View Full Version : £99 for a birthday message on the screens

06-08-2023, 08:27 AM
Surely I haven’t just seen on insta we are now charging £99 for a big screen birthday messages

I’m all for making money and stuff but cmon this kinda thing is surely pricing genuine fans out of things which used to be free

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230806/25cc75abf7dff682aa4e798dbccf7c72.jpg

Bridge hibs
06-08-2023, 08:38 AM
Surely I haven’t just seen on insta we are now charging £99 for a big screen birthday messages

I’m all for making money and stuff but cmon this kinda thing is surely pricing genuine fans out of things which used to be free

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkNo doubt will appeal to those of whom can afford it, I will just continue to send texts with a wee green love heart

06-08-2023, 08:46 AM
Might do it for £20, absolutely no chance at that price!

7Hero
06-08-2023, 08:46 AM
and £99 for kids to do a 10 second challenge at half time.

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/tickets-hospitality/hibs-kids/10-second-challenge-experience

06-08-2023, 08:50 AM

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/tickets-hospitality/hibs-kids/10-second-challenge-experience

That's actually a pretty good deal once you break it down.

06-08-2023, 08:50 AM

Whats VIP about it?

06-08-2023, 08:58 AM

Especially when you consider Sunshine the Leith Lynx is now our 3rd choice goalie.

06-08-2023, 08:58 AM
Didn’t being a mascot used to be free aswell ?

06-08-2023, 09:00 AM
I understand that football clubs are businesses, and Hibs need to be profitable, but we’ve also tried to walk the tightrope between that and being a ‘family, community club’. I just think we could put birthday messages up for a hell of a lot less than that. Free even. It’s a small gesture, but it does mean a lot to people.

Keepthefaith
06-08-2023, 09:01 AM

agreed - just another example of folk finding another reason to put the boot into the club IMO. if it was £99 for just the 10 second challenge I'd agree but this is much more than that. if a kid is a mad hike, I'm sure a few family members can contribute small amounts to make it happen. when I was a kid we had no money whatsoever and relied on aunts and uncles to make up the difference at Christmas / birthdays etc.

give the club a break eh?

Chorley Hibee
06-08-2023, 09:05 AM
I understand that football clubs are businesses, and Hibs need to be profitable, but we’ve also tried to walk the tightrope between that and being a ‘family, community club’. I just think we could put birthday messages up for a hell of a lot less than that. Free even. It’s a small gesture, but it does mean a lot to people.

What is it they say about knowing the price of everything and the value of nothing.

06-08-2023, 09:08 AM
I’m no sure there is any value in £99 for a quick message on the big screen. The price for the 10 second challenge is fair enough when you see what they give as part of that.

06-08-2023, 09:08 AM

Aye that’s decent , free top and tickets etc , the birthday messages is basically your name on a screen [emoji23][emoji23]

HarpOnHibee
06-08-2023, 09:10 AM
I think this is quite poor tbh. It creates a divide between the haves and have nots. Imagine being a kid at ER on your birthday and you see other kids images on the screen but not yours, because your parents simply can't afford it. Its literally just an image on the screen.

Jay
06-08-2023, 09:10 AM
Aye that’s decent , free top and tickets etc , the birthday messages is basically your name on a screen [emoji23][emoji23]

It's not a free top. Your paying £99.

06-08-2023, 09:22 AM
A bit like Hibs First which is for "our most committed supporters".

Nah. Just those who have a few extra quid to jump the queue.

06-08-2023, 09:23 AM
If you don’t want it dont buy it. All about income.

06-08-2023, 09:26 AM
Plenty want it. But can't afford it.

HarpOnHibee
06-08-2023, 09:27 AM

What if the kid wants it and you can't afford it? It's certainly all about income these days.

06-08-2023, 09:28 AM
A bit like Hibs First which is for "our most committed supporters".

Nah. Just those who have a few extra quid to jump the queue.

It’s absolutely nothing like Hibs First. The fans didn’t want the “joining fee”, and some fought it for a removal or a reduction

06-08-2023, 09:31 AM
What if the kid wants it and you can't afford it? It's certainly all about income these days.

