View Full Version : Predictions For Thursday
02-08-2023, 09:13 PM
I’m going for Hibs to pull them in an embarrassingly one sided display. 8-0.
Trinity Hibee
02-08-2023, 09:14 PM
Going to say 3-0
02-08-2023, 09:15 PM
Hibs to win by 3 or more.
ErinGoBraghHFC
02-08-2023, 09:15 PM
Stop. Please for the love of **** stop. No one say another word. No predictions, no “they’re *****”, just be an anxious wreck at the thought of going out of Europe to a part time team from somewhere in the Pyrenees. No jinxing it.
McGhee
02-08-2023, 09:16 PM
I too would suggest 3 - 0 to Hibernian. Have to get the tactics spot on. Over to you Lee.
babahibs
02-08-2023, 09:18 PM
4- 0
2- 0 half time
McGhee
02-08-2023, 09:20 PM
Stop. Please for the love of **** stop. No one say another word. No predictions, no “they’re *****”, just be an anxious wreck at the thought of going out of Europe to a part time team from somewhere in the Pyrenees. No jinxing it.
They're a far greater team than Brora, that's for certain. They're hard working, industrious, and put out another hard working side in Vikingur. We have to be at the top of our game tomorrow. What's with the superior jambo type attitude?
Hibs to go through but not as comfortably as we'd like so will be nervous for most, if not all, of the match.
killie-hibby
02-08-2023, 09:31 PM
Hibs 3. Andorans 1
Kaiser_Sauzee
02-08-2023, 09:46 PM
2-0. A goal each half.
Over 20 shots on goal.
02-08-2023, 09:47 PM
4-0. Doidge Hat-Trick.
Paulie Walnuts
02-08-2023, 09:49 PM
3-1.
CentreForward
02-08-2023, 09:55 PM
Have had a look at their recent games in Europe, a mixture of Champions League and Europa and Conference league. In their last 13 games they have only lost 17 goals and have won about as many games as they have lost. That certainly doesn’t suggest that they are a side who are losing 5 or 6 goals in every European game and nobody in the last few seasons has been thrashing them.
02-08-2023, 10:06 PM
Have had a look at their recent games in Europe, a mixture of Champions League and Europa and Conference league. In their last 13 games they have only lost 17 goals and have won about as many games as they have lost. That certainly doesn’t suggest that they are a side who are losing 5 or 6 goals in every European game and nobody in the last few seasons has been thrashing them.
To be fair they’ve played teams from Kosovo, Ireland, Faroe Islands, San Marino and Albania. The one decent team they did play, and did well against at home, was Cluj. We should be going out and winning this game well tomorrow, especially on the back of last week. I think we will as well.
02-08-2023, 10:08 PM
It’ll be either 3-0 or 4-0, I’ve stuck a bet on both.
02-08-2023, 10:09 PM
We should get through but I woudn`t be surprised if we needed extra time and even penalties . I haven`t seen anything from Hibs in 2023 to suggest it`ll be easy and I don`t remember Andorran club or national teams being thrashed by anyone in recent years .
I'm convinced the players will be chomping at the bit to make up for last week's horror show and to silence a few mouths. 5-0
hibsfan7
02-08-2023, 10:19 PM
5-0 hibs
02-08-2023, 10:53 PM
What's with the superior jambo type attitude?
It’s just people stating their predictions on a predictions thread, like what happens for most of our games.
I genuinely think we’ll win by 4 or 5 tomorrow. Just a hunch. Surely I shouldn’t pretend I think something else to avoid having a superior jambo type attitude?
Torto7
03-08-2023, 12:08 AM
2-1 then extra time winner.
03-08-2023, 12:30 AM
We should be horsing this mob. It’s like playing Cowdenbeath or Berwick rangers.
LJ should be out of a job if we don’t go through tomorrow night.
03-08-2023, 01:30 AM
4-1 to the good guys.
We should be horsing this mob. It’s like playing Cowdenbeath or Berwick rangers.
So what's your prediction?
03-08-2023, 04:19 AM
This x100
03-08-2023, 04:36 AM
Quick goal and blow them away, it may well not work out like that but I’m going to keep it positive as it’s only HT in the tie.
Hibs to sail through with a 6-2 aggregate.
Glory Glory
03-08-2023, 05:21 AM
Get off to a quick start then we should be fine, would be a bonus to be 2/3-0 up at halftime.
Might not go this way but I'm sure the FFL will be noisy from the off.
03-08-2023, 05:38 AM
Disagree with your first statement but agree resoundingly with the 2nd.
Just get through, when did we last properly horse someone in Europe?
03-08-2023, 06:36 AM
5-0 Hibs
03-08-2023, 06:50 AM
I predict a bus parked, 75% possession for us and a handful of yellows for them, maybe even for time wasting before HT.
