View Full Version : Icons of football: Steve archibald
16-07-2023, 10:24 AM
Excellent documentary on the BBCi Player just now on Stevie Archigols
Probably the best of the series so far
Makes you realise what a great and iconic player Stevie Archibald was and what made him tick
Well worth a watch
16-07-2023, 10:29 AM
Watched it the other night. Before my time but had a laugh at him choosing to sign for Hibs because he couldn’t get a deal done with Liverpool. No sure that would happen these days!
16-07-2023, 05:06 PM
Now on YouTube
Fast forward through the first lot of ads
https://youtu.be/x8htP-JxGN0
16-07-2023, 07:26 PM
He was a class act.
Some of the terracing dummies used to call him lazy!
They didn't appreciate he was yards ahead of the opposition just through his positioning and reading of the game.
The fact that he's still a fans favourite at Aberdeen, Tottenham, Barcelona and Hibs (and quite possibly at the smaller teams he turned out for as well) tells your all you need to know about the player and the man.
16-07-2023, 07:37 PM
Hibs hail hero’s
Archibald hails a taxi
16-07-2023, 10:07 PM
https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/steve-archibald-an-evening-with
16-07-2023, 10:34 PM
One of my favourite Hibs players. A complete class act and he is always very complimentary about us on Twitter - which he is good on. Brilliant player, loved his style.
16-07-2023, 11:02 PM
I think he signed for Aberdeen from Clyde. My first memory of him in the flesh was seeing the golden locks put us to the sword in 1980 as they won the league at ER with a 5-0 win. What a player he was. That moment in the Gorgie Road end when he put the ball past Henry Smith will never be forgotten. Icon 🙌
17-07-2023, 05:39 AM
Never ever rated him until I saw him in the flesh at ER
I could not believe what I was seeing
First touch was sublime buying him invaluable time on the ball and had tremendous vision and awareness
Was two moves ahead of the opposition and sometimes his teammates
Class act
I realised why Jock Stein used to rave about him
Glass half full
17-07-2023, 06:12 AM
I thought a mate was winding me up when he said Archibald had signed.
His positioning gave him a yard and touch gave him a second.
I was just a teenager and didn't understand how rare it is to see such a player play for us.
Could only dream about someone like him as our new No 9!
17-07-2023, 06:49 AM
Brilliant if wasn’t for the foreigner rule would he have stayed at Barca ?
17-07-2023, 07:32 AM
Correct me if wrong, in his first game at ER he scored a hat trick (maybe Kilmarnock??) with help from George McCluskey who left us shortly after. I have nothing but great memories of SA and had the pleasure of meeting him many times when he brought his Roller into Causewayside Service Station. :flag:
MartinfaePorty
17-07-2023, 07:40 AM
It was 4-0 v Stranraer in the League Cup. I remember Miller saying he didn't expect him to be fully fit, but he was brilliant and played the whole match.
Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk
17-07-2023, 07:56 AM
It was 4-0 v Stranraer in the League Cup. I remember Miller saying he didn't expect him to be fully fit, but he was brilliant and played the whole match.
Think he came off the bench and scored two?
17-07-2023, 12:34 PM
1988/89 season
17 August
Stranraer (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stranraer_F.C.)
H (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Easter_Road)
4–0
Archibald (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steve_Archibald) (2), Kane (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paul_Kane_(footballer)), Evans (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gareth_Evans_(footballer,_born_1967))
We seem to over the years meet Stranraer in cup games.
..and score four !
A few years after the Archibald game they would beat us 2-1 at ER
The not so noisy neighbours celebrated with a 10 man draw with us last time out.
Here is a 10 man win at the PBS.
Hibs flags hinging oot Gorgie tenement windaes as Stevie Archibald breaks hearts.
Nov 1988
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xVEZPuqvrWs
A long 10yr wait to beat them over there..
But worth the wait that game was.
17-07-2023, 12:48 PM
1988/89 season
17 August
Stranraer (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stranraer_F.C.)
H (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Easter_Road)
4–0
Archibald (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steve_Archibald) (2), Kane (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paul_Kane_(footballer)), Evans (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gareth_Evans_(footballer,_born_1967))
We seem to over the years meet Stranraer in cup games.
..and score four !
A few years after the Archibald game they would beat us 2-1 at ER
The not so noisy neighbours celebrated with a 10 man draw with us last time out.
Here is a 10 man win at the PBS.
