View Full Version : Blackpool FC fined for sectarian behaviour by their fans

madhibby
20-07-2023, 07:16 PM
See below my link to the judgment, does "strict liability" only apply in England and not in Scotland - or has this nothing to do with strict liability

Obviously has implications for Rangers and their fans conduct!

20-07-2023, 07:19 PM
See below my link to the judgment, does "strict liability" only apply in England and not in Scotland - or has this nothing to do with strict liability

Obviously has implications for Rangers and their fans conduct!

It's an FA judgement, not a Court one. So it only applies to clubs under their jurisdiction.

We don't have strict liability in Scotland.

20-07-2023, 07:35 PM
Madhibby
Cheers for that ,I have linked the Irish Mirror story on it.
Derry man and Wigan player James McClean came in for sustained sectarian abuse at Blackpool game.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/blackpool-fined-efl-sectarian-chants-30515973

Now as mentioned on the Blackpool Friendly thread, Blackpool has more than a few resident Huns.
That is Scots who moved down there.
I have no doubt Blackpool branch of the zombies went to this game to verbally attack James .
James is the Irish player who made the news some time back for refusing to wear a poppy on his strip.
Maybe Blackpool or Lancs Hibs can tell us if the local Blackpool support are like this, or do they think Huns infiltrated this game just to abuse McClean and its a "one off"

Strange,the top man in the OO (or was) in Scotland has the same two names as James!!

madhibby
20-07-2023, 07:39 PM
Madhibby
Cheers for that ,I have linked the Irish Mirror story on it
Derry man and Wigan player James McClean came in for sustained sectarian abuse at Blackpool game.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/blackpool-fined-efl-sectarian-chants-30515973

Now as mentioned on the Blackpool Friendly thread, Blackpool has more than a few resident Huns.
I have no doubt Blackpool branch of the zombies went to this game to verbally attack James .
Maybe Blackpool or Lancs Hibs can tell us if the local Blackpool support are like this, or do they think Huns infiltrated this game just to abuse McClean and its a "one off"

Strange, the top man in the OO in Scotland has the same name as James!!

The disappointing issue is why do the SFA in Scotland not take a similar approach to that of the FA in England? Maybe Nil by Mouth in Scotland should be approached for their view on the matter?

20-07-2023, 07:41 PM
The disappointing issue is why do the SFA in Scotland not take a similar approach to that of the FA in England? Maybe Nil by Mouth in Scotland should be approached for their view on the matter?

It would have to be voted for by the clubs. So far, the clubs haven't shown any appetite for it.

20-07-2023, 07:45 PM
Madhibby

James is the Irish player who made the news some time back for refusing to wear a poppy on his strip.

Strange,the top man in the OO (or was) in Scotland has the same two names as James!!

The Blackpool fans are not sectarian Mick, it wouldnt surprise me if a local hun went to the match to have a pop at McLean.

20-07-2023, 07:46 PM
Madhibby

A bit harsh to blame Huns for infiltration, he's been getting sustained abuse all over England for years.

20-07-2023, 07:49 PM
The Blackpool fans are not sectarian Mick, it wouldnt surprise me if a local hun went to the match to have a pop at McLean.

"A large section of the home crowd engaged in a further, “prolonged” sectarian chant, the written reasons stated."

20-07-2023, 07:52 PM

BH
My initial thoughts as soon as i read Madhibby's link

Although ,its many years since i stayed in Blackpoo,l i always remembered the ex pat hun element then.
I tended to,if i could,avoid them in pubs.
Although i got pally wae a couple of Coatbridge Celtic boys who drank in a pub near the Catholic club :greengrin
Forgot its name.
Their uncle stayed in Clermiston near me and drank in ma faithers local.
Small world,we said at the time !!

20-07-2023, 07:55 PM
"A large section of the home crowd engaged in a further, “prolonged” sectarian chant, the written reasons stated."

I found that strange to be honest, although there has been a systematic abuse of McLean over the years from most clubs McLean plays against, but it does not happen against other Irish players for some reason?

20-07-2023, 08:04 PM
A bit harsh to blame Huns for infiltration, he's been getting sustained abuse all over England for years.

