View Full Version : Level Of Passing

27-07-2023, 05:26 PM
How absolutely horrendous was the basic level of passing from that Hibs team today?! The amount of cross field balls that went out of play, crosses that hit the first man, the weight of pass being not only far too heavy but at times far too light. Very concerning to say the very least.

Oh, and to save me starting another thread, there’s a reason our form RAPIDLY IMPROVED last season when Rocky was injured! The guy is no where near good enough and it’s no coincidence we concede like a siv when he’s on the pitch. Hanlon & Fish or Fish & Harbottle if he’s up to the requirement needed.

27-07-2023, 05:28 PM
How absolutely horrendous was the basic level of passing from that Hibs team today?! The amount of cross field balls that went out of play, crosses that hit the first man, the weight of pass being not only far too heavy but at times far too light. Very concerning to say the very least.

Oh, and to save me starting another thread, there’s a reason our form RAPIDLY IMPROVED last season when Rocky was injured! The guy is no where near good enough and it’s no coincidence we concede like a siv when he’s on the pitch. Hanlon & Fish or Fish & Harbottle if he’s up to the requirement needed.

Totally agree quality weight of pass very little pass and move. Obsession with going long. Every set piece the same lump into the box no short corners or variation. Absolute horror show. Lost to a pub team who played better pub team football than we did.

27-07-2023, 05:37 PM
It was almost like the TV went on fast forward anytime the ball went long from right to left on the camera. Turned into a missile.

27-07-2023, 06:06 PM
I used to ping passes about like that in the Meadows every Sunday. I was hopeless at fitba and always hungover. Criminal our guys being that bad.

27-07-2023, 06:10 PM
Don’t think I’ve ever watched a game where so many passes were just shelled out the park

27-07-2023, 06:14 PM

TBH that was my bug bear last season too. We continually over hit passes all season. We done the same with corners which further angered me 😂 as we never ever put anybody round the back to take account of this much repeated error. 😡

WestStandWillie
27-07-2023, 06:14 PM
Lump, lump, lump, lump, lump

Absolute minging style of football.

27-07-2023, 06:24 PM

When we have a lot of the ball, Rocky has to be a lot better with it when passing forward, he has to be quicker and more accurate, i doubt he has the ability to do either.

Cookiehibs
27-07-2023, 06:24 PM
I’m glad, after reading a lot of posts from today and before Rocky was out the team, my comments from a while back which got quite a bit of backlash from people are now being supported. I posted saying that Rocky should be nowhere near our starting 11. I will admit like I did a while ago he did have some decent games but surely Hibs as a club should have much higher standards

27-07-2023, 06:26 PM
I’m glad, after reading a lot of posts from today and before Rocky was out the team, my comments from a while back which got quite a bit of backlash from people are now being supported. I posted saying that Rocky should be nowhere near our starting 11. I will admit like I did a while ago he did have some decent games but surely Hibs as a club should have much higher standards

100%

I'm Spartacus
27-07-2023, 06:27 PM
These adults have been passing footballs since they were wee boys, professional footballers now paid to work at passing a ball, yet they looked like they'd never kicked a ball in their life.

It's the manager, the tactics, the utterly shambolic style and standard. Folk calling for 4 or 5 new players, we've already signed a load, do we just keep going with a huge squad? FFS.

Cut the loss and get rid.

27-07-2023, 06:29 PM
The amount of times we pass the ball behind or level with the player is probably the most frustrating thing for me. I actually get so angry about it, probably unnaturally so.

27-07-2023, 06:53 PM
There was a 60 second passage in the 2nd half when first Lewis, then Jeggo then some other duffer, all under next to no pressure, just booted the ball out the park. Basic, basic stuff

Hibees1973
27-07-2023, 06:54 PM
Don’t think I’ve ever watched a game where so many passes were just shelled out the park

But, but, but it was the altitude and a wee pitch.

27-07-2023, 06:55 PM
An utter joke, Stevenson, Youan were the pick of a bad bunch

Potty78
27-07-2023, 07:18 PM

Stevenson? Youan and Newell maybe🤷*♂️

27-07-2023, 07:25 PM

You think Stevenson was the pick of the bunch?

