View Full Version : Christian Doidge

03-08-2023, 08:08 PM
Welcome back big man.

Looks back at his best and I do hope he sticks at the club.

03-08-2023, 08:10 PM
Welcome back big man.

Looks back at his best and I do hope he sticks at the club.

Great professional performance from Doidge tonight:agree:

Don't think he'll get much game time this season if Vente stays fit, but you can never accuse him of not giving his all.

Seems a good lad.

Was so unlucky with his offside goal, was definitely onside

Would have to be mental getting rid of ahead ahead of Melkersen.

03-08-2023, 08:12 PM

Agree. Melkersen showed at blackpool he will never make it at Hibs.

03-08-2023, 08:13 PM
He's back.

madbadlad
03-08-2023, 08:15 PM
Great performance. Well done, big man.

03-08-2023, 08:19 PM
Balon D’oidge

03-08-2023, 08:19 PM
Wasn’t there a similar thread after Clyde last season ?

03-08-2023, 08:23 PM
I’m so pleased for him. I really want it to work out here for him.

03-08-2023, 08:24 PM

You could’ve just not said anything 🥲

03-08-2023, 08:26 PM
You could’ve just not said anything 🥲

He absolutely did well tonight and deserves praise for that.

03-08-2023, 08:26 PM
He absolutely did well tonight and deserves praise for that.

Much better 😁

03-08-2023, 08:29 PM
I'll openly admit Im not his greatest fan but I thought he had a good match tonight. Credit where credit is due. Hes worth his place in the squad as he offers a different approach to what any of our other strikers do. Personally just hope he isnt starting too many games.

03-08-2023, 08:36 PM
Was never offside for the disallowed goal.

03-08-2023, 08:38 PM
Was so unlucky with his offside goal, was definitely onside

Two opponents playing him on - and a lovely finish…
Loved the way he stepped in to protect McAllister too.

I am a fan so I'd be happy enough if this reinvigorated version of the big man stays in and around the first team squad for the foreseeable future. Was great tonight.

You’re a sad man.

03-08-2023, 08:41 PM
Nice to see him get the captains armband when Stevenson went off.

03-08-2023, 08:41 PM
You’re a sad man.

If you say so.

Hibees1973
03-08-2023, 08:44 PM
Credit where it's due.

Was a nuisance to the opposition an effective what he did.

Good goal as well and the one chalked off was a joke. Hope VAR is in operation next week.

03-08-2023, 08:56 PM
His "offside" goal was a cracking finish.

JamesHFC
03-08-2023, 08:57 PM
His "offside" goal was a cracking finish.

Looked onside from where I was sitting, haven't seen a replay yet.

HendoDelivered
03-08-2023, 08:58 PM
Immense tonight

03-08-2023, 08:58 PM
Looked onside from where I was sitting, haven't seen a replay yet.

It was onside.

03-08-2023, 08:59 PM
Was onside mate. Where's VAR when you need it.

Hillsidehibby
03-08-2023, 09:03 PM
I have just got in and I thought it was Doidge that scored the overhead kick? I need to go to specsavers

ErinGoBraghHFC
03-08-2023, 09:04 PM
I have just got in and I thought it was Doidge that scored the overhead kick? I need to go to specsavers

It was

03-08-2023, 09:06 PM
ALF should never start over Doidge IMO. Doidge is miles more mobile and more of a threat.

03-08-2023, 09:07 PM
Played really well. Makes a difference when you have a striker that can hold the ball up, bully defenders and bring others into play. He can also score a goal. Great professional shift tonight.

Hillsidehibby
03-08-2023, 09:08 PM
It was

Cheers mate

Roxyhibee
03-08-2023, 09:12 PM
My MOTM by some distance. Letting Doidge go this season would be criminal - not saying he should be playing every game but depending on the type of opposition defenders, he should get plenty starts and be a great bench option too.

03-08-2023, 09:15 PM
Great performance, really happy for him to shut up some of the eejits saying he's never good enough, only got lucky in 1 spell etc etc etc blah blah blah

When everyone's fit, will be start? Probably not. But a great squad option to have who gives his all

Paulie Walnuts
03-08-2023, 09:18 PM
Has to have cemented his place as second choice striker imo.

He’ll actually be unlucky to lose his place to Vente but I’ll be stunned if we don’t get him in on Sunday in the hope of him being ready on Thursday.

03-08-2023, 09:19 PM
I’ll no doubt get accused of being a sad man again, but feels like folk are getting a bit carried away. He did really well tonight, but the opposition, especially their defence needs to be taken into consideration before he can be proclaimed as being “back’.” If he puts in similar performances in league games by all means he’s worth keeping.

03-08-2023, 09:25 PM
I’ll no doubt get accused of being a sad man again, but feels like folk are getting a bit carried away. He did really well tonight, but the opposition, especially their defence needs to be taken into consideration before he can be proclaimed as being “back’.” If he puts in similar performances in league games by all means he’s worth keeping.

At this point he looks worth keeping because he’s better than the alternative back ups too Vente and has something a bit different and is ideal to have around if you want to play with 2 strikers.

He may never get back to where he was but the boy has balls. I’m sick of guys hiding when the going gets tough and that’s something he’s never done.

Mikey_1875
03-08-2023, 09:27 PM

Agree completely. Wouldn’t even go as far to say he bullied their defence tonight. Certainly not to the same extent Boyle and Youan did.

03-08-2023, 09:30 PM

Makes me wonder why we signed ALF…

Paulie Walnuts
03-08-2023, 09:31 PM

I wouldn’t disagree with that. On tonight’s showing though he simply has to be our back up to Vente unless we get someone else in.

03-08-2023, 09:32 PM
Two excellent finishes, although live I thought the second was offside until the replay put me right.

Said it before, but I'd keep Doidge as a back up this season. He and Le Fondre offer us different options off the bench depending on how the game is going.

03-08-2023, 09:43 PM

Surely must agree he is a better option than Melkerson though.

I think he’d be a handy back up to Vente

03-08-2023, 09:46 PM
The problem with Doidge being back up is we are paying him the wages of a first choice striker.

Also, is Doidge the type who will stay sharp if he’s just playing minutes here and there off the bench?

03-08-2023, 09:50 PM
Surely must agree he is a better option than Melkerson though.

I think he’d be a handy back up to Vente

Absolutely. And what he does offer is a physical presence I don’t believe any of the other forwards do. I’m not sure what their thinking is. We wanted Myko who did offer that physical presence, couldn’t make that deal work so signed Vente who looks a good signing on paper, but isn’t that type of player - nor for that matter is ALF. Maybe they’ll keep Doidge but all the noises so far suggest they are happy for him to leave.

HendoDelivered
03-08-2023, 09:52 PM
Absolutely. And what he does offer is a physical presence I don’t believe any of the other forwards do. I’m not sure what their thinking is. We wanted Myko who did offer that physical presence, couldn’t make that deal work so signed Vente who looks a good signing on paper, but isn’t that type of player - nor for that matter is ALF. Maybe they’ll keep Doidge but all the noises so far suggest they are happy for him to leave.

Any ideas whats happening with Melkerson, Hendo and Tavares?

