Torto7
06-08-2023, 02:41 PM
Levitt looks unfit to me and weak.

06-08-2023, 02:42 PM
Poor showing today, st mirren deservedly winning

We should hire every Hibs manager with a clause that states they're automatically sacked after one defeat.

We're being overrun, at home to St Mirren, on the first day of the season.

It's no surprise people are a bit p1ssed off.

Long ball tactics are dire and desperate.

We've had three managers in two years and the performance hasn't changed. Forgive me if I'm fed up with a managerial change being the supposed magic solution to everything.

So what’s the solution? Sack the whole team?

We’ve been like this for years.

Raith Rovers want the LC game brought forward

lol@ JDH oh my god

06-08-2023, 02:43 PM
Similar first half performance to the one in Andorra. Absolute crap.

I'm at my granddaughters birthday party and we have the game on but silent, so difficult not to start swearing at the tv.

7Hero
We've had three managers in two years and the performance hasn't changed. Forgive me if I'm fed up with a managerial change being the supposed magic solution to everything.

agreed far bigger problems than the manager.

Are we allowed to point out how poor Newell has been?

Greenio
Playing really badly this half

HarpOnHibee
06-08-2023, 02:44 PM

The entire coaching team needs to be launched. Our decision making on the pitch is beyond bizarre at times.

I couldn't tell you what the solution is. Nothing has worked.

It’s the managers we’re bringing in that’s the problem.

The last two have been nowhere near good enough

random sub
Levitt looks unfit to me and weak.
Midfield is all over the place…and not in a good way

Doyle Hayes has touched the ball once in 10 minutes. He’s abysmal

he is a man short

Was getting pelters on here for calling out the team’s attitude and effort from 65 minutes on Thursday
Was told they were saving themselves for the big game against St Mirren

Seems like they’ve carried on the same attitude
That’s why winning teams play for 90 minutes and don’t stop otherwise they end up with 5hite like this

Your post was a shocker then and it still is now.

itslegaltender
Newell FFS. Tackling it’s shocking.

Torto7
Are they high or something? Wtf is this performance.

We need to get rid of Johnson now or this season’s gonna be a write off. Players not playing for him and fans can’t stand him.

Keyser Sauzee
Joe Newell’s superb tackling coming to the fore again today

i thought he had a good game against the Andorrans on thursday

06-08-2023, 02:45 PM

The managers just been allowed to spend near £2m on this squad, he’s the main problem!!

He’s had a chance to completely overhaul the team but hasn’t

If we can just get to half time only 2 down...

🙄

Don’t you dare. [emoji35]

Are we allowed to point out how rank rotten the whole team is?

unlucky with that freekick st mirren

Hibee Daft
This could end up 4 or 5 nil, whats going on

MikeyS

Careful mate, thats a dangerous game to play!

If he touched the ball as much as he does his hair we might get somewhere!

expresso
5 minutes since stream came back we’re dire.
Getting outclassed in every position area.

NC1875
06-08-2023, 02:46 PM

He’s the one that has spent over a million pound and not rectified one problem.

To still have Hanlon/Stevenson and the terrible trio in midfield after spending a million pound is a disgrace.

And as predictable as ever. We’re garbage

Where is Boyle hiding

Chorley Hibee

We could start by not persisting with players we know aren't good enough.

Marshall, Delfierre, Stevenson, Hanlon, Doyle Hayes, Campbell, Doidge and more aren't good enough.

There's been more than enough of these performances in that time to show this.

Not remotely surprised by this latest show of utter ineptitude.

Bobo
Slow, square, backwards, can't pass, can't tackle, can't defend, zero threat going forward, aimless long balls ... rinse and repeat!

Just a typical Johnson team and performance, he needs emptied and should have been gone long before now, totally clueless!

Lucky saints are taking it easy now

MikeyS

So he should have against a bunch of ski instructors & lilo salesmen!

The problems at Hibs are endemic, there's no quick fix for this. Any manager coming in is on a hiding to nothing.

06-08-2023, 02:47 PM
Newell FFS. Tackling it’s shocking.

Meant to be one of our best tacklers, gives away fouls all the time.

We're being out fought, out played and out coached by St Mirren and Robinson.

NC1875

So he’s used up his quota of good games for about 6 weeks then.

Boyle is playing after all ;)

Can't pass, can't tackle, can't press, can't defend... What CAN we do?

We are dug **** no other phrase for it Sm not happy Sll the way ftom psisley and not one shot on target at home ffs

I couldn't tell you what the solution is. Nothing has worked.

