View Full Version : What is a 'successful' season for us this year?

6-2MAGIC
14-07-2023, 07:44 AM
Apologies if there is a thread on this already..

Just wanted to get everyone's thoughts about the upcoming season..

What is a 'successful' season for us this year? What would we say is a good season realistically?
Also, IF it isn't deemed as a success and we don't hit the ground running, does LJ need to go?

I think 3rd place above Hearts and Aberdeen is obviously what I and most fans would want, however realistically speaking I think we should be looking at 4th place minimum. Would love to see us do well in both cups - always going to be hard to dismantle Celtic & Rangers though

14-07-2023, 07:49 AM
3rd, 2 crap sides got it last 2 years.

14-07-2023, 07:50 AM
Same as it is every year I guess.

League: 3rd (avoiding any defeat to Hearts and decent showings against the OF)
Scottish Cup: Semis or further
League Cup: Semis or further
UECL: Q4 or further (we'll need a favourable draw in Q3)

14-07-2023, 07:54 AM
Highest Priority

Third.

2 semi finals or 1 final.

European Record.

50% derbies won.

Record against Aberdeen.

Record against old firm

​Lowest Priority.

If the rate of improvement continues on the same trajectory then LJ is safe in the job IMO. I'm giving him time, I think he's earned another season. We were miles off third in January and came within a couple of games of getting it.

Gloucester Hibs
14-07-2023, 07:58 AM
Third

OR

Win a trophy

OR

Qualify for Europe AND something incredible happens such as big derby wins or reach both cup finals etc

14-07-2023, 08:01 AM
3rd/4th and a decent cup run, same as it should be every year.

14-07-2023, 08:04 AM
To be entertained. Results will come naturally then.

14-07-2023, 08:09 AM
Not getting horsed out both cups at the 1st hurdle for starters.

Improving against the bottom 6 teams. We were better than Aberdeen against the top 6 teams last year but our pitiful record against a couple of the bottom 6 teams (particularly Dundee Utd) saw them finish 3rd. Hibs won't go a whole season without dropping silly points but whoever drops the least generally wins the race for 3rd. If there is no need for 'we can't win every game and everyone will have a sticky patch' discussions 4 weeks into the season this year then that should see us improve on last.

For me 3rd and a cup win is an unforgettable success by any measure.

3rd is the best we can realistically hope for league wise so is real success.

A cup win is a real success almost regardless of league position (see Collins winning the LC but finishing 6th).

4th and a couple of half decent cups runs is relative success.

4th and out the cups early is slightly less so.

5th and a cup run is about acceptable.

Top 6 is bare minimum.

Anything else is a failure.

I'd be looking for the 4th and 2 decent cups runs option. Anything more would be great, anything less and it's basically a continuation of last season which is stagnation and will leave me frustrated.

14-07-2023, 08:15 AM
Scottish Cup win is a must, its been far too long since our last win and is a millstone round the clubs neck.

Paul1642
14-07-2023, 08:18 AM
Few different scenarios here.

Reach the group stages of the conference league is financially the best thing we could achieve. Manage this along with a competitive league campaign that falls just short and sees us come 5th would be decent.

3rd as a stand alone would be good.

Scottish cup win would be a good season even if we came middle of the league (although it wouldn’t feel that way until the cup was in the bag and the manager would likely not last the season if we were missing top 6)

Leauge cup win and a top 5 finish would be a good season.

A combination of any of the above would be a truly great season.

Few derby wins for good measure always helps matters too.

14-07-2023, 08:40 AM
3rd this year

14-07-2023, 08:42 AM
Top 4 and a cup semi final is fulfilling our potential and what it isn't unreasonable for the club and it's fans to expect. That can be considered enough to keep any manager in his job, provided the fitba isn't absolutely turgid doing it.

A fantastic season would be:

Winning any of the domestic cups, preferably the Scottish.

Finishing in the top 4, preferably 3rd

Beating Hearts twice at Easter Rd and once at the bus shelter with a draw in the other game.

Making the group stages in Europe ... that would be a first for us and a real achievement.

The trouble with a season like that is that in order to achieve it you need a whole pile of luck as well as a good team. You need the luck of the draw in the cup competitions and you need at the minimum your key players to remain injury free for most if not all of the season.

In the end so long as we don't get relegated any season where we win a cup is a successful one :aok:

14-07-2023, 08:51 AM
3rd, 2 crap sides got it last 2 years.

Who was the last good team to finish 3rd? Genuine question. Even including Ross’ team, the team finishing 3rd hasn’t been a good team for as long as I can remember. Aberdeen in 17/18? Though technically they finished 2nd are we were 4th but a good team.

14-07-2023, 08:54 AM
Third or a cup win is proper success.

European qualification through another league position is acceptable. Anything less and manager will be chased.

6-2MAGIC
14-07-2023, 08:56 AM
Not getting horsed out both cups at the 1st hurdle for starters.

