View Full Version : The coat is too big for the man

7-Zip_Mike
06-08-2023, 03:57 PM
Tactically inept. Can go now.

06-08-2023, 03:59 PM
Time to replace the scapegoat, can't wait to see who we'll be telling to GTF in six months!

06-08-2023, 03:59 PM
Boyle clearly not in a fit state to start today as well. Basics.

Paulie Walnuts
06-08-2023, 04:00 PM
Time to replace the scapegoat, can't wait to see who we'll be telling to GTF in six months!

Scapegoat? His record is marginally better than Maloneys despite having managed over double the games with much more to choose from squad wise. He’s ****ing garbage.

MikeyS
06-08-2023, 04:00 PM

So who is to blame if its not the man picking the players and tactics, oh wise one?

06-08-2023, 04:11 PM
Another thread, when there’s a perfectly good Johnson out thread already active

Musselbound
06-08-2023, 04:15 PM
Another thread, when there’s a perfectly good Johnson out thread already active

Yeah but the other one doesn't refer to his size.

06-08-2023, 04:16 PM
Yeah but the other one doesn't refer to his size.Can I start one that refers to his teeth?

Or aviation knowledge?

[emoji1787]

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

06-08-2023, 04:17 PM
Yeah but the other one doesn't refer to his size.

Presumably whatever size he is you have to -1?

supermcginn
06-08-2023, 04:26 PM

Most backed hibs manager in history, we've already lost to a pub team and st mirren at home. Scapegoat indeed 🤣

HarpOnHibee
06-08-2023, 04:30 PM

You'll be ridiculed on here. But you're spot on. A new face will come in and it'll be more of the same. I still think he should go, but it shouldn't be him alone. The recruitment and coaching staff have a whole lot to answer for, but seem to be bizarrely protected. Despite being the one constant in all of this.

MikeyS
06-08-2023, 04:34 PM
You'll be ridiculed on here. But you're spot on. A new face will come in and it'll be more of the same. I still think he should go, but it shouldn't be him alone. The recruitment and coaching staff have a whole lot to answer for, but seem to be bizarrely protected. Despite being the one constant in all of this.

Is recruitment not now down to McDermott? How can he be the constant when he's only been here a matter of months? Apologies if I've got his job role wrong though

LewysGot2
06-08-2023, 04:36 PM
Is recruitment not now down to McDermott? How can he be the constant when he's only been here a matter of months? Apologies if I've got his job role wrong though

DoF been in the door 3 months. Even we cannae judge him on that. :wink:
The big ticket signing hasn't even put a team shirt on yet.

MikeyS
06-08-2023, 04:47 PM
DoF been in the door 3 months. Even we cannae judge him on that. :wink:
The big ticket signing hasn't even put a team shirt on yet.

Absolutely mate, am questioning the poster before trying to absolve Johnson of any blame and try to pin it on recruitment

LewysGot2
06-08-2023, 04:48 PM
Absolutely mate, am questioning the poster before trying to absolve Johnson of any blame and try to pin it on recruitment

Aye, I'm concurring :greengrin

06-08-2023, 04:50 PM

Do you mean his coaching staff?

HarpOnHibee
06-08-2023, 04:50 PM

Where have I absolved him of any blame? I clearly said he should go.

06-08-2023, 04:52 PM

Nah thats not right. Boyle had to start today, he just didn't have a great game. Can criticise LJ for a number of things today but not that.

MartinfaePorty
06-08-2023, 04:54 PM
Not trying to stir things, but why start a new thread when there's already a Johnson Out one?

Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk

LewysGot2
Nah thats not right. Boyle had to start today, he just didn't have a great game.

To be fair, if Boyle hadn't started you can bet there'd be complaints about that, too. You're right, with them doubling up on him he didn't yet have an answer to that.

Na, he was fit, just pish.

MikeyS
06-08-2023, 04:56 PM
Where have I absolved him of any blame? I clearly said he should go.