That’s life. You explain to your kid.

There will be other children with trainers or jackets that maybe you don’t want to spend money on as well. It’s part of growing up.

If folk want to pay £100 for this, good luck to them. I’m not gonna blame HIbs for trying to generate revenue to improve the team

06-08-2023, 09:33 AM

It would certainly appear so. Which is a shame.

football clubs are very good at having their cake and eating it. All too happy to play up to their supporters sentimental and unconditional attachments to their local team, the team their parents and grandparents supported, “Hibs family” blah blah blah, while at the same time taking the cold hard “it’s a business, pay up or shut up” approach.

anyway, I will shut up now. Buzzing about todays game.

06-08-2023, 09:35 AM
Dont want it, then dont buy it

06-08-2023, 09:37 AM
Mental price. I’d have expected it to be cheaper than the price to take a bairn to the game.

However, like any other thing I think isn’t anywhere close to value, I just wouldn’t bother.

And maybe when nobody uses the service for 99 quid it’ll be reviewed.

Keepthefaith
06-08-2023, 09:39 AM
That’s life. You explain to your kid.

There will be other children with trainers or jackets that maybe you don’t want to spend money on as well. It’s part of growing up.

If folk want to pay £100 for this, good luck to them. I’m not gonna blame HIbs for trying to generate revenue to improve the team

Exactly this! There seems to be an entitlement that everyone has a right to everything...I learned about the value of money by mum explaining that there were some things we couldn't have/ afford. It motivated me to do better for myself and now I'm in a position to give back to her.

Is a kid really missing out because their name isn't up on a board? Go take them to the park, have a laugh with them, they'll remember that more!

Jay
06-08-2023, 09:40 AM
It used to be an even playing field for the bairns. Shame.

06-08-2023, 09:44 AM

Unfortunately that's life, I went without loads as a kid because my parents couldnt afford every single thing I wanted. Is it a bit expensive, in my opinion yes but that's the price

06-08-2023, 09:44 AM
I don’t particularly like what our club is becoming. Fair enough for corporate adverts to appear at set pieces and breaks in play, that’s part of modern society now.

Imagine the disappointment of a kid at ER on his birthday, seeing other children get birthday wishes on the screen to be left out. Then the conversation of “we can’t afford it”, or the pressure that in itself puts on parents to splash out on something they may not be able to afford otherwise.

Very poor from the club.

wallpaperman
06-08-2023, 09:45 AM
That’s shameful Hibs, and any other club that tries to prise money out at a similar level for something as basic as this, which will mostly appeal to parents of kids.

06-08-2023, 09:58 AM
There was never a guarantee your message got read out in the past, my parents submitted one for me years ago, never made it. My auntie knew the guy and the following year she asked and it got read out.

It's never been a perfect system.

06-08-2023, 10:01 AM
Mental price. I’d have expected it to be cheaper than the price to take a bairn to the game.

However, like any other thing I think isn’t anywhere close to value, I just wouldn’t bother.

And maybe when nobody uses the service for 99 quid it’ll be reviewed.
That's where I am with it. If folk want to spend that and think it's good value, fair play to them. It won't be me, though, and Hibs will find out soon enough of it's poor value or not.

As for the "it used to be free" argument - we've only had the screens for a couple of years and there's hardly been any birthday messages on them that I can remember seeing.

It's not like we all grew up seeing our birthdays splashed on the screens that didn't exist before.

06-08-2023, 10:13 AM
Surely no one is actually going to pay that?

I'm taking my bairn to Alton Towers for her birthday and tickets to the park and a hotel for the night for the pair of us is cheaper than a message on a screen at ER. I know which one she'll remember in 10 years as well.

06-08-2023, 10:16 AM
This is pretty atrocious tbh. Guess my daughter won't be getting a happy birthday from Hibs any time soon.

Also, the "value of money" is a damn sight lower than it was when a fair number of the people in this thread were just entering the job market. I'm fed up with everything being commodified and sold back to us.

