View Full Version : Dylan Vente

dastardly8
31-07-2023, 07:16 PM
Thoughts on the new signing ?

ErinGoBraghHFC
31-07-2023, 07:18 PM
Spent a lot of money and on high wages apparently, lot of expectation on him clearly. Hopefully he fulfils that, I think he’ll do well.

HIBS NUTS
31-07-2023, 07:23 PM
Spent a lot of money and on high wages apparently, lot of expectation on him clearly. Hopefully he fulfils that, I think he’ll do well.

He appears to be good in the air.
should be a great signing

1875Sean
31-07-2023, 07:25 PM
Scores goals with both left and right foot, can’t wait to see him play

31-07-2023, 07:25 PM
Refreshing to see us reinvesting the money we got for Nisbet with some real quality.

31-07-2023, 07:28 PM
We've paid Tony Galente for Vente
Lets hope he will do what he's meantae
It will be a good start, to score 3 against hearts
And watch the Dunbar End just emptae :greengrin

kentao
31-07-2023, 07:29 PM
After watching his highlight reel last week, I thought we had no chance of signing him. He looks very composed in front of goal, decent in the air and can score all sorts of goals.

Really enjoying the Gordon`s in charge for once we are actually reinvesting in the team when our better players depart.

Cant wait for the season to start.

HendoDelivered
31-07-2023, 07:32 PM
Service = plenty goals. Should get plenty once the likes of Boyle, Youan, Levitt etc get going, Newell too.

31-07-2023, 07:32 PM
Vente looks like he scores left/right foot, headers, inside 6 yards box, inside penalty box, first time finishes, one touch then finish goals, Stevie Mallan type long range goals (never seen anyone move the ball using the same technique as Mallan until today), calm when completing one vs keeper chances.

Really looks a top player in the making. If we alter our attacking style to suit him he will score a barrow load. If we expect him to change his style, ie back to goal, strong CD’s in the SPFL booting hell out of him then he will struggle - looks pretty clear what needs to happen here.

31-07-2023, 07:35 PM
I like it

31-07-2023, 07:36 PM
Will he be available for Sunday or will it be a few weeks before he gets clearance to play ?

Where did you see his wages ?

Stokesy's on fire
Oh Dylan Vente he is our striker he hates the hearts so dae i!

31-07-2023, 07:38 PM
Will he be available for Sunday or will it be a few weeks before he gets clearance to play ?

Think it's expected he'll be available for Sunday.

31-07-2023, 07:39 PM
Think it's expected he'll be available for Sunday.

Excellent.

McGhee
With the inclusion of Dylan Vente, this could be one of the best forward lines for many a year. Lots of goals. We love lots of goals scored. With Boyler and Youan, could be mental this year.

Exclamation marks in the article after ‘work permit’ made me think it will be some time. He’d be able to play in the away UCL tie though with no work permit hypothetically.

TheGog
31-07-2023, 07:42 PM
The Vente bus is coming
He is our Flying Dutchman
Kerkade to leith san siro
Our intercity hero

Hibees1973
31-07-2023, 07:45 PM
Seems a good replacement for Nisbet.

Vente has scored plenty of goals in the Dutch 2nd tier over a couple of seasons (better than the level Nisbet was signed from, hence the higher fee) and has played a good number of games so makes sense.

A good age and with no history of injuries.

Just give him service from the likes of Boyle and Newell and should score goals.

No guarantee he will be a success but proper recruitment work carried out.

31-07-2023, 07:48 PM
Judging by the video clip I've just watch the boy can certainly score goals, all types of goals.

31-07-2023, 07:48 PM
The Vente bus is coming
Our intercity hero

Amazing

31-07-2023, 07:49 PM
Certainly 1 of the more exciting signings of recent times . His record is good so hopefully he does the business for us

31-07-2023, 07:50 PM
The Vente bus is coming
Our intercity hero

That's a belter

31-07-2023, 07:50 PM
He is Vente, he is good, he has Inter Club d'Escaldes on the run, to the tune of Seasons in the Sun

ErinGoBraghHFC
31-07-2023, 07:52 PM
Where did you see his wages ?

Know a guy who knows a guy (who does a certain podcast and has contacts at the club who appear on said podcast from time to time) type thing, supposedly on 10k a week.

Hibs4185
31-07-2023, 07:55 PM
Sell nisbet for £2 million with a sell on and buy Vente. Good deal all round and the perfect business model we should be pursing.

Never going to keep finding gems at £200-£300k so spending that little bit more should help us keep that model up

31-07-2023, 08:03 PM
It will be a good start to score 3 against hearts

147lothian
31-07-2023, 08:10 PM
I can see Vente scoring a last minute winner against them, running over to the Dunbar end, putting one boot on the advertisement board and machine gunning them all down before they get the chance to leave.

31-07-2023, 08:13 PM
The Vente bus is coming
Our intercity hero

We have a winner

Silky
31-07-2023, 08:20 PM
Know a guy who knows a guy (who does a certain podcast and has contacts at the club who appear on said podcast from time to time) type thing, supposedly on 10k a week.

Christ, thats good money for a podcast. Where do I sign up?

ErinGoBraghHFC
31-07-2023, 08:23 PM
Christ, thats good money for a podcast. Where do I sign up?

It’s a secret, sorry

31-07-2023, 08:51 PM
Doesn’t seem to be goalscorer odds up yet but keen to see what the big man is on Sunday (hopefully involved from the start).

31-07-2023, 08:53 PM

Cheers , what’s a podcast ?

lochhibs
31-07-2023, 08:56 PM
Looks the part. Good that we’re spending a few quid. Only thing for me is the 3 year deal. Would have preferred a 4 year deal with the money we’ve invested in him.

31-07-2023, 08:56 PM
Doesn’t seem to be goalscorer odds up yet but keen to see what the big man is on Sunday (hopefully involved from the start).

Hopefully the work permit is through. Remember it taking a few of them a fair few weeks last year.

Up-the-slope
31-07-2023, 08:59 PM
Looks like he is not afraid to shoot from almost anywhere as well as some nice poaching... none of this pass pass pass.. pass back / lose ball in final 1/3rd.. just work the keeper

31-07-2023, 09:10 PM
Hopefully the work permit is through. Remember it taking a few of them a fair few weeks last year.

Someone said elsewhere that the problem last year was that the government had suspended the fast-track scheme – now that scheme’s back they can go through in a few days.

BS44
31-07-2023, 09:16 PM

I was at FC Eindhoven v Roda atch last September, had a tenner on Eindhoven to win 3 2 at 40/1, Dylan made it 3 3 in 93rd minute.

He scored twice that evening

https://youtu.be/IqPAN_Qi730

31-07-2023, 09:17 PM

Will his nickname be Bob?

31-07-2023, 09:18 PM
Someone said elsewhere that the problem last year was that the government had suspended the fast-track scheme – now that scheme’s back they can go through in a few days.

Hope that’s the case. Would be a big boost to have him available on Sunday.

Cat Stanton
31-07-2023, 09:28 PM
Judging by the video clip I've just watch the boy can certainly score goals, all types of goals.

Does anyone know if he is actually any good? Anyone ever seen him play?

I mean no offence, but my highlights reel could make me look good and I'm in my late 50s with only one working leg.

31-07-2023, 09:28 PM
Have we broke our transfer record to sign him? Transfermarket saying 800k. 750 for del la cruz was our previous.

