View Full Version : Crowd for the Luzern game
This post is NOT aimed at folk who can't afford to attend this or any other Hibs game.
It always bemuses me when folk come onto a site dedicated to a football club, a site which by its very nature exists so that people who are enthusiastic about football in general and Hibs in particular can spend their time discussing the club, to tell us all that folk simply not wanting to turn up to a particular game shouldn't be a reason to question their commitment or level of support for the club.
Turning up to support the team if you can is surely at the very core of what it means to be a supporter of a football club .... What sets football fans all over the world apart from simply being a 'customer' is that dedication to following their club. For sure some games are more attractive than others, you don't expect as good a crowd for a league cup group game against Airdrie as for a quarter final tie against Aberdeen or Motherwell ... that is to be expected and applies to practically every country where football is played, no matter how well supported a club is.
But this is a European match against decent opposition, the weather on the night is expected to be nice, the prize for getting through the tie is what for many fans has been a game we have long wanted to see, even though the price for that will almost certainly be elimination from the competition. The cost of tickets for it is hardly extortionate in terms of what Hibs charge for a normal league game.
IMO anybody who claims to be a Hibs 'fan' ( amusingly short for fanatic ) who simply doesn't want to attend this game because they can see it on the telly or because they've spit the dummy over a poor performance on Sunday would have a job proving in court that they have any real feeling for the club they claim to 'support' ... if you claim to 'support' Hibernian Football Club then do that ... SUPPORT IT.
👏 very well put.
Quadrophenia
09-08-2023, 01:12 PM
👏 very well put.
Spot on mate.That is a post that is hard to argue with.(some no doubt will)
This post is NOT aimed at folk who can't afford to attend this or any other Hibs game.
It always bemuses me when folk come onto a site dedicated to a football club, a site which by its very nature exists so that people who are enthusiastic about football in general and Hibs in particular can spend their time discussing the club, to tell us all that folk simply not wanting to turn up to a particular game shouldn't be a reason to question their commitment or level of support for the club.
Turning up to support the team if you can is surely at the very core of what it means to be a supporter of a football club .... What sets football fans all over the world apart from simply being a 'customer' is that dedication to following their club. For sure some games are more attractive than others, you don't expect as good a crowd for a league cup group game against Airdrie as for a quarter final tie against Aberdeen or Motherwell ... that is to be expected and applies to practically every country where football is played, no matter how well supported a club is.
But this is a European match against decent opposition, the weather on the night is expected to be nice, the prize for getting through the tie is what for many fans has been a game we have long wanted to see, even though the price for that will almost certainly be elimination from the competition. The cost of tickets for it is hardly extortionate in terms of what Hibs charge for a normal league game.
IMO anybody who claims to be a Hibs 'fan' ( amusingly short for fanatic ) who simply doesn't want to attend this game because they can see it on the telly or because they've spit the dummy over a poor performance on Sunday would have a job proving in court that they have any real feeling for the club they claim to 'support' ... if you claim to 'support' Hibernian Football Club then do that ... SUPPORT IT.
100% agree (and very well put!)
09-08-2023, 01:18 PM
To be fair the three sections behind the goal are already sold out (the only sold out sections in the ground). I think that’s pretty good going in only the second game of the trial. The feedback after the game last week was very positive in the contribution it made to the atmosphere. If it were to become permanent then I’m sure the numbers would grow
It’s not bad but I thought we wanted to fill the FF, it’s an ideal opportunity for everybody advocating this to support it. I just thought folk would be scrambling for tickets in there for the Lucerne game.
09-08-2023, 01:35 PM
It's not for me to decide what level of support or commitment another should show to a football club. Not can, as you rightly point out, should. The truth is, there's no obligation for anyone to do anything when it comes to Hibs.
I know several people who pick and choose which games they attend and while a European tie seems mightily attractive to you and I, maybe they'd rather finish decorating the bathroom on Thursday or spend time with their grandparents and watch it, possibly with them, on TV.
Although I know it's not how you intend it, but when push comes to shove, it's simply an uber fan argument in reverse.
nickwhibs
09-08-2023, 01:46 PM
It’s not bad but I thought we wanted to fill the FF, it’s an ideal opportunity for everybody advocating this to support it. I just thought folk would be scrambling for tickets in there for the Lucerne game.
I thought it would fully sell out too. Though I guess it’s mainly down to the feeling amongst the support generally just now. Hopefully it might still as the game approaches. I also hope the sales improve across the other stands too as this is a really big game
09-08-2023, 01:57 PM
Spot on mate.That is a post that is hard to argue with.(some no doubt will)
Oi .... after the fortnight you've had mate the last thing you need is to be getting wound up by folks ramblings on here, or reading my babble :greengrin
Get yersel away and chill as much as you can, there'll still be plenty o' the season left for Hibs tae drive ye nuts when you come back :aok:
09-08-2023, 02:02 PM
I thought it would fully sell out too. Though I guess it’s mainly down to the feeling amongst the support generally just now. Hopefully it might still as the game approaches. I also hope the sales improve across the other stands too as this is a really big game
I hope so but there’s currently around 700-800 tickets unsold for the lower part of the FF alone, and we’re only one day away from the game, a huge European game.
09-08-2023, 02:09 PM
To be fair the three sections behind the goal are already sold out (the only sold out sections in the ground). I think that’s pretty good going in only the second game of the trial. The feedback after the game last week was very positive in the contribution it made to the atmosphere. If it were to become permanent then I’m sure the numbers would grow
Yup great effort and more than the Inter game already.
09-08-2023, 02:19 PM
It's not for me to decide what level of support or commitment another should show to a football club. Not can, as you rightly point out, should. The truth is, there's no obligation for anyone to do anything when it comes to Hibs.
I know several people who pick and choose which games they attend and while a European tie seems mightily attractive to you and I, maybe they'd rather finish decorating the bathroom on Thursday or spend time with their grandparents and watch it, possibly with them, on TV.
Although I know it's not how you intend it, but when push comes to shove, it's simply an uber fan argument in reverse.
Jeez mate ... My post was anything but that. I wasn't saying folk should follow the club home and away or be busting a gut to follow it away in Europe .... That is uber fan stuff and in that regard I certainly don't qualify. In my post I even accepted that some games simply aren't attractive enough to get a big crowd, especially ones where Hibs are expected to win, as in the aforementioned example of a LC group tie against the likes of Airdrie.
