View Full Version : Darren Jackson

18-07-2023, 10:15 AM
Seen him this morning climbing into a white van in St John's doing deliveries wtf 😵

18-07-2023, 10:17 AM
Why’s this no on the summer transfers thread?

18-07-2023, 10:19 AM
He runs a taxi company too I think.

18-07-2023, 10:21 AM
John O'Neill used to deliver to my work. Not sure if he's still working as a delivery driver but not that uncommon for players of that era to have 'normal' jobs now.

Gordon Hunter was on the taxis for years and Jim Leighton was working as a sales rep for a while.

18-07-2023, 10:22 AM
I’m sure he went bankrupt a few years back, hope he is on the up.

18-07-2023, 10:22 AM
Why’s this no on the summer transfers thread?

You're only making it worse for yourself.

Clarence
18-07-2023, 10:25 AM
Was he not involved in some tax “efficient” scheme where he invested in film production and ended up bankrupt?

18-07-2023, 10:27 AM
He runs a taxi company too I think.

He did start up a luxury private chauffeur service in 2019
Did press promotion stuff for with former team mates to launch it.
Maybe covid scuppered it ��

lugz
18-07-2023, 10:32 AM
Think a lot of these guys have had to take up further work after their careers, I worked with a former hearts player from the 90s and he was saying he was on 1k a week when playing. They really must envy these lads now a days earning so much more.

18-07-2023, 10:41 AM
Well done Darren, just proves there is life after football, and they dont just suddenly stop living when it ends.

The argument that its a short career is rubbish, footballers are quite able to do other work once they finish playing.

18-07-2023, 10:42 AM
I drove past him as he was climbing into the van, had to do a double take. I get what folk say about ex pros doing normal jobs, Crops and Hunter being cabbies etc, pubs used to be the go to business fir a lot of them.

18-07-2023, 10:43 AM
Darren Jackson was an absolute hero of mine growing up. Turned into a top player at Hibs, after John Collins told him on Scotland duty to up his gym game his performances went to another level.

18-07-2023, 10:49 AM
He was at the next table to me at Rendezvous a few months ago. Fair made my night given he was my childhood hero.

18-07-2023, 11:09 AM
Seen him this morning climbing into a white van in St John's doing deliveries wtf 😵

Ex pro footballer working for a living shock.

18-07-2023, 12:16 PM
Well done Darren, just proves there is life after football, and they dont just suddenly stop living when it ends.

The argument that its a short career is rubbish, footballers are quite able to do other work once they finish playing.

Yeh mate, but the short career talk all centres around the ability to earn big money. Most players ( not all ) apart from football ability are just normal every day folk who would be working in offices or for the council ... Jason Cummings being a prime example, if it hadn't been for Hibs he would probably still be working for the cooncil parks department and the last time I looked you don't get 3K a week doing that.

As for Darren, I wish him all the best, I was absolutely cock a hoop when we signed him and his brilliant goal against Dundee United in the league cup semi at Tynecastle is still one of my all time favourite Hibs memories.

I have every sympathy for guys of his era and before who if they were around now would have been making life changing sums of money ... imagine what any of the famous 5 would have been worth if they had been playing in this era, instead of running pubs and the like after playing. It is still unbelievable to me that the utterly brilliant, no matter who you supported, Jimmy Johnstone ended his life as a lorry driver for Glasgow city council ..... that to me is unbelievably tragic for a guy who's ability was a match for Messi or the like any day :bitchy:

Who I have little sympathy for are sportsmen who retire having made multiple millions from their careers and lose it all trying to make even more money. FFS .. if you stop playing and have 10 million quid in the bank be happy kick it on a beach somewhere and find yourself a hobby you enjoy. For all he had a good career I don't think Darren falls into that category by the way.

18-07-2023, 12:21 PM
Darren Jackson was an absolute hero of mine growing up. Turned into a top player at Hibs, after John Collins told him on Scotland duty to up his gym game his performances went to another level.

Mine too.

I often think he's hard done by not being spoken of more often in conversations about "best player" or "favourite player".

The standard of performance he was putting in for us was at times ridiculous.

I loved that team, bursting with good players for a couple of years.

18-07-2023, 12:31 PM
Yeh mate, but the short career talk all centres around the ability to earn big money. Most players ( not all ) apart from football ability are just normal every day folk who would be working in offices or for the council ... Jason Cummings being a prime example, if it hadn't been for Hibs he would probably still be working for the cooncil parks department and the last time I looked you don't get 3K a week doing that.