31-07-2023, 09:29 PM
Does well and bet one the ugly sisters will be sniffing around after a year

Pickle
31-07-2023, 09:32 PM
Does well and bet one the ugly sisters will be sniffing around after a year
Shades of Agathe but well protected, be delighted if he’s linked with big moves after a season

31-07-2023, 09:37 PM
I heard he took one look at the stadium and said wee team ? OMG what’s the big teams stadium like then ?

31-07-2023, 09:52 PM
Will his nickname be Bob?

The answer, my friend, is blowing in the wind.

Donegal Hibby
31-07-2023, 10:36 PM
Watched this of our new NO .9 ! Apologies if already seen. Can't wait to see him play with Boyle and Youan :hyper .
https://youtu.be/kcrNa0ISqJI

Silky
31-07-2023, 10:38 PM
Cheers , what’s a podcast ?

Something that you can do and earn 10k a week, apparently! 😜

31-07-2023, 10:52 PM
The answer, my friend, is blowing in the wind.

Just like a woman.

Keepthefaith
31-07-2023, 10:57 PM
I was at FC Eindhoven v Roda atch last September, had a tenner on Eindhoven to win 3 2 at 40/1, Dylan made it 3 3 in 93rd minute.

He scored twice that evening

https://youtu.be/IqPAN_Qi730

The composure for the equaliser in time added on was very impressive!

Gerard
31-07-2023, 10:58 PM
Only 3 or 4 might he score or perhaps many more...

31-07-2023, 11:03 PM
In terms of wages, I have no idea what he's on but I think it's a safe call that a guy we are paying £700k/800k for, having alledgedy seem off competition from clubs in Italy, will be on very good money by our standards.

Davy Mac
31-07-2023, 11:17 PM
Lets hope we get some positive media news about the signing and the money we've spent rather than all this negative crap from last Thursday. Appreciate the result was dire but the negativity has been well over the top and in truth, the media looked like they enjoyed our pain. Fxxx them and for all the mutants looking in - but, but, but Hibs dont have the money, they are skint, they must be paying it up, how can they afford it - GIRUY JBarstewards.

Donegal Hibby
31-07-2023, 11:22 PM
Only 3 or 4 might he score or perhaps many more...
7vente ? 7- 0 :greengrin

31-07-2023, 11:50 PM
In terms of wages, I have no idea what he's on but I think it's a safe call that a guy we are paying £700k/800k for, having alledgedy seem off competition from clubs in Italy, will be on very good money by our standards.

8K a week? I’ve read that in a few different places but no idea how true that’ll be.

01-08-2023, 12:05 AM
Stats from last season.
https://i.ibb.co/bzchhg5/Screenshot-20230801-010339-Sofascore.jpg (https://ibb.co/Hn5vvDT)

01-08-2023, 12:10 AM
Compared to Hearts' new forward, Tagawa, who according to Wikipedia has a career total of 37 goals in 277 games. Transfermarkt has his main position as centre forward but can also play on left and right. Last season about 80% of the time he played CF and he scored a goal every 605 minutes. Difference being that Vente is obviously coming in as 1st choice striker for us and Shankland, who didn't look in great shape against Leeds, will likely be their main man again for goals. The new lad seems to have good pace (not shown in these stats but saw it elsewhere), I'd guess they'll look to get them both on the pitch at the same time as much as possible.

https://i.ibb.co/jfdZZXm/Screenshot-20230801-010642-Sofascore.jpg (https://ibb.co/zx1HHvp)

01-08-2023, 12:14 AM
8K a week? I’ve read that in a few different places but no idea how true that’ll be.

Said it before. When Ron Gordon appeared at his first AGM one of the things he stressed was that the club had to aim to be in a position to pay higher wages .... That's what all the hospitality, mountains of different sponsorship deals and yes increased ticket prices are all about. No point in having half a million quid to buy a player if you can't pay the sort of wage they demand.

01-08-2023, 05:07 AM
Well done Hibs for the Vente signing! An obvious change compared to last season's transfer policy.

A word or two of caution, though! Midfield and Edwin de Graaf - yes, more than two words :greengrin

It's great having a goal-scoring striker (:pray:), but we need to be more creative in midfield or down the flanks to give him opportunities to score. In many games last season, we had games when we dominated play but created not much. Having Vente might not change that, when you think that Vente is replacing Nisbet. We need one more creative, goal-scoring midfield and then I'll be happy!

Remember the joy when we signed Edwin de Graaf - just saying!

I'll reserve my judgement until I see him in the flesh with a Hibs top on, but it certainly looks like a real positive move by Hibernian FC.

01-08-2023, 05:48 AM
Liked the footage of the goals he’s scored but he won’t get the space or time that he gets in the Dutch second division. He’ll need a bit of time to adapt.

adam middlemass
01-08-2023, 06:49 AM

Mick yer a Marvel ! :not worth

JammyDoidger
01-08-2023, 07:40 AM
Whoa, what a night
Too much money in the bank account
Hands in the air, make you scream and shout
We've got Dylan Vente..
Whoa, what a night
Spending money in a large amount
Hands in the air, make you scream and shout
We've got Dylan Vente..

I'm Spartacus
01-08-2023, 07:41 AM
League top scorer, I cannot see anything else. What's our season goal record? Looks the part and will skoosh the SPL, rumoured £10k per week will be because we will only keep him a season then punt for silly money, then find another gem!

What a time to be a Hibs fan! The defenders training with this guy will also improve.

01-08-2023, 07:56 AM
Evening News propaganda machine in full flow

No mention of our signing yet

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport

Trinity Hibee
01-08-2023, 08:05 AM
League top scorer, I cannot see anything else. What's our season goal record? Looks the part and will skoosh the SPL, rumoured £10k per week will be because we will only keep him a season then punt for silly money, then find another gem!

What a time to be a Hibs fan! The defenders training with this guy will also improve.

Joe Baker scoring a club record 42 goals in 33 league games during the 1959–60 season.

More recently Griffiths scored 23 in 12/13 league season. He also got a few in the Scottish cup so it’s probably 28 or so across all comps

01-08-2023, 08:07 AM
To go with The Smiths theme on the transfer thread

Panic on the streets of Gorgie,
Glasgow, Dundee, Motherwell,
Dylan Vente,

Sorry

Stubbsy90+2
01-08-2023, 08:08 AM
Compared to Hearts' new forward, Tagawa, who according to Wikipedia has a career total of 37 goals in 277 games. Transfermarkt has his main position as centre forward but can also play on left and right. Last season about 80% of the time he played CF and he scored a goal every 605 minutes. Difference being that Vente is obviously coming in as 1st choice striker for us and Shankland, who didn't look in great shape against Leeds, will likely be their main man again for goals. The new lad seems to have good pace (not shown in these stats but saw it elsewhere), I'd guess they'll look to get them both on the pitch at the same time as much as possible.

https://i.ibb.co/jfdZZXm/Screenshot-20230801-010642-Sofascore.jpg (https://ibb.co/zx1HHvp)

Heard the same yesterday from a Jambo that Shankland looked overweight at the weekend.

01-08-2023, 08:19 AM

Dundee, Glasgow, Motherwell,
Dylan Vente,

Sorry

Well that’s stuck in my head now [emoji23]

01-08-2023, 08:22 AM

😉

01-08-2023, 08:28 AM

Dylan Vente,

Sorry

Huge fan of this.