Improving against the bottom 6 teams. We were better than Aberdeen against the top 6 teams last year but our pitiful record against a couple of the bottom 6 teams (particularly Dundee Utd) saw them finish 3rd. Hibs won't go a whole season without dropping silly points but whoever drops the least generally wins the race for 3rd. If there is no need for 'we can't win every game and everyone will have a sticky patch' discussions 4 weeks into the season this year then that should see us improve on last.

For me 3rd and a cup win is an unforgettable success by any measure.

3rd is the best we can realistically hope for league wise so is real success.

A cup win is a real success almost regardless of league position (see Collins winning the LC but finishing 6th).

4th and a couple of half decent cups runs is relative success.

4th and out the cups early is slightly less so.

5th and a cup run is about acceptable.

Top 6 is bare minimum.

Anything else is a failure.

I'd be looking for the 4th and 2 decent cups runs option. Anything more would be great, anything less and it's basically a continuation of last season which is stagnation and will leave me frustrated.

Totally agree with you mate. I think 3rd is everyone's aim obviously, but I would take 4th and 2 decent cup runs. or 4th and a final. Last year we did pick up a bit of form towards the end and caught Aberdeen and Hearts - but both of them fell away badly which did help us out a bit.

Hibs need to get inbetween Aberdeen and Hearts this year for me, above Hearts priority. A club like ours with the size of it etc should never be finishing outside the top 6 but maybe my expectations are too high at times. I think we need another 3 players in minimum, 1 which needs to be a CB to partner Hanlon and a striker aswell. Big season ahead for the management

14-07-2023, 08:58 AM
Cups depend on the draw. Go out to rangers or celtic early doors then fare enough. Get papped out at home to St Johnstone or Ross County and its not good enough. Europe is the same. Group stages would be amazing but if a half decent team knocks us out before then, fare enough. Lose to a team from Wales or Ireland or even worse Andorra and not good enough.
3rd or 4th in league and 4th only really if within touching distance of 3rd. Maybe 5th if only couple of points in it between 3rd, 4th and 5th. Anything else is failure, plain and simple.

14-07-2023, 08:59 AM
top 4 - semi finals. Same as every year.

14-07-2023, 09:00 AM
Top three, at least one of the cups, get through group stages in Europe

SickBoy32
14-07-2023, 09:37 AM
For me a successful season would entail either a cup win or a 3rd place finish (ideally both!)

4th would obviously be an improvement on last year, however not sure I'd class that as a successful season - decent season no doubt

We're one of the biggest clubs in the country, and I feel our expectations should reflect that

I don't subscribe to the logic that games vs the OF are 'free hits' and we should just be happy to get our bellies tickled in these fixtures and move on - a good Hibs team can beat anyone in Scotland

There is absolutely no way that we should be getting emptied out of the cups in the manner (or stage) we did last season, that was just dreadful

14-07-2023, 09:40 AM
Min 4th and good runs in the cups. Ideally a final. Progress in Europe would be welcome, not expecting to make group stages but if we did then I’d happily lose interest in domestic cups to keep players fit and ready for group stages.

14-07-2023, 09:43 AM

Love that. Couldn’t agree more.

If there was a gun to my head and I had to be more specific I would say European football, good record in the derbies (winning at least 2), not to get put out the cups by anybody worse than us and loads and loads of goals (for us) along the way.

Would also like us to be more consistent, going 10 games without a win or whatever it was is no use, can’t go on runs like that every season.

sauzeelegod
14-07-2023, 09:48 AM
3rd. It should be the goal every year.
Semi finials of both cups ( depending on the draw) should be our goal too.

Anything in Europe is a bonus.

stuart-farquhar
14-07-2023, 09:59 AM
That I want to go to the games.

Cat Stanton
14-07-2023, 10:25 AM
The treble. Nothing less.

14-07-2023, 10:42 AM

that’s pretty fair, although depends on the cup draw, always the chance of getting the OF early. For me it’s all about improvement and more consistency. 3rd or 4th would be an improvement, as would a decent cup run or two. I also think our results against Hearts have a huge bearing on the feel good factor. A couple of good wins and a draw against the Jambos, is almost a successful season in its own right !

so Top 4, one decent cup run and at least 7 points against hearts, would do for me !

14-07-2023, 10:42 AM
3rd/4th and a run in either cup to at least semi final stages, discounted Europe as its a bonus this season but hopefully with more consistency and better players the league stages (future)

Percy Vere
14-07-2023, 10:47 AM
3rd or 4th
Cup final win
Conference league section
Thanks very much

14-07-2023, 11:01 AM
An improvement on league position and at least one Hampden trip.

14-07-2023, 11:17 AM
The main thing for me is that we are entertaining to watch. I'd much rather enjoy the football and finish 5th than watch eye bleeding stuff and finish 3rd/4th. A wee bit of cup excitement would be good too along with laughing at the JTs making fools of themselves.

PHeffernan
14-07-2023, 11:23 AM
Caveats are injuries and cup draws.

