View Full Version : Dylan Vente

Pages : 1 [2]

Donegal Hibby
09-08-2023, 08:54 AM
He’s already been registered for the Euro game.

It’s whether or not he has received his work permit which is the question we don’t have an answer to.
Fair enough mate . Just have to hope he gets his permit soon then.

09-08-2023, 09:55 AM
nvm

Eh?

Node version manager = "disregard the last message I sent".
Abreviation of "never mind"?

09-08-2023, 10:05 AM
nvm

If Johnson came out with that it'd add another few pages to the thread. 😀

09-08-2023, 10:06 AM
nvm

Am too old for that malarkey.

09-08-2023, 10:22 AM

Very good.

09-08-2023, 11:02 AM
He’s already been registered for the Euro game.

It’s whether or not he has received his work permit which is the question we don’t have an answer to.

Yep. I suspect he's been registered with a view to being involved in the second leg, assuming he has the work permit through by then.

Halmyre Hibee
09-08-2023, 01:02 PM
Just listened to Lee Johnson interview on HFC You Tube channel and registration through and in squad.

nickwhibs
09-08-2023, 01:03 PM
Just listened to Lee Johnson interview on HFC You Tube channel and registration through and in squad.

Happy days

09-08-2023, 01:04 PM
Vente playing should shift a few tickets.

Halmyre Hibee
09-08-2023, 01:06 PM
https://youtu.be/4C5fXJSdYlM

Hibees1973
09-08-2023, 01:08 PM

Not heard the interview, but hope this is true.

Did Johnson say what colour of arrow Vente is?

09-08-2023, 01:35 PM
Only after being called a slavering idiot multiple times.

09-08-2023, 01:36 PM
Not heard the interview, but hope this is true.

Did Johnson say what colour of arrow Vente is?
Deary me

09-08-2023, 02:26 PM
He's in the squad 👍

bordergreen
09-08-2023, 03:12 PM
Can’t wait to see him. Looks a very exciting signing. Welcome to the best football team in the world Dylan. GGTTH

09-08-2023, 03:55 PM
Thursday just got even more exciting! Can't wait to see him, although can't help feeling sorry for how much pressure is heaped on the guy!

09-08-2023, 05:35 PM
Start on the bench I expect.

10-08-2023, 08:26 PM
What a player this lad looks

He'll score goals

10-08-2023, 08:33 PM
Some good touches and worked hard, seems to have a bit of pace also.

10-08-2023, 08:33 PM
Well, I’m excited.

Just_Jimmy
10-08-2023, 08:37 PM
He looks class. He just looks class.

I'm so excited to see what he becomes for hibs.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

10-08-2023, 08:39 PM
He's quick , strong . Good movement and has the strikers instinct . High hopes based on this performance .

10-08-2023, 08:39 PM
Going to be a massive player for us.

I like the look of us with two up top

10-08-2023, 08:42 PM
Just saw his interview, couldn’t get the smile off his face, I like him, I like him a lot!

bordergreen
10-08-2023, 08:44 PM
Looking forward to seeing more. Great he got off the mark. Will give him real confidence.

10-08-2023, 08:45 PM
Player

10-08-2023, 08:46 PM
Goal and an assist on his debut on a huge European night for us. Outstanding start and looks a real find.

MagicSwirlingShip
10-08-2023, 08:47 PM
A star is born!

10-08-2023, 08:48 PM
Early days but looks like a proper player. Exciting signing.

Wull
10-08-2023, 08:51 PM
The signing we have waited for, there’s no doubting this one :flag:

Up-the-slope
10-08-2023, 08:55 PM
Imagine when he is fit and has met all his team mates and trained properly with them let alone played a few matches :party:

CL0762
10-08-2023, 08:57 PM
He’s going to be the next one we fall in love with and part ways too soon for our liking isn’t he 😔

Goal and an assist, doesn’t get much better than that.

10-08-2023, 09:00 PM
Not just a good player but he works his socks off. Just wait till he's up to speed.

10-08-2023, 09:01 PM
Superstar

jakeshibs
10-08-2023, 09:02 PM
looks a good player, lets see when he is match fit

10-08-2023, 09:08 PM
1 chance, 1 goal. Didn't get a whole lot of the ball to see what he can do but was clinical and worked very hard.

Hibees1973
10-08-2023, 09:09 PM
He's quick , strong . Good movement and has the strikers instinct . High hopes based on this performance .

