View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian v Bournemouth

13-07-2023, 01:35 PM
Team news and updates here.

5pm BST kick off, live on HibsTV YouTube (https://youtube.com/@HibsTV)

13-07-2023, 01:39 PM
Obita out injured, something we should get used to.

13-07-2023, 01:42 PM

Players out injured…yeah we’re used to that! Hope it’s just a niggle.

13-07-2023, 01:52 PM

Hope it's not too serious???

13-07-2023, 01:58 PM
Joe Newell on co-commentary

13-07-2023, 01:59 PM
Hope it's not too serious???

Muscle strain, 2 weeks maybe.

13-07-2023, 02:00 PM
Thought it was 6pm?

13-07-2023, 02:01 PM

Normal pre season type of injury.

Tha Cabbage Kid
13-07-2023, 02:06 PM

13-07-2023, 02:10 PM

Are you saying we should get used to him being out injured? He played 30 odd games last season.

Tha Cabbage Kid
13-07-2023, 02:19 PM
Are you saying we should get used to him being out injured? He played 30 odd games last season.

maybe he meant we should get used to having good players who should be increasing the quality on the pitch being injured.

if not Magennis then boyle or newell or cadden or mcgeady or Nisbet or Obita.

13-07-2023, 02:21 PM
Thought it was 6pm?

6pm local time, 5pm here: https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/watch-hibs-vs-afc-bournemouth-live

13-07-2023, 02:57 PM

Good few Wycombe fans commented he was injury prone, 30 games in a season isn’t too bad though.

13-07-2023, 03:01 PM
Team

Wallacot

Megwa
Rocky
Hanlon
Stevenson

Levitt
Jeggo
Campbell

Youan
Melks
ALF

13-07-2023, 03:03 PM
Subs

Marsh, Boric, Kenneh, Delf, JDH, McAlister, MacIntyre, Molitnikov, Mackay, Doidge

13-07-2023, 03:03 PM
Only 8 outfield players on the bench, Boyle said he was hoping to be involved but still not yet.

13-07-2023, 03:08 PM
That's a pity. Was looking forward to watching Obita again today. Really impressed me against Europa.

Paul1642
13-07-2023, 03:08 PM
First leg of Inter Club vs Vikingur is underway.

13-07-2023, 03:11 PM
That team highlights how much work is needed still.

13-07-2023, 03:15 PM

But we have a a few starting players out also. We need a 9 and a CB. Anything else will be a bonus.

13-07-2023, 03:17 PM
But we have a a few starting players out also. We need a 9 and a CB. Anything else will be a bonus.

I think we need a 9, 2 CB’s and a CM.

Three centre halves is not enough.

Rocky is not good enough.

Paul1642
13-07-2023, 03:20 PM

I’m happy with about 6 of them as starters

Wallacot / (Marshall is fine If Wallacot proves to be no better)

Rocky
Hanlon

Levitt

Youan
ALG

I’m quite hopeful for Megwa and Melkerson and the remainder, Stevenson, Campbell and Jeggo are all solid enough as squad players, just not all 5 in the team at once.

With first 11 players Boyle, Obita, Newell and Miller all just a few weeks away at most with injuries I don’t think we are far away from having a strong 11, a little bit of depth and some good young prospects.

That’s before you factor in Fish being an apparently done deal.

13-07-2023, 03:21 PM
I’m happy with about 6 of them as starters

Wallacot

Rocky
Hanlon

Levitt

Youan
ALG

I’m quite hopeful for Megwa and Melkerson and the remainder, Stevenson, Campbell and Jeggo are all solid enough as squad players, just not all 5 in the team at once.

With first 11 players Boyle, Obita, Newell and Miller all just a few weeks away at most with injuries I don’t think we are far away from having a strong 11, a little bit of depth and some good young prospects.

Jeggo will play all season

13-07-2023, 03:22 PM

I really hope not. He's not required in the majority of games. Levitt can orchestrate rather than just sit.

Paul1642
13-07-2023, 03:22 PM

I’m fine with that. No more said in the matter as it’s been done to death on other threads :)

13-07-2023, 03:25 PM
3x30mins tonight.

13-07-2023, 03:27 PM
I really hope not. He's not required in the majority of games. Levitt can orchestrate rather than just sit.

Can he tackle and intercept though? I'm not expecting Jeggo to play much ball but I'm sure he will be anchoring behind Levitt & Newell in most games.