Tell me about it. We can’t even seem to get our foot on the ball and string one attack together.

Pitiful, at home with a full crowd. Players should be embarrassed.

i thought he had a good game against the Andorrans on thursdayCan we play them every week? At Easter Road?

The Captain....
06-08-2023, 02:48 PM
These aimless punts forward do my ****ing nut in. We are absolutely ***** this half.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

The problems at Hibs are endemic, there's no quick fix for this. Any manager coming in is on a hiding to nothing.

Dons fans likely said the same when they got rid of Goodwin.

supermcginn
We've got a guy up front who hasn't scored a league goal for us in two years, hard to see a way back!

06-08-2023, 02:49 PM
I’ll take 0-2 at half time at this rate. Atrocious.

😂 This manager knows how to work the board and the owners. Not so much the actual players.

NC1875
Tell me about it. We can’t even seem to get our foot on the ball and string one attack together.

Pitiful, at home with a full crowd. Players should be embarrassed.

It’s ok, Johnson will come out with some pish defending it.

We’ll go nowhere with him in charge.

And people were moaning that no pundits had us down to finish 3rd 🤣🤣

Na, absolute bull****.

This squad is more than good enough the compete for 3rd. Unfortunately our manager isn’t.

And a better manager in the door has this team playing a far lot better

Not long till Arsenal v Man City, community shield think I'll give that a shot.

Said it before the game, how many players signed and we have pretty much the same 11?!

How many chances do some of these players get?

Yes some will pop up against the bigger teams and play well by sticking in a tackle or two, but time and time again they don’t show up against the other teams.

Every time we get a sell out against a ‘smaller team’ we crumble.

GreenGray
06-08-2023, 02:50 PM
Look so unfit, did we do much running at pre season?

If JDH still played for St Mirren, he’d be on the bench. That’s where we’re at.

Hibee Daft
Theres been no build up play just hoofing it up.

Curried
You're better off not knowing.

06-08-2023, 02:51 PM
Utterly abysmal 45 minutes

No leadership, no fight, no clue, no point. We are absolutely ****ing brutal and are now relying on pieces of individual brilliance to get a point off St Mirren at Easter Road, because we sure as hell aren't capable of playing our way out of this. We should be about 3 or 4 down here.

GreenGray
Theres been no build up play just hoofing it up.

That’s usually the tactics under Johnson

MelbourneHibees
Bye Lee.

NC1875
06-08-2023, 02:52 PM
0 shots on target
0 corners
2-0 down at home to St Mirren.

How much longer does this clown get

Bye Lee.

He is not going anywhere, we went through this multiple times last season, we will lose 4 or 5 shocking games, win 3 with miraculous good performances and he will keep his job.

Na, absolute bull****.

This squad is more than good enough the compete for 3rd. Unfortunately our manager isn’t.

Who is the better manager that's currently available in our budget range? Or you won't answer because that's the boards job?

We will score two or three second half. Calm down. Lees got this.

06-08-2023, 02:53 PM
Last time we lost at home on the opening day, we were relegated.

Solonleith1
I can only listen on radio today due to work. Is it as bad as it sounds? It sounds dreadful, and St Mirren sound by far the better team. Any time somebody runs at the defence, particulary this Olisanya who wasn't even meant to be starting, it sounds like its going to be a goal.

Not what I was expecting but not shocked either.

Sigh.

No certainties in this world except death, taxes, and Hibs letting you down.

Getting a footballing lesson from St Mirren

random sub
06-08-2023, 02:54 PM
Obita looks off the pace also

I can only listen on radio today due to work. Is it as bad as it sounds? It sounds dreadful, and St Mirren sound by far the better team. Any time somebody runs at the defence, particulary this Olisanya who wasn't even meant to be starting, it sounds like its going to be a goal.Yes, it's as bad as I'm sure it sounds

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

HendoDelivered
Ohara and Strain would walk into our team

To change to 352 and not bring on the stopper is just daft. LJ is totally clueless.

O'Hara easily the best player on the park

We will score two or three second half. Calm down. Lees got this.

Well need to find a way of having a shot at goal then

How much did we pay for that new pitch? St Mirren seem to be using it well, we just lump it diagonally.

If we’re going to play like that we’d be as well putting in astro

shots

3v6

shots on target

0-3

Corners

0-6

fouls

5-3

Who is the better manager that's currently available in our budget range? Or you won't answer because that's the boards job?