Well put.

Highly promising first game.

10-08-2023, 09:11 PM
Can see him and Alfie causing apoplexy for some big bustling, bruising centre halves with their movement

10-08-2023, 09:14 PM
Very good performance.

The lad just oozes goals. We'll be lucky to keep him after this season.

10-08-2023, 09:15 PM
Very encouraging

babahibs
10-08-2023, 09:24 PM
Tumescent

10-08-2023, 09:26 PM
Very good performance.

The lad just oozes goals. We'll be lucky to keep him after this season.probably that’s why he came here as if he does well he will move down south so let’s enjoy him while he is here.

10-08-2023, 09:26 PM
Melkerson scored 2 on his debut. :wink:

Honestly he looked good, chased everything and his movement for his goal was superb. :top marks

10-08-2023, 09:29 PM
Player.

10-08-2023, 09:31 PM
Welcome to Hibs Dylan, here’s to the next 99.

7Hero
10-08-2023, 09:36 PM
Thought Le fondre and him linked well together, both were excellent..

10-08-2023, 09:36 PM
Excellent debut even before the assist. Mobile, hard working, quick, runs the channels and when he was involved made great decisions. Assist was great and finish solid to top off a briiliant first start.

Le Fondre should get a mention too. He really works hard and wins as many flick ons as Doidge but knows where to direct them. Big Doidge did well when he came on too so we have so many more options through the middle than we had.

10-08-2023, 09:45 PM
Reminded me a bit of Super Ally Macleod

Didn’t look the quickest but always got there before an opponent and conserved his energy until he really needed it with his brilliant reading of the game

Will be a big player for us with a few games under his belt

Davy Mac
10-08-2023, 09:51 PM

Didn’t look the quickest but always got there before an opponent and conserved his energy until he really needed it with his brilliant reading of the game

Ohh FFS super Ally Macleod, you'll be talking up Alex McGhee in a minute ya old bugger. Lol :-)

10-08-2023, 09:54 PM
Ohh FFS super Ally Macleod, you'll be talking up Alex McGhee in a minute ya old bugger. Lol :-)

Super Ally was deceptive he was slower than he looked and twinkle toes McGhee wisnae too bad either but no as good shipped out to Dundee IIRC

Davy Mac
10-08-2023, 09:57 PM
Super Ally was deceptive he was slower than he looked and twinkle toes McGhee wisnae too bad either but no as good shipped out to Dundee IIRC

Mind McGhee used to bang the goals in for the reserves like confetti but couldnae hit a barn door for the first team if he tried. lol :-)

SerenityGreen
10-08-2023, 10:06 PM
Thought Le fondre and him linked well together, both were excellent..
They did indeed look good. I liked the fact that they both worked hard as well off the ball. We were always taught, defend from the front, and they looked really sharp and fast in closing down defenders when they were trying to play out.

10-08-2023, 10:09 PM

Yep . We better enjoy him while he’s here

Torto7
10-08-2023, 10:11 PM
When I watched him on Youtube I was struggling to see a weakness and why he wasn't getting interest from higher. He's total class. He'll be in the running for top goal scorer this year.

Hibs3-2
10-08-2023, 10:49 PM
Really really like him. Big, strong, fast, work rate, technically sound, scores goals

Will make us a fortune in a few years.

10-08-2023, 11:42 PM
Intelligent header for the goal. Knew the keeper was moving across his goal so headed it where the keeper was coming from.

10-08-2023, 11:46 PM
Don’t want to get carried away, seen it before, Melkersen being a prime example but I really liked him. Our forward options are excellent.

Keepthefaith
10-08-2023, 11:48 PM
Intelligent header for the goal. Knew the keeper was moving across his goal so headed it where the keeper was coming from.

agreed, but his movement to anticipate where ALF would put the cross was just superb. we absolutely have a player on our hands

10-08-2023, 11:51 PM
£20m 😎

11-08-2023, 01:00 AM
£20m 😎

With a big sell on percentage

11-08-2023, 06:57 AM
Don’t want to get carried away, seen it before, Melkersen being a prime example but I really liked him. Our forward options are excellent.

Agree looked good. Composed finish workrate and movement was good and set up Joe excellently.

11-08-2023, 07:11 AM
Agree looked good. Composed finish workrate and movement was good and set up Joe excellently.

