03-08-2023, 08:17 PM
Still canny keep a clean sheet! :grr:
03-08-2023, 08:28 PM
Someone should remind Lee Johnson that Gigi Buffon is available for Sunday
03-08-2023, 08:29 PM
Someone should remind Lee Johnson that Gigi Buffon is available for SundayEmergency loan
Guaranteed.
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
03-08-2023, 08:30 PM
Think I'd be even more in love with Hibs if he appeared for us.
03-08-2023, 08:32 PM
Still canny keep a clean sheet! :grr:
Wollacott kept a clean sheet.........
03-08-2023, 08:36 PM
Wollacott kept a clean sheet.........
So did Marshall. :wink:
But we didny.
Emergency loan incoming, I think.
03-08-2023, 08:38 PM
Why would it be an emergency loan and not just a loan as the window is still open. Surely we could sign another 10 keepers if we wanted to???
03-08-2023, 08:38 PM
So did Marshall. :wink:
But we didny.
Emergency loan incoming, I think.
John Burridge must still be playing somewhere
Coach Jon
03-08-2023, 08:42 PM
Why would it need to be an emergency loan, I thought that rule only applied when the transfer window is closed. Can get anybody in at the moment surely ?
03-08-2023, 08:43 PM
Murray coming back.
Why would it need to be an emergency loan, I thought that rule only applied when the transfer window is closed. Can get anybody in at the moment surely ?
If we get in a normal loan, it'll need to be until January.
An emergency loan can be a month or so.
Why would it be an emergency loan and not just a loan as the window is still open. Surely we could sign another 10 keepers if we wanted to???
We could but the inconsiderate gits would all want to be paid.
03-08-2023, 08:44 PM
Anyway, where's Conrad Logan at?
03-08-2023, 08:45 PM
Why would it need to be until January if we are still in the transfer window?
03-08-2023, 08:45 PM
Why would it need to be an emergency loan, I thought that rule only applied when the transfer window is closed. Can get anybody in at the moment surely ?That's confused me too... unless there's some sort of weird option to sign someone on a temporary basis?? ....
03-08-2023, 08:46 PM
Are you suggesting we buy a player then sell him by 31 August?
03-08-2023, 08:47 PM
A team aren't going to let us get a 1 month loan in, have him register for us and themselves, then be unable to register for a 3rd team.
An emergency loan will negate that.
03-08-2023, 08:48 PM
Are you suggesting we buy a player then sell him by 31 August?
We did something similar before no? :greengrin
Coach Jon
03-08-2023, 08:48 PM
A month might not be long enough, as it stands we are starting the season with one fit keeper, Europe games as well, we will need another keeper in, so what if we have to get him in until January ?
03-08-2023, 08:49 PM
We did something similar before no? :greengrin
You're right, we did.
Scott Bain for Scott Allan.
03-08-2023, 08:49 PM
A team aren't going to let us get a 1 month loan in, have him register for us and themselves, then be unable to register for a 3rd team.
An emergency loan will negate that.
That's very different from it being against the rules which is what I thought was being implied.
03-08-2023, 08:50 PM
You're right, we did.
Scott Bain for Scott Allan.
Sheep_Nae_Mair
03-08-2023, 09:07 PM
Conrad Logan?
03-08-2023, 09:27 PM
Murray coming back.
Guessing or heard something. Would make sense
03-08-2023, 09:28 PM
An emergency loan doesn't have to be outside the window, it has advantages in terms of registration for player and club. Reckon we will only look for something longer term if both injuries are lengthy.
St Mirren done it with Zlamal against us during the covid season when all their keepers were isolating. He started and Jamie Langfield who was their goalkeeping coach sat on the bench.
What an opportunity for Boruc though. He probably has a few games now to make the gloves his own.
Tha Cabbage Kid
03-08-2023, 09:32 PM
wonder if we could jason steele from Brighton on loan? do we not still have ties with that club?
03-08-2023, 09:33 PM
Boruc made some save from fish in 1st half
03-08-2023, 09:34 PM
wonder if we could jason steele from Brighton on loan? do we not still have ties with that club?
Steele played nearly 20 games last season and ended the season as their number 1. They signed a keeper in the summer but he'll still be a first team player.
BlackSheep
03-08-2023, 09:35 PM
Murray Johnson has been recalled from QotS.
Tha Cabbage Kid
03-08-2023, 09:39 PM
Steele played nearly 20 games last season and ended the season as their number 1. They signed a keeper in the summer but he'll still be a first team player.
surely Robert sanchez is there no.1? and they just signed that young lad for something like 16m
HendoDelivered
03-08-2023, 09:40 PM
surely Robert sanchez is there no.1? and they just signed that young lad for something like 16m
Sanchez going to Chelsea
Paul1642
03-08-2023, 09:43 PM
He did although I wonder if he shouted for it or not. Good effort from the laddie who would never have dreamed he was going to play tonight and went from not on the bench to on the pitch within 30 mins or so.
Never really had anything to do and none of our keepers would have had a chance at their goal.