The manager we’re playing against today is better and within our budget range, so there’s one.

06-08-2023, 02:55 PM
Getting a footballing lesson from St Mirren

At home

Na, absolute bull****.

I dont agree this squad is particilarly good. We have a midfield the opposition more often than not gets walked through and the fact we're still having to play Lewis at left back and to a lesser extent Paul Hanlon at centre back. We're back with Doidge up front despite him being surplus to requirement last season. We have some decent players but still got too many players that are simply not good enough for where we want to be.

NC1875

Robinsons got his team more organised, more tactically aware and playing with more fight today.

Derek McInnes had Kilmarnock do the same last night.

Lees not the right man for the job, never has been and should have been gone long ago. Along with about half the team. To have spent the money he has and have that starting 11 on the pitch is a sackable offence on its own

Yes, it's as bad as I'm sure it sounds

I’d say it’s worse. At least if you’re listening you don’t have to watch

If you were wanting to get sacked that’s the 45 minutes you’d wish to display.

Absolute joke of a team

McInnes would have been a better option but we went after the current imposter.

Can’t even use the excuse that the new player haven’t gelled yet when it’s much the same team we had last season. Players look they have no clue what they are supposed to be doing.

Na, absolute bull****.

It's not, it's a generally piss poor group of players, some well past their best others, who have had chance after chance & showed little sign of ability. How many dozens of signings and we still play with bulk of team who were here when Ross was sacked, laughable.

It’s ok, Johnson will come out with some pish defending it.

We’ll go nowhere with him in charge.

And people were moaning that no pundits had us down to finish 3rd 🤣🤣

He will actually say something like the players didn't follow his instructions.

Last time we lost at home on the opening day, we were relegated.

I’m starting to think that’s the answer. Last couple of times that’s happened we’ve rebuilt the club and come back rejuvenated. Might be preferable to countless more seasons of this pish.

The Captain....
I'm struggling to see where an unlikely comeback comes from. We looked just as bad after the subs..

No shape, can't keep the ball, midfield of ghosts yet again, keeper looking groggy, defence second to everything, forwards watching the ball get shelled 70 yards in their vague direction, no attempts at goal I can remember. As bad as I can remember seeing in terms of being an utter cluster**** of a first half performance.

Na, absolute bull****.

Five years of ***** from this team says it doesn't.

06-08-2023, 02:56 PM
We could start by not persisting with players we know aren't good enough.

Marshall, Delfierre, Stevenson, Hanlon, Doyle Hayes, Campbell, Doidge and more aren't good enough.

There's been more than enough of these performances in that time to show this.

Not remotely surprised by this latest show of utter ineptitude.

How we can spend around £2m and start with the players you have mentioned is criminal.

The question I always ask myself is, if our first 11 was available for transfer, who would be after them.

Barring Campbell, there is no doubt in my mind that the players you have listed would be playing for a team at the bottom of the SPL or in the league below.

That's half of our team. What do we expect?

The atmosphere is not good in th stadium it definitely has the turning on the manager/players feel to it if things done improve in the second half.

Donegal Hibby
If JDH still played for St Mirren, he’d be on the bench. That’s where we’re at.
Midfield's been a problem for a long time now . Newell , JDH just don't work . Both have been awful today.

Robinsons got his team more organised, more tactically aware and playing with more fight today.

Derek McInnes had Kilmarnock do the same last night.

Lees not the right man for the job, never has been and should have been gone long ago. Along with about half the team. To have spent the money he has and have that starting 11 on the pitch is a sackable offence on its ownTo be fair the big money signing isn't allowed to work yet

Obita was injured as was Levitt

Our goalie also injured

Who else have we spent money on?

Youan? Starting

That's not an excuse for what I've just watched but it is for not having the signings on the park

Five years of ***** from this team says it doesn't.

Yet we weren’t far off last season.

We’ve added nearly £1.5-£2m of players this summer as well

06-08-2023, 02:57 PM
Obita looks off the pace also
The whole team lacks pace according to John Collins

😂 This manager knows how to work the board and the owners. Not so much the actual players.

Nail on the head regards the first sentence.

They are just better drilled. Keep a shape. Boss the middle. Basic stuff.

06-08-2023, 02:58 PM
I dont agree this squad is particilarly good. We have a midfield the opposition more often than not gets walked through and the fact we're still having to play Lewis at left back and to a lesser extent Paul Hanlon at centre back. We're back with Doidge up front despite him being surplus to requirement last season. We have some decent players but still got too many players that are simply not good enough for where we want to be.