01-08-2023, 08:47 AM

And mine 😅

01-08-2023, 09:55 AM

Dylan Vente,

Sorry

Thats a winner, although for me Motherwell is Glasgow, so swap that for Aberdeen

01-08-2023, 10:33 AM
Thats a winner, although for me Motherwell is Glasgow, so swap that for Aberdeen

Aye true haha

01-08-2023, 11:06 AM

There's 2 articles on that page about him.

01-08-2023, 11:57 AM

Dylan Vente,

Sorry

It goes some way to righting the wrong that this was never done for Franck Dja DjeDje.

01-08-2023, 11:59 AM
It goes some way to righting the wrong that this was never done for Franck Dja DjeDje.

One of my biggest hibs regrets that he didn’t turn out to be very good for us. What a song that would’ve been.

ErinGoBraghHFC
01-08-2023, 12:03 PM

Dylan Vente,

Sorry

Hibs x The Smiths is the crossover I always knew I needed but thought would never happen. At what stage do we send Johnny Marr a hibs top?

nickwhibs
01-08-2023, 12:16 PM
Can he play on Thursday?

Stubbsy90+2
01-08-2023, 12:16 PM
Can he play on Thursday?

Nope. Would have needed to be registered before the first leg.

01-08-2023, 12:18 PM

Dundee, Glasgow, Aberdeen,
Dylan Vente,

Outstanding work :flag:

Hibs x The Smiths is the crossover I always knew I needed but thought would never happen. At what stage do we send Johnny Marr a hibs top?

I have a mate called John Marr .. he already owns a Hibs top :greengrin

Dylan Vente,

Sorry
Amazing.

If Block 7 don't get this going then I'm starting a one man singing section in the West upper.

He's pretty cool. He's probably already got one :agree:

ErinGoBraghHFC
01-08-2023, 12:21 PM
He's pretty cool. He's probably already got one :agree:

Can defo see him wearing the purple and green striped number on stage. Major contender for coolest man alive.

01-08-2023, 12:27 PM
There's 2 articles on that page about him.

Yeah, updates by mid morning. Considering this was a news last night it’s pish poor.

01-08-2023, 12:39 PM
I'm a bit apprehensive about this one. A wedge of cash and a big gamble. Have we ever spent big on a striker and had it work - Stokes is the only one coming to mind and Riordan's return but both already knew the league and had scored goals here.

Would rather there was an extra year on the contract too as now the best case scenario is he's brilliant from the get go and we manage to tie him up for longer in the first year otherwise if he's great there will be pressure to sell at the end of year 1. Not that that would be a bad thing if it goes well.

From watching the videos, I hadn't realised that he's 6 ft 1 which, along with his assists and lack of dribbling numbers, suggests he could be a positive blend alongside Youan and Boyle.

Fingers crossed with a bit of nerves.

Great to see he started all 38 games last season for Roda. Durability is almost as important as talent for us here.

I'm Spartacus
01-08-2023, 02:24 PM
Anyone know Vente's stats on controlling horrendously over hit passes? :)

This boy is going to be a massive hit, you can tell from the highlights, big target man who is quick to finish (that what my Mrs says to me too).

CentreForward
01-08-2023, 03:16 PM
Heard the same yesterday from a Jambo that Shankland looked overweight at the weekend.

Hate to say it but Tagawi does look really good. Big, strong and powerful and quite possibly a real presence. The level he’s been at also looks easily as good, if not better than the Dutch second division. Am really happy with the look of Vente and am sure he’ll do well for us but wouldn’t have minded Tagawa as well from the look of him. Really hope they haven’t unearthed a gem here.

01-08-2023, 04:05 PM

01-08-2023, 04:06 PM

wouldn’t give it house room

JammyDoidger
01-08-2023, 04:22 PM
Hate to say it but Tagawi does look really good. Big, strong and powerful and quite possibly a real presence. The level he’s been at also looks easily as good, if not better than the Dutch second division. Am really happy with the look of Vente and am sure he’ll do well for us but wouldn’t have minded Tagawa as well from the look of him. Really hope they haven’t unearthed a gem here.

If he was that good Celtic would have signed him, they're all over that market. Nothing to worry about.

Stubbsy90+2
01-08-2023, 04:26 PM

Unless I’m looking at the wrong guy he has 37 goals in 277 games? That’s abysmal for a forward.

01-08-2023, 04:34 PM
Unless I’m looking at the wrong guy he has 37 goals in 277 games? That’s abysmal for a forward.

And only a couple of goals last year for a team that got relegated? Maybe he will take all the pens.

01-08-2023, 04:34 PM

At least he's not vaccine injured!

02-08-2023, 07:13 AM
I'm a bit apprehensive about this one. A wedge of cash and a big gamble. Have we ever spent big on a striker and had it work - Stokes is the only one coming to mind and Riordan's return but both already knew the league and had scored goals here.

Would rather there was an extra year on the contract too as now the best case scenario is he's brilliant from the get go and we manage to tie him up for longer in the first year otherwise if he's great there will be pressure to sell at the end of year 1. Not that that would be a bad thing if it goes well.

From watching the videos, I hadn't realised that he's 6 ft 1 which, along with his assists and lack of dribbling numbers, suggests he could be a positive blend alongside Youan and Boyle.

Fingers crossed with a bit of nerves.

Great to see he started all 38 games last season for Roda. Durability is almost as important as talent for us here.

I think we paid a wedge for Durie and Keith Keith Keith

02-08-2023, 07:26 AM
If he was that good Celtic would have signed him, they're all over that market. Nothing to worry about.

Not really sure that theory works.

Not being good enough for Celtic doesn't mean you can't be a very good player for Hibs or Hearts.

No idea if Tagawa will be any good or not, but not seeing the correlation there with Celtic not signing him.

02-08-2023, 07:33 AM

Don’t worry. This is Hibs. He’ll be out injured within the month!

02-08-2023, 07:34 AM

Those type of players tend to do well in the Premiership. Time will tell. Rocky will eat him anyway.

02-08-2023, 07:56 AM

rAngers fan Gordon Durie was a spotty faced teenager when he arrived from East Fife :greengrin
I doubt he cost us much of a "wedge".
We sold him for a wedge ! Hope there was "sell ons"
Jimmy O and George Stewart coached Durie along with the other younger players at the time.
It was Jimmy who gave Durie his nickname. "Juke box"
Taken from a 1960s tv music quiz show called "Juke Box Jury"

In fact ,Jimmy had a nickname for near everyone, including the Tornadoes !
We had an uncle in the Grassmarket,Tommy Flynn, who could not have a conversation without continually using rhyming slang .
Jimmy got it from him,i suppose.

Keith Wright was in his mid 20s,banging them in for Dundee .
So that would have been a decent fee.
Keith was at Hibs as a youngster on an S form.
Once again, Jimmy O coached him and Keith mentions Jimmy's influence in interviews about his career.
A real Hibernian is Keith.Thats a fact !

Interview,with a bit of background on Keith, for those who didnt see him......and those who did !:greengrin

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/what-hibs-means-to-me-keith-wright

02-08-2023, 08:36 AM
Was young at the time but Keith Wright remains the best finisher i've ever seen in a Hibs shirt. Through on goal one one with the keeper and you knew it was a goal.

02-08-2023, 08:45 AM
Was young at the time but Keith Wright remains the best finisher i've ever seen in a Hibs shirt. Through on goal one one with the keeper and you knew it was a goal.
Yip love those days.