Was nice to see the entire squad congratulating him at the end. The team look to have a good attitude in terms of supporting each other right now.
03-08-2023, 09:46 PM
Wonder who’ll be 1st choice on Sunday if our 1st picks are out? He’s also played in the League Cup, so presume that’s him cup tied, or is there a different rule from group stages to knock out
Not good that both our goalies pull up with muscle injuries so early in the season
03-08-2023, 09:46 PM
Sanchez is offski and Steele played about the last 10 games of last season.
It's not relevant if Johnson is coming back but I think we have to be realistic. It would have been someone like Ross Stewart that was at Hearts until January or a 3rd choice from someone in the Championship down south for a few weeks. We aren't getting a first team player at a Premiership club, even if they were coming in as number 1 we aren't shopping in that market.
03-08-2023, 09:47 PM
Sanches is offski and Steele played about the last 10 games of last season.
I think we have to be realistic. It's going to be someone like Ross Stewart that was at Hearts until January or a 3rd choice from someone in the Championship down south for a few weeks. We aren't getting a first team player at a Premiership club, even if they were coming in as number 1 we aren't shopping in that market.
Dundee now have 3 goalies
Paul1642
03-08-2023, 09:49 PM
Can he go back out on loan again once Marshall and Wolacott are fit?
Unless of course Murray plays a few blinders and makes a stake for no1.
03-08-2023, 09:50 PM
He did although I wonder if he shouted for it or not. Good effort from the laddie who would never have dreamed he was going to play tonight and went from not on the bench to on the pitch within 30 mins or so.
Never really had anything to do and none of our keepers would have had a chance at their goal.
Was nice to see the entire squad congratulating him at the end. The team look to have a good attitude in terms of supporting each other right now.
He was on the bench. But aye he would never have thought he’d get a game tonight
Paulie Walnuts
03-08-2023, 09:51 PM
Can he go back out on loan again once Marshall and Wolacott are fit?
Unless of course Murray plays a few blinders and makes a stake for no1.
I think it would have to be back to QOTS. Don’t think he could go anywhere else.
03-08-2023, 09:51 PM
Alan McGregor?
AZhibee
03-08-2023, 09:52 PM
Anyway, where's Conrad Logan at?
Was waiting for someone to say this!
Bring the Polar Bear!
Wonder who’ll be 1st choice on Sunday if our 1st picks are out? He’s also played in the League Cup, so presume that’s him cup tied, or is there a different rule from group stages to knock out
Not good that both our goalies pull up with muscle injuries so early in the season
Johnson hasn't been starting for QOTS thus far. They have been going with Botterill.
I reckon if DM and JW are out for a few weeks then the gloves are there for Boruc to lose.
Paulie Walnuts
Alan McGregor?
In a heartbeat
03-08-2023, 09:53 PM
I think it would have to be back to QOTS. Don’t think he could go anywhere else.
If he didn’t play for Hibs he could go to a different club.
Paulie Walnuts
03-08-2023, 09:54 PM
If he didn’t play for Hibs he could go to a different club.
Yeah sorry, that’s correct.
03-08-2023, 09:55 PM
Johnson hasn't been starting for QOTS thus far. They have been going with Botterill.
I reckon if DM and JW are out for a few weeks then the gloves are there for Boruc to lose.
He played one of the cup games but missed the last game as he was ill last weekend
03-08-2023, 09:55 PM
We need to do our bit to keep that Stanley Matthews / Peter Shilton / Gigi Buffon stat going for a bit longer.
Keepthefaith
03-08-2023, 09:57 PM
Gillespie from Newcastle? is he not their 3rd or 4th choice? ex-motherwell so knows the Scottish game??
Tha Cabbage Kid
03-08-2023, 10:00 PM
Sanchez is offski and Steele played about the last 10 games of last season.
It's not relevant if Johnson is coming back but I think we have to be realistic. It would have been someone like Ross Stewart that was at Hearts until January or a 3rd choice from someone in the Championship down south for a few weeks. We aren't getting a first team player at a Premiership club, even if they were coming in as number 1 we aren't shopping in that market.
we should be. St johnstone had Remi Matthews last year
Paulie Walnuts
03-08-2023, 10:01 PM
We need to do our bit to keep that Stanley Matthews / Peter Shilton / Gigi Buffon stat going for a bit longer.
Great stat :agree:
tonyrougier123
03-08-2023, 10:03 PM
If it’s to be an emergency siegriest would be ideal if Celtic allowed that.
03-08-2023, 10:06 PM
If it’s to be an emergency siegriest would be ideal if Celtic allowed that.
Could absolutely be wrong, but don't think Premiership teams can do emergency loans?
Paulie Walnuts
03-08-2023, 10:08 PM
Could absolutely be wrong, but don't think Premiership teams can do emergency loans?
Think we can with goalkeepers. Think St Mirren done it with Zlamal recently.
We done it in the championship with Commons which was a farce really.
03-08-2023, 10:09 PM
Think we can with goalkeepers. Think St Mirren done it with Zlamal recently.
