View Full Version : Here's what the Villa faithful have been saying on social media.

Pages : 1 [2]

CentreForward
12-08-2023, 03:58 PM
One quick question. In Europe do you keep all your own gate money like you do in league games or does it work like in cup games where it is shared? The latter would probably be better for us!

12-08-2023, 03:59 PM
Yeh. Theoretically we should have a decent relationship with the Villa fans due to the SJM link, a lot of Hibs fans wish Villa well because he plays for them. But then we were supposed to have a bit of a special relationship with Groningen and from stuff posted on here after we played them a few weeks ago it seems some fans of both clubs hadn't got the message.

In truth in the unlikely event a spattering of Villa fans did find themselves in the home stands they would probably be looked at sideways but be ok apart from that. But if the game was to go as most folk would expect and Hibs find themselves getting a bit of a runaround and the ole's were to start from the away end the mood would change very quickly. I've been at away games where fights have broken out amongst our own fans when things have been going badly, Half time at Hampden Hibs v Falkirk for example ... need I say more :greengrin

Not just SJM. Alex Cropley and Des Bremner as well.

12-08-2023, 04:00 PM
Well, this thread turned into a train wreck. I hope the Villa fans don't read it.

I do. They're gonna think .... F me, this lot hate each other, what the hell will they be like with us, better not go :greengrin

12-08-2023, 04:05 PM
One quick question. In Europe do you keep all your own gate money like you do in league games or does it work like in cup games where it is shared? The latter would probably be better for us!

Kept by home team.

Trinity Hibee

De La Cruz

De La Cruz

I always liked him, though I seem to remember he divided opinion.

12-08-2023, 04:12 PM
I always liked him, though I seem to remember he divided opinion.

No he didn't.

😀

12-08-2023, 04:17 PM
No he didn't.

😀

I'm sure he used to be criticised for his supposed defensive deficiencies and for being too attack minded. Perhaps that was just the slavers I knew :greengrin

12-08-2023, 04:17 PM
No he didn't.

😀

12-08-2023, 04:18 PM
Hi all friendly Villa fan here. We'll give you guys 2500 to 2800 tickets which is the normal allocation looking at the ticket map. Villa currently have 30000 Season Tickets and then 20-30000 members who have second priority. There won't be any tickets free to buy in the home end on general sale as is normal currently the team sells out pretty much every home game hence planned stadium extension to 50/55k. Hope we draw you guys and any questions regarding the game or area feel free to ask.

Welcome to the forum, mate

12-08-2023, 04:40 PM
Hate to burst the bubble of a few fans on here but we (Villa) won't give you guys more then the previously mentioned 2500 to 3000 unless required which it isn't in Non domestic cup games the demand for Villa fans is well over capacity currently.

In my opinion Hibs should limit the Villa allocation to half the stand as surely you'd want your fans instead of 2000 more away fans back to back the team.

A question is what is your ticket system like is it strict or not as I assume one way or the other lots of Villa fans will attempt to buy in the home end.
Welcome matey, just wanted to send my condolences for the appointment of Slippy G, glad you now have a proper manager rather than that clown.

12-08-2023, 04:40 PM

Joe Ward 🙌

12-08-2023, 04:41 PM
Sorry if it's been mentioned, but what we thinking the prices will be? Probably £30 for each game? Anyone know what Villa usually charge?

Looks live Villa have 5 price zones for our game
Dearest £35 and cheapest £25 for adults

12-08-2023, 04:44 PM

Zones
Looks like Hibs will get P 9, 10 and 11 in upper Doug Ellis stand, Q 1,2 and 3 in Doug Ellis lower stand

Stairway 2 7
12-08-2023, 04:46 PM
Zones
Looks like Hibs will get P 9, 10 and 11 in upper Doug Ellis stand, Q 1,2 and 3 in Doug Ellis lower stand

That would be £30 adult and £22 under 21 £11 under 18 for hibs I think, we'll probably match?

12-08-2023, 04:50 PM
The £30 rule only applies to Premier League games for away fans. Should we end up playing Villa we could well be charged £35. Which would be ridiculous.

12-08-2023, 04:54 PM
The £30 rule only applies to Premier League games for away fans. Should we end up playing Villa we could well be charged £35. Which would be ridiculous.

Aye, £35 would be pricey, but we can't blame the club for wanting to charge to dollar for such a game. They don't come around every week.

Stairway 2 7
12-08-2023, 04:57 PM

They can't charge us more than they are charging for comparable seats. If you look at their chart the £35 seats are two small sections next to the directors box. We'll be £30 and £11 for bairns

CentreForward
12-08-2023, 05:05 PM
That’s a terrible looking injury to Mings and you obviously wish him well. Shows the quality they have that he is replaced by the new signing the Spain centre half. Think we might be up against it a bit in the next round!

CentreForward
12-08-2023, 05:06 PM
Kept by home team.

Thanks for that and guessed it was probably that way in Europe unlike the cups here.

12-08-2023, 05:13 PM

Cheers, Billy 👍🏻

12-08-2023, 05:16 PM
That’s a terrible looking injury to Mings and you obviously wish him well. Shows the quality they have that he is replaced by the new signing the Spain centre half. Think we might be up against it a bit in the next round!

Not to mention the World Cup winner in goal.

12-08-2023, 05:26 PM
This thread makes me uncomfortable. Some talking like we're already through. Our tie still in the balance.

12-08-2023, 05:27 PM
This thread makes me uncomfortable. Some talking like we're already through. Our tie still in the balance.

Fans getting excited is all it is surely? Nothing wrong with that.

As long as the players don't think it's job done.

12-08-2023, 05:44 PM

It's very much in the balance. It won't be easy in Switzerland, so, hopefully, we maintain our composure and play an intelligent match. Keep it tight and don't lose focus.

12-08-2023, 05:51 PM
Nice wee mention for Hibs on the commentary if their game just now.