The difference in our recruitment this summer compared to last is night and day. Not seen enough of the keeper, but the others have all improved us. Early days I know but it’s very encouraging. Don’t think it’s a coincidence that our transfer dealings have looked better since Brian McDermott came in.

11-08-2023, 07:11 AM
Will be linked with the OF by the Record within the week.

The professional celebrators of Victoria freak show will say 'es oan ez wey tae us."

Will go the England/Europe to a real football club for a big fee two years later.

Right now though he's a Hibby, and I can't wait t see him in a derby.

Up-the-slope
11-08-2023, 07:24 AM
I loved his post match interview - He obviously loved the atmosphere and was so enthusiastic to be at club. Joe mentioned how he had 'only spoken to him twice' and yet his lay off for Joes goal was an assist of total quality with Joe able to ram it first time with no break in stride or run... if they can link midfield to attack like that regularly then we are in for a treat and Joe's abilities will be so much better used

11-08-2023, 08:42 AM
Said this in the match thread but from behind he honestly looks and runs like Kevin Thomson.

11-08-2023, 08:53 AM
Very, very early days obviously but massively encouraging debut. Bit of the speculate to accumulate about the signing i think. We could potentially sell him for big money.

Solonleith1
11-08-2023, 08:54 AM
Obviously early days but the boy's a player. His movement is going to score him a hatful of goals.

Paulie Walnuts
11-08-2023, 09:32 AM
The Doidge song fits perfectly for him.

Get it done Block 7.

Si Senor.

Donegal Hibby
11-08-2023, 02:14 PM
Match highlights and ALL ACCESS highlights that I put on another thread here though in this there's a post match interview with our new striker if you've not seen it .
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/another-memorable-european-night-highlights-recap

11-08-2023, 10:13 PM
Great Debut considering hadn’t trained much with the team Looking forward to watching him develop and score goals But great lay off with Assist as well

11-08-2023, 10:19 PM

I thought he was quick, although the defender might have been slow :greengrin when he gave him five yards with a ball over the top on the right side in the first half.:confused:

11-08-2023, 11:27 PM
I thought he was quick, although the defender might have been slow :greengrin when he gave him five yards with a ball over the top on the right side in the first half.:confused:

Maybe not pacey but he’s very instinctive and that makes up for pace. First 10 minutes he anticipated their passing across the lines and closed them down three times forcing errors and blocked tackles. Very high work rate and presses really well. Think we’ve won a watch with this lad 👍

12-08-2023, 12:00 AM
If we get through to meet Villa then his contribution may well have gone a long way to paying for his transfer fee already.

Tony Bobulinski
12-08-2023, 01:45 AM
If we get through to meet Villa then his contribution may well have gone a long way to paying for his transfer fee already.

ErinGoBraghHFC
12-08-2023, 02:21 AM

Just wait until he scores the winner at Villa park

12-08-2023, 05:16 AM

Yip had no right to win that ball showed a deceptive turn of pace and anticipation to beat the defender to the ball

The guy is going to be quality

12-08-2023, 06:20 AM
Hearts will kick lumps out of him.

12-08-2023, 11:36 PM
Just wait until he scores the winner at Villa park

🤞🤞🤞

20-08-2023, 05:45 PM
Did very well for his goal today. Hope he is okay, looked a sair yin.

20-08-2023, 05:50 PM
Did very well for his goal today. Hope he is okay, looked a sair yin.

A blooded nose which was stemmed in the dressing room so hopefully he'll be fine for Wednesday

20-08-2023, 05:52 PM
A blooded nose which was stemmed in the dressing room so hopefully he'll be fine for Wednesday

Was a ridiculous challenge at that stage of game which got exactly what it deserved with the red card

stuart-farquhar
20-08-2023, 05:52 PM

He's fine. Said so himself in the Albion.

20-08-2023, 05:53 PM

👍 🤞

20-08-2023, 05:54 PM
Glad to hear he got the winning goal today, I never seen Motherwell away but I can't fault his efforts on Thursday, worked hard and never really got any service.

20-08-2023, 06:04 PM
He's just so clearly a talent. Scored two goals but on both occasions his reading of the game and movement have been a class above. Going to be a huge fan favourite.

20-08-2023, 07:35 PM
We really need a creative midfield/number 10 to get the best out of him.

You can tell he’s a good player, goal scorer, intelligent and with a really good work rate

We need to get the ball to him more and someone he can really links with.