As for Darren, I wish him all the best, I was absolutely cock a hoop when we signed him and his brilliant goal against Dundee United in the league cup semi at Tynecastle is still one of my all time favourite Hibs memories.

I have every sympathy for guys of his era and before who if they were around now would have been making life changing sums of money ... imagine what any of the famous 5 would have been worth if they had been playing in this era, instead of running pubs and the like after playing.

Who I have little sympathy for are sportsmen who retire having made multiple millions from their careers and lose it all trying to make even more money. FFS .. if you stop playing and have 10 million quid in the bank be happy kick it on a beach somewhere and find yourself a hobby you enjoy. For all he had a good career I don't think Darren falls into that category by the way.

I get what you say, but we have thousands of footballers who earn pennies compared to the likes of Jackson, nobody bats an eye when they are car salesmen or chimminey sweeps whenthey retire.

I earnt good money working in the print industry early 80s, we were on daft money every week printing the mirror before Eddie Shah took everyone out to Wapping.

Went down to £500 a week after overtime in the post office, i took what was on offer, never for a moment did i think i had a short career in printing and had to make a huge amount before i was 35, i knew i would still be able to work after.

18-07-2023, 12:35 PM
Good luck to the guy. Think he’s fallen on hard times with business ventures etc so fair to him.
Not many ex Hibbies who go on to play for Celtic and Hearts after playing for us would be held in such high esteem amongst the support.

18-07-2023, 12:40 PM

I have every sympathy for guys of his era and before who if they were around now would have been making life changing sums of money ... imagine what any of the famous 5 would have been worth if they had been playing in this era, instead of running pubs and the like after playing. It is still unbelievable to me that the utterly brilliant, no matter who you supported, Jimmy Johnstone ended his life as a lorry driver for Glasgow city council ..... that to me is unbelievably tragic for a guy who's ability was a match for Messi or the like any day :bitchy:

I have to second that, brilliantly taken goal against a good DD United side.

Gordy M
18-07-2023, 12:43 PM
Good luck to the guy. Think he’s fallen on hard times with business ventures etc so fair to him.
Not many ex Hibbies who go on to play for Celtic and Hearts after playing for us would be held in such high esteem amongst the support.

Im sure he played against Brazil in 1998 world cup opener? Really liked him as a player.

18-07-2023, 12:45 PM
I get what you say, but we have thousands of footballers who earn pennies compared to the likes of Jackson, nobody bats an eye when they are car salesmen or chimminey sweeps whenthey retire.

I earnt good money working in the print industry early 80s, we were on daft money every week printing the mirror before Eddie Shah took everyone out to Wapping.

Went down to £500 a week after overtime in the post office, i took what was on offer, never for a moment did i think i had a short career in printing and had to make a huge amount before i was 35, i knew i would still be able to work after.

I don't disagree mate. Darren Jackson's earnings, compared to mine for example, during the period he was playing would have been astronomical, but not I think to the extent that he could say 'right I've maybe got another 40/50 years in me I can live off what I have' Investing it was probably his only option if he didn't want to work again, a reasonable dream for most folk. It didn't work out and he has to work, that in itself isn't a cause to feel sorry for him, the chance that his career in football afforded him to not have to do that if his investments hadn't gone south is .. at least IMO.

As I said ... Its the modern day sportsmen with multiple millions in their pocket the day they quit who lose it all trying to make even more that deserve no pity ... they had already hit the jackpot once, why the hell try to win it again apart from simple greed?

Donegal Hibby
18-07-2023, 12:46 PM
I've asked a few times this question and always got 3 different answers. Who does Darren Jackson support?

18-07-2023, 12:51 PM
I don't disagree mate. Darren Jackson's earnings, compared to mine for example, during the period he was playing would have been astronomical, but not I think to the extent that he could say 'right I've maybe got another 40/50 years in me I can live off what I have' Investing it was probably his only option if he didn't want to work again, a reasonable dream for most folk. It didn't work out and he has to work, that in itself isn't a cause to feel sorry for him, the chance that his career in football afforded him to not have to do that if his investments hadn't gone south is .. at least IMO.

As I said ... Its the modern day sportsmen with multiple millions in their pocket the day they quit who lose it all trying to make even more that deserve no pity ... they had already hit the jackpot once, why the hell try to win it again apart from simple greed?

:agree: By the way, what a good player he was for us and Scotland, :top marks

Last Minute
18-07-2023, 12:58 PM
I've asked a few times this question and always got 3 different answers. Who does Darren Jackson support?