Fair play to the commentator who knew about our result the other night and also referenced it as the Des Brebner derby rather than just the SJM one.

12-08-2023, 05:57 PM

Definitely still in the balance. We will need to defend much better than we have recently to get through this tie.

PHeffernan
12-08-2023, 05:57 PM

Fair play to the commentator who knew about our result the other night and also referenced it as the Des Brebner derby rather than just the SJM one.

Mixing up your Bremner with your Brebner

12-08-2023, 05:59 PM

12-08-2023, 06:03 PM

Ah apologies, I’m just a young whipper snapper and before my time I’m afraid.

On a side note, I always thought Cropley was held in higher regard with the Hibs fans. Was he not as successful at Villa as he was at Hibs?

The Wireless
12-08-2023, 06:03 PM

And for the older guys the one and only Alex Cropley Derby

CentreForward
12-08-2023, 06:05 PM
Not to mention the World Cup winner in goal.

Yes!

12-08-2023, 06:06 PM
Ah apologies, I’m just a young whipper snapper and before my time I’m afraid.

On a side note, I always thought Cropley was held in higher regard with the Hibs fans. Was he not as successful at Villa as he was at Hibs?

Bremner won the European Cup with Villa in 1982.

Crops was away by then.

12-08-2023, 06:15 PM
I'm talking about WAGS and other assorted relatives of folk I know who are ER regulars who are defacto Hibs fans by association mate. The sort of folk who will go along to Hampden or a game like this even though they don't have a particular interest in being regular football goers as such, or simply can't afford to be regular fans even if they wanted to ... we all know folk like that, it's what makes up about half of our support at cup finals and the sort of folk who attend 'glamour' games like this one would be. Which is exactly why I think we can sell it out nae bother.

As for Hibs regular supporters from the Borders. If half the folk actually living in Edinburgh who claim to be Hibs fans, including some of the folk who post on here, showed the same commitment they do to getting to Easter Road when the team is at home, no matter how badly it happens to be doing, we would be getting an average of 19,000 at every game, not 17,400.

Oh .... and if 'scared Hibs will get a doing' is a reason not to go along and support them in the biggest European tie they will have had in about 30 years, or to desert them for a derby semi final at Hampden for that matter .... then you have absolutely picked the wrong club to support, may I suggest a trip along the M8 every other weekend.

Great post spot on

12-08-2023, 06:18 PM
Villa be very poor tonight. If we negotiate the second leg on Thursday I’d be disappointed not to make the group stages now.

12-08-2023, 06:21 PM
Villa be very poor tonight. If we negotiate the second leg on Thursday I’d be disappointed not to make the group stages now.

Certainly seem to be letting their minds wander to ER under the lights! 😀

12-08-2023, 06:23 PM

Yeah, there's been a couple of posts that say 'when we play Villa' rather than 'if'.

Let's just wait and see if we get through.

12-08-2023, 06:24 PM

Certainly seem to be letting their minds wander to ER under the lights! 😀

Should have been at least 6 for Newcastle tonight. Injuries racking up for Villa now too, with Buendia and Mings out. Should be a formality for us:greengrin

12-08-2023, 06:25 PM
On this villa performance I might take hibs at -2

12-08-2023, 06:26 PM
Yeah, there's been a couple of posts that say 'when we play Villa' rather than 'if'.

Let's just wait and see if we get through.

It doesn't matter what people say or write.

If they're taking Thursday for granted then they stand to be very disappointed. No doubt they'll be the first ones to be calling for LJs head, but as long as our players know they're in for a battle, that's all that matters.

Rumble de Thump
12-08-2023, 06:30 PM
Newcastle just killed Villa.

Kentao1985
12-08-2023, 06:31 PM
Boyle and youan are going to run riot against this villa team. [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

Sent from my moto g22 using Tapatalk

12-08-2023, 07:32 PM
I'm talking about WAGS and other assorted relatives of folk I know who are ER regulars who are defacto Hibs fans by association mate. The sort of folk who will go along to Hampden or a game like this even though they don't have a particular interest in being regular football goers as such, or simply can't afford to be regular fans even if they wanted to ... we all know folk like that, it's what makes up about half of our support at cup finals and the sort of folk who attend 'glamour' games like this one would be. Which is exactly why I think we can sell it out nae bother.

As for Hibs regular supporters from the Borders. If half the folk actually living in Edinburgh who claim to be Hibs fans, including some of the folk who post on here, showed the same commitment they do to getting to Easter Road when the team is at home, no matter how badly it happens to be doing, we would be getting an average of 19,000 at every game, not 17,400.

Oh .... and if 'scared Hibs will get a doing' is a reason not to go along and support them in the biggest European tie they will have had in about 30 years, or to desert them for a derby semi final at Hampden for that matter .... then you have absolutely picked the wrong club to support, may I suggest a trip along the M8 every other weekend.

I take it the wink at the end of the paragraph never registered, all comments made with tongue firmly in cheek. I live in the Borders and have traveled up/down the A7 for 30 plus years following the Hibs. Bad attempt at humour👍

Fans have, and will continue to do so, stay away from games where they think they’ve little chance of winning, not me, just making a generalisation. However, I still think we’ve too many part time fans down here tho, as they do in Edinburgh🤷🏼😂

ErinGoBraghHFC
12-08-2023, 08:17 PM
Newcastle just killed Villa.

No reason we can’t give them a bloody nose if we set up properly and get a wee bit of the rub of the green.

12-08-2023, 08:48 PM
I take it the wink at the end of the paragraph never registered, all comments made with tongue firmly in cheek. I live in the Borders and have traveled up/down the A7 for 30 plus years following the Hibs. Bad attempt at humour👍

Fans have, and will continue to do so, stay away from games where they think they’ve little chance of winning, not me, just making a generalisation. However, I still think we’ve too many part time fans down here tho, as they do in Edinburgh🤷🏼😂

Fair doos mate :greengrin

I just get a wee bit defensive over the support this club gets from the Borders ... and I appreciate other areas outside of Edinburgh ... my round trip every home game is around 80 miles and I know for some folk it's even further than that. There's plenty of folk from the Borders making trips like that to support Hibs every home game and who practically never miss a game.

