10-08-2023, 09:21 PM
Phenomenal.
Hard as **** as well.
10-08-2023, 09:22 PM
He was brilliant tonight.
When you take in account that's his 3rd game in 8 days and he still looked like he could easily play on longer tonight, he is anything but finished.
SerenityGreen
10-08-2023, 09:43 PM
Tracked back a good few times in second half and cut out crosses and couple times shielded out for bye kicks. Thought he stuck to his tasks very well and indeed.did have a good game.
10-08-2023, 09:44 PM
Brian McDermott is going to have to be very, very good to find a replacement for him once he retires.
10-08-2023, 09:51 PM
He hasn't been his best lately, not helped with Youan playing in front of him, but he was brilliant tonight. His 88th minute run to overlap Doidge for a flick shows what a human dynamo he is. Seems to dovetail really well with Obita too and I would drop Youan as he is a man short for the vast majority of games.
10-08-2023, 09:55 PM
He hasn't been his best lately, not helped with Youan playing in front of him, but he was brilliant tonight. His 88th minute run to overlap Doidge for a flick shows what a human dynamo he is. Seems to dovetail really well with Obita too and I would drop Youan as he is a man short for the vast majority of games.
Agree about Youan, we looked much better without him and Stevenson had someone actually supporting him.
10-08-2023, 10:00 PM
Thought first half he was pretty poor but improved massively.
Personally still want another left back in to compete with him as I think it’s unfair relying on him the entire season especially with Obita looking like an attacking player
10-08-2023, 10:06 PM
Thought first half he was pretty poor but improved massively.
Personally still want another left back in to compete with him as I think it’s unfair relying on him the entire season especially with Obita looking like an attacking player
He was poor 1st half because he gets no support defensively from Youan - look at difference 2nd half when he has Obita helping him out - Youan was the issue 1st half not Lewy who was excellent 2nite
Argylehibby
10-08-2023, 10:09 PM
He was poor 1st half because he gets no support defensively from Youan - look at difference 2nd half when he has Obita helping him out - Youan was the issue 1st half not Lewy who was excellent 2nite
100% Youan can be fantastic going forward but is awful at supporting the full backs.
LewysGot2
10-08-2023, 11:58 PM
if thats him finished he mustve been some player. take bow lad :flag:
This :thumbsup:
11-08-2023, 12:14 AM
Looked phenomenal with Obita in front of him, still legs in the guy !
11-08-2023, 05:41 AM
Legend. Top pro. Quiet leader. Warrior. Double cup winner. Still doing it at the top level. 100% Hibs
11-08-2023, 06:07 AM
Never been finished Davy the guy has the heart of a lion. Legend
11-08-2023, 06:37 AM
I'm going to go against the grain here and say we need better than both full backs most weeks in the league, neither are good going forward and starting the play.
Against the better teams when we have to defend, there are none better than Lewis, and Miller looks solid too.
13-08-2023, 04:13 PM
He’s finished. Cost us the 1st goal. Dreadful.
Crunchie
13-08-2023, 04:21 PM
He should never have been playing after Thursday night, he should have been rested, big mistake from LJ.
13-08-2023, 04:26 PM
I thought he played well up until the goal. Opinions eh, I think the managers to blame but hey ho.
13-08-2023, 04:29 PM
Dinnae be f,n daft, finished ma erse, the manager shood be
Crammond Hibee
13-08-2023, 04:30 PM
Total Rubbish
LithgaeHibby
13-08-2023, 04:31 PM
He's not finished, but he can't be expected to play every game. The back-up left back we should have signed should have played today.
Expecting a 35 year old to play nearly every minute of every game is madness. If Obita is going to play further forward, there needs to be a rotation option at this stage. If that's young Oscar, so be it.
I've said it before and I'll say it again. How many 35 full backs can you name that are first choice?
He's been an incredible servant and no worries with him as cover but mad that he looks like our starting LB for the season.
Daily Hibs
It's time for him to be moved on.
13-08-2023, 04:32 PM
Not to far off 2 million spent this window and we're still starting Stevenson. The mind boggles.
Fuzzywuzzy
13-08-2023, 04:33 PM
I've said it before and I'll say it again. How many 35 full backs can you name that are first choice?
He's been an incredible servant and no worries with him as cover but mad that he looks like our starting LB for the season.
Baresi was pretty much first choice at the age of 37
13-08-2023, 04:34 PM
Baresi was world class though. Stevenson was average in his prime.
13-08-2023, 04:37 PM
Baresi was world class though. Stevenson was average in his prime.
He was also a centre back. Bizarre player to choose 😂
supermcginn
13-08-2023, 04:37 PM
Comparing Stevenson to possibly the best defender in football history is interesting...
13-08-2023, 04:39 PM
Should have been rested after Thursday. Should have probably just brought the boy down before the goal. But would have been nice if Fish picked up the free man standing in the middle of our box too.
13-08-2023, 04:40 PM
He was also a centre back. Bizarre player to choose 😂
This. CBs, GK, even forwards can get away with it at 35, especially if they are dropping down a level.
But wingers and fullbacks are almost unheard of at that age. And certainly not at the same level they've spent their whole career.
No matter how hard you train and how professional you are, it's a position that age catches you quicker than others.
13-08-2023, 04:41 PM
I actually feel for Lewis.
He's at the stage in his career where he's still got a lot to offer - used correctly he's still a good defender, and as we've seen with Josh Doig he's capable of developing young players and mentoring them. We should be looking to get him bringing on young Oscar McIntyre or another young defender, stepping in when that player needs to be taken out of the spotlight.
Watching him be expected to play two games of football each week, every week, at his age is painful and he deserves far better than that. And I say that as a fully paid up Lewis Stevenson fanboy.
13-08-2023, 04:42 PM
Should have been rested after Thursday. Should have probably just brought the boy down before the goal. But would have been nice if Fish picked up the free man standing in the middle of our box too.
Stevenson definitely at fault but think you have a point. My memory was 3/4 Hibs players in the box and yet none stopped the ball in or blocked the shot. Would need to see it again though.
Hibees1973
13-08-2023, 04:42 PM
Not to far off 2 million spent this window and we're still starting Stevenson. The mind boggles.