Celtic 100%:agree:

18-07-2023, 01:20 PM
iirc, Darren Jackson was at Gazzas wedding back in the day, sure I saw photos of him there - at least Darren still has his health (after that wee brain scare) which is a heck of a lot more than you can say for Gazza..........

18-07-2023, 01:29 PM

He was in the Hibs end at the 2012 Cup Final.

Brilliant player for us, agree that he sometimes gets overlooked when we talk of Hibs greats.

OtleyHibs
18-07-2023, 01:42 PM
Mine too.

I often think he's hard done by not being spoken of more often in conversations about "best player" or "favourite player".

I've always assumed that his name doesn't come up as often due to where he ended up.

I loved him at us and always remember him as a huge fans favourite at the time, but that could be nostalgic rose tinted glasses from me

Him and Pat McGinlay, never been fully replaced in my heart 😁

18-07-2023, 01:45 PM

Brilliant player for us, agree that he sometimes gets overlooked when we talk of Hibs greats.

Darren Jackson and Jim Leighton are about the only reason we weren't relegated a year earlier than we eventually were in the 90s. Between them they were worth about 15 points that season and they dragged us through the play off game. I don't think DJ even scored that many goals that season but he was about much more than that.

A Hearts fan in my work insists he played a huge part in keeping them up in 98/99 along with Gary McSwegan. They were in real trouble when they signed Jackson in late March, they only lost 1 in 9 from then until the end of the season and ended up finishing 6th.

Incidentally there can't be many players who have played for all the senior clubs in Edinburgh. Jackson has Meadowbank, Hibs and Hearts from his time. Nowadays you would need Hibs, Hearts, Edinburgh City and Spartans. Eamonn Bannon has 3 and Alan Maybury has played for 2 and managed one but I can't think of many more.

deludedfool
18-07-2023, 01:48 PM

I worked with Darrens father Adam who also worked in the print trade , I could be wrong but I think Darren himself started an apprenticeship in the print trade before his football career took off .
His dad was a Jambo but a top bloke and a fair player in his day !

Torto7
18-07-2023, 01:59 PM
Some folk get bored even if they have money and want a normal job. The guy that taught me to drive years ago was a multi millionaire but was bored out of his tits retired and wanted a normal job where he could get some patter.

Donegal Hibby
18-07-2023, 02:02 PM
Celtic were mentioned to me over the years though so were the Huns and hertz . Thanks 👍

Donegal Hibby
18-07-2023, 02:07 PM

Didn't know that he was in the Hibs end 2912 . One of my favourite players growing up . Didn't he not score a brace or hat trick that kept us up against Airdrie ( I think ) in the play-offs.

18-07-2023, 02:16 PM
Is he not supposed to have a hearts tattoo or is that another urban myth?

18-07-2023, 02:20 PM
I thought he was a football agent

18-07-2023, 03:00 PM
Ex pro footballer working for a living shock.

Not really a shock, just when the better pro players retire they've usually got a few bob put away or a business set up for themselves, I didn't realist Jackson had lost his money in a bad business venture, just a surprise seeing him doing deliveries.

He's here!
18-07-2023, 03:00 PM

Darren was once a Hearts mascot but always claimed it was just something that he got the chance to do (via a family friend possibly) and that he never really supported a particular team as he was too busy playing most weeks.

I remember hearing Simon Pia, the author of 'Sunshine on Leith' (a book about great Hibs players) saying that he asked Darren if he wanted to be removed from an updated edition since he was now a Hearts player, but he'd said definitely not and that Hibs was the most important spell of his career.

Very good player for us and he ended up having a really good career, earning a large number of Scotland caps.

Not sure he was cut out for business. Another of his era, Gary Mackay, once delivered flowers to our neighbours who weren't in. When I offered to take them in I asked if this was his job now and he said he was 'just helping out a mate'.

18-07-2023, 03:07 PM
Jacko was brilliant for Hibs. He went from being a key player in a good side to carrying a poor team. Was gutted when he left for Celtic and suspected we'd probably be relegated without him. Think we scraped the playoffs v Airdrie his last season and went down the following one.

Must be one of our best signings the past 30 years. Grew so much as a player with us and my recollection is he was never injured either. Rightfully a Hibs great.

18-07-2023, 03:09 PM
Think a lot of these guys have had to take up further work after their careers, I worked with a former hearts player from the 90s and he was saying he was on 1k a week when playing. They really must envy these lads now a days earning so much more.