Realistically I would look at
Finishing 4th
A cup QF and a SF
Europe 3rd round

The team is improved on last season with the addition of Levitt & Obita and the return of Boyle.
The only big loss will be Nisbet.
Other big plus is all the young players are a year further on in their development.

14-07-2023, 12:30 PM
Nothing less than the quadruple.

14-07-2023, 12:41 PM
3rd, to win the winnable cup ties and put up a good fight in those that are likely to be challenging for us, both at home and in Europe.

MikeyS
14-07-2023, 01:00 PM
Cups are the only real measurable success for clubs in our country so ideally 1 of those please.

I'd also like to see us really get our sh*t together and go unbeaten at ER against all the rest outside the OF. I'd even settled for draws against Hearts if it meant wiping the floor with the rest of the clubs. I honestly don't think that's too much of an ask either.

14-07-2023, 01:17 PM
Group stage in Europe. Qualify for Europe for next season.

thebausburst
14-07-2023, 01:22 PM
Difficult to say until we see the end of the window, wouldn’t want to go into the season with a combination of Melker, Alf and Doidge. If we bring in a quality 9 puts a different perspective on things.

Gordy M
14-07-2023, 01:46 PM
Expectation changes as the season goes on, so no real point in saying what is and isnt at this stage. If we are 15 points clear in 3rd in January and finish 4th? Is that a good season? If we beat Hearts and Celtic in the cups and get beat in the semis and/or finals by say Killie or Ross Co.......is that successful? As i say it all depends on how it pans out. We had what many are now saying is a successful season 2 years ago and still folk wanted change etc. It just all depends.

14-07-2023, 01:50 PM
Same as always for me:

Top four

A decent cup run

Some good football to watch

I don't think that's unreasonable for a club of our size. Achieve those, or something comparable targets, and I would say we can be satisfied with our season.

cocteautwin
14-07-2023, 01:54 PM
5th is in line with budget. 3rd would be satisfying.

Hibees1973
14-07-2023, 02:00 PM
Unless there is a significant improvement in the current squad, we still have 5 or 6 who are past their best or who contribute nothing, we have only a 10% chance of reaching the Europa Conf Group stages. This 10% chance is totally based on us being extremely fortunate in the draw. In all probability we are going to come across an opponent who will outclass us in the 3rd qualifying or play off round.

Can only see us finishing 5th in the league, at best just now. We have still not replaced our best striker (Nisbet) and best centre half (Porteous).

14-07-2023, 02:26 PM
3rd,no excuses.

14-07-2023, 02:44 PM
Unless there is a significant improvement in the current squad, we still have 5 or 6 who are past their best or who contribute nothing, we have only a 10% chance of reaching the Europa Conf Group stages. This 10% chance is totally based on us being extremely fortunate in the draw. In all probability we are going to come across an opponent who will outclass us in the 3rd qualifying or play off round.

Can only see us finishing 5th in the league, at best just now. We have still not replaced our best striker (Nisbet) and best centre half (Porteous).

Certainly those two need replacing with some quality, if we're to give ourselves a chance. Two key positions.

14-07-2023, 02:53 PM
Top 4, a couple of good games in Europe and a few good cup games.

14-07-2023, 02:55 PM
Top 4 is acceptable. 3rd is success because it gets you group stage football.

“Getting to a semi final or final” is not success. There’s no prize in losing a cup final. You can say reaching a final is a good cup run, but only one team is successful in a cup tournament.

14-07-2023, 03:45 PM

Personally thought we replaced Porteous well and improved when he left. Nisbet undoubtedly a loss.

14-07-2023, 03:51 PM
Domestic treble and Europa Conference Cup win. That has to be the default.

Then go from there.

If we got a cup I could forgive missing top six.

3rd and a good cup run to the semis would be the realistic aim.

Bottom six is a failure. (Unless we win a Cup too).

Groups for Europe would be outstanding.

14-07-2023, 03:53 PM
Personally thought we replaced Porteous well and improved when he left. Nisbet undoubtedly a loss.

We never replaced him. We didn’t sign anyone (not counting Devlin). Squad is undoubtedly weaker. We need a centre half in as well as Fish.

14-07-2023, 03:57 PM
At least one place higher in the league than last season
We’re seeded in the league cup so should easily get into the last 8
We’ve been used to getting to Hampden in the last few years, so if you are a top 4 team, should be getting to semis and finals

14-07-2023, 04:02 PM
Domestic treble and Europa Conference Cup win. That has to be the default.

Then go from there.

If we got a cup I could forgive missing top six.

3rd and a good cup run to the semis would be the realistic aim.

Bottom six is a failure. (Unless we win a Cup too).

Groups for Europe would be outstanding.

https://media.giphy.com/media/oOTTyHRHj0HYY/giphy.gif

:greengrin:greengrin

14-07-2023, 04:32 PM
Apologies if there is a thread on this already..

Just wanted to get everyone's thoughts about the upcoming season..