Its never harsh to blame that bigoted mob for their behaviour. Never !
Unfortunately for Blackpool FC, the town has many west of Scotland hun residents.
And they would have attended the game for one thing .Abuse McClean.

Yes the fascists and bigots in England have gave him abuse for years.
Sad,isnt it.getting abused like that at your work? I know the feeling.

20-07-2023, 08:17 PM

i detested that sectarian bigot...as did one of my late uncles, Shrubhill

20-07-2023, 08:29 PM
i detested that sectarian bigot...as did one of my late uncles, Shrubhill

The very same man.He knew me.
I go back to his Cormack PAS No Popery mob, at Speakers Corner on a Sunday.
He was always there with the other bigots.
We use to heckle the speakers.
I was a teenager then !Went up there after Mass !:greengrin
A few Irish navvies would sometimes turn up after an early session in The Buffs at the back o Woolies!
Fun and games !

20-07-2023, 08:43 PM
I found that strange to be honest, although there has been a systematic abuse of McLean over the years from most clubs McLean plays against, but it does not happen against other Irish players for some reason?

It is because they see him as an "IRA sympathiser"after his refusal and reasons for not wearing a poppy.
He is from Derry. Am not surprised.
The English media gave that the megaphone treatment and the red tops hammered him, which made it all worse.
And this is a result of that irresponsibility.

20-07-2023, 08:53 PM
Madhibby

I was at that game, the FTP chanting directed at MCLean was quite audible from a sizeable group in the North Stand, where the ‘ultras’ sit. No doubt started by a couple of huns and I think others joined in not really knowing what or why they were chanting about the Pope! Not something I have ever heard at Bloomfield Road before. It was however quite loud and very cringeworthy.
To be fair McLean was being a bellend and winding up the fans and then stated to show some tattoo he has on his thigh, I believe it’s a ‘Free Derry’ tat or something of that nature, he was far from blameless in the whole incident but still did not deserve to have sectarian abuse.
Certainly not a common thing at Blackpool, hopefully never hear it there again.

20-07-2023, 09:00 PM
Oh FFS !!!

If there was one thing English fitba could hold it's head up on it was an almost if not complete absence of a sectarian element .... WTF do the Blackpool fans involved in this think they were doing ... I get that James McLean has a history following him ... but FTP, Fenian bassa ... f'ing really !!!

Jeezo ... if that pish spreads in England they wont even have a good reason to keep the Uglies out of the EFL /EPL :greengrin

20-07-2023, 09:22 PM
Oh FFS !!!

If there was one thing English fitba could hold it's head up on it was an almost if not complete absence of a sectarian element .... WTF do the Blackpool fans involved in this think they were doing ... I get that James McLean has a history following him ... but FTP, Fenian bassa ... f'ing really !!!

Jeezo ... if that pish spreads in England they wont even have a good reason to keep the Uglies out of the EFL /EPL :greengrin

Almost would be about right there,NN.
Although the Tommy Robinson mob would engage in sectarian,anti Irish/Catholic stuff at rallies and football grounds in the past and some football teams have an element who are aligned with the Govan mob.
Our former striker might meet a few down Bermondsey way !
The barmy army following England abroad ,when they are not getting beaten up by Russian Fascists,do indulge in a bit of FTP and anti Irish/IRA chants,in between singing about German bombers.
So the zombies would fit in well!:greengrin

20-07-2023, 09:34 PM
Almost would be about right there,NN.
Although the Tommy Robinson mob would engage in sectarian,anti Irish/Catholic stuff at rallies and football grounds in the past and some football teams have an element who are aligned with the Govan mob.
Our former striker might meet a few down Bermondsey way !
The barmy army following England abroad ,when they are not getting beaten up by Russian Fascists,do indulge in a bit of FTP and anti Irish/IRA chants,in between singing about German bombers.
So the zombies would fit in well!:greengrin

Yeh, I was aware of some of that around the national team, but it's pretty rare in club fitba the odd zoomer notwithstanding ... this sounded like a fair chunk of Blackpool fans joined in, which is ever so slightly depressing ... especially with us due to play them in a few days time.

Sauerkraut
21-07-2023, 12:16 PM
Wolves were recently fined £100k by the FA for widespread homophobic chanting in a match v Chelsea. Sounds like strict liability to me. Meanwhile we are expected to suffer vile sectarian abuse when our clarty cousins from the west visit. Nothing to see here.