JammyDoidger
13-07-2023, 03:29 PM
More quality signings needed imminently. The squad as it stands will be fighting around mid table.

13-07-2023, 03:33 PM

Agree with this :agree:

13-07-2023, 03:38 PM
More quality signings needed imminently. The squad as it stands will be fighting around mid table.

Don't Panic.

Trinity Hibee
13-07-2023, 03:41 PM
Only 8 outfield players on the bench, Boyle said he was hoping to be involved but still not yet.

Thought Boyle wasn’t back until one of the European games?

13-07-2023, 03:41 PM

I think we will only get Fish and rely on Rocky for injuries and if required we have Kenneh and Delf as potential make shifts. If we sign another CB its going to be like Devlin who will just sit in the background all season.

JammyDoidger
13-07-2023, 03:44 PM
Don't Panic.

Not panicking as such, what will be will be, just wish we would get our main business done a bit quicker. 2 centre half's and a quality striker is so important, hope they'll be worth the wait!

Paul1642
13-07-2023, 03:49 PM
Not panicking as such, what will be will be, just wish we would get our main business done a bit quicker. 2 centre half's and a quality striker is so important, hope they'll be worth the wait!

I think we have done out business fairly quickly, especially if Fish is in the door within the next week. A number 9 is fairly essential however not convinced we need a 4th choice CB as a matter of urgency. Need to give academy players chances here and there if they are ever going to make it and pushing whoever our best young CB down to 5th choice would tell a story about our faith in the young team.

13-07-2023, 03:53 PM
Dreadful sound on YouTube 👎

13-07-2023, 03:56 PM
Thought Boyle wasn’t back until one of the European games?

It was an article from the BBC gossip today saying he wanted to be involved today. Think we might see him get some minutes in next Friday's friendly.

13-07-2023, 03:58 PM

I have a muffling sound, sounds like when someone pocket phones you.

Tha Cabbage Kid
13-07-2023, 03:58 PM

its not started yet.

13-07-2023, 04:00 PM
I have a muffling sound, sounds like when someone pocket phones you.

Effects mics picking up the wind I think. Hardly surprising that the AV setup isn't stellar in this kind of venue, but hopefully the commentator's mics will be ok.

13-07-2023, 04:03 PM
Bournemouth TV commentary on 😕

Much better viewing on the main camera with Green vs Red.

Bournemouth TV commentary.

Yup, Joe N is meant to be commentating

Tha Cabbage Kid
what happened to th hibs commentary?

13-07-2023, 04:04 PM
That's it, I won't be back.

Helensburghhibs
Im fed up of him referring to the "cherries" already

what happened to th hibs commentary?

Joe Newell only shows up every other game.

13-07-2023, 04:06 PM
Fantastic to see David Brooks playing tbh. Been through a tough time.

13-07-2023, 04:06 PM
Needs to turn his notification sound effects off

13-07-2023, 04:07 PM
🍒 💩

13-07-2023, 04:08 PM
🍒 💩

We need to pop these cherries.

I was checking my tablet for notifications thinking it was me. This guy is annoying AF.

Loves to say 'Cherries ' eh

13-07-2023, 04:09 PM

Thanks, I was hunting for the rogue browser tab that was coming from…

13-07-2023, 04:09 PM
i'm reading the expert commentators in the comments box slagging the guy that IS commentating, they should try it themselves

13-07-2023, 04:10 PM
0-1

0-1

Good goal

Great strike for Bournemouth. 1-0

Paul1642
Fantastic to see David Brooks playing tbh. Been through a tough time.

Boo

Corking strike.

Some strike

Lewis has to do better there. Invited teh shot and it was gratefully accepted

Hanlon bullied by Moore in the lead up

Moore bullied Hanlon there. We were in trouble as soon as he lost that battle. Good finish though.

JammyDoidger
Hanlon bullied there, poor.

13-07-2023, 04:11 PM
Good goal, not so good defending

Commentary changed.

Paul1642
Poor defending for the goal. Sounds suddenly got better there and came through my speaker like an explosion 😂

13-07-2023, 04:12 PM
nice goal bournemouth 0-1

1-0

Poor defending by Hanlon who gets outmuscled, played wide to Cook who smashes it in, was a great finish

Great strike for their goal. Megwa been involved a lot, like the look of him.

Was a bright start from Hibs, some strike for the goal though.

Tha Cabbage Kid
is it just me or does Wollacott remind you of Guile from Street Fighter?