It really does.
I measure a player by what he does now, not what he has done in the past.
If Stevenson was put on the transfer list which clubs would want him. Edinburgh City, East Fife. This is the level he is at now and 100% should no longer be a Hibs player.
I just do not see why he gets frothed over here, probably those with sentiments of the past. You may get the odd steady performance from him and you would see a comment 'Oh, Stevenson was good today', but only if he is not put under any stress or pressure.
A new left back should be the 1st priority signing. Some on here compliment Lewy in seeing off so many other left backs. Well if you continually sign
sh*te left backs that's why he is still here.
13-08-2023, 04:45 PM
I actually feel for Lewis.
He's at the stage in his career where he's still got a lot to offer - used correctly he's still a good defender, and as we've seen with Josh Doig he's capable of developing young players and mentoring them. We should be looking to get him bringing on young Oscar McIntyre or another young defender, stepping in when that player needs to be taken out of the spotlight.
Watching him be expected to play two games of football each week, every week, at his age is painful and he deserves far better than that. And I say that as a fully paid up Lewis Stevenson fanboy.
That’s where I’m at. We all know he shouldn’t be first choice left back, he knows it too and has said as much.
The abuse he gets week in week out is ridiculous. He can make mistakes without him being finished. If he was perfect he wouldn’t be at hibs in the first place!
13-08-2023, 04:47 PM
Stevenson definitely at fault but think you have a point. My memory was 3/4 Hibs players in the box and yet none stopped the ball in or blocked the shot. Would need to see it again though.
Was always taught that while there's is usually a glaring mistake that leads to a goal, in reality it's usually a catalogue of little errors that allow a goal to be conceded. Will Fish at the moment is present in nearly every list of errors for all the goals conceded since his return other than the penalty we conceded to St Mirren.
13-08-2023, 04:52 PM
Comparing Stevenson to possibly the best defender in football history is interesting...
Messi is also left footed, Stevenson needs to up his game IMO
13-08-2023, 04:55 PM
It seems some people have expected him to play at that level though, the amount of unfair criticism he's had over the years.
13-08-2023, 04:59 PM
That’s where I’m at. We all know he shouldn’t be first choice left back, he knows it too and has said as much.
The abuse he gets week in week out is ridiculous. He can make mistakes without him being finished. If he was perfect he wouldn’t be at hibs in the first place!
I don’t agree he gets abuse week in week out. I don’t even think he gets abuse at all. Supporters may criticise him but most realise that he has been a fantastic servant to the club and it is not his fault he is still our best option at left back. Yes age is catching up with him but most weeks he tends to be one of our more consistent players. The fact he is still being asked to perform at this level week in week out is not his fault, it’s down to poor recruitment by a succession of managers.
Hibs3-2
13-08-2023, 05:00 PM
I thought he played well up until the goal. Opinions eh, I think the managers to blame but hey ho.
First half he must have lost the ball atleast 10 times punting aimless balls up the park. Horrendous. All the money spent this window and we still have this defence. Will cost LJ his job
13-08-2023, 05:07 PM
First half he must have lost the ball atleast 10 times punting aimless balls up the park. Horrendous. All the money spent this window and we still have this defence. Will cost LJ his job
That's been our tactic the last two league games. Absolutely rotten system.
13-08-2023, 05:09 PM
I don’t agree he gets abuse week in week out. I don’t even think he gets abuse at all. Supporters may criticise him but most realise that he has been a fantastic servant to the club and it is not his fault he is still our best option at left back. Yes age is catching up with him but most weeks he tends to be one of our more consistent players. The fact he is still being asked to perform at this level week in week out is not his fault, it’s down to poor recruitment by a succession of managers.
He does get abuse. Maybe it’s just where I sit in the East but the second he makes a mistake or god forbid passes the ball back to the keeper or Hanlon he gets dogs abuse.
LunasBoots
13-08-2023, 05:10 PM
Punting the ball up to Doidge even when it was obvious the big centre back had him all day, needed changed but took far to long for the coaching team to do so.
13-08-2023, 05:14 PM
2023 and we're relying on this guy starting twice a week. That's incredible.
13-08-2023, 05:16 PM
2023 and we're relying on this guy starting twice a week. That's incredible.
A reflection on his longetivity and fitness I'm sure you'll agree
the_ginger_hibee
13-08-2023, 05:16 PM
He does get abuse. Maybe it’s just where I sit in the East but the second he makes a mistake or god forbid passes the ball back to the keeper or Hanlon he gets dogs abuse.
Interesting to hear what constitutes abuse. On this forum I don't see that at all and think it's a convenient way for people to move on the subject and stay in denial. I see fair criticism for a player in a performance sport. All of it very fair given the errors & performances more often than not are poor.
In my opinion, those that come & and drop accusations like 'abuse' & see no wrong with him still in the team are even worse than anyone criticizing Lewy. Its Hibernian FC not Stevenson FC & the team would instantly improve with LS replaced. There should be 0 sentimentality in football.
13-08-2023, 05:19 PM
Interesting to hear what constitutes abuse. On this forum I don't see that at all and think it's a convenient way for people to move on the subject and stay in denial. I see fair criticism for a player in a performance sport. All of it very fair given the errors & performances more often than not are poor.
In my opinion, those that come & and drop accusations like 'abuse' & see no wrong with him still in the team are even worse than anyone criticizing Lewy. Its Hibernian FC not Stevenson FC & the team would instantly improve with LS replaced. There should be 0 sentimentality in football.
I think shouting someone is a useless **** etc can be classed as abuse.
Like I’ve said we all know he should be starting every game.
13-08-2023, 05:19 PM
What if the person is worse like the 15 other Left backs that have came in to replace him (other than Doig)?
JammyDoidger
13-08-2023, 05:21 PM
He's an average spl player, all he has ever been really, he does a steady job, should be back up by now though.
the_ginger_hibee
13-08-2023, 05:22 PM
What if the person is worse like the 15 other Left backs that have came in to replace him (other than Doig)?
Irrelevant. It's 2023 not 2013. The fact Lewis played over anyone at any point before right now doesn't matter.