02-08-2023, 09:01 AM

65k for Durie from East Fife but 400k on “Keith Keith Keith “

02-08-2023, 03:19 PM
65k for Durie from East Fife but 400k on “Keith Keith Keith “

That would have been a welcome bit of cash for East Fife at that time.
Although Gordon was born in the West of Scotland,i think he was raised in Fife, hence being at the "Fifers"
He eventually acheived his footballing dream.

We got our moneys worth bringing Keith to the club.
Although, like some other players i knew ,he would have played in the Green and White for the love of it !!

There are a few similar in the dressing room today.
Lets hope they are letting the new signings know the score on what we all expect'
100 % commitment. No hiding when the going gets tough.
All for one. One for all !! Players and supporters.
Get them telt !

02-08-2023, 05:19 PM
That would have been a welcome bit of cash for East Fife at that time.
Although Gordon was born in the West of Scotland,i think he was raised in Fife, hence being at the "Fifers"
He eventually acheived his footballing dream.

We got our moneys worth bringing Keith to the club.
Although, like some other players i knew ,he would have played in the Green and White for the love of it !!

There are a few similar in the dressing room today.
Lets hope they are letting the new signings know the score on what we all expect'
100 % commitment. No hiding when the going gets tough.
All for one. One for all !! Players and supporters.
Get them telt !

Pretty sure he scored against us when East Fife knocked us out the Scottish after a replay. Was a great sgning for Hibs.

02-08-2023, 05:39 PM
Pretty sure he scored against us when East Fife knocked us out the Scottish after a replay. Was a great sgning for Hibs.

I went to that game in Methil, it was a replay iirc, but I don't think Durie scored.

The most memorable thing I remember was going for pre-match beers in a boozer which was a real dive, the Castle maybe? One of the guys we were with asked the barmaid if they had any fancy lager or something, (I can't remember the actual brand).

She looked scathingly at him and said "Son, we've got broon beer and we've got yelly beer". :faf:

02-08-2023, 05:49 PM
JimB and HibbyRadge
I found this '

EAST FIFE 2, HIBERNIAN 0 Third round replay, 31 January 1984

This wasn't Hibs' most glorious era, while East Fife, their third-round opponents, ended the season runners-up in the Second Division. Still, it was shock enough when Dave Clarke's team held Hibs at Easter Road in the first match, never mind when they went on to win 2-0 in the replay.
It was the first time a team from the bottom league had beaten a Premier Division side since reconstruction in 1975.
The Bayview side went ahead in the first half through Tom McCafferty, but heroics from Hibs goalkeeper Alan Rough – who was found after the game to have suffered a broken ankle – kept the tie alive, until local hero Stevie Kirk rose to bullet a header into the net for the second, clinching goal.
Hibs were to experience further Scottish Cup embarrassment in 1999, beaten by Second Division Stirling Albion after a replay.:grr:
At least only one division separated the teams then :cb

No like us, is it :rolleyes:
Couldnt find the line ups,but Durie would still have been with the Fifers till that seasons end ...

02-08-2023, 05:52 PM
JimB and HibbyRadge
I found this '
This wasn't Hibs' most glorious era, while East Fife, their third-round opponents, ended the season runners-up in the Second Division. Still, it was shock enough when Dave Clarke's team held Hibs at Easter Road in the first match, never mind when they went on to win 2-0 in the replay.
It was the first time a team from the bottom league had beaten a Premier Division side since reconstruction in 1975.​
The Bayview side went ahead in the first half through Tom McCafferty, but heroics from Hibs goalkeeper Alan Rough – who was found after the game to have suffered a broken ankle – kept the tie alive, until local hero Stevie Kirk rose to bullet a header into the net for the second, clinching goal.
Hibs were to experience further Scottish Cup embarrassment in 1999, beaten by Second Division Stirling Albion after a replay.:grr:

Jeez. It must have been strong broon beer because I thought it was only 1-0.

I was at the Stirling Albion game too.

02-08-2023, 05:54 PM
JimB and HibbyRadge
I found this '
It was the first time a team from the bottom league had beaten a Premier Division side since reconstruction in 1975.​

Apologies thought Durie had scored think he played well though. Was at that game huge Hibs support and we were very poor.

02-08-2023, 05:57 PM
I went to that game in Methil, it was a replay iirc, but I don't think Durie scored.

The most memorable thing I remember was going for pre-match beers in a boozer which was a real dive, the Castle maybe? One of the guys we were with asked the barmaid if they had any fancy lager or something, (I can't remember the actual brand).

She looked scathingly at him and said "Son, we've got broon beer and we've got yelly beer". :faf:

Barmaid was the winner of The Fly Fifer Hospitality Award 1984

02-08-2023, 06:06 PM
Barmaid was the winner of The Fly Fifer Hospitality Award 1984

Every chance! :greengrin

02-08-2023, 06:07 PM

Don’t worry. This is Hibs. He’ll be out injured within the month!

He's talking about their new guy, Tagawa.

02-08-2023, 06:09 PM
Apologies thought Durie had scored think he played well though. Was at that game huge Hibs support and we were very poor.
Good (or bad) that you remembered the game.
If Durie had a good game that night,it may well have helped secure his move to us a few months later.
He then went on to make a few bob in London and then with oldco.

Back on topic
If Dylan can emulate Keith or Gordon in a Hibs jersey we can hope for fireworks and some real exciting forward play with the flying wingers we have.
As the phrase goes ..
We may well have "won a watch"
If Dylan turns out to be poetry in motion,can we call him Thomas?:greengrin

SonOfDavidFrancey
02-08-2023, 06:52 PM
I think east fife had a sell-on clause and they were rare in those days… Hibs bought out the sell on for a fraction of what it was worth then sold jukebox to Chelsea.

02-08-2023, 06:58 PM
Jeez. It must have been strong broon beer because I thought it was only 1-0.

I was at the Stirling Albion game too.

I was at both too. Character building!! I don't remember much about the actual game at Bayview but I seem to recall a fair bit of bother. I've said it many times before but folk who went through that period and are still going deserve medals!!

Silky
02-08-2023, 07:46 PM

Jesus! Our much maligned Harry McKirdy has a better strike rate!

04-08-2023, 07:26 PM
Might have missed it but any chance he'll be in the squad for weekend/next Thurs?

ErinGoBraghHFC
04-08-2023, 07:29 PM
Might have missed it but any chance he'll be in the squad for weekend/next Thurs?

Work permit not expected to be through in time for Sunday but should be in before Thursday, that’s what I’ve heard anyway

04-08-2023, 07:51 PM
Work permit not expected to be through in time for Sunday but should be in before Thursday, that’s what I’ve heard anyway

Fingers crossed. Thanks EGB

ErinGoBraghHFC
04-08-2023, 07:54 PM
Fingers crossed. Thanks EGB

Expected to be in on Monday morning but again, that’s just something I’ve heard from someone who knows someone who knows BK so could be a bit of Chinese whispers going on

04-08-2023, 08:10 PM
Work permit for a Dutch national? Gottae love brexit.

04-08-2023, 08:56 PM

It’s a Brexit issue. Has to do a test to get in too!

04-08-2023, 09:02 PM
It’s a Brexit issue. Has to do a test to get in too!My wife had to do that 'Britishness' test before she got ILR

Hilarious in its ridiculousness

Spoiler alert - my mates and I all failed the mock tests online

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

supershotmo
05-08-2023, 09:22 AM
Doidge played 90 mins on Thursday. If Ventes permit was not through why keep Doidge on for full game.