Great strike. Poor defending from Hanlon and Stevenson in lead up.

13-07-2023, 04:13 PM
Come on Hibs. Being beaten by a beach. Not good enough.

13-07-2023, 04:17 PM
Cricket score inbound here.

coulda shoulda been two

Another poor goal defensively

This could be a cricket score

2-0

Poor defending by Rocky this time and another very good finish

GRA
2-0. two great strikes

2-0, really good finish after a lucky deflection.

It is 2. Need to wake up here

Getting totally outclassed here. Could end up 6 or 7 if we continue to give it away. No idea how to get out of defense at all.

Always going to be a tough game quality wise and still only pre-season.

Could of done better with both goals though.

Crap defending again

Could get a doing here. Another poor goal.

AL-Qaholik
13-07-2023, 04:18 PM
We look like we’ve never met

The Captain....
Really poor defensively so far.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

Bridge hibs
Bang goes the 3 points then 🤬

Melkersen is just never a winger, feel bad for him getting chucked out there and rarely getting a chance through the middle

13-07-2023, 04:19 PM
come on Bournemouth go easy on us ffs

This could be a tough watch !

JammyDoidger
Midfield non existent. No outball atall.

Double figures incoming if this keeps up. Hanlon poor for the 1st goal but missed the 2nd.

Melkersen is just never a winger, feel bad for him getting chucked out there and rarely getting a chance through the middle

Agree. Give him a run of games through the middle and let's see what he can do.

Getting totally outclassed here. Could end up 6 or 7 if we continue to give it away. No idea how to get out of defense at all.

Said it all mate. There's obviously going to be a gulf in class, but we are causing our own problems giving the ball away too easily and then defending the fallout from it poorly.

13-07-2023, 04:20 PM
Could be a morale sapping pumping here

We’re obviously not going to be up against EPL opponents but you’d like to try stay in it for longer than 20mins

Said it all mate. There's obviously going to be a gulf in class, but we are causing our own problems giving the ball away too easily and then defending the fallout from it poorly.

Not much on the bench to shake this up.

13-07-2023, 04:21 PM
Megwa looking dodgy. Totally asleep at the second goal.

Kiefer Moore bullying the CH's.

sauzeelegod
13-07-2023, 04:21 PM
Levitt looks like he’s playing deeper than Jeggo.

13-07-2023, 04:22 PM
We look like we are playing a friendly and they look like they are treating it as a competitive match.

13-07-2023, 04:23 PM
This is a tougher task than Megwa will have to deal with all season, bar maybe Celtic. I think he’s looked decent in the circumstances, especially for a teenager. He’s had absolutely nobody showing him an option.

13-07-2023, 04:23 PM
Always going to be a tough game quality wise and still only pre-season.

Could of done better with both goals though.

Have, it's effing have 😉

13-07-2023, 04:24 PM
Megwa is a good player at his age but doesn’t look like a first team right back yet.

Helensburghhibs
They are setting up the press and we are falling for it every time. Levitt deep again, if we are going to play him there he will be wasted. Much like melkerson on the wing

chippy
Megwa looking dodgy. Totally asleep at the second goal.

Kiefer Moore bullying the CH's.

Think it was poor defending from Rocky not Megwa

13-07-2023, 04:25 PM
I’m pretty sure Bournemouth have 13 players on the pitch !

What a great block by Rocky but terrible defending again

dmc1875

The defending so far in general has been non existent

Some defending by Rocky there to be fare.

13-07-2023, 04:26 PM
Sleeping at the back at times and can't cope with this quality at the moment.

Going to be a few tired legs after this game, rolling subs?

Might have to get bourc outfield 😁

Need to get to the first break.

Shooty in from Bournemouth at the mo....

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

This is a tougher task than Megwa will have to deal with all season, bar maybe Celtic. I think he’s looked decent in the circumstances, especially for a teenager. He’s had absolutely nobody showing him an option.

He’s toiling for me. Like the all are so nothing against him.

We’ve been really poor defensively.

13-07-2023, 04:27 PM
good news is it's still just 2-0

They are a millions miles better than us all over the field. Hopefully they will bring on a C team later.

dmc1875
Has Melkersen ever shown anything to suggest he should be on the wing? Utterly bizarre we keep trying to play him there

We look like we are playing a friendly and they look like they are treating it as a competitive match.

Have we won a tackle?

This midfield is painful to watch. Absolutely no idea what they're supposed to be doing. Not made a pass.