Expecting folk to turn out to support the club they claim to be fans of in a European tie we are far from guaranteed to win is hardly asking folk to be uber fans ... in fact its the sort of game you would think folk claiming to support the club would make a point of going to in order to try and create the sort of atmosphere that might just carry us through. There was 17,000 plus at Easter Road on Sunday, I find it hard to believe we can't replicate that attendance on Thursday because folk visit their grandparents that day or simply have to finish painting the bog.
IMO what I'm looking for from our support is the bare minimum you should expect from a clubs supporters ... it's not an uber fan argument in reverse or forward or any direction you care to name :bitchy:
09-08-2023, 02:27 PM
Jeez mate ... My post was anything but that. I wasn't saying folk should follow the club home and away or be busting a gut to follow it away in Europe .... That is uber fan stuff and in that regard I certainly don't qualify. In my post I even accepted that some games simply aren't attractive enough to get a big crowd, especially ones where Hibs are expected to win, as in the aforementioned example of a LC group tie against the likes of Airdrie.
Expecting folk to turn out to support the club they claim to be fans of in a European tie we are far from guaranteed to win is hardly asking folk to be uber fans ... in fact its the sort of game you would think folk claiming to support the club would make a point of going to in order to try and create the sort of atmosphere that might just carry us through. There was 17,000 plus at Easter Road on Sunday, I find it hard to believe we can't replicate that attendance on Thursday because folk visit their grandparents that day or simply have to finish painting the bog.
IMO what I'm looking for from our support is the bare minimum you should expect from a clubs supporters ... it's not an uber fan argument in reverse or forward or any direction you care to name :bitchy:
Just go to the game if you want to go and can. Don’t worry about how other people spend their time or money. That’s about the long and short of it all.
09-08-2023, 02:28 PM
technically hibbyradge is right, in that failing to meet a 'bare minimum' could be seen as creating a category of 'unter-fans'...but obviously that's not the sentiment you were going for, more of a 'oh FFS guys, can we not all come out and show support for THIS game?!", which is an entirely valid PoV i think.
09-08-2023, 02:33 PM
Yup great effort and more than the Inter game already.
That’s all you can ask is numbers are better than inter Especially after a home defeat to st midden I am in Arran or would of been there Hope many more tickets get sold
Greenio
09-08-2023, 02:33 PM
You can be a Hibs fan and not go to any matches. You can't judge people on your expectations of what they should do.
Like your passion tho!
09-08-2023, 02:34 PM
technically hibbyradge is right, in that failing to meet a 'bare minimum' could be seen as creating a category of 'unter-fans'...but obviously that's not the sentiment you were going for, more of a 'oh FFS guys, can we not all come out and show support for THIS game?!", which is an entirely valid PoV i think.
I did say that I knew it wasn't his intention.
However, when we start talking about proving your Hibbiness in court, or words to that effect, it can't be called anything else but judging people.
I'd like to say that I'm not going on Thursday because I can't get back to York after the game, but the truth is I'm not going because I'm painting my grandparents on TV.
And I'll stand by that in a court of law. :greengrin
09-08-2023, 02:36 PM
I think it's fair to be a bit disappointed that the attendance won't be particularly high, without it being a dig at fellow fans.
I would love to have seen us with an attendance similar to Sunday's but I'm not judging anybody that either can't or won't go.
OstKurve Hibs
09-08-2023, 02:41 PM
Anyone notice on the etcketing website, season ticket holders got a £5 discount, but for some reason u18 sth price was same as a non season ticket holder at £15.
That was ff lower anyway, didn't check other stands
09-08-2023, 02:43 PM
Just go to the game if you want to go and can. Don’t worry about how other people spend their time or money. That’s about the long and short of it all.
I'm a fitba fan. I'm a Hibs fan. I prefer to sit in a sold out stadium than one that's half full and especially when it's my clubs stadium. I prefer a good atmosphere to a crap atmosphere, its about the most basic fitba fan outlook you could ever think of. If espousing that point of view on a football fans forum isn't appropriate I'm at a loss to think that any subject to do with the club or football in general is worth discussion on here or any fans forum :dunno:
09-08-2023, 02:45 PM
I think it's fair to be a bit disappointed that the attendance won't be particularly high, without it being a dig at fellow fans.
I would love to have seen us with an attendance similar to Sunday's but I'm not judging anybody that either can't or won't go.
That’s the point, it doesn’t do anything to elevate our standing when the stadium is half full on a European night which is not having ago at fellow supporters it’s just generally disappointing and helps fuel other agendas.
ErinGoBraghHFC
09-08-2023, 02:45 PM
I did say that I knew it wasn't his intention.
However, when we start talking about proving your Hibbiness in court, or words to that effect, it can't be called anything else but judging people.
I'd like to say that I'm not going on Thursday because I can't get back to York after the game, but the truth is I'm not going because I'm painting my grandparents on TV.
And I'll stand by that in a court of law. :greengrin
You’re painting your grandparents on tv? What programme? My mrs likes all that stuff so I’ll probably see you on the telly at some point [emoji23]
09-08-2023, 02:59 PM
I also think it’s disappointing that FF lower has been given over to the singing section and we’re struggling to get that sold out. There’s an opportunity for people who’ve been advocating this for years to pack the whole lower tier out on a big European night and show the club that this is the way forward. It was a great effort last week against the part timers but this could very well be the last European game for a while, so packing it out would be good and a statement for change.
To be fair they did a decent job in the last round and probably had around 400 which is double what I expected. They are a small group though so it is all about whether the displacement of other fans will be worth it and if you think their number will grow. I'm think the time is right as there isn't a huge risk in moving very cheap kids seats and to be honest it may work which is good and if it doesn't at least it stops teh constant discussions on the topic which is also good. I actually think the noise from the East was greater in teh last round because Block 7 moved and despite the modest numbers I thought the experiment was a success.
09-08-2023, 02:59 PM
You’re painting your grandparents on tv? What programme? My mrs likes all that stuff so I’ll probably see you on the telly at some point [emoji23]
It's a new niche channel, but she's exactly the demographic we're aiming at.
I'll PM you the details later.
09-08-2023, 03:03 PM
That’s the point, it doesn’t do anything to elevate our standing when the stadium is half full on a European night which is not having ago at fellow supporters it’s just generally disappointing and helps fuel other agendas.