27-07-2023, 07:26 PM
Stevenson? Youan and Newell maybe🤷*♂️

Didn't you watch the first half?

27-07-2023, 07:29 PM
But, but, but it was the altitude and a wee pitch.

And the wind 🤣
There was a strong wind towards the end the Hibs fans were behind, not noticeable from the stand at side, and presumably not apparent on TV. A full time professional team completely unable to adjust & cope with it says it all, ball after ball over hit.

Soldiersteve
27-07-2023, 07:31 PM
The amount of times we pass the ball behind or level with the player is probably the most frustrating thing for me. I actually get so angry about it, probably unnaturally so.

Thats my bug bear too - any momentum is immediately lost!

27-07-2023, 07:31 PM

Does my head in when it coincides with an overall poor performance snd result

27-07-2023, 07:33 PM

I love Stevenson but if he has ever had a worse game for Hibs I would be very surprised. He was absolutely brutal tonight.

Potty78
27-07-2023, 07:33 PM
Didn't you watch the first half?

Stevenson was involved in both goals we lost and kept kicking the ball back to them or out of play. He was poor

27-07-2023, 07:39 PM
I don't think I've ever seen us blooter so many balls out the park

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

27-07-2023, 08:07 PM
Stevenson was involved in both goals we lost and kept kicking the ball back to them or out of play. He was poor

Yes he was shocking but so were so many others, players who couldnie trap a bag o cement or pass a ball more than 20 yards, dont know what the training involves but perhaps they need to practice a bit more, rather than just running.
Very poor, but they do get a chance to make things a wee bit better next week. They better take the chance.

Fanforlife
27-07-2023, 08:10 PM
Youan caused more problems for Hibs than he did for Inter,such a frustrating player, surely by now he must know that it is supposed to be a team game.

27-07-2023, 08:12 PM
These adults have been passing footballs since they were wee boys, professional footballers now paid to work at passing a ball, yet they looked like they'd never kicked a ball in their life.

It's the manager, the tactics, the utterly shambolic style and standard. Folk calling for 4 or 5 new players, we've already signed a load, do we just keep going with a huge squad? FFS.

Cut the loss and get rid.

:agree:It's amazing, isn't it? They get paid thousands a week and perform like that.

27-07-2023, 08:15 PM
Youan caused more problems for Hibs than he did for Inter,such a frustrating player, surely by now he must know that it is supposed to be a team game.

I half jokingly complained during the strip clash friendly (can't remember who the Gibraltar team was!) that I was worried about him being played wide. I'm joking even less now.

27-07-2023, 08:15 PM
It wasn’t just the passing. We weren’t good in any aspect of the game including the way we applied ourselves. But the number of passes that were absolutely leathered out the park was unbelievable.

JGS56
27-07-2023, 08:34 PM
It wasn’t just the passing. We weren’t good in any aspect of the game including the way we applied ourselves. But the number of passes that were absolutely leathered out the park was unbelievable.

Very narrow pitch - probably 10 yards narrower than Easter Road.

No excuse - but it can be difficult to adjust.

27-07-2023, 08:39 PM

Indeed it can for the first 3 or 4 attempts but to continue in that vein for 90 odd minutes?

I'm Spartacus
27-07-2023, 09:28 PM
If the pitch is narrower then the players are closer, so the passing shouldn't be a problem, the narrow pitch can only play havoc with a formation and game plan, can't it?

The altitude causing issues with the ball flight, distance and accuracy? I'm no expert other than I know altitude can make you breathless, having experienced it in Colorado in the Rockies, but ball flight etc?

27-07-2023, 09:34 PM

In training they’ll do passing drills, possession, mini games etc all the time and I doubt anyone will ever have struggled to adjust the weight of a pass.

It was just amateur and put me lack of concentration

27-07-2023, 09:34 PM
It was amateurish, the number of times Stevenson lumped the ball out of play, I lost count.

MikeyS
27-07-2023, 09:39 PM
It was amateurish, the number of times Stevenson lumped the ball out of play, I lost count.

He's made a career out of that! Can't ever fault his effort but he's very poor in possession! Same goes for a lot of them. Watching Youan at times is like watching a toddler at a party chasing a balloon then in the next breath he is mugging players and doing step overs. So frustrating!