A mate of mines works with oor Willie Miller as a gardiner. Told him he blew all his money when he was playing, but had a great time doing so. 😅

18-07-2023, 03:12 PM
I thought he was a football agent

He used to be. Think he started a chauffeurs business a year or so ago

18-07-2023, 03:14 PM
Great player for us never let us down

He was the sort of player if he was in the opposition he was a niggling greetin faced dangerous wee bassa but if he was on your side you loved him

Great partnership with Keef Keef Keef Keef

Kept us in the Premiership at Broadwood with not a little help from Jim Leighton

Legend

18-07-2023, 03:16 PM

When Gordon Smith retired he owned a shop/post office,the Right Wing pub and lived in a very nice house in Dirleton. When he was still playing he owned the first Porsche in Scotland and had his holidays every year in the south of France.He didn’t do too bad.:greengrin

18-07-2023, 04:51 PM
Not sure why this is a shock tbh. I don't think there are many players on our books nowadays that will get paid so well that they won't need to find a profession after their football career finishes either

Svengali
18-07-2023, 04:52 PM

Agree. Superb player for Hibs. My hero growing up, was gutted when he left for Celtic in ‘97, well before social media and my Jambo mate couldn’t wait to tell me!

Darren sent me a 40th birthday message last year by video!! Was like a kid.

Svengali
18-07-2023, 04:55 PM
Darren was once a Hearts mascot but always claimed it was just something that he got the chance to do (via a family friend possibly) and that he never really supported a particular team as he was too busy playing most weeks.

I remember hearing Simon Pia, the author of 'Sunshine on Leith' (a book about great Hibs players) saying that he asked Darren if he wanted to be removed from an updated edition since he was now a Hearts player, but he'd said definitely not and that Hibs was the most important spell of his career.

Very good player for us and he ended up having a really good career, earning a large number of Scotland caps.

Not sure he was cut out for business. Another of his era, Gary Mackay, once delivered flowers to our neighbours who weren't in. When I offered to take them in I asked if this was his job now and he said he was 'just helping out a mate'.

Craig Levein mate had a shop which sold trophies for local community.

Craig applied but didn’t even get an interview due to having no experience handling them.

Shame but should had read the job description

18-07-2023, 05:00 PM
Is he not supposed to have a hearts tattoo or is that another urban myth?

Heard that about Gordon Rae but never Jackson.

18-07-2023, 05:02 PM
Mine too.

:agree: Jackson, O'Neill and Harper all helped turn the tide against Hearts for a brief period at least, and despite the perception of Miller's teams being boring we had lots of attacking flair for a while.

Seen Michael O'Neill in the St Vincent bar the other week, so assume he is still living in Edinburgh.

He's here!
18-07-2023, 05:05 PM
When Gordon Smith retired he owned a shop/post office,the Right Wing pub and lived in a very nice house in Dirleton. When he was still playing he owned the first Porsche in Scotland and had his holidays every year in the south of France.He didn’t do too bad.:greengrin

Famous Five were on phenomenal win bonuses according to Lawrie Reilly, who said Rangers players were jealous of them. Given how often Hibs won in that era it's maybe no surprise Smith did quite nicely (his house wasn't especially big tho, more of a cottage but set in a nice wee spot out by the 8th hole at North Berwick Golf Club. Golfers claimed you could hear him kicking a ball against the wall long after he retired...think his son Tony lives in it now). I got the impression from Lawrie that a fair amount of cash was of the brown envelope variety, which probably also helped to keep the FF together.

18-07-2023, 06:08 PM
Famous Five were on phenomenal win bonuses according to Lawrie Reilly, who said Rangers players were jealous of them. Given how often Hibs won in that era it's maybe no surprise Smith did quite nicely (his house wasn't especially big tho, more of a cottage but set in a nice wee spot out by the 8th hole at North Berwick Golf Club. Golfers claimed you could hear him kicking a ball against the wall long after he retired...think his son Tony lives in it now). I got the impression from Lawrie that a fair amount of cash was of the brown envelope variety, which probably also helped to keep the FF together.

After a game the joke in the autograph scrums was "why do they walk so funny? Because their shoes are full of money."

18-07-2023, 06:22 PM
My hero growing up. What a goal he scored for Scotland B at Easter Road as well, up there with my favourite goals of all time.

Another great memory is meeting him after the Oasis gig at Ingliston in January 1996. Got him to sign my Oasis programme!