13-07-2023, 04:29 PM
Nice turn and distribution by Melkersen..looking for positives

JammyDoidger
13-07-2023, 04:29 PM
If we are relying on miller and megwa we are in trouble. Loan the young man out and bring in a starter for that position.

13-07-2023, 04:30 PM
Shot!

13-07-2023, 04:30 PM
He’s toiling for me. Like the all are so nothing against him.

We’ve been really poor defensively.

He has been very poor so far but he wouldn't be thought of as a first team player so not too big an issue. Melkerson has had a few nice touches but we really need to try and pass the ball more carefully as we are giving it away so easily

13-07-2023, 04:32 PM
He has been very poor so far but he wouldn't be thought of as a first team player so not too big an issue. Melkerson has had a few nice touches but we really need to try and pass the ball more carefully as we are giving it away so easily

As it stands he’s out back up right back though. And the guy ahead of him still has a lot to prove and is quite fond of an injury. Only pre season but big opportunity for the likes of Megwa.

13-07-2023, 04:33 PM
On the plus side it does look like Levitt is going to play deeper and he's the only one comfortable receiving the ball in our midfield.

13-07-2023, 04:34 PM
If this is 3x 30 mins I hope we are giving the Melkersen, 30 mins through the middle

K-Zazu
13-07-2023, 04:34 PM

Don’t think he’s a striker either

13-07-2023, 04:36 PM
2-0 at 1/3rds time

Tha Cabbage Kid
It looks like we have just played a match and been asked to stay and and play another game. the whole team look knacked already!

Paulie Walnuts
Megwa is a good player at his age but doesn’t look like a first team right back yet.

Said it elsewhere but none of that side are ready for first team football at Hibs yet imo.

It looks like we have just played a match and been asked to stay and and play another game. the whole team look knacked already!

It’s about 35 degrees or something isn’t it?

13-07-2023, 04:37 PM
If we are relying on miller and megwa we are in trouble. Loan the young man out and bring in a starter for that position.

No issue with Miller starting but definitely need a stronger back up

Megwa and melkersen really struggling, Hanlon bullied for the first, Campbell with atrocious body shape and getting Megged, rest of the team doing a Great job giving the ball away.

Good thing it's only a friendly, it can only get better!

Tha Cabbage Kid
It’s about 35 degrees or something isn’t it?

ok but its 35 deg for both teams right? Bournebouth look fine.

13-07-2023, 04:38 PM

Watch it back mate. Rocky could have done better but Megwa was yards off his man who scored.

Hopefully It’s a game of three half’s. 😁

Megwa and melkersen really struggling, Hanlon bullied for the first, Campbell with atrocious body shape and getting Megged, rest of the team doing a Great job giving the ball away.

Good thing it's only a friendly, it can only get better!

Melkersen hasn't been any worse than le fondre

13-07-2023, 04:40 PM
Melkersen hasn't been any worse than le fondre

I honestly forgot he was playing, wait until we bring Levitt on. 👍

13-07-2023, 04:40 PM
Has Melkersen ever shown anything to suggest he should be on the wing? Utterly bizarre we keep trying to play him there

He plays better coming off the left, unfortunately so does Youan. I'd like to see us getting a proper left footed wide man in so he can play off the right or left.

Also who ever it is that has their notifications on, turn it off it's bloody annoying.

JamesHFC
13-07-2023, 04:42 PM
Doidge will turn this around.

40 degrees according to commentator ... why Bournemouth refused Hibs request for a later KO time is anybody's guess.

Not looking for miracles here, just to look organised in defence and keep the ball better when we have possession. So far neither of these things is happening, a shambles at the back for the first 20 odd minutes and far far too many loose passes, there's no excuse for the latter especially ... professional football players, the most basic thing that can be asked of you is not to give the ball away cheaply.

Bournemouth are obviously going to be a very good side compared to our usual standard of opponent, but we don't have to do their job for them.

Outclassed and outplayed, so comfortable for Bournemouth. Looks like 10 Hibs outfielders and 15 for Bournemouth. They have space and time all over the pitch.

ErinGoBraghHFC
Doidge will turn this around.

Ballon d’Oidge is back

Crunchie
13-07-2023, 04:43 PM
Calm down foks it's a friendly against quality opposition, we won't be up against anything like this domestically.

13-07-2023, 04:44 PM
Are Bournemouth an EPL team?

