View Full Version : Foreign players you liked at Hibs

Donegal Hibby
21-07-2023, 12:40 PM
Being Irish I'm going to kick -off with a few of Irish lads .
Conrad Logan loved the big man and what a performance from him in the semi final , must be up there with one of the best performances of a Hibs goalie I seen .

Anthony Stokes was unbelievable in the cup final and ran tavernier ragged. Probably the best performance I've seen from a Hibs striker in a cup final ever .

Ivan Sproule , what a player ! Think we paid something like 5 grand for him which must be one of the best deals we've ever done . Hattrick at Ibrox was something else and just summed up the quality and how really good Ivan was .

Interested to hear foreign players that you liked at Hibs . Any of the older Hibs fans remember some of the early foreign players we signed ?

Silky
21-07-2023, 12:44 PM
Conrad Logan loved the big man and what a performance from him in the semi final , must be up there with one of the best performances of a Hibs goalie I seen .

Anthony Stokes was unbelievable in the cup final and ran tavernier ragged. Probably the best performance I've seen from a Hibs striker in a cup final ever .

Ivan Sproule , what a player ! Think we paid something like 5 grand for him which must be one of the best deals we've ever done . Hattrick at Ibrox was something else and just summed up the quality and how really good Ivan was .

Interested to hear foreign players that you liked at Hibs . Any of the older Hibs fans remember some of the early foreign players we signed ?

I think for me it has to be Sauzee, Latapy, Mixu. Loved the guys you mentioned as well, but these guys for me were favourites.

21-07-2023, 12:47 PM

Issac Refvik and Sven Mathieson ( sorry about spelling ) were both quite exotic signings for us back in the day when it was quite unusual to have foreign players :agree:

Quite liked that Sauzee lad and the lad Best looked like he could have been quite good in his day.

And of course the Polar Bear ..... Has any player anywhere achieved legendary status at a club he only played about 10 games for

McSwanky
21-07-2023, 01:14 PM
All of those above, but got to give a shout out for Ulrik Laursen as well, a classy player.

Trinity Hibee
21-07-2023, 01:17 PM
De La Cruz. Was excited when we got him and watched Ecuador’s copa America games that summer he joined. Did okay overall but not sure we really got the best of him.

https://youtu.be/DdJOEkE6520

21-07-2023, 01:17 PM
Sauzee Latapy Boozy and Zitelli

DownInAlbion
21-07-2023, 01:23 PM
Honorable mention for Dominique Malonga for the best goal against Aberdeen I’ve seen in my time….. do do do

21-07-2023, 01:28 PM
Humphrey Rudge, purely for the name

21-07-2023, 01:32 PM
Benji and Zemmama as well as those quoted above

21-07-2023, 01:48 PM
The Baker Boys!
The late and great Hibernian brothers,Joe and Gerry Baker .
:not worth:not worth

Lets sign another Baker Boy.
Born in England, Gerry's grandson,St.Mirren's Ryan Strain.

Donegal Hibby
21-07-2023, 01:49 PM
Issac Refvik and Sven Mathieson ( sorry about spelling ) were both quite exotic signings for us back in the day when it was quite unusual to have foreign players :agree:

Quite liked that Sauzee lad and the lad Best looked like he could have been quite good in his day.

And of course the Polar Bear ..... Has any player anywhere achieved legendary status at a club he only played about 10 games for
I will have to do a bit of checking up on them two . Thanks though :aok: . I would doubt there's many if any that's achieved legendary status as quick as the polar bear did tbh . I still remember now seeing him before the game started and filled with shock thinking "FFS Stubbs what are you doing here . How wrong was I though :greengrin

ErinGoBraghHFC
21-07-2023, 01:49 PM
Malonga, Shiels, Murphy, Irvine

21-07-2023, 01:52 PM
My favourite non-Scottish player has to be Mixu, based on a combination of his football skills and personality.

Even though he was in the latter stages of his career, Sauzee would also deserve a mention, as he;s probably the most talented player I've seen in a Hibs jersey (keeping in mind I also saw George Best at ER).

Donegal Hibby
21-07-2023, 02:03 PM
The Baker Boys!

Funnily enough Mick I've been reading stuff on the legendary Joe Baker just before you mentioned him and Gerry . What a player :not worth . Left Hibs because we would not pay him a extra five bob I read ☹️.
https://arsenalarsenal.net/tag/joe-baker/

EGL2000
21-07-2023, 02:07 PM
zemmama hands down for me. Still one of my favourite players to this day.