18-07-2023, 06:36 PM
His Link up play was excellent and him and Keith Keith were a cracking pair

The Baldmans Comb
18-07-2023, 07:14 PM
Darren Jackson's performance in the long forgotten 2nd leg relegation play off v Airdrie at Broadwood(Yes Broadwood) is up there with Stokesy as one of the greatest individual performances by a Hibs player.

Ran the show with skill and class and top notch bottle for the two pressure pens.

18-07-2023, 07:21 PM
His dive for the penalty against Rangers at FF end was a thing of beauty - the fact that he started outside the box and landed still outside the box made it even better (that last bit may not be true lol)

Gaffer1875
18-07-2023, 07:23 PM
Jackson, Weir and Mcginley were 3 of my favourite players growing up. I wish Jacko well.

18-07-2023, 09:49 PM
Heard that about Gordon Rae but never Jackson.

I've played walking fitba with Gordon for over 4 years and if he has a Hearts tattoo he keeps it bloody well hidden .. I'll ask him next time I see him :greengrin

s2hart
18-07-2023, 11:14 PM
A mate of mines works with oor Willie Miller as a gardiner. Told him he blew all his money when he was playing, but had a great time doing so. 😅

He was a great player if it wasn't for Joe Tortolano he would have been my favourite player then. Used to see him after the games at the bus stop in Abbyhill when I was ony way to Powderhall. Don't think you will see a player at that level getting the bus home after a game.

vuefrom1875
19-07-2023, 12:15 AM

Oh aye,Gary Mckay delivering flowers instead of racial abuse...absolute tosspot!

19-07-2023, 06:56 AM

Pretty sure I read in his biography that he also owned a flat in Easter Road and had a maroon sports car that he got a lot of stick for at Training

Gordon Smith : The Prince of Wingers Tony Smith well worth a read

19-07-2023, 07:18 AM
I worked with Darrens father Adam who also worked in the print trade , I could be wrong but I think Darren himself started an apprenticeship in the print trade before his football career took off .

Adam trained my primary school team in the early 80s (Leith Walk Primary), quite an intimidating guy to us youngsters! 😀

mvteng
19-07-2023, 08:29 AM

i used to work for his mum Eleanor. She was in charge of breakfast at the Post House hotel. She used to bring in carrier bags of Darrens designer clothes that he had finished with and hand them out to us.

deludedfool
19-07-2023, 01:32 PM
Adam trained my primary school team in the early 80s (Leith Walk Primary), quite an intimidating guy to us youngsters! 😀

Yip, he was intimidating . Myself and two other apprentices were all hibbies and he used to give it to us in the works canteen every Monday morning if the hibs got beat on the weekend 🙄. By the time hibs signed Darren I was already in Australia so don’t know if he had mellowed but somehow I doubt it .

19-07-2023, 04:04 PM

My dad worked with Adam too (Thynes at Sighthill I think). He was definitely a jambo but used to watch DJ at Easter Rd every home game. Used to sign us in to Hillside bowling club.Good bloke.

19-07-2023, 04:34 PM

Darren was an apprentice printer in George Stewart’s at Meadowbank. Work beside my brother in law late 70’s early 80’s

deludedfool
20-07-2023, 01:21 PM
My dad worked with Adam too (Thynes at Sighthill I think). He was definitely a jambo but used to watch DJ at Easter Rd every home game. Used to sign us in to Hillside bowling club.Good bloke.

Yeah that’s were I worked ,William Thynes at Sighthill . I think Thynes were originally in the Meadowbank area before moving to Sighthill although that was well before my time there .
If you don’t mind me asking what was your Dads name ?

20-07-2023, 01:34 PM
Yeah that’s were I worked ,William Thynes at Sighthill . I think Thynes were originally in the Meadowbank area before moving to Sighthill although that was well before my time there .
If you don’t mind me asking what was your Dads name ?

Sent you a PM

zitelli62
20-07-2023, 09:22 PM
The company I worked for got there in house magazine printed by a company at Meadowbank it was called the tie line don't ask me why but good to know some good people worked there.

The Wireless
20-07-2023, 09:46 PM

I knew his Dad and he was a Jambo. However without a doubt out of Hibs, Hearts, Celtic, Newcastle without forgetting Meadowbank, the best football Darren played was for Hibs at Easter Road, he was superb.

21-07-2023, 06:11 AM
His performance against Airdrieonians at Broadwood up there with Anthony Stokes 21-5-2016 as the best individual performances from a Hibs player