View Full Version : Christian doidge
24-07-2023, 08:27 AM
CHRISTIAN DOIDGE
I was impressed with Christian Doidge on Friday
Came on looking like his batteries were recharged closing down defenders chasing lost causes won everything in the air and by all accounts has been showing a good attitude about the place in Training and has been scoring goals
He has a good goal scoring record for the club 38:120 loves our club and looks as though he has made a full recovery from his Covid issues ?
Is he worth persisting with as a different option upfront as an aerial goalscoring threat or as an impact sub or do people feel he would not get enough game time and we would be better selling him or putting him out on loan to any interested clubs ?
24-07-2023, 08:30 AM
I'd 100% keep him.
The stepover against Bournemouth was just sublime.
24-07-2023, 08:33 AM
Think the manager is leaning towards keeping him too.
CHRISTIAN DOIDGE
Came on looking like his batteries were recharged closing down defenders chasing lost causes won everything in the air and by all accounts has been showing a good attitude about the place in Training and has been scoring goals
He has a good goal scoring record for the club 38:120 loves our club and looks as though he has made a full recovery from his Covid issues ?
Is he worth persisting with as a different option upfront as an aerial goalscoring threat or as an impact sub or do people feel he would not get enough game time and we would be better selling him or putting him out on loan to any interested clubs ?
Looks like his health issues wasn't his Achilles then but probably long Covid.
24-07-2023, 08:38 AM
CHRISTIAN DOIDGE
He won’t score enough to be our Nisbet replacement this season, and an expensive backup where the money could be much better used IMO.
24-07-2023, 09:03 AM
If he wants to stay and we can afford to keep him on and bring another striker in then keep him. He's a good option to have, something different. People talking about Nouble etc, we have better in the building already.
Paul1642
24-07-2023, 09:06 AM
He won’t score enough to be our Nisbet replacement this season, and an expensive backup where the money could be much better used IMO.
He probably won’t but it’s not impossible. Doidge during his hot streak was an absolute goal machine. It’s unlikely but not impossible that he finds that form again.
Personally not counting on it but if injuries / fixture congestion means that Doidge is getting a fair amount of minutes I won’t be complaining, at least to start with :)
24-07-2023, 09:13 AM
He probably won’t but it’s not impossible. Doidge during his hot streak was an absolute goal machine. It’s unlikely but not impossible that he finds that form again.
Personally not counting on it but if injuries / fixture congestion means that Doidge is getting a fair amount of minutes I won’t be complaining, at least to start with :)
That hot streak was for about 4 months getting on for 4 years ago though.
Still think we’ll sign another striker and Doidge will be away by the end of the window.
HIBS NUTS
24-07-2023, 04:08 PM
That hot streak was for about 4 months getting on for 4 years ago though.
Still think we’ll sign another striker and Doidge will be away by the end of the window.
He also played a half against the dutch on saturday morning and scored twice in a 2-2 draw, and played well, looked much fitter.
the second goal may have been a deflection.
24-07-2023, 04:16 PM
Keep the Doidge.
Key West
24-07-2023, 04:28 PM
What a statement that would be sending out,losing Nisbet but keeping Doidge.
24-07-2023, 04:44 PM
What a statement that would be sending out,losing Nisbet but keeping Doidge.That's the spirit.
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
24-07-2023, 04:47 PM
He certainly looks leaner hungrier and fitter than at any time since his Achilles injury. His spring in his jump seems as good as ever and he’s doing the runs he used to do. Definitely worth holding on to.
Key West
24-07-2023, 04:50 PM
According to LJ 5 teams were interested in signing him, that's went a bit quiet.
24-07-2023, 04:51 PM
What a statement that would be sending out,losing Nisbet but keeping Doidge.
What a statement it would be to have a player work his way back into the team purely on application and merit. Superb visual for any player thinking about coming to Easter Road, that if you give 100% and apply yourself you will get your rewards.
Key West
24-07-2023, 04:59 PM
What a statement it would be to have a player work his way back into the team purely on application and merit. Superb visual for any player thinking about coming to Easter Road, that if you give 100% and apply yourself you will get your rewards.
That would be excellent.