21-07-2023, 02:08 PM
I will have to do a bit of checking up on them two . Thanks though :aok: . I would doubt there's many if any that's achieved legendary status as quick as the polar bear did tbh . I still remember now seeing him before the game started and filled with shock thinking "FFS Stubbs what are you doing here . How wrong was I though :greengrin

DH
This article from The Scotsman will give you an insight on the Two Vikings, Isaac and Sven Saga.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/nostalgia/mathisen-and-refvik-the-first-norwegians-to-play-for-hibs-3269118

It was a real shame the work permit was denied for Isaac.
We all thought the ruling was petty at the time as the establishment wouldn't budge on our appeals for a permit.
And he had to leave after a few weeks playing for us as an amateur.
Sven left too>

Get yer big pal Conrad to come up and give us a wave from the centre circle one day.
Possibly a game against D.United or der hun:greengrin

EGL2000
21-07-2023, 02:09 PM
Honorable mention for Dominique Malonga for the best goal against Aberdeen I’ve seen in my time….. do do do

I still watch his highlight reels fairly regularly, scored some ridiculous goals.

21-07-2023, 02:21 PM
Funnily enough Mick I've been reading stuff on the legendary Joe Baker just before you mentioned him and Gerry . What a player :not worth . Left Hibs because we would not pay him a extra five bob I read ☹️.

My favourite story is Hearts flying high at the top of the league drew Hibs in the third round of the Scottish Cup at Tiny and were super confident as they were undefeated at home

They reckoned without 17 year old Joe Baker who scored all four of Hibs’ goals in a 4-3 win

I remember my old boy telling me he had everything for a centre forward pace power left foot right foot header no bother

21-07-2023, 02:26 PM

Haven’t heard much about these guys… could they play? :wink:

21-07-2023, 02:29 PM

Aye
Story goes it was Tommy Preston and some other players who urged Joe to go see the boss to ask for a raise,and rightly so with Joe's goal scoring record he just made.
A record still standing
Alas Hibs put him up for sale.Torino beacame a short lived near tragedy.
Joe it seems was loved at every club he played for.
I ,with my brother Jimmy and other former Hibs players,attended Joe's funeral at St Patricks in Wishaw and the amount of past players from many clubs (particularly Celtic i noticed)who were there was incredible.
Such respect for Joe,who was a wonderful man.
My brother said one of the highlights of his career was to play as a strike partner to Joe with the Hibs (Joes second spell)
We all would have loved to do that /

21-07-2023, 02:43 PM
Matty Jack.
Jimmy Boco.
Paco Luna.

zitelli62
21-07-2023, 03:28 PM
The one and only Mr zitelli the overhead kick at dens Park lives long in the memory so much so my son was born 2 months later and he is called David I can assure everyone it was no coincidence.

21-07-2023, 03:31 PM

Isaac Refvik.

21-07-2023, 03:32 PM
Issac Refvik and Sven Mathieson ( sorry about spelling ) were both quite exotic signings for us back in the day when it was quite unusual to have foreign players

Beat me to it 😊

21-07-2023, 03:34 PM
I thought Paul Fenwick was massively underrated.

inglisavhibs
21-07-2023, 03:38 PM

John Madsen wasn't too shabby

Hillsidehibby
21-07-2023, 03:39 PM
Anthony Stokes. Man crush 💚

HFC93
21-07-2023, 03:42 PM
Momodou Bojang

21-07-2023, 03:43 PM
I still (And always will) have a soft spot for Paco Luna.

21-07-2023, 03:49 PM
Trying to avoid the obvious names.

Budgie.

21-07-2023, 03:52 PM
I was 12 years old when we signed Latapy and Sauzee, maybe a bit young to really appreciate how good they were.

EVENTUALLY
21-07-2023, 04:01 PM
John Madsen wasn't too shabby

Was made out of granite. He could head the ball as far as he could kick it.

21-07-2023, 04:12 PM
I was 12 years old when we signed Latapy and Sauzee, maybe a bit young to really appreciate how good they were.

Very much so, just be happy that you witnessed them.

21-07-2023, 04:15 PM
Just remembered the radge that was Bobby Thomson, Justin Skinner another one to add to the underrated list.