Absolutely. And what he does offer is a physical presence I don’t believe any of the other forwards do. I’m not sure what their thinking is. We wanted Myko who did offer that physical presence, couldn’t make that deal work so signed Vente who looks a good signing on paper, but isn’t that type of player - nor for that matter is ALF. Maybe they’ll keep Doidge but all the noises so far suggest they are happy for him to leave.Isn't Vente over 6 foot? I was surprised at that as he doesn't look it in the clips I've seen

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

tonyrougier123
Folk are as obsessed with letting players go as they are signing them.
If your first eleven is the best you’ve got then the rest sub par going into an spl season, you’re in trouble. Big doidge is a class act and it’s a privilege to have a pro like that. Thanks big man for sticking around and putting in the shifts you do for the hibees. And let it be known you have many hibs boys who love a bit of the doidge!

Paulie Walnuts
03-08-2023, 09:53 PM
Isn't Vente over 6 foot? I was surprised at that as he doesn't look it in the clips I've seen

Think he’s listed at that but he says he likes to get in behind so don’t think he’s a target man.

tam4hibs
He will start Sunday

Vente not registered in time

HendoDelivered
Isn't Vente over 6 foot? I was surprised at that as he doesn't look it in the clips I've seen

5’11”

03-08-2023, 09:56 PM
Keep. Simple as that.

Ideal back up. Really back to his pre-injury form

03-08-2023, 09:56 PM
Any ideas whats happening with Melkerson, Hendo and Tavares?

Johnson I was told had been impressed with Melkersen pre season, not heard if he’s revised that opinion. The other two we’d like to move on, but that’s as much as I’ve been told.

Doidge has turned down moves to three clubs this window.

03-08-2023, 09:57 PM
Looked like he was really enjoying himself and he’s obviously in no rush to leave.

I’m sure he knows he won’t be a regular starter, but he showed tonight that he can still weigh in when called upon.

Enjoyed watching him tonight.

03-08-2023, 09:57 PM
He will start Sunday

The registration deadline for the St Mirren game surely hasn’t passed yet. We signed Boyle on a Saturday night and he played the next day at midday.

tonyrougier123
03-08-2023, 09:59 PM
The registration deadline for the St Mirren game surely hasn’t passed yet. We signed Boyle on a Saturday night and he played the next day at midday.

Might be that Boyle originally came from Britain.

CossackBossack
03-08-2023, 10:01 PM
I am a fan so I'd be happy enough if this reinvigorated version of the big man stays in and around the first team squad for the foreseeable future. Was great tonight.

Doidge is a great out ball for flick on in the games wee need height , 100% given tonight [emoji172]

JamesHFC
03-08-2023, 10:02 PM
I think the club will take a fee for him if they can get one with less than a year left on his contract.

ElginHibbie
03-08-2023, 10:20 PM
He will start Sunday

Registration wouldn't be a problem but imagine getting work permit might be

I am a big Doidge fan, he works hard and is a team player so be happy to keep him around as another option/option off bench, but if others have suggested he is on a big wage than I can understand if we try to move him on

greenlad
03-08-2023, 10:21 PM

I'd imagine his footballing international clearance is through, but it's his Work Permit to play in the UK that will be the delay post Brexit. Seemed to take forever to get all the EU national signings through last summer.

DinkyTwo
03-08-2023, 10:29 PM
Keep Doidge.

Who else would have lead the line so well tonight and score an overhead kick...

Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk

03-08-2023, 10:30 PM
Doidge had a big hand in 3 goals tonight as well as his own. Very different to other strikers we have and offers more than melk and Mckirdy have to date. Keep him. We’ll need him

Radge70
03-08-2023, 10:32 PM
Nice to see him get the captains armband when Stevenson went off.

3 goalkeepers and 3 captains in one night 😂

03-08-2023, 10:34 PM
I'd imagine his footballing international clearance is through, but it's his Work Permit to play in the UK that will be the delay post Brexit. Seemed to take forever to get all the EU national signings through last summer.

The government had suspended the fast track option for Tier 2 visas last summer. That is no longer the case so can get the visa approved in 1-5 days depending on what level of fast track is used.

Paul1642
03-08-2023, 10:34 PM
Folk are as obsessed with letting players go as they are signing them.
If your first eleven is the best you’ve got then the rest sub par going into an spl season, you’re in trouble. Big doidge is a class act and it’s a privilege to have a pro like that. Thanks big man for sticking around and putting in the shifts you do for the hibees. And let it be known you have many hibs boys who love a bit of the doidge!

That’s how we free up wages for players good enough for the first 11. If we could sell or have a club sign a couple from Doidge, Henderson, Tavares, Mckirdy (obviously support him through his illness), Mackay and Melkerson then those wages allow us to bring in a new midfielder or forward capable of being a first team team starter.

Whilst I’m not writing of any of these players and would love to see them come good, if deal is right for Hibs financially then it’s the best thing. None are going to be starters as things stand unless injuries force our hands or one of them finds some good from.

147lothian
03-08-2023, 10:39 PM
I agree with folk saying Doidge holds the line well, its great having such a solid pro on the books, over the course of the season there is going to be games where we have to mix it up Doidge is a great option. Vente will have to deliver or lose the shirt to Doidge

DinkyTwo
03-08-2023, 10:42 PM
That’s how we free up wages for players good enough for the first 11. If we could sell or have a club sign a couple from Doidge, Henderson, Tavares, Mckirdy (obviously support him through his illness), Mackay and Melkerson then those wages allow us to bring in a new midfielder or forward capable of being a first team team starter.

Whilst I’m not writing of any of these players and would love to see them come good, if deal is right for Hibs financially then it’s the best thing. None are going to be starters as things stand unless injuries force our hands or one of them finds some good from.Who from Alf, McKirdy, Melkerson, Henderson would have played Doidge's role better tonight?

I think tonight showed that he has a place here and we should keep him.

03-08-2023, 10:44 PM
That’s the Doidge we need , well played big man

03-08-2023, 10:48 PM
The problem with Doidge being back up is we are paying him the wages of a first choice striker.

Also, is Doidge the type who will stay sharp if he’s just playing minutes here and there off the bench?

How do we know it’s a problem? I get we need to off load some but I doubt our budget will be blown by keeping Doidge on the wage bill. Off loading Henderson, Melkerson and Tavares would off set Doidge staying imo.

03-08-2023, 10:52 PM
What an overhead kick btw! And then robbed of a 2nd when the replay showed he was clearly onside. Big man played well and the Doidge of old! I’ll riot if we get rid of him and keeper Merkerson!

03-08-2023, 10:58 PM
How do we know it’s a problem? I get we need to off load some but I doubt our budget will be blown by keeping Doidge on the wage bill. Off loading Henderson, Melkerson and Tavares would off set Doidge staying imo.

We know it’s a problem because the club have been actively trying to move him on for over a year. Last year we managed to get Killie to subsidise some of his wage and we brought in Myko, I imagine LJ and BMcD would like to bring in a 2nd striker of his quality again this season if the budget allowed.

tonyrougier123
03-08-2023, 11:00 PM
What an overhead kick btw! And then robbed of a 2nd when the replay showed he was clearly onside. Big man played well and the Doidge of old! I’ll riot if we get rid of him and keeper Merkerson!