27-07-2023, 11:49 PM
If the pitch is narrower then the players are closer, so the passing shouldn't be a problem, the narrow pitch can only play havoc with a formation and game plan, can't it?

The altitude causing issues with the ball flight, distance and accuracy? I'm no expert other than I know altitude can make you breathless, having experienced it in Colorado in the Rockies, but ball flight etc?

As far as I know half of the field goal kickers in the NFL have most of their longest ever kicks at Mile High stadium in Denver .. the thinner air makes the ball fly quicker and further. It could to a degree explain a tendency to over hit the ball by players not used to playing at altitude.

That being said, we were poor at practically every aspect of the game today, we gave the ball away far too easily and Youan, after looking good in pre season reverted to type and tried to beat everybody on the bloody park, giving the ball away far too often in the attempt, even then he was about the only threat we had.

I absolutely agree with the poster who said players who can't play a simple pass in front of a player so he doesn't have to break stride do his head in .... mine too, it's such a basic skill and yet you see Hibs players screw it up time and again.

28-07-2023, 02:36 AM

I’m absolutely right there with you on that point! It’s football basics, pass the ball slightly in front for a player to run and move yet we next to never do it. It’s quite incredible.

28-07-2023, 05:18 AM

This is hardly new with Hibs. Movement off the ball to enable pass options is woeful as well.

It’s basic stuff, really, but critical to develop.

28-07-2023, 07:49 AM
In training they’ll do passing drills, possession, mini games etc all the time and I doubt anyone will ever have struggled to adjust the weight of a pass.

It was just amateur and put me lack of concentration

Looks like they don't do them enough. The lack of quality in passing and moving was pathetic. Didn't appear to be any patterns of play. Don't think a ball on the ground was ever played into a forward to be supported by a midfielder. The number of long balls was frankly pathetic as were the set pieces same long throw or corner over and over again no short corners tried which would bring out a couple of defenders. Seemed very basic and lacking in any innovation and variation.

28-07-2023, 08:03 AM
You really do wonder what they are doing in training. The team looked I'll prepared for that game yesterday. They had no cohesion, they were tactically naive and the passing was woeful. The training camp in Marbella must have cost a fortune, and judging by yesterday's performance it's been a complete waste of money and time.

28-07-2023, 08:07 AM
You really do wonder what they are doing in training. The team looked I'll prepared for that game yesterday. They had no cohesion, they were tactically naive and the passing was woeful. The training camp in Marbella must have cost a fortune, and judging by yesterday's performance it's been a complete waste of money and time.

Looked off it physically also not sharp and full of running you would have expected.

Hillsidehibby
28-07-2023, 08:21 AM
Melkerson’s pass to their goalie was pretty spot on

28-07-2023, 08:35 AM

If altitude is being offered as another excuse its a total red herring. Andorra La Vella may be the highest capital in Europe but its not exactly La Paz FFS! It barely scrapes over the 1000M mark, there are loads of points in Scotland higher than this.

28-07-2023, 08:38 AM
If altitude is being offered as another excuse its a total red herring. Andorra La Vella may be the highest capital in Europe but its not exactly La Paz FFS! It barely scrapes over the 1000M mark, there are loads of points in Scotland higher than this.Any football pitches on them?

I wanna go and blooter the ball at such a velocity the camera man can't keep up

[emoji3]

Chorley Hibee
28-07-2023, 08:43 AM
If altitude is being offered as another excuse its a total red herring. Andorra La Vella may be the highest capital in Europe but its not exactly La Paz FFS! It barely scrapes over the 1000M mark, there are loads of points in Scotland higher than this.

****ing embarrassing that this is being offered up as an excuse.

Yeah, Andorran teams have such a stellar record in Europe don't they, everyone struggles when they arrive in Andorra.

Laughable!

28-07-2023, 08:44 AM
Any football pitches on them?

I wanna go and blooter the ball at such a velocity the camera man can't keep up

[emoji3]

I had a kick-about with my Granny at the top of Ben Nevis once. She kept belting the ball off the edge.

Once I'd sent her halfway back to Fort William to retrieve it for the 12th time, I think she got the message.