24-07-2023, 05:03 PM
According to LJ 5 teams were interested in signing him, that's went a bit quiet.
It would be madness to sell him without getting a replacement in first.
24-07-2023, 05:40 PM
Think he's a better option than ALF
1875Sean
24-07-2023, 05:43 PM
I’d keep him, I think if melkerson was to come good he would benefit playing alongside big Doidge
24-07-2023, 05:59 PM
I've said it before but remember the excitement when he came back from illness to come off the bench at the League Cup semi? He wasn't fixed then. Looks like he is now. In Doidge I trust.
Think he's a better option than ALF
Of course you do, you love him :greengrin
24-07-2023, 06:34 PM
I’d move him on
Along with Henderson and Tavares
JammyDoidger
24-07-2023, 06:45 PM
Gives defenders a hard time, gets us up the park, he would be starting for me until we get better in the door. Would create a bit space for Youan and Boyle and give them something to hit.
24-07-2023, 06:55 PM
I think Doidge will be kept by Hibs simply because he's a different style of player to Le Fondre which gives us options off the bench.
Key West
24-07-2023, 08:19 PM
Definitely.
24-07-2023, 08:21 PM
I’d keep him. Offers a hell of a lot more than Le Fondre
xyz23jc
24-07-2023, 08:38 PM
Keep the Doidge.
Seconded...KTD# :thumbsup:
24-07-2023, 08:41 PM
Ffs.
ErinGoBraghHFC
24-07-2023, 08:41 PM
Jesus, Mary, Joseph and the wee donkey
24-07-2023, 08:44 PM
I don’t think he’ll prove to be good enough for us going forward. But if he stays and is, I’ll be very happy to be wrong.
ChuckNor
24-07-2023, 08:46 PM
Would keep. Also hoping to see Dan Mackay utilized in that role.
24-07-2023, 09:09 PM
Whom hasn’t even made his hibs competitive match debut yet
Wow
24-07-2023, 09:18 PM
We won’t do that as Currently he is our top scoring forward which in itself is s bit of a worry
24-07-2023, 09:19 PM
As a squad player but not as our no 9
We need to replace Nisbet with similar quality
24-07-2023, 09:22 PM
I accept it was only one game but the game directly before he got injured was an incredibly complete performance. It was a real tragedy for the lad that he got injured at that time.
His injury cost us too, as it was a contributing factor to us turning a strong start into one of the biggest slumps in form I’ve seen us endure.
He’s got a long way back in my eyes as he’s just not looked sharp enough to me when he’s had brief chances since the injury but peak Doidge was always a handful of a player and it would solve a massive problem for us if he could get back to or exceed that level.
Nisbet managed to change my opinion of what he had to offer, maybe Doidge can do likewise?
24-07-2023, 11:37 PM
Brilliant, keep Doidge... He's failed to get a start in any of our friendly games so far and thats after scoring 2 off the bench against Edinburgh City. What does that tell you? ALF is 10x the striker Doidge is by the way, with a proven track record of scoring goals at every level he's played at. First thing Doidge done on Friday was get caught offside. The second thing he done was direct a reasonably easy header by a strikers standard well wide of the target.
24-07-2023, 11:51 PM
He was doing the business for me in Football Manager after his Killie loan, ended the season top scorer but then Killie came sniffing wanting him permanently, I sold, even after looking at his stats and thinking you know what he’s actually pretty decent all round. Now he’s doing the business for Killie in the new season and scored 2 on his return to Easter Road in away colors.
Based on this virtual happening alone I want us to keep him and give him another shot this season!
PHeffernan
24-07-2023, 11:58 PM
Brilliant, keep Doidge... He's failed to get a start in any of our friendly games so far and thats after scoring 2 off the bench against Edinburgh City. What does that tell you? ALF is 10x the striker Doidge is by the way, with a proven track record of scoring goals at every level he's played at. First thing Doidge done on Friday was get caught offside. The second thing he done was direct a reasonably easy header by a strikers standard well wide of the target.
ALF is 36. He was a very good striker but it's possible father time may have visited him.
He's had lots of game time in our 4 friendlies but only scored 1 goal.