I think a case can now be made for the 4 we have.

Vente- comes as a star no.9

Doidge- wirey CF who knows the team knows the goal and will push Vente for a start.links well with squad. Solid pro.

Melkerson-youngster still,struggling to replicate his debut been on a bad loan switch but still raw potential if he can find a way in.

Alf- twilight years for a solid penalty box striker. Potential to run down defences when called upon/keep the first 11 fresh.

03-08-2023, 11:03 PM
We know it’s a problem because the club have been actively trying to move him on for over a year. Last year we managed to get Killie to subsidise some of his wage and we brought in Myko, I imagine LJ and BMcD would like to bring in a 2nd striker of his quality again this season if the budget allowed.

We’d have got more out of CD at Hibs last season than Myko. I’ve no idea what sort of wage CD is on, but Kensell gave him that contract. Bet you’ve we’ve got lots of surplus players on wages as high as CD. At least Doidge wants to play for Hibs

gazzag70
03-08-2023, 11:19 PM
I would keep Doidge. Offers us a target man when we need one. I think he is under rated

03-08-2023, 11:26 PM
Doidge is a great out ball for flick on in the games wee need height , 100% given tonight [emoji172]

Doidge flick on that led to Campbell's 1st.

03-08-2023, 11:27 PM

That was arguably the best goal in terms of technical skill that he's scored for us.

Musselbound
03-08-2023, 11:37 PM
I think a case can now be made for the 4 we have.

Vente- comes as a star no.9

Doidge- wirey CF who knows the team knows the goal and will push Vente for a start.links well with squad. Solid pro.

Melkerson-youngster still,struggling to replicate his debut been on a bad loan switch but still raw potential if he can find a way in.

Alf- twilight years for a solid penalty box striker. Potential to run down defences when called upon/keep the first 11 fresh.

Credit to Doidge. He has shown over a few games that he deserves to still be in with a shout.

Melkersen I fear does not look like making it - at least not any time soon.

I'm a bit surprised Doidge has been preferred to ALF at this stage unless the latter is carrying a knock.

What happened to quality over quantity being brought in?

03-08-2023, 11:44 PM
Giy should be kept. Loves Hibs and while not a starter anymore, a more than capable of backup. Definitely still has a part to play IMO.

04-08-2023, 12:40 AM
Did well tonight. Don’t think he was off for the disallowed goal either.

From what I’ve seen he looks a better option than ALF. He definitely looks fitter than he did this time last year.

04-08-2023, 06:22 AM
Keep

Looks the best different option as back up a good egg to have about the place and we will pick up injuries along the way

Posted two weeks ago looks fit back to his best and like Newell has grown to love our fantastic beautiful football club

Unlucky not to bag a hat-trick last night with the offside goal and a routine header that he would normally be expected to score

Contributed with many flick ons and just being a pest

We seem to have a cutting edge now with Vente still to come we will know more after Sunday as the opposition wasn’t the best last night

Up-the-slope
04-08-2023, 06:26 AM
it will be good if he can be judged now he looks over his injury & long covid (looked fit and was a pest as well as winning good ball in the air and linking play) after a few games to see where consistency level is.

Ive always liked how much the rest of the squad seem to appreciate him - been very professional in just getting his head down despite all the noise around him.

Like others benefitted it should also be taken account of that the team was on the front foot and playing with Boyle and Yohan is always going to make midfield / forwards look better

04-08-2023, 06:39 AM
Love the big mam.

04-08-2023, 06:40 AM
Played well last night, thought myself he was on the way out however as always expected he seems to be one who just gets on with it and does what is asked with no fuss

Clearly appreciated in the dressing room as was given captain armband over a few others last night

04-08-2023, 07:16 AM
He’s a great option to have. Much better than the likes of Hoppe coming off the bench. Only issue is he’ll be on a very good contract for a player that won’t start every week.

04-08-2023, 07:26 AM
Interesting to see what develops on this one

I was adamant he would be leaving

Melkerson and Tavares will be moved on before doidge

It was against poor opposition so not getting too excited but he certainly gave himself a chance of being in and around the squad again.

McGruber
04-08-2023, 07:30 AM
Absolutely keep. Not just because he was excellent last night (opposition poor obviously) but more so because he looks fit which was the main issue. We knowwhat he brings when he is fit and firing. Lost count of the headers he won at both ends. Love the big man, excellent cover for Vente.

04-08-2023, 07:33 AM

I think it's telling Doidge got a start and a full 90 tonight in such a crucial game for LJ, Melk got splinters up his Jacksie and rightly so as his attitude in Andorra and Blackpool stank tbh

Dmas
04-08-2023, 07:41 AM
Never been his biggest fan but it was a hell of a shift last night from him, looked fit looked hungry and he looked like it really mattered chased absolutely everything, cracking goal unlucky not to have 2 with the offside, I’m for keeping him

04-08-2023, 07:44 AM
He was the same when he came on against groningen as well looks a bit fitter than before, we need a squad of good players and he definitely would fit the bill of a good player to bring on, but really depends if he wants to start each week or not

04-08-2023, 08:01 AM
Daily Ranger via BBC Gossip saying ST Mirren are set to lose out on a mystery striker after he impressed for his club on returning from injury.
Doidge? Ok not strictly returning from injury given his loan spell last season but when did the DR let facts get in the way of a story?

Frogga
04-08-2023, 08:06 AM
Daily Ranger via BBC Gossip saying ST Mirren are set to lose out on a mystery striker after he impressed for his club on returning from injury.
Doidge? Ok not strictly returning from injury given his loan spell last season but when did the DR let facts get in the way of a story?I was just about to say the same. He's what they're looking for as well after losing Curtis Main.

Sent from my SM-A336B using Tapatalk

04-08-2023, 08:07 AM
If Doidge continues like that we can't be letting him go. Thought his all round play was excellent and his two goals were fantastic. Don't care if one was wrongly called offside.

04-08-2023, 08:32 AM
I mean this in the nicest way possible to Doidgey who I do have a love for. But the real litmus test wasn't last night, it's Sunday. We've been in this scenario before with him.

He did the same last season when he was a bully in the pre-season/league cup stage and then did nothing in the league until he left on loan where he pretty much did nothing for Killie as well.

I would love for him to get back to something like his prime for us and be a real handful and plan b striker for us with Vente. But he's not shown me anything against real meaningful opponents for about 2 years. That has to change in the next few weeks before I'm convinced we should be offering him an important role in the squad this season for me.

04-08-2023, 09:33 AM
Thought he played well tonight and deserved to be on the score sheet. Tonight that wasn’t to be but if he keeps playing well the goals will come.

04-08-2023, 09:34 AM
Thought he played well tonight and deserved to be on the score sheet. Tonight that wasn’t to be but if he keeps playing well the goals will come.

You must have been one of those who got in really late......:greengrin

04-08-2023, 09:37 AM

He scored an overhead kick...

Frogga
04-08-2023, 09:39 AM
Doidge looks good with the right striker next to him. When we first signed him I'm pretty sure Hecky played him as a lone striker, which isn't his strength. As soon as we played someone next to him he looked a lot better. At Killie he was paired with Vassell I think who is too samey.