LewysGot2
06-08-2023, 10:18 AM
I’m sure folk will still be able to ask for a birthday name check from Barry the announcer?

It’s like a lot of things, as long as there’s alternatives to provide opportunity then there’s a lesson in life…we can’t always get what we want - especially luxuries. There’s lots of folk heading off to Zurich who are not ST holders or regular attenders - lots of folk who are regular attenders or ST holders will be at home because of work or lack of the readies to afford such a trip. Fair? On some levels it won’t feel like it but on other levels it’s unfortunately life.

Theres 1000 tickets for today were given to disadvantaged kids by the Foundation. I think that offsets the possible downside of not getting a photo on screens for a birthday.

06-08-2023, 10:23 AM
Surely no one is actually going to pay that?

I'm taking my bairn to Alton Towers for her birthday and tickets to the park and a hotel for the night for the pair of us is cheaper than a message on a screen at ER. I know which one she'll remember in 10 years as well.

Funny you say that, but when I was four the Children's programming on ITV/STV had a birthday section halfway through. My parents sent in a card for me that was read out, and it meant the world at the time to have the feeling of being on the telly. We had sod all money growing up and although it's the adventures away in a tent that are the fondest memories, a surprise like that can feel the world. I also remember the feeling of wanting to do certain things that other families could afford but we couldn't and in hindsight, the pressure that would have put on my parents.

I'd be more comfortable if like the tickets for local groups in the FF today, there were a certain amount in the year that were set aside for those who couldn't afford it. For me, this feels like something that's going to lead to pressure being put on parents to spend £99 that they don't have once kids see it on the screen.

06-08-2023, 10:26 AM

I wanted loads of stuff as a kid. Didn’t get most of it. Hibs are looking to exploit any possible income stream. We need turnover to increase in order to improve the team.

Hibs also do loads of stuff for less fortunate kids etc.

06-08-2023, 10:31 AM

What's actually in the package? the way its worded makes it sound like its more than a message on the screen. I couldnt find this package listed on the website either.

I found the actual listing and it is just a message on a screen: https://shop.seyuselfies.com/products/happy-birthday-wish-vip-giant-screen-experience?variant=46613083390290

It seems like something is missing though because the other packages available along with this make no sense, one comes with tickets and a top, the other appears to be completely free... https://shop.seyuselfies.com/collections/hibs-vip-fan-experiences

HarpOnHibee
06-08-2023, 10:33 AM
I wanted loads of stuff as a kid. Didn’t get most of it. Hibs are looking to exploit any possible income stream. We need turnover to increase in order to improve the team.

Hibs also do loads of stuff for less fortunate kids etc.

It's a digital image on a screen. It's not some materialistic thing. Its very easy to do and doesn't cost the club anything beyond showing a bit of soul. This isn't a case of kids being too spoilt or wanting too much.

I'm all for improving the team, but if it means exploitation at every opportunity, then it's not worth it as far as I'm concerned.

06-08-2023, 10:35 AM
It's a digital image on a screen. It's not some materialistic thing. Its very easy to do and doesn't cost the club anything beyond showing a bit of soul. This isn't a case of kids being too spoilt or wanting too much.

I'm all for improving the team, but if it means exploitation at every opportunity, then it's not worth it as far as I'm concerned.

Exploitation🤣🤣🤣🤣

06-08-2023, 10:37 AM
Exploitation🤣🤣🤣🤣

It's why most supermarkets agreed not to place sweets at the tills. They know kids will see them, pressure their parents, and end up getting more money out of them by making the most of pressure power.

Otherwise, well thought out, intelligent contribution. Well done.

HarpOnHibee
06-08-2023, 10:37 AM
Exploitation🤣🤣🤣🤣

It is. Parents that can't afford it feel bad and their kids feel left out, this puts more pressure on them to pay for something that they can't really afford.

06-08-2023, 10:41 AM
What's actually in the package? the way its worded makes it sound like its more than a message on the screen. I couldnt find this package listed on the website either.