05-08-2023, 09:40 AM
Doidge played 90 mins on Thursday. If Ventes permit was not through why keep Doidge on for full game.

Probably because we’d made all our subs

05-08-2023, 01:04 PM
Big Doidge will handle it no problem

JammyDoidger
05-08-2023, 02:40 PM
Did hearts not just announce the jap the other day? After we announced vente? How can he be on the bench and vente not be able to play?

05-08-2023, 02:43 PM
Did hearts not just announce the jap the other day? After we announced vente? How can he be on the bench and vente not be able to play?

Because the Japanese player has a work permit and Vente does not.

05-08-2023, 02:49 PM
Has it been confirmed anywhere if he has or has not got the permit?

05-08-2023, 02:50 PM

Don't think so, nah.

05-08-2023, 03:16 PM

Confirmed on official site he’s not playing tomorrow.

Paul1642
05-08-2023, 03:21 PM

Plan will be to replace him with ALF early second half I would guess.

05-08-2023, 03:22 PM
Plan will be to replace him with ALF early second half I would guess.

Or he could end up in goal

Stubbsy90+2
05-08-2023, 03:35 PM

The jap? Ffs.

Malky Mackay called, he wants his chat back.

05-08-2023, 03:38 PM
The jap? Ffs.

Yeah wtf

Bridge hibs
05-08-2023, 04:18 PM
The jap? Ffs.

Is that seriously offensive ? Jap for Japanese, Scot for Scottish, do you get offended if called a Scot ? I much prefer that to a Brit

I work with a Polish guy who calls himself a Pole !!

05-08-2023, 04:20 PM
I heard hibs didn't want to spend the money on fast track

Same penny pinching as not getting the jet engines

05-08-2023, 04:21 PM
Is that seriously offensive ? Jap for Japanese, Scot for Scottish, do you get offended if called a Scot ? I much prefer that to a Brit

I work with a Polish guy who calls himself a Pole !!I believe history plays a role

Jap*is an English abbreviation of the word "Japanese". In the United States, some*Japanese Americans*have come to find the term very offensive, even when used as an abbreviation. Prior to the*attack on Pearl Harbor,*Jap*was not considered primarily offensive. However, following the bombing of Pearl Harbor and the*Japanese declaration of war on the US, the term began to be used derogatorily, as*anti-Japanese sentiment*increased.[1]*During the war, signs using the epithet, with messages such as "No Japs Allowed", were hung in some businesses, with service denied to customers of Japanese descent.[

LewysGot2
05-08-2023, 04:22 PM

I work with a Polish guy who calls himself a Pole !!

Some abbreviations are the formal word for the nationality. Others are colloquialisms and are a perjorative. Like the 1970s abbreviation for the corner shop…

Bridge hibs
05-08-2023, 04:23 PM
I believe history plays a role

Jap*is an English abbreviation of the word "Japanese". In the United States, some*Japanese Americans*have come to find the term very offensive, even when used as an abbreviation. Prior to the*attack on Pearl Harbor,*Jap*was not considered primarily offensive. However, following the bombing of Pearl Harbor and the*Japanese declaration of war on the US, the term began to be used derogatorily, as*anti-Japanese sentiment*increased.[1]*During the war, signs using the epithet, with messages such as "No Japs Allowed", were hung in some businesses, with service denied to customers of Japanese descent.[

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk****, we all better hang our heads in shame, all those years as a kid playing japs and commandos ☹️

05-08-2023, 04:25 PM
****, we all better hang our heads in shame, all those years as a kid playing japs and commandos ☹️

The same years we used to call anyone with brown skin, Pakis.

Bridge hibs
05-08-2023, 04:26 PM
Some abbreviations are the formal word for the nationality. Others are colloquialisms and are a perjorative. Like the 1970s abbreviation for the corner shop…

In context used, I doubt the op used the word in a deliberate way to cause offence to the easily offended

Just my view

Bridge hibs
05-08-2023, 04:27 PM
The same years we used to call anyone with brown skin, Pakis.

I didnt call everyone with brown skin pakis

05-08-2023, 04:28 PM
In context used, I dont doubt the op used the word in a deliberate way to cause offence to the easily offended

Just my view

To be fair to him, it does take a lot of effort to type "anese".

hibsitis
05-08-2023, 04:28 PM
Think, like many things, this comes down to the intent of the user. To most people this would be a simple abbreviation.

05-08-2023, 04:29 PM
I wouldn’t mind if we went with Doidge tomorrow if he performs how he did Thursday

05-08-2023, 04:29 PM
I didnt call everyone with brown skin pakis

Good man.

Many many people did. Some people still do.

Willis1875
05-08-2023, 04:30 PM
Class!A thread about our new striker is about to descend into pages of the rights and wrongs of the world.
Report the post if your offended,I’m sure it will then be removed and the thread can get back on track

05-08-2023, 04:34 PM
Class!A thread about our new striker is about to descend into pages of the rights and wrongs of the world.
Report the post if your offended,I’m sure it will then be removed and the thread can get back on track

It's not descended anywhere. It's a perfectly civil discussion and I don't think anyone is particularly offended. They're merely pointing out that the term shouldn't be used.

05-08-2023, 04:42 PM

Yeah wtf detest what Britain has become

Weststandwanab
05-08-2023, 04:45 PM
[QUOTE=Hibbyradge;7414811]The same years we used to call anyone with brown skin, Pakis.[/QUOTE

Speak for yourself

05-08-2023, 04:53 PM
[QUOTE=Hibbyradge;7414811]The same years we used to call anyone with brown skin, Pakis.[/QUOTE

Speak for yourself

Don't you think kids who played "Japs and Commandos" would have used the term Paki? The term Paki shop was common parlance.

The point I was trying to make was that in those days, the awareness of racial issues was much less than it is today.

You just need to jook at the TV shows and the comedians of the time to realise that.

05-08-2023, 04:54 PM
I don't know why the quotes are going wrong.

05-08-2023, 04:55 PM
It’s a Brexit issue. Has to do a test to get in too!

Yes Brexit is gonna cost the Country for years to come.

As for the permit issue? Its....
all double dutch to me !

Tha Cabbage Kid
05-08-2023, 05:03 PM
I would be happy to have big Dodge up front with Alfie as back up. Hope we have a good game so Molotnikov can get a short run out too.

In addition I'm in my 40's and Paki was used all the time as was Jap. But I always thought it was used as an us and them mentality which I never really liked. But times have changed and so must we.

05-08-2023, 05:16 PM
****, we all better hang our heads in shame, all those years as a kid playing japs and commandos ☹️

Ah, those long summer days when me and my pals played bovine control operatives and native Americans ... good times :greengrin

Seems obvious to me ... If a group of people find a term offensive then it's offensive, no matter what other folk think. Same with Gollywogs for example, black folk find them offensive, so that's what they are IMO.

That obviously doesn't include the term 'Hun' ... the Sticky Buns are just gonna have to suck that one up :greengrin

HendoDelivered
05-08-2023, 05:21 PM
Has he been allowed to train?

05-08-2023, 05:25 PM
Ah, those long summer days when me and my pals played bovine control operatives and native Americans ... good times :greengrin

Seems obvious to me ... If a group of people find a term offensive then it's offensive, no matter what other folk think. Same with Gollywogs for example, black folk find them offensive, so that's what they are IMO.