Our defence needs to stay really switched on to the counter. Yes we should be horsing them with the tie not just put to bed, but tucked in, fast asleep and snoring, before HT. But when did we last give out a real horsing when massively in possession? I'll happily take 2-0.
Bridge hibs
03-08-2023, 06:52 AM
I predict a bus parked, 75% possession for us and a handful of yellows for them, maybe even for time wasting before HT.
Our defence needs to stay really switched on to the counter. Yes we should be horsing them with the tie not just put to bed, but tucked in, fast asleep and snoring, before HT. But when did we last give out a real horsing when massively in possession? I'll happily take 2-0.
v Aberdeen 6-0
03-08-2023, 07:00 AM
v Aberdeen 6-0
Aye, I thought of that but much as we'd like to, the Sheepsters are not a "minnow" team and I very much doubt we dominated possession at around 75%.
03-08-2023, 07:12 AM
Not quite. When was the last time Cowdenbeath or Berwick play in Europe? Yes we should beat them but they are not at the level you suggest.
Halmyre Hibee
03-08-2023, 07:17 AM
Depends if the players turn up tonight. Be on the front foot from the word go, no sloppy passing or defensive blunders and create and take our chances. I’m looking at 3-0 minimum.
Paulie Walnuts
03-08-2023, 07:20 AM
Not quite. When was the last time Cowdenbeath or Berwick play in Europe? Yes we should beat them but they are not at the level you suggest.
Cowdenbeath and Berwick Rangers wouldn’t have recently gave Cluj a game, or some of the other sides they have played. We should be beating them, probably by 2 or 3, but we shouldn’t be taking 8 or 9 off them.
fairafarhib
03-08-2023, 07:48 AM
I’m going for Hibs to pull them in an embarrassingly one sided display. 8-0.
6-2
03-08-2023, 07:48 AM
We should see this one through, but ………27093 I’m a wee bit nervous. :greengrin
sauzeelegod
03-08-2023, 08:47 AM
5-0
03-08-2023, 08:49 AM
I'd say they were lower Championship standard. They embarrassed us (deservedly). We should be going all out to embarrass them in return.
Paulie Walnuts
03-08-2023, 08:52 AM
I'd say they were lower Championship standard. They embarrassed us (deservedly). We should be going all out to embarrass them in return.
Yeah from last week that’s probably about where I’d put them as well. They’re certainly not lowland league/league 2 level.
tug.lismore
03-08-2023, 09:07 AM
Bluntly I will be happy just to get through to the next round any way we can.
However I would prefer if we can get an early goal to level the tie and force them to attack a little. They will still fancy their chances of nicking a goal so a second before half time would be ideal. Indeed if we are 3-0 up at HT then I will relax (a little).
Can see us winning by one goal, no score in extra time and squeaking through on penalties.
Would take that if needs be.
Sent from my M2007J17G using Tapatalk
03-08-2023, 09:09 AM
Yeah from last week that’s probably about where I’d put them as well. They’re certainly not lowland league/league 2 level.
Yup. Cluj needed a penalty to draw with this lot last year in Andorra before beating them comfortably 3-0 in the return leg.
I'm Spartacus
03-08-2023, 09:11 AM
Yip, expecting 5 tonight. Huge amounts of possession, 20+ shots. We move on and put this round down to experience and a good run out.
03-08-2023, 09:13 AM
Fish will open the scoring with a header from a joe Newall corner in the first 20 minutes. Youan and Boyle will both have shots saved after that and Alf will stab one of them home off the rebound. 2-0 half time.
Second half we will be frustratingly poor for the first 20 mins and they will press, couple of saves needed, couple of corners, but Youan and boyle will break with the ball eventually being cut back to Campbell who will fire home for 3-0. With 3 minutes to go a corner will be half cleared, Stevenson will shoot and it will defelct into the net of a hapless defender..4-0 full time.
03-08-2023, 09:15 AM
Fish will open the scoring with a header from a joe Newall corner in the first 20 minutes. Youan and Boyle will both have shots saved after that and Alf will stab one of them home off the rebound. 2-0 half time.
Second half we will be frustratingly poor for the first 20 mins and they will press, couple of saves needed, couple of corners, but Youan and boyle will break with the ball eventually being cut back to Campbell who will fire home for 3-0. With 3 minutes to go a corner will be half cleared, Stevenson will shoot and it will defelct into the net of a hapless defender..4-0 full time.
Then Harry McKirdy will run down from the stand, slide on his knees in front of the Inter bench and do the machine gun celebration. Everyone will clap and cheer.
HendoDelivered
03-08-2023, 09:21 AM
1-1.
They score first.
🙄
03-08-2023, 09:23 AM
5-1 for us which should finish them as a club
03-08-2023, 09:27 AM
Last Thursday was a shock to the system - thankfully it’s just the halfway stage and we’re at home.