What is a 'successful' season for us this year? What would we say is a good season realistically?
Also, IF it isn't deemed as a success and we don't hit the ground running, does LJ need to go?

I think 3rd place above Hearts and Aberdeen is obviously what I and most fans would want, however realistically speaking I think we should be looking at 4th place minimum. Would love to see us do well in both cups - always going to be hard to dismantle Celtic & Rangers though

At least a Semi final x2 and a points per game enough to secure third.

14-07-2023, 04:43 PM

This 100%

14-07-2023, 05:25 PM
Top 4 finish - ideally 3rd.
At least one Cup Final - ideally winning it.
Being the top team in the Capital.
That'll do for me.

14-07-2023, 05:37 PM
Tbh I think there's a bit of pressure this season, we can't let either of our direct rivals get another 3rd place European windfall, we really need to get 3rd.

Obviously not the end of the world if we don't but it will be a failure of the last few years if we let hearts or Aberdeen get a 2nd windfall before we even get one.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

14-07-2023, 05:37 PM
To finish 3rd and a good cup run would also be considered a good season.

Ron had a target for at least 4th last season.

14-07-2023, 05:46 PM
If success is doing a bit better than expected then I would say 4th in the league and one semi final in the Cups. I'd swap top six for a final and I'd probably not be too disappointed if we ended up in a relegation play off if we won a cup. If it was the Scottish I'd probably not be too despondent if we got relegated

14-07-2023, 05:53 PM
A successful season is always going to be third and / or a visit to Hampden.

An acceptable season is being in the fight for third for a decent chunk of the season and ending up top 5.

Anything less and you’re into degrees of failure.

babahibs
14-07-2023, 05:55 PM
Play exciting, attacking football.
Finish above them.
At least 2 trips to Hampden.
3rd place.
Group stage of Conference.

All 5 would be dreamland.
3 out of 5 would be a very good season.

Donegal Hibby
14-07-2023, 06:08 PM
Thought we did as well tbh . Porto's form dipped badly last couple of months . When he left and Fish came in even though it took him some time to settle in I thought we looked far more solid at the back which speaks volumes about Will Fish's quality as a defender .

Nisbet we haven't replaced and to do so we will probably need to spend over 500K at least . Names being touted like Nouble, Main and a few more aren't anywhere near good enough or the quality we need to replace Nisbet imo . We need a marquee signing as our new No 9 who can score 15 or 20 this season .

14-07-2023, 06:09 PM
Winning everything we enter or I'll organize a Petrie oot campaign.

14-07-2023, 06:16 PM
Thought we did as well tbh . Porto's form dipped badly last couple of months . When he left and Fish came in even though it took him some time to settle in I thought we looked far more solid at the back which speaks volumes about Will Fish's quality as a defender .

Nisbet we haven't replaced and to do so we will probably need to spend over 500K at least . Names being touted like Nouble, Main and a few more aren't anywhere near good enough or the quality we need to replace Nisbet imo . We need a marquee signing as our new No 9 who can score 15 or 20 this season .

Moussa Dembele is available on a free transfer, even yet put a cheeky contact offer in for Alfredo Morelos 😁

14-07-2023, 06:29 PM
Pizzas available at all concourse areas

Donegal Hibby
14-07-2023, 07:21 PM
Moussa Dembele is available on a free transfer, even yet put a cheeky contact offer in for Alfredo Morelos 😁
Think Dembele might slightly break our wage structure though we could offer him a luxurious one bedroom apartment with plenty of light which might seal the deal 😁Morelos would be a big signing for us almost as big a signing as when hertz got Nade 😆

14-07-2023, 07:26 PM
Successful: Qualification for Europe, at least one cup final, unbeaten against Hearts.

Bare minimum: 5th, at least one cup semi final, winning record against Hearts.

Anything other than that is a failure IMO.

14-07-2023, 07:30 PM
League - Win

Scottish Cup - Win

League Cup - Win

Conference League - Win

14-07-2023, 07:31 PM
A real fight for third place, that finishes in a European spot, and with kind draws deep in the cups, hopefully Hampden and a win in either.

Paulie Walnuts
14-07-2023, 08:04 PM

People slag folk for wanting an entertaining team first and foremost but the reality is that an entertaining team will also deliver results. So for me, entertainment is key, something which we’ve lacked for a while imo.

TheGog
14-07-2023, 08:32 PM
Challenge for 3rd, Trip to Hampden.

I’m 27 and I would have to say we’ve never consistently been a top 6 club, over a sustained period of time. Consistently for a period of time getting Europe and Hampden trips is something I’d never grow ungrateful for.

14-07-2023, 08:46 PM
Successful season is finishing 3rd, finishing 4th is my expectation. Anything lower and there needs to be extenuating circumstances such as horrendous injury list affecting key players. We've had a couple of windows to start fixing issues so the rebuild argument doesn't get the manager a, pass this time round.

Playing attractive, attacking football. Hibs fans will be pretty forgiving if the football is good to watch. If it's not the you're only one bad result away from dissent (see Jack Ross).