Some of his touches are brilliant and then the dummy today was another sign of his intelligence.

Really like the look of him

20-08-2023, 07:37 PM
We really need a creative midfield/number 10 to get the best out of him.

You can tell he’s a good player, goal scorer, intelligent and with a really good work rate

We need to get the ball to him more and someone he can really links with.

Some of his touches are brilliant and then the dummy today was another sign of his intelligence.

Really like the look of him

If he gets the service he will score goals for us, he is a classy forward, with a bit of steel about him as well, really think we have a star for a year or so at Hibs.

22-08-2023, 12:41 PM
Any updates on his availability for selection tomorrow?

22-08-2023, 12:43 PM

He is fine.

22-08-2023, 12:44 PM
Shirley his neb has stopped bleeding by now. As long as he doesn't keep picking at the crusty bits.

22-08-2023, 12:44 PM
He is fine.

Good, can he play as an additional centre half? :greengrin

22-08-2023, 12:45 PM

Think people spoke to him after the game and just a bloody nose.

22-08-2023, 12:46 PM
Good, can he play as an additional centre half? :greengrin

Was thinking centre mid :greengrin

Donegal Hibby
25-08-2023, 02:50 PM
Really looking forward to watching Vente over the course of the season TBH . Think we have a player on our hands that's going to score a fair few goals for us .
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/vente-hoping-to-add-more-goals-to-hibs-tally

25-08-2023, 02:55 PM
He's looked excellent so far. Work rate and off the ball has been of a good level, couple of goals too. Been really impressed.

25-08-2023, 03:08 PM
Really looking forward to watching Vente over the course of the season TBH . Think we have a player on our hands that's going to score a fair few goals for us .
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/vente-hoping-to-add-more-goals-to-hibs-tally

He was invisible against Villa, did nothing, totally ineffectual. Another wage thief.

ALF was even worse.

25-08-2023, 03:10 PM
Strange position to play him in against Villa. Looks like he’s a player who should just play up front, through the middle. Either in a 2 or on his own I think would be fine

25-08-2023, 03:17 PM
Strange position to play him in against Villa. Looks like he’s a player who should just play up front, through the middle. Either in a 2 or on his own I think would be fine

Would play him and Alf up front tomorrow

Donegal Hibby
25-08-2023, 03:37 PM
He was invisible against Villa, did nothing, totally ineffectual. Another wage thief.

ALF was even worse.

I'm reporting you to Wee Russell 😂😂😂

Donegal Hibby
25-08-2023, 03:44 PM
Would play him and Alf up front tomorrow

Wouldn't be a bad idea both worked well together in the home game against Luzern tbh

25-08-2023, 07:59 PM
Wouldn't be a bad idea both worked well together in the home game against Luzern tbh

Still keep watching the assist from ALF for Vente's goal, absolute filth.

25-08-2023, 08:13 PM

Similar with the Doidge/ALF link up v St Mirren. Shame it counted for nothing in the end.

25-08-2023, 08:29 PM
Strange position to play him in against Villa. Looks like he’s a player who should just play up front, through the middle. Either in a 2 or on his own I think would be fine I thought he had been told not to leave the centre circle at one point. Ridiculous playing him and then setting up for him to be a yad in front of teh midfielders. Just drop him and play a midfielder, maybe that was the issue we hardly have any.

Donegal Hibby
25-08-2023, 08:45 PM

Yeah me too. 😄
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/what-dylan-vente-is-focusing-on-as-hibs-striker-speaks-on-villa-defeat-and-move-from-roda-4269750

26-08-2023, 04:10 AM
I'm reporting you to Wee Russell 😂😂😂

What this radge seems to fail to appreciate is that it’s his posts that are the problem!

Pretty Green
26-08-2023, 08:21 AM

ALF was even worse.

Haha ok then, I despair sometimes.

26-08-2023, 08:23 AM
Haha ok then, I despair sometimes.

He’s taking the Michael 👍

I know mainly because radge isn’t (that much of) a dafty… and because ALF didn’t even come on.

I think the fact it’s believable someone would post it is kind of the point of his joke though 👍

04-09-2023, 06:58 PM
Still high hopes that Vente will score a good few goals for Hibs, a few good touches in a quiet performance. Did see something about Gray was happy with his performance, something along the lines of tiring the Aberdeen defenders.