28-07-2023, 08:56 AM
In the interest of balance the betting preview in yesterday's Racing Post advised against backing Hibs due to the altitude and the narrow unwatered pitch.
They also pointed out Andorran teams have been hard to beat at home recently.
Not in any way excusing our performance but thought it was worth sharing.

29-07-2023, 08:13 AM
In the interest of balance the betting preview in yesterday's Racing Post advised against backing Hibs due to the altitude and the narrow unwatered pitch.

Good bit of context Cluj a team which many more resources than us drew 1 1 with the same team last season.

29-07-2023, 09:11 AM
Hadn't realised the pitch is only 1000m high. Absolutely no chance that altitude has had anything to do with their performance levels or the flight of the ball at 1000m.

Didn't think so at the time but I now think it's rather embarrassing that LJ even mentioned the word altitude ...

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

29-07-2023, 10:13 AM
Hadn't realised the pitch is only 1000m high. Absolutely no chance that altitude has had anything to do with their performance levels or the flight of the ball at 1000m.

Didn't think so at the time but I now think it's rather embarrassing that LJ even mentioned the word altitude ...

I'm sure I read somewhere that running at a height of 1500m means you have 40% less oxygen than running at sea level so still going to be a bit of a task for guys not used to it, still should have beaten them though

29-07-2023, 10:19 AM
Good bit of context Cluj a team which many more resources than us drew 1 1 with the same team last season.

They had a man sent off as well

29-07-2023, 01:52 PM
I'm sure I read somewhere that running at a height of 1500m means you have 40% less oxygen than running at sea level so still going to be a bit of a task for guys not used to it, still should have beaten them thoughI'd be interested to know what you've read because that sounds way off. I could believe if it was 10% or something, highly doubt it's 40% less oxygen at 1000m.

I may be wrong, but gut instinct tells me 1000m would have very little impact on anything.

29-07-2023, 02:53 PM

It’s worth sharing for sure.

29-07-2023, 02:54 PM

Um, the air is definitely thinner at 1,000 metres.

29-07-2023, 03:07 PM
Um, the air is definitely thinner at 1,000 metres.

Marginally so.

that said I’ve no idea what impact 10% less oxygen has! So maybe marginal is still significant!

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230729/d71bd497b7144caa70a1a4b61c4f289b.jpg

29-07-2023, 03:23 PM
I'd be interested to know what you've read because that sounds way off. I could believe if it was 10% or something, highly doubt it's 40% less oxygen at 1000m.

I may be wrong, but gut instinct tells me 1000m would have very little impact on anything.

Possibly misread the 40% part as it was very technical but 40 was definitely mentioned, it was in an article regarding athletes running at altitude, I'll need to try find it but there is definitely an impact

29-07-2023, 03:28 PM
This is all interesting stuff about the altitude. If it did have a negative impact then usually you'd expect us to completely reverse that at ER's much lower altitude. However, given the sudden escalation of the effects of climate change, by Thursday the ground will be three metres below sea level. I don't know what science there is on performance levels in such circumstances but I can't help but hope being even further down will be to our advantage.

29-07-2023, 04:04 PM
Here you go…according to the chart above the oxygen levels at 1,000 m are below health and safety standards.

In the preamble to the final Respiratory Protection Standard, OSHA discussed extensively its rationale for requiring that employees breathe air consisting of at least 19.5 percent oxygen. The following excerpt, taken from the preamble, explains the basis for this requirement:

Human beings must breathe oxygen . . . to survive, and begin to suffer adverse health effects when the oxygen level of their breathing air drops below [19.5 percent oxygen]. Below 19.5 percent oxygen . . . , air is considered oxygen-deficient. At concentrations of 16 to 19.5 percent, workers engaged in any form of exertion can rapidly become symptomatic as their tissues fail to obtain the oxygen necessary to function properly (Rom, W., Environmental and Occupational Medicine, 2nd ed.; Little, Brown; Boston, 1992). Increased breathing rates, accelerated heartbeat, and impaired thinking or coordination occur more quickly in an oxygen-deficient environment. Even a momentary loss of coordination may be devastating to a worker if it occurs while the worker is performing a potentially dangerous activity.

So there we have it, with levels in the low 18%’s at the altitude we played then there is a scientific reason why the players might actually have been impacted more than what would have been thought or we might assume!

