View Full Version : Best Recommendations you've ever received
26-07-2023, 12:49 AM
Mine would be the Blindboy Podcast and Bill Douglas's films....and Lankum, Death Grips and Meshuggah...also, Desi Pakwan at the bottom of Leith Walk. And Comte cheese.
Would like to recommend to anyone who cares the album 'Carry Them With Us' by Brighde Chaimbeul. It's an album of Scottish small-pipe music, with Colin Stetson doing mad stuff on the sax...cannot describe how good it is. Try 'Tha Fonn Gun Bhi Trom' as a way in:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QLZMLj-XYW0
ErinGoBraghHFC
26-07-2023, 02:46 AM
Hibs.
Less of a recommendation and more like my auld man telling me I’m a hibby and that’s it but I’m very grateful.
Retro Video Club are a great band as well who were recommended to me years back, love them.
Paulie Walnuts
26-07-2023, 07:10 AM
Le Relais De Venise.
Got recommended it years back and it would now be a death row meal for me. Probably the best thing I’ve ever eaten.
26-07-2023, 07:49 AM
Dundee.
When I was going to university I spoke to someone who went to Dundee and they highly recommended it although I had huge reservations. They gave it the usual "it gets a bad reputation but it's getting better all the time, there's a great wee student community in the West End of the city..." etc which are words I've gone on to repeat many times over myself.
I stayed there for 9 years in the end and they were, without doubt, the best years of my life.
Brilliant, ridiculously under-rated city and I'm led to believe it's even better now than when I was there (started in 1995, left in 2004).
Sloop67
26-07-2023, 07:50 AM
Hibs.
Less of a recommendation and more like my auld man telling me I’m a hibby and that’s it but I’m very grateful.
Retro Video Club are a great band as well who were recommended to me years back, love them.
I saw them live earlier this year , great night quality band
26-07-2023, 02:37 PM
Edinburgh
26-07-2023, 02:49 PM
Find 5 minutes of patience with your children at bedtime.
My grandads recommendation.
He also recommended reading poetry as a form of mindfulness - not the word he used - and it does work.
26-07-2023, 04:17 PM
Dundee.
When I was going to university I spoke to someone who went to Dundee and they highly recommended it although I had huge reservations. They gave it the usual "it gets a bad reputation but it's getting better all the time, there's a great wee student community in the West End of the city..." etc which are words I've gone on to repeat many times over myself.
I stayed there for 9 years in the end and they were, without doubt, the best years of my life.
Brilliant, ridiculously under-rated city and I'm led to believe it's even better now than when I was there (started in 1995, left in 2004).
I love Dundee. Brilliant city.
ErinGoBraghHFC
26-07-2023, 04:25 PM
I love Dundee. Brilliant city.
I do too, gets a bad rep but it’s a great night out
26-07-2023, 04:31 PM
Cold water swimming, particularly in the colder months. Once you’re acclimatised to it, it’s great for dealing with pain caused by inflammation, has helped with my mental health in the winter, and just gives you a good feeling for hours after.
Very glad I was talked into giving it a go.
ErinGoBraghHFC
26-07-2023, 04:32 PM
Cold water swimming, particularly in the colder months. Once you’re acclimatised to it, it’s great for dealing with pain caused by inflammation, has helped with my mental health in the winter, and just gives you a good feeling for hours after.
Very glad I was talked into giving it a go.
Been getting this recommendation a lot but I’m not built for the cold, mental health has been a bit all over the shop recently so tempted to give it a shot
26-07-2023, 05:50 PM
Getting off at Haymarket doesnae work.
27-07-2023, 06:29 AM
A cheap red is always better than a cheap white.
Paulie Walnuts
27-07-2023, 07:43 AM
A cheap red is always better than a cheap white.
On a similar note, there’s no need to go past £10 for a bottle of red in a shop. Also works with £30 in a restaurant.
27-07-2023, 09:02 AM
Where to live in Dublin when i knew no one moving here (Smithfield)
Try to work with plant medicine which has healed me physically and mentally
Recognise that what isn’t an act of love is a call for love. Really helped me find peace in my own and others behaviours rather than wallowing in negativity about them
27-07-2023, 10:27 AM
Been getting this recommendation a lot but I’m not built for the cold, mental health has been a bit all over the shop recently so tempted to give it a shot
I think it comes from the conscious decision to get in the water, when the cold hits your bits every part of your brain is telling you to not go further, but overcoming it gives a sense of achievement, and once you’re swimming you warm up a bit.
If you want to know a bit more feel free to message me, or look to see if there’s a local club or group to get started.
Further recommendation - if you don’t have a DryRobe or Moonwrap to change under, take an old dressing gown to cover your arse and unmentionables if you’re getting changed after.
27-07-2023, 10:42 AM
Thats the point, you win the mental battle and after a while you adjust to it and get a bit of exercise. It really does clear the head. :aok:
27-07-2023, 11:25 AM
Forgiveness is a choice.