We done it in the championship with Commons which was a farce really.
Aye you're allowed them in the Championship and lower for sure. You could be right that it's a different case for keepers though, makes sense.
tonyrougier123
03-08-2023, 10:12 PM
the emergency loan is available for any player.
However, there is a clause in the SPFL rules that allow them to approve the loan of a goalkeeper "at any time and for any such period".
Unlike the emergency loan, it requires SPFL board approval and the cause of the emergency to be proven.
This is from 2017 on stv news couldn’t find anything else 🤷*♂️
HIBS NUTS
03-08-2023, 10:18 PM
Murray Johnstone is a great young keeper, get him back from QOTS.
03-08-2023, 10:26 PM
Alan McGregor?
03-08-2023, 11:17 PM
Alan McGregor?He'd be flinging them in faster than Marshall could miss them.
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
Donegal Hibby
03-08-2023, 11:20 PM
Read Marshall had a tight hamstring and Wollacott has a thigh injury . No mention on how long they will be out for in article though .
BlackSheep
03-08-2023, 11:57 PM
Wollacott’s injury is the worse of the two, Marshall may not miss many games but Wollacott could be out longer. Murray Johnson has been recalled for the next week at the very least then will return to QotS.
JammyDoidger
03-08-2023, 11:57 PM
Could Scott Bain finally make his Hibs debut? Seriousness though, what about siegrist?
Donegal Hibby
04-08-2023, 12:26 AM
Wollacott’s injury is the worse of the two, Marshall may not miss many games but Wollacott could be out longer. Murray Johnson has been recalled for the next week at the very least then will return to QotS.
Big blow our two main keeper's getting injured . Murray Johnston from what I've seen of him looks a excellent prospect and have to say was impressed with Boruc when he came on though looked nervous at the start with some poor kick outs . Maybe wrong on this but did he not have a go at our defenders when they scored ? . Think for a young keeper he done well tbh .
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/boruc-delighted-with-hibs-debut
I think Fish was entitled to think the goalie would have stayed back but yes nice reactions nevertheless.
04-08-2023, 07:03 AM
I think Fish was entitled to think the goalie would have stayed back but yes nice reactions nevertheless.
Agree not sure goalie should have come for it. Assume we will likely try and get a more experienced short term loan for Sunday to start.
Silky
04-08-2023, 07:08 AM
Big blow our two main keeper's getting injured . Murray Johnston from what I've seen of him looks a excellent prospect and have to say was impressed with Boruc when he came on though looked nervous at the start with some poor kick outs . Maybe wrong on this but did he not have a go at our defenders when they scored ? . Think for a young keeper he done well tbh .
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/boruc-delighted-with-hibs-debut
It did look like he had a go at them. Quite right too imo, the marking was appalling. He looked OK and I think he'll be fine.
04-08-2023, 08:12 AM
Boruc and Hanlon both shouted for him to leave it.
Paul1642
04-08-2023, 08:20 AM
Agree not sure goalie should have come for it. Assume we will likely try and get a more experienced short term loan for Sunday to start.
As long as there’s a shout that was the goalies ball all day long.
Don't think Boruc did too much wrong though he didn't have a great deal to do. Remember he's only 20 and had to play 70 minutes in a high stakes game that, an hour before kick off, he wasn't even on the bench for.
Distribution could have been better but great reaction save from Fish header (albeit a bit of a mix up) and good save with his foot near the end of the game. No chance with the Inter goal.
We'll need back up if March & Jojo are out for a few weeks. A bit unrealistic to expect him to play week in week out considering his age and experience.
04-08-2023, 08:29 AM
Thought Boruc did really well. Made two great saves, the one from Fish and one with his feet when their player ripped the pish by chipping the ball over our defenders.
04-08-2023, 08:38 AM
Murray coming back.
If you’re good enough and by all accounts, this keeper is . Lady boy Gordon was a similar age when put in their first team.
04-08-2023, 08:41 AM
De Gea got a new club yet?
04-08-2023, 08:41 AM
If you’re good enough and by all accounts, this keeper is . Lady boy Gordon was a similar age when put in their first team.
Would that not apply to Boruc as well though.
Fuzzywuzzy
04-08-2023, 09:22 AM
What happened to marshall? I thought he'd just been dropped
04-08-2023, 09:59 AM
What happened to marshall? I thought he'd just been dropped
Injured in the warm up. He was due to start
PHeffernan
04-08-2023, 10:28 AM
We had 3 keepers registered with UEFA for the Conference.
Are we allowed to register another one for the competition given two are now unavailable due to injury?
04-08-2023, 10:35 AM
Are we allowed to register another one for the competition given two are now unavailable due to injury?
I think you register a squad for every tie
04-08-2023, 01:04 PM
Murray Johnson could be registered on our B list so wouldn’t need to take any me of the 3 GK players on our A list.
04-08-2023, 01:08 PM
Injured in the warm up. He was due to start
He's carrying a hamstring injury. In theory he should be able to play at the weekend.