Hibs flags hinging oot Gorgie tenement windaes as Stevie Archibald breaks hearts.
Nov 1988
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xVEZPuqvrWs
A long 10yr wait to beat them over there..
But worth the wait that game was.
Kano loved his goal
17-07-2023, 01:01 PM
Kano loved his goal
He didnae half !
Big Gordon Rae, with some relief,would have been hugging Stevie after the final whistle :greengrin
Highwayman
17-07-2023, 01:06 PM
Although he was coming to the end of his career,when he came to ER,Stevie Archibald was one of the classiest acts I’ve ever seen playing for Hibs.
I would agree with poster #4 that a lot of the dummies (still probably contributing to .nut) skulls were too thick to appreciate the top quality they were watching.
Unfortunately his teammates for the majority of the time he was there didn’t have the football brains or ability to work out was he was trying to achieve.
Have watched all the episodes of Icons of Scottish Football.Enjoyed the episodes on Archibald,Charlie Nicholas and Paul Sturrock.Wasn’t too keen on :-
Rose Reilly-bit of a stretch to call her an icon.Lot of people probably never heard of her.
Archie McPherson-Met him on a few occasions,comes across as a pompous boring windbag.Good cure for insomnia.
Richard Gough-for just being “Richard Gough”.
17-07-2023, 02:05 PM
Although he was coming to the end of his career,when he came to ER,Stevie Archibald was one of the classiest acts I’ve ever seen playing for Hibs.
I would agree with poster #4 that a lot of the dummies (still probably contributing to .nut) skulls were too thick to appreciate the top quality they were watching.
Unfortunately his teammates for the majority of the time he was there didn’t have the football brains or ability to work out was he was trying to achieve.
Have watched all the episodes of Icons of Scottish Football.Enjoyed the episodes on Archibald,Charlie Nicholas and Paul Sturrock.Wasn’t too keen on :-
Rose Reilly-bit of a stretch to call her an icon.Lot of people probably never heard of her.
Archie McPherson-Met him on a few occasions,comes across as a pompous boring windbag.Good cure for insomnia.
Richard Gough-for just being “Richard Gough”.
Rose is certainly an icon of the womens game .
Deserving of a documentary.
Had she been an English "lioness", she would have been more widely known,of course :greengrin
We would all have heard of her achievements.!
But i think her story is very much worth telling.
An inspiration to young girls playing now.
Maybe you think the programme producers got Rose's bio.,instead of Lawrie's !!:greengrin
https://glorioussport.com/articles/meet-the-first-rose-reilly-mbe/
17-07-2023, 02:32 PM
I was old enough that I should have known better, but I wasn't football mature enough to fully appreciate him at the time. I've kicked myself about that a few times over the years so enjoyed seeing him again at the HSF match. Auld guy now but you could see the class is still there. Feel I've settled that score with my younger self now!
17-07-2023, 03:23 PM
I've posted on here on numerous occasions about the amount of abuse he used to receive for not chasing after every through ball played into his general vicinity, it was pretty obvious that he was conserving his energy for the balls he did chase after and reach almost without fail. A very clever player.
h1bs4life
17-07-2023, 04:03 PM
First touch was sublime buying him invaluable time on the ball and had tremendous vision and awareness
Class act
I was the same never really rated him until he signed .
A class act , his goal at Tynecastle will never be forgotten, limbs everywhere.
Was there not a story about an issue getting tickets for his family so he paid for a hospitality box for them out his own pocket
17-07-2023, 04:28 PM
In the top 3 or 4 strikers I've seen play for Hibs. Absolute class. The goal at Tiny, the double against celtic just a great goalscorer who also made plenty of chances for team mates with his all round play
17-07-2023, 05:50 PM
In the top 3 or 4 strikers I've seen play for Hibs. Absolute class. The goal at Tiny, the double against celtic just a great goalscorer who also made plenty of chances for team mates with his all round play
He truly was a "class act". And was for most of his career.
Those that saw him in a Hibs strip, did see a terrific footballer.
The goals in the Celtic game you mention
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aqFqi-RAzWU
17-07-2023, 07:49 PM
Class act
I felt exactly the same. But he's a class act. Definitely in the top 5 players I've had the pleasure of watching.
17-07-2023, 07:57 PM
I felt exactly the same. But he's a class act. Definitely in the top 5 players I've had the pleasure of watching.
Funnily enough I felt the exact same when we spent £12000 on Hearts reject Alan Gordon but what do I know ?