to support my team. I'm not interested in making life unpleasant for anyone when I do so. And I have nothing but contempt for those who do choose to behave that way.

12-08-2023, 11:15 AM
I’m confused, we’re Hibs fans physically held back from leaving or were they mildly inconvenienced because they couldn’t go the way they wanted?

Mildly inconvenienced.

12-08-2023, 11:33 AM

Luzern TV Beam Back
Give him his dues
Error Code 520
Seat Repairs
Seagulls
Just Sold My Car
Boyle = Radge
Absolutely fantastic 🙌

12-08-2023, 12:39 PM
Chat is he was 14. Can Hibs sue the parents?

Parent or guardian

12-08-2023, 01:04 PM
My dad grew up just off Easter Road in the 50s and the behaviour of visiting fans put him off football for life. Add in the casuals in the 80s and it was no wonder I never attended a game until I was an adult.

I'm a football fan. I just want to go to Easter Road to support my team. I'm not interested in making life unpleasant for anyone when I do so. And I have nothing but contempt for those who do choose to behave that way.

all of this, great post

random sub
12-08-2023, 03:36 PM
Who knows where all this flare malarkey will end. Next step could be this….https://twitter.com/thecasualultra/status/1690381460417466369?s=46&t=M-9jouojB1shVO0hkH_3GQ

LewysGot2
12-08-2023, 07:33 PM
my dad was brought up in Abbeyhill, has said many times that rangers (and Celtic tbf) would come down the street in hordes, and especially if they’d lost, cars would get windows smashed, wing mirrors ripped off, aerials snapped, tyres slashed, anything to just be ********s really

It’s not that long ago the shops on Easter Road put the shutters up and locked doors about 4.30pm when the Glasgow Twins were in town then re-open in time for the Pink News. The Govan lot were prone to putting in shop windaes after games. I’m talking 80s/90s.

13-08-2023, 05:07 PM
Block 7

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230813/87e82f40fa60048c089cc53f6a9fa67f.jpg

13-08-2023, 05:33 PM
It’s not that long ago the shops on Easter Road put the shutters up and locked doors about 4.30pm when the Glasgow Twins were in town then re-open in time for the Pink News. The Govan lot were prone to putting in shop windaes after games. I’m talking 80s/90s.

Remember it well

13-08-2023, 05:45 PM
these are the situations that lead to the police being mob handed and zero tolerance around football matches, we all complain about it, so we absolutely should not be condoning this.

it’s also these kinds of situations that lead to football fans being treated far more firmly than rugby fans. I’ve never seen rugby fans squaring up to police (or even each other). Can’t complain about being treated differently when there’s that kind of behaviour.

Was at Murrayfield last Saturday with a Celtic ticket holder who was initially pxssed off that we could buy booze and sit in the stadium with it, but it wasn't long before we were agreeing that it's different - loads of cultural & societal reasons but too many football fans display behaviours
which explain why we are treated differently; the apologists for 'bad' behaviour at and around football reinforce why things won't change any time soon.
Without zero tolerance for the kind of behaviours we're discussing it's never going to change.
And another crap result...

random sub
13-08-2023, 08:09 PM
Block 7

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230813/87e82f40fa60048c089cc53f6a9fa67f.jpg

It’s Hibs that pay for the damage and that’s not going to be a cheap repair

13-08-2023, 08:39 PM
I'd be happy to go back to the days when I didn't leave a ground suffering from tinnitus after listening to some lad hammer a drum for 90 minutes pretending he's some eastern European ultra.

13-08-2023, 09:18 PM
Really feel that the whole scene is now very old hat and a bit lame and stale.

All the best displays or tifos have probably been done, and there is little to distinguish one ultra group from the other. It’s all the same unoriginal songs sung by every club. It’s no coincidence the loudest terrace songs and ones that have greater participation are the more traditional favourites.

Drums have surely had their day too. File away alongside the old rattles and rosettes.

13-08-2023, 09:57 PM
Drums are terrible at football games. Should be getting that stopped right away.

And as for Block 7. They’re an extremely horrible set of people, just out for trouble.

Bridge hibs
14-08-2023, 06:56 AM
Drums are terrible at football games. Should be getting that stopped right away.

And as for Block 7. They’re an extremely horrible set of people, just out for trouble.Yeah can the drums, lets go radge and get a few tunes from vuvuzelas 😃