40 degrees according to commentator ... why Bournemouth refused Hibs request for a later KO time is anybody's guess.

He said 30, not 40.

Read somewhere (EEN?) a few days back that it was forecast to be 40 C, but it's not: https://www.accuweather.com/en/es/marbella/301912/weather-forecast/301912

Currently top of the EPL.

Paul1642

Not looking for miracles here, just to look organised in defence and keep the ball better when we have possession. So far neither of these things is happening, a shambles at the back for the first 20 odd minutes and far far too many loose passes, there's no excuse for the latter especially ... professional football players, the most basic thing that can be asked of you is not to give the ball away cheaply.

If it is 40 degrees then that’s really hard going. My weather app showing Marbella as 28 degrees though so maybe not.

They're out of our league anyway.

ErinGoBraghHFC

I think they are again yeah, not really interested in English fitba now though so could be wrong

13-07-2023, 04:45 PM
As it stands he’s out back up right back though. And the guy ahead of him still has a lot to prove and is quite fond of an injury. Only pre season but big opportunity for the likes of Megwa.

He will never have ti play against Bournemouth tho

The gulf between an EPL team and us is there for all to see, we deal in frees and the odd thousands, not in millions like them.

ok but its 35 deg for both teams right? Bournebouth look fine.

Aye but Bournemouth is further south. So they're used to it.

Paul1642
13-07-2023, 04:46 PM
They're out of our league anyway.

No better than Celtic (or a strong on form rangers team) IMO, especially the team they have out.

EVENTUALLY
Big difference for Megwa today. Hibs Dev/Kelty level against EPL winger who is big strong and skilful. He'll need a few games to adjust and I've no doubt he will. He's also having to cope with Rocky's exocet passes and a press from the winger which is testing him. He'll be fine in due course and will get better and more confident with games in the spfl. Campbell looks lost in the midfield and Le Fondre is not likely to do anything against these defenders.

Yes ... have been for a few years now.

13-07-2023, 04:49 PM
Wtf was that from Alf?!

Yes ... have been for a few years now.

Just been promoted back up.

Melkersen and Youan swapped wings.

13-07-2023, 04:50 PM
I know it's a friendly but nearly all these players look miles off it, don't know if it's because they're a better team or not.

13-07-2023, 04:51 PM
Waste of a free kick there

Aye, finished 1 point behind a European trophy winning team.

The gulf between an EPL team and us is there for all to see, we deal in frees and the odd thousands, not in millions like them.

They also deal in a gameplan, something we've not got at all from watching this.

13-07-2023, 04:52 PM

Promoted in 21/22, they were in the EPL last season.

JammyDoidger
13-07-2023, 04:52 PM
No issue with Miller starting but definitely need a stronger back up

My issue is I don't think he can be relied upon to start most weeks. What makes this season different to last season. Big risk for me.

13-07-2023, 04:53 PM

Not last season, Burnley, Sheff U and Luton were.

13-07-2023, 04:54 PM

they were in the EPL last season

Promoted in 21/22, they were in the EPL last season.

That's what I meant but worded it wrong.

Aye but Bournemouth is further south. So they're used to it.

English Riviera 😉

The Captain....
13-07-2023, 04:55 PM
Wasn't expecting much from this but we look like we've got a long way to go sharpness/fitness wise. (Slowly) Chasing shadows most of the game do far.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

13-07-2023, 04:56 PM
Wish I had seen the team before I put my prediction in

Great save.

Great save Wallacott

13-07-2023, 04:57 PM
Excellent save there.

13-07-2023, 04:57 PM
Nearly 3, off the post, our passing is dreadful 😔

13-07-2023, 05:00 PM
Levitt, Jeggo and Campbell doesn’t look a good combination.

ErinGoBraghHFC
13-07-2023, 05:01 PM

I can’t believe I’m saying this… needs Newells possession retention to balance it out.

13-07-2023, 05:01 PM
I turned off after 10 mins to watch the tennis. Back on and it's at 42 mins but we are shooting towards the other goal . What's going on?

ErinGoBraghHFC
13-07-2023, 05:03 PM
I turned off after 10 mins to watch the tennis. Back on and it's at 42 mins but we are shooting towards the other goal . What's going on?

Playing in thirds because of the weather I think

I turned off after 10 mins to watch the tennis. Back on and it's at 42 mins but we are shooting towards the other goal . What's going on?3 30 minute sessions

Looked decent the last 5 mins or so.