Not saying Doidge is suddenly a great player again but there's definitely hope that he can play a big part imo.

Sent from my SM-A336B using Tapatalk

04-08-2023, 09:52 AM

You didn’t see his goal??

04-08-2023, 09:57 AM

If only that over head kick had nestled in the back of the net.

04-08-2023, 12:05 PM

Eh?

04-08-2023, 12:10 PM
I found it hugely interesting that Doidge (who we all generally think is on the way out) started last night but ALF who we brought in to replace Doidge never.

Perhaps we should be looking to loan Alf out?👀

Cat Stanton
04-08-2023, 12:15 PM
He played well last night - but don't think he can be judged on that level of opposition. More relevant would be how he played for Killie last season - I didn't see him but he presumably didn't set the proverbial heather on fire as (a) we would have heard about it and (b) presumably Killie would have come back in for him (although to be fair, maybe they did and we don't know).

04-08-2023, 12:19 PM
I found it hugely interesting that Doidge (who we all generally think is on the way out) started last night but ALF who we brought in to replace Doidge never.

Perhaps we should be looking to loan Alf out?👀

i don't think Glenville would be very pleased with that idea, travels from the other side of the world just to get loaned out, nah :)

04-08-2023, 12:35 PM
Played very well last night, and probably says a lot about his professionalism that LJ trusted and played him the full 90 in a match that the manager was under pressure coming into.

06-08-2023, 04:13 PM
MOM by a country mile. Scored one, set up one, one, won every battle. Well played big man in a sea of pish

Bob Box Fish
06-08-2023, 04:16 PM
Only player worth his wages today

HendoDelivered
06-08-2023, 04:18 PM
Keep.

06-08-2023, 04:19 PM
In a poor first half he still won everything in the air. Second half he was brilliant.

CL0762
06-08-2023, 04:19 PM
Worked his arse off today, got his just rewards with his goal and his ball for ALF was spot on as well.

Didn’t deserve to be on the losing side.

06-08-2023, 04:21 PM
The only real positive part of today was Doidge’s excellent performance. Even before he scored, he was the only player doing his job to a good standard.

Credit to ALF too, took his goal well and generally improved us.

shamo9
06-08-2023, 04:24 PM
Only player worth his wages today

Unfair on Le Fondre. He came on and linked up very well with Doidge. We actually resembled a football team with those two up front. Hopefully they can form an effective partnership this season. It would be a great option to have.

LewysGot2
06-08-2023, 04:26 PM
MOM by a country mile. Scored one, set up one, one, won every battle. Well played big man in a sea of pish

Especially as he got nothing from the referee whatsoever. Was carrying a St Mirren defender for much of the game on his back. I know he's combatative himself but he got nothing - and that's not normal.

06-08-2023, 04:33 PM
Sue Perb

LunasBoots
06-08-2023, 04:36 PM
Considering the delivery we where giving him which was really non existent he put himself about and done well.

06-08-2023, 04:43 PM
Single handedly dragged us back into the game.

LJ seen Melkersen as a better option for us last year than Doidge. Baffling.

06-08-2023, 04:45 PM

To be fair Doidge was not great last season.

LewysGot2
06-08-2023, 04:46 PM

It's Melkerson that needs to be put out on loan. Doidge has never gone in the huff or downed tools over not figuring last season. He's got something to offer still and he cares.

06-08-2023, 04:46 PM
Him and ALF were reminding me of Niall Quinn and Kevin Phillips in their Sunderland pomp. One of the few good things about today was their link up work.

147lothian
06-08-2023, 04:49 PM
Doidge was the only player worthy of MOTM today, after an all round good performance on Thursday he turned in another one today, in this form he simply can't be dropped, if Dylan Vente is any good he will benefit from playing along side Doidge.

06-08-2023, 04:50 PM
To be fair Doidge was not great last season.

He was at a Killie team battling against the drop. He’d have bagged handful of goals with more than one of our strikers failed to do last season.

LewysGot2
06-08-2023, 04:52 PM
Doidge was the only player worthy of MOTM today, after an all round good performance on Thursday he turned in another one today, in this form he simply can't be dropped, if Dylan Vente is any good he will benefit from playing along side Doidge.

Funny enough no MotM was announced to my knowledge- which probably meant it was given to someone the sponsor wanted to meet as opposed to being actually MotM...

06-08-2023, 05:02 PM
In a poor first half he still won everything in the air. Second half he was brilliant.

For me he wasn't much better than anyone else in a disgraceful first half. Won a couple of flick ons and flicked it straight on when we were playing with two wide men. The second half he realised he could be physical too and played very well and was our best player. No brainer to keep him as he is the only one at the club that plays that way and we seem to play hoofball when we don't have a clue what we are meant to be playing.

coldingham hibs
06-08-2023, 05:24 PM
Had a very good game especially second half and was my Hibs MOM.

HIBS NUTS
06-08-2023, 05:26 PM
He was hibs best player today.

06-08-2023, 05:31 PM
MotM

Mikey_1875
06-08-2023, 05:32 PM
Great to see him play like that in the second half. Was surprised at how well him and Le Fondre linked up. Definitely shown he can play a part this season.

06-08-2023, 05:42 PM
I can’t be bothered to quote every player I’d get rid of from that squad before Doidge, far too many. La Fondre looked good when he came on, linked well with Doidge.

06-08-2023, 05:47 PM
For me he wasn't much better than anyone else in a disgraceful first half. Won a couple of flick ons and flicked it straight on when we were playing with two wide men. The second half he realised he could be physical too and played very well and was our best player. No brainer to keep him as he is the only one at the club that plays that way and we seem to play hoofball when we don't have a clue what we are meant to be playing.

Agreed, shouldn’t be immune from criticism for the first half. Not his fault arguably, as he was winning headers with nobody near him in support.

Excellent second half though and linked up very well with ALF, who I thought was very good when he went on.

06-08-2023, 05:47 PM
Doidge was excellent today. The only shining light in that terrible starting 11.

06-08-2023, 06:02 PM
Just make the guy manager.

06-08-2023, 06:04 PM
Doidge looks like he is playing for his future and had a great game today. His run and pass for our first goal was sensational.

Others look far too comfortable in their Hibs jerseys.

06-08-2023, 06:05 PM
It would be utter madness to let him go. Honestly think he’s going to earn himself a new contract.

06-08-2023, 06:11 PM
Doidge looks like he is playing for his future and had a great game today. His run and pass for our first goal was sensational.

Others look far too comfortable in their Hibs jerseys.

Good point this. There was a real lack of interest and desire for large parts of the game today. For too many there is no consequence to repeated poor performance.

06-08-2023, 06:12 PM
Daily Record reporting on twitter that Johnson has said Doidge is staying.

06-08-2023, 06:15 PM
Daily Record reporting on twitter that Johnson has said Doidge is staying.

Best player in green by some distance today.

06-08-2023, 06:23 PM
Best player in green by some distance today.
Agree but sad reflection of where we are

06-08-2023, 06:26 PM
Agree but sad reflection of where we are

CD is an option but just an option. Hopefully Vente will do the business with CD providing a more direct option if we need it. Squad player, fair enough. Main striker? No way.