Loads of clubs have difficulty selling all their tickets for European games. In fact, it's often easy to go and see the likes of Man U, Liverpool or Arsenal for an early Euro tie when it's almost impossible to get tickets to a league game.
09-08-2023, 03:05 PM
To be fair they did a decent job in the last round and probably had around 400 which is double what I expected. They are a small group though so it is all about whether the displacement of other fans will be worth it and if you think their number will grow. I'm think the time is right as there isn't a huge risk in moving very cheap kids seats and to be honest it may work which is good and if it doesn't at least it stops teh constant discussions on the topic which is also good. I actually think the noise from the East was greater in teh last round because Block 7 moved and despite the modest numbers I thought the experiment was a success.
There’s nothing wrong with the great atmosphere they brought, I just thought that filling the lower FF for a big European tie when there’s a lot of interest in this initiative would have been quickly taken up. Great on those who have bought tickets just thought there would have been more. Still time I I hope.
09-08-2023, 03:08 PM
Loads of clubs have difficulty selling all their tickets for European games. In fact, it's often easy to go and see the likes of Man U, Liverpool or Arsenal for an early Euro tie when it's almost impossible to get tickets to a league game.
Very true but Man U don’t have only 2 Euro ties in 5 years. It’s like we look at it as the holy grail and then don’t want to go to the games when we get there but I do understand your point.
09-08-2023, 03:12 PM
Very true but Man U don’t have only 2 Euro ties in 5 years. It’s like we look at it as the holy grail and then don’t want to go to the games when we get there but I do understand your point.
I reckon we’ll end up with 13-14k which I don’t think is bad in a week. That’s 13-14k who actually have to buy a ticket and turn up as opposed the many seats sold but unoccupied at a league game where the ‘attendance’ is bigger.
It’s a quick turnaround for folk between rounds, I still reckon we’ll get a decent push on sales between now and tomorrow night when there is actually a bit of urgency to get a ticket.
09-08-2023, 03:37 PM
I reckon we’ll end up with 13-14k which I don’t think is bad in a week. That’s 13-14k who actually have to buy a ticket and turn up as opposed the many seats sold but unoccupied at a league game where the ‘attendance’ is bigger.
It’s a quick turnaround for folk between rounds, I still reckon we’ll get a decent push on sales between now and tomorrow night when there is actually a bit of urgency to get a ticket.
If we get 13-14k that would be a magnificent effort from our fans for 3 games in a week
yeah, it can be an expensive time of year for some with the kids going back to school and uniforms etc to buy, plus they may be either away on holiday or skint because of being on holiday, and with 2 European home legs in a week, plus the associated travel costs to ER.
I’ve got my tickets for tomorrow (and was there last week) but truth be told I doubt I’ll be able to make the next round if/when we get through, as it’ll be a third match before getting paid again, but who knows :dunno:
09-08-2023, 06:48 PM
It would appear that the Rangers fans are all back from holiday for tonight’s game. 😉😂
jakeshibs
09-08-2023, 09:00 PM
We are quick to point the finger at the board or the manager for failings on the park, however this season they have invested large amounts of money on the playing side and we as supporters have got our bit to do to help bring any success and that is to back our club, home and away, we should do all we can to fill our allocation.
We have a role to play and far too much moaning and excuses about why we cant go, or wont go however when and if we get to finals there you all are.
its in difficult times you need a support, mon the cabbage lets get behind them, anyone older than ten has seen much worse hibs sides than what is currently on offer, stop slagging our own team, get behind them and show them on the park how much its means to us all.
Basildon Hibs
09-08-2023, 09:09 PM
We are quick to point the finger at the board or the manager for failings on the park, however this season they have invested large amounts of money on the playing side and we as supporters have got our bit to do to help bring any success and that is to back our club, home and away, we should do all we can to fill our allocation.
We have a role to play and far too much moaning and excuses about why we cant go, or wont go however when and if we get to finals there you all are.
its in difficult times you need a support, mon the cabbage lets get behind them, anyone older than ten has seen much worse hibs sides than what is currently on offer, stop slagging our own team, get behind them and show them on the park how much its means to us all.
The 'manager' has invested nothing.
😉
10-08-2023, 05:59 AM
😉
Take a day off ffs. Some of us have a big game tonight.
10-08-2023, 06:18 AM
Take a day off ffs. Some of us have a big game tonight.
Well said Flash.
Let the people who have bought tickets or will buy tickets today enjoy the game tonight and lets hope it's another historic match in our club's rich European tradition.
To those who for whatever reason can't make the match then I hope you are able to catch it on tv.
Love European nights.
GGTTH.
10-08-2023, 06:22 AM
Well said Flash.
Let the people who have bought tickets or will buy tickets today enjoy the game tonight and lets hope it's another historic match in our club's rich European tradition.
To those who for whatever reason can't make the match then I hope you are able to catch it on tv.
Love European nights.
GGTTH.
Yep, thankfully my local gets BBC Scotland so I'll be off there once the kids are in bed. Really buzzing, even if Sunday was a ****show. This isn't a game against Albanian shoemakers in the Intertitty Cup, the reward for progressing through this tie is epic, both in finance and glamour, and we really need to bring a lead over to Switzerland.
10-08-2023, 06:24 AM
Well said Flash.
Love European nights.
GGTTH.
Aye I still have fond memories of nights like AEK at Easter Road.
Not to forget being lucky enough to make several trips abroad when I was young, free and half daft.
The weather forecast is great, the opposition look decent but not unbeatable and the winners get Super John Mcginn coming to visit.
Anyone wavering get yourself along and help the team in their hour of need.
10-08-2023, 06:42 AM
Not to forget being lucky enough to make several trips abroad when I was young, free and half daft.
The weather forecast is great, the opposition look decent but not unbeatable and the winners get Super John Mcginn coming to visit.
If we do get through the club will definitely be charging cat A prices at least and will be slated for it from some quarters as usual. Then the whole debate will start again.
Just imagine the uproar if we ever make the group stages.
10-08-2023, 06:45 AM
If we do get through the club will definitely be charging cat A prices at least and will be slated for it from some quarters as usual. Then the whole debate will start again.
Think we might have to wait until next season for the groups.......