01-08-2023, 12:41 PM
The ‘Happy Valley’ Chinese in York.
Benriach 12 year old, sherry cask.
02-08-2023, 11:04 PM
Dundee.
Can’t comment on life as a student in Dundee but it’s great for a day or night out. Decent pubs, much cheaper than Edinburgh and less dick heads than Edinburgh (or Glasgow).
ErinGoBraghHFC
02-08-2023, 11:08 PM
Can’t comment on life as a student in Dundee but it’s great for a day or night out. Decent pubs, much cheaper than Edinburgh and less dick heads than Edinburgh (or Glasgow).
Less tourists too, easier to get served at the bar and you don’t have to listen to some 70 year old American bloke telling everyone that he’s the descendant of Robert the Bruce or whatever
09-08-2023, 10:20 AM
On a similar note, there’s no need to go past £10 for a bottle of red in a shop. Also works with £30 in a restaurant.
Generally you get what you pay for with wine. The supermarket ones from upward of £10 tend to be stronger - 14% - so maybe that's the big selling point!
For really beautiful wine you have to tour around the French growing areas. But that's a world away from Tesco and Edinburgh restaurants.
13-08-2023, 08:24 PM
Say 'yes' far more often than you say 'no'.
Even if you're not sure about taking them on, new experiences, new skills, new friends, and the like will lead to far more opportunities than sticking in your comfort zone.
ErinGoBraghHFC
13-08-2023, 08:53 PM
Say 'yes' far more often than you say 'no'.
Even if you're not sure about taking them on, new experiences, new skills, new friends, and the like will lead to far more opportunities than sticking in your comfort zone.
No
[emoji6]
Fuzzywuzzy
14-08-2023, 09:10 AM
Getting off at Haymarket doesnae work.
You're not doing it right!!😂😂😂
Worked a charm for a great many years!
14-08-2023, 09:43 PM
‘Buy a house at the maximum you can afford when starting on the property ladder.’ - my mum.
‘Come with me to Coasters to see this great new band called The Pogues.’ A good pal who I still sit next to at ER.
‘Take a year out and visit Australia.’ Aussie pal who stayed in my Leith flat for a bit.
15-08-2023, 05:16 PM
Be polite to anyone you meet at any level in an organisation and treat them with respect. Just generally to have good manners. It's something people notice, possibly subconsciously at times, but they notice all the same.
I read a post on Twitter earlier that showed a picture of the fines for Birmingham players. One of them was £250 for not saying good morning to reception staff when arriving for training. Some people found that really funny or even argued it wasn't fair. I think it's brilliant, instilling courtesy and respect right through an organisation. I wonder what type of person doesn't say good morning to the person they first see when arriving for work tbh. I'm always the first of the sales staff in my office and it's usually the cleaners before me, I wouldn't dream of not saying good morning and asking how their day is.
Fuzzywuzzy
15-08-2023, 06:21 PM
Be polite to anyone you meet at any level in an organisation and treat them with respect. Just generally to have good manners. It's something people notice, possibly subconsciously at times, but they notice all the same.
I read a post on Twitter earlier that showed a picture of the fines for Birmingham players. One of them was £250 for not saying good morning to reception staff when arriving for training. Some people found that really funny or even argued it wasn't fair. I think it's brilliant, instilling courtesy and respect right through an organisation. I wonder what type of person doesn't say good morning to the person they first see when arriving for work tbh. I'm always the first of the sales staff in my office and it's usually the cleaners before me, I wouldn't dream of not saying good morning and asking how their day is.
Similar, not similar but I remember seeing a video on twitter when man city were finishing there warm up and were throwing bibs at one of the backroom staff. Haaland was the only one that went over and handed him the bin.
Really irks me people not thanking waiting/serving staff. My kids get a bollocking if they don't (which is harsh as they are kids). Manners don't cost a thing
22-08-2023, 09:07 PM
Maybe done already but don't miss an opportunity to go for a wee. Anyone stuck on the bypass on a Sunday knows....
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
24-08-2023, 03:25 PM
Similar, not similar but I remember seeing a video on twitter when man city were finishing there warm up and were throwing bibs at one of the backroom staff. Haaland was the only one that went over and handed him the bin.
Really irks me people not thanking waiting/serving staff. My kids get a bollocking if they don't (which is harsh as they are kids). Manners don't cost a thing
Did Gordon Strachan not say something similar about John McGinn when he was just a laddie - Not sure if it was the u21's, or full team and he was called up. Kit man was struggling with the bags off the bus and only JM went to see if he wanted a hand. Made the right impression with GS
24-08-2023, 08:04 PM
best recommendation I received was to get to gigs early and see the support acts, I've discovered so many excellent bands that way, a couple of them have even stolen the show from the main act IMO
This, I like being near the front anyway but I've since gone on to see many support bands gigging in their own right.