That obviously doesn't include the term 'Hun' ... the Sticky Buns are just gonna have to suck that one up :greengrin

I agree with all of that.

Although comedic, your last comment illustrates a serious point. We all have a choice whether we want to deliberately offend someone or not.

Choosing to do so says much more about the person doing so than who it's directed at.

To join in with your joke, I'm not sure the stickies really are offended by the term.)

05-08-2023, 05:32 PM
Has he been allowed to train?

I'd doubt it. That's working.

Unless (Python alert) he's training in his spare time......

monarch
05-08-2023, 05:51 PM

Exactly.
It’s not up to white people to determine what is or isn’t offensive to other races although Daily Mail readers seem to think otherwise.

05-08-2023, 06:09 PM
Exactly.
It’s not up to white people to determine what is or isn’t offensive to other races although Daily Mail readers seem to think otherwise.

Nah, you can just use the term ‘easily offended’ and that means you can say whatever you want.

05-08-2023, 06:10 PM
Looking forward to seeing Vente..

05-08-2023, 06:14 PM
Looking forward to seeing Vente..Same

Bit gutted he won't be in the squad tomorrow - possibly mean he won't start next Thursday either

I'd be tempted to just go with Dodge again

05-08-2023, 06:14 PM
Nah, you can just use the term ‘easily offended’ and that means you can say whatever you want.

Miserable, bloody Romans. No sense of humour.

05-08-2023, 06:17 PM

Terrific race.

05-08-2023, 06:57 PM
Vente is at Amsterdam airport. Fingers crossed we got the news we want today.

Hibernianinc
05-08-2023, 07:14 PM
Yeah wtf detest what Britain has become

Absolutely.

Can’t wait to be free from the **** hole 🤣😁

05-08-2023, 08:29 PM
Vente is at Amsterdam airport. Fingers crossed we got the news we want today.

Maybe he’s going to be paraded before the crowd and will be here to watch the game?

05-08-2023, 08:34 PM
Well those on here that voted to leave Europe you are to blame.

05-08-2023, 08:39 PM

The real fault lies with the unenthusiastic remain campaign – DYLAN VENTE WILL MISS ST MIRREN ON THE OPENING DAY on a bus would have swung it.

05-08-2023, 08:40 PM

Just like that bunch on the B-side to the Chicken Song.

Cheer up, imperialists!

05-08-2023, 08:42 PM
The real fault lies with the unenthusiastic remain campaign – DYLAN VENTE WILL MISS ST MIRREN ON THE OPENING DAY on a bus would have swung it.

What? We're getting £350M a week to spend on players? Wow! If we save it up for a couple of years we might be able to afford an average EPL player!

Lendo
05-08-2023, 08:44 PM
Maybe he’s going to be paraded before the crowd and will be here to watch the game?

Mind when we thought Boyle was going to be paraded before the crowd at the derby and ended up coming on and bagging the equaliser?

Need this again but a Vente winner than an equaliser

05-08-2023, 09:00 PM
Perfect reason for Coutts to close Farages bank account Dylan missing the St Mirren game.

ErinGoBraghHFC
05-08-2023, 09:21 PM
The jap? Ffs.

Yep brutal that.

05-08-2023, 09:25 PM

how many years ago was that though?

think about what people were calling folk with autism and down's syndrome back then. nothing wrong with moving with the times :aok:

JammyDoidger
05-08-2023, 09:57 PM
The jap? Ffs.

Just came back on for a browse and seen this, it's just short for Japanese, like Scot for Scottish person?
Genuinely unaware that could be seen as racist, certainly wasn't intended to be. The world these days thought you need to be very careful what you say. How that can be taken as racist is beyond me but I apologise if I've caused any offence. Suppose it's the manner it's said and how it's taken that's what determines it, personally if someone called me a Scot, or s Scottish **** or whatever, it wouldn't bother me, they'd be stating the obvious😂, but none the less I was meaning the Japanese boy.

05-08-2023, 10:34 PM
After his well publicised faux pas with racism, you would think he would try to be ultra careful and squeaky clean. Yes, Jap, is just a basically shortened version of Japanese, just like the use of Paki, but it is universally considered to be a term of racial abuse. When you’re in the spotlight for inappropriate language you would expect scrupulous care in what you say publicly. ‘Leopards and spots’ comes to mind.

05-08-2023, 11:11 PM
Still looking forward to seeing Vente..

05-08-2023, 11:17 PM
Reckon we can get his visa sorted for Thursday if he can play tomorrow

davym7062
06-08-2023, 12:20 AM
Absolutely.

Can’t wait to be free from the **** hole 🤣😁

yep

06-08-2023, 12:54 AM
Mind when we thought Boyle was going to be paraded before the crowd at the derby and ended up coming on and bagging the equaliser?

Need this again but a Vente winner than an equaliser

Aye. But Boyle’s no Dutch.

06-08-2023, 06:02 AM
It’s an absolute disaster that the club can sign a player from an EU nation the best part of a week in advance of our next league game, and Brexit red tape means he’s unavailable for it.

Even if he manages to sneak the squad today, he’s not trained with his new teammates at all. I’ll leave the politics for the Holy Ground, but Christ alive.

Lendo
06-08-2023, 06:11 AM
Aye. But Boyle’s no Dutch.

I know, I was just getting misty eyed and reminiscing

Bridge hibs
06-08-2023, 06:39 AM
It’s an absolute disaster that the club can sign a player from an EU nation the best part of a week in advance of our next league game, and Brexit red tape means he’s unavailable for it.

Even if he manages to sneak the squad today, he’s not trained with his new teammates at all. I’ll leave the politics for the Holy Ground, but Christ alive.I agree, maybe Im looking through green tinted goggles but I seem to get the feeling that all this permit **** always seems to boot hibs in the baws everytime. Am I just being radge paranoid eejit and it happens to other clubs too ?

Between ****ing permits and injuries its soul destroying 😤

06-08-2023, 06:52 AM
Not being able to play because of “paperwork” is musty old blazer stuff.

Why can’t players that clubs have signed just be eligible to play as soon as they’ve signed? The dull admin stuff can come in due course when the pen pushers get round to it. For football players, what does it really matter anyway?

06-08-2023, 06:55 AM

62% of us voted to remain

McGruber
06-08-2023, 07:05 AM

'Abbreviations'... long word!

06-08-2023, 09:02 AM
Not being able to play because of “paperwork” is musty old blazer stuff.

Why can’t players that clubs have signed just be eligible to play as soon as they’ve signed? The dull admin stuff can come in due course when the pen pushers get round to it. For football players, what does it really matter anyway?It's called taking back control or something

06-08-2023, 09:27 AM
It's called taking back control or something

Thank ****** for that oven ready deal you shove in the microwave.

06-08-2023, 09:32 PM
Noticed Ed de Graaf was Roda coach last season and coached at Feyenoord youths where Vente played

07-08-2023, 06:27 AM
Wonder if this lad is looking for a loophole to get out of his contract after seeing yesterday's performance.😁

07-08-2023, 06:36 AM
Wonder if this lad is looking for a loophole to get out of his contract after seeing yesterday's performance.[emoji16]Probably loved seeing his new team fight back from the dead while the fans mostly kept with them

Bridge hibs
07-08-2023, 06:54 AM
Wonder if this lad is looking for a loophole to get out of his contract after seeing yesterday's performance.😁

Or he may be saying, cant wait to start banging then in for my new club

LewysGot2
07-08-2023, 10:10 AM
Please let this be fixed in time for Thursday and the weekend

07-08-2023, 10:11 AM

I’m comfortable with Doidge in the meantime, and the linkup play between him and ALF. Vente has to earn his place in the team first IMO.