He is not good enough and if we can't develop or sign a LB that doesn't get bullied off the ball leading to goals constantly & gives possession away constantly, then we're as well giving up.
13-08-2023, 05:22 PM
It really does.
I measure a player by what he does now, not what he has done in the past.
If Stevenson was put on the transfer list which clubs would want him. Edinburgh City, East Fife. This is the level he is at now and 100% should no longer be a Hibs player.
I just do not see why he gets frothed over here, probably those with sentiments of the past. You may get the odd steady performance from him and you would see a comment 'Oh, Stevenson was good today', but only if he is not put under any stress or pressure.
A new left back should be the 1st priority signing. Some on here compliment Lewy in seeing off so many other left backs. Well if you continually sign
sh*te left backs that's why he is still here.
He is at East Fife level 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Kaiser_Sauzee
13-08-2023, 05:26 PM
Would like to see pass completion stats for Stevenson. Stevenson and Youan on the left is the stuff of nightmares - both rarely capable of finding a man with a pass. Stevenson because he can't and Youan because he won't.
13-08-2023, 05:30 PM
It's time for him to be moved on.
Get tae
13-08-2023, 05:34 PM
Irrelevant. It's 2023 not 2013. The fact Lewis played over anyone at any point before right now doesn't matter.
He is not good enough and if we can't develop or sign a LB that doesn't get bullied off the ball leading to goals constantly & gives possession away constantly, then we're as well giving up.
It's not irrelevant though because we signed a left back last season that couldn't oust him still. I agree that we should be looking to upgrade on him mostly so he can take a proper back up role and eventually retire but to say we'll be instantly improved by just replacing him is nonsense when it's never been the case before. It needs to be the right player not just anyone.
13-08-2023, 07:49 PM
I think shouting someone is a useless **** etc can be classed as abuse.
Like I’ve said we all know he should be starting every game.
Absolutely not and today is prime example why. Dreadful.
13-08-2023, 07:54 PM
Should never have been playing twice a week. Culpable today but put in 10 times the effort of Obita who was pitiful.
13-08-2023, 07:55 PM
I suspect/hope there was a key word "not" missing from the post you quoted ....
13-08-2023, 07:58 PM
I suspect/hope there was a key word "not" missing from the post you quoted ....
There was!
I love him but even I know he shouldn’t be starting every game :greengrin
13-08-2023, 08:12 PM
He's an average spl player, all he has ever been really, he does a steady job, should be back up by now though.
An average SPL player in a currently average SPL team.
A good percentage of his teammates over the years would have loved to have reached the heights of average.
13-08-2023, 09:15 PM
Where’s Oscar Macintyre? Did he go on loan? If he’s not on loan and another season stunting his development in no man’s land. Preferring to run a 35 year old Stevenson into the ground, might as well just release him for the good of his own career.
13-08-2023, 10:23 PM
One season too many for Lewis unfortunately. Hate saying it and seeing him play like that today.
Potty78
13-08-2023, 10:32 PM
Great servant to our club and will always be a legend but we need a left back as he's done.
13-08-2023, 10:35 PM
It saddens me to say that Lewis looks like he's finished, he's starting to cost us goals on a regular basis. Obita looks poor and I think Oscar McIntrye is getting a raw deal, there was talk of him going to QoS on loan I'd be giving him a chance in the first team.
Daily Hibs
13-08-2023, 10:48 PM
An articulatley astute post.
Completely agree that we shouldn't be Sentimentality FC.
Stanton Spence
13-08-2023, 10:54 PM
What’s happening with Lewis just now reminds me of Arthur Duncan. I was just too young to have seen the tornadoes in their pomp and I was 5 years old when I first started going to ER late 70s and by that time Arthur was starting to get a bit abuse and I thought Duncan was murder and wasn’t until years later that I realised he is a hibs legend
Lewis isn’t the same calibre of player but I fear his reputation is getting a bit tarnished now and I would hate it if the four and five year old bairns that go now grow up thinking that Lewis is hopeless etc as his commitment and service to hibs is without question and like Duncan he doesn’t deserve that
mcohibs
13-08-2023, 10:54 PM
Cost us a goal away to Inter
Bullied for Luzern’s corner from which they scored on Thursday
And cost us a goal today at Fir Park
Not a good couple of weeks for Lewy
14-08-2023, 12:53 AM
Cost us a goal away to Inter
Bullied for Luzern’s corner from which they scored on Thursday
And cost us a goal today at Fir Park
Not a good couple of weeks for Lewy
Yup. Absolutely mad that him and Marshall appear first choice for us this season. Genuinely mind boggling. Both have had great careers but clear they need to be back ups.
The chat from all was Obita was an LB but LJ doesn't seem to have got the memo.
14-08-2023, 05:31 AM
Great post to be fair.
Crunchie
14-08-2023, 07:59 AM
What’s happening with Lewis just now reminds me of Arthur Duncan. I was just too young to have seen the tornadoes in their pomp and I was 5 years old when I first started going to ER late 70s and by that time Arthur was starting to get a bit abuse and I thought Duncan was murder and wasn’t until years later that I realised he is a hibs legend
Lewis isn’t the same calibre of player but I fear his reputation is getting a bit tarnished now and I would hate it if the four and five year old bairns that go now grow up thinking that Lewis is hopeless etc as his commitment and service to hibs is without question and like Duncan he doesn’t deserve that
Add SDG to that, he came in for a fair bit of abuse in his last season playing. I'll never understand anyone giving any Hibs player abuse let alone club legends.
14-08-2023, 05:26 PM
Manager after manager has bought left backs and none of them have been good to replace Lewis. That isn't sentimentality that is competition. Lewis can only train hard and play the best he can and at the moment he is the best left back we have. I have no problem if the club buys a better replacement but we haven't seen anyone remotely close to being a replacement to Lewis for a decade and Doig is the only one that took the jersey albeit a very different player who was more forward focussed and not a patch on Lewis defensively.
We will only improve by replacing Lewis with someone better, not just replacing him. Hanlon is similar in that lots of fans seem to think it would be easy to go out and get better. Time after time we have recruited centre-halves that are not as good as Paul and that includes Fish, for the moment at least.