Cups are tough to define success, bar winning one. I'd say as long as we play well in the cup games I'd be happy. If we go out to a fluke goal or poor refereeing when we're on top of a game and playing well there's nothing we can do about that, same if we come up against an old firm side firing on all cylinders.

The Wireless
14-07-2023, 08:50 PM
Third in League… nothing below this and run with the wolves with everything else.

14-07-2023, 08:55 PM

People slag folk for wanting an entertaining team first and foremost but the reality is that an entertaining team will also deliver results. So for me, entertainment is key, something which we’ve lacked for a while imo.

I had no issue with the entertainment on show last season tbf.

On our day we were excellent and had an attacking approach that couldn't be faulted.

Losing poor goals and plucking awful results out of nowhere isn't entertaining whichever way it's dressed up.

But there have been seasons where I've just found the football a bit tedious - last season certainly wasn't one of them.

14-07-2023, 09:07 PM
Successful season is finishing 3rd, finishing 4th is my expectation. Anything lower and there needs to be extenuating circumstances such as horrendous injury list affecting key players. We've had a couple of windows to start fixing issues so the rebuild argument doesn't get the manager a, pass this time round.

Playing attractive, attacking football. Hibs fans will be pretty forgiving if the football is good to watch. If it's not the you're only one bad result away from dissent (see Jack Ross).

Cups are tough to define success, bar winning one. I'd say as long as we play well in the cup games I'd be happy. If we go out to a fluke goal or poor refereeing when we're on top of a game and playing well there's nothing we can do about that, same if we come up against an old firm side firing on all cylinders.

Since 2000-2001 season we’ve managed top 4 only 4 times. 23 seasons, 2 3rd place and 2 4th place.

14-07-2023, 09:19 PM
5th or better in the league and at least 1 visit to Hampden has to be our minimum goal each year.

14-07-2023, 09:35 PM
I’ll settle for an improvement on last season. That means 4th minimum, and getting close in the cups.

Also an improved derby record. Hearts are pish so that’s achievable.

any success at all in Europe would be a delicious bonus

14-07-2023, 11:42 PM
Since 2000-2001 season we’ve managed top 4 only 4 times. 23 seasons, 2 3rd place and 2 4th place.

I get that, but I also think we've massively under performed many of those seasons.

We were 5th last season, and we missed players in key positions via injury and recruitment not working out as hoped. This summer we should rectify that for the first eleven, then it's hoping we stay injury free. I genuinely think we'll be clear in 4th before the turn of the year and either in 3rd or in a close battle with whoever is in 3rd.

15-07-2023, 12:51 AM
Challenge for third
Unbeaten in the derbies
At least the semi finals in the cups
Group stages of the Conference league

15-07-2023, 07:37 AM
Fortress Easter Road. I would love it if teams were bricking it to come here, unfortunately the opposite is the case.

15-07-2023, 08:10 AM
I get that, but I also think we've massively under performed many of those seasons.

We were 5th last season, and we missed players in key positions via injury and recruitment not working out as hoped. This summer we should rectify that for the first eleven, then it's hoping we stay injury free. I genuinely think we'll be clear in 4th before the turn of the year and either in 3rd or in a close battle with whoever is in 3rd.

I hope you’re right. Who don’t you think will be challenging us, Hearts or Aberdeen?

15-07-2023, 08:24 AM
Fortress Easter Road. I would love it if teams were bricking it to come here, unfortunately the opposite is the case.

instead we have the crazy situation of the last couple of years where teams that can’t buy a win anywhere else are thanking god that they have Hibs up next

15-07-2023, 09:18 AM
10th and a cup win …

Tommy75
15-07-2023, 10:17 AM
A genuine challenge for 3rd. If we come 5th but have made a real push for 3rd I think that's acceptable.

Cup is a bit of a lottery depending on who we get in the draw. A decent draw we could cruise to both finals, OF early doors and we are likely out.

Key West
15-07-2023, 11:45 AM
A successful season in my humble opinion would be consistency in results and performances, individuals improving and perhaps a platform being built for smoother transitions in the future.

15-07-2023, 12:11 PM
3rd would be brilliant with a great chance of group stage in Europe
Winning a cup brilliant
Making the group stages of the conference after negotiating three play offs would be fantastic
Any one of they three would be a successful season, with two making it a cracker.

15-07-2023, 02:11 PM
Our KPI’s should be:

5th is the minimum requirement, with top 6 achieved comfortably
4th is a good season
3rd is a great season

More points than Hearts from the Derbies

Targeting both cup semis, especially if we avoid the Old Firm in the earlier rounds.

16-07-2023, 07:19 AM
Europe.
Visit to Hampden.
Profit.

16-07-2023, 09:46 AM
Challenge for third but not finish below fifth
Good cup runs but depends on the draw
No defeats to Hearts

Play decent football and try to win games on the front foot

Wakeyhibee
16-07-2023, 09:55 AM
3rd in league
SC Final appearance
LC Final appearance
Better record than Hearts in Derby games.
ECL group stage

2 or 3 of the above. All 5 would be unbelievable Jeff.