Trinity Hibee
10-08-2023, 06:46 AM
I don’t think folk will complain about villa prices if we get there. It’s the biggest tie we’ll likely get in Europe and we’ll sell out no bother. I say that as someone who didn’t agree with the pricing for todays game.
10-08-2023, 07:05 AM
This, 100%.
I really hope we put on a rangers at Hampden 2021 (2004 and 2016 too!) Type of display with a result to match where many didn't buy tickets for fear of a poor result or because we were in poor form in the run up.
If you can afford to go, go, you might just miss out on a huge result.
10-08-2023, 07:14 AM
Well said Flash.
Love European nights.
GGTTH.
Totally agree. Love this club.
10-08-2023, 07:31 AM
Really hope we shift a good number of tickets today and get a half decent crowd in. I think last week was similar in that a lot of folk bought late.
10-08-2023, 07:54 AM
😉
You might not like the manager or his tactics but, like all of the previous incumbents, nobody can fault the time and effort these guys put in to the role of being Hibs manager. A tough, time consuming job I imagine.
😉
Except his career.
10-08-2023, 08:25 AM
Really hope we shift a good number of tickets today and get a half decent crowd in. I think last week was similar in that a lot of folk bought late.
I think the pricing is sightly off for this. £25 for a non ST holder is slightly on the steep side for a game live on the bbc imo.
10-08-2023, 08:35 AM
Bizarre to me that anyones sole reason for missing tonight is the manager. We're in Europe tonight as a result of our performance last season, that's the target for any Hibs manager is to achieve that is it not with one of our best ever top6 showings with some big results? His comments after Andorra were not the cleverest and yes we lost Sunday to start but we've held on to worse for longer who achieved far less.
I was away and not able to attend Sunday so as far as I'm concerned it didn't happen. Clean slate tonight for me for the new season and can't wait for it. I'm sure it will be a great atmosphere and hopefully a perfect night for us and I hope the Vente show.
HIBS NUTS
10-08-2023, 08:43 AM
I’m old and lucky enough to remember many great hibs games, the ones that stand out, are cup finals, and european games, because they are special, european games, are my particular favourite, as we probably won’t see these teams ever again at easter road.
I’m a season ticket holder, but i would much rather miss games against scottish teams, than these fantastic events.
The 2016 cup final was the ultimate, i can’t imagine sitting in the house watching that one.
Sporting Lisbon 6-1 👍🏻Liverpool1-0👍🏻and many more.
10-08-2023, 08:48 AM
I think around 14K is a pretty good effort for any midweek game.
Truth is there are just more reasons for missing a midweek game than there are for a Saturday. I'd wager the number of people not going because they are in a huff with the manager is pretty negligible.
It's an expensive week. Game on Sunday and even for those with STs there are costs over and above just a ticket, a game last Thursday and then a game tonight. Throw in Motherwell on Sunday and it's an expensive week. Those who travel from outside Edinburgh or the immediate satellite towns will also find it harder to make every midweek game. A majority of people still work Monday to Friday so work will impact some. Kids go back to school next week so if parents are anything like me they will be desperately trying to get kids back into a routine (my daughter is going tonight but it's her last late night of the holidays). As of yesterday I wasn't going as my wife works back shift and my childcare for my youngest let me down; that's sorted so now I'm going but I daresay the working routines of spouses is more of an issue midweek as well.
There are probably a whole host of other reasons as well. Looking at it objectively the Hibs fanbase is supporting the team in a way not seen for 40 years or more in terms of regular numbers and STs sold. I honestly think some people have forgotten just how bad our crowds were for years and years. 14K would have been hailed as a great achievement a decade or so ago and for much of the 2 decades before that as well.
10-08-2023, 08:49 AM
Gutted Im missing out on these 2 euro games. Would have been home and away , but this dafty managed to book holiday flying on both the exact dates.. Praying we get through to play Villa to make up for that. We deserve a big game like that for our support , especially our away fans who were excellent last season..
LewysGot2
10-08-2023, 08:52 AM
Truth is there are just more reasons for missing a midweek game than there are for a Saturday. I'd wager the number of people not going because they are in a huff with the manager is pretty negligible.
It’s been an expensive week. Game on Sunday and even for those with STs there are costs over and above just a ticket, a game last Thursday and then a game tonight. Throw in Motherwell on Sunday and it's an expensive week.
There are probably a whole host of other reasons as well. Looking at it objectively the Hibs fanbase is supporting the team in a way not seen for 40 years or more in terms of regular numbers and STs sold. I honestly think some people have forgotten just how bad our crowds were for years and years. 14K would have been hailed as a great achievement a decade or so ago.
And the Raith tickets were on sale before Luzern tickets :agree:
sean04
10-08-2023, 09:02 AM
If we had put a good performance in on Sunday and won they crowd would good. If we were playing good football then the crowd would br good. If the support was fully behind the Manager the crowd would be good. I'm going on Hope more than expectation tonight, fearing the worst.
Every time we get a good crowd the team doesn't show up. All the fans who are stretching there budget aren't going to fork out to go to the game when it's on TV. Also a lot of fans I've spoken to don't want us to get through as villa will absolutely destroy us, could become ridiculous against then, couldn't have got a worse draw
10-08-2023, 09:08 AM
And the Raith tickets were on sale before Luzern tickets :agree:
I think they made a mistake there. Should have gone on sale to Season Ticket holders tomorrow and general sale from Sunday.
I do think all the affordability chat will gone if it comes to Aston Villa tickets!!!
10-08-2023, 09:10 AM
I don't think the result on Sunday will have any baring on tonight's crowd. If it does it'll be negligible. If people can afford it but aren't going to a European game because we lost to a late St Mirren goal when trying to get a winner than that's their problem. Johnsons team have proved they can win big games at Easter Road. I'm not saying we'll win, i actually think the Swiss will have too much for us over the two legs but you never know. What i do know is the team need our support.
If we had put a good performance in on Sunday and won they crowd would good. If we were playing good football then the crowd would br good. If the support was fully behind the Manager the crowd would be good. I'm going on Hope more than expectation tonight, fearing the worst.