12-08-2023, 08:54 PM
Definitely still in the balance. We will need to defend much better than we have recently to get through this tie.
Yes as Joe Newell said after the game, expect them to dominate the ball more. I thought as the away side in europe they were quite happy letting us have it first have without us hurting them too much, not really showing what they could do. They will be free'd up at home given the scoreline. I think our pace either side can get us a goal though and it may be a goal that we need to take us through still.

12-08-2023, 09:05 PM
Yes as Joe Newell said after the game, expect them to dominate the ball more. I thought as the away side in europe they were quite happy letting us have it first have without us hurting them too much, not really showing what they could do. They will be free'd up at home given the scoreline. I think our pace either side can get us a goal though and it may be a goal that we need to take us through still.

Interestingly, we only had 32% possession v Luzern on Thursday (but had more shots and corners), so we could be in for a very long night this week. Their final ball was generally pretty poor, so hopefully more of the same, and as you say we have the ability/players to hit them on the break.

12-08-2023, 09:07 PM
Interestingly, we only had 32% possession v Luzern on Thursday (but had more shots and corners), so we could be in for a very long night on this week. Their final ball was generally pretty poor, so hopefully more of the same, and as you say we have the ability/players to hit them on the break.
I'm surprised at that figure being so low for us to be honest - didn't feel like that to me watching. Goals change games! and opinions

12-08-2023, 09:08 PM
I'm surprised at that figure being so low for us to be honest - didn't feel like that to me watching. Goals change games! and opinions

Yeah same mate, was surprised to see that!

12-08-2023, 09:14 PM

They will be at us right from the off, if we concede early we could really be struggling as they will be relentless, I'd be tempted to park the bus and as soon as possession turns over hit them with our pace because we have the ability to score on the break. I said a few days ago Vente would score home and away and I stand by that. :greengrin

12-08-2023, 09:22 PM
Interestingly, we only had 32% possession v Luzern on Thursday (but had more shots and corners), so we could be in for a very long night this week. Their final ball was generally pretty poor, so hopefully more of the same, and as you say we have the ability/players to hit them on the break.

They are much better at passing on the deck than they are delivering balls into the box.

It was well documented before Thursday that they really struggle to deal with high balls into their box. Watching the from high up in the West it was obvious that nearly every cross we put in they were struggling to deal with. The keeper doesn't come to collect and they are not the tallest team either. They were exactly the same v Djungarden home and away as well and Djungarden missed loads of good chances with crosses into the box that sent Luzern into panic mode.

Tactics are all about exploiting weaknesses and boxing clever. We have to take advantage of this when we get the chance.

buktapurple79
12-08-2023, 09:35 PM
if we keep it tight first ten both legs we will dae them. we are there nightmare draw, espesh after there game the day

12-08-2023, 09:40 PM
if we keep it tight first ten both legs we will dae them. we are there nightmare draw, espesh after there game the day

How about we keep it tight on Thursday and get through that before we even think about Villa.

12-08-2023, 09:40 PM

Erm, they were away to Newcastle United, not Dundee United :faf:

12-08-2023, 09:44 PM
Erm, they were away to Newcastle United, not Dundee United :faf:

Ken, folk getting a bit carried away and thinking we have a chance against Villa because they lost to Newcastle who are likely going to finish 3rd or 4th. Mental.

Hearts fans had the same chat when they were up against Spurs and Liverpool. Emptied.

12-08-2023, 09:48 PM
They are much better at passing on the deck than they are delivering balls into the box.

It was well documented before Thursday that they really struggle to deal with high balls into their box. Watching the from high up in the West it was obvious that nearly every cross we put in they were struggling to deal with. The keeper doesn't come to collect and they are not the tallest team either. They were exactly the same v Djungarden home and away as well and Djungarden missed loads of good chances with crosses into the box that sent Luzern into panic mode.

Tactics are all about exploiting weaknesses and boxing clever. We have to take advantage of this when we get the chance.

Aye the way they started I was really worried with their quick one touch passing, but as you say deliveries into the box were poor, by half time I was far more confident.

12-08-2023, 09:48 PM
Ken, folk getting a bit carried away and thinking we have a chance against Villa because they lost to Newcastle who are likely going to finish 3rd or 4th. Mental.

Hearts fans had the same chat when they were up against Spurs and Liverpool. Emptied.

I don't think anyone is being particularly serious.

12-08-2023, 09:50 PM

I think 1 or 2 are.

12-08-2023, 10:02 PM

I don't think so either. Folk are just having a bit of a laugh but are well aware we're only at half-time v Luzern.

12-08-2023, 10:11 PM

Exactly mate. I know most of the optimistic stuff is extremely tongue in cheek. But if you look seriously at this potential two leg affair we would do extremely well, in fact brilliantly, to get a draw or narrow defeat in the first leg and keep the score down to 3 or 4 in the away leg. The absolute fact is that the gulf between what we can put on the park and what they can is absolutely massive.

We are a wee bit chuffed that we have spent 700K on a player, with rumours he's on 7K a week .... they have spent 55 and 33 million on just two players and got Tielemans from Leicester on a free, but are probably paying him about 70K a week. That's what we would be up against.

The absolute fact is if we were to get through such a tie it would without a doubt be the single biggest shock in European football this season such is the disparity of resources between the two clubs.

12-08-2023, 10:31 PM
Exactly mate. I know most of the optimistic stuff is extremely tongue in cheek. But if you look seriously at this potential two leg affair we would do extremely well, in fact brilliantly, to get a draw or narrow defeat in the first leg and keep the score down to 3 or 4 in the away leg. The absolute fact is that the gulf between what we can put on the park and what they can is absolutely massive.