Frogga
21-07-2023, 04:27 PM
Ulrik Laursen.

Bamba - at his peak.

Gottskalksson - just for the fact that he was my first ever autograph, back in the days when the bottom of the Famous 5 was raised above the pitch and I remember him having to reach up to deliver said signature.

21-07-2023, 04:31 PM
Efe Ambrose was exceptional for us. Best central defender I've seen at Hibs.

21-07-2023, 04:45 PM
Matty Jack and Gareth Evans, not sure many players tried harder in a Hibs strip.

The Porn Star for just being that really. 😳

He's here!
21-07-2023, 04:58 PM
My dad said Johnn Madsen was a decent player.

The adpoted Aussies Lovell, Cummings and Boyle have all been good for us. Or was Lovell actually a born and bred Aussie?

21-07-2023, 05:01 PM
Just remembered the radge that was Bobby Thomson, Justin Skinner another one to add to the underrated list.

Bobby Thomson was Scottish was he not

Donegal Hibby
21-07-2023, 05:19 PM
Thanks Mick and Billy :thumbsup:.
Another player I liked and was sorry when he left was David Murphy. Think we got a decent fee for him at the time . Quality player imo . Loved his goal against the Huns too :greengrin . Think it put us top of the league.

https://youtu.be/XILiV7sbSWQ

21-07-2023, 05:41 PM
Bobby Thomson was Scottish was he not

I always thought he was from NE England, turns out he was born in the weej.

21-07-2023, 05:47 PM
Matty Jack and Gareth Evans, not sure many players tried harder in a Hibs strip.

The Porn Star for just being that really. 😳

Loved Gareth Evans , Can still remember his heider on his debut v Dundee ..God that must have been about 35 years ago ! Wow.. Still at Hibs to this day , Brilliant

21-07-2023, 05:49 PM
Thanks Mick and Billy :thumbsup:.
Another player I liked and was sorry when he left was David Murphy. Think we got a decent fee for him at the time . Quality player imo . Loved his goal against the Huns too :greengrin . Think it put us top of the league.

https://youtu.be/XILiV7sbSWQ

Just a wee article on the "Joe scores four"!game Billy brought up. 41.000 plus there.
Not counting the main stand "double ups" or "lift overs" !!:greengrin
Hearts were very good around that time.
https://theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2018/03/sixty-years-ago-today-17-year-old-joe-baker-scored-four-at-tynecastle
On his return he stll enjoyed beating them.
Celebrating Arhur Duncan's goal against Hertz in 1971
https://www.facebook.com/HibernianRetro/posts/joe-baker-celebrating-after-arthur-duncan-scores-against-hearts/4108659072582890/
Scottish Cup tie . Won 2-1. John Hazel got the other goal.

Oh !! i found some clips on Hibs Retro :greengrin:aok:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lSp0QyDrbrA
This clip has funny commentary.
Jimmy O' is number 8 .brings down the Jambo that led to their goal.
The Hertz scorer.Kevin Hegarty was a year or two above me at secondary school
Turncoat !
His wee brother ,Paul was in my brothers year.
And then, Arthurs wonder goal! And Joe B running to him .
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RxEslT5j8NU

21-07-2023, 06:00 PM
Loved Gareth Evans , Can still remember his heider on his debut v Dundee ..God that must have been about 35 years ago ! Wow.. Still at Hibs to this day , Brilliant

My mum and dad were at a function in Balerno that he turned up and got me his autograph that night. 😊

21-07-2023, 06:01 PM
My mum and dad were at a function in Balerno that he turned up and got me his autograph. 😊

As in recent or way back then ? :greengrin

21-07-2023, 06:02 PM
As in recent or way back then ? :greengrin

That very night.

21-07-2023, 06:05 PM

Edge of the 6 yard box into the middle of the goals IIRC.

21-07-2023, 06:07 PM
That very night.

Aw superb mate :aok:

21-07-2023, 06:08 PM
Edge of the 6 yard box into the middle of the goals IIRC.

Came on as a sub tae

21-07-2023, 06:13 PM
Lilian Martin - I thought he was excellent

hhibs
21-07-2023, 08:14 PM
The Baker Boys!

21-07-2023, 08:28 PM

Being English Joe Baker (to be fair didnt see him in the flesh)
On tbe theme of English I grew up in Blackpool marvelling at a very good keeper doing handstands on the 18 yard box as part of his warm who then went on to win silverware with the Mighty Hibs. Yes the one and certainly only John Burridge.