There should be a real determination from players to redeem themselves after last week’s embarrassing result, and a win by a comfortable margin should be forthcoming.
6-0
03-08-2023, 09:36 AM
5-0
03-08-2023, 09:36 AM
4-0
03-08-2023, 09:39 AM
What will the pie queues be like?
tug.lismore
Second half we will be frustratingly poor for the first 20 mins and they will press, couple of saves needed, couple of corners, but Youan and boyle will break with the ball eventually being cut back to Campbell who will fire home for 3-0. With 3 minutes to go a corner will be half cleared, Stevenson will shoot and it will defelct into the net of a hapless defender..4-0 full time.Funnily enough I was thinking big Fish from a corner for the first goal.
No doubt they will look to defend deep from the start. Stop us scoring is job done for them.
Hopefully that means lots of possession for us and numerous corners. Fish has proven useful at these.
An early goal will get the crowd buzzing.
Sent from my M2007J17G using Tapatalk
1875M
If Boyle was playing, I’d be a lot more confident. He needs to pick the right team which in my opinion, he didn’t last week. 2-0 Hibs.
03-08-2023, 09:40 AM
If Boyle was playing, I’d be a lot more confident. He needs to pick the right team which in my opinion, he didn’t last week. 2-0 Hibs.
Who would you have played last week?
Hibees1973
03-08-2023, 09:42 AM
They will be time wasting from the very 1st minute.
My concern is that one of our players will get sent off through sheer stupidity which will make it very difficult for us to progress.
1875M
03-08-2023, 09:44 AM
Who would you have played last week?
Would have played a midfield of Jeggo, Newell and Levitt. I got stick for saying Levitt is not a 6 but he’s better further forward. He’s neat and tidy in possession but need someone in that position who can win the ball back and give it to the players higher up. Put a holding midfielder in there and let Newell and Levitt get forward more (or whoever plays, Campbell or Doyle - Hayes).
03-08-2023, 09:47 AM
What will the pie queues be like?
Moany :greengrin
03-08-2023, 09:49 AM
Would have played a midfield of Jeggo, Newell and Levitt. I got stick for saying Levitt is not a 6 but he’s better further forward. He’s neat and tidy in possession but need someone in that position who can win the ball back and give it to the players higher up. Put a holding midfielder in there and let Newell and Levitt get forward more (or whoever plays, Campbell or Doyle - Hayes).
I agree with that midfield however not sure Newell was fit to play from the start last week. I think he’s another who LJ thought he wouldn’t have to use
03-08-2023, 10:19 AM
I think folk predicting 5 or 6-0 are way off the mark. Hopefully not!
Hillsidehibby
03-08-2023, 10:27 AM
I predict a busy night for the Inter physio with head knocks at every challenge
Gloucester Hibs
03-08-2023, 10:30 AM
4-1
H18S NX
03-08-2023, 10:33 AM
3-0 Hibs
03-08-2023, 10:49 AM
3-1 to Hibs
But to do that we need every single player on the ball, focussed on the win
No showboating from the ones prone to showboating
No daft early yellows from the midfield
No "letting the ball bounce", in defence
No dolly gifts from the keeper
There's a job to do
03-08-2023, 10:53 AM
Well I was looking forward to the game but I'm now nervous thanks to this thread.
AltheHibby
03-08-2023, 10:56 AM
Trump to be arrested? Oh, wait, wrong thread. 3-1 after extra time.
03-08-2023, 01:10 PM
Think this will be a lot tougher than expected and we will do well to get through.
Going for a nervous 1-0 win but won’t be surprised if it’s a draw tonight.
03-08-2023, 01:33 PM
Cowdenbeath and Berwick Rangers wouldn’t have recently gave Cluj a game, or some of the other sides they have played. We should be beating them, probably by 2 or 3, but we shouldn’t be taking 8 or 9 off them.
Did Cluj underestimate them and field a 2nd string teamed get caught out though? :dunno:
03-08-2023, 01:34 PM
Think this will be a lot tougher than expected and we will do well to get through.
Going for a nervous 1-0 win but won’t be surprised if it’s a draw tonight.
If it’s 1-0 it will go to extra time
03-08-2023, 01:54 PM
I don't do predictions ... ever.
Folk saying 4 and 5 nil are kidding themselves. How often do Hibs beat anybody by that kind of scoreline? This is a team with European experience who will put 10 men behind the ball and look to score on the break and if I recall correctly we couldn't put away a Hearts team on the last day of the season who had 10 men on the park for practically the whole 2nd half and that was with Nisbet in the team.
I can't help thinking this is going to be massively tough and massively frustrating. Hibs have to use the multi ball system to it's fullest, even having 16 ans 17 year old youth players acting as ballboys, something we've done before IIRC. We have to be in the ref's face every time one of their players goes down and just as importantly the crowd has to try and remain patient for as long as it can.