Every time we get a good crowd the team doesn't show up. All the fans who are stretching there budget aren't going to fork out to go to the game when it's on TV. Also a lot of fans I've spoken to don't want us to get through as villa will absolutely destroy us, could become ridiculous against then, couldn't have got a worse draw
got a good crowd last week, team showed up and won handsomely. Plenty fans stretched their budget to go last week when the game was on tv.
we played ***** on Sunday, today is a different game, let’s get behind the team
10-08-2023, 10:03 AM
It's an expensive week. Game on Sunday and even for those with STs there are costs over and above just a ticket, a game last Thursday and then a game tonight. Throw in Motherwell on Sunday and it's an expensive week. Those who travel from outside Edinburgh or the immediate satellite towns will also find it harder to make every midweek game. A majority of people still work Monday to Friday so work will impact some. Kids go back to school next week so if parents are anything like me they will be desperately trying to get kids back into a routine (my daughter is going tonight but it's her last late night of the holidays). As of yesterday I wasn't going as my wife works back shift and my childcare for my youngest let me down; that's sorted so now I'm going but I daresay the working routines of spouses is more of an issue midweek as well.
There are probably a whole host of other reasons as well. Looking at it objectively the Hibs fanbase is supporting the team in a way not seen for 40 years or more in terms of regular numbers and STs sold. I honestly think some people have forgotten just how bad our crowds were for years and years. 14K would have been hailed as a great achievement a decade or so ago and for much of the 2 decades before that as well.
I haven't mate. I still remember being quite excited because Hibs got a crowd over 9,000 for a season opener against Motherwell and being part of crowds far lower than that for league games in the 80s and 90s.
When our crowds shot up post 2016 I said at the time folk should make the most of it because it was highly unlikely we would hold on to an 18,000 average for any length of time. My hope was that on the back of 2016 our hardcore support would go up from 8 to 9 thousand to something more like 11 or 12 thousand. To be fair that appears to have happened and it's something to build on.
If I'm critical over this game it's because of the nature of it. Its a European game against a team we will find it hard against, that was magnified as the Sticky Buns struggled to put away a team from the same league at home last night, in front of a full house I might add .. I presume Sticky Buns don't have kids going back to school or lavvies to paint.
We have proved time and again over the last 7 years that crowds of 17 to 18 thousand are far from beyond us and tonight is a game I would have expected us to reach close to that figure for .... If we don't and folk aren't disappointed by it they should be. I'm pretty sure the club will be.
10-08-2023, 10:14 AM
From a quick fag packet calculation I would guess we have sold about 11000 so far excluding hospitality
10-08-2023, 10:44 AM
From a quick fag packet calculation I would guess we have sold about 11000 so far excluding hospitality
That’s not much better than Dundee Utd can muster which is poor for Hibs in Europe no matter what way you look at it.
10-08-2023, 10:48 AM
That’s not much better than Dundee Utd can muster which is poor for Hibs in Europe no matter what way you look at it.
Dundee Utd got under 10100 Vs AZ, we will get a fair amount more than that
10-08-2023, 10:49 AM
What is more important the result or the attendance? I know which I think is more important and it certainly is not the attendance
I was/am (still clinging to hope) that we manage to at least get it to a similar attendance to last week, although accept cost, holidays, midweek commitments etc will be factors for people
10-08-2023, 10:56 AM
We'd have 20k v Aston Villa. Lets just win tonight.
He's here!
10-08-2023, 10:58 AM
I was/am (still clinging to hope) that we manage to at least get it to a similar attendance to last week, although accept cost, holidays, midweek commitments etc will be factors for people
It's on TV and for many shelling out for three home games in seven days, especially if you're taking kids with you, just isn't on. Sunday's performance against St Mirren will also have plenty of fans sceptical about whether tonight is worth paying for.
Personally I hate the way pretty much ANY European tie involving a Scottish club gets live TV coverage these days. When we're only at the qualifying stage I just don't think it merits it. But then I'm so old school that I'd advocate a return to 3pm Saturday and 7.30pm Wednesday kick-offs for ALL UK football games, no exceptions.
10-08-2023, 10:59 AM
I think they made a mistake there. Should have gone on sale to Season Ticket holders tomorrow and general sale from Sunday.
I do think all the affordability chat will gone if it comes to Aston Villa tickets!!!
It definitely would, because we are very unlikely to ever play a competitive game against a team at the level villa currently are. I'd be making the effort to go, nevermind people that live much closer.
10-08-2023, 10:59 AM
If we were playing Villa tonight it would be sold out regardless of affordability, holidays etc. Folk would be scrambling for tickets. Not everyone can go, not everyone can afford it but there should be enough Hibs fans out there to sell more than this. It’s probably the last European tie at Easter Road for at least a year. If we get through it’s huge.
10-08-2023, 11:02 AM
Prime game for chasing the tourist / occasional fan surely?
Edinburgh Festival always seems like an obvious marketing opportunity to me.
10-08-2023, 11:05 AM
What is more important the result or the attendance? I know which I think is more important and it certainly is not the attendance
Is it the result? :greengrin
10-08-2023, 11:08 AM
Is it the result? :greengrin
Less of your cheek Mr K
You can only count on ST members, I think we’re close to 13k of them, tonight’s and last weeks attendance would show my point, people have other commitments/concerns so don’t commit same for midweek not everyone can knock off work for example.
I’m not a ST holder was there Thurs/Sunday with the boy travelling from the west 3 trips in one month isn’t viable costs too much I’ll be infront of the telly tonight be many fowk in the same boat and some that have to work etc etc
ST holders is your bread n butter attendance anything above that is a bonus
10-08-2023, 11:09 AM
There’s been a big queue at the ticket office this morning both times I’ve passed.
10-08-2023, 11:10 AM
There’s been a big queue at the ticket office this morning both times I’ve passed.
People wanting refunds?
10-08-2023, 11:19 AM
Good to hear
10-08-2023, 11:20 AM
It's on TV and for many shelling out for three home games in seven days, especially if you're taking kids with you, just isn't on. Sunday's performance against St Mirren will also have plenty of fans sceptical about whether tonight is worth paying for.
Personally I hate the way pretty much ANY European tie involving a Scottish club gets live TV coverage these days. When we're only at the qualifying stage I just don't think it merits it. But then I'm so old school that I'd advocate a return to 3pm Saturday and 7.30pm Wednesday kick-offs for ALL UK football games, no exceptions.
Why isn't it on? Most will go some wont.
10-08-2023, 11:29 AM
It amazes me how much Scottish football has fallen and how prominent the English game has become, largely through the power of tv companies and sky in particular. We were always aware of English football of course but the fixation people have with it now is to the detriment of our game. No criticism of those who follow English football intended.