We are a wee bit chuffed that we have spent 700K on a player, with rumours he's on 7K a week .... they have spent 55 and 33 million on just two players and got Tielemans from Leicester on a free, but are probably paying him about 70K a week. That's what we would be up against.

The absolute fact is if we were to get through such a tie it would without a doubt be the single biggest shock in European football this season such is the disparity of resources between the two clubs.

We'd be lucky to get nil!! If we were to win it would be like when Celtic beat that great Barcelona team 2-1. A Hibs win would genuinely be talked about all over Europe for days/weeks later, the magnitude of it would be so big. It won't happen though.

badabing67
12-08-2023, 11:27 PM
No reason we can’t give them a bloody nose if we set up properly and get a wee bit of the rub of the green.

We have no chance if Marshall is in goal simple as that

12-08-2023, 11:30 PM

The absolute fact is if we were to get through such a tie it would without a doubt be the single biggest shock in European football this season such is the disparity of resources between the two clubs.We should park the bus, or maybe just not get off the bus.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

12-08-2023, 11:43 PM

On the hand other, you said literally zero chance Vs djung/Luzern. We were out. Done. Finished.

Truth is no one has a clue. Anything could happen.

HITSB6
13-08-2023, 12:04 AM
Sorry for a late response guys. I would assume the ticket prices for away fans will be £30 at VP unless it's a derby game they rarely rip off away fans too much even if they have the chance! I'd recommend getting tickets in the lower rows of Doug Ellis upper if you have the option the lower tier is fine but generally a lot better view in the upper tier.

A poor performance from Villa tonight but first few games never get too carried away or disheartened for me it's a good oppurtunity to see issues and bring in more new players! I believe when Mcleish managed villa in 11/12 we had several games unbeaten and top 4 start to season and just survived relegation then last year we lost 2 nil to a poor bournemouth side and finished 7th so that's all I'll say with that!

Any other questions feel free to ask!

13-08-2023, 12:31 AM
I think today's result shows the gap between the top teams in England, which Newcastle now are and the rest.

If we get through to play Villa, our games will likely then show the gap between those teams and ours. Diaby cost £55m, Torres £32m, quite clearly we cannot compete with that kind of quality. Best case scenario we keep the score down as best as we can in the home game. Down there will depend on what team they put out. Hope we do through to play them as it'll be a great occasion for us as a club and quite an education for ours players as they'll be clearly a few steps up in quality compared to what we're used to playing against.

ErinGoBraghHFC
13-08-2023, 12:41 AM
I think today's result shows the gap between the top teams in England, which Newcastle now are and the rest.

If we get through to play Villa, our games will likely then show the gap between those teams and ours. Diaby cost £55m, Torres £32m, quite clearly we cannot compete with that kind of quality. Best case scenario we keep the score down as best as we can in the home game. Down there will depend on what team they put out. Hope we do through to play them as it'll be a great occasion for us as a club and quite an education for ours players as they'll be clearly a few steps up in quality compared to what we're used to playing against.

We can and will, we’ll beat them in at least one of the legs. I can feel it in my *****.

Yes I’ve had a few beers.

13-08-2023, 12:48 AM
We can and will, we’ll beat them in at least one of the legs. I can feel it in my *****.

We probably won't even get to play them, but if we do, there's no chance we'll beat them.

They would be great occasions though.

A big tifo of SJM lifting the cup would be sensational!

ErinGoBraghHFC
13-08-2023, 12:53 AM
We probably won't even get to play them, but if we do, there's no chance we'll beat them.

I’m going to avoid offering you a bet on that because I’ll no doubt wake up and realise I’m talking pish. However, yes we will. 2-1 Hibs in the first leg. We’ll get battered down there probably but we’ll get through on Thursday by the skin of our teeth and we’ll get our collective hopes up in the home game.

Donegal Hibby
13-08-2023, 01:13 AM

I was impressed with FC Luzern in our game . I think they are a good side and even with a 3-1 lead going over there i do think the ties in the balance tbh . Love the positivity though buddy 👍 even though you've had a few beers 😁

13-08-2023, 09:54 AM

I love John McGinn as much as everyone else but I don’t think he should be getting any special treatment if we play Villa.

He’ll be wanting to beat Hibs as much as we’d want to beat Aston Villa and rightly so.

Singing about a player in a positive manner when he’s playing against you is something I just don’t get. Maybe just me though.

13-08-2023, 09:55 AM
I was impressed with FC Luzern in our game . I think they are a good side and even with a 3-1 lead going over there i do think the ties in the balance tbh . Love the positivity though buddy 👍 even though you've had a few beers 😁

They're very good with the ball at their feet. Its high balls they struggle with. They had some lovely one touch moves at ER, the move when the boy rattled the bar in the second half was excellent.

13-08-2023, 09:56 AM
I love John McGinn as much as everyone else but I don’t think he should be getting any special treatment if we play Villa.

He’ll be wanting to beat Hibs as much as we’d want to beat Aston Villa and rightly so.

Singing about a player in a positive manner when he’s playing against you is something I just don’t get. Maybe just me though.

I'm with you, never understood it.

13-08-2023, 09:58 AM

Have to say, I agree with this.

Hillsidehibby
13-08-2023, 10:00 AM

Exactly. He doesn't play for us anymore.

13-08-2023, 10:01 AM

McGinn is my favourite ever Hibs player and deserves a good reception.

But if we do end up playing them, once the game starts, that should be it.

Hopefully he scores an own goal, gives a penalty away and gets sent off in the process of doing so.

13-08-2023, 10:01 AM

I'm sure it's not just you but I don't think there's anything wrong in showing your appreciation and affection for an opponent at the start of the game is problematic. It's not like we'd be cheering him on throughout the match.

Anyway, we're not through yet.