I did see this posted in the match thread about Youan and Boyle sometimes trying to do it all themselves at times when they could try and find Vente in the box.

I admit he maybe could of been a bit more involved but we need to create chances for this guy.

05-09-2023, 09:48 AM
I think he works hard and drops into pockets of space that lets us break with Boyle/Youan, but overall we haven't really gotten the ball to him in and around the box much. It will come with time.

05-09-2023, 09:50 AM
If our two wingers were more interested in team goals rather than self-preservation he would get a few chances a game.

05-09-2023, 09:52 AM
If our two wingers were more interested in team goals rather than self-preservation he would get a few chances a game.

Fair point. they just get the ball head down and bomb towards goal. I cant remember him receiving any quality balls.

05-09-2023, 10:04 AM
Fair point. they just get the ball head down and bomb towards goal. I cant remember him receiving any quality balls.

Certainly not on Sunday. The crowd were getting frustrated about it as there were a few occasions when Youan and Boyle both had the chance to cut inside and find either Vente or Campbell but they both went wide and tried to go on their own.

Perhaps they had been told to do that, you never know what the instructions have been.

05-09-2023, 10:06 AM
We need our wide players to start linking up more with the striker/s.

Personally feel Vente could do with either Doidge or ALF up there with him.

05-09-2023, 10:54 AM

Not sure you can tie both our wide players together Youan is incredibly frustrating in his decisions there was one second half on Sunday where Campbell was in perfect position for a shot at the edge of the box and Elie went himself. Boyler much more of a team player imo happy to play the ball across the goals for others.

Chorley Hibee
05-09-2023, 11:13 AM
I said when he signed that I was concerned by his signing video, where he mentioned what type of player he was and the service he liked to receive.

It bares no resemblance to what Hibs provide any of their strikers with in terms of service, and there'll need to be a change in our play, and likely personnel, to see the best of him.

Hopefully the new manager makes a start with this.

05-09-2023, 11:24 AM
Not sure you can tie both our wide players together Youan is incredibly frustrating in his decisions there was one second half on Sunday where Campbell was in perfect position for a shot at the edge of the box and Elie went himself. Boyler much more of a team player imo happy to play the ball across the goals for others.

Youan returning the better numbers so far this season although, admittedly Boyle, only on the way back from injury. On the last point Youan sitting with 4 assists so far, all from cut backs and of balls across the box to someone in a better position.

05-09-2023, 12:20 PM

Boyle went down the outside of the defender to get a shot away from an acute angle at least twice from memory. Youan is more guilty, but Boyle is still also guilty.

05-09-2023, 12:24 PM
Boyle went down the outside of the defender to get a shot away from an acute angle at least twice from memory. Youan is more guilty, but Boyle is still also guilty.

I thought Boyle was much more frustrating than Youan against Aberdeen but he seems to get significantly less criticism.

beensaidbefore
05-09-2023, 12:27 PM

Boyle is also guilty of getting caught offside far too many times recently. Both of their decision making is poor at times though.

beensaidbefore
05-09-2023, 12:29 PM
I thought Boyle was much more frustrating than Youan against Aberdeen but he seems to get significantly less criticism.

I agree. The guy can be class, but too often he seems to over do it, leading to us losing the ball cheaply, which puts us under pressure from the counter attack.

05-09-2023, 03:10 PM

Funny that eh?

Boyle is a fan favourite for good reason, but he’s frequently guilty of not getting his head up and making the right pass.

05-09-2023, 08:10 PM

He has more credit in the bank

06-09-2023, 06:57 AM

Were there any better options on. Youan on more than one occasion there clearly were. Boyle had a shot the goalie saved with his feet then another cross which Campbell almost got on the end of.

06-09-2023, 07:09 AM
He has more credit in the bank

Once Youan scores a hat-trick versus the Hun he can do what he wants 😂

In the meantime play the simple baw and ffs look up

06-09-2023, 07:23 AM
Were there any better options on. Youan on more than one occasion there clearly were. Boyle had a shot the goalie saved with his feet then another cross which Campbell almost got on the end of.

I'd need to watch the game back. I was there so didn't have replays to draw upon, I'm just using my hazy memory.

06-09-2023, 08:11 AM
I'd need to watch the game back. I was there so didn't have replays to draw upon, I'm just using my hazy memory.

Fair enough I watched on TV though you definitely get a better view at match especially at the away end if the ground.