I suppose we are all forgetting our club record breaking striker us off doing an English exam.

The Captain....
06-08-2023, 02:58 PM
Nail on the head regards the first sentence.Aye he's played the stupid ****ers like a fiddle.

06-08-2023, 02:59 PM
Its looking unlikely at this moment in time but a bit of magic from the likes of Boyler and Elie, you just never know. Score the next goal and we're back in it. Well im hoping anyway.

For me Johnson was on borrowed time after last season. Could easily have been sacked during the World Cup break and limped to 5th. How far behind where Aberdeen after us and Hearts hosed them in a week? Ending up behind them was a sackable offence in of itself.

This season starting off with all the hallmarks of him having learned nothing; underestimating / lack of motivation for ‘lowly’ cup opposition, bizarre selections, playing folk out of position and out of form. He’s not got it and nothing about him or his career suggests he ever will have it.

McInnes would have been a better option but we went after the current imposter.

Can’t even use the excuse that the new player haven’t gelled yet when it’s much the same team we had last season. Players look they have no clue what they are supposed to be doing.

In fairness to the players, most is us don’t have a clue what LJ means when he speaks either!

SerenityGreen
Robinson, McInnes, !!
Either would do a better job.

Start playing with Johnson’s tactics, end up playing St Mirrens tactics after conceding two goals.

If we can’t turn this round its two dreadful results from 3 competitive games to start the season.

It’s a game of two halves.
3-2 Hibs

They are just better drilled. Keep a shape. Boss the middle. Basic stuff.

Bossing the middle is particularly worrying. We have not had one piece of build up play and structured attack all game.

Also, where TF have Boyle and Youan gone. They should not escape being singled out.

Totally disappeared.

If you were wanting to get sacked that’s the 45 minutes you’d wish to display.

Absolute joke of a team

If you wanted to get sacked you would start another season with a midfield or JDH, Newell & Campbell.

06-08-2023, 03:00 PM
Midfield's been a problem for a long time now . Newell , JDH just don't work . Both have been awful today.

Completely horrible midfield that has been posted missing for years! How they are selected to play is well beyond me.

06-08-2023, 03:00 PM
David Marshall: rotten.
Delfiere: rotten (but also out of position).
Doyle-Hayes: rotten.
Josh Campbell: rotten.
Elie Youan: rotten.

Joe Newell the only one at the races today (again). Everyone else is miles off it. Miracle needed 2nd half and don’t back LJ to get it out of them. Will be a long season unless we improve rapidly. We’ve got a good squad on paper but that’s it. Hope I’m wrong (which I often am to be fair). We’ve still got players on the park who can create and score from nothing, but this is a huge wake up call.

06-08-2023, 03:01 PM
Jesus Christ just seen the score. Whats going on?

We’re, eh, no very good

cameronw-hfc

Fore those of us watching on Hibs TV, not a whole lot to be honest

06-08-2023, 03:02 PM

What did he say ?

e2los
Scoreline flatters us.
Complete garbage.

Only good thing is surely we can't get any worse?

Cookiehibs
Has anyone actually seen LJ screaming on the sidelines? Every time I see him he just stands there. No one getting a bollocking during that first half. Let’s see if he’s got a half time team talk in him.

tonyrougier123
We are going nowhere with Johnson. I’ve seen enough now. So underprepared for the season again,he’s been backed. His tactics don’t exist anywhere but his own head,Obita doesn’t look interested in defending either,lost ball few times high up and jogged back when saints on the press. Joke today

The midfield is the main problem, there's no creativity going forward, there's no dig when defending, they all seem to have poor positional discipline which leaves the rest of them scrambling to get near the ball which then opens up passing lanes for the opposition. We are very straightforward to play against. Chuck a keeper in that seems to throw the ball in the net and full backs that are either not full backs or way past it and this is what we're left with, a team that can be carved open and dismantled with basic passing and movement from the oppositions forwards.

Robinson, McInnes, !!
Either would do a better job.

Aye right. Sit doon before you hurt yourself.

06-08-2023, 03:03 PM
Jesus Christ just seen the score. Whats going on?Generally lots of good stuff Mirren play mixed in with us chasing shadows

Fortunate we are still in with an outside chance

McGruber
Where is Boyle hiding

Should never have started. 9 months out straight to weekend, midweek football. A place on the bench for last half hour if needed.

Stevenson & Delferriere make us so square at the back.