13-08-2023, 10:02 AM
McGinn is my favourite ever Hibs player and deserves a good reception.

But if we do end up playing them, once the game starts, that should be it.

Hopefully he scores an own goal, gives a penalty away and gets sent off in the process of doing so.

13-08-2023, 10:08 AM

He’s a club legend unquestionably.

Doesn’t mean I don’t want to see Joe Newall put him in the stand during the game.

13-08-2023, 10:10 AM

Rather support the guys who play for us now.

Bridge hibs
13-08-2023, 10:45 AM
Rather support the guys who play for us now.

McGinn wont be giving a **** about us when he steps onto that pitch (if we manage to get past Luzern) sentiment will be well oot the windae

13-08-2023, 11:07 AM
He’s a club legend unquestionably.

Doesn’t mean I don’t want to see Joe Newall put him in the stand during the game.

Absolutely this.

13-08-2023, 02:30 PM
Showing SJM respect pre/post game is one thing, singing his song during the game…..no thanks. Love the guy but I’d be hoping he spends most of the game on very prominent behind!

13-08-2023, 02:32 PM
Showing SJM respect pre/post game is one thing, singing his song during the game…..no thanks. Love the guy but I’d be hoping he spends most of the game on very prominent behind!

Absolutely.

13-08-2023, 03:40 PM
“Sell SJM” 😂

13-08-2023, 03:47 PM
I don't think we'll progress past Luzren anyway

16-08-2023, 04:19 AM

This , the hole game on it 😝

Broxburn Greens
16-08-2023, 05:46 AM

Love the positivity…. Although I have that horrible feeling myself after Sundays debacle….

16-08-2023, 06:01 AM
Love the positivity…. Although I have that horrible feeling myself after Sundays debacle….The last two Thursday games have been the opposite of the Sunday games, so hopefully that continues

16-08-2023, 09:23 AM
Showing SJM respect pre/post game is one thing, singing his song during the game…..no thanks. Love the guy but I’d be hoping he spends most of the game on very prominent behind!Yeh, got to agree with that. There's nothing not to like about SJM both as a player for Hibs and as a person ... but he's a professional and will do his job to the best of his ability if this game happens. Our job as Hibs fans is to give every ounce of our support to our club and our players with nothing left for anybody else, no matter how much they are still loved here.SJM's place in the history of this club is cemented in place as is the affection he is held in by its supporters, nothing will ever change that. But for 180 minutes plus whatever gets added he will just be another opposition player.

Hibees1973
16-08-2023, 09:45 AM
I don't think we'll progress past Luzren anywayYeah. Feel the same.Kind of reluctant to post this for fear of getting abuse. Based on our performances so far we will have to score a couple at least cos our defence and goalie are a shambles.

16-08-2023, 09:55 AM
Yeah. Feel the same.Kind of reluctant to post this for fear of getting abuse. Based on our performances so far we will have to score a couple at least cos our defence and goalie are a shambles.Maybe so mate. But on paper we have a decent midfield capable of making chances for our forwards, not much point having that if the tactic is to shell the ball over their heads as we did at Motherwell ... any defence is going to struggle if the tactics mean the ball is coming back into their half constantly because we cant hold onto it up front or in the middle of the park.

16-08-2023, 12:46 PM
Yeah. Feel the same.Kind of reluctant to post this for fear of getting abuse. Based on our performances so far we will have to score a couple at least cos our defence and goalie are a shambles.I'm fearful of a doing. They are a good side and could have scored a few last week. In saying that, on our day, we are also a good side. I also think we'll need to score tomorrow.

ErinGoBraghHFC
16-08-2023, 12:48 PM
I'm fearful of a doing. They are a good side and could have scored a few last week. In saying that, on our day, we are also a good side. I also think we'll need to score tomorrow.

I don’t think they’re all that good, they’re tidy and composed on the ball but surely that’s the bare minimum you’d expect of a team in this competition (aside from our team of galacticos who prefer World Cup passes to the corner flag)? I didn’t think they really troubled us at all last week to be honest, they had one decent attempt at goal which they were unlucky not to score from and the goal they scored came from some typically pish defending from a set piece.

16-08-2023, 01:08 PM
I don’t think they’re all that good, they’re tidy and composed on the ball but surely that’s the bare minimum you’d expect of a team in this competition (aside from our team of galacticos who prefer World Cup passes to the corner flag)? I didn’t think they really troubled us at all last week to be honest, they had one decent attempt at goal which they were unlucky not to score from and the goal they scored came from some typically pish defending from a set piece.

Bit puzzled as to how we managed to beat them 3-1 considering we can't pass the ball according to you.

16-08-2023, 01:38 PM
Are Servette not supposed to be better than them? Play like Servette did in 2nd half yesterday and we will hammer them.

ErinGoBraghHFC
16-08-2023, 01:47 PM
Bit puzzled as to how we managed to beat them 3-1 considering we can't pass the ball according to you.

First goal is brilliant team play, second goal is a good wee combination down the wing and a pretty poor cross that’s behind both the strikers but ALF takes a nice touch and cleverly lofts it into the path of Vente. Third goal is just an interception and we catch them out when they’re pushing hard for an equaliser, Obita does well to stay composed. We can pass the ball, sometimes very well. We just don’t often enough imo. Certain players in the team seem to panic under pressure and prefer to clear their lines when they have team mates showing for them. All imo.

16-08-2023, 02:01 PM
The last two Thursday games have been the opposite of the Sunday games, so hopefully that continuesWhat about the Thursday before the other 2??? Disaster or what!!!

Nevi_SOL
16-08-2023, 08:41 PM

That's the spirit

Crunchie
17-08-2023, 08:51 AM
That's the spiritHe's only saying what a good percentage of the support think , the defence at present gives us the fear. It's not to say we don't want Hibs to go through.

17-08-2023, 09:46 AM
He's only saying what a good percentage of the support think , the defence at present gives us the fear. It's not to say we don't want Hibs to go through.