I'd settle for 2 - 0 in 90 minutes, because that's all we need and in all honesty all I think we will be capable of.
03-08-2023, 02:05 PM
Folk saying 4 and 5 nil are kidding themselves. How often do Hibs beat anybody by that kind of scoreline? This is a team with European experience who will put 10 men behind the ball and look to score on the break and if I recall correctly we couldn't put away a Hearts team on the last day of the season who had 10 men on the park for practically the whole 2nd half and that was with Nisbet in the team.
I can't help thinking this is going to be massively tough and massively frustrating. Hibs have to use the multi ball system to it's fullest, even having 16 ans 17 year old youth players acting as ballboys, something we've done before IIRC. We have to be in the ref's face every time one of their players goes down and just as importantly the crowd has to try and remain patient for as long as it can.
I'd settle for 2 - 0 in 90 minutes, because that's all we need and in all honesty all I think we will be capable of.
That is kind of where I am to be honest. A frustrating game and narrow win.
03-08-2023, 02:07 PM
5-0.
03-08-2023, 02:14 PM
Did Cluj underestimate them and field a 2nd string teamed get caught out though? :dunno:
Did we field a second string team? Based on what was available of course.
The Captain....
03-08-2023, 02:16 PM
Think 2 nil ..both goals late on in second half to put us all thru the wringer.
Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk
03-08-2023, 02:44 PM
1-1. We get a goal, they sit in and hit us on the counter.
03-08-2023, 02:53 PM
Dinnae
03-08-2023, 03:08 PM
Huge pitch, us moving the ball constantly sapping their energy, they'll get a few early yellows and walk tight ropes. They will definitely tire in the 2nd half. They're not playing in a small public park tonight.
03-08-2023, 03:09 PM
I think we will hammer them. The players know last was a joke and they can't afford a repeat performance. 5/6- 0
03-08-2023, 03:09 PM
Dinnae
Be lucky if they line up with a forward on the park.
Jakhog1
03-08-2023, 03:24 PM
I am saying 4 nowt for us tonight, this is my laddies first European game and to say he is excited is an understatement, he is really hyper the now. Takes me back to my first European game against Videoton in 89.
03-08-2023, 03:30 PM
I think we will hammer them. The players know last was a joke and they can't afford a repeat performance. 5/6- 0
You would like to think so, like most think an good start and create chances early and we should be fine.
Don't want us getting to the 70/80th minute time still looking for the winner with us struggling to break them down.
Should be plenty of noise tonight.
03-08-2023, 04:03 PM
Yup, folk are forgetting about them and thinking it's only about us.
It's not. They were a decent enough side and we'll need to up our game hugely from last week to have a chance.
I think it's 50/50 on whether we get through or not.
03-08-2023, 04:08 PM
We usually struggle when teams sit with all their men behind the ball
We need an early goal and to force them out, need to be 10 times better than last week
Let’s not be shelling the ball out the park at every opportunity either
Do or die tonight for LJ.
DinkyTwo
03-08-2023, 04:09 PM
Yup, folk are forgetting about them and thinking it's only about us.
It's not. They were a decent enough side and we'll need to up our game hugely from last week to have a chance.
I think it's 50/50 on whether we get through or not.Agreed.
Think it's 50/50 tonight and that's if we turn up and don't have any goalkeeping disasters.
Some of their forward players looked pretty handy and no guarantee that they can't go up a gear either.
Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk
Seekyit
03-08-2023, 04:41 PM
They will be time wasting from the very 1st minute.
My concern is that one of our players will get sent off through sheer stupidity which will make it very difficult for us to progress.
I predict a busy night for the Inter physio with head knocks at every challenge
All of the above but I think we'll have enough, 2 or 3-0. I'll be disappointed in we need extra time or worse still penalties.
03-08-2023, 04:48 PM
1-0 (2-0 AET), 3-2 Agg
We’re still very short up front without Vente registered for this one. If Boyle is back, that’s big for us.
Tha Cabbage Kid
03-08-2023, 04:53 PM
1-0 half time 5-0 full time. nervy first 20 mins then all action! :flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::f lag:
03-08-2023, 05:05 PM
Think it's 50/50 tonight and that's if we turn up and don't have any goalkeeping disasters.
Some of their forward players looked pretty handy and no guarantee that they can't go up a gear either.
Really? They are part-time team with no decent players. If we don't put them away comfortably then it's a disgrace and Johnson will be a gonner
03-08-2023, 05:05 PM
2-0. Realist.
DinkyTwo
03-08-2023, 05:16 PM
Really? They are part-time team with no decent players. If we don't put them away comfortably then it's a disgrace and Johnson will be a gonnerFingers crossed for the former man.
Absolutely no excuses for the team or LJ if we're pinging the ball out the park tonight