06-08-2023, 06:31 PM
Doidge, the player who is deemed not good enough was again the best Hibs player today. Dozens of signing over the last 2 years, countless money spent and we more or less have the same team.

06-08-2023, 06:44 PM
He’s never impressed me but you could never fault his effort. He looked finished last season and I thought folk were getting carried away after Thursday but he did well again today. He’s the only forward we have with a physical presence so we should keep him, though I’m hopeful Vente will be our main striker - with the money we’ve spent he better be.

JammyDoidger
06-08-2023, 06:49 PM
Give me 11 Christian Doidge's any day over some of the crap in that team. Works his socks off, what he doesn't have in quality he makes up for in graft. Him and Le Fondre looked a handful today. 2 goals in 2 games, the big man is back. No doubt Johnson will bin him for Vente thought to persist with his 4-3-3.

06-08-2023, 06:59 PM
He looks a bit more mobile now also, definitely a good player to have in the squad

06-08-2023, 07:08 PM
On what I’ve seen so far, looks a totally different player. Almost a ‘new’ signing you could say.
Before going out on loan he Corey rarely won headed flick ons. Now he’s timing jumps well and hardly missed a flick on. Generally just looks fitter and up for it. Goals always help as well.

If he gets loaned out again, I’m immediately in the “Johnston out” camp.

MOTM today by a country mile.

The Captain....
06-08-2023, 07:09 PM
Felt sorry for him in the first half..the only service he got were hospital balls chipped up to him where the CH can come right thru' the back of him.

He helped provide one of the few moments of quality with his cross ball for Le Fondre then got on the end of one of the few quality balls into the box ( not aimlessly floated).

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

06-08-2023, 07:23 PM
Boy is an absolute baller. He was scunnered by the COVID last season. He's clearly over that now. Delighted he's back at his best. Mon the Doidger!

06-08-2023, 07:29 PM
His movement and pass for Alf was superb and to top it off with a fantastic instinctive finish when we badly needed it allied to his defensive display probably earned him our MOM in a below par team performance

The Doidge is back !

06-08-2023, 07:30 PM
His movement and pass for Alf was superb and to top it off with a fantastic instinctive finish when we badly needed it allied to his defensive display probably earned him our MOM in a below par team performance

Correct, number 23 for a reason

06-08-2023, 07:38 PM
Wonder if it was Doidge that Robinson was after

06-08-2023, 08:06 PM
He's like a new player. The Doidge of old. Delighted for him and us.

06-08-2023, 08:07 PM

When he’s fit, he’s one of the very best target men in this league.

06-08-2023, 08:08 PM
Wonder if it was Doidge that Robinson was after

St Mirren were one of the teams he turned down this window.

06-08-2023, 08:12 PM
Never been his biggest fan but one thing never in doubt is the effort you’ll get from him. There’s a few players, with more ability, who would do well to take a look at that.

Fair play to him, he’s given us an option I didn’t think we’d have this year.

7-Zip_Mike
06-08-2023, 08:13 PM
When he’s fit, he’s one of the very best target men in this league.

Holy F journeyman done

147lothian
06-08-2023, 08:14 PM

This, I think some folk seem to forget how good Doidge was before he got injured, pre injury every team in the SPL possibly outside of Celtic and Rangers would have taken Doidge. He is like a new player, and for me the team has to fit the players we have if this means going to a 4,4,2 to accommodate Doidge and Vente then so be it, we need our best players on the park

06-08-2023, 09:14 PM
Find it bizarre that people are saying Doidge was motm today because we didn't look a threat until Le Fondre came on. Good finish for his goal and he certainly puts the effort in but it's been 3 years since he's been performing at the level we need, so I think we need to look for better.

06-08-2023, 09:15 PM
Find it bizarre that people are saying Doidge was motm today because we didn't look a threat until Le Fondre came on. Good finish for his goal and he certainly puts the effort in but it's been 3 years since he's been performing at the level we need, so I think we need to look for better.

Who assisted ALF goal?

Big man was clear MOTM for me today.

06-08-2023, 09:18 PM

He got a goal and an assist. He did his job today, Le Fondre did when he came on. Nobody else did.

06-08-2023, 09:31 PM
He got a goal and an assist. He did his job today, Le Fondre did when he came on. Nobody else did.And he never seems to hide when things go wrong, he keeps digging away.

06-08-2023, 09:31 PM

He's performed at the level we need in his last two games. If he keep it up he'll be a real asset this season.

06-08-2023, 09:36 PM

He didn’t look a threat until then because he was up front on his own. He was winning everything in the air but no one was picking up his flick ons etc.

06-08-2023, 09:51 PM
He didn’t look a threat until then because he was up front on his own. He was winning everything in the air but no one was picking up his flick ons etc.

A flick on is essentially a headed pass. A difficult one granted, but it more than just winning the header, you have to direct it. For me he never "found a headed pass" in the first half partly because he never changed the direction of the ball enough and also because there wasn't anyone close enough. I doubt he even won half the headers he went for in the first half let alone everything and wasn't that great on the rare occasion he had a chance with a ball below head height. He was a different player in the second half and his movement was better and he eventually won his battle with his opponent, something very few of our players did today. He is still a player worth having but for me not if we are going to persist with 4-3-3. Maybe he is an option off the bench for chasing games or better still don't play 4-3-3 and give him a partner up top.

06-08-2023, 09:58 PM

No he wasn’t, his aerial success rate was 57% before the first goal. Doidge was great for the last half hour alongside ALF, for the first hour he was as poor as the rest of the team.

06-08-2023, 10:50 PM
No he wasn’t, his aerial success rate was 57% before the first goal. Doidge was great for the last half hour alongside ALF, for the first hour he was as poor as the rest of the team.

Yep agree… and I’m glad as I genuinely thought me and my wife were at different game to everyone else. In fact he was losing pretty much every ball in the air. Le Fondre won more in the air than Doidge and he was on for much less time and is half his size. I’m not saying Doidge wasn’t good today. He was. But he absolutely did not win everything in the air that I’ve seen loads of people say.

06-08-2023, 11:20 PM

Really? Im struggling to think of anyone who came even remotely close to Doidge today , le fondre when he came on was excellent but obviously didn’t play for long. Its no coincidence that Doidge stood out when Le Fondre came on , that because he actually knew how to play alongside the big man effectively. Doidge was on a hiding to nothing 1st half , lots of high and long balls with no support. He done what he could but had no support until the substitution

06-08-2023, 11:52 PM
Yep agree… and I’m glad as I genuinely thought me and my wife were at different game to everyone else. In fact he was losing pretty much every ball in the air. Le Fondre won more in the air than Doidge and he was on for much less time and is half his size. I’m not saying Doidge wasn’t good today. He was. But he absolutely did not win everything in the air that I’ve seen loads of people say.