As for Lewis Miller - what's the point of him being here

Joe Newell the only one at the races today (again). Everyone else is miles off it. Miracle needed 2nd half and don’t back LJ to get it out of them. Will be a long season unless we improve rapidly. We’ve got a good squad on paper but that’s it. Hope I’m wrong (which I often am to be fair). We’ve still got players on the park who can create and score from nothing, but this is a huge wake up call.

Can’t even say Newell as been good today. He’s been as bad as the rest.

Superfurry72
One of the worst first-half performances I’ve ever seen from a Hibs team. And I started going in 1981.

Completely horrible midfield that has been posted missing for years! How they are selected to play is well beyond me.

Since Super John McGinn left TBH.

Gogic and Bartley did a job too.

Dmas
06-08-2023, 03:04 PM
I’m willing to back the manager as I’ve said hundreds previously but one time I’d like to turn up here and actually see this high pressing game to win the ball back high up the pitch stuff that he keeps on talking about.

when is that going to start we’re so slow in possession and we stand off out of possession as easy a 45mins work st.mirren will get all season it’s pathetic

Campbell is a midfield luxury we just can’t afford, lost control of the ball and gave away possession for the 2nd goal. The laddie might pop up with a goal now and again but his footballing ability is top 6 Scottish championship standard at best. JDH’s is Campbell…..but without the goals🙈

supermcginn
We are going nowhere with Johnson. I’ve seen enough now. So underprepared for the season again,he’s been backed. His tactics don’t exist anywhere but his own head,Obita doesn’t look interested in defending either,lost ball few times high up and jogged back when saints on the press. Joke today
Bonkers to blame Obita it was 2 nil when he came on, Campbell and delferierre were the two worst players on the pitch.

Horrible to watch, can't see us turning it around 2 subs used and no difference
Been hoping for months that it was all going to click but its obvious it never will with him in charge, different man in charge may get more and better out of that crop of **** bags

Solonleith1
Again, although just listening, a comeback seems a pipe dream at least. Vente must be wondering what he's signed for. Johnson isn't up to it, but I've been concerned about the quality of everything except at a push, the front line for a while. Anybody with pace has us in trouble. Luzern watching on must be considering a second string because their quality levels will be a darn sight higher than St Mirrens.

06-08-2023, 03:05 PM
I don’t think we’re really learning anything we didn’t already know here.

Marshall’s not good enough, RB is a problem. We’ve not fixed the midfield with the business we’ve done and Doidge isn’t any closer to being good enough than he was a year ago.

As a result of that, there are players capable of doing better struggling out there.

Does anyone seriously see us turning it around?

Should never have started. 9 months out straight to weekend, midweek football. A place on the bench for last half hour if needed.

Stevenson & Delferriere make us so square at the back.

As for Lewis Miller - what's the point of him being here

Miller is still carrying a knock apparently

Hibee Daft
If it continues like this into the second half, club need to seriously start searching for a new manager. That first half performance was ****ing pathetic

Greenio
Mon now people.

Horrible performance. But we all know fine and we'll there is a time and a place to sack a manager. First day of a new season ain't it.

Our position is terrible and very similar to the match in Andora. Player gets it on the wing, there is NOBODY to pass to. No players in a position to actually receive the ball..zero...hence the massive punts up the pitch that obviously go nowhere.

Add to that the mistakes, under hit passes....it's a really poor standard.

Hopefully they are getting tore a new one

supermcginn
Campbell is a midfield luxury we just can’t afford, lost control of the ball and gave away possession for the 2nd goal. The laddie might pop up with a goal now and again but his footballing ability is top 6 Scottish championship standard at best. JDH’s is Campbell…..but without the goals🙈

Totally agree. Just not a very good footballer at all.

Solonleith1
Also the Irony of Gogic effectively being on a sun lounger at the back is embarrassing

06-08-2023, 03:06 PM
What did he say ?

First laugh of the game... Gracias!

If we can just get to half time only 2 down...

🙄

We made it, the comeback is on. 😁

4-5 of these players look unfit and miles off it, many look like they're blowing out their erses already, losing every battle on the pitch.

Donegal Hibby

Sorry mate though Joe Newell has been just as bad as any of the rest of them he's given away a penalty ( soft) and a stupid free kick outside the box . Whole Hibs midfield being absolutely bossed .

tonyrougier123
06-08-2023, 03:07 PM
Bonkers to blame Obita it was 2 nil when he came on, Campbell and delferierre were the two worst players on the pitch.