We also had the same defence against them last week and only conceded once, they are a decent team but nothing outstanding

Crunchie
17-08-2023, 09:57 AM
We also had the same defence against them last week and only conceded once, they are a decent team but nothing outstandingWe were at home, that performance at Fir Park was woeful, I hope it was a one off. LJ will have them up for it I'm sure, I just think he has to make changes to that defence, time will tell.

17-08-2023, 10:07 AM
We also had the same defence against them last week and only conceded once, they are a decent team but nothing outstandingThey created a number of chances that with a better touch or a bit more luck would have resulted in goals. They move the ball nicely around the box and its daft not to think we will have a tough job to stop them scoring more than once tonight. We'll need to score IMO. There's nothing wrong with being honest about our chances in any game in a discussion about it ...... The folk who translate that honesty into 'we've nae chance, am no gaun' are the ones who piss me off.

17-08-2023, 10:32 AM
My guess is that the Villa faithful will have long since realised that it's gonna be a complete walkover. Oh well, I'll just enjoy the beauty of Luzern and keep my fingers crossed :-)

17-08-2023, 02:10 PM
My guess is that the Villa faithful will have long since realised that it's gonna be a complete walkover. Oh well, I'll just enjoy the beauty of Luzern and keep my fingers crossed :-)

Sure, they'll have seen our performance last week, then been dispirited by their hammering by Newcastle, but they'll probably think they've got at least an outside chance if they can take us back to villa park with only a small deficit.

17-08-2023, 04:14 PM
We were at home, that performance at Fir Park was woeful, I hope it was a one off. LJ will have them up for it I'm sure, I just think he has to make changes to that defence, time will tell.

The performance at home against St mirren was rank but went and beat luzern, and could have scored 4

17-08-2023, 04:16 PM
They created a number of chances that with a better touch or a bit more luck would have resulted in goals. They move the ball nicely around the box and its daft not to think we will have a tough job to stop them scoring more than once tonight. We'll need to score IMO. There's nothing wrong with being honest about our chances in any game in a discussion about it ...... The folk who translate that honesty into 'we've nae chance, am no gaun' are the ones who piss me off.

And we could also have scored another if the doidge shot hadn't hit the bar, definitely nothing from last week's game to suggest they are much better than us, I agree I think we will need to score, fingers crossed we are celebrating tonight

17-08-2023, 04:22 PM
Villa should hammer both sides but you just never know. If we get through tonight, I'm not convinced we will, it will be great to play Villa and give them a decent game at ER. But the away the game could be a nightmare.

17-08-2023, 05:01 PM
They created a number of chances that with a better touch or a bit more luck would have resulted in goals. They move the ball nicely around the box and its daft not to think we will have a tough job to stop them scoring more than once tonight. We'll need to score IMO. There's nothing wrong with being honest about our chances in any game in a discussion about it ...... The folk who translate that honesty into 'we've nae chance, am no gaun' are the ones who piss me off.

As well as the Doidge one that hit the bar, as pointed out by Allant1981, their goal was from a corner that should not have been given. It didn't touch any Hibs players before it went out. Luzern got more than their share of luck last week.

You are correct though, I expect a very tough game tonight.

17-08-2023, 08:01 PM
Sorry if this has been covered already - is there any chance of our games being moved if us and hearts go through?

HITSB6
18-08-2023, 10:00 AM
Congrats on getting through last night looking forward to the 2 games. Hopefully we turn up and don't be too complacent!

18-08-2023, 10:10 AM
Congrats on getting through last night looking forward to the 2 games. Hopefully we turn up and don't be too complacent!

Enjoy the trip, but, respectfully, I hope all your complacency for the season comes at once.

Clarence Beeks
18-08-2023, 12:07 PM
Enjoy the trip, but, respectfully, I hope all your complacency for the season comes at once.Unfortunately for you I think it already has, mostly in the last half hour last Saturday.

18-08-2023, 03:23 PM
What’s the origin’s of Villa’s club crest?

Kinda looks like the Lion Rampant.

18-08-2023, 03:25 PM

Think some of their founders were Scots maybe completely off base with that but don't think so

18-08-2023, 05:00 PM
Think some of their founders were Scots maybe completely off base with that but don't think so

Yup - founded by Scots (like Milwall).

19-08-2023, 08:46 AM
Had a look on one forum last night, they don't like Johnson that's for sure. Plenty of clown comments.

19-08-2023, 08:58 AM
Had a look on one forum last night, they don't like Johnson that's for sure. Plenty of clown comments.😂maybe we have more in common with villa fans than I thought

Hibees1973
19-08-2023, 09:02 AM
I had a look at their forums last night and expected to see over confident comments full of condescending bravado.It was far from it.Most comments were that they would find it very tough. Just not at ER, but in both legs.Fair do's to them. Think they have a relatively poor record in cups which may explain the comments I see.I just hope we are still in it going down to Villa Park. Level or hopefully a 1 goal deficit at worse. More than a 1 goal deficit would mean it's just a Jolly Boy's outing in Birmingham, which is not too bad a thing.

19-08-2023, 09:09 AM
I had a look at their forums last night and expected to see over confident comments full of condescending bravado.It was far from it.Most comments were that they would find it very tough. Just not at ER, but in both legs.Fair do's to them. Think they have a relatively poor record in cups which may explain the comments I see.I just hope we are still in it going down to Villa Park. Level or hopefully a 1 goal deficit at worse. More than a 1 goal deficit would mean it's just a Jolly Boy's outing in Birmingham, which is not too bad a thing.They clearly haven’t watched our opening two league games

Hibees1973
19-08-2023, 09:13 AM
They clearly haven’t watched our opening two league gamesThe thing is maybe Luzern did.

19-08-2023, 11:02 AM
😂maybe we have more in common with villa fans than I thought

It looked like it was due to a comment Johnson made after the game.