21-07-2023, 08:39 PM

Skinner, along with a few others couldn't make the step up to the Prem after a decent season in the first division. Mind a cup defeat away to Clyde was the end for Skinner along with Marinkov and another 1 or two.

From that era I'll throw in Barry Prenderville (what a goal!), Janos Matyus, Peter Guggi, Marc Libbra and a certain Fabrice Henry.

21-07-2023, 08:40 PM
Efe Ambrose was exceptional for us. Best central defender I've seen at Hibs.

I liked Efe too. But you must be younger than I thought if you didn’t see Sauzee play at the back for us.

Off the top of my head, I’d definitely have to put Big Rob Jones above Efe too based on how effective he was and what he did in his time here.

So many ‘foreign’ players I’ve liked to choose from. Latapy was always the favourite though.

21-07-2023, 08:42 PM

The adpoted Aussies Lovell, Cummings and Boyle have all been good for us. Or was Lovell actually a born and bred Aussie?

Lovell was English but his maw or granny was born in Oz. Fuzzy memories of Lovell the striker when we were in Div 1, huge kudos to him to then become a right wing back before a centre mid at Livi.

HibeeSince85
21-07-2023, 09:38 PM
Marciano
De La Cruz
Sauzee
Ambrose
Laursen
Boozy
Latapy
Zemmama
Benji
Mixu
Zitelli

Andersson, Fenwick, Bamba, Jack, Lovell, Maclaren, Malonga

Probably missed someone but in my time, they're the favourites.

21-07-2023, 09:47 PM
Marc Libbra was a class act

Stokesy's on fire
21-07-2023, 10:09 PM
Benji
Zitelli
Sauzee
Latapy
Boozy

21-07-2023, 10:09 PM
I liked Efe too. But you must be younger than I thought if you didn’t see Sauzee play at the back for us.

Off the top of my head, I’d definitely have to put Big Rob Jones above Efe too based on how effective he was and what he did in his time here.

So many ‘foreign’ players I’ve liked to choose from. Latapy was always the favourite though.

I'm 27, so I was very young when Sauzee played for us, although I did see him.

Efe was easily better than Jones imo. Much better footballer, although Jones scored some extremely important goals for us.

21-07-2023, 10:12 PM
Lovell was English but his maw or granny was born in Oz. Fuzzy memories of Lovell the striker when we were in Div 1, huge kudos to him to then become a right wing back before a centre mid at Livi.

Lovell was born in Australia.

21-07-2023, 10:19 PM
Dirk. Loved the lug tape, gowf and being wrecked in Eros and Elite.

Hillsidehibby
21-07-2023, 10:37 PM

Adopted Aussies? I bet Cummings and Boyle never knew about Australia until the internet

ErinGoBraghHFC
21-07-2023, 10:45 PM
Adopted Aussies? I bet Cummings and Boyle never knew about Australia until the internet

Australia doesn’t exist, it’s a hoax like highland cows, covid and Stevie Wonder being “blind”

Silky
21-07-2023, 10:49 PM
I thought Paul Fenwick was massively underrated.

He was! Folk talk about that team a lot and Fenwick flies under the radar. Excellent centre half for us.

He's here!
21-07-2023, 10:54 PM
Marciano
De La Cruz
Sauzee
Ambrose
Laursen
Boozy
Latapy
Zemmama
Benji
Mixu
Zitelli

Andersson, Fenwick, Bamba, Jack, Lovell, Maclaren, Malonga

Probably missed someone but in my time, they're the favourites.

Freddie Arpinon was one I liked and reckoned he was a bit underrated. I think if he'd arrived a couple of years earlier he'd have fitted well into Mcleish's squad.

21-07-2023, 11:40 PM
He was! Folk talk about that team a lot and Fenwick flies under the radar. Excellent centre half for us.

My son (around 19 then) worked for the removal company that moved him back to Canada. They got talking and when my son told him he was a Hibby and had watched him quite a few times, he went away to one of his suitcases and gave him a full Hibs training set, tracky bottoms and sweat shirt. He still has them and I wish they fitted me. As you say a much underated player.

22-07-2023, 05:14 AM

Lovell was born in Sydney to be more exact.

Think someone may be confusing him with Joe Keenan who Mixu inexplicably signed after Keenan had been discarded by Newcastle Jets.