I’m basically saying even the right back we signed doesn’t look required standard.

Also the Irony of Gogic effectively being on a sun lounger at the back is embarrassing

A player that knows the importance of actually stopping the other team playing. No doubt our midfield are just waving theirs through again today?

We will see exactly what Johnson and the coaching team are made off right here second half.

#2 Double Tap
The midfield is the main problem, there's no creativity going forward, there's no dig when defending, they all seem to have poor positional discipline which leaves the rest of them scrambling to get near the ball which then opens up passing lanes for the opposition. We are very straightforward to play against. Chuck a keeper in that seems to throw the ball in the net and full backs that are either not full backs or way past it and this is what we're left with, a team that can be carved open and dismantled with basic passing and movement from the oppositions forwards.

agree

06-08-2023, 03:08 PM
A player that knows the importance of actually stopping the other team playing. No doubt our midfield are just waving theirs through again today?

That kind of play is critical in Scottish football. To think not is madness.

1875Sean
Levitt still looks to be the deepest midfielder, don’t get it, for me I’d get on jeggo to sit and get JDH off and get Levitt further forward

Dunno how fish missed that there

HendoDelivered
There was a decent chance for Fish

06-08-2023, 03:09 PM
The last time we were two down at half time on the opening home game of the season was 1979.

Solonleith1
06-08-2023, 03:09 PM

Completely agree. We deemed him not good enough, and from an ambition point of view I agree he had to go, but yet he'll run through a brick wall for the club he plays for, even if technically he's very average. Nobody today sounds like doing that.

06-08-2023, 03:10 PM
Daft booking from Doidge there

ErinGoBraghHFC
06-08-2023, 03:10 PM
Levitt still looks to be the deepest midfielder, don’t get it, for me I’d get on jeggo to sit and get JDH off and get Levitt further forward

That’s too obvious we need to consult the oracle first

06-08-2023, 03:11 PM
I’m willing to back the manager as I’ve said hundreds previously but one time I’d like to turn up here and actually see this high pressing game to win the ball back high up the pitch stuff that he keeps on talking about.

when is that going to start we’re so slow in possession and we stand off out of possession as easy a 45mins work st.mirren will get all season it’s pathetic

Oh aye, the mystical high-press high-tempo game he was going to have us playing. It’s all just verbal diarrhoea amounting to zero.

Torto7
Daft booking from Doidge there

He's lucky it wasn't red.

Obita looks a bit **** btw.

06-08-2023, 03:12 PM
We will see exactly what Johnson and the coaching team are made off right here second half.

Hahaha.

The first half showed us what they’re made of, *****

06-08-2023, 03:13 PM
We concede so many fouls because we’re miles behind them to the ball

Oh aye, the mystical high-press high-tempo game he was going to have us playing. It’s all just verbal diarrhoea amounting to zero.

He just says things that people want to hear, some people buy it and others just dismiss it as nonsense. He does what he needs to keep himself in a job.

Helensburghhibs
Humping the ball up to doidge is a tactic i thought we had left in the past,, clearly not

Torto7
We concede so many fouls because we’re miles behind them to the ball

Which is a s and c issue. We look way off it.

absolutely ridiculous Gogic gets to swan about smoking a cigar

HendoDelivered
06-08-2023, 03:14 PM
Humping the ball up to doidge is a tactic i thought we had left in the past,, clearly not

Meat and drink for saints

06-08-2023, 03:14 PM
He just says things that people want to hear, some people buy it and others just dismiss it as nonsense. He does what he needs to keep himself in a job.

Pretty easy at Hibs because let’s face it, we swallow it every time.

06-08-2023, 03:15 PM
This is a tough watch, why are we starting with Doidge when I thought we brought in ALF as back up striker.

e2los
06-08-2023, 03:16 PM

Seems like the only plan we have.

06-08-2023, 03:16 PM
Radio saying our long ball game playing into St Mirrens hands. Sounds terrible

06-08-2023, 03:17 PM
This is a tough watch, why are we starting with Doidge when I thought we brought in ALF as back up striker.

No convinced that it’s a change that would make any difference at all today.

We could leave both out, no bother with a centre forward and you’d barely notice today.

Fuzzywuzzy
06-08-2023, 03:17 PM
Your heart actually just sinks watching this.

06-08-2023, 03:18 PM
cut it back Elie

Torto7
High tempo passing fitba baby. In reality snail paced hoofing.