14-08-2023, 05:32 PM
He's finished, and I'd bet there's even part of him that accepts and knows it too but he's just so loyal and committed that he keeps going. That's admirable, and yes he's been a great servant, but that's the past. The here and now and for last season over, it's so apparent that he's finished. He offers absolutely nothing going forward. Will always cut inside. His passing has never been a strong point but it looks to have taken a nose dive. He gets bullied far too often just like Sunday also.
If we want to progress as a club then sorting out this brutal defense is a priority. Stevenson and Hanlon are a major part of this problem and people need to put setiments to the side and accept this. Anyone who doesn't is just plain deluded IMO.
the_ginger_hibee
14-08-2023, 05:34 PM
Manager after manager has bought left backs and none of them have been good to replace Lewis. That isn't sentimentality that is competition. Lewis can only train hard and play the best he can and at the moment he is the best left back we have. I have no problem if the club buys a better replacement but we haven't seen anyone remotely close to being a replacement to Lewis for a decade and Doig is the only one that took the jersey albeit a very different player who was more forward focussed and not a patch on Lewis defensively.
We will only improve by replacing Lewis with someone better, not just replacing him. Hanlon is similar in that lots of fans seem to think it would be easy to go out and get better. Time after time we have recruited centre-halves that are not as good as Paul and that includes Fish, for the moment at least.
Your argument is, because Terry Butcher choose to play Lewis Stevenson in 2014, that means he's good enough in 2023?
It doesn't matter how many managers played him. This is the here and now and past performance means nothing today. Otherwise it's sentimentality.
I also question relying on the judgement of managers who were all sacked or mutually consented for their own performance.
He is not good enough. Nowhere close.
Daily Hibs
14-08-2023, 05:38 PM
If we want to progress as a club then sorting out this brutal defense is a priority. Stevenson and Hanlon are a major part of this problem and people need to put setiments to the side and accept this. Anyone who doesn't is just plain deluded IMO.
Well said. The foundation boys are holding us back big time and we have become Foundation FC in a way driven purely by sentimentality. We haven't really kicked on as a club post 2016 as most of us would have liked, even when we had an upturn in 2018 Lennon was clear with his frustrations with Lewy. You could say he had the right approach with David Gray by bringing him down a peg or two.
A clear example of Hibs fans holding Hibs back when discussing that pair as there is some amount of blind locality, ignoring performances in what is a performance sport based on results.
How many managers have they seen sacked in their time? We are now seeing fans wanting another manager sacked with them still getting a game. It's madness.
14-08-2023, 05:40 PM
We’ve rarely actually tried to replace Lewis since he established himself as first pick in that position in 2014 IMO. We’ve signed various full backs but they were all back up types and short term deals. Obviously Doig displaced him and we tried to replace him with Cabraja unsuccessfully. But otherwise, I don’t think we’ve really tried to replace him.
14-08-2023, 05:40 PM
Your argument is because Terry Butcher choose to play Lewis Stevenson in 2014, that means he's good enough in 2023?
It doesn't matter how many managers played him. This is the here and now and past performance means nothing today. Otherwise it's sentimentality.
I also question relying on the judgement of managers who were sacked or mutually consented for their own performance.
This!!
I'm getting rather sick of reading, well X number of managers couldn't all be wrong and all played him. Look how the majority of those managers turned out! Again, not saying their sackings were all down to Stevenson, and I'm not suggesting that in certain years he shouldn't have been in the team, he definitely has at points deserved too. However the last 2-3 season, absolutely not. This isn't the Stevenson of yesteryear, he's regressed big time but people are deciding to put the blinkers on rather than just accepting it.
Daily Hibs
14-08-2023, 05:46 PM
This!!
I'm getting rather sick of reading, well X number of managers couldn't all be wrong and all played him. Look how the majority of those managers turned out! Again, not saying their sackings were all down to Stevenson, and I'm not suggesting that in certain years he shouldn't have been in the team, he definitely has at points deserved too. However the last 2-3 season, absolutely not. This isn't the Stevenson of yesteryear, he's regressed big time but people are deciding to put the blinkers on rather than just accepting it.
Is there another example of the same players seeing the number of managers Hanlon and Lewy have seen sacked at one club? I'd love to know.
14-08-2023, 06:11 PM
This!!
Please stop. You’ve slagged Lewis his entire career, stop pretending you were once a fan.
14-08-2023, 06:11 PM
Is there another example of the same players seeing the number of managers Hanlon and Lewy have seen sacked at one club? I'd love to know.
None whatsoever.
Although any player who’s been at Watford a while must be in with a good shout.
14-08-2023, 06:13 PM
We’ve rarely actually tried to replace Lewis since he established himself as first pick in that position in 2014 IMO. We’ve signed various full backs but they were all back up types and short term deals. Obviously Doig displaced him and we tried to replace him with Cabraja unsuccessfully. But otherwise, I don’t think we’ve really tried to replace him.
I don’t think this is true. We have signed multiple left backs, they just haven’t been very good.
You are correct that Josh Doig was the chosen apprentice… but for understandable reasons, we sold him on.
14-08-2023, 06:15 PM
Well said. The foundation boys are holding us back big time and we have become Foundation FC in a way driven purely by sentimentality. We haven't really kicked on as a club post 2016 as most of us would have liked, even when we had an upturn in 2018 Lennon was clear with his frustrations with Lewy. You could say he had the right approach with David Gray by bringing him down a peg or two.
A clear example of Hibs fans holding Hibs back when discussing that pair as there is some amount of blind locality, ignoring performances in what is a performance sport based on results.
How many managers have they seen sacked in their time? We are now seeing fans wanting another manager sacked with them still getting a game. It's madness.
How exactly are Hibs fans holding us back here?
It’s not our fault the club can’t sign a better LCB or LB. If we did, and Hibs fans were demanding that Paul and Lewis kept their places despite being clearly inferior, you would have a point.
But your post is ridiculous. I can’t think of any player who has stayed in the team because sentimental fans have demanded it.
14-08-2023, 06:27 PM
hell mend the manager that ends up making the decision to replace either LS or PH :greengrin
14-08-2023, 06:29 PM
David Murphy, Ulrich Larsen, Josh Doig..... All 'seen off ' by Lewis - to the EPL, Scottish Champions and Serie A..