Le Fondre won 1 aerial duel, Doidge won 10. Table below is filtered to show the top 10 in the league last season by aerial duels won per game. 10 won in a game is a high standard.

https://i.ibb.co/VLf26sx/Screenshot-20230807-004643.jpg (https://ibb.co/8m16kHb)

andrew70
07-08-2023, 12:11 AM
Le Fondre won 1 aerial duel, Doidge won 10. Table below is filtered to show the top 10 in the league last season by aerial duels won per game. 10 won in a game is a high standard.

https://i.ibb.co/VLf26sx/Screenshot-20230807-004643.jpg (https://ibb.co/8m16kHb)

Not when the ball was getting shelled to him every time Hanlon had the ball. 10 headers won were probably late in the game but early doors Taylor was winning everything for Saints.

davhibby
07-08-2023, 12:45 AM

Exactly. Was just like the Doidge of 3 years ago

07-08-2023, 04:06 AM
Not when the ball was getting shelled to him every time Hanlon had the ball. 10 headers won were probably late in the game but early doors Taylor was winning everything for Saints.

Hasn't it been said Doidge won more than half before our first goal?

07-08-2023, 04:24 AM
I personally felt the balls into the box were getting pumped miles over Doidge’s head yesterday they really needed to be aimed at the penalty spot and away from the Keeper

Anyway brilliant goal and assist

Was impressed with Alf

He is a wiry wee bloke and doesn’t get knocked off the ball easy

Doidge to stay according to the Daily Ranger

GoalsMcGinley
07-08-2023, 05:43 AM
A flick on is essentially a headed pass. A difficult one granted, but it more than just winning the header, you have to direct it. For me he never "found a headed pass" in the first half partly because he never changed the direction of the ball enough and also because there wasn't anyone close enough. I doubt he even won half the headers he went for in the first half let alone everything and wasn't that great on the rare occasion he had a chance with a ball below head height. He was a different player in the second half and his movement was better and he eventually won his battle with his opponent, something very few of our players did today. He is still a player worth having but for me not if we are going to persist with 4-3-3. Maybe he is an option off the bench for chasing games or better still don't play 4-3-3 and give him a partner up top.

Written like someone who has never played football at any level, ever.

“A flick on is essentially a headed pass" a bigger load of nonsense you’ll never read.

07-08-2023, 06:15 AM
Written like someone who has never played football at any level, ever.

“A flick on is essentially a headed pass" a bigger load of nonsense you’ll never read.

A more patronising post you’ll never read

07-08-2023, 06:22 AM
I thought Wookie pretty much summed up Doidge in the first half

What struck me was credit to St Mirren they always seemed to have three men on each of our front three when they were in advanced possession and always seemed to nick the ball away and find a black shirt

Doidge’s movement definitely improved second half

07-08-2023, 06:45 AM
Nothing against doidge more so the inept management on going at hibs

Most predicted doidge time at hibs was up

He since started in a must win European game and got the whole game 3 days later in our opening day of the season.

LJ - don’t think you know what your doing sadly

07-08-2023, 07:02 AM
Nothing against doidge more so the inept management on going at hibs

Most predicted doidge time at hibs was up

He since started in a must win European game and got the whole game 3 days later in our opening day of the season.

LJ - don’t think you know what your doing sadly

Or, flipping it around, started a European game, played well, played 3 days later and played well, setting up and scoring a goal so LJ does know what he is doing

MagicSwirlingShip
07-08-2023, 07:04 AM
I backed Hibs to give Doidge a chance, and he’s shown more than enough to suggest he deserved it.

However, it worries me that we revert to route one football when he plays. Some of the stuff on show yesterday was brutal.

07-08-2023, 07:38 AM
Boyle, Youan, Vente, Alf and an in form Doidge - we’ll score plenty this season

These lads even in a poor day aren’t the issue but these 5 are keeping my Thursday dream alive

07-08-2023, 08:01 AM
In fact he was losing pretty much every ball in the air.

How do you go from quoting somebody saying he won 57 percent of his aerial challenges to saying that?

07-08-2023, 08:10 AM

These lads even in a poor day aren’t the issue but these 5 are keeping my Thursday dream alive

Yep all of them already off the mark for the season (obviously excluding Vente).

Few assists between them as well.

For all the talk of replacing Nisbet, goals ain’t going to be an issue. Doidge finding some form is an unexpected bonus though.

Shame the rest of the team is completely unorganised.

JamesHFC
07-08-2023, 08:15 AM

We will score a barrel load this season. We just need to sort the defensive side out. Hopefully Wollacott is actually an upgrade on Marshall. Another right back is needed this window.

07-08-2023, 08:39 AM
We will score a barrel load this season. We just need to sort the defensive side out. Hopefully Wollacott is actually an upgrade on Marshall. Another right back is needed this window.

I'm not so convinced we will, unless we figure out the supply from midfield.

I totally agree that we have a variety of effective forwards though, which stands us in very good stead and probably only leaves us a midfielder and a bit of strategy away from scoring a barrel load.

07-08-2023, 08:50 AM

I totally agree that we have a variety of effective forwards though, which stands us in very good stead and probably only leaves us a midfielder and a bit of strategy away from scoring a barrel load.

Midfield from Jeggo, Levitt and Newell would work

07-08-2023, 09:01 AM
Or, flipping it around, started a European game, played well, played 3 days later and played well, setting up and scoring a goal so LJ does know what he is doing

This 100%, Doidge had a decent game and there are folk on here still giving him flak.

JamesHFC
07-08-2023, 09:02 AM

We scored 57 last season with Nisbet & Boyle out for at least half of it, which was 4th best in the league. Keep Boyle fit with the additions of Vente & Le Fondre we should be topping 60 goals. Even with the same midfield albeit the addition of Levitt.

07-08-2023, 09:08 AM
A goal and an assist yesterday. Least of our problems especially with Vente to come in.

07-08-2023, 09:09 AM
Midfield from Jeggo, Levitt and Newell would work

That would certainly be my first choice 3 out of who we currently have.

07-08-2023, 09:39 AM

It absolutely has to be, and we need more depth in midfield as well. A starting midfield of Newell, JDH and Campbell does not work and incredible that they're still starting league games together.

07-08-2023, 09:41 AM
Even if Vente’s work permit comes through shortly, it’s Doidge’s shirt to lose for me just now.

07-08-2023, 02:58 PM
https://twitter.com/BBCSportScot/status/1688490168381321216?s=20

Good snippet from Doidge.

More than deserves his chance.

07-08-2023, 03:14 PM
https://twitter.com/BBCSportScot/status/1688490168381321216?s=20

Good snippet from Doidge.

More than deserves his chance. They are running out of reasons not to keep him at Hibs, hopefully continuing to pick him and him continuing to play for the jersey means he's back in the fold and will only lose his place due to form or injury.

Great guy to have around in the current mix of players we have.

07-08-2023, 04:04 PM
They are running out of reasons not to keep him at Hibs, hopefully continuing to pick him and him continuing to play for the jersey means he's back in the fold and will only lose his place due to form or injury.

Great guy to have around in the current mix of players we have.

I’d be very disappointed if Christian continues with his form and he’s shown the door. He’s returned from his loan spell and the summer looking lean and ready to go.

07-08-2023, 04:26 PM
Fair play to the big man, playing well.

07-08-2023, 04:35 PM
Effects of Long Covid worn off? Certainly seems so.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

07-08-2023, 10:02 PM
I was one that was definitely leaning towards the ‘offload him’ side, particularly with the wages he’s likely on for someone I didn’t expect to be playing a significant part in the first team.