I found the actual listing and it is just a message on a screen: https://shop.seyuselfies.com/products/happy-birthday-wish-vip-giant-screen-experience?variant=46613083390290

It seems like something is missing though because the other packages available along with this make no sense, one comes with tickets and a top, the other appears to be completely free... https://shop.seyuselfies.com/collections/hibs-vip-fan-experiences

Surely and hopefully it’s just been poorly publicised/marketed and it does indeed include some valuable features (club shirt etc) and isn’t just the message.

It cannae be 99 quid for something you might miss while standing in the pie queue or having a piss 😂

06-08-2023, 10:41 AM
It is. Parents that can't afford it feel bad and their kids feel left out, this puts more pressure on them to pay for something that they can't really afford.

Where does it end, do shop's stop selling expensive clothes, do travel agents stop selling expensive holidays to disney etc. This is life unfortunately.

06-08-2023, 10:43 AM

Absolutely it will be a template that the club add picture and name too. Each one taking no more than a few minutes I’d imagine to set up. The other packages which include tickets and tops etc seem more reasonable however this just seems wrong

06-08-2023, 10:45 AM
Where does it end, do shop's stop selling expensive clothes, do travel agents stop selling expensive holidays to disney etc. This is life unfortunately.

I actually agree with your point re nobody being forced to pay a price.

It doesn’t particularly bother me (as I say I would just never use it).. just seems radge that you could literally by your kid a season ticket for less.

Guess it’s kind of like when we were laughing at the hearts toy bus/truck and whatever price that was.

06-08-2023, 10:48 AM
I actually agree with your point re nobody being forced to pay a price.

It doesn’t particularly bother me (as I say I would just never use it).. just seems radge that you could literally by your kid a season ticket for less.

Guess it’s kind of like when we were laughing at the hearts toy bus/truck and whatever price that was.

I agree, for what it is I think it's way overpriced but this talk of forcing parents to pay it etc is nonsense, I have 3 kids and they are told sometimes I can't afford something, yes they might be disappointed at the time but not the end of the world, this will be the same

06-08-2023, 11:10 AM
It's not a free top. Your paying £99.

Your getting a top along with 2 tickets to the game. In addition its not just 10 seconds on the pitch, you get three goes at it for a start. You also be stood in the middle of the pitch at Easter Rd taking it all in while you wait for the others to take turns. Plenty of photo ops and probably get to meet a player or two.
I think its well worth the money.

As for the birthday messages though. That is bang out of order unless the VIP bit is something really special which I don't think it is.

06-08-2023, 11:18 AM
American owners, American ideas, American prices. Nothing surprising about this really.

WeAreHibs
06-08-2023, 11:22 AM
It's not the club that runs it but feel free to blame them anyway.

wallpaperman
06-08-2023, 11:22 AM
Surely and hopefully it’s just been poorly publicised/marketed and it does indeed include some valuable features (club shirt etc) and isn’t just the message.

It cannae be 99 quid for something you might miss while standing in the pie queue or having a piss 😂

Wondering the same, if there is something missing, like you get a something tangible as well, that would put a different slant on it.

Strangely I can’t see anything on the club website about it, could this actually be some dodgy fake advert?

06-08-2023, 11:23 AM

That’s a good deal when you factor in tickets and the training top……along with your son/daughter having an incredible memory👍

06-08-2023, 11:30 AM
Dont want it, then dont buy it

Wait a minute, thats not fair mate. Many parents would love to be able to treat their kids but simply cant afford it. Its not a case of not wanting it. Its a case of not having the money to do it. Not everyone has cash on the hip now.

Leighonel
06-08-2023, 11:34 AM
Especially when you consider Sunshine the Leith Lynx is now our 3rd choice goalie.

Excellent.

06-08-2023, 11:38 AM
Are Hibs selling these direct, it seems to be through a 3rd party who are likely to be taking a commission for introducing the business to Hibs I suspect🤷🏼

06-08-2023, 11:40 AM
Wait a minute, thats not fair mate. Many parents would love to be able to treat their kids but simply cant afford it. Its not a case of not wanting it. Its a case of not having the money to do it. Not everyone has cash on the hip now.