LewysGot2
07-08-2023, 10:23 AM
I’m comfortable with Doidge in the meantime, and the linkup play between him and ALF. Vente has to earn his place in the team first IMO.

I'm meaning more for the psychological boost. We need that lift of the big ticket signing being available

07-08-2023, 10:24 AM

Naw he needs to be out there playing.

07-08-2023, 10:25 AM
Hope this doesn't drag on too long.

07-08-2023, 10:27 AM
It’ll be a boost to have him available but it’s the other 2/3’rds of the pitch I’m worried about.

hhibs
07-08-2023, 10:36 AM

I suspect even higher % among this forum.

07-08-2023, 10:38 AM

Don't know if it'll help for Thursday because Hibs have to submit a squad for European competition before the Andorra games and I don't know the rules on adding to it - is that permitted after each round so that if clearance comes after Thursday but before the away leg, he wouldn't be able to play in the away leg?

07-08-2023, 12:05 PM
He’s not available for the two games vs the Swiss by the looks of it:

https://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaconferenceleague/clubs/52821--hibernian/squad/

Edit - interesting that we have not registered Murray Johnson as one of the GK.

hibbiedon
07-08-2023, 12:08 PM
62% of us voted to remainunfortunately 55% of us voted in favour of us being irrelevant

chippy
07-08-2023, 12:45 PM

I think you can register a player 24 hrs before the first leg and he can play

07-08-2023, 12:48 PM

That’s the same squad from the last round. MacKay is listed under the forwards. We have until something like midnight on Wednesday to submit our squad.

LewysGot2
07-08-2023, 12:50 PM
That’s the same squad from the last round. MacKay is listed under the forwards. We have until something like midnight on Wednesday to submit our squad.

According to the football genius Neil McCann on Saturday night Dan McKay is on loan from ICT to Livi :rolleyes::greengrin

How do these nepotists get jobs? :confused::wink:

07-08-2023, 12:57 PM
According to the football genius Neil McCann on Saturday night Dan McKay is on loan from ICT to Livi :rolleyes::greengrin

How do these nepotists get jobs? :confused::wink:

Because they know what they need to about the old firm

No other club really matters to them

07-08-2023, 01:41 PM

The squad had to be submitted on Friday just gone (4th). Think that was when Mackay left? No idea if that squad listed on the UEFA website is the old one or the new one. In any case, after the squad was submitted on Friday we can add two new players (and remove ones if that puts us over the 25 man List A limit) up until midnight on Wednesday.

I don’t know about when Murray Johnson signed for us as a youth but there’s probably a good chance he will qualify as a List B squad member. We can have as many players as we want on List B (assuming they meet the List B qualifications) and they can be registered any time up to midnight on Wed too.

HIBS NUTS
07-08-2023, 01:57 PM
The chances of dylan vente sitting his english test, getting the english test to the correct testing authorities, test being passed, and authorities (Customs ) giving clearance, in a short period of time , i would imagine is pretty slim.
It sounds like it could drag on for weeks. 😞

07-08-2023, 02:10 PM
Vente is in the squad.

07-08-2023, 02:13 PM
The chances of dylan vente sitting his english test, getting the english test to the correct testing authorities, test being passed, and authorities (Customs ) giving clearance, in a short period of time , i would imagine is pretty slim.
It sounds like it could drag on for weeks. 😞

He came into in Pioneers with Rocky yesterday so I imagine his side of it is all done.

Willis1875
07-08-2023, 02:13 PM
Vente is in the squad.

Melkersen is also on there as a defender,I wouldn’t put it past this clown to play him centre half

ErinGoBraghHFC
07-08-2023, 02:14 PM
Vente is in the squad.

Melkersen listed as a defender???

07-08-2023, 02:18 PM
Aye but those who voted for Brexit added to the headcount so you are still to blame😆

07-08-2023, 08:45 PM
Melkersen listed as a defender???

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkAnd is Boruc Swedish ?

badabing67
07-08-2023, 10:00 PM
And is Boruc Swedish ?

Polish

Who is Jay McGarva and Alf Smith

07-08-2023, 10:20 PM

Got Boyle as Scottish, when in fitba terms he's Australian.

Also notice Rocky is a COD ... Should fit in well with Fish in defence :greengrin

07-08-2023, 11:02 PM
And is Boruc Swedish ?

He played youth in Sweden so perhaps has Swedish citizenship? He was listed as Swedish in the last round too

Donegal Hibby
08-08-2023, 12:44 AM
Leen Vente goal 1937 - Dylan Vente goal 2017 . Similar goals from different times . Hopefully Dylan scores plenty for us like Leen did for Feijenoord 😉 .
https://pantheon.world/profile/person/Leen_Vente/

08-08-2023, 01:18 AM
Got Boyle as Scottish, when in fitba terms he's Australian.

Also notice Rocky is a COD ... Should fit in well with Fish in defence :greengrin

Neither will allow any opposition poaching.

08-08-2023, 06:54 AM
Can he play Thursday?

08-08-2023, 07:11 AM
Can he play Thursday?

Nobody seems to know.

08-08-2023, 07:35 AM
I think the club have been good of late getting information out to the fans about a range of things - it would be good to receive an update on Vente in terms of availability etc.

08-08-2023, 08:28 AM
What a stupid comment.

08-08-2023, 08:36 AM
It's also good to keep the opposition guessing

08-08-2023, 09:37 AM
What a stupid comment.

To be fair smiley suggested it was a joke. :greengrin

08-08-2023, 09:37 AM

👍

I'm Spartacus
08-08-2023, 09:46 AM
It's also good to keep the opposition guessing

Yeah true, but no the best that LJ will have the starting XI guessing with his cluelessness.

Musselbound
08-08-2023, 10:01 AM
Polish

Who is Jay McGarva and Alf Smith

McGarva is one of the youngsters who has just signed a professional contract. A left-sided midfielder apparently.

ZitellZeTime
08-08-2023, 01:53 PM

Yeah I've noticed more in the last few years on any forums or social media that people take everything litereally.

Like this is my third account on here, I like it and used as read only. I found it when I started college probably just over 20 years ago before Mowbray took the reigns, I did make an account few years latercalled the CalypsoKing, stupid name related to Latapy lol, however I made two comments in one day. Neither of which were controversial but i tried to log in the next day and i couldnt log in, looked at it was faxed back to kaunas or whatever it was back then. as by the time i made that account it was still like around 15 years ago and i was in my early 20s and did and sayed stupid ****.

I then made another one like 8 years ago or something but I questioned the validity of, I wont name them even though I haven't seen them post in a while, however they were always the most ITK out of anyone they made out and I questioned the absurdity of one of the players he said we were making a serious offer for, boy got super pissed at me for questioning him and called me a jambo and I got banned.

Apart from that though over the last 20 years apart from the odd comment most on here do get the tongue in cheek or sarcasm ones I find, although it has got slightly worse for that the last few years. For some reason though there seemed to be a massive influx ov users during Scottish Cup and Neil Lennon Tenure etc. Which I suppose is only natural as a lot of older heads back in the day got older and post less frequenly and other things then younger people seeing it advertised possibly plus more successful years and they were then getting into later teens etc and again though I guess more genuine Hibee traffic is good for the forum and helps it stay afloat I would guess?