Meanwhile Wee Lewy is still here - yet apparently we've never had a better left back 🤔
14-08-2023, 06:31 PM
David Murphy, Ulrich Larsen, Josh Doig..... All 'seen off ' by Lewis - to the EPL, Scottish Champions and Serie A..
Meanwhile Wee Lewy is still here - yet apparently we've never had a better left back 🤔
Laursen was away before Stevenson even kicked a ball for us!
14-08-2023, 06:35 PM
I don’t think this is true. We have signed multiple left backs, they just haven’t been very good.
You are correct that Josh Doig was the chosen apprentice… but for understandable reasons, we sold him on.
Well it’s how I see it. Who even are the multiple left backs in that time? There was Eckersley for a few months. The guy Nelom for a wee while. There will have been another couple in that time that probably didn’t even muster an appearance. For me we brought Cabraja in (which would be more to replace Doig in fairness) but he proved to be no very good. I just don’t think we’ve ever really signed anyone with a view to replacing Lewis.
14-08-2023, 06:35 PM
Apologies - I'm older than I thought 🤬
The point still stands - we HAVE had better players over the years.
Even if we hadn't the simple fact is Stevenson is no longer up to the job.
Nice guy, managers dream, club legend etc etc is all well and good ( and true, I'm not debating that) but he's done.
14-08-2023, 06:37 PM
What are the signs that Lewis is “finished”? Is he slower? Tiring? Not concentrating?
None of the above, for me. He made a mistake on Saturday, a costly one that cost us a goal. That’s not a sign of being finished. He had a personal nightmare in Andorra, as did the whole team. Aside from that he’s been his usual self which is somewhere between adequate and excellent.
Right back’s a bigger problem than left. The centre of midfield is a bigger problem than either. The hopelessly inadequate depth for the fixtures we currently have is the biggest one.
If we start fixing these problems with the replacement of Stevenson without going further, we’ll have a pish season. If we sort these other issues and somehow get round to finding an upgrade on Lewis, we’ll have a majestic season.
Daily Hibs
14-08-2023, 06:42 PM
How exactly are Hibs fans holding us back here?
It’s not our fault the club can’t sign a better LCB or LB. If we did, and Hibs fans were demanding that Paul and Lewis kept their places despite being clearly inferior, you would have a point.
But your post is ridiculous. I can’t think of any player who has stayed in the team because sentimental fans have demanded it.
Ah, thanks for your question - I was about to reply to your post which coincidentally will answer your question and make my point.
I was taken aback by you telling another poster to "please stop" when posting his opinion on LS. To me that doesn't seem in the spirit of a discussion forum where fundamentally everyone wants betterment for Hibernian FC.
For me, Lewis Stevenson not being at the club anymore would provide betterment for Hibernian FC, he has seen too many managers sacked and with his start to this season its clear he can no longer play at they level we should be expecting from a starting player. Far too many mistakes over the years at crucial times. The level of defense an element of our support in blind faith of his sporting performance does hold us back as he is not at the level we should be expecting the club to perform at. Its as simple as that and has gone on too long to the point that this loyalty from fans towards Hanlon and Stevenson is very much holding the club back. And when fans dare to post anything questionable they are defended at all costs. The term playing the man not the ball springs to mind.
14-08-2023, 06:52 PM
Ah, thanks for your question - I was about to reply to your post which coincidentally will answer your question and make my point.
I was taken aback by you telling another poster to "please stop" when posting his opinion on LS. To me that doesn't seem in the spirit of a discussion forum where fundamentally everyone wants betterment for Hibernian FC.
For me, Lewis Stevenson not being at the club anymore would provide betterment for Hibernian FC, he has seen too many managers sacked and with his start to this season its clear he can no longer play at they level we should be expecting from a starting player. Far too many mistakes over the years at crucial times. The level of defense an element of our support in blind faith of his sporting performance does hold us back as he is not at the level we should be expecting the club to perform at. Its as simple as that and has gone on too long to the point that this loyalty from fans towards Hanlon and Stevenson is very much holding the club back. And when fans dare to post anything questionable they are defended at all costs. The term playing the man not the ball springs to mind.
If Lewis made his Hibs debut in 2005… on average how many managers do you think players who have had a similar length of career will have “seen sacked” as they’ve bounced around various clubs?
I’d be amazed if Stevenson was much of an outlier on that one, it’s just that through staying at the same club, we’ve witnessed them all.
Daily Hibs
14-08-2023, 06:53 PM
None whatsoever.
So we are the only ones to do it? Thought so, and also makes my point and then throw in a relegation.... Why do we accept it and why cant the club see that they should no longer be at the club if we want to improve?
Zero points from St Mirren and Motherwell is criminal for Hibs!!!
And thats regardless of European Qualifiers which have been watered down by UEFA under their tournament structures and we think they are big games, when lets be honest we should be progressing easily past Andorran and Swiss teams.
Daily Hibs
14-08-2023, 06:54 PM
If Lewis made his Hibs debut in 2005… on average how many managers do you think players who have had a similar length of career will have “seen sacked” as they’ve bounced around various clubs?
I’d be amazed if Stevenson was much of an outlier on that one, it’s just that through staying at the same club, we’ve witnessed them all.
Good point, but he's also been relegated with the club.
He's here!
14-08-2023, 07:32 PM
And Lewis started in midfield when Murphy was LB.
14-08-2023, 07:37 PM
An articulatley astute post.
Completely agree that we shouldn't be Sentimentality FC.
It’s the nonsense about sentimentality that winds me up.
Like many Hibs fans I love Lewis and am pleased he’s here for another season, but I respected the fact that Josh Doig pushed hard for the starting spot. I’d be delighted if we had someone of that calibre now.
We’re fans. We are allowed to be sentimental. But the fact is that Lewis has been our best left back over the past decade more often than not. That might be down to poor recruitment but also the tenacity of one player.
14-08-2023, 07:52 PM
hell mend the manager that ends up making the decision to replace either LS or PH :greengrin
If they're replaced by someone of a demonstrably higher calibre/quality, I don't think anyone would mind in the slightest. I just think that for a club with finite resources that has had several bad transfer windows and very unbalanced squads over the years, that we've had a solidly dependable (with the capacity for an off day or 2) lcb and lb for years has played in LS and PH favour.