I'm watching this match thinking, we are a few days into pre season, and the shape tactics and quality will be much better by the St Mirren game, and the current lot have more than enough to beat the Andoran side or the other mob.

13-07-2023, 05:04 PM
I actually think Melkersen has looked quite sharp on the ball but it’s all about 70 yards from goal.

Cheers, starting to doubt my memory 😁

They’ve just brought on the nephew of Patrick Kluivert.

13-07-2023, 05:05 PM
Result and even performance here isn't really a big deal. A team with a budget and quality well ahead of us. Same as beating FC Europa or whatever they are called tells us absolutely nothing.

All about some minutes in legs and nothing more. If we lose to whoever we play in the Conference League then I'll start to worry.

churchie16
13-07-2023, 05:05 PM

Anything with jeggo in it ain’t good, how anyone believes he’s good enough is laughable, can’t run can’t pass, getting rid of kenneh or delferriere before him would be an absolute shocker of a decision

13-07-2023, 05:06 PM
Wollacott has looked solid when called upon, nothing he could do about the goals

13-07-2023, 05:06 PM
JDH been very good since coming on

13-07-2023, 05:07 PM
We'll learn a lot more about ourselves after todays game than say the FC Edinburgh match. All part of the prep. Apart from the dynamic duo from Glasgow we wont play teams as good as Bournemouth during our league campaign.

JamesHFC
13-07-2023, 05:07 PM
They’ve just brought on the nephew of Patrick Kluivert.

It's his son.

13-07-2023, 05:08 PM
JDH been very good since coming on

Hes a clever player, excellent use of the ball.

13-07-2023, 05:09 PM
2nd 3rd better than 1st 3rd 😅

EGL2000
13-07-2023, 05:09 PM
I actually think Melkersen has looked quite sharp on the ball but it’s all about 70 yards from goal.

Agreed think he's looked the best of the attacking options.

13-07-2023, 05:10 PM
2nd 3rd better than 1st 3rd 😅

Hopefully the 3rd 3rd will be better than the 1st 3rd and 2nd 3rd

badabing67
Inter Club D'Escaldes 2-1 Víkingur Gøta

We haven’t folded when we easily could. It’s only a friendly but we’ve shown a bit of determination to keep the ball out of our net after a dreadful start.

Hopefully the 3rd 3rd will be better than the 1st 3rd and 2nd 3rd

Are they using a puck or a ball?

13-07-2023, 05:12 PM
It's his son.

👍🏻 thanks

Up-the-slope
13-07-2023, 05:15 PM
missing Newel in a game of passing / possession like this... but good seeing Megwa & Melkerson getting good minutes

13-07-2023, 05:17 PM
Who did JDH come on for

Up-the-slope
13-07-2023, 05:17 PM
Who did JDH come on for
Levitt

13-07-2023, 05:18 PM
Who did JDH come on for

Levitt

Up-the-slope
13-07-2023, 05:19 PM
Keeper looking good in terms of communication with CH's which is good so early... like the way he claimed high loose ball in box... takes all the pressure off

13-07-2023, 05:21 PM
Levitt

Ok thanks, hope it wasn’t for an injury

13-07-2023, 05:21 PM
Better 2nd 3rd from us, though unsurprisingly the intensity seems to have dropped. We put together two decent bits of play there, one spoiled by an absolutely rubbish pass when we had a two on one out on the right if the ball had got there and a nice ball by JDH from the free kick, which after good movement Melkersen made a total dock of trying to control.

So far the stand out for me has been Rocky, he's covered really well after the first 15 minutes or so ... we need to sub Lewis, looks like he's blowing out his erse and no wonder after 60 minutes chasing about at his age in that heat.

Oh, and Youan being Youan trying to beat 3 guys and losing it time and again .... this aint St Mirren you are up against mate.

13-07-2023, 05:22 PM

Actually agree despite not thinking he’s a winger.

A couple of really good and sharp turns or touches but still so much to do.

Would love to see him in and around the box for the last 3rd but I’ll imagine he’ll come off and Doidge and Mackay will go on

13-07-2023, 05:26 PM
Actually agree despite not thinking he’s a winger.

A couple of really good and sharp turns or touches but still so much to do.

Would love to see him in and around the box for the last 3rd but I’ll imagine he’ll come off and Doidge and Mackay will go on

He's been let down from poor passes and desicion making from some of his team mates.

13-07-2023, 05:26 PM
What a start this third...