His assist and goal alone at the weekend justified him starting, no doubt. I still think it’s too early to state it’s madness to let him go etc (and I think almost all of us expect Vente to be clear first choice) but credit to the big man for stating his case early doors, and I sincerely hope he continues to prove me wrong.

08-08-2023, 08:07 AM
I was critical of him during the week there and asked he actually do it against proper teams in the league rather than diddys in pre-season. Ill give him his due he done that on Sunday and was probably our best player. If he can keep up the momentum I'll eat my hat happily.

08-08-2023, 08:08 AM
The Achilles injury would hamper his Movement turn speed etc horrendous esp with him being striker hopefully back now to old self

08-08-2023, 08:10 AM
I’d be very disappointed if Christian continues with his form and he’s shown the door. He’s returned from his loan spell and the summer looking lean and ready to go.

Letting him leave is a non starter now. He's been very good since coming back.

08-08-2023, 08:21 AM
Letting him leave is a non starter now. He's been very good since coming back.

It would be the nail in the coffin for me as far as Johnson is concerned.

08-08-2023, 08:33 AM
It would be the nail in the coffin for me as far as Johnson is concerned.Should be okay, LJ still needs cover at goalkeeper.

chippy
08-08-2023, 08:36 AM
What if we used his sale to fund a good central midfielder like O’ Hara?

08-08-2023, 08:39 AM
What if we used his sale to fund a good central midfielder like O’ Hara?

Then we would need to have a suitable if not better replacement.

I take it this is wishful thinking??

Cash plus JDH? Mind you if it was Doidge they wanted!

Meant to add do you really think LJ will sign another MF player? I’d be very very surprised.

08-08-2023, 08:44 AM

Mine too but would like to see some of the youth being tried out in positions we are severly lacking in. Imagine if one of the youth had a Collin's type performance at the age of 18. :flag: Trying to remember JC's first game, was it cold Wednesday night at ER against Rangers where he scored in a 1-0 win or was it against Aberdeen (2-2 I think) with the returning Charlie Nicholas for the Dons? Memory not as good as once was.

On LJ, unfortunatley he doesn't have it! Someone previously said he puts 11 men out and hopes the ye know what to do, I would go further and just say complete cluster****. I cannot trust him to identify potential players. Times up for him from me. Sorry.

08-08-2023, 08:56 AM
It would be the nail in the coffin for me as far as Johnson is concerned.

You just know if we let Doidge go Vente will turn out to be *****

GreenGray
08-08-2023, 09:00 AM
I thought Doidge was done, never been happier to be wrong. Looks much better than last season and the fact he’s desperate l to be here makes it even better.

Only worry for me is any striker will struggle to be be effective playing in Johnson’s 4-3-3, including Vente. We looked better with two up front but not sure how you fit in Youan and Boyle into that.

08-08-2023, 09:01 AM
He's been outstanding in the 2 games we've had at ER since he's been back.

The consensus on here was that his performances were down to him being done as a result of his injury. It looks now that it was just his confidence was low.

The thing i always struggled with was, these aren't the sort of injuries that finish careers, and he's proved that in the last couple of games. Great to have him back.

ChilliEater
08-08-2023, 10:20 AM
Doesn't sound like LJ wants him:
"Johnson confirmed that he too expected Doidge to remain at Hibs, where he is contracted until the end of the season. “We have had very honest conversations all the way through,” he said. “I feel like he’s been very strong in wanting to stay and that’s his prerogative.""

08-08-2023, 10:24 AM
"Johnson confirmed that he too expected Doidge to remain at Hibs, where he is contracted until the end of the season. “We have had very honest conversations all the way through,” he said. “I feel like he’s been very strong in wanting to stay and that’s his prerogative.""

Agree. Think that was what he was quoted as saying after the game on Sunday and I basically took it as Doidge will be staying because he’s not prepared to move, rather than he’s worked his way back in to the team and we’re happy for him to stay.

08-08-2023, 10:25 AM
I thought Doidge was done, never been happier to be wrong. Looks much better than last season and the fact he’s desperate l to be here makes it even better.

Only worry for me is any striker will struggle to be be effective playing in Johnson’s 4-3-3, including Vente. We looked better with two up front but not sure how you fit in Youan and Boyle into that.

He needs to get that midfield 3 dynamic right. I think it needs to include a defensive mid like Jeggo which is a shame as he's poor at getting the ball further forward but Levitt can make the passes that will take advantage of our key strengths in Boyle & Youan. It'll take time to click and we'll also need backup plans but there's got to be something there to work on between the midfielders that we have to allow one of the more creative ones to find space and open teams up.

08-08-2023, 10:26 AM
Doidge obviously thinking he will be at the club longer than the slavering goon.

08-08-2023, 10:27 AM

I agree he didn't have Doidge in his squad plans but it doesn't seem like he's angry about it otherwise he wouldn't have given him the opportunities. It makes things a bit tougher for Josh O'Connor to break back in should he do well in Airdrie which may have been part of longer term plan.

08-08-2023, 10:31 AM
I agree he didn't have Doidge in his squad plans but it doesn't seem like he's angry about it otherwise he wouldn't have given him the opportunities. It makes things a bit tougher for Josh O'Connor to break back in should he do well in Airdrie which may have been part of longer term plan.

Doidge will be away at the end of next season when Josh comes back

08-08-2023, 10:52 AM

Fish
Hanlon
Harbottle

Boyle
Newell
Levitt
Youan
Obita

Alf
Doidge

:duck:

08-08-2023, 10:56 AM
Fish
Hanlon
Harbottle

Boyle
Newell
Levitt
Youan
Obita

Alf
Doidge

:duck:

Nae goalie? Like it!!

Wait, Youan in the middle of the park?? 😳

08-08-2023, 11:03 AM
Nae goalie? Like it!!

Wait, Youan in the middle of the park?? 😳

It’s fine he’ll just have to show his football IQ and personality

08-08-2023, 11:40 AM
Agree. Think that was what he was quoted as saying after the game on Sunday and I basically took it as Doidge will be staying because he’s not prepared to move, rather than he’s worked his way back in to the team and we’re happy for him to stay.

Which is quite frankly madness. Doidge has played his way back into contention , has shown loyalty to the club, and to be honest think he’s been treated poorly by the management team since LJ came in.

The loan spell last season was the right thing as he was clearly still struggling post injury but he scores goals, brings others into play, and closes down.

That’s piss poor from LJ.

08-08-2023, 11:52 AM
To be fair LJ doesn't have to pick him. If he wanted rid he wouldn't.

08-08-2023, 12:04 PM
Which is quite frankly madness. Doidge has played his way back into contention , has shown loyalty to the club, and to be honest think he’s been treated poorly by the management team since LJ came in.

The loan spell last season was the right thing as he was clearly still struggling post injury but he scores goals, brings others into play, and closes down.

The one thing I will say is that we’ve just spent 700k on a striker so he is going to play, no question about it.

If Doidge continues to do what he did at the weekend it’ll be hard to leave him out. But it’s still big if just now. We’re potentially left with an expensive sub and we might have had plans to use that money if we could free up that wage.

Either way, I’m happy for him to stay if he continue to show what he did at the weekend.

08-08-2023, 12:15 PM
The one thing I will say is that we’ve just spent 700k on a striker so he is going to play, no question about it.