Like right now, those demanding they be gone because they're "done" are in for another window of crushing disappointment I reckon - right back and centre midfield should be getting prioritised for any new incomings IMO.
He's finished, and I'd bet there's even part of him that accepts and knows it too but he's just so loyal and committed that he keeps going. That's admirable, and yes he's been a great servant, but that's the past. The here and now and for last season over, it's so apparent that he's finished. He offers absolutely nothing going forward. Will always cut inside. His passing has never been a strong point but it looks to have taken a nose dive. He gets bullied far too often just like Sunday also.
Stop lumping them together. There is no delusion with regards to Hanlon, he is our best defender by a distance and has started the season well. He will rightly play every game he is fit for.
I do agree we need a new first choice left back, although your comments about stevenson "being bullied far too often" are complete nonsense.
14-08-2023, 09:15 PM
Murphy left a year after Stevenson started in the first team and even then Lewis was in Midfield.
This board was fairly split on whether Doig should have been ahead of Lewis. For me he was not ready defensively but was slightly better in attack and that increased as the experience grew. Made sense though as there looked to be a future for Josh and Lewis was teh perfect back up.
We do need to replace Stevenson or at least get some back up if Obita is playing further forward. I'll be gutted when he no longer plays for Hibs but despite that sentimentality it is football and time always catches up on players. Lewis has outrun it for longer than most
15-08-2023, 09:25 AM
The whole "he's seen to many managers sacked" thing is crazy.
Butcher didn't play him frequently - he got sacked.
Ross didn't play him frequently - he got sacked.
Realistically, any player who has been at one club for 20 years is going to have seen a number of managers, especially in Scotland where the average length of stay is about 1.5 seasons.
the_ginger_hibee
15-08-2023, 09:42 AM
The whole "he's seen to many managers sacked" thing is crazy.
Butcher didn't play him frequently - he got sacked.
Ross didn't play him frequently - he got sacked.
Realistically, any player who has been at one club for 20 years is going to have seen a number of managers, especially in Scotland where the average length of stay is about 1.5 seasons.
So that surely makes the whole 'ex-managers played him' argument redundant? Ex-managers who were sacked & not sacked both played him and didn't play him. What does it matter? Is he good enough to play for Hibs right now? No. That's it.
He's here!
15-08-2023, 09:52 AM
Stop lumping them together. There is no delusion with regards to Hanlon, he is our best defender by a distance and has started the season well. He will rightly play every game he is fit for.I do agree we need a new first choice left back, although your comments about stevenson "being bullied far too often" are complete nonsense.How often has Lewis been 'bullied'? Certainly not 'far too often'. In fact, how many times in nearly 20 years have we seen Lewis make a serious mistake? Precious few.It strikes me that if a player devotes his career to Hibs some equate that with him not being very good. Personally I think he's been a terrific asset to the club and is by no means 'finished'. I've never actually believed left back is his most natural position so to hold that role down for so long is testimony to his versatility. If there's any regular bullying going on it's most often the way our powder-puff midfield are found wanting.
15-08-2023, 10:01 AM
It's also worth remembering that he was yet again being asked to play out of position. We have to play our players to their strengths, and even when out of position at CB Lewis will give you everything. However at 35, having played the tie on Thursday, seemingly no other player as backup, you're asking a huge amount from him.In a settled system, in his preferred position, I think we all know that Lewis has a part to play in this team.
15-08-2023, 10:45 AM
So that surely makes the whole 'ex-managers played him' argument redundant? Ex-managers who were sacked & not sacked both played him and didn't play him. What does it matter? Is he good enough to play for Hibs right now? No. That's it.
Luzern game proved he definitely is
15-08-2023, 03:35 PM
So that surely makes the whole 'ex-managers played him' argument redundant? Ex-managers who were sacked & not sacked both played him and didn't play him. What does it matter? Is he good enough to play for Hibs right now? No. That's it.He is absolutely good enough to be part of the squad and will be far more useful to the club that many that earn lots more. I suspect in terms of value for money very few players offer what Lewis can. It would be fascinating and probably very depressing to see how Lewis' wage stacks up against teh like of Tavares, McKirdy and many others who will essentially come and go without hardly getting a game. Is there anyone who jumps out that is in the league who we can afford that is a contender. For comparison P McGinn was on the winning side against us and he is at least as good as those that have followed him. Not easy to replace steady players particularly when they are versitile.
15-08-2023, 03:57 PM
He cost us two games we have recently lost with his mistakes
Daily Hibs
15-08-2023, 04:33 PM
He cost us 2nd place under Lennon with his performance at Tynecastle. It was no wonder Lennon lost it after the game.
15-08-2023, 04:45 PM
He cost us 2nd place under Lennon with his performance at Tynecastle. It was no wonder Lennon lost it after the game. What about Lennon's performance that day. Second place is down to a full season of games not just one match or mistake. We went out that day hoping for a draw with a team selection that baffled everyone before KO.
15-08-2023, 04:49 PM
He cost us 2nd place under Lennon with his performance at Tynecastle. It was no wonder Lennon lost it after the game.
Hold a grudge much? :greengrin
Saint Hibee
15-08-2023, 04:51 PM
Amazing the stick Lewis gets when it’s Fish who’s cost us more goals this campaign.
15-08-2023, 04:53 PM
He cost us two games we have recently lost with his mistakes What games are those. He made a mistake on Sunday but so did the covering players who allowed the boy to score. Even then there was another goal lost which he had nothing to do with which was a good deal worse. In Andorra he was a small part of one of the goals but others far more culpable.
15-08-2023, 05:41 PM
He cost us 2nd place under Lennon with his performance at Tynecastle. It was no wonder Lennon lost it after the game.Didnt Aberdeen beat Celtic on the last day of the season, so even if we'd beaten Hearts we'd not have finished 2nd anyway?
15-08-2023, 05:47 PM
Didnt Aberdeen beat Celtic on the last day of the season, so even if we'd beaten Hearts we'd not have finished 2nd anyway?