Robinson animated on the touchline... Johnson standing with his hands in his pockets 🙄

Another season watching Joe Newell lead our midfield? I think I might not.

06-08-2023, 03:20 PM
mind the old days we owned St Mirren

HendoDelivered

Newell is a good player. It’s the dross that’s in the midfield with him thats the worry, not Joe 👌🏼

NC1875

Had his one good game in 10 on Thursday. He’s brilliant though, like Hanlon, Stevenson, Campbell etc.

Not good enough. Would rather have Ohara

Olusanya is creating havoc in our defensive line.

06-08-2023, 03:21 PM
eye bleeding ****

ALF for Boyle

cut it back Elie

Sums him up. Great pace to get into position and then takes the wrong option. Boyle had a tap in and it's game on yet he goes for goal.

Fuzzywuzzy
I would actually just like Johnson to **** off. Can we afford it? Probably not

Torto7
Boyle clearly isn't fit yet.

tonyrougier123
06-08-2023, 03:22 PM
Robinson animated on the touchline... Johnson standing with his hands in his pockets 🙄

He’s giving them the tools they need it’s not his fault 😂

ALF for Boyle
I can hear the boos already :greengrin

I'm thinking I'm glad I didn't buy the one year htv subscription

Fuzzywuzzy
Subs please

Newell is a good player. It’s the dross that’s in the midfield with him thats the worry, not Joe [emoji1362]

He’s not. He just cruises about looking self important. A charlatan.

Sums him up. Great pace to get into position and then takes the wrong option. Boyle had a tap in and it's game on yet he goes for goal.

If he could have passed it direct through 2 players maybe, but shooting was reasonable in that scenario.

percy veer
06-08-2023, 03:23 PM
Sportsound Brian mclauglin is a welt, and boyle is being replaced by a 36 year old.whos last club was Mumbai, almost laughing whilst saying it.have some respect at least say the guys name.

Boyle clearly isn't fit yet.

Certainly not fit enough to play WB that's for sure, why is Miller sitting on the bench if he isn't going to bring him on?

They look like they’ve been coached with a view to the league games starting today.

We look like we’ve got a good bit of transfer business and fitness work to be done to be ready to go in 3 or 4 weeks.

Funny that, eh?

06-08-2023, 03:24 PM
Sportsound Brian mclauglin is a welt, and boyle is being replaced by a 36 year old.whos last club was Mumbai, almost s******ing whilst saying it.have some respect at least say the guys name.

He’s not wrong though. Le Fondre shouldn’t be here and we all know it.

MikeyS
Newell is a good player. It’s the dross that’s in the midfield with him thats the worry, not Joe 👌🏼

He's had more bad games than good in his time here!

at least we've managed to limit them to just the two

The only worse opening day I can remember is when we got ****ed at Tannadice in 2012.

06-08-2023, 03:25 PM
Olusanya is creating havoc in our defensive line.

He’s been a handful, fair play to him.

Torto7
Sportsound Brian mclauglin is a welt, and boyle is being replaced by a 36 year old.whos last club was Mumbai, almost laughing whilst saying it.have some respect at least say the guys name.

A fat Jambo balloon.

They look like they’ve been coached with a view to the league games starting today.

We look like we’ve got a good bit of transfer business and fitness work to be done to be ready to go in 3 or 4 weeks.

Funny that, eh?

Same as last season then.

He is wrong, his last club was Sydney and Boyle has been anonymous, doesnt seem like a bad sub to me.

Certainly not fit enough to play WB that's for sure, why is Miller sitting on the bench if he isn't going to bring him on?

Miller has barely played since he got here. Most of the players we sign these days are for back up positions. Heaven forbid we actually try improve the starting line up.

Sportsound Brian mclauglin is a welt, and boyle is being replaced by a 36 year old.whos last club was Mumbai, almost laughing whilst saying it.have some respect at least say the guys name.His last club wasn't even mumbai

Lee Marvin
06-08-2023, 03:26 PM
He’s not. He just cruises about looking self important. A charlatan.

Newell is twice the player of any of our other midfielders (the bar is set very low from the other, however)

tonyrougier123
Stevenson doing Obitas defending,ffs man how bad can it get!

If he could have passed it direct through 2 players maybe, but shooting was reasonable in that scenario.

Having seen his latest cutback, maybe that's why he shot the last time.

Newell isn’t that good. How people can’t see this is incredible. Yes he might be better than JDH or Campbell, but that’s not hard.