Sorry mate, hadn't seen that bit! 👍🏻 just so fed up with LJ I scanned it without taking it all in!

HarpOnHibee
06-08-2023, 04:57 PM
Sorry mate, hadn't seen that bit! 👍🏻 just so fed up with LJ I scanned it without taking it all in!

No worries bud. We're all quite rightfully furious at the moment. :aok:

06-08-2023, 04:58 PM
To be fair, if Boyle hadn't started you can bet there'd be complaints about that, too. You're right, with them doubling up on him he didn't yet have an answer to that.

Na, he was fit, just pish.

:agree::agree:

Losing 2 goals in quick succession allowed St Mirren to sit in and get bodies behind him. Harder for his game when that happens.

06-08-2023, 04:59 PM
Teams will look to nullify our wide players and we’ve got **** all in the middle of the pitch who will do anything

7-Zip_Mike
06-08-2023, 08:03 PM
The test had got to be do we feel LJ will bring ‘success’ to the club? No chance.

7-Zip_Mike
06-08-2023, 08:11 PM
The test had got to be do we feel LJ will bring ‘success’ to the club? No chance.

Doige- not good enough last season suddenly our 1st or 2nd striker. We couldn’t punt him and he’s back because he has a contract. Journeyman and done.

JDH - young angry man haring around the pitch until he gets booked then hides. Woeful.

Delfierriere - wasn’t good enough last season but suddenly our starting RB. Bomb scare on Thursday and bomb scare today. Hooked 25 mins.

Now tell me LJ is the man for the coat because from where I am sitting he needs to take the coat and do one.

06-08-2023, 08:19 PM
Doige- not good enough last season suddenly our 1st or 2nd striker. We couldn’t punt him and he’s back because he has a contract. Journeyman and done.

JDH - young angry man haring around the pitch until he gets booked then hides. Woeful.

Delfierriere - wasn’t good enough last season but suddenly our starting RB. Bomb scare on Thursday and bomb scare today. Hooked 25 mins.

Now tell me LJ is the man for the coat because from where I am sitting he needs to take the coat and do one.

Journeyman? Really? With his 2 permanent clubs in the last 7 years. Clearly our best player today. Correct decision to bring him back into the side.

7-Zip_Mike
06-08-2023, 08:34 PM
If he’s our best then god help us

06-08-2023, 08:36 PM
Nah thats not right. Boyle had to start today, he just didn't have a great game. Can criticise LJ for a number of things today but not that.

Outwith the Boyle last minute equaliser derby and the game against Rangers, Boyle has been largely very poor since returning to the club. Willing to write today off to being rusty, but for most of his return he's been injured or ineffective, with occasional glimpses of being the player we know he can be.

Whether that's poor management, injuries catching up to him, or if he is indeed just rusty and will return to top form in the next few months that is something we may not know. However as it stands it looks pretty terrible business to bring him back on the terms we have, unless we had no hope of seeing the money still due from the Saudi club.

Key West
06-08-2023, 08:38 PM
Scapegoat? His record is marginally better than Maloneys despite having managed over double the games with much more to choose from squad wise. He’s ****ing garbage.

Give it a rest.

Paulie Walnuts
06-08-2023, 08:58 PM
Give it a rest.

Why?

Do you have a counter argument to it? The results are there for us all to see. The squad we have now being miles better than the one Maloney had is impossible to argue with.

He’s ****ing rotten.

06-08-2023, 09:10 PM
Outwith the Boyle last minute equaliser derby and the game against Rangers, Boyle has been largely very poor since returning to the club. Willing to write today off to being rusty, but for most of his return he's been injured or ineffective, with occasional glimpses of being the player we know he can be.

Whether that's poor management, injuries catching up to him, or if he is indeed just rusty and will return to top form in the next few months that is something we may not know. However as it stands it looks pretty terrible business to bring him back on the terms we have, unless we had no hope of seeing the money still due from the Saudi club.

I'm not sure that's fair mate - before today he had played 13 games since returning and scored 7 times.