19-08-2023, 03:59 PM
I had a look at their forums last night and expected to see over confident comments full of condescending bravado.It was far from it.Most comments were that they would find it very tough. Just not at ER, but in both legs.Fair do's to them. Think they have a relatively poor record in cups which may explain the comments I see.I just hope we are still in it going down to Villa Park. Level or hopefully a 1 goal deficit at worse. More than a 1 goal deficit would mean it's just a Jolly Boy's outing in Birmingham, which is not too bad a thing.

Jeezo. How can you have the world cup winning goalie, have spent 88 million quid on players in the last 2 months, have a guy in your midfield most Hibs fans would sell a kidney to get back, who isn't even your best player, have the 2nd leg at home in front of 40,000 of your own fans and still not be confident of walking past the club currently equal bottom of the Scottish Premiership :faf:

And I though yer average Hibs fan was a pessimist :greengrin

Silky
19-08-2023, 04:41 PM
Had a look on one forum last night, they don't like Johnson that's for sure. Plenty of clown comments.

Good. I don't like their keeper Martinez. I'm sure he won't lose any sleep over that, just like I'm sure LJ doesn't give two ****s what they think of him.

19-08-2023, 04:46 PM

I went on their forum a bit when they signed SJM and thought they seemed like a decent crowd.

19-08-2023, 04:46 PM
Good. I don't like their keeper Martinez. I'm sure he won't lose any sleep over that, just like I'm sure LJ doesn't give two ****s what they think of him.

I love that goalie, think he’s tremendous and is as raj as all goalies should be.

19-08-2023, 06:16 PM

It is the Lion Rampant. It was chosen to be their badge by William McGregor (chairman) and George Ramsay (the captain, later the manager of Villa).

McGregor was originally from Perth(?) and Ramsay from Glasgow.

19-08-2023, 06:29 PM
It is the Lion Rampant. It was chosen to be their badge by William McGregor (chairman) and George Ramsay (the captain, later the manager of Villa).

McGregor was originally from Perth(?) and Ramsay from Glasgow.
You prompted me to search fot William

He certainly was a or THE major infuence at the beginning of the established English football league

https://www.avfc.co.uk/history/william-mcgregor/

HITSB6
20-08-2023, 12:19 AM
Several of the members involved early on with the club were Scottish the club itself was founded by members of a Church Cricket team in the local area.

Regarding Johnson as far as I remember we beat his side Bristol City 5 0 on New Years Day 2018 after the result he said something along the lines we are still above them in the table which they were so why would they mock us. I guess it came across as a slightly arrogant remark in the middle of season which ended with Bristol finishing 11th place and Aston Villa making a playoff final.

Donegal Hibby
20-08-2023, 01:22 AM
Several of the members involved early on with the club were Scottish the club itself was founded by members of a Church Cricket team in the local area.

Regarding Johnson as far as I remember we beat his side Bristol City 5 0 on New Years Day 2018 after the result he said something along the lines we are still above them in the table which they were so why would they mock us. I guess it came across as a slightly arrogant remark in the middle of season which ended with Bristol finishing 11th place and Aston Villa making a playoff final.

Don't think he was mocking yas or being arrogant then again a lot of managers can come across as arrogant tbh . Hibs supporter first and foremost but do follow Newcastle who beat villa 5-1 . Is this Emery saying " we played not deserving to lose 5-1 ? In a game that could have been easily 7 or 8 which the villa manager gave little credit to Newcastle or Eddie Howie in ! Abit arrogant maybe ? .
https://youtu.be/SNOWPPmyEkY

21-08-2023, 12:31 PM
i see Des Bremner will deliver the match ball on Wednesday, nice touch

Clarence Beeks
21-08-2023, 02:24 PM
Don't think he was mocking yas or being arrogant then again a lot of managers can come across as arrogant tbh . Hibs supporter first and foremost but do follow Newcastle who beat villa 5-1 . Is this Emery saying " we played not deserving to lose 5-1 ? In a game that could have been easily 7 or 8 which the villa manager gave little credit to Newcastle or Eddie Howie in ! Abit arrogant maybe ? .
https://youtu.be/SNOWPPmyEkY

Quite the opposite, from before yesterdays game:

"Newcastle showed us they are better than us," he says."They were faster, stronger in the duels, more aggressive in attack and they won because they were better. We were less in the duels, less in the runs, less aggressive than them. This is the reason. Tactically, as well, we took some wrong decisions."

Johnson spouted off some rubbish after we'd humped Bristol City, if memory serves he was complaining about having fans behind both goals, and them being amused at said humping.

Donegal Hibby
22-08-2023, 01:22 AM
Quite the opposite, from before yesterdays game:

"Newcastle showed us they are better than us," he says."They were faster, stronger in the duels, more aggressive in attack and they won because they were better. We were less in the duels, less in the runs, less aggressive than them. This is the reason. Tactically, as well, we took some wrong decisions."

Johnson spouted off some rubbish after we'd humped Bristol City, if memory serves he was complaining about having fans behind both goals, and them being amused at said humping.
Johnson spouts rubbish does he after a beating ? Aston villa manager scratching and spouting pish about" WE PLAYED NOT DESERVING TO LOSE 5-1 " in a game that could have been 7 or 8 easily. :faf:
https://youtu.be/tSZR1d0erTI

22-08-2023, 09:11 AM
What they saying about us buying tickets in the home end for game at Villa?

HITSB6
22-08-2023, 10:47 AM
What they saying about us buying tickets in the home end for game at Villa?

Someone said the club is going to start Cancel tickets for newly registered accounts obviously there is going to be some red flags if you've created an account at 6PM yesterday then bought tickets for first time 10 minutes later :greengrin Otherwise think some of our fans bit worried about it kicking off.