Honestly, the mediocrity this club accepts. They starting line up today was a disgrace.

He is wrong, his last club was Sydney and Boyle has been anonymous, doesnt seem like a bad sub to me.

A 36 year old who has spent the last 4 years at a lower level and you think we should have signed him? Was he smashing it in Oz?

Torto7
Hibs have an amazing ability to disappoint in front of a large crowd. Another huge home support today let down.

06-08-2023, 03:27 PM
Newell is twice the player of any of our other midfielders (the bar is set very low from the other, however)

That still makes him *****.

HarpOnHibee
06-08-2023, 03:28 PM

It's funny. Not for us, but for everybody else.

06-08-2023, 03:29 PM
Interesting if doidge made more of that elbow

NC1875

Exactly, because he’s the best of a terrible bunch doesn’t actually make him good. Just better than the dross around him.

MikeyS

🤣 truthbombs!

A good player when things are going well, goes into his shell, like the rest of the midfield when it’s not. He won’t make a midfield more than the sum of its parts, which is the type of midfield we have needed for years, but can survive in a good midfield. An argument some others could also probably make about surviving alongside two good midfielders.

Take the rumoured £600k for him and the £1m plus we can get for Campbell and buy a genuine box to box midfielder and a creative midfielder. Add them to Jeggo or Levitt from deep.

cameronw-hfc

Eyes painted on of you genuinely don't rate Newell. Not been brilliant today but mad

A 36 year old who has spent the last 4 years at a lower level and you think we should have signed him? Was he smashing it in Oz?

He scored 56 in 97, so yes, he has been doing well in that league.

Lee Marvin
Obita looks horrific btw

06-08-2023, 03:30 PM

24 in 53 games for sydney 21/23

06-08-2023, 03:31 PM
He scored 56 in 97, so yes, he has been doing well in that league.

But it’s a terrible league. Below our championship level. Would you want us signing 36 year olds from the championship?

06-08-2023, 03:32 PM
Alf 1-2

That is a ****ing fantastic goal.

Alf 1-2

Great player.[emoji6]

That was an excellent goal

percy veer
06-08-2023, 03:33 PM

Mmmm

Yaas

Beautiful goal ALF

No bad for a boy from Mumbai

Much better that. Doidge our best player today by a mile.

NC1875
But it’s a terrible league. Below our championship level. Would you want us signing 36 year olds from the championship?

👋🏽

Doidge done really well there too

The Captain....
That's a very well taken goal by ALF

Cracking goal TBF, game on

AZhibee
Nice, Mumbai or Sydney missed out

HarpOnHibee
Get in! Mon the 36 year old!

Torto7
ALF showing his class.

percy veer
Great player.[emoji6]

It's a funny old game ha

HendoDelivered
Var check?

06-08-2023, 03:34 PM

He is rubbish aye, no composure... and aye if he was scoring 1 in 2 its worth a punt

06-08-2023, 03:34 PM
Come on Hibees.
We can conduct the autopsy after the game (like we always do) lets grab something out of this game!

#2 Double Tap
06-08-2023, 03:35 PM
lovely finish

06-08-2023, 03:36 PM
Losing count of how many times we’ve said “papering over the cracks” in the last year

06-08-2023, 03:37 PM
Up yours Mclauchlan, fat jambo git.

ALF’s done well since he went on.

tonyrougier123
Good work by doidge and Alf,but this needing an hour to get started is at home is a nonsense man.

SJNB Hibby
06-08-2023, 03:38 PM
FFS the tv's down again

Up yours Mclauchlan, fat jambo git.

We’ll need two more before we are sticking it up anybody.

honestly, i've put up with watching the last 60 mins of this pish and as soon as it gets interesting again Hibs TV goes down...

FFS the tv's down againSo is the audio, again. Useless

06-08-2023, 03:39 PM
Where was this 70 minutes ago?

itslegaltender
FFS the tv's down again
Yet St Mirren too is still up and is getting feed from us!

SJNB Hibby
So is the audio, again. Useless

Back on Player 2

06-08-2023, 03:40 PM
Back on Player 2[emoji106]

NC1875
06-08-2023, 03:40 PM
Yet St Mirren too is still up and is getting feed from us!

I can’t get Hibs tv or st Mirren tv to work.

06-08-2023, 03:41 PM
St Mirren player booked for diving. It's a miracle!

Torto7
06-08-2023, 03:41 PM
We look better with Doidge and ALF linking. Youan and Obita are getting better as well.