10-08-2023, 11:32 AM
Glad to hear you are regular.
I have to collect tickets tonight, aiming to arrive 30mins prior to KO. What's the usual wait time in the queue?
10-08-2023, 11:36 AM
I don't think its an either / or situation mate.
The attendance is important both financially and to help the team get up for it in this game .. what's better 11,000 cheering you on or 17,000 ... you don't have to be a genius to guess what the players would say.
The result is massive, as I said on another thread, a game against Aston Villa could easily net the club over half a million quid through ticket sales etc and net it the same in UEFA prize money ... it would be a million quid game, roughly the same as we would make for getting to the Scottish cup final.
10-08-2023, 11:38 AM
I have to collect tickets tonight, aiming to arrive 30mins prior to KO. What's the usual wait time in the queue?
I’d suggest arriving earlier than that. I’m usually at ground half an hour early and ticket queue is usually pretty mobbed
10-08-2023, 11:39 AM
It could be long tonight especially if there is a large uptake this afternoon
OstKurve Hibs
10-08-2023, 11:51 AM
Have to agree about the pricing being a bit high for this, surely 15 an adult n 10er for u18s woulda parked another few thousand erses on seats, the club will get tv money so they won't give a **** about making the prices what they are now as that will make up the difference no doubt.
Found it strakge aswell that when I bought the tickets for me and my nephew on Tuesday all season ticket age categories received a £5 discount aprt from under 18s which was £15 regardless of whether you were a season ticket holder or not.
If we were playing Villa tonight it would be sold out regardless of affordability, holidays etc. Folk would be scrambling for tickets. Not everyone can go, not everyone can afford it but there should be enough Hibs fans out there to sell more than this. It’s probably the last European tie at Easter Road for at least a year. If we get through it’s huge.
oh I agree, I was there last week and will be tonight, although ironically I likely won’t be there if we get through to play Villa
10-08-2023, 12:49 PM
Have to agree about the pricing being a bit high for this, surely 15 an adult n 10er for u18s woulda parked another few thousand erses on seats, the club will get tv money so they won't give a **** about making the prices what they are now as that will make up the difference no doubt.
Found it strakge aswell that when I bought the tickets for me and my nephew on Tuesday all season ticket age categories received a £5 discount aprt from under 18s which was £15 regardless of whether you were a season ticket holder or not.
The prices were announced well before the agreement was reached with BBC.
Don’t let that stop you having a swipe at the club though
HFC93
10-08-2023, 01:00 PM
I've just had a quick look and we had 14,148 against Asteras Tripolis and 13,454 against Brondby. It sounds like we'll have about 13/14k at the game tonight which is in line with what we usually get at these sort of games. What's the issue here
10-08-2023, 01:18 PM
This Saturday Eastleigh v Wealdstone in the National League, the 5th tier of English football, is £18 for an adult ticket. If you want a seat at AFC Fylde v Chesterfield in the same league its £20 for an adult ticket. That's the 5th tier of English football, not even league 2.
£25 for an adult ticket for a Europa league qualifying tie against what will be a decent level of opposition is hardly excessive when you look at that. There's a chance our new £700,000 striker will play his first game for us on our new £1,000,000 pitch ... hopefully he'll knock in a cross from one of the two guys we've just paid £300,000 each for. Still lets charge less than clubs in the semi pro English leagues.
10-08-2023, 01:19 PM
This Saturday Eastleigh v Wealdstone in the National League, the 5th tier of English football, is £18 for an adult ticket. If you want a seat at AFC Fylde v Chesterfield in the same league its £20 for an adult ticket. That's the 5th tier of English football, not even league 2.
£25 for an adult ticket for a Europa league qualifying tie against what will be a decent level of opposition is hardly excessive when you look at that. There's a chance our new £700,000 striker will play his first game for us on our new £1,000,000 pitch ... hopefully he'll knock in a cross from one of the two guys we've just paid £300,000 each for. Still lets charge less than clubs in the semi pro English leagues.
That got me a wee bit giddy :greengrin
DIXIHIBS
10-08-2023, 01:21 PM
I've just had a quick look and we had 14,148 against Asteras Tripolis and 13,454 against Brondby. It sounds like we'll have about 13/14k at the game tonight which is in line with what we usually get at these sort of games. What's the issue here
Agreed. No real issue. A couple of posters desperately trying to talk down the crowd tonite when its about average for this type of game. Because its a game every week at the moment theres not much time to buy them so folk tend to leave it quite late.
10-08-2023, 01:22 PM
#facts
He's here!
10-08-2023, 01:29 PM
Why isn't it on? Most will go some wont.
I don't mean it isn't on in the sense that it's unacceptable. I just mean that for some (myself included) they can't justify the outlay.
10-08-2023, 01:33 PM
Agreed. No real issue. A couple of posters desperately trying to talk down the crowd tonite when its about average for this type of game. Because its a game every week at the moment theres not much time to buy them so folk tend to leave it quite late.
A lot of folk have been drawn in by Hearts attendance fascination contest. The crowd tonight is about normal for us, Hearts probably have a bigger support of about 10% or so.
Who cares? Id rather have our support and be slightly smaller, than a slightly larger support that is a library.
OstKurve Hibs
10-08-2023, 01:43 PM
Jesus, get of your high horse. Who gives a rats hoop about prices in England aswell, that's England, this is Scotland. Mibbe if it was a bit less wed fill the stadium and would be more AFFORDABLE for supporters is my point, I'll be there tonight so prices aren't an issue for me fortunately but they are for others.
10-08-2023, 01:46 PM
A lot of folk have been drawn in by Hearts attendance fascination contest. The crowd tonight is about normal for us, Hearts probably have a bigger support of about 10% or so.
Who cares? Id rather have our support and be slightly smaller, than a slightly larger support that is a library.
I don't think they have more fans than us. Just fatter ones.
10-08-2023, 01:59 PM
Jesus, get of your high horse. Who gives a rats hoop about prices in England aswell, that's England, this is Scotland. Mibbe if it was a bit less wed fill the stadium and would be more AFFORDABLE for supporters is my point, I'll be there tonight so prices aren't an issue for me fortunately but they are for others.
Exactly. Remember when motherwell reduced their prices massively? They filled their stadium every week.