With far less game time, Doidge aged 30 has scored 4 goals, provided 1 assist and a fantastic step over against Bournemouth which was more than Le Fondre managed in an hour. The £300k striker could be back to £300k form.
For me the mists started to lift on Doidge in March. Up until then he looked done but whatever the issue, his achilles or long covid, i think he was finally able to move on from it in the last 4 months.
25-07-2023, 04:08 AM
So he touched the ball? Thats him doing more than ALF did first half.
ALF was 10x the striker. I think. I'm not sure he's going to offer much as a lone striker this season.
25-07-2023, 05:02 AM
FWIW I was never a fan
Started off as a big poultice then went on an amazing run after Hecky left
What I have seen so far preseason I would be inclined to keep looks sharp offers a different battering ram option upfront and if he can bring his pre covid/injury defensive qualities to the table as well as goals it is win win
We still need a high quality hit the ground running replacement for Nisbet to give us goals but if we were to sign yet another forward we might have to look at the Doidge situation again as we have Alf Melkersen and Mackay
So far Doidge has scored two and an assist versus Edinburgh City and two in a bounce game versus Groningen not forgetting that brilliant step over versus Brentford
I will put my faith in LJ and his team and go with whatever they decide
25-07-2023, 10:30 AM
Hahaha you're quick to judge 😅
We need 1 more striker that offers a pacier outlet, whether we keep Doidge or not.
I'd be absolutely fine with him staying on
25-07-2023, 06:20 PM
If we're not going to play with a 10 and our creativity comes from wide, Doidge is a great option.
If we're playing with a Scott Allan type, we'll not get much change out of him.
25-07-2023, 06:36 PM
FWIW I was never a fan
What I have seen so far preseason I would be inclined to keep looks sharp offers a different battering ram option upfront and if he can bring his pre covid/injury defensive qualities to the table as well as goals it is win win
We still need a high quality hit the ground running replacement for Nisbet to give us goals but if we were to sign yet another forward we might have to look at the Doidge situation again as we have Alf Melkersen and Mackay
So far Doidge has scored two and an assist versus Edinburgh City and two in a bounce game versus Groningen not forgetting that brilliant step over versus Brentford
25-07-2023, 07:14 PM
FWIW I was never a fan
Goals against Edinburgh City and Groningen U20s is fine but he needs to be doing it against teams at our level and he hasn’t shown any form at our level for about 2 and half years. He scored a hat-trick against Clyde last summer and many folk were proclaiming him back to his best but as soon as he came up against any decent opposition he looked well off it. The club have been trying to move him on for over a year now, that tells me they are desperate to utilise his wages elsewhere rather than keep him around as a 3rd choice striker.
25-07-2023, 07:18 PM
Gary Madine is out of contract at Blackpool. Would be an upgrade on CD
PHeffernan
26-07-2023, 12:37 AM
Gary Madine is out of contract at Blackpool. Would be an upgrade on CD
Madine is 33 in 4 weeks and we already have old man ALF.
Madine scored only 4 goals in 27 games last season.
On the upside he appears to have stopped battering people and being sent to jail.
26-07-2023, 07:19 AM
FWIW I was never a fan
I genuinely think the step over alone makes him worthy of a chance in the first team.
Was like something out of a coaching video.
Wow
Agreed. People need to stop judging pre season games. They are a training session and not like the real game when played.
26-07-2023, 07:39 AM
26-07-2023, 12:34 PM
Wow
Aye. Cos that's the only time i've seen him:hilarious
26-07-2023, 12:37 PM
Hahaha you're quick to judge 😅
We need 1 more striker that offers a pacier outlet, whether we keep Doidge or not.
I'd be absolutely fine with him staying on
I'm not quick to judge. I've watched him for over a decade. Great first 3 years in Oz there but the last 2 years for Syndey, he's been massively on the slide.
26-07-2023, 01:04 PM
Give him a chance to prove himself this season good player to have in the squad, sometimes you need guys who can make an impact from the bench. There were people on here that were annoyed that Wales did not pick him for their international squad.
26-07-2023, 01:18 PM
If he can get back to his pre injury form, then he's a player who contributes a lot and would be a candidate for the number 9 position. Can hold up play, scores goals, unselfish player, defends well at set pieces too. It may have taken him some time to get over his injury and COVID, as it was a serious enough injury then it's fair to assume that it may have been the case to some degree.