Bridge hibs
29-07-2023, 04:06 PM
Here you go…according to the chart above the oxygen levels at 1,000 m are below health and safety standards.

In the preamble to the final Respiratory Protection Standard, OSHA discussed extensively its rationale for requiring that employees breathe air consisting of at least 19.5 percent oxygen. The following excerpt, taken from the preamble, explains the basis for this requirement:

Human beings must breathe oxygen . . . to survive, and begin to suffer adverse health effects when the oxygen level of their breathing air drops below [19.5 percent oxygen]. Below 19.5 percent oxygen . . . , air is considered oxygen-deficient. At concentrations of 16 to 19.5 percent, workers engaged in any form of exertion can rapidly become symptomatic as their tissues fail to obtain the oxygen necessary to function properly (Rom, W., Environmental and Occupational Medicine, 2nd ed.; Little, Brown; Boston, 1992). Increased breathing rates, accelerated heartbeat, and impaired thinking or coordination occur more quickly in an oxygen-deficient environment. Even a momentary loss of coordination may be devastating to a worker if it occurs while the worker is performing a potentially dangerous activity.

So there we have it, with levels in the low 18%’s at the altitude we played then there is a scientific reason why the players might actually have been impacted more than what would have been thought or we might assume!

So, in summary, Inter should struggle in Auld Reekie ? 😃

29-07-2023, 08:30 PM
I'd be interested to know what you've read because that sounds way off. I could believe if it was 10% or something, highly doubt it's 40% less oxygen at 1000m.

Between 0 and 7 or so percent according to this (https://www.researchgate.net/figure/Estimation-of-Arterial-Oxygen-Saturation-in-relation-to-Altitude_fig1_312246146).

Watching the game it was a bunch of players who lacked sharpness and who were forcing passes because teh movement off the ball is woeful.

Rumble de Thump
29-07-2023, 08:52 PM
So, in summary, Inter should struggle in Auld Reekie ? 😃

They will be super human.

ErinGoBraghHFC
29-07-2023, 09:09 PM
So, in summary, Inter should struggle in Auld Reekie ? [emoji2]

I’d imagine the opposite, they’ll be running about as if they’ve got three lungs

29-07-2023, 11:23 PM
It's good to see a bit more detail on the altitude factor, one thing I'm curious about and it's not necessarily specific to altitude, but the question of why we, as a support, are never willing to consider mitigating factors for results?

I don't know where altitude played a part or not, and (falling into the category I was just questioning) I'm not making excuses for the awful performance, but people generally aren't interested in anything that deviates from "that's not good enough and it's all three fault of *insert scapegoat here*"

29-07-2023, 11:57 PM
It's good to see a bit more detail on the altitude factor, one thing I'm curious about and it's not necessarily specific to altitude, but the question of why we, as a support, are never willing to consider mitigating factors for results?

I don't know where altitude played a part or not, and (falling into the category I was just questioning) I'm not making excuses for the awful performance, but people generally aren't interested in anything that deviates from "that's not good enough and it's all three fault of *insert scapegoat here*"The only mitigating factor that matters is Lee Johnsons new teeth

30-07-2023, 05:02 AM

I don't know where altitude played a part or not, and (falling into the category I was just questioning) I'm not making excuses for the awful performance, but people generally aren't interested in anything that deviates from "that's not good enough and it's all three fault of *insert scapegoat here*"

I think it would have been different if we struggled to break them down or played reasonably well but didn't quite get the breaks. Thursday was just a complete car crash and the team deserved a lot of criticism for it imo.

30-07-2023, 08:57 AM
I think it would have been different if we struggled to break them down or played reasonably well but didn't quite get the breaks. Thursday was just a complete car crash and the team deserved a lot of criticism for it imo.

I tend to agree with this. Thursday was a shocker, it's unusual to have every player not at it though.

30-07-2023, 09:17 AM
I tend to agree with this. Thursday was a shocker, it's unusual to have every player not at it though.

There are definitely factors altitude very small pitch and an organised physical team. Our basics were so poor though touch passing movement and defending poorly. My biggest frustration was the complete lack of variation in set pieces. No short corners bit of an obsession with long throws made it very easy for a big physical team. Setting up to play a short corner even if you don't play it brings out two defenders.