Wait no, there was hardly any difference and they went bankrupt.
A £5 difference in price makes almost no difference to the level of crowd.
The club would need to be looking at charging £10/£5 to provoke a much larger uptake and it would make no appreciable difference on the pitch or in monetary terms.
10-08-2023, 02:23 PM
The prices were cheaper last week, and the attendance was much about the same as it will be this week.
Rick Rude
10-08-2023, 02:26 PM
Must be a lot of Luzern fans coming as, according to the article on the Hibs website, the barriers are going to be up after the game. Either that or the police just need some OT money.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/supporter-info-fc-luzern-h
10-08-2023, 02:27 PM
Wonder if Johnson will start Vente, I think we will see him come off the bench second half.
Jeggo
Levitt
Newell
Midfield 3 for me.
I did see the guy on here post about Luzern like to play with two holding midfielders so Campbell might start for some of his energy on the high press.
Lovely day for European football under the floodlights.
10-08-2023, 02:29 PM
Must be a lot of Luzern fans coming as, according to the article on the Hibs website, the barriers are going to be up after the game. Either that or the police just need some OT money.
Be a reaction to the Groningen friendly.
10-08-2023, 02:33 PM
Looks like FF lower will be busier than last time - great to see and hopefully even louder than last game!
10-08-2023, 02:36 PM
Be a reaction to the Groningen friendly.
What happened there? Having the big metal wall up seems overkill seeing as a Luzern fan elsewhere said they were only expecting about 200 to travel
10-08-2023, 02:39 PM
What happened there? Having the big metal wall up seems overkill seeing as a Luzern fan elsewhere said they were only expecting about 200 to travel
It'll be a precaution. They won't use it if it's not necessary, but they may have received some intel about who is arriving in Edinburgh.
10-08-2023, 02:40 PM
The last time I looked mate the pound was exactly the same value in Scotland as it is in England, so using them as a comparison is perfectly valid. The last time I looked the Scottish premiership was a higher standard of fitba than sodding EFL 5 and FC Luzern are a better team from a far better league than bloody Chesterfield or Wealdstone.
The way you are going on you would think I was saying Hibs are doing folk a favour ... I'm not, what I'm saying is that for this level of fitba £25 for an adult ticket is reasonable and nothing more.
You are the one who needs to get down of their bloody high horse ... tell you what, lets let everybody in for free and pack the place out every week.
Earlydelivery
10-08-2023, 02:58 PM
100s of them in Grassmarket
10-08-2023, 02:59 PM
Didn't think I'd be able to make tonight but plans have changed so now going, wife not happy but hey ho!!
CentreForward
10-08-2023, 03:16 PM
Can see why barriers going up as Lucerne have one of the craziest Ultra groups anywhere in Europe. Have a look on YouTube at some of the videos of them at their recent match in Sweden or at other games. I am not suggesting that they will necessarily be causing any trouble but they are absolutely fanatical. Remember a similar group when Hearts played Zurich at the PBS last season. Seems to be a big thing in Switzerland so would expect the Dunbar End to be pretty crazy tonight !
StevesFamau5
Fylde are also bankrolled by some rich businessman and barely get 1k or 2k crowds. They are fleecing their own fans big time.
IMO ticket prices should reflect the level of the tournament but a good way to possibly get more bums on seats is combo tickets or deals with tickets, like adult 2 kids 35 quid. or 1 adult one kid plus pie and beverage £35 quid.. I dunno just spitballing ideas.
Any idea how many tickets Luzern have sold?
10-08-2023, 03:17 PM
Any idea how many tickets Luzern have sold?
One of their fans who have joined the forum states around 200 on another thread
10-08-2023, 03:20 PM
The last time I looked mate the pound was exactly the same value in Scotland as it is in England, so using them as a comparison is perfectly valid. The last time I looked the Scottish premiership was a higher standard of fitba than sodding EFL 5 and FC Luzern are a better team from a far better league than bloody Chesterfield or Wealdstone.
The way you are going on you would think I was saying Hibs are doing folk a favour ... I'm not, what I'm saying is that for this level of fitba £25 for an adult ticket is reasonable and nothing more.
You are the one who needs to get down of their bloody high horse ... tell you what, lets let everybody in for free and pack the place out every week.
The walk up price for an adult at York City is £23.
10-08-2023, 04:29 PM
There was bother between both sets of fans "ultras" of gronigen and our young teams. We came off second best by all accounts.
St Pauli Hibee
10-08-2023, 04:34 PM
About 100 or so getting a Police escort through the Cowgate, drums sounding
10-08-2023, 05:03 PM
I don't think they have more fans than us. Just fatter ones.
Oi!!!!!
Less of that digging up fat people. 🤨
WeAreHibs
10-08-2023, 05:09 PM
#facts
You can prove anything with facts - Stewart Lee
10-08-2023, 05:11 PM
You can prove anything with facts - Stewart Lee
Not on here.
10-08-2023, 05:13 PM
About 100 or so getting a Police escort through the Cowgate, drums sounding
When i was a laddie in the Market, they would have been happy for a police escort out of there.:greengrin
Wakeyhibee
10-08-2023, 06:20 PM
I get what you're saying but £15 for a Euro qualifier would be less than most Scottish Championship games. Against a minnow yes but not this round.
10-08-2023, 06:51 PM
Crowd looks fine from my seat in the pub
10-08-2023, 07:27 PM
Crowd looks fine from my seat in the pub
Any thoughts on the barmaid?
10-08-2023, 08:50 PM
10-08-2023, 09:03 PM
Imagine missing out on that because we lost on Sunday! If you can afford to go, always go.
Paul1642
10-08-2023, 09:04 PM
Imagine missing out on that because we lost on Sunday! If you can afford to go, always go.
How many does the away stand hold?
Can’t have been too many empty seats in the home stands.
10-08-2023, 09:06 PM
How many does the away stand hold?
Can’t have been too many empty seats in the home stands.
3,800 I think.
13k at the game, so 3/3.5k short.
Billy McKirdy
10-08-2023, 09:08 PM
13,076 making lots of noise
10-08-2023, 09:08 PM
Crowd for the Luzern game… was absolutely superb. Great support
10-08-2023, 09:20 PM
Was 13k, disappointing, but nothing else to be disappointed about tonight, a great night's entertainment. I wonder how mamy of those who chose to stay away are regretting it now?