I like him a lot, and a fit, on form Christian Doidge is one of the best old fashioned number nines outside the two arsecheeks.
I think until we get better it’s likely we will keep him. I would have still kept him as think he gives a different option
Given his ‘9’ squad number was taken off him I’d imagine the plan is to offload him
26-07-2023, 09:12 PM
Aye. Cos that's the only time i've seen him:hilarious
Martin Boyle played for Montrose and Dundee look how that turned out
27-07-2023, 08:23 AM
Martin Boyle played for Montrose and Dundee look how that turned out
Probably the worst comparison I've ever seen.
Martin Boyle was pretty much a youth player with his whole career in front of him. Le Fondre was in his pomp a decade ago.
27-07-2023, 08:57 AM
If he can get back to his pre injury form, then he's a player who contributes a lot and would be a candidate for the number 9 position. Can hold up play, scores goals, unselfish player, defends well at set pieces too. It may have taken him some time to get over his injury and COVID, as it was a serious enough injury then it's fair to assume that it may have been the case to some degree.
I like him a lot, and a fit, on form Christian Doidge is one of the best old fashioned number nines outside the two arsecheeks.
I'd like to keep him, but i dont see him as first choice. Can we afford another player like Myko with Doidge and ALF at the club?
If he's as fit as he was pre injury, and knocking some goals in and generally playing well, it's a no brainer, but i have my doubts he can reach that form again.
Paloschi
27-07-2023, 08:58 AM
Unleash Doidge tonight!! :agree:
27-07-2023, 08:59 AM
I'd replace him.
We're meant to be trying to improve our squad. We can't do that by sticking with the same players we've had before!
supermcginn
27-07-2023, 05:17 PM
I'd replace him.
We're meant to be trying to improve our squad. We can't do that by sticking with the same players we've had before!
100 percent. Too many players still around that are well past it. He hasn't scored a league goal for us for two years for a reason! He was awful when he came on.
27-07-2023, 05:18 PM
If FIFA come out with a new rule that all goals should be shifted 8 yards to the left we would be laughing.
27-07-2023, 05:20 PM
Doidge is the best striker on our books.
Admittedly, that speaks more to our issues up front than it does to his ability, but it’s where we’re at.
27-07-2023, 05:21 PM
I'd like to keep him, but i dont see him as first choice. Can we afford another player like Myko with Doidge and ALF at the club?
If he's as fit as he was pre injury, and knocking some goals in and generally playing well, it's a no brainer, but i have my doubts he can reach that form again.
You are a slaver, the guy is pish, and he replaced another pish player.
ALF also looked pish, well past it by that performance.
HFC93
27-07-2023, 05:22 PM
He was awful but was a lot better than Melkersonn and ALF. I'd probably start him in the return leg because we haven't got anyone else.
27-07-2023, 05:22 PM
You are a slaver, the guy is pish, and he replaced another pish player.
ALF also looked pish, well past it by that performance.
Stop picking on BH. He’s a decent poster and talks more sense than you.
147lothian
29-07-2023, 09:11 AM
Considering they are going to pack their box to try to defend their lead in the second leg, Christian Doidge is the best option we have, admittedly that's not saying a lot about our options but this is where we are at the moment.
29-07-2023, 10:45 AM
The big man is a pro and will get on with the job but it must be difficult knowing the manager wants rid of you.
I'd agree with those saying he's the best centre forward option we currently have (and agree with those saying it's not much of a competition), unless we stick Youan through the middle, but that option might not work against a defensive, 'low block'.
If MacKay is in the same 'no future' boat as Doidge and Boyle isn't ready, then we certainly can't go 4-3-3 again.
I don't want to see ALF puffing about on his own but wouldn't be hugely surprised if that's what we get.
I'm not quick to judge. I've watched him for over a decade. Great first 3 years in Oz there but the last 2 years for Syndey, he's been massively on the slide.
21-23, 53 games and 24 goals isn't too shabby.
Paul1642
29-07-2023, 11:03 AM
Stop picking on BH. He’s a decent poster and talks more sense than you.