22-08-2023, 10:59 AM
You prompted me to search fot William

He certainly was a or THE major infuence at the beginning of the established English football league

https://www.avfc.co.uk/history/william-mcgregor/

BS44
22-08-2023, 02:23 PM
Someone said the club is going to start Cancel tickets for newly registered accounts obviously there is going to be some red flags if you've created an account at 6PM yesterday then bought tickets for first time 10 minutes later :greengrin Otherwise think some of our fans bit worried about it kicking off.

:whistle:

22-08-2023, 02:37 PM
I don't really follow English football however Villa are a club I've always quite liked. Don't know if it's because it's where Scotland won at Euro 96 or more recently the McGinn connection, but i do. Big, historical club with a good old fashioned traditional type stadium. Their fans generally seem pretty respectful towards us too. Not much of "my nan" type patter you'd expect from English fans.

Anyway, hope we pump them.

Paulie Walnuts
22-08-2023, 02:43 PM
I don't really follow English football however Villa are a club I've always quite liked. Don't know if it's because it's where Scotland won at Euro 96 or more recently the McGinn connection, but i do. Big, historical club with a good old fashioned traditional type stadium. Their fans generally seem pretty respectful towards us too. Not much of "my nan" type patter you'd expect from English fans.

Funnily enough the ‘my nan’ pish very rarely comes from folk that actually watch a level of football better than ours.

It’s generally reserved for people who ‘support’ Man Utd or the likes and have never been to a game, or for fans of some absolutely ***** team from some absolute backwater like Grimsby who most of the Scottish Premiership would give an absolute pasting to.

22-08-2023, 02:50 PM

I read some pish on a Villa fans forum about climbing a tree outside ER and watching the game from there, lack of smileys meant that I couldn't determine the seriousness of the post.

22-08-2023, 03:09 PM
I read some pish on a Villa fans forum about climbing a tree outside ER and watching the game from there, lack of smileys meant that I couldn't determine the seriousness of the post.

Closest tree is in Lochend park. :greengrin

ErinGoBraghHFC
22-08-2023, 03:14 PM
Funnily enough the ‘my nan’ pish very rarely comes from folk that actually watch a level of football better than ours.

It’s generally reserved for people who ‘support’ Man Utd or the likes and have never been to a game, or for fans of some absolutely ***** team from some absolute backwater like Grimsby who most of the Scottish Premiership would give an absolute pasting to.

And rather ironically, I actually would back my auld granny to score against Grimsby.

22-08-2023, 03:40 PM

They are a bit early but good on them for getting their position in! Hopefully they aren't actually at Meadowbank 😁

Hibees1973
22-08-2023, 03:48 PM

Hmm, there is the odd naive post, but most are sensible.

Just a couple of them think you will see the game from a tree like some 1970's cup game on MOTD.

Some of them obviously haven't seen photos of our stadium. Remember one poster saying on here 'We are rather mighty' which make me laugh.

22-08-2023, 06:21 PM
My one and only visit to villa park was when they were European Champions and were playing Juventus. Don’t remember too much about it to be honest. Bloody beer.

22-08-2023, 07:32 PM
My one and only visit to villa park was when they were European Champions and were playing Juventus. Don’t remember too much about it to be honest. Bloody beer.

Switzerland game in Euro 96 for me, the place was bouncing.

DIXIHIBS
22-08-2023, 07:48 PM
Switzerland game in Euro 96 for me, the place was bouncing.

Holland game in same year. One of the noisiest games ive been too. Great night out with the dutch afterwards too.

23-08-2023, 10:28 AM
whoever newhavenhibby is over on the villa forum, have a word with yourself ffs..

”talk about going from one to extreme to the other next week… one moment you’re against a Scottish pub side in front of a large Villa home support and then 3 days later you are at anfield”

Have a bit of self respect and stop pandering to the ‘Farmers league’ masses

23-08-2023, 10:48 AM
Ostersunds is my Swedish team. We went to London and beat the mighty arsenal 2-1. I remember standing in the Emirates completely dumfounded. WE CAN DO THIS. Let's all manifest a win together. Tonight is all about our love for the green & white. COME ON THE HIBEES🇳🇬🇳🇬

PS. I'm not drunk!

Chorley Hibee
23-08-2023, 10:53 AM
whoever newhavenhibby is over on the villa forum, have a word with yourself ffs..

”talk about going from one to extreme to the other next week… one moment you’re against a Scottish pub side in front of a large Villa home support and then 3 days later you are at anfield”

Saw that too, talk about desperate to ingratiate himself with the locals.

23-08-2023, 10:55 AM

Villa are playing Hearts?

Box 17
23-08-2023, 11:02 AM

Saw that as well.

He may be from Newhaven, but he certainly doesn't come across as a Hibby.

23-08-2023, 11:04 AM
My one and only visit to villa park was when they were European Champions and were playing Juventus. Don’t remember too much about it to be honest. Bloody beer.Been a few times, best team in the birmingham area, which isn't saying a lot, good fans, very decent club with a great atmosphere in the ground. Holte end atmosphere is as good as any I've been in.

Fuzzywuzzy
23-08-2023, 11:11 AM
Hmm, there is the odd naive post, but most are sensible.

Just a couple of them think you will see the game from a tree like some 1970's cup game on MOTD.

Some of them obviously haven't seen photos of our stadium. Remember one poster saying on here 'We are rather mighty' which make me laugh.

In fairness Andy Blance took step Ladders to a cup game against Cove and watched from a lamppost!

23-08-2023, 11:35 AM

His tongue will be coming out the Villa fans mouths he's rammed it that far up their jacksies! 😳

23-08-2023, 11:43 AM

Now there is a person who is badly in need of a visit to Google Earth :faf:

At the playoff between Queen's Park and Partick Thistle at Stenhousemuir last season there was 3 guys ( not kids either ) who had found themselves ladders and were watching the game from over the top of the wall at one end of the ground. It was the most comic book throwback to the early days of fitba I think I've ever seen, absolutely brilliant so it was :greengrin