13-07-2023, 05:27 PM
That Rueben McAllister looks some player.

13-07-2023, 05:28 PM
Lol poor Oscar watching his brother play in his position.

13-07-2023, 05:29 PM
Surprised Kenneh hasn't had a run out.

13-07-2023, 05:30 PM
That is basically our development team with a few senior players sprinkled throughout.

13-07-2023, 05:32 PM
3 0 poor defence again

13-07-2023, 05:32 PM
Oops, forgot about this. Not going well huh?

Up-the-slope
13-07-2023, 05:33 PM
Rocky out of position caused that i think,

good retention from Ruben just before that

That Rueben McAllister looks some player.

He has looked the standout player from him, Jacob and Rudi.

Architects of our own destruction yet again, this time McKay gives it away cheaply.

dmc1875
13-07-2023, 05:34 PM
The defending is so lax regardless of who is playing or who we are playing

Wish we would sign a proper right back.

Architects of our own destruction yet again, this time McKay gives it away cheaply.

McKay not doing himself any favours so far...

Should have been 4 there.

ErinGoBraghHFC
13-07-2023, 05:35 PM
Not been great, but a bit of perspective needed. Playing teams like this can only be good for our boys development. They need to make the mistakes they’re making to learn and improve as a team

3 0 poor defence again

Yeh, but all cause by giving it away cheaply further up the park ... ken ah soond like a stuck record, but it's bloody killing us time after time.

McKay not doing himself any favours so far...

Did you miss the first couple of minutes of this 3rd?

13-07-2023, 05:36 PM
unlucky JDH

13-07-2023, 05:37 PM
Did you miss the first couple of minutes of this 3rd?

No I seen him fire a dangerous ball across the box.

Did you miss the last few minutes where he ran the ball straight out the pitch then lost posession and cost us a goal?

swin82
13-07-2023, 05:38 PM
Mind that time we beat Arsenal pre season 🤷🏻nobody likes getting beat but its all about minutes in the legs!JDH has had a good game, mcallister looks a player

Up-the-slope
13-07-2023, 05:44 PM
young lads playing well in the middle and a good experience for them

13-07-2023, 05:45 PM
I like Joe Newell on the co-comms. Would prefer him on the field of course, but he speaks well.

13-07-2023, 05:47 PM
I like Joe Newell on the co-comms. Would prefer him on the field of course, but he speaks well.

Thoroughly enjoying his insight and humour. He really does love the club.

13-07-2023, 05:49 PM
That was fantastic from Doidge.

New deal pronto.

And should mention Rudi M in there too.

Mikey_1875
13-07-2023, 05:50 PM
Impressed with the young guys in this third. Would never guess Doidge had that in his locker!

13-07-2023, 05:50 PM
The three young boys have done themselves proud tonight, looked very good and composed, some lovely touches and always looking to get on the ball.

13-07-2023, 05:51 PM
4-0, great finish.

13-07-2023, 05:51 PM
4-0

13-07-2023, 05:52 PM
4 0 too easy now 😔

Poor from hibs tonight, only a friendly but not really good enough. Some of the same old problems being shown up.

4-0, great finish.

Yep. They make it look pretty easy

13-07-2023, 05:53 PM
Think Kenneh forgot he came on as a CB there. Was so far out of position!

Poor from hibs tonight, only a friendly but not really good enough. Some of the same old problems being shown up.

Always usually defending as well

Aw that was a lovely finish from McKay, offside flag.

OtleyHibs
Hibs goal ruled offside

Nice pass and finish

muzzando
13-07-2023, 05:54 PM
Looked onside to me

Torto7
13-07-2023, 05:54 PM
I can't wait for Boyler to come back. Our wide players are so lazy. The huns exposed that last season as well.

13-07-2023, 05:55 PM
Aw that was a lovely finish from McKay, offside flag.

:agree:Brilliant finish, unlucky there.

Up-the-slope
13-07-2023, 05:56 PM

Thoroughly enjoying his insight and humour. He really does love the club.

13-07-2023, 05:58 PM
Gulf in class here but defending has been poor, particularly Rocky, very poor most of the game. Impressed with 1 or 2 young lads in the middle, McAllister and Molotnikov.

13-07-2023, 05:58 PM
Not the greatest result against a much better quality opposition but a good work out for the legs.

McAllister and Rudi could turn out very good footballer's if they continue the hard work.

Should be a better result and performance wise next Friday.