If Doidge continues to do what he did at the weekend it’ll be hard to leave him out. But it’s still big if just now. We’re potentially left with an expensive sub and we might have had plans to use that money if we could free up that wage.

Either way, I’m happy for him to stay if he continue to show what he did at the weekend.

It would be a shame to see an in form Doidge becoming rusty on the bench. Hopefully he still gets minutes to keep him ticking over. I agree though, Vente will play due to the price tag. Doidge seems keen to stay though so we could end up with an expensive yet extremely handy substitute.

09-08-2023, 06:44 AM
It would be a shame to see an in form Doidge becoming rusty on the bench. Hopefully he still gets minutes to keep him ticking over. I agree though, Vente will play due to the price tag. Doidge seems keen to stay though so we could end up with an expensive yet extremely handy substitute.

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/christian-doidge-and-lee-johnson-discuss-strikers-future-after-two-goals-in-two-games-4246270

Definitely sounds like Doidge will be here for the season. With Alf as well gives the new guy a chance to settle in rather than get thrown in at the deep end.

Let’s score some goals!

09-08-2023, 07:34 AM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/christian-doidge-and-lee-johnson-discuss-strikers-future-after-two-goals-in-two-games-4246270

Definitely sounds like Doidge will be here for the season. With Alf as well gives the new guy a chance to settle in rather than get thrown in at the deep end.

Let’s score some goals!

I’ll possibly get accused of having another go at Johnson, but his comments in that article were hardly a ringing endorsement of Doidge. Comes across as if the player wants to stay and Johnson has just had to accept it.

147lothian
09-08-2023, 10:02 AM
This is my take on Sunday, although the system would be called a 4,3,3 it was in effect a 4,5,1 until almost 20 minutes into the second half when Alf came on, I would call it a 4,5,1 because all we were doing was lump high balls up to Doidge, who was more often than not our most forward player, when Alf came on Doidge had someone to play along side and we started looking a better more dangerous side going forward, the system when Alf was on the park, I would call a 4,4,2

This seems to me the best system we have because it suits our players, especially if we are going to lump the ball forward, I think we have to revert to a 4,4,2 with Doidge and Vente up top, with Alf on the bench, the system can then be changed depending on the way the game is going but should start a basic 4,4,2

09-08-2023, 10:07 AM
This is my take on Sunday, although the system would be called a 4,3,3 it was in effect a 4,5,1 until almost 20 minutes into the second half when Alf came on, I would call it a 4,5,1 because all we were doing was lump high balls up to Doidge, who was more often than not our most forward player, when Alf came on Doidge had someone to play along side and we started looking a better more dangerous side going forward, the system when Alf was on the park, I would call a 4,4,2

This seems to me the best system we have because it suits our players, especially if we are going to lump the ball forward, I think we have to revert to a 4,4,2 with Doidge and Vente up top, with Alf on the bench, the system can then be changed depending on the way the game is going but should start a basic 4,4,2

It was a 3-5-2 when ALF came on with Stevenson beside Hanlon and Jeggo, Obita LM and Youan RM.

09-08-2023, 10:07 AM

What if Vente is a similar type of player to Doidge but better? Because I think that's what's expected.

09-08-2023, 10:19 AM
What if Vente is a similar type of player to Doidge but better? Because I think that's what's expected.

From the little I’ve seen and heard I don’t think he is, certainly not viewed as a “physical” presence.

09-08-2023, 10:19 AM
I’ll possibly get accused of having another go at Johnson, but his comments in that article were hardly a ringing endorsement of Doidge. Comes across as if the player wants to stay and Johnson has just had to accept it.

It does.

Managers often tell players that they're free to find another club. Most leave, but some stay for whatever reason.

In any case, I don't think we'll see a great deal of Christian because Vente is our number 9 and we've signed ALF.

That just means we'll have to keep a high earner unnecessarily on the books and lose out on a potential transfer fee when he walks for nothing in 9 months or so.

09-08-2023, 10:23 AM
He isn’t similiar to Doidge so I would be keeping Doidge still has a role to play

09-08-2023, 10:25 AM

I think you're probably reading too much in to that. Johnson started him on Sunday ahead of his own signing which shows he rates him. If LJ didn't fancy him he'd have started ALF instead and Doidge would be in the stand.

09-08-2023, 10:51 AM
I think you're probably reading too much in to that. Johnson started him on Sunday ahead of his own signing which shows he rates him. If JL didn't fancy him he'd have started ALF instead and Doidge would be in the stand.

Needs must imo. Melkersen isn’t the answer, ALF wasn’t signed as a starter, until Vente is available there really wasn’t much of an option. If Doidge had accepted terms from one of the three clubs who wanted him instead of turning them down he’d be away.

09-08-2023, 11:02 AM
Needs must imo. Melkersen isn’t the answer, ALF wasn’t signed as a starter, until Vente is available there really wasn’t much of an option. If Doidge had accepted terms from one of the three clubs who wanted him instead of turning them down he’d be away.

Do you know if BM had a replacement lined up if CD left? There was talk of us looking for another striker.

09-08-2023, 11:17 AM
Do you know if BM had a replacement lined up if CD left? There was talk of us looking for another striker.

All I heard was we wanted Myko, tried more than once for him, but couldn’t make a deal happen. Tried for Wyke and after initially seeming keen the player didn’t want to come, so switched our attention to Vente. I believe we wanted a number 10 type rather than another striker. Johnson had been impressed with Melkersen pre season so the thought may have been he’d get more game time.

09-08-2023, 11:29 AM
All I heard was we wanted Myko, tried more than once for him, but couldn’t make a deal happen. Tried for Wyke and after initially seeming keen the player didn’t want to come, so switched our attention to Vente. I believe we wanted a number 10 type rather than another striker. Johnson had been impressed with Melkersen pre season so the thought may have been he’d get more game time.

Ok cheers.

09-08-2023, 12:28 PM

I would say you are partly correct however the article has chopped out the subsequent bit where Johnson went on to say that he'd said to Doidge there will be opportunities for game time but it depends on performances and he won't be a guaranteed starter. He also said to the interviewer he'd been unlucky to get a perfectly good goal disallowed against Inter.

It seems to me that there have been conversations about going to other clubs that have come in for him, we've wanted him to go to one of them (which a lot of fans would have been okay with before the season started) but as he is playing well he'll get game time. It's not as if he's being frozen out of the team to try and force him out the door. Johnson sounded happy enough with him being here and he's at least smart enough to realise he will make a contribution to the team (so far, quite a good one).

My take on it is LJ wanted him to go but has since started to shift his stance.

09-08-2023, 12:45 PM
He isn’t similiar to Doidge so I would be keeping Doidge still has a role to play

Yeah, I don't expect to see Vente backing into defenders and winning lots of aerial duels but from his showreel he did seem to score a reasonable number of headers. IIRC they were mostly from getting on the end of balls chipped over defenders' heads and him finding space in the box. It remains to be seen how well he manages do that against Premiership opposition.

09-08-2023, 02:10 PM
Good to see Doidge in form but it's no good just punting it up to him and expecting him to cope.

09-08-2023, 02:40 PM
He is also currently out top scoring striker ,including friendlies is he not