Key West
06-08-2023, 09:13 PM
Why?

Do you have a counter argument to it? The results are there for us all to see.

Played 1 lost 1, if Hibs had came back to win 3-2 it wouldn't have defined the season.

Paulie Walnuts
06-08-2023, 09:17 PM
Played 1 lost 1, if Hibs had came back to win 3-2 it wouldn't have defined the season.

It’s not really a counter argument to his overall record though is it? His record as Hibs manager is abysmal and is why people want rid, not because he lost 1 game to St Mirren.

This isn’t about season defining results, it’s about stopping it before it gets to that stage which his record suggests it inevitably will.

06-08-2023, 09:23 PM
It’s not really a counter argument to his overall record though is it? His record as Hibs manager is abysmal and is why people want rid, not because he lost 1 game to St Mirren.

This isn’t about season defining results, it’s about stopping it before it gets to that stage which his record suggests it inevitably will.At this point in his time at Hibs and with the backing he has had you are not wrong.

Key West
06-08-2023, 09:25 PM

This isn’t about season defining results, it’s about stopping it before it gets to that stage which his record suggests it inevitably will.

It's hard for me to defend anybody after Turnbull, Stubbs, McLeish, Mowbray and Lennon but in my opinion the criticism is way over the top, we finished in the top 5 last season,not brilliant but I've seen a lot worse.

I'm Spartacus
06-08-2023, 09:28 PM

And the waffler telling us the other day he went against medical advice and played him!! He took a chance on Boyle against part time farmers. BOYLE, our top dog, should be bubble wrapped for the season, not risked because this idiot is panicking about being pumped again by Andorras finest.

06-08-2023, 09:57 PM

Doidge has a certain niche, he is really good at playing with his back to goal and bringing others into the game .. I suppose the question has to be , is that the way Lee Johnson sees us playing? Basically setup to feed off of Doidge , and if it is why the hell was nobody anywhere near playing off him until alf came on.? I really worry about how often we went long today. Don’t get me wrong , i think mixing it up a little is necessary and makes your team unpredictable but today was just hoofball with very little plan or thought of how to deploy it.

06-08-2023, 10:02 PM
It's hard for me to defend anybody after Turnbull, Stubbs, McLeish, Mowbray and Lennon but in my opinion the criticism is way over the top, we finished in the top 5 last season,not brilliant but I've seen a lot worse.

We finished 5th in arguably one of the poorest level of standard throughout the league last season, hardly something to defend Lee Johnson.. But let’s be honest, pretty much everyone had decided to judge him on this season and the early signs are really worrying.

ErinGoBraghHFC
06-08-2023, 10:03 PM
And the waffler telling us the other day he went against medical advice and played him!! He took a chance on Boyle against part time farmers. BOYLE, our top dog, should be bubble wrapped for the season, not risked because this idiot is panicking about being pumped again by Andorras finest.

Surely ****ing not - where did you see this?

06-08-2023, 10:57 PM

Boyle, our top dog, should be playing football. Bubble wrapped FFS. For what, next season?

ErinGoBraghHFC
06-08-2023, 10:58 PM
Boyle, our top dog, should be playing football. Bubble wrapped FFS. For what, next season?

Not against part timers when there’s a risk he could aggravate an injury he’s recovering from, surely to ****

06-08-2023, 11:12 PM

Yeah , but only once he is fully fit. Got to manage him and his game time until then .. Pointless to do otherwise as today proved

Silky
06-08-2023, 11:18 PM

There were wafflers on here telling us he was fit to play at the end of last season. But that's OK.

06-08-2023, 11:27 PM

Please provide a link to where he said he went against medical advice.

07-08-2023, 04:55 AM
Yeah , but only once he is fully fit. Got to manage him and his game time until then .. Pointless to do otherwise as today proved
He was just pish today. Nothing to do with fitness. Had dozens of performances like that pre injury. That's Boyle. There's a reason the only move he's ever got was Saudi Arabia

Not against part timers when there’s a risk he could aggravate an injury he’s recovering from, surely to ****

Is there a risk? He played an hour and played well on Thursday. Was rubbish yesterday.