Is that not how life is and how its always been. What if its a Hibs top, a pair of descent football boots, a school trip, a new phone, a playstation etc, etc...some kids will get, some kids won't.
As a kid growing up we had duck all and I mean duck all (struggled with basics like food and heating at times). Mates done stuff and had stuff I would have loved but wouldn't dream of asking my mum for them. Unfortunately its just the way the world is.

HarpOnHibee
06-08-2023, 11:48 AM
Is that not how life is and how its always been. What if its a Hibs top, a pair of descent football boots, a school trip, a new phone, a playstation etc, etc...some kids will get, some kids won't.

It isn't. It's an image on a screen for several seconds. All these things you mention go through a multitude of complex manufacturing processes that require material and skilled labour. So it makes sense for them to cost money. These are not good comparisons.

06-08-2023, 11:49 AM
That's crazy, I'm not mad at Hibs, just disappointed.

06-08-2023, 11:55 AM
Yes agree, will probably pay for itself with extra match tickets sold to relatives. When a friend of my daughter son played on the pitch there was 8 extra tickets purchased.

06-08-2023, 12:00 PM
It's not the club that runs it but feel free to blame them anyway.

So if the club subbies it to someone who then rips fans off, that's not the clubs fault?

06-08-2023, 12:05 PM
Nothing controversial in that post of mine that got deleted. Pretty Boy can you DM me and let me know the issue.

06-08-2023, 12:05 PM
The birthday message cost is not on. Celtic are charging £10 and £20 depending on the message on screen.

Jay
06-08-2023, 12:06 PM
Can we have a discussion - whether your for this initiative or not - without having snidey digs at people whose opinion is different to your please or we will find another thread unfortunately closed

06-08-2023, 12:18 PM
If a parent feels pressure from their kids to pay £99 for a birthday message they're doing it wrong.

If my son took a strop because he never appeared on a screen I'd threaten to add him to the 7,000+ Tynecastle waiting list.

06-08-2023, 12:24 PM
If a parent feels pressure from their kids to pay £99 for a birthday message they're doing it wrong.

If my son took a strop because he never appeared on a screen I'd threaten to add him to the 7,000+ Tynecastle waiting list.

Exactly what I said.

06-08-2023, 12:44 PM
£6 for a selfie on the big screen.

mixumatosis
06-08-2023, 01:12 PM
Finding it very hard to believe that there isn't something missing from that advert.

Who in their right mind would choose to pay £99 for a picture to be displayed on a big screen for a matter of seconds, rather than getting 2 tickets to a game, your kid gets to go out on the pitch and gets a top for the same price ?

I strongly suspect you get all the same stuff (shirt and tickets) chucked in with the birthday deal and the advert's just wrong.

06-08-2023, 01:20 PM
I strongly suspect you get all the same stuff (shirt and tickets) chucked in with the birthday deal and the advert's just wrong.

I expect you are correct.

06-08-2023, 01:56 PM

That's the same for loads of things though - strips, season tickets, a half time pie, priority for away games etc.

Surely can't use that as the argument to say you shouldn't do it? If they made it a tenner it would still be out of reach for some people.

06-08-2023, 03:36 PM
I don't mind the charge, but half that would've been more than enough.

Jay
06-08-2023, 05:14 PM
Your getting a top along with 2 tickets to the game. In addition its not just 10 seconds on the pitch, you get three goes at it for a start. You also be stood in the middle of the pitch at Easter Rd taking it all in while you wait for the others to take turns. Plenty of photo ops and probably get to meet a player or two.
I think its well worth the money.

As for the birthday messages though. That is bang out of order unless the VIP bit is something really special which I don't think it is.

I agree it's a good deal if you want all that stuff. I was pointing out that it's not a free top by any means

06-08-2023, 05:21 PM
Don't they get anything else to go with the message for £100? That sounds very expensive.

Torto7062
06-08-2023, 06:03 PM

That's came down in price, I paid £160 + vat years ago for my lad the season Rankin scored his squiggler goals against Celtic.....he tried the same lol