16-07-2023, 08:37 PM
Put the lesser Greens in their place.
Smash the Huns.
Make the Yams cringe bitter tears of anguish.

I'm Spartacus
17-07-2023, 07:52 AM
Only 3rd is a success.
Scottish Cup Final would be the cherry, then a League Cup Final.

Just_Jimmy
17-07-2023, 10:36 AM
A cup final is only a success if we win it.

3rd is minimum we should aim for.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

17-07-2023, 10:38 AM

Minimum?

17-07-2023, 11:34 AM

Why is a cup only a success if we win but 3rd in the league is a success?

17-07-2023, 11:54 AM
Why is a cup only a success if we win but 3rd in the league is a success?

You get nothing for being runner up in a cup. Third guarantees you group stage European football currently.

17-07-2023, 12:05 PM
I had no issue with the entertainment on show last season tbf.

On our day we were excellent and had an attacking approach that couldn't be faulted.

Losing poor goals and plucking awful results out of nowhere isn't entertaining whichever way it's dressed up.

But there have been seasons where I've just found the football a bit tedious - last season certainly wasn't one of them.

I agree. Some of the best football we've played in years was last season. At times we were very good to watch and I don't think our performances always got the the results they deserved. Hopefully we do it more consistently this season. Staying consistent is the problem for teams with our budget though. Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen will all have bad runs again this season. The ripping up and starting again approach changing managers rarely works.

Paulie Walnuts
17-07-2023, 12:05 PM
You get nothing for being runner up in a cup. Third guarantees you group stage European football currently.

There’s also a genuine chance of winning a cup. There’s no chance of winning the league so it’s not even worth considering the first two positions.

17-07-2023, 12:48 PM

It’s just basic. We need to be in europe.

17-07-2023, 12:54 PM
For a lot of peoples definition of success on here, then Jack Ross would have been one of the most successful Hibs managers of the last twenty years, but that wasn't enough.

For me it comes down to enjoying going to the football. In the end I quite enjoyed the last half of last season, and as long as we finish top five, have a good run in one cup, but largely provide entertainment then I'm happy.

There are those who keep saying that Alan Stubbs finished third in the season we won the cup, but that doesn't bother me. We were entertaining, had entertaining players, had some amazing days out and it finished with a cup win. That was possibly my favourite season as a Hibs fan that I can remember for a long, long time, certainly since the days we had Deeks and co.

17-07-2023, 01:01 PM
For a lot of peoples definition of success on here, then Jack Ross would have been one of the most successful Hibs managers of the last twenty years, but that wasn't enough.

For me it comes down to enjoying going to the football. In the end I quite enjoyed the last half of last season, and as long as we finish top five, have a good run in one cup, but largely provide entertainment then I'm happy.

There are those who keep saying that Alan Stubbs finished third in the season we won the cup, but that doesn't bother me. We were entertaining, had entertaining players, had some amazing days out and it finished with a cup win. That was possibly my favourite season as a Hibs fan that I can remember for a long, long time, certainly since the days we had Deeks and co.

That’s a different qn then. What fans want and what means success for the club is quite often very different. As you say Jack Ross the prime example.

Paulie Walnuts
17-07-2023, 01:10 PM

Agree.

Success for me is enjoying going to watch us. If we play a brand of football that is enjoyable we’ll also be fairly succesful in terms of results as well, the two pretty much go hand in hand at Hibs.

From a purely sporting/results point of view I think top 5, semi finals of both cups without the eventual exit being an embarrassing one and at least breaking even against Hearts in terms of points will be seen as succesful within the club. If you can maintain that then you’d likely have a job for many years as a manager.

17-07-2023, 01:56 PM
Agree.

Success for me is enjoying going to watch us. If we play a brand of football that is enjoyable we’ll also be fairly succesful in terms of results as well, the two pretty much go hand in hand at Hibs.

From a purely sporting/results point of view I think top 5, semi finals of both cups without the eventual exit being an embarrassing one and at least breaking even against Hearts in terms of points will be seen as succesful within the club. If you can maintain that then you’d likely have a job for many years as a manager.

Top 5 is seen as failure within the club. Our KPI is clear. Semi Finals and 4th is the standard.

17-07-2023, 02:10 PM
Same as every season.
3rd = successful
4th/5th = decent
6th = below par
Everything below 6th is out and out failure.

Do something in the cups and you can maybe turn a blind eye to failure in the league but that’s about it.
For Johnson, if he doesn’t get us 4th minimum and an improved cup performance, he won’t survive.

17-07-2023, 02:17 PM
I'd be delighted with a semi-final and a proper challenge for third.

More importantly than that, for me, I want to feel enthusiastic about the club again. I've not really enjoyed the last couple of seasons and just can't take to LJ as our manager.

Expectations are much the same as they were this time last year and i think the season will pan out in a similar way. I think we'll do better in the league cup though.