But yeah noticed it a bit here, I dont really use FB apart from messenger so have no idea about there but have visited twitter and ffs someone makes a tongue in cheek comment only to be replied to tons of times by ppl abusing them as they think they're being serious, this is on Hibs pages, some of which are toxic af though.

I mostly use Reddit for social media as you pick what kind of things your interested in viewing and it will show them on the front page, the other sport I follow closely is boxing and that sub along has over a million users I think so is very active but with fans from all over the world discussing a hot topic its easy to see why people miss the sarcasm etc.

There is also a Hibs page on there as even the non Hibs Scotland pages seem to be filled with more Scots now than Americans who claim to be Scottish nowadays which is good.

Just on any type of sub/thread etc though its crazy on their, people hardly had to do the /s until a few years ago and now its almost a necessity.

I'm not aiming that at this user who didn't get it. Just noticed it happening a lot more over the past few years than in the past

Ah **** im moaning about something an I've wrote a novel when all I cam to come on to ask is if even if the work permit has been cleared, wouldn't that just mean he's available for the next fixture or for the groups?

I thought in qualifying rounds you couldn't add a player who's work permit had been passed unless it was done before that stage of the competition and we would have to wait for groups(fingers crossed) for him to be available?

Or would that just be for example if he didn't get the permit before leg 1 byt rreceived inbterween then we couldn't use in same tie for second leg?

I've really no idea as its not this often we're in this position but he sounds like a good player and we paid a good bit of money for him so hopefully available as soon as possible.

08-08-2023, 02:02 PM
Ah **** im moaning about something an I've wrote a novel when all I cam to come on to ask is if even if the work permit has been cleared, wouldn't that just mean he's available for the next fixture or for the groups?

I thought in qualifying rounds you couldn't add a player who's work permit had been passed unless it was done before that stage of the competition and we would have to wait for groups(fingers crossed) for him to be available?

Or would that just be for example if he didn't get the permit before leg 1 byt rreceived inbterween then we couldn't use in same tie for second leg?

I've really no idea as its not this often we're in this position but he sounds like a good player and we paid a good bit of money for him so hopefully available as soon as possible.

You can't add a player to the squad between legs of the same tie, but you can add them between rounds. Vente is in our squad: https://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaconferenceleague/clubs/52821--hibernian//squad/

Prof. Shaggy
08-08-2023, 07:36 PM
You can't add a player to the squad between legs of the same tie, but you can add them between rounds. Vente is in our squad: https://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaconferenceleague/clubs/52821--hibernian//squad/
Would Vente be able to play in Switzerland? Irrespective of work permit?

Silky
08-08-2023, 08:22 PM

I'm not sure. Everything I can see states he needs a permit to play in the UK. I would imagine that because his employer is UK based then he will require the permit to provide his services to his employer whether that is in the UK or not. But I don't know.

LewysGot2
08-08-2023, 08:32 PM
He played youth in Sweden so perhaps has Swedish citizenship? He was listed as Swedish in the last round too

Yup spent his formative years in Sweden at Husqvarna :thumbsup:

08-08-2023, 09:00 PM

Don’t know all the ins and outs of it, but I’d assume we can’t register him as our player without a UK work permit, and if we can’t register him then we can’t include him in the squad we submit to UEFA.

Maybe there’s more to it, but I think the fact that he’s in the squad listed by UEFA means he must have his work permit.

badabing67
08-08-2023, 09:06 PM
McGarva is one of the youngsters who has just signed a professional contract. A left-sided midfielder apparently.

08-08-2023, 09:33 PM
Don’t know all the ins and outs of it, but I’d assume we can’t register him as our player without a UK work permit, and if we can’t register him then we can’t include him in the squad we submit to UEFA.

Maybe there’s more to it, but I think the fact that he’s in the squad listed by UEFA means he must have his work permit.

It was explained by overdrive yesterday.

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?363101-Dylan-Vente&p=7418188&viewfull=1#post7418188

I cannot see anything official from Hibs to say his permit is through yet so I assume we're hoping it comes through tomorrow.

08-08-2023, 09:34 PM

The SFA allow a player to be registered without a work permit, they just can’t play or train.

09-08-2023, 06:42 AM
If he isn't available then questions have to be asked as to how Hertz managed to play their new Japanese guy 4 days after he signed.

09-08-2023, 06:48 AM
If he isn't available then questions have to be asked as to how Hertz managed to play their new Japanese guy 4 days after he signed.

He is a full international

09-08-2023, 06:49 AM

Japanese isn't in Europe. Honestly it could be that simple.

My niece and nephews have duel citizenship with UK and France. They forgot the youngest UK passport when they went to France. When trying to get home. The youngest was stopped (he's only 13) amd asked where he was going, whens he's going back all these kind of questions. His mum and dad try to explain he has a UK passport but it's at home (Edinburgh) and still wouldn't let him go. They eventually got a relative in Edinburgh to go get his passport and faced time them to prove he had a passport.

09-08-2023, 07:04 AM

Not every visa application is the same. Tagawa doesn’t have enough points to qualify for a Governing Body Exemption (GBE) but he does have enough to meet the governments newly introduced Elite Significant Contribution (ESC) criteria which makes it easier to gain a WP.

By meeting the ESC criteria, Hearts could apply directly to the Home Office for Tagawa’s visa. Without GBE/ESC criteria being met, we have to go through an SFA exemption panel in order to receive endorsement for Vente to submit with his visa application.

https://analyticsfc.co.uk/blog/2023/06/21/introducing-esc-the-new-gbe-guidance-opens-up-recruitment-post-brexit/#:~:text=At%20this%20time%2C%20if%20a,use%20of%20t hat%20ESC%20slot.

09-08-2023, 07:13 AM
Thanks for the info guys.

Another Brexit benefit it seems.

09-08-2023, 07:13 AM
nvm

09-08-2023, 07:16 AM
nvm

Eh?

Donegal Hibby
09-08-2023, 08:31 AM
Article I've read says we are still waiting on Vente's work permit for our Euro game .🤞.
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/dylan-vente-faces-hibs-euro-27484156

09-08-2023, 08:42 AM
Article I've read says we have up to 11pm today to register Vente for our Euro game .🤞.
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/dylan-vente-faces-hibs-euro-27484156

He’s already been registered for the Euro game.

It’s whether or not he has received his work permit which is the question we don’t have an answer to.

09-08-2023, 08:45 AM
There's nothing more frustrating than waiting for a players work permit to clear. We could do with a wee boost ahead of tomorrow. I don't think Doidge deserves to be dropped but having Vente on the bench would give everyone a lift.

I'm Spartacus
09-08-2023, 08:47 AM

Isn't the different that they got the paperwork done before announcing, we've announced with the paperwork still to be completed?

Either way it causes a meltdown "FFS we need a striker, the club aren't doing anything" "Come on, what's happening with this new striker we've *****ed cash on"

09-08-2023, 08:52 AM
Isn't the different that they got the paperwork done before announcing, we've announced with the paperwork still to be completed?

Either way it causes a meltdown "FFS we need a striker, the club aren't doing anything" "Come on, what's happening with this new striker we've *****ed cash on"

No, I’ve already explained the difference above.