Correct. What really did us was failing to win the Saturday before the derby up at Aberdeen when McLaren missed the penalty and it finished 0-0. Pretty similar to just a few months ago when we were chasing Aberdeen.
15-08-2023, 08:24 PM
Please stop. You’ve slagged Lewis his entire career, stop pretending you were once a fan.
I find it very strange that you've followed my posting over all these many years and apparently kept track of when I specifically mention Lewis Stevenson, like does your radar go into full protective/alart mode whenever anything negative has been said and you keep a log? There has been many a times that I've praised Lewis for a good game or a good season. I still remember to this day that glorious Cup Final back in 2007.
So don't give me this entire career nonsense just because you're a committed Stevenson far no matter what and no matter how he plays these days because of former glories.
So no, I will not stop sharing my opinion. A past great player and a commitment level that's unmatched, but at 35 and how he's shown up The last few seasons he absolutely should be out of that starting line up pronto and replaced by better so that we can progress as a team. Otherwise we're going to continue to ship cheap poor goals like Sunday.
01-10-2024, 04:23 PM
Wasn't sure it was worth starting a new thread for, but he's the latest guest on Open Goal, I know it's not everyone's cup of tea though
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HaAHGZH7uaU&ab_channel=OpenGoal
01-10-2024, 05:11 PM
Wasn't sure it was worth starting a new thread for, but he's the latest guest on Open Goal, I know it's not everyone's cup of tea though
Lewis mimicking Lee Johnson's accent :faf:
01-10-2024, 05:40 PM
I still miss that boy, and I always look out for the RR results now. I think I read recently he’ll be making an appearance at McGregors testimonial, so that would be worth it as well !
Enjoyed this. Seems the most relaxed I've seen him, which is still self deprecating but he's funny.
He's involved in the review of the weekend games but you can use the chapters to skip to them talking about his career.
01-10-2024, 08:27 PM
Enjoyed this. Seems the most relaxed I've seen him, which is still self deprecating but he's funny.
He's involved in the review of the weekend games but you can use the chapters to skip to them talking about his career.
Aye enjoyed it as well. Always thought he's a funny guy.
Nothing but love for him and that'll always be the case. Legend.
01-10-2024, 10:27 PM
Brilliant interview
A quiet spoken and well mannered lad but still very funny
Interesting him saying LJ had really good ideas but it was more him and how he was which, tbf I think fans would probably agree with. If it wasn’t for the nonsense in the media he’d probably have got a bit of an easier time
The Neil Lennon impression is absolutely hilarious
HendoDelivered
01-10-2024, 11:00 PM
Class watch that. The LJ stories near the end had me greeting 😂😂
HFC93
02-10-2024, 09:03 AM
Great interview. I never realised how funny he is.
02-10-2024, 09:12 AM
That Lennon accent was tremendous 😂
02-10-2024, 10:47 AM
I need someone to translate for everyone who wasn't Lewis 😁
Class interview, seems much more relaxed and happy since he has left
It was really quite eye opening the impact the fans negativity has on players
02-10-2024, 02:43 PM
His Lenny American accents are brilliant :greengrin
02-10-2024, 04:49 PM
Your career is on the slide when your on that show. The programme is 💩
02-10-2024, 06:24 PM
Just goes to show the players and Lee Johnson read the forums
Wee Lewy mentions Johnson reading the forums saying to him it's right Newel JDH and Campbell can't all play in midfield
Maybe LJ injuring JDH in training wasn't an accident after all. 🤔
02-10-2024, 07:12 PM
Found that very interesting too.
Also very apparent how getting players with a fearless mentality such as Cummings, McGinn can have such a positive impact.
03-10-2024, 09:24 PM
Was very sad to hear the impact the boo boys had on one of our greatest ever servants. Both cups, Scotland international and 600 appearances FFS. Some of our fans should be thoroughly ashamed of themselves. .
04-10-2024, 08:44 AM
Was very sad to hear the impact the boo boys had on one of our greatest ever servants. Both cups, Scotland international and 600 appearances FFS. Some of our fans should be thoroughly ashamed of themselves. .
What did Lewis actually say on this?
I can't stick some of the folk on the podcast, so can't bring myself to watch it.
04-10-2024, 09:17 AM
What did Lewis actually say on this?
I can't stick some of the folk on the podcast, so can't bring myself to watch it.
He was asked if he'd ever had a rough time from the fans and he basically said he had it for more or less the duration of his career.
I found that a bit sad that he seems to believe that he wasn't the popular player he actually was-but it's clear that he's very sensitive and seems to focus more on negative rather than positive things. He also talked about being made to feel like s*** by other players moaning etc.
Love the guy and he was brilliant on the podcast (he always is on stuff like that) but do wonder if he'd been a bit more confident in himself whether he might have achieved even more.
04-10-2024, 09:26 AM
He was asked if he'd ever had a rough time from the fans and he basically said he had it for more or less the duration of his career.
I found that a bit sad that he seems to believe that he wasn't the popular player he actually was-but it's clear that he's very sensitive and seems to focus more on negative rather than positive things. He also talked about being made to feel like s*** by other players moaning etc.
Love the guy and he was brilliant on the podcast (he always is on stuff like that) but do wonder if he'd been a bit more confident in himself whether he might have achieved even more.
Thanks - yeah that is a bit sad to hear.
04-10-2024, 11:15 AM
Always thought it ridiculous the abuse the guy got, while far less successful players got nothing but love.
04-10-2024, 11:35 AM
Think that’s what the panel (especially Ferry) were trying to get across to him that if he was a bit more confident in his abilities that he’d might have achieved more.
04-10-2024, 11:48 AM
I don't think he'd have lost too much sleep over a few punters giving him a hard time. He didn't think he was Maldini.
04-10-2024, 03:35 PM
The abuse him and Hanlon would get whenever we slipped back into a bad place as a club was a ****ing disgrace at times.
These same folk just move on to the next victim whenever the previous one leaves. We're all guilty of a gripe about a player but some people won't be happy unless they can get their weekly frustrations out on their preferred target.