17-07-2023, 02:18 PM
I think we'll do better in the league cup though.

We already have!

Paulie Walnuts
17-07-2023, 02:19 PM
Top 5 is seen as failure within the club. Our KPI is clear. Semi Finals and 4th is the standard.

Have we said this somewhere?

I’m stunned LJ is still here if that’s the case as he failed on every front with both cups in particular being quite spectacular failures.

17-07-2023, 05:16 PM

I’m stunned LJ is still here if that’s the case as he failed on every front with both cups in particular being quite spectacular failures.

I'm glad we've given LJ time to get his team together. Only now will we see if his philosophy is a winner or not.

Paulie Walnuts
17-07-2023, 05:40 PM
I'm glad we've given LJ time to get his team together. Only now will we see if his philosophy is a winner or not.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying we should sack him. But if 5th is seen as a failure and semi finals expected as standard then I don’t see how he’s still in a job as he’s been catastrophic by those measures.

SJNB Hibby
17-07-2023, 06:04 PM
Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying we should sack him. But if 5th is seen as a failure and semi finals expected as standard then I don’t see how he’s still in a job as he’s been catastrophic by those measures.
It's only been one season. We're in Europe. League Cup was a mess, and he'd only just started. The Scottish Cup was Hearts.....
Cups, yes we should be in the Semis, but it is still a bit of a lottery. But we'll be seeded in the last 16 because of qualifying for Europe---so we'll miss the OF, Hearts and Aberdeen. We should beat any of the others....so really q-f will be the minimum this year

17-07-2023, 07:06 PM

A manager shouldn't be judged when he's managing someone else's team. Let's see what this season brings.

17-07-2023, 08:16 PM
Going off on a tangent here a bit, but when was the last time that we could have harboured even the remotest hope of winning the league? Did it go forever mid-70s?

17-07-2023, 08:37 PM
Going off on a tangent here a bit, but when was the last time that we could have harboured even the remotest hope of winning the league? Did it go forever mid-70s?

Probably 74/75 was the last time. As I write it it is really sad to think that a club of our stature has been such an underachiever when it comes to hoping to win the league

17-07-2023, 09:05 PM
Probably 74/75 was the last time. As I write it it is really sad to think that a club of our stature has been such an underachiever when it comes to hoping to win the league

Aye. I've been thinking about it since my post and don't think it was beyond a non-Glasgow team to do it until 1986, as Aberdeen and United showed, and Hearts so nearly did (and, for once, I mean that sincerely and not having a go). The Murray money killed it stone dead.

Our problem was sliding out of it for the last ten years or so of the window. Sad how we went from being kept back only by Jock Stein's Celtc to relegation and 80s stagnation.

There were a couple of "surely not" moments in the 90s - start of 91/92 and the start of 93/94 but both times you knew it was very much heart over head.

17-07-2023, 09:52 PM
A successful league season would be fourth place, a great season would be third and a bad season would be bottom six.

A successful cup season depends on the draw but probably two semis or a final, with a great season being a cup win. A bad season is being knocked out earlier than that by bottom six or lower league clubs.

Just_Jimmy
18-07-2023, 08:17 AM
Minimum?Aim for

Basildon Hibs
18-07-2023, 08:24 AM
A manager shouldn't be judged when he's managing someone else's team. Let's see what this season brings.

LJ had final say on signings - or so he kept telling us..🙄

18-07-2023, 08:53 AM
From a personal point of view, I want to watch exciting games, not football where we might have 70% of the possession but the fans are bored to tears watching the ball pinging aimlessly around the back four.

I want us to comfortably reach the top six at the split, then see where we go from there (3rd being the ideal finish).

Beat Hearts multiple times and reach the latter stages of the cups *

* It would be nice to actually win one of the cups, but we don't do that too often, so not getting my hopes up on that one.

18-07-2023, 09:04 AM

4th and semi finals has been mentioned constantly since we came back up. Ben K talks about is every time we sign a new manager. It’s also stated at every AGM.

Paulie Walnuts
18-07-2023, 09:16 AM
4th and semi finals has been mentioned constantly since we came back up. Ben K talks about is every time we sign a new manager. It’s also stated at every AGM.

In that case I wonder what the logic is for not sacking Lee Johnson.

There can’t be many managers who fail in every metric of their KPIs, failing spectacularly in 2 out of 3 of them and manage to keep their job. As far as I can remember we were never in the top 4 at any point of last season so he essentially failed throughout the whole season.

They can’t be all that ‘key’ if they get disregarded so easily.

18-07-2023, 09:20 AM
In that case I wonder what the logic is for not sacking Lee Johnson.

There can’t be many managers who fail in every metric of their KPIs, failing spectacularly in 2 out of 3 of them and manage to keep their job.

They can’t be all that ‘key’ if they get disregarded so easily.

A lot of stuff that comes out from the football dept tends to be ignored a few months later. Take it all with a pinch of salt. Remember they said that the young players would be involved in match day squads only for them to disappear from the squads and them filling the bench with players of zero quality.