10-08-2023, 09:29 PM
Was 13k, disappointing, but nothing else to be disappointed about tonight, a great night's entertainment. I wonder how mamy of those who chose to stay away are regretting it now?
If they're honest, probably all of them. The ones who actively chose not to go that is rather than the ones who couldn’t go due to other things, finances etc.
part of being a Hibs fan tbh. You take a risk not going because you just never know when they’re going to throw up a fantastic night like tonight. I still haven’t forgiven myself for not going to the rangers semi final a couple of years ago when we walloped them at hampden
10-08-2023, 09:44 PM
Atmosphere was superb tonight.
CentreForward
10-08-2023, 10:09 PM
How on earth was the crowd smaller than for the Andorran game especially when you have to add on the Lucerne support which was obviously bigger than Inter’s zero! Suppose the defeat on Sunday was maybe a big factor but tonight was a bigger game than the Inter one and should have had a bigger crowd.
10-08-2023, 10:14 PM
The stay aways will be kicking themselves tonight - you.missed a special European night at ER
10-08-2023, 10:17 PM
I’ve had my moan on this thread previously about people choosing not to go if they can afford it etc
But tonight let’s just enjoy it. Wherever you watched it.
Think we have all missed a game we regret.
I missed tonight unfortunately was out of my hands and had a ticket. Was furious before and even more so after.
No hibs fan supports this club for glory. I was actually pretty shocked to see the attendance as the stadium was rocking and the crowd pics on BBC looked much more….
Hopefully we progress and we have a full house against Villa which will be the case and we see thousands upon thousands in Birmingham.
10-08-2023, 10:25 PM
Atmosphere was superb tonight.
It was, though I expected a bigger crowd for a European tie against decent level opposition.
CentreForward
10-08-2023, 10:25 PM
How on earth was the crowd smaller than for the Andorran game especially when you have to add on the Lucerne support which was obviously bigger than Inter’s zero! Suppose the defeat on Sunday was maybe a big factor but tonight was a bigger game than the Inter one and should have had a bigger crowd.
10-08-2023, 10:29 PM
Give me 13k getting behind the team like that any day over 20k and either moaning or silent. Don’t get obsession with figures, those who were there were part of a special night and an unbelievable atmosphere for just over 12k Hibs fans. Superb.
10-08-2023, 10:34 PM
Give me 13k getting behind the team like that any day over 20k and either moaning or silent. Don’t get obsession with figures, those who were there were part of a special night and an unbelievable atmosphere for just over 12k Hibs fans. Superb.
One of the best nights at Easter Road in a long long time ... absolutely brilliant :thumbsup:
10-08-2023, 10:39 PM
One of the best nights at Easter Road in a long long time ... absolutely brilliant :thumbsup:
Aye, apart from the 20+ minute wait to get out onto Albion Place. Ridic. Was there intel that these Swiss geezers were lying in wait to mug passing Hibbies with jumbo toblerones?
10-08-2023, 10:46 PM
Just goes to show what a huge impact having the singing section in the FFL has on the atmosphere. Only 13k at the game which is a poor crowd for us, but that's the best atmosphere I've seen at Easter road for a long time.
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
10-08-2023, 10:50 PM
Had to settle for stream on TV as still in Ireland at present and crowd looked decent on the pictures. If it was 13,000 I must say it looked more than that.
Absolutely buzzing with the result and performance, and absolutely jealous of everyone who was there to enjoy it proper!
10-08-2023, 10:54 PM
Any thoughts on the barmaid?
Heard they have massive jugs. Although that could be Germany.
I'm talking beet of course.
10-08-2023, 10:57 PM
I’m not bothered if people choose not to go. I feel sorry for them that they miss nights like tonight that will live long in the memory.
10-08-2023, 11:04 PM
I’m not bothered if people choose not to go. I feel sorry for them that they miss nights like tonight that will live long in the memory.
Exactly where I am as wellQ
Keepthefaith
10-08-2023, 11:11 PM
Just goes to show what a huge impact having the singing section in the FFL has on the atmosphere. Only 13k at the game which is a poor crowd for us, but that's the best atmosphere I've seen at Easter road for a long time.
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
I think the singing section helped visually but actually the rest of the ground was as positive as I've felt in a while. I do think there we're a crowd who feed off committed performances though, so even when it was tough at times, we kept upbeat. kudos to the guys in the east who started a fair few songs too, meant it was lively most of the game
11-08-2023, 04:46 AM
This is the perfect example of why you shouldn't pick and choose if you are able to go.
11-08-2023, 05:46 AM
The stay aways will be kicking themselves tonight - you.missed a special European night at ER
Far from it, liucky to have seen tons of amazing European nights at ER. Enjoyed the whole think live on the box and pleased for every Hibby who managed along and for all the players. Terrific performance and atmosphere.
Stairway 2 7
11-08-2023, 06:57 AM
Is there highlights anywhere at all, think I couldn't look when Obita was through on goal
ErinGoBraghHFC
11-08-2023, 06:57 AM
Is there highlights anywhere at all, think I couldn't look when Obita was through on goal
On the bbc sport Scotland website
Bridge hibs
11-08-2023, 06:59 AM
I kept screaming at him to pass it to Doidge, Im glad he ignored me 🤣
Stairway 2 7
11-08-2023, 07:01 AM
On the bbc sport Scotland website
Brilliant thanks
Stairway 2 7
11-08-2023, 07:05 AM
😆
11-08-2023, 07:14 AM
Hibs TV you tube has them also short interview with Lee
chippy
11-08-2023, 07:25 AM
Folks should try and separate league form from European nights at Easter Road, it’s in our dna to play poorly in the league then fly on European nights, especially if we’re underdogs
11-08-2023, 07:28 AM
The extract below was from the match report from BBC site. Wtaf :greengrin
The second leg is in Luzern next Thursday (19:45) BST and should Hibs hold firm, only English Premier League opponents would stand between them and the group stage. :faf:
11-08-2023, 07:37 AM
So was my laddie. He said after the celebrations had calmed down " he still should have passed to Doidge!!"
11-08-2023, 07:40 AM
So was my laddie. He said after the celebrations had calmed down " he still should have passed to Doidge!!"
I actually thought he should have lobbed the keeper, a few of us were shouting to hit the thing and he just kept running, thank god it went in