Trinity Hibee
22-07-2023, 06:33 AM
Tony rougier was another I had high hopes for. Built like a tank but again didn’t deliver.

Didier agathe was superb in his short stint. Started 00-01 on fire.

22-07-2023, 06:44 AM
Tony rougier was another I had high hopes for. Built like a tank but again didn’t deliver.

Didier agathe was superb in his short stint. Started 00-01 on fire.

Saw Rougier play for Brentford a couple of times, the Brentford fans loved him. Think he only lasted a season there though.

Bridge hibs
22-07-2023, 08:30 AM
Skinner, along with a few others couldn't make the step up to the Prem after a decent season in the first division. Mind a cup defeat away to Clyde was the end for Skinner along with Marinkov and another 1 or two.

From that era I'll throw in Barry Prenderville (what a goal!), Janos Matyus, Peter Guggi, Marc Libbra and a certain Fabrice Henry.Didnt Marinkov decide to chuck hibs and football to return home and run his family business ? Or my memory could be shot

22-07-2023, 08:48 AM
Always thought Denes Rosa looked a player but think he only got about 10 games all in with us.

22-07-2023, 01:33 PM
John Parke, superb left back, a couple of years later it would be John Madsen that I liked, would play on the frost and snow in old style baseball boots, hard as.

22-07-2023, 10:36 PM

So he was. Moved away young then.

Donegal Hibby
22-07-2023, 11:18 PM
I really liked Matty Jack when he was at Hibs . Surprised no one mentioned him .

22-07-2023, 11:35 PM
John Parke, superb left back, a couple of years later it would be John Madsen that I liked, would play on the frost and snow in old style baseball boots, hard as.

Super player Parke.

Looking back, he played less games for us than I thought he did…..certainly left an impression.

22-07-2023, 11:35 PM
I really liked Matty Jack when he was at Hibs . Surprised no one mentioned him .

???
Been mentioned at least 3 times already in the thread lol 😆

Donegal Hibby
22-07-2023, 11:40 PM
???
Been mentioned at least 3 times already in the thread lol 😆
Must have somehow missed that 😂. Good player though 👍

ErinGoBraghHFC
22-07-2023, 11:52 PM
Genuine question here, never got a straight answer from the old man when I asked him. Was Jimmy Boco actually any good or is it all just a big inside joke?

22-07-2023, 11:59 PM
Yannick Zambernardi had a great left peg

23-07-2023, 02:08 AM
John Madsen

Showing my age now

23-07-2023, 02:45 AM
Yannick Zambernardi had a great left pegAnd a phenomenal name.

Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk

Big90inOz
23-07-2023, 04:35 AM
Budgie, good keeper and a nutter 🤣 legend for his comment to Hateley in the tunnel at Hampden
Latapy, what a player, didn't matter how many players were around him he still wanted the ball.
Sauzee, he got Hibs, I was devastated it didn't work out as manager
Murphy, fantastic full back with a sublime touch
Matty Jack, an absolute rock in the middle who never took a step back

23-07-2023, 07:43 AM
Paco Luna
Amadou Konte
Grzegorz Szamotulski

23-07-2023, 07:59 AM
If Paco Luna had scored that last minute header against AEK to complete his hat-trick and knock the arrogant Greeks out of the competition he would be a club legend Sir Paco and not almost forgotten about on these threads

Amazing aerial ability for one so small

Paulie Walnuts
23-07-2023, 08:34 AM
Freddy Arpinon

Efe Ambrose. I remember being delighted when we signed him. Plenty folk were horrified. He was a wonderful player.

HibeeSince85
23-07-2023, 08:39 AM
If Paco Luna had scored that last minute header against AEK to complete his hat-trick and knock the arrogant Greeks out of the competition he would be a club legend Sir Paco and not almost forgotten about on these threads

Amazing aerial ability for one so small

I knew I forgot about someone on my list, I loved Luna! Great ability and you're right, unreal in the air. I remember being at an almond suite POTY event where he won the top award but made a joke about receiving almost the same amount of yellow cards as he'd scored goals. Good character.

23-07-2023, 11:48 AM
Yannick Zambernardi had a great left peg

He absolutely choked in the 4-4 game against Hearts, was all over the place in those last few crazy minutes. Unfortunately he will be remembered more for that than anything he done in his time at ER.