The Scottish Government should be cracking down on the SFA's failure to act on this national embarrassment but breath not held.

21-07-2023, 12:28 PM
What colours do Blackpool play in?

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

21-07-2023, 12:30 PM
What colours do Blackpool play in?

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Tangerine, dont call it orange in front of a blackpool fan, they get the right hump. :faf:

21-07-2023, 01:42 PM

Nil by Mouth are a failure, too keen to accept false equivalence to try and get Huns onside rather than tackling the issue head on. Someone else needs to give this a go because they won’t.

21-07-2023, 01:46 PM
Nil by Mouth are a failure, too keen to accept false equivalence to try and get Huns onside rather than tackling the issue head on. Someone else needs to give this a go because they won’t.

Sadly, they went along with some of the deflection nonsense spouted by fans of (The) Rangers

21-07-2023, 02:25 PM
Oh FFS !!!

It exists in England and always has done. It’s normally kept away from the football as clubs didn’t divide along sectarian lines (few supporters would be able to tell you whether Liverpool or Everton were traditionally seen as the ‘Catholic’ club, for example). But bigotry is present and correct.

21-07-2023, 02:40 PM
It exists in England and always has done. It’s normally kept away from the football as clubs didn’t divide along sectarian lines (few supporters would be able to tell you whether Liverpool or Everton were traditionally seen as the ‘Catholic’ club, for example). But bigotry is present and correct.

Absolutely correct.
Every club in England has large Loyalist elements, without a club clearly identified as 'Irish' there has been no reason for this to become part of any specific club's identify in the way it has for the Huns.

Green Reaper
21-07-2023, 02:43 PM

Sadly, they went along with some of the deflection nonsense spouted by fans of (The) Rangers

Sure it was them that said the term 'hun' was sectarian

21-07-2023, 02:51 PM

I believe Everton were once the 'Catholic' club and Liverpool the 'Protestant', but I don't think it was anything like "The Gruesome Twosome".

In the 80's, Celtc's Casuals wore half-and-half Celtc and Everton hats... which confused the hell out of most people (having blue on a Celtc hat)

Sure it was them that said the term 'hun' was sectarian

Yeah, it was a proposal from some Rangers Fans and they officially adopted it as being 'sectarian'

21-07-2023, 02:56 PM
English football fans are bigots. The anti German stuff is crinigey, their German Bomber song is horrendous and the No Surrender stuff could certainly be viewed as sectarian IMHO.

21-07-2023, 03:04 PM

Yes, welcome to Scotland. Even an anti sectarian group will be accused of being sectarian if it’s in any way effective

21-07-2023, 03:12 PM

Whilst West Ham are obviously no saints, I think the most sectarian stuff I've ever heard (in England) was in a pub at the away end at The Etihad after a City v Hammers game, Man City and Hun flags festooned the walls of the pub, no idea what it was called though.

Torto7
21-07-2023, 03:18 PM
The Huns would go bankrupt if fined for sectarianism. The truth is the authorities are too scared to do anything as they receive death threats etc.

21-07-2023, 03:20 PM
The Huns would go bankrupt if fined for sectarianism. The truth is the authorities are too scared to do anything as they receive death threats etc.

There is no mechanism for fining them. "The authorities" in this instance are the clubs themselves. They have no appetite for strict liability.

Torto7
21-07-2023, 03:23 PM
There is no mechanism for fining them. "The authorities" in this instance are the clubs themselves. They have no appetite for strict liability.

Pathetic as usual. The rest of the clubs are as much to blame as the vermin themselves for refusing to call them out on it.

21-07-2023, 03:30 PM
Group of German Rangers supporters in AGB a wee while ago, Huns will be Huns I suppose. 😳

21-07-2023, 03:38 PM
Group of German Rangers supporters in AGB a wee while ago, Huns will be Huns I suppose. 😳

Loads of people going about in city centre in Hun shirts today, had to look it up to see what's on - Rangers v HSV Hamburg tomorrow.

21-07-2023, 03:50 PM
Loads of people going about in city centre in Hun shirts today, had to look it up to see what's on - Rangers v HSV Hamburg tomorrow.

Aye, I know.