Was saddened to hear Lewis speak about parts of it that, while joking and self deprecating about it, clearly causes some level of unease. The man is as big a Hibs legend as any of the names from decades gone by and he shouldn't have to remember his time at Hibs like that.
cameronw-hfc
04-10-2024, 04:11 PM
I don't think he'd have lost too much sleep over a few punters giving him a hard time. He didn't think he was Maldini.
Doesn't he say the opposite? He seems to imply it did get to him so the idea that players won't care about the fans giving them a hard time is wrong. They're humans and like anyone, if they get abused, it gets to them
04-10-2024, 04:14 PM
The guy with confidence issues and constant doubts he was good enough probably isn't going to be that enthralled with being told he's ***** to be fair.
04-10-2024, 04:14 PM
The abuse him and Hanlon would get whenever we slipped back into a bad place as a club was a ****ing disgrace at times.
These same folk just move on to the next victim whenever the previous one leaves. We're all guilty of a gripe about a player but some people won't be happy unless they can get their weekly frustrations out on their preferred target.
Was saddened to hear Lewis speak about parts of it that, while joking and self deprecating about it, clearly causes some level of unease. The man is as big a Hibs legend as any of the names from decades gone by and he shouldn't have to remember his time at Hibs like that.
Correct.
He is up there with anyone, literally anyone, in our clubs history imo.
You quite often hear guys like Griffiths, O'Connor, Riordan, Sauzee, Latapy etc spoken about more kindly,which I find strange. Good players for us, excellent, but nothing compared to Lewis's achievements in a Hibs shirt imo.
Donegal Hibby
04-10-2024, 04:37 PM
Correct.
You quite often hear guys like Griffiths, O'Connor, Riordan, Sauzee, Latapy etc spoken about more kindly,which I find strange. Good players for us, excellent, but nothing compared to Lewis's achievements in a Hibs shirt imo.
The chances on seeing another player showing such dedication in playing over 500 games and winning both cups is probably about the same as winning the lottery. Hanlon as well . Absolute legends the pair of them .
04-10-2024, 04:57 PM
The chances on seeing another player showing such dedication in playing over 500 games and winning both cups is probably about the same as winning the lottery. Hanlon as well . Absolute legends the pair of them .
Correct.
Agree entirely. While there are many guys who have came through the door at Hibs who had more talent (and Lewis Stevenson has far more than he gives himself credit for) none of them achieved what he did. It's easy to put the League Cup and the Scottish Cup as the headline of his career because it is, but it also almost glosses over the years of consistent performances and hard work he put in to be the best version of himself for the club for nearly 20 years.
04-10-2024, 05:04 PM
Tell me you didn’t bother listening to what he said without telling me you’d already made your mind up regardless.
Lewis remains the one and only Hibs player to win both domestic cups, and one of very few with 500 appearances for the club. The guys a hero.
04-10-2024, 05:27 PM
Tell me you didn’t bother listening to what he said without telling me you’d already made your mind up regardless.
Lewis remains the one and only Hibs player to win both domestic cups, and one of very few with 500 appearances for the club. The guys a hero.
I think his self-deprecating manner probably means he feels more comfortable talking about negative stuff than some of the “bravado brigade”.
For his entire time at the club I was a fan of the guy - excellent player, good lad, 100% dedicated and was basically the example of who we should all want representing our club. In saying that, I don’t know how much sympathy I have for him. He’s widely appreciated by anyone whose opinion is worth anything and I just don’t think that self-deprecating humour aside, you get up and keep putting your head on the block for the greater good the way he did for us time and time again unless you have high levels of confidence in your own ability and rock solid resilience.
There are morons at every club and wherever he chose to ply his trade I have no doubt he’d have attracted nonsense from an element within a support.
I was actually more bothered by stuff he mentioned about likes of Gary Caldwell moaning about his 5’s team - that’s utter pish from a team mate and senior player who we should be expecting better from.
It was great to see him score a raker the other week and good to see him happy and in good form. If it had been up to me he’d have had some job or other for life at Hibs.
He's here!
04-10-2024, 05:28 PM
Think that’s what the panel (especially Ferry) were trying to get across to him that if he was a bit more confident in his abilities that he’d might have achieved more.
For a player so solid that he held down that first team spot for so many years and was first pick for so many different managers to lack so much confidence in his ability is certainly a shame.
Everyone's different and the majority of players are probably pretty quiet guys, but I do feel we needed a bit more of a positive vibe from experienced guys like him when going into big games, especially derbies. If you watch the 2016 cup final DVD, it's noticeable that David Gray's reaction to getting drawn away to Hearts was 'That'll do me!' whereas Lewis generally seems to feel another defeat is just around the corner.
Personally I liked hearing that Lennon was as demanding as he was and would tear into the players after losing to teams like Ayr. I know not all players respond well to the hairdryer treatment but for the size of club we are in relation to Scottish football we've far, far too often been a soft touch. Our league placings since the mid-1970s are, on average, pathetic.
04-10-2024, 08:09 PM
I think his self-deprecating manner probably means he feels more comfortable talking about negative stuff than some of the “bravado brigade”.
For his entire time at the club I was a fan of the guy - excellent player, good lad, 100% dedicated and was basically the example of who we should all want representing our club. In saying that, I don’t know how much sympathy I have for him. He’s widely appreciated by anyone whose opinion is worth anything and I just don’t think that self-deprecating humour aside, you get up and keep putting your head on the block for the greater good the way he did for us time and time again unless you have high levels of confidence in your own ability and rock solid resilience.
There are morons at every club and wherever he chose to ply his trade I have no doubt he’d have attracted nonsense from an element within a support.
I was actually more bothered by stuff he mentioned about likes of Gary Caldwell moaning about his 5’s team - that’s utter pish from a team mate and senior player who we should be expecting better from.
It was great to see him score a raker the other week and good to see him happy and in good form. If it had been up to me he’d have had some job or other for life at Hibs.
I agree that he’s resilient and clearly made of strong stuff, but that doesn’t mean he wasn’t affected by criticism at some level.
Being a pro footballer is the only job he’s had, he did indeed pick himself up after every setback and keep going, but maybe we as a club (and I mean all of us, coaching staff and fans) didn’t always help him deliver his very best every time.
Time and again, players tell us they do care what the fans think, they do follow what’s said about them (while pretending not to), and it does affect them.