Many reasons to **** on Johnson. Starting our best player is a real stretch.

McHibby
07-08-2023, 04:56 AM
Please provide a link to where he said he went against medical advice.

I think this is story, but it was that he went against medical advice to play him against Blackpool rather than at the game in Andorra. Which is possibly even worst; risking him (or any player coming back from serious injury, tbh) in a friendly seems reckless to me.

https://news.stv.tv/sport/lee-johnson-went-against-medical-advice-to-accelerate-martin-boyle-comeback

07-08-2023, 05:03 AM
Boyler was understandably tired yesterday

It’s been a long road back to recovery from serious injury and be considered fit enough for the first eleven

He was outstanding on Thursday when we needed him to be

It is more valuable game time into his legs on the way back to full match day fitness

He goes again Thursday

07-08-2023, 08:53 AM

He could get injured in any game. Also how is he going to get match fit if he doesnt start games? He is one of our best players and of course the manager should start him.

07-08-2023, 08:53 AM
Boyler was understandably tired yesterday

It’s been a long road back to recovery from serious injury and be considered fit enough for the first eleven

He was outstanding on Thursday when we needed him to be

It is more valuable game time into his legs on the way back to full match day fitness

He goes again Thursday

07-08-2023, 08:57 AM
I’ll slate Johnson for countless things, starting Boyle yesterday wasn’t one of them. Moving him to wingback on the other hand…

07-08-2023, 09:03 AM
He gets a fair bit of grief for his dress sense but one thing I don't think you can criticise LJ for is the fit of his clothes.

Yes he arguably dresses a bit too young for a man of his years but he generally dresses appropriately for a man of his build and whilst I'm not a fan of the trainers and dress trousers combo personally sometimes you have to accept that fashion will usurp sartorial common sense, particularly with this being the age of the dreaded 'smart casual'.

I certainly can't accept that his coats are too big. His varied range of blazers and sports jackets are generally fitted well. If anything I would argue when he wears the shirt and jumper combo with one on top they are potentially a little on the small side but as he opts for the unbuttoned look it's not a huge issue.

I'd be more inclined to criticise him for failing to finish a look with his neglectful lack of a pocket square. A simple flourish that elevates an outfit.

07-08-2023, 09:32 AM
He gets a fair bit of grief for his dress sense but one thing I don't think you can criticise LJ for is the fit of his clothes.

Yes he arguably dresses a bit too young for a man of his years but he generally dresses appropriately for a man of his build and whilst I'm not a fan of the trainers and dress trousers combo personally sometimes you have to accept that fashion will usurp sartorial common sense, particularly with this being the age of the dreaded 'smart casual'.

I certainly can't accept that his coats are too big. His varied range of blazers and sports jackets are generally fitted well. If anything I would argue when he wears the shirt and jumper combo with one on top they are potentially a little on the small side but as he opts for the unbuttoned look it's not a huge issue.

I'd be more inclined to criticise him for failing to finish a look with his neglectful lack of a pocket square. A simple flourish that elevates an outfit.

PB with another sensible contribution 👍

07-08-2023, 09:37 AM
I don't think he'll see out this season. Just feels like a 6/10 manager in so many dimensions.

LewysGot2
07-08-2023, 10:03 AM

An angry Neil Lennon was heard to comment, just as he spat out a snu, that the club was riddled with boy band managers now :greengrin

07-08-2023, 10:05 AM
I think this is story, but it was that he went against medical advice to play him against Blackpool rather than at the game in Andorra. Which is possibly even worst; risking him (or any player coming back from serious injury, tbh) in a friendly seems reckless to me.

https://news.stv.tv/sport/lee-johnson-went-against-medical-advice-to-accelerate-martin-boyle-comeback

👍 Thanks