18-07-2023, 09:26 AM

In Jack Ross we had a manager who over deivered in both areas yet we got rid of him....

Paulie Walnuts
18-07-2023, 09:43 AM
In Jack Ross we had a manager who over deivered in both areas yet we got rid of him....

He didn’t deliver in his first season where he failed in terms of league position and he was failing badly in the league in his last one. He was hitting the cup KPIs though if they’re actually what we are demanding.

18-07-2023, 09:58 AM

Yep. Totally agree. And he was also spending a lot less that we are currently. Football is a funny old game.

18-07-2023, 08:45 PM
League - Win

Scottish Cup - Win

League Cup - Win

Conference League - Win

This would be - beyond doubt - a successful season.

18-07-2023, 08:51 PM
This would be - beyond doubt - a successful season.

With Hearts as runners up in all the same competitions :wink:

18-07-2023, 09:04 PM
With Hearts as runners up in all the same competitions :wink:

They’d look back on 1986 as ‘not that bad, really’.

18-07-2023, 11:35 PM
He didn’t deliver in his first season where he failed in terms of league position and he was failing badly in the league in his last one. He was hitting the cup KPIs though if they’re actually what we are demanding.

Cmon mate, the first season he took over when we were a shambles and then the season got cut short cos of covid. He did get us to a semi final that season so passed that part of the assignment according to the boards criteria.

First full season, 2 semis, a final and 3rd place. Ticked all the boxes, despite it ultimately being incredibly dissapointing as to what should have been.

Next season, semi final, cup final ( two ticks) and we can't say where we would have ended up in the league. Im certain he would have done better than Maloney though. Disgraceful he never got to manage us in the cup final, and there is no doubt Ron regretted that.

I know you were not a fan which is fair enough, but its a stretch to say he failed badly in those 2 league campaigns I think.

Paulie Walnuts
19-07-2023, 06:01 AM
Cmon mate, the first season he took over when we were a shambles and then the season got cut short cos of covid. He did get us to a semi final that season so passed that part of the assignment according to the boards criteria.

First full season, 2 semis, a final and 3rd place. Ticked all the boxes, despite it ultimately being incredibly dissapointing as to what should have been.

Next season, semi final, cup final ( two ticks) and we can't say where we would have ended up in the league. Im certain he would have done better than Maloney though. Disgraceful he never got to manage us in the cup final, and there is no doubt Ron regretted that.

I know you were not a fan which is fair enough, but its a stretch to say he failed badly in those 2 league campaigns I think.

The first season he was manager for the majority of games and we climbed from 8th when he took over to 7th in the final placings. He had more than enough games to do better than that.

Of course in the last season we couldn’t say where we’d finished if he’d stayed so all we have to go on is where we were when he got punted. And that wasn’t pretty.

The first and third seasons league wise were failures in terms of his time here imo.

19-07-2023, 07:39 AM
The first season he was manager for the majority of games and we climbed from 8th when he took over to 7th in the final placings. He had more than enough games to do better than that.

Of course in the last season we couldn’t say where we’d finished if he’d stayed so all we have to go on is where we were when he got punted. And that wasn’t pretty.

The first and third seasons league wise were failures in terms of his time here imo.

The old 7th in the final placings patter. A classic of yours.

(For anyone reading, we were actually 6th)

19-07-2023, 10:48 AM
Aye. I've been thinking about it since my post and don't think it was beyond a non-Glasgow team to do it until 1986, as Aberdeen and United showed, and Hearts so nearly did (and, for once, I mean that sincerely and not having a go). The Murray money killed it stone dead.

Our problem was sliding out of it for the last ten years or so of the window. Sad how we went from being kept back only by Jock Stein's Celtc to relegation and 80s stagnation.

There were a couple of "surely not" moments in the 90s - start of 91/92 and the start of 93/94 but both times you knew it was very much heart over head.

You've made a point there that probably doesn't get the attention it deserves. Murray wanted to be competitive in Europe and spent the money to do that, at the same time turning Ibrox into the best stadium in the country. It forced Celtic to retaliate and they were just fortunate that Fergus McCann came along when he did.

Along with the riches available from guaranteed European football a playing field that was already tilted in favour of the Uglies is now at a 45 degree angle in their favour .... He might have destroyed Rangers 1872 doing it, but Murray more than any other factor is probably responsible for the situation we now find ourselves in .... he might have destroyed the original Rangers, but he all but destroyed the Scottish football league as well in the process.

We can apportion some of the blame to Ayr United as well .... If they hadn't turned down his offer to buy the club before he bought Rangers 1872 Scottish football might be very different than it is today, not to mention Ayr United, if they still existed of course :greengrin

19-07-2023, 12:40 PM
Celtic didn't do anything. They were kite for years, in millions of debt and playing in front of crowds under 12k. They were well on their way to going out of business until their own David Murray (Fergus McCann) turned up and saved them.